Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on January 08, 2014, 09:31:38 AM

Title: immigration hardly room to swing a cat
Post by: lawnseed on January 08, 2014, 09:31:38 AM
At time when there is a considerable effort here and in scotland to get away from england our eastern european friends cant get enough of the place. The beebs programme last night showed the extent of the numbers currently in england and a projection of numbers expected to arrive. Hundreds of thousands possibly a million. They are worried. 2/3 children born in england parents are immigrants or 1st generation brits.. With ukip on the up.. What does dandy dave do next?
Title: Re: immigration hardly room to swing a cat
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 09:38:52 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 08, 2014, 09:31:38 AM
At time when there is a considerable effort here and in scotland to get away from england our eastern european friends cant get enough of the place. The beebs programme last night showed the extent of the numbers currently in england and a projection of numbers expected to arrive. Hundreds of thousands possibly a million. They are worried. 2/3 children born in england parents are immigrants or 1st generation brits.. With ukip on the up.. What does dandy dave do next?

Who cares? Did anyone watch benifit street? What a shower of scumbags, generated from having a system that gives them free housing and money without it being means tested properly, generations of dolers would be more worrying than immigrants coming over to work (well a fair percentage are)
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 08, 2014, 09:42:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 09:38:52 AM

Who cares? Did anyone watch benifit street? What a shower of scumbags, generated from having a system that gives them free housing and money without it being means tested properly, generations of dolers would be more worrying than immigrants coming over to work (well a fair percentage are)

They reckon that Benefit street was staged in parts. I'm sure its not far off the mark mind you!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 09:48:55 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 08, 2014, 09:42:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 09:38:52 AM

They reckon that Benefit street was staged in parts. I'm sure its not far off the mark mind you!

Stage, but by hack they are dirt birds
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 10:20:41 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 08, 2014, 09:50:54 AM
People from other countries coming to live in our country??

That's not on. You'd never catch us feckin off to live in other countries.......

My wee bro back off to Oz next week  :(
Post by: ONeill on January 08, 2014, 10:50:29 AM
To tell you the truth I'm sick of it.

Any time I go home all I see are these dirty faces and stupid accents leeching off you for money or rummaging through rubbish. They're a drain visibly and economically. It's time to stop Derry wans marrying into the Red Hand country.
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 08, 2014, 10:54:57 AM
Britain raped the world's resources for 2 centuries and now the pigeons are coming home to roost.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 08, 2014, 01:06:40 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on January 08, 2014, 10:54:57 AM
Britain raped the world's resources for 2 centuries and now the pigeons are coming home to roost.

Was making the same argument to wans over Christmas
Post by: Sidney on January 08, 2014, 01:19:33 PM
"I'm not a racist but..."
Post by: Saffrongael on January 08, 2014, 01:36:07 PM

That's not on. You'd never catch us feckin off to live in other countries.......

Don't think too many left our shores because of an attractive benefit system in another country.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 08, 2014, 01:43:04 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 08, 2014, 01:36:07 PM

Don't think too many left our shores because of an attractive benefit system in another country.

That's true but in fairness the Poles (and others) in England and elsewhere do a fair amount of work. I'd say the ratio between immigrants and British Citzens working the benefit systems is a lot higher in the British Citzens side.

There is bound to be a stat on that
Post by: OakleafCounty on January 08, 2014, 02:05:23 PM
I used to live in uni halls with a few Nigerians who told me that Nigerians started coming to Ireland rather than England due to welfare. I remember thinking that it's really fucked up to go to a country for welfare rather than a job.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2014, 05:11:56 PM
I hope none of youse have to emigrate any time soon.
Post by: lawnseed on January 08, 2014, 05:31:42 PM
No doubt this is an important election issue. It may be that ukip could become kingmakers the liberals look like they re going to get a kicking. New rules regarding seasonal agric labour will cause big problems for farmers.. Even Indian and paki 1st generation immigrants want tighter controls to prevent more of their countrymen following them to England's green and pleasent land. Short of setting up gestapo type squads to gather up illegal immigrants theres not alot the Brits can do.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 08, 2014, 09:43:40 PM
Don't know how anyone can compare the Irish emigrating to what has happened here. Don't know anyone that emigrated because they wanted to get tax credits, dole, free housing etc & taking the whole family with them.

