GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Old yeller on January 10, 2014, 11:23:40 PM

Poll
Question: Do you think Gaaboard is dying a slow death?
Option 1: Yes
Option 2: No
Option 3: Hasnt changed
Title: Is gaaboard on the way out?
Post by: Old yeller on January 10, 2014, 11:23:40 PM
This day two years ago Gaaboard had a high of over 700 members online, at the time of writing today there was 215. That is some drop, and its usually around the 170-190 mark.. Why is it getting lower and lower? And considering how many people have more than one profile, how few are actually using it on a daily basis?
Title: Re: Is gaaboard on the way out?
Post by: T Fearon on January 10, 2014, 11:32:21 PM
Kids nowadays! Spend far too much time on computers!
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2014, 11:35:01 PM
I think the gaaboard hardcore are growing up and marrying and copulating.

I go 2-3 days without looking in now. I never thought that would happen years ago.

Younguns are not interested.
Post by: Old yeller on January 10, 2014, 11:37:57 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 10, 2014, 11:32:21 PM
Kids nowadays! Spend far too much time on computers!

Geezer getting married to-day or tomorrow?

Shite like that probably puts people off aswell
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 10, 2014, 11:40:33 PM
Twitter is a factor in things in fairness,
Post by: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 11:43:30 PM
This board has been ruined by Nordies.
Post by: orangeman on January 10, 2014, 11:46:57 PM
More than one profile ? Wtf !
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2014, 11:48:31 PM
Tyrone and armagh not going big guns probably loses alot of posters. It is very northern based on here, with either alot of people with no internet down south, a general lack on interest or maybe not as nuts about gaelic matters as there northern cousins. I barely come across anyone from Cork off hand, posters from dublin are not overly big given the size of the place either
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 11:51:32 PM
Need to start an advertising campaign.

Was serious that we should all chip in a tenner and make GAABoard.com the sponsors of the Kilkenny Senior football championship or something.
Post by: Old yeller on January 10, 2014, 11:54:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 11:51:32 PM
Need to start an advertising campaign.

Was serious that we should all chip in a tenner and make GAABoard.com the sponsors of the Kilkenny Senior football championship or something.
Some lads would  have to pay about €100 euro if it was charged per account
Post by: Mourne Rover on January 10, 2014, 11:57:26 PM
Hardstation, Michaela Harte McAreavey's death was three years ago today, not two.
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 11:58:23 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2014, 11:48:31 PM
Tyrone and armagh not going big guns probably loses alot of posters. It is very northern based on here, with either alot of people with no internet down south, a general lack on interest or maybe not as nuts about gaelic matters as there northern cousins. I barely come across anyone from Cork off hand, posters from dublin are not overly big given the size of the place either

Cork and Dublin ladeens have their own forums (to be fair barely another cares about IC football in Cork as it is), as does Kerry. Us Rossies have a super secret forum too. Takes the focus away from here.

Would like to see more rep from midlands counties but you'll end up with a lot of toss pots for a few decent posters.
Post by: laoislad on January 11, 2014, 12:00:01 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 11:58:23 PM

Cork and Dublin ladeens have their own forums (to be fair barely another cares about IC football in Cork as it is), as does Kerry. Us Rossies have a super secret forum too. Takes the focus away from here.

Would like to see more rep from midlands counties but you'll end up with a lot of toss pots for a few decent posters.
It takes one to know one.
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:01:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 10, 2014, 11:36:07 PM
This time 2 years ago, the news broke of the tragic death of Michaela Harte. Traffic on Gaaboard hit an all-time high because of that. The numbers before that were similar to now.

Bollocks
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:04:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 10, 2014, 11:58:23 PM

In a way if it got too popular it would be destroyed by headers, but its probably 50/50 as it is. For every Hardstation or Boojangles you have a T. Fearon or Syferus
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:05:41 AM
2008 - 22000 posts
2009 - 26000 posts
2010 - 19000
2011 - 16000
2012 - 12.4
2013 - 12.1

Topics at a descending rate since 2007

2007 - 5194
2013 - 1541
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:10:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:05:41 AM
2008 - 22000 posts
2009 - 26000 posts
2010 - 19000
2011 - 16000
2012 - 12.4
2013 - 12.1

