Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: southdown on December 06, 2013, 12:29:53 PM

Title: Christmas Parties
Post by: southdown on December 06, 2013, 12:29:53 PM
I have my Xmas party tonight.  I have the usual worry, that I will get completely shi1t faced and make an eejit of myself.

We are a going wine tasting in some wine shop at 6.30 before a meal at 8.  This worries me!

Has anyone any good stories/antics/shenannigans they can share for a laugh?

Title: Re: Christmas Parties
Post by: T Fearon on December 06, 2013, 12:32:07 PM
Yes, the Man Utd squad a few years ago
Post by: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 12:34:54 PM
Ours on the 20th, feed in a restaurant and a few drinks after it. Long past the shenanigans of a few years ago  when based in Dublin (3 parties a year that was, one with a free bar).

Post by: Hereiam on December 06, 2013, 12:40:22 PM
Ours is on the 23rd so it will be a bite to eat and home. Since becoming a dad I just couldn't be bothered with the hangover the next day plus it is Christmas eve so I would rather have a clear head.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 06, 2013, 12:55:37 PM
Can remember when Stella was first available in Belfast on draft, decided this would be my tipple of choice for the oul christmas. All my mates who had lived in England raved about stella on draft. If you remember the fim the hangover when they had no recollection of the evening until they got the photos developed. They stole that idea from me. Monday morning saw the redner of all redners!!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 06, 2013, 12:58:37 PM
1. Get management to fine anyone who whips out the camera/camera phone
2. Don't get shitfaced.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 06, 2013, 12:58:57 PM
Without being a killjoy my advice for any Christmas party is stick to the bottles. From my experience pints leave you smashed whereas you can kinda control yourself on the bottles.
Post by: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 01:05:03 PM
I believe bigfella has hired the whole of the Europa for his company's staff outing.
Post by: southdown on December 06, 2013, 01:19:35 PM
A friend of mine smacked his boss a few years ago at his, I have no idea how he wasn't sacked!
Post by: CD on December 06, 2013, 01:43:41 PM
Missing mine for the 3rd consecutive year. Have a family Christmas party the following day involving 10 youngsters under 8 and a 150 mile round trip. Always enjoyed the night but it was always messy and it takes til Christmas day to recover. I don't drink or smoke but always manage to end up drunk and stinking off cigars that night!!
Post by: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 02:00:09 PM
I can understand you end up stinking of cigars if you don't smoke, how the hell do you end up drunk if you don't drink?
Post by: magpie seanie on December 06, 2013, 02:02:08 PM
Ours in on next Friday....Friday the 13th!!!!! Apt in many ways.

On top of the worries mentioned by the original poster I have my kids creche Christmas play on at 11.30am the next morning. Am usually ok if I have a big meal but one year we had a few pints beforehand. No problems there, landed into the restaurant in good form. all sat at table, order went in and wine came out. Wine got drank, more wine ordered. No food yet. I'd love to tell ye the rest but bar one or two moments it escpaes me! Monday morning was not fun....until I realised most people didn't remember anything either. Still don't know why it took so long for the food to come out (I'm informed it did) but yeah - that wasn't a good one.
Post by: laoislad on December 06, 2013, 02:09:52 PM
I get to go home with the bosses wife every year.
Post by: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 02:59:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 06, 2013, 02:09:52 PM

Would ya not just have it at home?
Post by: Bensars on December 06, 2013, 03:03:34 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 02:59:58 PM

Front of transit, Mc Donalds drive through, and he gets the free wifi for his Ipad.
Post by: CD on December 06, 2013, 03:15:36 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 02:00:09 PM
I can understand you end up stinking of cigars if you don't smoke, how the hell do you end up drunk if you don't drink?

