GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farneylawd2011 on December 03, 2013, 10:13:46 PM

Title: Ulster Under 21 Championship
Post by: Farneylawd2011 on December 03, 2013, 10:13:46 PM
Can anyone tell me Ulster u 21 fixtures or when they are gonna be released ??
Title: Re: Ulster Under 21 Championship
Post by: Itchy on December 03, 2013, 11:01:05 PM
Cavan begin defence of U21 title against Derry

Cavan will begin their quest for a fourth Ulster Under-21 football championship title in a row with a preliminary round tie away to Derry.
The winners will then play Tyrone in the quarter-finals.
Armagh are at home to Antrim, with Monaghan at home to Down and the 2013 beaten finalists Donegal at home to Fermanagh.
The preliminary round tie has been fixed for 12 March, with the quarter-finals taking place a week later.
2014 Ulster Under-21 football championship draw: preliminary round - Derry v Cavan; Quarter-finals - Donegal v Fermanagh, Armagh v Antrim, Monaghan v Down, Tyrone v Derry/Cavan
Post by: rodney trotter on December 03, 2013, 11:44:54 PM
Think the fixtures have been out since October. You have been missing out farneylawd
Post by: armaghniac on December 04, 2013, 12:57:49 AM
The Cavan machine must be stopped!
Post by: Farneylawd2011 on December 04, 2013, 06:16:04 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 03, 2013, 11:01:05 PM
Cavan begin defence of U21 title against Derry

Cavan will begin their quest for a fourth Ulster Under-21 football championship title in a row with a preliminary round tie away to Derry.
The winners will then play Tyrone in the quarter-finals.
Armagh are at home to Antrim, with Monaghan at home to Down and the 2013 beaten finalists Donegal at home to Fermanagh.
The preliminary round tie has been fixed for 12 March, with the quarter-finals taking place a week later.
2014 Ulster Under-21 football championship draw: preliminary round - Derry v Cavan; Quarter-finals - Donegal v Fermanagh, Armagh v Antrim, Monaghan v Down, Tyrone v Derry/Cavan

Has the semi final and final dates been fixed ?
Post by: Itchy on March 10, 2014, 09:18:27 AM
All kicking off on Wednesday. This is a real tricky game for Cavan. Given the game is in Derry there will be a small Cavan crowd. Derry are going well at senior and have 3/4 u21s on that team including the superb Enda Lynn. Although Cavan have a squad of classy players ive some concerns. First we don't seen to score easily and hit shed loads of wides in the Hastings cup. I'm also wondering about the steel in the team and maybe the leadership with the likes of Fergal Flanagan out. Should be an interesting one. In going for a draw.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 10, 2014, 09:19:36 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 10, 2014, 09:18:27 AM
All kicking off on Wednesday. This is a real tricky game for Cavan. Given the game is in Derry there will be a small Cavan crowd. Derry are going well at senior and have 3/4 u21s on that team including the superb Enda Lynn. Although Cavan have a squad of classy players ive some concerns. First we don't seen to score easily and hit shed loads of wides in the Hastings cup. I'm also wondering about the steel in the team and maybe the leadership with the likes of Fergal Flanagan out. Should be an interesting one. In going for a draw.

Enda Lynn isnt U21. Ciaran Mc Faul and Conor Mc Atamney were the only two U21s on display yesterday for Derry.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 10, 2014, 09:27:01 AM
Lynn would be around 24/25? Should be a good game on Wednesday.
Post by: Itchy on March 10, 2014, 09:38:58 AM
Eh, not sure who I'm thinking off then. Carry on.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 10:03:41 AM
Tyrone are favourites for this followed by Cavan. Derry aren't bring given a life at all which is a bit strange as they have a very decent side.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 10, 2014, 10:24:20 AM
It is strange as they home advantage  against Cavan and as you say a very decent side on paper. They were highly rated at Minor level but were beaten by Fermanagh. Might have been complaceny or just beaten by the better side on the day. Will expect a very close game on Wednesday, hopefully cavans experience of winning 3 u21's titles will be the difference.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 10:34:32 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 10, 2014, 10:24:20 AM
It is strange as they home advantage  against Cavan and as you say a very decent side on paper. They were highly rated at Minor level but were beaten by Fermanagh. Might have been complaceny or just beaten by the better side on the day. Will expect a very close game on Wednesday, hopefully cavans experience of winning 3 u21's titles will be the difference.

Complacency played a bit part that day.