2007 - 5194
2013 - 1541
With topics like Best Looking GAA player All-Ireland Championship its no harm!
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2014, 12:12:07 AM
There's f-all left to say.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:13:11 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 11, 2014, 12:07:38 AM
Complaints about multiple topics/mods merging topics/TYP going missing all factors in that.
So do you think its at the same level as it always was?
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 12:18:23 AM
I blame the FRC myself.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 11, 2014, 12:18:45 AM
Legendary board members who have moved on or who have assumed a new identity. First Touch Joe Cooney. I Like Jam. Any others???
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:19:38 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 11, 2014, 12:15:25 AM
There has been a decline in threads just for the craic. If someone tries to start a funny thread, he gets called a ballbag etc by
1. People who take the board too seriously.
2. People who have reincarnated themselves and hold boring grudges.
3. People who just bring everything back to whether or not God exists.
4. Free Staters.
5.Dicks.
Haha, yeah. A lot of lads gettin unreal thick over stuff alright, and lots of vendettas. I think it has generally gone down hill. The Cavan board used to be flyin, filling 4/5 pages a day. When we couldn't buy a win, now itd take a month to do that! I think a lot of sensible fellas got sick of the assholes and quit
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:19:49 AM
Esp the reincarnated free stater religious serious dicks.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:20:51 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 11, 2014, 12:18:45 AM
Legendary board members who have moved on or who have assumed a new identity. First Touch Joe Cooney. I Like Jam. Any others???
Mr. Pain
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:21:23 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:19:38 AM
There has been a decline in threads just for the craic. If someone tries to start a funny thread, he gets called a ballbag etc by
4. Free Staters.
5.Dicks.
Haha, yeah. A lot of lads gettin unreal thick over stuff alright, and lots of vendettas. I think it has generally gone down hill. The Cavan board used to be flyin, filling 4/5 pages a day. When we couldn't buy a win, now itd take a month to do that! I think a lot of sensible fellas got sick of the assholes and quit

You registered a while ago......what's the story there
Post by: Ard-Rí on January 11, 2014, 12:25:06 AM
I don't know. Seems to be plenty of activity to me, and you can hardly keep up when there's a big championship match ... or a Seánie Johnson.
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 12:28:00 AM
Bud.
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 12:28:29 AM
Not in the same breath but Reillers.
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2014, 12:36:01 AM
I'm just busy these days.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 12:38:48 AM
4. Free Staters.
5.Dicks.

Don't know who you are referring to in the last line. If people cant be bothered to post in the Cavan thread that's their problem
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 12:49:00 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 12:38:48 AM
4. Free Staters.
5.Dicks.

Don't know who you are referring to in the last line. If people cant be bothered to post in the Cavan thread that's their problem
Unbelievable,  thats exactly the type of thing im talking about! What a sack
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 12:53:18 AM
May aswell name an shame them all. Awful pity we can't live up to your high expectation.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 11, 2014, 01:40:15 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:01:08 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 10, 2014, 11:36:07 PM
This time 2 years ago, the news broke of the tragic death of Michaela Harte. Traffic on Gaaboard hit an all-time high because of that. The numbers before that were similar to now.

Bollocks
It's responses like that that have the Board put to hell
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2014, 02:59:04 AM
I agree with Laoislad. The Nordies ruined everything. Football. Gaaboard. Everything ....

Bastards.
Post by: Syferus on January 11, 2014, 03:04:28 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2014, 02:59:04 AM
I agree with Laoislad. The Nordies ruined everything. Football. Gaaboard. Everything ....

b**tards.

The Kracken has awoken. Must have been that part about multiple accounts.

Old Yeller = Mikey boy?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2014, 03:35:09 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 11, 2014, 03:04:28 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2014, 02:59:04 AM

b**tards.

The Kracken has awoken. Must have been that part about multiple accounts.

Old Yeller = Mikey boy?

hmmm...on second thoughts, I think the decline of Gaaboard can be traced directly to the arrival of makeweights like you.

"Ballagh is in Ros ..Ballagh is in Ros .....blah, blah......"

Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 06:29:52 AM
2008 - 22000 posts
2009 - 26000 posts
2010 - 19000
2011 - 16000
2012 - 12.4
2013 - 12.1

2007 - 5194
2013 - 1541

Austerity.

A good few potential posters have emigrated.

In fairness most of the 5194 topics in 2007 were trivial.
Have you got any quality measurements going back to 2007 ?