Now someone made the point of our own work shy useless hoors here that sit all their lives on benefits, that's true but why take thousands and thousands more in to do the same ? And it doesent make you some sort of right wing racist for thinking that.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 08, 2014, 10:00:06 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on January 08, 2014, 09:43:40 PM
Don't know how anyone can compare the Irish emigrating to what has happened here.

Of course you don't.

Frankly, when I lived in England I reserved my contempt for the inner city trash that lived generation after generation on the dole. Entire blocks of council flats full of shell-suited good-for-nothing losers.  They never seemed to get half the vitriol that gets poured on immigrants.
Post by: theticklemister on January 08, 2014, 10:49:25 PM
We are all very lucky to live in a 'rich' coutry. Other people in he world are not as forunate. Where the f**k is the compassion gone to the unfortunate?

Treat others as you to would like to be treated.

Each of them people are migrated for a reason for a better life. Who the f**k are people think they are to tell them no?
Post by: Kidder81 on January 08, 2014, 10:55:25 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 08, 2014, 10:49:25 PM
We are all very lucky to live in a 'rich' coutry. Other people in he world are not as forunate. Where the f**k is the compassion gone to the unfortunate?

Each of them people are migrated for a reason for a better life. Who the f**k are people think they are to tell them no?

A better life at tax payers expense. When would you shut the doors, another 100,000, another 500,000?

You would have no problem with an increase in your taxes to foot the welfare bill, the increased strain on an already at breaking point NHS ?
Post by: bennydorano on January 08, 2014, 10:58:47 PM
Lot of people seem to be swallowing what the Tories are selling - lies & scare stories.
Post by: armaghniac on January 08, 2014, 11:20:39 PM
QuoteEach of them people are migrated for a reason for a better life. Who the f**k are people think they are to tell them no?

I don't want my neighbour migrating into my house, because he thinks I have a nice carpet.
Post by: Kidder81 on January 08, 2014, 11:28:05 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 08, 2014, 10:58:47 PM
Lot of people seem to be swallowing what the Tories are selling - lies & scare stories.

Labour have agreed they made a balls of immigration, they would be doing much the same as the big bad Tories. Indeed Jack Straw apologised in the BBC programme last night
Post by: Sidney on January 08, 2014, 11:29:54 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 08, 2014, 11:20:39 PM
QuoteEach of them people are migrated for a reason for a better life. Who the f**k are people think they are to tell them no?

I don't want my neighbour migrating into my house, because he thinks I have a nice carpet.
If your neighbours are from Iran, they'll already have nicer carpets than you.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 09, 2014, 12:39:29 AM
Am I missing something or was there actually some evidence or statistics which showed the immigrants are coming here to leech off the state? Or did the Daily Mail say so?
Post by: lawnseed on January 09, 2014, 09:58:50 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 08, 2014, 10:49:25 PM

Who are people to say no? The people who are paying taxes thats who. The same guys who have to work til theyre 70 before they get the pension.
Last nights fergal keane show on bbc2 shows exactly whats peeing your average taxpaying brit off. The fugee who is on drugs and theiving all day to feed his habit and who destroyed his passport so they dont know where to deport him to. pure vermin
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2014, 10:04:13 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on January 08, 2014, 09:43:40 PM
Don't know how anyone can compare the Irish emigrating to what has happened here. Don't know anyone that emigrated because they wanted to get tax credits, dole, free housing etc & taking the whole family with them.

Now someone made the point of our own work shy useless hoors here that sit all their lives on benefits, that's true but why take thousands and thousands more in to do the same ? And it doesent make you some sort of right wing racist for thinking that.

You've answered your point, immigrants are filling the jobs that these useless cnuts over here won't do. Once every job is filled by these useless fcukers from benefit street then we can have a complaint about immigration being bad for the economy
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 09, 2014, 03:58:10 PM
imo there is a need for immigrants - to augment the workforce or parts of it.
however, we should follow the us and australian examples and bring in a green card system in Ireland.
that way we can regulate the type of workers that come in and the length of visas they are given and enable certain immigrants to stay.

