GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on April 10, 2007, 10:50:14 PM

Title: Who you would like to win this years All Ireland's
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 10, 2007, 10:50:14 PM
Just supposing your county of birth don't win either senior All Irelands this year who would you most like to see win?

For me it's Waterford in the hurling(or anyone but Kilkenny)
And would like to see Mayo finally do it in the Football
Title: Re: Who you would like to win this years All Ireland's
Post by: Cloc Mor on April 10, 2007, 10:54:41 PM
ABA
Post by: new devil on April 10, 2007, 10:57:07 PM
If tyrone dont do it would like too see donegal or laois do it
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2007, 11:00:00 PM
Donegal or Mayo, assuming Tyrone don't do it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 10, 2007, 11:00:42 PM
No one care about hurling?
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on April 10, 2007, 11:12:23 PM
I'd love to see Waterford do it in the Hurling. If they can't, Galway.

I think most people in Ireland would have sympathy for Mayo because of what's happened to them in previous Finals so I think they would be popular winners with everybody.
But if Tyrone can't do it I'd be happy to see Donegal do it. I'd also have great admiration for Armagh if they were able to come back and win it again!

Anybody but Kerry, not because I hate them but because they've won enough!
Post by: SuperSub on April 10, 2007, 11:17:32 PM
Galway for the hurling
and Laois or Mayo in the football
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2007, 11:17:52 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 10, 2007, 11:00:42 PM
No one care about hurling?

Galway
Post by: J70 on April 10, 2007, 11:44:12 PM
My mother's a Mayo woman, so I'd be happy to see them do it. Otherwise an Ulster team.
Post by: caraghtyrone on April 10, 2007, 11:52:16 PM
In the Football if Tyrone werent in it I'd have to go for our neighbours Donegal. 
Post by: 45GoneShort on April 11, 2007, 12:46:19 AM
if leitrim are unlucky not to win either this year  ;D   i'd like to see mayo in football and waterford in the hurling
Post by: cullahmo on April 11, 2007, 01:19:31 AM
Galway in the hurling and Donegal in the football.
Post by: dodo on April 11, 2007, 01:22:41 AM
Limerick in hurling (unlikely).

Louth in the football (ditto).
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2007, 01:30:07 AM
Football: Down

Hurling: Tipp
Post by: imtommygunn on April 11, 2007, 08:20:07 AM
In the off chance that Antrim don't do the double I'd like Waterford for the hurling and Donegal or Mayo for the football.
Post by: blasmere on April 11, 2007, 08:45:34 AM
Hurling Waterford

Football Kildare
Post by: Over the Bar on April 11, 2007, 09:33:57 AM
Hurling - Waterford.

Football - Mayo or someone else that hasnt won it since before the 1970s
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 11, 2007, 09:39:17 AM
Football : Donegal

Hurling : Mayo
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 11, 2007, 09:46:43 AM
Sorry i meant to print

Football ; Mayo or Donegal

Hurling ;  Waterford
Post by: cavan4ever on April 11, 2007, 09:51:22 AM
Hurling : Waterford

Football : Donegal
Post by: blanketattack on April 11, 2007, 10:00:25 AM
Hurling: Limerick or Waterford.
Football: Anyone besides Tyrone and Cork. Munster teams would be my first choice - a Limerick double perhaps.
Post by: full back on April 11, 2007, 10:11:37 AM
Hurling - Galway, admire Ger (although many other's dont)
Football - apart from my own county Donegal or Mayo
Post by: Sky Blue on April 11, 2007, 10:15:27 AM
Waterford & Mayo for me.

Waterford do seem to be most supporters second favorite county at the moment.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 11, 2007, 10:37:09 AM
Football : Any of the other Ulster counties.

