Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: J OGorman on January 04, 2014, 09:46:03 PM

Title: Electricity charges (in the north)
Post by: J OGorman on January 04, 2014, 09:46:03 PM
Anyone else get hit big time? I know the rates were to go up, but our latest monthly bill went up 100% ! (factor in spending most of the final week at home with christmas holidays etc, but sweet josepher...ITS AN OUTRAGE I SAY, A BLASTED OUTRAGE)

:-(
Title: Re: Electricity charges (in the north)
Post by: armaghniac on January 04, 2014, 10:38:29 PM
Turn off your computer.
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:44:36 PM
Changed from Power NI to Airtricity the other day and notice a big difference.
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:51:40 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 04, 2014, 10:46:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:44:36 PM
Changed from Power NI to Airtricity the other day and notice a big difference.
WTF? You pay by the day?

No but the keypad meter can tell you what you have used/spent on a daily basis !
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:54:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 04, 2014, 10:52:39 PM
When did you take your tree down?

27th I think.
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:58:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 04, 2014, 10:55:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2014, 10:54:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 04, 2014, 10:52:39 PM
When did you take your tree down?

27th I think.
Ach, sure there you are.

On Tuesday (tree long down), the usage was £4.90 with Power NI, first day with Airtricity was £3.10
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2014, 11:04:32 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 04, 2014, 11:03:20 PM
Jaysus.

Not gonna be able to retire with the savings but it would fairly add up over a month.
Post by: redcard on January 05, 2014, 12:37:13 AM
http://www.consumercouncil.org.uk/filestore/documents/Electricity_Price_Comparison_Table_Jan_2014.pdf

COMPARE PRICES
Post by: TabClear on January 05, 2014, 10:16:24 AM
Could get worse in a few months as well. NIE are at the Competition Commission at the minnute trying to get authority to raise their prices  as well. If they win hat case that will incresae everyone's charges, no matter who you actually pay your bill to.
Post by: J OGorman on January 05, 2014, 12:40:58 PM
Thanks men. Will give Airtricity a bell tomorrow to see the craic
Post by: bennydorano on January 05, 2014, 04:00:14 PM
I'm with Airtricity & they are dear hoors too. I noticed a huge jump in December myself (winter usage factored in). Someone in work was singing the praises of Budgetni, might have to give them a go.
Post by: trileacman on January 05, 2014, 08:16:41 PM
For all you lads who are regulars to the diesel dippers thread there is another simple way to reduce your bills.
Post by: lawnseed on January 05, 2014, 08:25:15 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 05, 2014, 08:16:41 PM
For all you lads who are regulars to the diesel dippers thread there is another simple way to reduce your bills.
Tell us more
Post by: nrico2006 on January 06, 2014, 10:04:18 AM
Been with Airtricity a few years, they were 14% cheaper the first year and 8% the second.  Only recently got the keypad installed and for some reason it seems cheaper.  Maybe its just a mentality thing and I've become more aware of turning everything off as soon as its not required. 
Post by: LeoMc on January 06, 2014, 10:31:59 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 06, 2014, 10:04:18 AM
Been with Airtricity a few years, they were 14% cheaper the first year and 8% the second.  Only recently got the keypad installed and for some reason it seems cheaper.  Maybe its just a mentality thing and I've become more aware of turning everything off as soon as its not required.

I went with Budget as they were the cheapest at the time and they did not tie you in for a contract period. I had always assumed DD was the most cost effective way but looking at Red Cards link to the consumer council the key pads seem to be the lower cost with the all the providers.

Must be because they are getting paid up front!
Post by: BenDover on January 06, 2014, 11:07:45 AM
Planning on switching from Budget to Electric Ireland this month.
Post by: offtheground on January 06, 2014, 11:18:09 AM
I was with airtricity until Dec, when my contract ran out (was previously with Budget Energy). They were going to put me up to 17p /kWh ! - Made the change to Electric Ireland - 14.77p / kWh.
Used that consumer council comparison table to make the decision. Switching is easy - I change as soon as whoever I'm with stops being the cheapest.