Fermanagh played well but Derry should not have lost that game.
Post by: Rawhide on March 10, 2014, 11:36:44 AM
Derry have no chance, their preparations have been poor, whilst Cavan on the other hand have played in a pre season tournament, have a had all their under 21squad together now for eight weeks and that includes players who are senior players have been committed to the u21 squad. Derry u21s have played a few challenges and have not had anything close to a full squad in any of the games, also they had u21 players playing yesterday for the senior, others travelled to Cork with the squad, they will be not be fully recovered for a championship game on Wednesday, poor form from the Derry senior management in my view. Two teams, one is prepared with a view to winning the competion, the other thinks they are prepared.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 11:39:32 AM
Quote from: Rawhide on March 10, 2014, 11:36:44 AM
Derry have no chance, their preparations have been poor, whilst Cavan on the other hand have played in a pre season tournament, have a had all their under 21squad together now for eight weeks and that includes players who are senior players have been committed to the u21 squad. Derry u21s have played a few challenges and have not had anything close to a full squad in any of the games, also they had u21 players playing yesterday for the senior, others travelled to Cork with the squad, they will be not be fully recovered for a championship game on Wednesday, poor form from the Derry senior management in my view. Two teams, one is prepared with a view to winning the competion, the other thinks they are prepared.

A Derry win then for me.  ;)
Post by: quiganmaster on March 10, 2014, 04:57:02 PM
Derry also have Ryan Bell who is brilliant, the glen and slaugtneil minors from the last few years and a few from the st pats team. Hopefully we can make these players work well together because we have some top players there.
Post by: Jimmy on March 10, 2014, 05:18:55 PM
Derry captain this year is Brian Og McGilligan who has had his fare share of injury problems.

Story courtesy of derrygaa.ie

It's hard to describe just how resilient the human spirit can be. Often it's easier just to give examples. Consider then, Brian Óg McGilligan.

A young man on the launching pad of an adult career in Gaelic football in the summer of 2011, McGilligan suffered a horrific knee injury in a minor club championship game.

Having made his senior club championship debut at eighteen years of age just the week before, and having played midfield for Derry minors three months previous, McGilligan had the GAA world at his feet.

However, as he lay in a post operation hospital bed, thoughts of Gaelic games were temporarily pushed to one side as the extent of the injuries became clear. Complete kneecap reconstruction is potentially life quality affecting stuff.

"The consultant had told him not to have too much hope of playing again," explains Derry GAA chairperson John Keenan.

"I visited him in the Royal that summer and he told me he'd be happy enough to be able to walk un-assisted again as a first step. However, you could see the positive attitude the lad had even at that low point for him. It's served him well since.

"He would later receive all the assistance which was possible but it was clear that he was intent on taking full responsibility for his own injury and his recovery. He's a mature young lad and a fantastic role model to any young athlete, or indeed any person."

A dual star with club, county and school, the St Patrick's Maghera pupil went on to join the student body of St Mary's University College the following year.

Having just got back onto his feet, McGilligan tried out for the university freshers' football team under Paddy Tally, just as the Tyrone man joined Brian McIver and Paddy Crozier in the newly appointed Derry senior football setup.

"He just broke down," Crozier explains.

"It was hardly surprising but when I realised the full extent of the situation, I was very keen to see what could be done."

Integrated into McIver's set-up, and with Paddy Crozier as u21 manager, Brian Óg had full access to Derry's medical team to assist his rehabilation.

"The medical people worked tirelessly with him. It was a long, lonely road for him but he did absolutely everything that was asked, and to the last letter of instruction. Great credit must go to Maria McCullagh, Ann [Boylan] and Conan [Loughrey] and Dr Paul John McCormack. Along with Anthony Begley, who began to add the strength once the rehab work was underway, they got him back on track again."

With a tough encounter ahead of them in the Ulster U21 championship against Cavan, Crozier was in no doubt who he wanted to lead the team as captain, and why.

"Listen, for that lad to be even playing club football, never mind county football is a massive achievement for him. He has led by example and typifies the single-minded determination, which is necessary to succeed at this level. That's why he is captain.

"Our job is to give every young footballer who has the desire and ability to play at inter-county level every assistance to achieve their potential. With a bit of luck he has a long and successful career ahead of him," concludes Crozier.

In what is an inspirational story of resolve and determination, every supporter of Derry GAA will rejoice at the news of McGilligan's full recovery, and share Paddy Crozier's hopes for the future.

Welcome back Brian Óg
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 10, 2014, 06:44:25 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 10, 2014, 10:03:41 AM
Tyrone are favourites for this followed by Cavan. Derry aren't bring given a life at all which is a bit strange as they have a very decent side.

The likely Ulster winner should be Tyrone or Cavan. Armagh had a good minor team in 2011 not sure will that count for much at this level.
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 12:05:03 AM
The day has arrived.