Hurling : Antrim (but realistically Galway!)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 11, 2007, 10:41:13 AM
Football: Mayo (Donegal No. 2)
Hurling: Waterford (Clare No. 2)

Couldn't begrudge any of them.
Post by: Northside Dub on April 11, 2007, 10:41:39 AM
Football: Down

Hurling: Waterford
Post by: Deal_Me_In on April 11, 2007, 10:45:24 AM
Football: Derry (although i can't see it)

Hurling: Tipp
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 11, 2007, 10:49:41 AM
football - Kilkenny
hurling - tyrone
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on April 11, 2007, 10:50:58 AM
You have that the wrong way round Lynchboy!!  :D :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 11, 2007, 10:53:19 AM
Fubbal:  Cavan
Post by: realredhandfan on April 11, 2007, 10:56:44 AM
I would love to see this great panel of Tyrone players emulate the great Down squad of the 60s who won 3 all irelands. 
In the absence of that I would go for:
1)f - Mayo
2)h - Dublin (after Antrim of course)
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on April 11, 2007, 11:27:18 AM
Most people seem to be like myself - Waterford or Galway for the hurling, Donegal or Mayo for the football!
It must be great for posters from these counties to realise how popular they are. Just like us Tyrone people feel all the time ;D
Post by: tayto on April 11, 2007, 11:36:49 AM
Football : Would love to see Mayo or Donegal : anyone but Kerry really.

Hurling: Would love to see Waterford, Wexford or Limerick : anyone but Cork and Kilkenny would be great for the game.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 11, 2007, 11:37:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on April 11, 2007, 10:50:58 AM
You have that the wrong way round Lynchboy!!  :D :D
nope thats exactly what I'd like to see!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 11, 2007, 11:45:07 AM
Hurling - Waterford, Tipperary, Wexford (Dublin would be great for the game though)...
Football - Cavan, Donegal, Mayo, Monaghan or Roscommon
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2007, 11:52:54 AM
Football : Sligo
Title: there seems to be some confusion...
Post by: Uladh on April 11, 2007, 11:57:14 AM

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 10, 2007, 10:50:14 PM
Just supposing your county of birth don't win either senior All Irelands this year who would you most like to see win?
Post by: johnneycool on April 11, 2007, 01:09:38 PM

Hurling:      Limerick, Waterford or Galway in that order

Football:     Fermanagh
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 11, 2007, 01:17:25 PM
Football - Roscommon, Cavan, Kildare, Laois
Hurling - Wexford, Galway, Waterford, Clare
Post by: Star Spangler on April 11, 2007, 03:08:38 PM
Football: Leitrim (my mothers county)
Hurling: Donegal (my fathers county)
Post by: TORGAEL on April 11, 2007, 03:15:36 PM
Hurling-Waterford

Football-Donegal/Mayo [I pray its not Tyrone or Armagh]
Post by: full back on April 11, 2007, 03:19:06 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on April 11, 2007, 03:15:36 PM
[I pray its not Tyrone or Armagh]
The question isnt who you pray wont win it ::)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 11, 2007, 03:25:59 PM
Hurling : Waterford

Football: Donegal,Derry or Mayo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 11, 2007, 03:29:36 PM
Football - Galway
Hurling - Galway

I was born abroad. ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 11, 2007, 03:31:51 PM
Feck i was actually born in Kilkenny

So it's
Hurling - Laois
Football - Laois

Good one Galwaybayboy i hadn't seen the flaw in my question!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 11, 2007, 03:38:52 PM
Quote from: TORGAEL on April 11, 2007, 03:15:36 PM
Hurling-Waterford

Football-Donegal/Mayo [I pray its not Tyrone or Armagh]

Another Kingdom entreaty eh?... Well, it didn't work before for ya!  :P
Post by: Gnevin on April 11, 2007, 03:56:47 PM
Hurling :Tipp
Football : Cavan
Post by: tyroneboi on April 11, 2007, 04:03:15 PM
Hurling: Galway
Football: Donegal
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 11, 2007, 04:19:38 PM
So on summary from a quick glance so far

Football - Mayo, Cavan, Roscommon, Laois & Donegal the most popular

Hurling - Waterford, Wexford, Galway the most popular

People seem to be voting for traditional powers (well counties that had golden eras or football or hurling mad populations who are starved of recent sucess.)
Post by: Fionntamhnach on April 11, 2007, 04:28:34 PM
Football: Tipperary
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2007, 04:41:29 PM
Why do people like Roscommon and cavan so much? Enlighten me. ;D

I can understand Mayo is just a sympathy vote and Donegal created alot of excitement in 1992.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 11, 2007, 04:47:14 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2007, 04:41:29 PM
Why do people like Roscommon so much? Enlighten me. ;D

They should try living beside them. ;D
Post by: Kerry Mike on April 11, 2007, 04:59:55 PM
I hope Mayo win a football one soon.

