Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: stalwart on December 18, 2013, 03:11:51 PM

Title: What to get the wife for christmas
Post by: stalwart on December 18, 2013, 03:11:51 PM
 ;D Any suggestions?
Title: Re: What to get the wife for christmas
Post by: southdown on December 18, 2013, 03:13:51 PM
Weekend away for the 2 of you.
Post by: Under Lights on December 18, 2013, 04:24:10 PM
There is a thread dedicated for Christmas presents.
Post by: muppet on December 18, 2013, 04:45:34 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on December 18, 2013, 04:24:10 PM
There is a thread dedicated for Christmas presents.

'Something for the wife' is less of a present and more of an annual diplomatic crisis.
Post by: laoislad on December 18, 2013, 04:50:34 PM
Money.
Post by: Under Lights on December 18, 2013, 04:53:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 18, 2013, 04:50:34 PM
Money.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo

Get her this http://www.theperfumeshop.com/fcp/product//chanel/coco%20mademoiselle/1535 (http://www.theperfumeshop.com/fcp/product//chanel/coco%20mademoiselle/1535)
Post by: armaghniac on December 18, 2013, 05:00:29 PM
George Clooney?
Post by: muppet on December 18, 2013, 05:09:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 18, 2013, 05:00:29 PM
George Clooney?

You must really love her.  :D

What is she getting you in return?
Post by: lawnseed on December 18, 2013, 05:20:17 PM
Easy take her shopping watch what she looks at say nothing.then sneek back and get something you saw her looking at. It might be shite so get the exchange voucher
Post by: armaghniac on December 18, 2013, 05:25:36 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 18, 2013, 05:09:26 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 18, 2013, 05:00:29 PM
George Clooney?

You must really love her.  :D

What is she getting you in return?

I think it will be Julia Roberts this year, but I am easy going on these matters. 
Post by: Olly on December 18, 2013, 05:32:48 PM
Any size jeans are always appreciated

(http://www.offbeatearth.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/05/fat-woman-zipping-up-pants-2.jpg)
Post by: Cold tea on December 18, 2013, 05:47:03 PM
Your wife is smaller than I thought.
Post by: Olly on December 18, 2013, 05:58:11 PM
Oh yes I see you have not stopped thinkin gbout posters and their wives and people.

Remeber I am here to help with your fetsish - http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=23652.msg1283527#msg1283527
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 01:03:15 PM
the in gadget for women this Christmas is the loreal steam pod

its a steam version of the GHD yokey
better and less damaging for hair and can leave it in a few different ways - frizz free

I believe these are now hard to get
about 180 euros
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 19, 2013, 02:38:09 PM
George Clooney?

Does he not play for the other side, allegedly?
Post by: Billys Boots on December 19, 2013, 02:39:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 19, 2013, 02:38:09 PM
George Clooney?

Does he not play for the other side, allegedly?

Westmeath??
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2013, 03:29:26 PM
I'm bringing the old lava lamp back
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 03:37:23 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 01:03:15 PM

better and less damaging for hair and can leave it in a few different ways - frizz free

about 180 euros
180e...! You'd wanna be soft in the head to be buying such things.
Post by: thebigfella on December 19, 2013, 03:59:19 PM

about 180 euros

Or for me with no imagination  :P
Post by: snoopdog on December 19, 2013, 05:03:28 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 19, 2013, 03:59:19 PM

about 180 euros

my missus gave no hints at all. although she gave a hint about a watch and what happened? her ma bought it for her.
I havent a fooking notion what to get her  the above is an option if i can find one.
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2013, 05:10:00 PM
We have decided to get each other nothing this Christmas.
Post by: armaghniac on December 19, 2013, 05:12:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 19, 2013, 05:10:00 PM

Janey. Sean Dunne gave his wife Gayle Killilea €100m in return for her "love and affection".
Post by: Cold tea on December 19, 2013, 05:30:53 PM

Great idea, if everyone involved sticks to it, I upheld my part of the bargain one year with that suggestion!
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 05:57:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 03:37:23 PM

about 180 euros
Or maybe if I was an uneducated oik on shit salary with a shit wife then that might be an excuse not to buy a decent useful ( ok not inexpensive) gift
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 06:39:18 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 05:57:23 PM

about 180 euros
Or maybe if I was an uneducated oik on shit salary with a shit wife then that might be an excuse not to buy a decent useful ( ok not inexpensive) gift

I'm none of those things thank you very much(either is my lovely wife)..
You obviously have a very high opinion of yourself (and your wife)  ;D
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 06:42:26 PM

Great idea.