no one coming in should be eligible for benefits - certainly not immediately.
there was an article in one of the sunday papers (business post or Times on sunday) about the benefits obtained and obtainable to immigrants immediately or after a certain length of stay or after a certain length of work service - and Ireland and britan was the two that gave most benefits straight away and the most in monetary assistence.
Other euro countries featured like spain and italy, people had to work in the country for a certain length of time before they could access any benefits- apart from immediate healthcare that was available immediately to everyone in all eu countries.
from recollection.
I still think we need to issue green cards and then restrict benefits to people with a certain length of service in work before being eligible (and that should apply to domestic Irish too not just immigrants - put them to work with the council etc)
Post by: Minder on January 09, 2014, 06:02:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 09, 2014, 03:58:10 PM
however, we should follow the us and australian examples and bring in a green card system in Ireland.
that way we can regulate the type of workers that come in and the length of visas they are given and enable certain immigrants to stay.

there was an article in one of the sunday papers (business post or Times on sunday) about the benefits obtained and obtainable to immigrants immediately or after a certain length of stay or after a certain length of work service - and Ireland and britan was the two that gave most benefits straight away and the most in monetary assistence.
Other euro countries featured like spain and italy, people had to work in the country for a certain length of time before they could access any benefits- apart from immediate healthcare that was available immediately to everyone in all eu countries.
from recollection.
I still think we need to issue green cards and then restrict benefits to people with a certain length of service in work before being eligible (and that should apply to domestic Irish too not just immigrants - put them to work with the council etc)

Hard to disagree with any of that lynchboy.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2014, 06:45:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 09, 2014, 06:02:21 PM

from recollection.

Hard to disagree with any of that lynchboy.

Unless you are a politician lol
Post by: Puckoon on January 09, 2014, 07:16:29 PM

from recollection.

I think that is a very fair point above. Certain jobs I've gotten here I've been ineligable for health insurance for the first 6 months of the job. Each and every visa had to have proof that I could sustain myself financially, and when I got my green card my wife had to prove she could provide for both of us. I cannot come here to live off the state.

Now, I have a job, and I've payed taxes, so if I was to be laid off I can collect unemployment - but certainly not right out the gate.

I think this is the bottom line mix of fairness and self protection for a countries finances.
Post by: easytiger95 on January 09, 2014, 08:11:22 PM
Nice article from last month - excuse my wishy-washy liberal bias

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2013/dec/27/net-migration-cap-damages-britain

the facts are that 1. net migration to the UK is falling year on year (a trend that began before the Tories started cracking down).

2. The Uk (and a lot of other Western democracies with low birth rate) need a bigger flow of immigrants than currently exists just to sustain, let alone improve their GDP figures.

3. Most studies suggest that far from being welfare tourists, that migrants are far less likely to access welfare benefits than native born citizens.

4. Quite apart from their value to the labour force, again studies show that migrants are far more likely to add to GDP growth by setting up SMEs and that areas with large migrant communites show a benefit to the local economy above and beyond comparable areas (i.e working class enclaves) with little or no immigrants.

5. The scariest thing of all is the ignorance of this subject, demonstrated by the figures in the closing paragraphs of that article detailing the public perception of the problem. When asked what is the percentage of immigrants in the Uk population, most people thought the figure was 31% - real answer 13%. When asked what percentage of those are asylum seekers, people answered 21% - real answer 4%.

It would be like a bad epsiode of Family fortunes (as if there is any other kind!) where it not for the incredibly serious implications for the UK and by extension for ourselves. The New right agenda is a combination of selfish capitalism (disdain for EU regulations and social charters) wilful ignorance (the figures above) and wolfish political cynicism and stunts ( loudspeaker vans telling immigrants to go home, whilst trying to out UKIP UKIP) and media opportunism (Daily Mail, murdoch etc). The electoral maths makes it pretty certain that the Tories will have to become even more extreme to get back into government and whilst they may not have the numbers to force a European referendum, their own domestic needs could see Europe telling them to do one, rather than the other way round.

And if that happens, we are goosed economically - any recovery will be strangled by our largest partner being outside the EU. And dem foreigners? Pawns in a much larger game. I pity the poor immigrant....

Post by: muppet on January 09, 2014, 08:35:14 PM
Agree with the above.