From this boards point of view its ABU (Anyone but Ulster) or ABC (Anyone but Cork) though I would love to see Cork adding to their 6 football titles. They have been stuck on 6 now for years and are falling further behind us.

Tipp for the hurling.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 11, 2007, 05:05:33 PM
Assuming the Offaly double attempt falls a little short, and keeping it somewhat realistic, I'd like to see Mayo or Down (stretching the realism there) winning the All Ireland Senior Football, and Tipperary or Limerick winning the hurling.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 11, 2007, 05:07:41 PM
Hurling - Limerick/Waterford/Galway/Offaly/Clare/Wexford/Tipp
Football - Mayo (they deserve one at this stage) / Laois (Go on Liam Keirns) / Wicklow (Go on Micko) / Clare (Go On Paidi)
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on April 11, 2007, 05:09:11 PM
Waterford - hurling

Cavan - football
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 11, 2007, 05:16:49 PM
Hey SLIGONIAN 

People like to see the team that tries and tries such as Mayo in football or Galway/Waterford in hurling to go all the way or likes of Cavan & Roscommon in football because they are part of the traditional winning counties club,
I think people like seeing new old faces on the Sam rather than the shock of a no-hoper never hoper winning it, maybe they can cansole themselves being bettered by a lower county if they can say a Sure they always had the tradition or pedigree so us losing to them isn't the end of the world!

I think thats the reason, or that may be all a load of waffle
Post by: cavanmaniac on April 11, 2007, 05:21:13 PM
I'm all misty-eyed at this affection for my native county. It's easy knowing we've won f**k all of late  ;D

Football: Mayo
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 11, 2007, 05:26:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 11, 2007, 05:05:33 PM
Assuming the Offaly double attempt falls a little short, and keeping it somewhat realistic, I'd like to see Mayo or Down (stretching the realism there) winning the All Ireland Senior Football, and Tipperary or Limerick winning the hurling.

Ah AZ i was sure you'd go for Laois ;)
Post by: SuperSub on April 11, 2007, 06:20:47 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 11, 2007, 04:59:55 PM
I hope Mayo win a football one soon.

From this boards point of view its ABU (Anyone but Ulster) or ABC (Anyone but Cork) though I would love to see Cork adding to their 6 football titles. They have been stuck on 6 now for years and are falling further behind us.
Tipp for the hurling.

And how many Hurling titles are Kerry behind Cork ??? As we say down here Football is only for the lads that can't Hurl ;)
Post by: Gold on April 11, 2007, 09:18:46 PM
Antrim for the football, W'Ford 4 the hurley
Post by: deiseach on April 11, 2007, 09:46:51 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on April 11, 2007, 05:21:13 PM
I'm all misty-eyed at this affection for my native county. It's easy knowing we've won f**k all of late  ;D

You and me both, brother, you and me both.

Hurling: Dublin
Post by: darbyo on April 11, 2007, 09:53:52 PM
Football: Mayo or Donegal
Post by: ClosetotheHarte on April 11, 2007, 10:08:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on April 11, 2007, 09:46:51 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on April 11, 2007, 05:21:13 PM

You and me both, brother, you and me both.

Hurling: Dublin

Tell us this, deiseach, can Waterford still win this thing or has this team missed the boat? Surely there's only so long a team can keep knocking on the door without it opening.
Since so many neutrals would like to see you do well, what's the feeling within Waterford as regards expectation and optimism for 07?
Post by: DownFanatic on April 11, 2007, 10:10:55 PM
Football - London
Hurling - Fermamagh
Post by: stephenite on April 12, 2007, 01:13:32 AM
Football - Fermanagh
Hurling - Waterford
Post by: Redgreenery on April 12, 2007, 08:54:35 AM
Football - Fermanagh/ Donegal/ Laois

Hurling - Galway
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 12, 2007, 09:08:21 AM
Hurling, Antrim/Waterford

Post by: fearglasmor on April 12, 2007, 09:12:46 AM
Football  Leitrim
Hurling  Dublin
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 13, 2007, 08:17:41 AM
Football: Donegal/Mayo