Now just to get her to realise Valentines is also a joke and you are onto a winner.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 19, 2013, 07:02:48 PM

Dide that one year, was shit lol, the next we set a £50 limit so it wasn't that empty feeling. Get her something just to make her feel bad ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 07:11:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 06:39:18 PM

about 180 euros

I didn't say you did, but It certainly looks like you are protesting a bit much

Anyhow, maybe keep your own nasty little uneducated opinions and jibes to yourself - especially if you can't take it yourself!
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 07:17:41 PM
Don't know if it works for the north but the loreal website has a store locator that stocks their products
From there you should just phone them to see if they have this thing

I don't know much about them other than they were reviewed on tv3 one morning and raved about

Also as I was buying one, a hairdresser that does the wife's hair spotted me and told me these things were superb and the missus would love it.
Think this might be a good gift - but you never know with women!
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2013, 07:33:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 19, 2013, 07:02:48 PM

Dide that one year, was shit lol, the next we set a £50 limit so it wasn't that empty feeling. Get her something just to make her feel bad ;D

Moved house two weeks ago so the cupboard is bare after the weans are sorted !
Post by: Jonah on December 19, 2013, 07:38:03 PM
A hair straightener is probably the most unimaginative present a man can buy his wife or girlfriend!  ;D
Post by: CD on December 19, 2013, 07:39:14 PM
Quote from: Jonah on December 19, 2013, 07:38:03 PM
A hair straightener is probably the most unimaginative present a man can buy his wife or girlfriend!  ;D

Would a hair curler be really imaginative?  ???
Post by: Main Street on December 19, 2013, 07:53:08 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 07:17:41 PM
Don't know if it works for the north but the loreal website has a store locator that stocks their products

I don't know much about them other than they were reviewed on tv3 one morning and raved about

Also as I was buying one, a hairdresser that does the wife's hair spotted me and told me these things were superb and the missus would love it.
I should watch more  daytime tv.
Any more tips Lynchbhoy?

Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 07:57:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 07:11:51 PM

about 180 euros

Anyhow, maybe keep your own nasty little uneducated opinions and jibes to yourself - especially if you can't take it yourself!
Ahhh I must really have hurt your feelings on your choice of gift for your lovely wife.
I guess it's not just soft in the head you are, you're just a soft man full stop!.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 08:00:50 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 07:57:59 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 07:11:51 PM

about 180 euros

Ahhh I must really have hurt your feelings on your choice of gift for your lovely wife.
I guess it's not just soft in the head you are, you're just a soft man full stop!.
Great and intelligent riposte !!  ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 08:08:45 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 19, 2013, 07:53:08 PM

Any more tips Lynchbhoy?
Lol
It's on before I leave for work MS!
Also on their website iplayer

Actually I have another tip
That rubbish expose programme on tv3 in the evenings ( and website ) has top buys in various items in cosmetics and beauty world

If I see it I write down the top one or two in whatever category they are showcasing and I have a list of stuff to buy the missus for Christmas or her birthday etc

Mad stuff like face cleansers, exfoliators, glycolic lotions and all sorts of stuff I don't know or care what it is for.

It's seemingly a good formula as all the stuff has been a hit with the missus !
Post by: Jonah on December 19, 2013, 08:09:25 PM
Quote from: CD on December 19, 2013, 07:39:14 PM
Quote from: Jonah on December 19, 2013, 07:38:03 PM

Would a hair curler be really imaginative?  ???
Do women still curl their hair?
I'm not well up on what women do to their hair to be honest.
I'd be killed if I came home with a hair straightener though, it's about as imaginative as buying her an iron! Imo of course.  :)
Post by: AZOffaly on December 19, 2013, 08:15:16 PM
No way. I remember GHDs were all the rage there a few years ago. This sounds like the next big thing for them. Stay away from presents related to household chores is the golden rule I think. No cooking utensils, hoovers, or irons (gulp).