There is also this age profile issue:

Ireland 2010
(http://tfw.cachefly.net/snm/images/nm/pyramids/ei-2010.png)

Ireland 2020
(http://tfw.cachefly.net/snm/images/nm/pyramids/ei-2020.png)

Ireland 2050
(http://tfw.cachefly.net/snm/images/nm/pyramids/ei-2050.png)

(Source: http://www.nationmaster.com/country/ei-ireland/Age-_distribution (http://www.nationmaster.com/country/ei-ireland/Age-_distribution))

We will need to lower the age profile not least to pay pensions to those at the top of the pyramid.

Post by: anglocelt39 on January 09, 2014, 09:51:51 PM
the fact that we are in the EU makes it a bit difficult to bring in an Australian or US green card system, well unless we are saying it's only non EU immigrants people have a concern about
Post by: theticklemister on January 09, 2014, 11:12:33 PM
Wish day buck i was a female
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 09, 2014, 11:22:38 PM
we used to laugh at shameless and how ridiculous it seemed and where the hell they get half the ideas from for the series. I say the producer just walked round the existing slums with various dole lifers about and just went from there, Doesn't seem such a far fetched series now!!0
Post by: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 12:51:05 AM
Presume the people who want to stop immigration will also want to stop imported goods from coming in, ie televisions, computers, MP3 players, shoes, sofas, cars etc.

We have free movement of goods, so why not free movement of people?

Important to be consistent on these things. Or are material goods considered to take precedence above people?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 10, 2014, 01:40:36 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 09, 2014, 11:12:33 PM
Wish day buck i was a female

Wait till you're 80+ and surrounded by single honeys!
Post by: Kidder81 on January 10, 2014, 12:57:43 PM
Quote from: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 12:51:05 AM
Presume the people who want to stop immigration will also want to stop imported goods from coming in, ie televisions, computers, MP3 players, shoes, sofas, cars etc.

We have free movement of goods, so why not free movement of people?

Important to be consistent on these things. Or are material goods considered to take precedence above people?

Yeah I couldn't get my kid into the local primary school because a disadvantaged Toshiba TV took her place, your right it's the same thing.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2014, 01:21:41 PM
Why do people want to swing cats? I hate them as much as the next person, horrible little things, but I wouldn't want to swing one.
Post by: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 01:43:08 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on January 10, 2014, 12:57:43 PM

Yeah I couldn't get my kid into the local primary school because a disadvantaged Toshiba TV took her place, your right it's the same thing.
Perhaps the parents made a poor impression on the principal?
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2014, 02:09:12 PM
Charlie Brooker's Weekly Wipe has a great piece about immigration last night. Worth watching this piece and the segment by Doug Stanhope, which followed. Click here (http://youtu.be/8Kx1qNCoYmo?t=50s).
Post by: armaghniac on January 10, 2014, 03:12:21 PM
QuoteI hate them as much as the next person, horrible little things, but I wouldn't want to swing one.

I would
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-n0VkNhysNjs/TtbEdFbL3ZI/AAAAAAAAAng/3cALgyka7Xg/s320/officialcatwomancostume.jpg)
Post by: lawnseed on January 10, 2014, 03:50:23 PM
Where are these immigrant stats coming from? The only fact is that the brits dont have a clue how many there are
Or as they say in farney land  "fukn taliban are taken over"  :D
Post by: Kidder81 on January 10, 2014, 04:18:40 PM
Quote from: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 01:43:08 PM

That's not how it works, in six counties anyway. You apply for a place at a primary school and there is certain criteria, a parent/parents on the dole will get their child a place before a child of working parents as they are "disadvantaged".

It's a disgrace.
Post by: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 04:25:53 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on January 10, 2014, 04:18:40 PM

That's not how it works, in six counties anyway. You apply for a place at a primary school and there is certain criteria, a parent/parents on the dole will get their child a place before a child of working parents as they are "disadvantaged".

It's a disgrace.
Why should your children get favourable treatment over children whose parent/s are unemployed?
Post by: muppet on January 10, 2014, 04:28:28 PM

It's a disgrace.

Interesting logic or putting it another way, that is one of the most stupid things I ever heard of. Who came up with that?

You should have all of your tax refunded, as you are clearly being disadvantaged by being a taxpayer. Not only do you suffer for having to pay for everyone else's children, but because you pay tax, your own children are denied an education. That can't be right?
Post by: muppet on January 10, 2014, 04:29:18 PM
Quote from: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 04:25:53 PM

It's a disgrace.
Why should your children get favourable treatment over children whose parent/s are unemployed?