Derry v Cavan.

Derry win for me.
Post by: J OGorman on March 12, 2014, 09:10:55 AM
Quote from: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 12:05:03 AM
The day has arrived.

Derry v Cavan.

Derry win for me.

pre black card, with the time cavan put into collective u-21 training etc id have popped for a tight win for cavan. this year with more open , less restrictive football ie less time needed to nial down a tight defensive game plan, derry could nick this one with the players they have
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 11:30:53 AM
Cavan by 6 I reckon. Just too good for Derry. I hope Joe Brolly doesn't throw out the dummy afterwards.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 11:39:55 AM
Would take a 1pt win. Unless you have seen Derry this year...
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 12:29:32 PM
Derry are in the long grass. Perfect ambush conditions.
Post by: skeog on March 12, 2014, 01:52:48 PM
donegal have put serious work into this years u21 side under rory gallagher and maxi curran part of an senior all ireland winning backroom team on the easy side of the draw will be not far away
Post by: oakleafgael on March 12, 2014, 02:10:53 PM
If Derry had their best team out and they prepared properly they would have a great chance of winning an Ulster title and maybe a bit more.

They don't and it will be a big enough shock if they manage a win against Cavan.

Cavan by a goal at least.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 12, 2014, 02:24:52 PM
The big difference between the u-21 and minor each year is that every team takes minor seriously and its played at a better time of the year, but u-21 seems to be a case of the better prepared team doing well, a team with a good game plan where all the players have been together for a while and know their roles inside out.  Hence, thats why I think Donegal or Cavan will win it, even though they would not have the best individual players.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 04:03:45 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 11:39:55 AM
Would take a 1pt win. Unless you have seen Derry this year...

I'd take any win. I was just making a prediction for the craic Rodney.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2014, 06:20:27 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 12, 2014, 02:24:52 PM
u-21 seems to be a case of the better prepared team doing well, a team with a good game plan where all the players have been together for a while and know their roles inside out.

Thats the case in most team sports and huge workrate can overcome talent.
Post by: tommysmith on March 12, 2014, 06:57:10 PM
Don't think this Cavan team is as good as previous years, will do well to get a win tonight.
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2014, 06:59:18 PM
I'm not sure I agree Tommy, better ball players on this team but have they the steel I wonder.
Post by: Westside on March 12, 2014, 07:44:41 PM
I think Derry's superior individual forwards will be the deciding factor. Cavan very blunt up front. I think we'll give a good account of ourselves but this fantastic run has to stop some time and I think Derry are primed to ambush us tonight.
Post by: Westside on March 12, 2014, 07:49:38 PM
Derry GAA have posted this as the Cavan side

farrelly fortune clarke faulkner smith moynagh mcvitty sankey argue graham dillon brady madden bouchier flanagan

Surprising if true and I wouldn't agree with the inclusion of Fortune or Gerry Smith. Neither can be fully fit.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 07:54:16 PM
Ah Westside, your always a pessimist. We can take them.
Title: Foirne
Post by: drici on March 12, 2014, 07:56:50 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BijTkAJIgAATMHp.jpg:large)
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 07:57:49 PM
Any word of a Doire team ?
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 08:05:25 PM
Cavan goal!
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 08:06:31 PM
Game over.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 08:08:54 PM
A feature of this team over the years has been a good start. Keep it going lads.

Derry player down injured since the goal, hopefully he is ok.
Post by: Westside on March 12, 2014, 08:12:17 PM
Cavan unable to build momentum after the goal.. This suits Derry. Hope the injury isn't a bad one.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 08:15:46 PM
Poor lads stretchered off. Must be serious. His own team clapped him off. Declan Brown is his name.
Post by: Westside on March 12, 2014, 08:21:00 PM
Let's hope it's not too serious. Flying start from Cavan 1-02 to no score up. Sounds like Dillon is playing closer to goal for Cavan.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 08:45:58 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 12, 2014, 08:12:17 PM
Cavan unable to build momentum after the goal.. This suits Derry. Hope the injury isn't a bad one.

Because play was stopped for 7 minutes for the injured player. On Gerry Smith & Fortune, they wouldnt be starting if they weren't fully fit. Turloc Mooney missed the Hastings Cup last year and was back for the championship
Post by: Westside on March 12, 2014, 08:49:19 PM
I can't speak for Gerard Smith but Barry has trained very little over the past few months so I find it hard to see how he's fully fit. Obviously management are happy with how he's doing so..

Sounds like Argue is having a flier. Derry will get a purple patch yet all depends on how Cavan cope with it.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 09:13:31 PM
Now Westside - take a chill pill, 9 points up.
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 09:16:32 PM
I expected Derry to do better in this game. The injury to young Brown was a bad blow so early on.