A lad I know bought his wife a wheelbarrow for Christmas because she liked gardening. Not good.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2013, 08:19:52 PM
Luckily my missus doesn't need much work so I don't have to buy all this crap.
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2013, 08:22:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2013, 08:19:52 PM
Luckily my missus doesn't need much work so I don't have to buy all this crap.

I've seen your wife....

And you're correct ;)
Post by: Main Street on December 19, 2013, 08:27:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 19, 2013, 08:15:16 PM
No way. I remember GHDs were all the rage there a few years ago. This sounds like the next big thing for them. Stay away from presents related to household chores is the golden rule I think. No cooking utensils, hoovers, or irons (gulp).

A lad I know bought his wife a wheelbarrow for Christmas because she liked gardening. Not good.
Maybe he just didn't pick the right colour.
Post by: Main Street on December 19, 2013, 08:31:24 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 08:08:45 PM

Any more tips Lynchbhoy?
Lol

That rubbish expose programme on tv3 in the evenings ( and website ) has top buys in various items in cosmetics and beauty world

If I see it I write down the top one or two in whatever category they are showcasing and I have a list of stuff to buy the missus for Christmas or her birthday etc

Mad stuff like face cleansers, exfoliators, glycolic lotions and all sorts of stuff I don't know or care what it is for.

Good stuff Lynchbhoy, my horizons have been expanded.
Post by: Apparently so on December 19, 2013, 08:56:27 PM
A dildo
Post by: J OGorman on December 19, 2013, 09:37:25 PM
Quote from: Apparently so on December 19, 2013, 08:56:27 PM
A dildo

Was thinking the same..none of you savages give Anne Summers a turn?!
Post by: larryin89 on December 20, 2013, 03:27:10 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 19, 2013, 08:08:45 PM

Any more tips Lynchbhoy?
Lol

Ponse.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on December 20, 2013, 07:56:40 AM
She's getting a Dyson.
Apparently thinks they are a great yoke.
Job done.(Not f**kin cheap though)
Post by: ONeill on December 20, 2013, 07:59:44 AM
Get her Mugsy's book. Eye candy for her and a good read for you.
Post by: Cold tea on December 20, 2013, 09:17:10 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on December 19, 2013, 03:59:19 PM

about 180 euros

You could gave her a job!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 20, 2013, 09:34:33 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 19, 2013, 07:33:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 19, 2013, 07:02:48 PM

Moved house two weeks ago so the cupboard is bare after the weans are sorted !

Moved house!! Up the road?
Post by: southdown on December 20, 2013, 09:54:29 AM
A dildo
And if she doesn't like it she can go f*** herself!
Post by: seafoid on December 20, 2013, 06:00:50 PM
2 ten year premium tickets
Post by: armaghniac on December 20, 2013, 06:33:55 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 19, 2013, 09:37:25 PM
A dildo

Was thinking the same..

Useful men you are.
Post by: Main Street on December 20, 2013, 08:37:48 PM
This thread  has more tips for - never ever, not in a million years , should you ever buy a women you love, as a gift  for christmas.
God only knows  the torment those Tyrone women have to endure on Christmas morn.

A piece of carat gold jewelry never goes amiss, I've never heard a woman say  'what did you buy that for''? or  'no thanks,  i've already got a ring/necklace/ whatever'.
And should it not be quite be the appropriate fit/style, there's nothing quite like  exchanging it for something else at the jewelry store.
None of that embarrassment/low self esteem factor that certain Nordie women might have to endure when they go to return the gift that they received from their partner,  e.g. Mugsy's book wrapped in a brown paper bag, i.e. if it hasn't already hit the fireplace.
But maybe one women's Dyson is another's diamond.

Post by: Cold tea on December 21, 2013, 05:10:32 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on December 20, 2013, 07:56:40 AM
She's getting a Dyson.
Apparently thinks they are a great yoke.
Job done.(Not f**kin cheap though)

What do you get her for her birthday an Iron.  Bet she loves you, a household appliance for Christmas, who says romance is dead.  Hopefully she fucks it and your Christmas dinner in the bin. 
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on December 21, 2013, 05:41:58 PM
BBC
Post by: ardal on December 22, 2013, 09:58:51 AM
Domestic appliances are just a big no no.