He is saying precisely the opposite.

His own children are disadvantaged because he is a taxpayer.
Post by: Rossfan on January 10, 2014, 04:29:57 PM

It's a disgrace.
So has your child got to stay at home then and go to no school??????
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 10, 2014, 05:17:09 PM
I've been told that foreigners get priority in access to schools in the north. Like all anti-immigrant claims and urban legends I'll believe it when I see a credible source quoted.
Post by: Minder on January 10, 2014, 05:29:45 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 10, 2014, 05:17:09 PM
I've been told that foreigners get priority in access to schools in the north. Like all anti-immigrant claims and urban legends I'll believe it when I see a credible source quoted.

Foreigners don't get priority but those in benefits do, that is fact. It's Department Of Education policy.

Post by: red hander on January 10, 2014, 05:36:02 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on January 08, 2014, 01:06:40 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on January 08, 2014, 10:54:57 AM

Was making the same argument to wans over Christmas

+2

They weren't whingeing about the Poles in their air force in 1940 when they were shooting down more Nazis over the White Cliffs than their own brave boys were
Post by: Hardy on January 10, 2014, 05:40:03 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 10, 2014, 02:09:12 PM
Charlie Brooker's Weekly Wipe has a great piece about immigration last night. Worth watching this piece and the segment by Doug Stanhope, which followed. Click here (http://youtu.be/8Kx1qNCoYmo?t=50s).

That's great stuff. Only problem is the morons it might educate won't have seen it as they'll have been watching "reality" TV.
Post by: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 05:49:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2014, 04:28:28 PM

It's a disgrace.

Interesting logic or putting it another way, that is one of the most stupid things I ever heard of. Who came up with that?

You should have all of your tax refunded, as you are clearly being disadvantaged by being a taxpayer. Not only do you suffer for having to pay for everyone else's children, but because you pay tax, your own children are denied an education. That can't be right?
His children are being denied an education? Whoah. Steady on there. Where has that been established? If his kid/s are in a school they aren't being denied an education. Maybe the school he wants them to go to doesn't have a place. When I was a child I wasn't accepted for a place at a couple of schools my parents wanted me to go to. It didn't mean I was being denied an education.

Every child in the six counties is entitled to a free school place.
Post by: thebigfella on January 10, 2014, 06:13:01 PM
Only for all the immigrants a large number of schools would be shut. How dare them come into the country and keep people in jobs.
Post by: muppet on January 10, 2014, 08:21:09 PM
Quote from: Sidney on January 10, 2014, 05:49:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2014, 04:28:28 PM

It's a disgrace.

His children are being denied an education? Whoah. Steady on there. Where has that been established? If his kid/s are in a school they aren't being denied an education. Maybe the school he wants them to go to doesn't have a place. When I was a child I wasn't accepted for a place at a couple of schools my parents wanted me to go to. It didn't mean I was being denied an education.

Every child in the six counties is entitled to a free school place.

If what he said was correct, his child was denied a place in a school on the grounds of his being a taxpayer and the other child's parent not being taxpayer. Sometimes there are not enough places for all children, fair enough, but to discriminate on the grounds that his child's parents were actually paying their way in favour of a child whose parents didn't pay their way is completely idiotic.

Try this for size, if he got himself fired would his child then displace another child whose father or mother worked?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2014, 08:49:22 PM
chidlren with unemployed parents do get preference over those at work in the cases where schools are over subscribed, normally this ocurs at pre-school/playgroups, and nursery schools. This would be part of the guidance criteria from the dept of education and not down really to a school. To me this has always been wrong and everybody should be treated equally, the misguided thinking behind it ,was that's it gives time for the parents to go out searching for a job, (yes highly unlikley) the reality is its an unofficial baby care for facility giving the mother time to go off and do what she wants. I have hear of cases of parents looking to enrole children just over 2yrs of age, to get them out of their hair during the day.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2014, 08:52:17 PM
Where i live i be surrounded by polish with 6 houses in the very near vicinty i find they keep to themselves, all the men work, and are quite nice and very little trouble out of them, i have no problem people coming over and adding to society, coming over and just signing on the dole is another matter,
Post by: muppet on January 10, 2014, 09:04:36 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2014, 08:52:17 PM
Where i live i be surrounded by polish with 6 houses in the very near vicinty i find they keep to themselves, all the men work, and are quite nice and very little trouble out of them, i have no problem people coming over and adding to society, coming over and just signing on the dole is another matter,