But fair play to Cavan - the juggernaut keeps rollong onwards.

Tyrone next - they'll certainly not lie down to them.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 09:18:41 PM
Shes not over yet. 0-11 to 3-8. 5 min to go
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 09:19:37 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 09:18:41 PM
Shes not over yet. 0-11 to 3-8. 5 min to go

All over bar the shouting.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2014, 09:20:06 PM
Cavan buildin a dynasty. It'll be like the 40s all over again soon.
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 09:22:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2014, 09:20:06 PM
Cavan buildin a dynasty. It'll be like the 40s all over again soon.

Same as that.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 12, 2014, 09:31:42 PM
Great win for us. It finished 3-10 to 0-12. I was out by a point in my prediction so sorry about that. Nevin O Donnell went off injured so hopefully nothing serious. Great to go up to Derry and win that comfortably. It'll be tighter next week.
Post by: Itchy on March 12, 2014, 09:46:11 PM
Well done Cavan. Great result.
Post by: Throw ball on March 12, 2014, 09:47:17 PM
Good win for Cavan. Although Tyrone will be tough I fancy home advantage will do it for Cavan. Of more interest is how they progress at senior level over the next few years. Under 21 level is a funny grade in that it is an after thought in many counties and seems to just be pushed into the calendar. The better prepared teams can often progress. To that end I will be interested to see how my own county, Armagh, progress next week. For the first time in a number of years a proper effort has been made to prepare the team properly. We may have a rookie manager but hopefully he helps the team develop.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 12, 2014, 09:59:20 PM
It's scary the potential Cavan have at their disposal now. A real heavyweight.
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 10:04:30 PM
They'll take a lot of bating in the next 10 years.
Post by: J OGorman on March 12, 2014, 10:12:58 PM
Cavan full value for the win tonight, could have been a wider margin. Any fluent play, link play etc all came from the men in blue. Our boys on the other hand were a group of individuals. Seemed to be a competition to see who could solo the ball as many times as possible before being turned over.
In the second half, whilst Sukie was 'wasting' in the full forward line, 1 ball went into him. When he came out, 3 balls went in quick, one resulting in a soft free....comical stuff at times. Sure if the thing cant be promoted or taken seriously by the county board, diddly or very little re buildup, team selections, news on any social media and a dozen sheets of paper at the match with the teams on it, why would anyone else?
Be some achievement for Cavan to win 4 in a row...best of luck to them
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 12, 2014, 10:18:16 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 12, 2014, 09:59:20 PM

Still haven't won an AI.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on March 12, 2014, 10:34:07 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 12, 2014, 10:18:16 PM

Still haven't won an AI.
I think sour grapes is the phrase we reach for
Post by: on the sideline on March 12, 2014, 10:36:51 PM
Do season tickets get you in to these games?
Post by: orangeman on March 12, 2014, 10:37:27 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on March 12, 2014, 10:36:51 PM
Do season tickets get you in to these games?

No.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2014, 10:39:18 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 12, 2014, 10:18:16 PM

Still haven't won an AI.

That is true. I suppose in terms of Ulster they must be hopeful of being the dominant force.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 10:48:28 PM
Not for the lack of trying, 2011 All Ireland final they came up against a clinical Galway side, Cavan never got going in that game and Galway were on fire. Danny Cummins and Mark Hehier combining well in the forward line. Cavan missed a penaly after half time

2012 All Ireland Semi against Ross was a strange game. Ref was awful, Cavan had a stone wall penalty not given in the first half. Second hal,f the Cavan keeper was chipped from a poor kickout, summed up a bad day. Very low scoring game

2013, AIS Cork got off to a very good start, and looked rampant, but when Cavan brought on Connor Moynagh,who would have started only for injury, Cavan came back very well,had a last gasp chance to level the game from a free against the wind, but wasn't to  be

Ulster winners play Leinster winners this year, but wouldnt be thinking that far ahead, Dublin will badly miss Kilkenny at this level
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 12, 2014, 11:58:38 PM
Are Tyrone not at home next Weds?
Post by: rodney trotter on March 13, 2014, 12:00:05 AM
Nope, in breffni.
Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2014, 12:06:50 AM
We're fcuked.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 13, 2014, 08:25:30 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2014, 06:20:27 PM
u-21 seems to be a case of the better prepared team doing well, a team with a good game plan where all the players have been together for a while and know their roles inside out.