And this sort of thread never seems to come up in June. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzeDgHgk7qs

Post by: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 09:12:00 AM
The Cavan thread has definitely quietened down which is strange given that our lot has improved significantly. Maybe it is that Irish thing where we are never happy unless we are complaining! Some of the posters who were always here like Ballyhaiseman and Boojangles are hardly ever posting for whatever reason these days and we have had many posters come and go over the years. I suppose at the moment if we have 10 active posters thats probably the height of it.

Old Yeller, I am intrigued that as a member since December you can say that people have stopped posting due to assholes in the Cavan thread. To the best of my knowledge there hasnt been any major arguments over there in a long time so I am guessing you are talking about stuff further back. I assume you are the reincarnation of a previous poster? We had Homer once from Ballinagh, is that you?
Post by: Lecale2 on January 11, 2014, 09:26:33 AM
IT's not just the GAA Board. Nothing is as much craic as it used to be  :(
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 09:52:09 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on January 11, 2014, 09:26:33 AM

Ah for good old days of Blackthorn boots and 30 laps round the field.
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 10:00:21 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on January 11, 2014, 09:26:33 AM
Nostalgia these days is much worse than it was when I was young
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 10:42:35 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 09:12:00 AM
The Cavan thread has definitely quietened down which is strange given that our lot has improved significantly. Maybe it is that Irish thing where we are never happy unless we are complaining! Some of the posters who were always here like Ballyhaiseman and Boojangles are hardly ever posting for whatever reason these days and we have had many posters come and go over the years. I suppose at the moment if we have 10 active posters thats probably the height of it.

Old Yeller, I am intrigued that as a member since December you can say that people have stopped posting due to assholes in the Cavan thread. To the best of my knowledge there hasnt been any major arguments over there in a long time so I am guessing you are talking about stuff further back. I assume you are the reincarnation of a previous poster? We had Homer once from Ballinagh, is that you?

Myles

I think on internet discussions if you want loads of traffic you either have to have 2 diametrically opposed groups with an interest in trashing the views of the other side or else loads of new content all the time. Trolls can move the dial for a while but people figure them out and then things revert to normal.
For things like GAA at this time of the year there isn't much content.   
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:43:39 AM

No Myles, ive followed the Cavan thread for the last 5 years or so but never signed up because I was living abroad and never got to any of the games and didnt really have much to add
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 10:45:54 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 10:42:35 AM

Myles

I think on internet discussions if you want loads of traffic you either have to have 2 diametrically opposed groups with an interest in trashing the views of the other side or else loads of new content all the time. Trolls can move the dial for a while but people figure them out and then things revert to normal.

Gerald Mc Carthy and the strikers were a good example of that. Reillers and a few of us myself included, weren't long in getting a few pages filled.

That's the answer ! We need another strike or two.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:46:41 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 12:53:18 AM
May aswell name an shame them all. Awful pity we can't live up to your high expectation.

Excellent contribution Rodders, cheers
Post by: BennyHarp on January 11, 2014, 10:50:59 AM
I blame the Ulster Council but it's probably Mickey Harte's fault.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 10:55:22 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:46:41 AM

Nah your's was better., the usual dicks on the Cavan thread. Are you 10?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2014, 10:55:42 AM
I don't think it's on the way out because a forum is still the best way for large groups to discuss topics in an easy to follow manner. What has probably changed with the advent of new social media is that this board probably no longer 'breaks' news to us. When I first started using this board back in the late 1990s it was literally my first port of call for news about GAA, and other things, because it was essentially a collection of local correspondents.

Now the latest news is coming from the horses mouth on twitter or Facebook, and so forums like this have changed to become retrospective discussions about the news, or previews of seasons, matches etc.  I think the board is holding up reasonably well given that change, and is still a very interesting read.

Also should be noted that the original cadre, which still feature heavily, are getting older, married, becoming parents and/or getting more responsible jobs so the chance to have hundreds of posts per day is reduced.

Finally, as seafoid says, this is January, and just about the end of the quietest period of the GAA year.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 11:05:58 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 11, 2014, 10:55:22 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:46:41 AM

Nah your's was better., the usual dicks on the Cavan thread. Are you 10?
Thats exactly the type of crap im on about. When did I say "the usual dicks on the Cavan thread"?
You obviously think I was referring to you because you are awful sensitive about it. I wasnt
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 11:09:29 AM
If someone posts on this board in the desert, can anyone hear it?
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2014, 11:11:20 AM
There's too much arguing going on over whether there's not enough arguing going on.
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 11:15:09 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 10:45:54 AM

Myles

Gerald Mc Carthy and the strikers were a good example of that. Reillers and a few of us myself included, weren't long in getting a few pages filled.