I have a mate who is a landlord, he swears by Eastern European tenants, particularly the Polish. They won't trash the place unlike a minority of our own.
Post by: muppet on January 10, 2014, 09:22:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 10, 2014, 09:19:00 PM
A number of years ago there were 3 Polish lads who worked in our place. Young lads about 23 or 24. People in our work took umbrage to them, labelling them "greedy b**tards" etc. Reason? They worked 8-5 in our place and then headed to Tesco to do a 6-11 shift. Greedy b**tards indeed.  ::)

The strange thing is the Irish have no problem (mostly) working hard abroad.
Post by: lawnseed on January 11, 2014, 09:39:56 AM
I used to get the out of date stuff out of a supermarket. All you had to do was give the storeman a couple of quid and he'd let you rumage through the skip plenty of good stuff maybe just out of date or maybe still in date good ham and ready made meals. Foreigners fukd it up they wouldnt give the lad any money and started a fight. The manager put a lock on the skip nobody gets anything now. thanks gustav  :(
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2014, 11:15:20 AM
Coming over here ruining our scavenging.
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 11, 2014, 11:31:18 AM
Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2014, 09:22:03 PM
A number of years ago there were 3 Polish lads who worked in our place. Young lads about 23 or 24. People in our work took umbrage to them, labelling them "greedy b**tards" etc. Reason? They worked 8-5 in our place and then headed to Tesco to do a 6-11 shift. Greedy b**tards indeed.  ::)

People who emigrate - not just from Ireland,but generally - tend to have a bit more initiative and energy than the average citizen, so you'll often find that they're good workers. Look at the Romanians over here. You'll see squads of them setting up car washes wherever there's a tap and a couple of feet of ground. The rest of them spend hours every day from the crack of dawn busking, begging, selling the Big Issue, etc. They might be a pain in the arse at times, but there's a work ethic there. You don't see too many of the native workshy getting out of their scratchers and standing for hours trying to sell a magazine nobody wants.
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2014, 11:36:48 AM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 11, 2014, 11:31:18 AM
Quote from: muppet on January 10, 2014, 09:22:03 PM

People who emigrate - not just from Ireland,but generally - tend to have a bit more initiative and energy than the average citizen, so you'll often find that they're good workers. Look at the Romanians over here. You'll see squads of them setting up car washes wherever there's a tap and a couple of feet of ground. The rest of them spend hours every day from the crack of dawn busking, begging, selling the Big Issue, etc. They might be a pain in the arse at times, but there's a work ethic there. You don't see too many of the native workshy getting out of their scratchers and standing for hours trying to sell a magazine nobody wants.

The locals don't have to do any of those things, the Romanians are not entitled to benefits.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2014, 11:38:33 AM
(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/anphoblacht_zps424de466.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/anphoblacht_zps424de466.png.html)
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2014, 11:42:47 AM
Ten Euros for a full year. Bargain.

30 Euros for a leap year.
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2014, 11:43:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 11, 2014, 11:26:43 PM
Yeah, send the buggers back.

This boy has it right:
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/mobile/news/taxi-driver-in-irish-rant-probe-147474n.23005857

Maybe he's a Tory and didn't want to give Tony a lift.
Post by: muppet on January 12, 2014, 01:24:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 11, 2014, 11:26:43 PM
Yeah, send the buggers back.

This boy has it right:
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/mobile/news/taxi-driver-in-irish-rant-probe-147474n.23005857

FFS

"The Evening Times asked Hampden Cabs to comment on the complaint.

Initially the company's Paul Muir insisted the incident related to what he called drunken passengers who had been at a city concert the previous day who had allegedly intimidated an elderly driver and been asked to leave the car.

However, after being told Ms McAleer was reporting an incident a day before the concert, he said he would not comment.

But before doing so he said: "I couldn't imagine four people coming over from Donegal and going to a party in Britain and not being drunk"."

He then laughed."
Post by: muppet on January 12, 2014, 01:30:34 PM
This is a great take on it: http://athousandflowers.net/2014/01/08/weekly-w**ker-025-hampden-cabs/ (http://athousandflowers.net/2014/01/08/weekly-w**ker-025-hampden-cabs/)