The shackles come off for that one night a year  - always allow myself to have a few pints, a couple of glasses of wine with dinner and a wee brandy or two to round off the evening/early morning- been 3 years since now however! Usually buy a wee cigar or two as well - I'm a reformed smoker who still craves them - if I drank regularly, I would smoke regularly.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 06, 2013, 03:20:53 PM
Have to agree with Seanie...avoid the wine at all costs. Far too easy to drink and it leaves you in an awful mess...pints all the way with maybe a wee Jameson or two at the end of the night ;)
Post by: illdecide on December 06, 2013, 04:13:18 PM

I get to go home with her too on a regular basis ;D

Don't like Christmas parties and very rarely go to them as i hate people coming up to you next time in work telling the stuff you done or said...so f**k and also people who'd hardly look at you all year and they get a few drinks in them and they think they're your best mates...no your not F**k off
Post by: laoislad on December 06, 2013, 07:11:27 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 06, 2013, 02:59:58 PM

Probably will have to this year now that she's cooking a bun.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 06, 2013, 08:16:31 PM
Congrats!
Post by: Cold tea on December 07, 2013, 10:17:36 AM
Quote from: CD on December 06, 2013, 03:15:36 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 02:00:09 PM

The shackles come off for that one night a year  - always allow myself to have a few pints, a couple of glasses of wine with dinner and a wee brandy or two to round off the evening/early morning- been 3 years since now however! Usually buy a wee cigar or two as well - I'm a reformed smoker who still craves them - if I drank regularly, I would smoke regularly.

You sound like Nan from the Royal Family, you don't drink except for few pints, oh and a few glasses of wine with my dinner, oh and a wee brandy at Christmas, and champagne at weddings and christening, a wee sherry at funerals ........... :D
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2013, 02:06:38 PM
Had mine last night. First time in a niteclub since the 90s probably. Sorta looked out of place in a Gaelic Life bomber jacket and monkey hat.
Post by: illdecide on December 07, 2013, 06:09:57 PM
Yes ONeill I would say so...lol were u wearing white socks too?
Post by: ONeill on December 07, 2013, 06:48:51 PM
People seem to be younger at these dances.
Post by: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:13:13 PM
With the Holidays upon us, I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving - As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends.  - Well, two days ago I was out with friends and had several beers, followed by a double tequila shooter - Feeling jolly, I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. - That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home - Sure enough, on the way home there was a police road block, but since it was a cab they waved it past -I arrived home safely without incident - This was a real surprise, as I had never driven a cab before -I don't know where I got it, and now that it's in my garage, I don't know what to do with it!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2013, 10:29:17 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:13:13 PM
With the Holidays upon us, I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving - As you may know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time on the way home after a "social session" out with friends.  - Well, two days ago I was out with friends and had several beers, followed by a double tequila shooter - Feeling jolly, I still had the sense to know that I may be slightly over the limit. - That's when I did something that I've never done before - I took a cab home - Sure enough, on the way home there was a police road block, but since it was a cab they waved it past -I arrived home safely without incident - This was a real surprise, as I had never driven a cab before -I don't know where I got it, and now that it's in my garage, I don't know what to do with it!
:D I am sure that isn't a true story!
Post by: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:39:10 PM
Sorry I forgot to put a big smiley after it ;D
Post by: johnneycool on December 09, 2013, 11:03:47 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2013, 10:29:17 PM
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 07, 2013, 10:13:13 PM
:D I am sure that isn't a true story!

Tony,
   Ballela people are a law unto themselves, nothing would surprise me when it comes them.

Are you a McCusker by any chance??  ;D
Post by: ballela-angel on December 09, 2013, 11:33:40 PM

No - A different DNA chain
Post by: lfdown2 on December 10, 2013, 08:21:29 AM
Quote from: ballela-angel on December 09, 2013, 11:33:40 PM

No - A different DNA chain

Not many of them in Ballela!  ;D
Post by: LeoMc on December 13, 2013, 07:22:25 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on December 06, 2013, 01:05:03 PM
I believe bigfella has hired the whole of the Europa for his company's staff outing.
Go for a locka pints first to warm up, stick with wine through the dinner and move onto the bottled beers afterwards. They'd tick with the bottles til the indigestion clears then you can have a coupla halfuns. You'll be grand.