I bought the ould fella Donal Og's autobiography for Christmas. He said fair play to the coming out but the strike behavior was unacceptable. "You have to be ready to compromise in industrial relations" and "Cork didn't win anything since".
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 11:22:37 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 06:29:52 AM
2008 - 22000 posts
2009 - 26000 posts
2010 - 19000
2011 - 16000
2012 - 12.4
2013 - 12.1

2007 - 5194
2013 - 1541

Austerity.

A good few potential posters have emigrated.

In fairness most of the 5194 topics in 2007 were trivial.
Have you got any quality measurements going back to 2007 ?

And this sort of thread never seems to come up in June. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzeDgHgk7qs

Some great threads since 2007 such as http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2698.0
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 11:27:21 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 11:15:09 AM

Myles

I bought the ould fella Donal Og's autobiography for Christmas. He said fair play to the coming out but the strike behavior was unacceptable. "You have to be ready to compromise in industrial relations" and "Cork didn't win anything since".

They were a puck of the ball away last year.

It's all Frank's fault. I knew it would finish up like this.

Post by: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:31:30 AM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 10:43:39 AM

No Myles, ive followed the Cavan thread for the last 5 years or so but never signed up because I was living abroad and never got to any of the games and didnt really have much to add

Well fair enough but why do you think people left due to assholes posting? I have my own theory and I think a few lads might have backed down due to people figuring out who they are, which does make it difficult to come on and give an honest appraisal on certain topics. When the cavan thread was flying was normally due to a controversy of some sort such as SJ affair or the Donal Keoghan lock ins or Ballyhaiseman starting a "manager out" thread. When things are going a bit better and lads are in general agreement that the manager and players are doing a great job, well there is less to talk about really. One thing that is a pity is that there is very little commentary on club matches, really only Rodney and Westside and maybe Packiedevlin mention them now.
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2014, 11:55:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 11:09:29 AM
If someone posts on this board in the desert, can anyone hear it?

No, but you might be able to read it. All depends on the internet connect is like in the desert. Desert.... I feel like some dessert. Is there any ice cream about? What's your favourite brand of ice cream? Mine's is Mauds.... or it that Maud's? Hard to tell really, as some brands don't use apostrophe. Apostrophe... that's a funny old word. I had to Google it, to make sure I was spelling it right. I wasn't by the way. Funny how the world has changed. We used to be able to spell, then we started using the dictionary to learn words we couldn't and now we just Google. God, we're getting lazy. Dictionary... what happens if you don't know how to spell dictionary? I guess you can just look at the cover of the book. What am I talking about, I'd just Google it.
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 12:04:33 PM
Post of the year and it's not even St Brigid's Day
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 12:19:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 11, 2014, 11:27:21 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2014, 11:15:09 AM

Myles

They were a puck of the ball away last year.

It's all Frank's fault. I knew it would finish up like this.
It wasn't cork that stopped the cats winning 5 in a row. It was Tipp.
Cork weren't that far off the pace in 2006 and they are only getting their shit together again now.
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 05:10:33 PM
there's far more competition in place now since GAA board started up. If I want to get the up to date on what's happening I can go on Twitter and get a blow by blow account of what's happening in games, I don't need to come on here to know who lined out, who scored etc. Similalrly Paul Fitz in the Celt does top class real time reporting on fixtures. Less need to use this space.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 11:31:30 AM

Well fair enough but why do you think people left due to assholes posting? I have my own theory and I think a few lads might have backed down due to people figuring out who they are, which does make it difficult to come on and give an honest appraisal on certain topics. When the cavan thread was flying was normally due to a controversy of some sort such as SJ affair or the Donal Keoghan lock ins or Ballyhaiseman starting a "manager out" thread. When things are going a bit better and lads are in general agreement that the manager and players are doing a great job, well there is less to talk about really. One thing that is a pity is that there is very little commentary on club matches, really only Rodney and Westside and maybe Packiedevlin mention them now.
Yeah, its hard to get info up about the club matches alright. I think the whole SJ saga turned a lot of lads off to be honest. Some of the arguements were childish in the extreme and it was impossible for anyone to make a point about it without being ridiculed! Boojangles is a big loss to the Cavan thread, always had plenty of info
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 11, 2014, 07:34:29 PM
No need to spend money advertising anything. Pick a thread that's interesting, share it on FB.  Done.
Post by: ck on January 11, 2014, 07:36:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 10, 2014, 11:43:30 PM
This board has been ruined by Nordies.