My missus is getting a weekend away with a friend of her choice with spa etc thrown in.
I've made the reservation for February:
Valentines covered
It's my sons birthday so she'll obviously take us along
hey presto

€150.00
Post by: ONeill on December 22, 2013, 01:08:10 PM
A book £8
A candle £3
A nail polish £4

She only spent a tenner on me.
Post by: J OGorman on December 22, 2013, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 20, 2013, 08:37:48 PM
This thread  has more tips for - never ever, not in a million years , should you ever buy a women you love, as a gift  for christmas.
God only knows  the torment those Tyrone women have to endure on Christmas morn.

A piece of carat gold jewelry never goes amiss, I've never heard a woman say  'what did you buy that for''? or  'no thanks,  i've already got a ring/necklace/ whatever'.
And should it not be quite be the appropriate fit/style, there's nothing quite like  exchanging it for something else at the jewelry store.
None of that embarrassment/low self esteem factor that certain Nordie women might have to endure when they go to return the gift that they received from their partner,  e.g. Mugsy's book wrapped in a brown paper bag, i.e. if it hasn't already hit the fireplace.

Folk still buy gold?

A wee box of non-bio wrapped up in amongst the rest is good craic
Post by: Main Street on December 22, 2013, 05:25:47 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 22, 2013, 04:02:30 PM
Folk still buy gold?
A wee box of non-bio wrapped up in amongst the rest is good craic
Whatever passes for good crack in your town.

Post by: Family guy on December 22, 2013, 05:46:27 PM
Right here's the Craic,went to get the woman a contract phone the day as I'm on my last legs,the woman in the O2 shop says she can't verify my address because I'm not on the electoral register,wtf is that all about?my drivers licence and passport and another bank card all weren't proof of address she said,anyone know a way around this??
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2013, 05:55:12 PM
Quote from: Family guy on December 22, 2013, 05:46:27 PM
Right here's the Craic,went to get the woman a contract phone the day as I'm on my last legs,the woman in the O2 shop says she can't verify my address because I'm not on the electoral register,wtf is that all about?my drivers licence and passport and another bank card all weren't proof of address she said,anyone know a way around this??

Get her an Iron instead or a Dyson lol
Post by: laoislad on December 22, 2013, 06:03:59 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on December 22, 2013, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 20, 2013, 08:37:48 PM

Folk still buy gold?
The chavs do.
Post by: Main Street on December 23, 2013, 12:41:58 PM
I don't know about the hair straightening iron though, I found  3 of them in the bathroom cabinets and I can't do better than the best one. There's a shed load of beauty care electronic products in there, it looks like my daughter has sussed out what's what, over the years, every possible beauty care event has been taken care of. And then I could do with a new classy cordless drill, light to hold, with plenty of torque and 2 immortal batteries, but not in a million years would I entrust my wife to find one for me.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 25, 2013, 01:21:27 AM
Nothing for the kitchen.

A new axe for  the firewood in the yard would be the very thing, though.

I do feel sorry for her when I'm looking out the window and she trying to chop the wood with that old blunt yoke.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on December 25, 2013, 11:36:30 AM
Was supposed to be taking better half to Marrakesh for Xmas. Spent 5 hours in Aldergrove airport yesterday, trying to get to Gatwick. Gave up - Christmas @ home & no presents for her now!!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 12:24:39 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on December 25, 2013, 11:36:30 AM
Was supposed to be taking better half to Marrakesh for Xmas. Spent 5 hours in Aldergrove airport yesterday, trying to get to Gatwick. Gave up - Christmas @ home & no presents for her now!!!

FFS, bummer!! You would have got a good price for her at the market ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2013, 04:46:20 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 25, 2013, 01:21:27 AM
Nothing for the kitchen.

I do feel sorry for her when I'm looking out the window and she trying to chop the wood with that old blunt yoke.
The size of the chopper is important to a woman too.
Post by: orangeman on December 25, 2013, 04:49:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2013, 04:46:20 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 25, 2013, 01:21:27 AM
Nothing for the kitchen.

The size of the chopper is important to a woman too.

Not true. It's the striking action.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on December 26, 2013, 04:43:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2013, 12:24:39 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on December 25, 2013, 11:36:30 AM

FFS, bummer!! You would have got a good price for her at the market ;)

Couple of camels, tops? How would I have got them back into the UK?