Post by: dubnut on April 13, 2007, 09:36:00 AM
What no-one hoping for a Dubs football win?  ;D

Hurling - Antrim
Football - Mayo / Louth
Post by: Fíor Gael on April 13, 2007, 11:53:22 AM
Football, any team apart from Ard Mhaca
Hurling, any team apart from Corcaigh
Post by: deiseach on April 13, 2007, 04:15:49 PM
Quote from: ClosetotheHarte on April 11, 2007, 10:08:22 PM
Tell us this, deiseach, can Waterford still win this thing or has this team missed the boat? Surely there's only so long a team can keep knocking on the door without it opening.
Since so many neutrals would like to see you do well, what's the feeling within Waterford as regards expectation and optimism for 07?

I can't speak for hurling people in Waterford, but personally I think they missed a trick in not giving Justin the heave-ho. I've no doubt the preparation will be even more intense this year as enthusiasm has soared in the wake of last year's unexpected heroics. But the players aren't going to learn anything new after five years. A new face might provided the last bit of inspiration. As it is, I think we might slip back a bit this year, and we can't afford to do that.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on April 13, 2007, 04:19:39 PM
H- waterford
F- da dubs
Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2007, 09:30:34 PM
Football: Armagh.

Hurling: Waterford.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 13, 2007, 09:43:28 PM
F: Cavan

H: Waterford.

I really am shocked to see all the ones that have said Mayo though.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 13, 2007, 09:58:21 PM

Why are you shocked to see people want to see Mayo win Sam?

Mayo has been probably been the most consistant team along with Kerry from 1996-2007, yet they took the Glory & most of the time we took the Kick in the teeth.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 14, 2007, 01:39:01 AM
Football - Mayo
Hurling - Waterford

QuoteMayo has been probably been the most consistant team along with Kerry from 1996-2007, yet they took the Glory & most of the time we took the Kick in the teeth.

Sure didnt ye give us a kick in the teeth in '96 !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 14, 2007, 01:44:54 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 14, 2007, 01:39:01 AM
Football - Mayo
Hurling - Waterford

Jeez! Sheehy, we're in total agreement! Is the end nigh?  :o
Post by: farniel on April 15, 2007, 12:04:03 PM
Football - Westmeath
Hurling - Limerick
Post by: stew on April 15, 2007, 07:02:16 PM
Football Sligo.

Hurling Antrim.
Post by: skinthebank on April 15, 2007, 07:27:35 PM
Football: Leitrim, Sligo as first timers or May as a repeat from old days.

Hurling: Galway or Waterford

I agree my picks have a definite Connacht leaning.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 15, 2007, 07:30:24 PM
Fishead Sam, the reason why I'm kind of shocked is because despite what people say about 'we're 100% behind ye' deep down they all want to have a laugh at us! :-\
Post by: slow corner back on April 15, 2007, 09:08:27 PM
Football Laois, never won one in my lifetime
Hurling waterford for the same reason
Post by: thejuice on April 15, 2007, 09:18:06 PM
In Hurling, Waterford or Galway or better yet Antrim

football I'd like to see Donegal, Monaghan or Sligo and maybe Im getting soft but I suppose I wouldnt begrudge the Dubs an All-Ireland.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 16, 2007, 10:27:53 AM
Quote from: farniel on April 15, 2007, 12:04:03 PM
Football - Westmeath
Hurling - Limerick

Welcome to the board farniel  ;D

Football - Derry
Hurling - Galway
Post by: dubnut on April 16, 2007, 10:31:24 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 15, 2007, 09:18:06 PM
maybe Im getting soft but I suppose I wouldnt begrudge the Dubs an All-Ireland.

Juice, you'd be lynched back home if they heard you say that, best keep your username secret!  ;)

Post by: parttimeexile on April 16, 2007, 12:21:11 PM
Football;kildare
Hurling;Wexford
Post by: highfielder on April 16, 2007, 08:21:36 PM
mayo football and galway hurling
Post by: Square Ball on April 16, 2007, 09:46:46 PM
Football, not Kerry, dont be greedy lads.. or Dublin.

Hurling, not Cork, Kilkenny or Tip, see above