Without a doubt. Sure that shower up there wont even let their college players play for their colleges. So much for the ethos of the GAA. Mickey Harte, wolf in sheeps clothing  8)
Post by: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 07:16:45 PM

Yeah, its hard to get info up about the club matches alright. I think the whole SJ saga turned a lot of lads off to be honest. Some of the arguements were childish in the extreme and it was impossible for anyone to make a point about it without being ridiculed! Boojangles is a big loss to the Cavan thread, always had plenty of info

The SJ debacle was heated but sure what would you expect for such an act. I don't know if its me you had a problem with but when I look back I had that fella and what he was doing summed up pretty bang on. I don't take back a word that I said.
Post by: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 09:11:28 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on January 11, 2014, 08:28:47 PM
Quote from: Old yeller on January 11, 2014, 07:16:45 PM

The SJ debacle was heated but sure what would you expect for such an act. I don't know if its me you had a problem with but when I look back I had that fella and what he was doing summed up pretty bang on. I don't take back a word that I said.

No it wasn't you, I actually totally agreed with ya Myles
Post by: anglocelt39 on January 11, 2014, 10:04:39 PM
Jaysus yeller you have the Cavan lads fierce worried altogether.
Post by: orangeman on January 12, 2014, 12:20:39 AM
Jesus lads, this board has been hit by the recession just like all others.

There's a downturn globally and not confined to the  Gaaboard.

The board is showing signs of green shots.  :)
Post by: The Worker on January 12, 2014, 07:19:40 AM
The boards been going down hill ever since our Niall loney and corn got the road.
Post by: thejuice on January 12, 2014, 12:22:39 PM
I know I'm not as prolific as I once was as I'm working more hours in my day job and freelancing on top of that. I havent time to keep up with things.
Post by: ONeill on January 12, 2014, 01:06:09 PM
Poor Mrs thejuice
Post by: seafoid on January 12, 2014, 02:17:21 PM
Work firewalls could also be an issue
Post by: armaghniac on January 12, 2014, 02:48:59 PM
When GAABoard started internet connections were slower and not suitable for porn live entertainment, more so for text discussion.
Post by: theticklemister on January 13, 2014, 09:39:08 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 12, 2014, 02:48:59 PM
When GAABoard started internet connections were slower and not suitable for porn live entertainment, more so for text discussion.

Will we get a gaa.board the movie organised?

Kemit the frog could star as Tony Fearon.
Post by: Mayoffs on January 13, 2014, 10:26:22 PM
Hello there, decided to join after years of following.
Enjoyed a lot of the banter and find the boards very informative at times also, wouldn't like to see it fade away.
Hoping to contribute when I can (family life permitting), hopefully a few more lurking GAA fans out there will join also. I know a few of them at work in Galway who are fair craic.
Post by: T Fearon on January 13, 2014, 10:57:22 PM
Relax,I have Been on this board (through it's various incarnations) continually since 1997.That's more than 17 years (it existed before I joined) and it's still going strong.Through there aren't as many characters about as before,but I can't see the Board ever dying,quite simply because GAA is so popular and will always have an online forum
Post by: T Fearon on January 13, 2014, 11:13:19 PM
Someone should write the history of the Board! What a story,from a poster using the N I Tourist Board's website to encourage support for a county,not his own against another ulster county,to the Board 's role in the sacking of a prominent broadcaster!
Post by: armaghniac on January 13, 2014, 11:31:20 PM
QuoteSomeone should write the history of the Board! What a story,from a poster using the N I Tourist Board's website to encourage support for a county,not his own against another ulster county,to the Board 's role in the sacking of a prominent broadcaster!

What about the story used to promote repeated references to a west Dublin hotel?
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2014, 12:37:05 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 13, 2014, 11:31:20 PM
QuoteSomeone should write the history of the Board! What a story,from a poster using the N I Tourist Board's website to encourage support for a county,not his own against another ulster county,to the Board 's role in the sacking of a prominent broadcaster!

What about the story used to promote repeated references to a west Dublin hotel?

That story is well documented in a Tyrone GAA book by an anon. user of the gaaboard.com ;)
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on January 14, 2014, 12:49:58 PM
Would post here more myself if it wasn't for other forums that take up more time and also the fact that this place is very Ulster-centric..I seem to to recall there wasn't even a thread on the Munster final 2 days before the game last year, which says it all really.

Still like the forum and there is some good debate/banter..plus to be fair youse Nordies take your ball seriously and mostly know your stuff.  :P

Very few places/forums with high quality football debate out there..boards is hit and miss, Cork Forums are so one eyed its ridiculous. Kerry forum could be good, but is moderated to a Big Brother level, Res Dubs and a few others are ok, but would like if somewhere like this was more extensive.
Post by: ogshead on January 14, 2014, 03:43:29 PM
The Armagh forum is great because there is an app version. I have found myself using this one less as a result
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2014, 03:48:35 PM
Is there no Tyrone forum?
Post by: Hardy on January 14, 2014, 04:06:33 PM
Sorry, can't stop myself. (http://forum.technicaldiving.ie/)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 14, 2014, 04:47:06 PM
Clearly the death of the hot ladies thread has had an impact on traffic.
Post by: theticklemister on January 14, 2014, 04:50:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 14, 2014, 04:47:06 PM

The Tony Fearon thread will be the catalyst to pull more in.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 14, 2014, 05:10:38 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 14, 2014, 04:50:42 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 14, 2014, 04:47:06 PM

The Tony Fearon thread will be the catalyst to pull more in.

We need a Tony Fearon-Hot Ladies-Sinn Fein-Whats the craic with God?-Tryone-Are Laois people racist?-Israel/Palestine- Mayo -ManUtd-HenoCup-Ballaghadeeren-Sludden-Henry-Liverpool-Our Wee Country-Rossie football ends on your 21'st birthday thread.
Post by: The Iceman on January 14, 2014, 06:19:21 PM
I believe it is dying a slow death. I think most of it is caused by foolish rivalries and in-fighting amoung posters. People should use the block function or just take a breath and forget about grudges. I am reluctant to contribute these days because of previous WUM's and a lot of the threads now are begrudging and negative complaining about something or other. I still enjoy the board, there are some gems of posts and some great banter at times if we could keep it out of the weeds....
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 14, 2014, 06:27:51 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 14, 2014, 06:19:21 PM
I believe it is dying a slow death. I think most of it is caused by foolish rivalries and in-fighting amoung posters. People should use the block function or just take a breath and forget about grudges. I am reluctant to contribute these days because of previous WUM's and a lot of the threads now are begrudging and negative complaining about something or other. I still enjoy the board, there are some gems of posts and some great banter at times if we could keep it out of the weeds....

It can be, and how many debates actually change someones views? Not many I'd say, a lot of, we'll agree to disagree which is the best answer in some cases but in a lot of cases you get fighting across the boards on on different threads and lads throwing up things said when debating something else!!
Post by: theticklemister on January 14, 2014, 06:34:08 PM
I dont see any grudges between posters.

Some craic on here.
Post by: seafoid on January 14, 2014, 10:55:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 14, 2014, 12:37:05 PM

That story is well documented in a Tyrone GAA book by an anon. user of the gaaboard.com ;)
What is the name of the book?
Post by: Jinxy on January 14, 2014, 11:37:39 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 14, 2014, 06:34:08 PM

Some craic on here.

If we got rid of the all the Tyrone & Mayo posters, grudges would decrease by 99.96% overnight.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on January 14, 2014, 11:51:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 14, 2014, 11:37:39 PM

Some craic on here.

If we got rid of the all the Tyrone & Mayo posters, grudges would decrease by 99.96% overnight.

& the Rossie grudges against both.
Post by: Whishtup on January 15, 2014, 12:36:52 AM

Some craic on here.

...but who would you vent your bubbling jealousy and hatred on, then?  ;)
Post by: heganboy on January 15, 2014, 03:49:49 AM
Ah now lads and lasses, the death of the gaaboard has been greatly exaggerated.

It certainly is evolving, and has been for quite some time now, thankfully...
Post by: Under Lights on January 15, 2014, 08:16:47 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 14, 2014, 10:55:47 PM

X2
Post by: Brick Tamlin on January 15, 2014, 08:18:18 AM
Easily solved.
Bring back the 'Mucksavage/Mucksavi' thread and watch the board go into overdrive. ;D
Simples.
Post by: ziggysego on January 15, 2014, 09:36:21 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 14, 2014, 10:55:47 PM

Can't remember lad, it's about 8 years ago now.
Post by: Under Lights on January 15, 2014, 01:24:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 13, 2014, 10:57:22 PM
Relax,I have Been on this board (through it's various incarnations) continually since 1997.That's more than 17 years (it existed before I joined) and it's still going strong.Through there aren't as many characters about as before,but I can't see the Board ever dying,quite simply because GAA is so popular and will always have an online forum

Give us the rundown of the history. When was the board first established. By whom. Didn't the GAA ever look about getting it taken down?
Post by: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on January 15, 2014, 12:36:52 AM

Some craic on here.

The flourbags.
Post by: ziggysego on January 15, 2014, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on January 15, 2014, 01:24:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 13, 2014, 10:57:22 PM

Give us the rundown of the history. When was the board first established. By whom. Didn't the GAA ever look about getting it taken down?

I may be wrong, but I seem to remember someone saying the original address for the board was www.gaa.ie
Post by: Crete Boom on January 15, 2014, 02:34:01 PM

Some craic on here.

If we got rid of the couple of Meath posters the average IQ , awareness of culture and general appearance of the place would improve exponentially overnight and the sad after effects of inbreeding would disappear out of sight;D ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on January 15, 2014, 03:27:03 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on January 15, 2014, 08:18:18 AM
Easily solved.
Bring back the 'Mucksavage/Mucksavi' thread and watch the board go into overdrive. ;D
Simples.

I have most of it saved if anyone wants it. I'm afraid to stick it up (oo er Mrs!!) here in case the mods disapprove ;)
Post by: 5 Sams on January 15, 2014, 03:57:51 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on January 14, 2014, 12:49:58 PM
Would post here more myself if it wasn't for other forums that take up more time and also the fact that this place is very Ulster-centric..I seem to to recall there wasn't even a thread on the Munster final 2 days before the game last year, which says it all really.

Still like the forum and there is some good debate/banter..plus to be fair youse Nordies take your ball seriously and mostly know your stuff.  :P

Very few places/forums with high quality football debate out there..boards is hit and miss, Cork Forums are so one eyed its ridiculous. Kerry forum could be good, but is moderated to a Big Brother level, Res Dubs and a few others are ok, but would like if somewhere like this was more extensive.

Love Reservoir Dubs...some funny hoors over there ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 04:02:28 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on January 15, 2014, 02:34:01 PM

Some craic on here.

If we got rid of the couple of Meath posters the average IQ , awareness of culture and general appearance of the place would improve exponentially overnight and the sad after effects of inbreeding would disappear out of sight;D ;D

Myself and Hardy are up there with the handsomest men in the county.
Post by: deiseach on January 15, 2014, 04:05:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 04:02:28 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on January 15, 2014, 02:34:01 PM

Myself and Hardy are up there with the handsomest men in the county.

Ah that's too easy!
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 15, 2014, 04:17:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 01:26:29 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on January 15, 2014, 12:36:52 AM

Some craic on here.

The flourbags.

>:( That's fighting talk..

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BH9eI6XCIAA0m9U.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on January 15, 2014, 04:17:48 PM
If you haven't met Jinxy

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/Expression-Snob_zpsa3e30a93.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/Expression-Snob_zpsa3e30a93.png.html)
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2014, 04:18:58 PM
QuoteMyself and Hardy are up there with the handsomest men in the county.

The handsomest man in Meath would look as a grotesque brute when visiting a place of civilisation, such as Armagh, just as the least monstrous Orc would yet appear terrifying on entering the lands of Lothlórien,.
Post by: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 04:22:41 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-5K8ZR-KDalg/UJ4Xv1lRnuI/AAAAAAAAH_o/BgBzL6GGEs4/s1600/pierce.png)

The convent girls hardly looked twice at him, such was the standard of man in Navan.
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2014, 04:26:43 PM
(http://cdn2.independent.ie/migration_catalog/Non-Staff/article25117239.ece/ALTERNATES/h342/Tommy)

Such was the standard of man in Navan.
Post by: Crete Boom on January 15, 2014, 05:21:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 15, 2014, 04:22:41 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-5K8ZR-KDalg/UJ4Xv1lRnuI/AAAAAAAAH_o/BgBzL6GGEs4/s1600/pierce.png)

The convent girls hardly looked twice at him, such was the standard of man in Navan.

;D ;D ;D ;D

Sure that face wouldn't even get a kick in a stampede down in Mayo ;)