Just as Throw Ball said, u-21 is not taken as seriously as senior or minor and seems to be a competition that most counties would have far down their list of priorities.  A lot of the counties who do well are the ones who are training together for a few months before the championship starts whereas others don't get together too often until the weeks before their first game.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 13, 2014, 08:28:56 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 10:48:28 PM
Not for the lack of trying, 2011 All Ireland final they came up against a clinical Galway side, Cavan never got going in that game and Galway were on fire. Danny Cummins and Mark Hehier combining well in the forward line. Cavan missed a penaly after half time

2012 All Ireland Semi against Ross was a strange game. Ref was awful, Cavan had a stone wall penalty not given in the first half. Second hal,f the Cavan keeper was chipped from a poor kickout, summed up a bad day. Very low scoring game

2013, AIS Cork got off to a very good start, and looked rampant, but when Cavan brought on Connor Moynagh,who would have started only for injury, Cavan came back very well,had a last gasp chance to level the game from a free against the wind, but wasn't to  be

Ulster winners play Leinster winners this year, but wouldnt be thinking that far ahead, Dublin will badly miss Kilkenny at this level

I certainly commend the work Cavan are doing at underage but I think until they go and win an AI u21 a lot of people wont take them seriously. Roscommon have won numerous Connacht titles at this grade and have yet to make a breakthrough. Cavans priority will be trying to break into Div 1 football whilst aiming for an Ulster.
Post by: armaghniac on March 13, 2014, 08:40:23 AM
So basically Cavan would like an AI U21 and to emulate Monaghan otherwise. Why not, they have the topography to equal Monaghan?
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 13, 2014, 08:45:58 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 13, 2014, 08:40:23 AM
So basically Cavan would like an AI U21 and to emulate Monaghan otherwise. Why not, they have the topography to equal Monaghan?

Oh are Monaghan in div 1 now.
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2014, 09:15:25 AM
Cavan's great work at underage level can only be good for the development of football at all levels in the county.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 13, 2014, 09:59:36 AM
Emulate Monaghan?? We would set our sights a bit higher than that I assure you.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 13, 2014, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 13, 2014, 08:28:56 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 12, 2014, 10:48:28 PM

I certainly commend the work Cavan are doing at underage but I think until they go and win an AI u21 a lot of people wont take them seriously. Roscommon have won numerous Connacht titles at this grade and have yet to make a breakthrough. Cavans priority will be trying to break into Div 1 football whilst aiming for an Ulster.

Yeah probaly, looking good for Division 2 next year would be a start anyways, but have to make sure of that . Cork while being a Division 1 team, have won the last 3 Munster U21 titles without an All Ireland. They will be going for 4 in row this year, had a good win against Kerry last night
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 13, 2014, 10:18:32 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 13, 2014, 08:25:30 AM

Just as Throw Ball said, u-21 is not taken as seriously as senior or minor and seems to be a competition that most counties would have far down their list of priorities.  A lot of the counties who do well are the ones who are training together for a few months before the championship starts whereas others don't get together too often until the weeks before their first game.

Wouldn't agree it not taken as seriously as minor. At minor level you would be doing well to get three good seniors out of any successful team, at under 21 one would expect six maybe more to make the cut. Most of the counties that did well at minor level in 2011,12 will be there or thereabouts at U-21 level this year.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 13, 2014, 10:34:22 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 13, 2014, 08:25:30 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 12, 2014, 06:20:27 PM

You will have some list of excuses if Tyrone are beat next week
Post by: Rawhide on March 13, 2014, 12:40:34 PM
Quote from: Rawhide on March 10, 2014, 11:36:44 AM

I reposted what I posted the other day the build up to this game. Derry were a shambles of a team, Cavan didn't even have to play their best football to win. Until Derry get their best men to take these teams, it will remain the same. Also unless the county board are prepared to back this group properly in terms of preparation, I suggest that we pull out of the competition altogether, as all we are doing is psychologically giving some of our players an inferiority complex. If they don't have  a level playing field, what's the point. Also Crozier, watched a midfielder get destroyed for an entire half before changing him (the guy isn't good enough) and a whf who is completely out of his depth the entire game bar the last 5 minutes, not as much a pattern of play in the team. He has colluded with the county board in the approach to this team. Until Derry change their approach we are doomed at this level, that cost me 40 pounds last night in entrance and fuel, won't be back until they change the approach.

Meanwhile both Cavan and Tyrone have had extensive preparations for this competition. Game of the championship in the next round.
Post by: Westside on March 13, 2014, 07:22:30 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DP4K2DpIy4U&feature=youtu.be&a

Love the reaction to the last question on this. Hilarious.
Post by: StephenC on March 13, 2014, 08:28:20 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 13, 2014, 07:22:30 PM

It's football, you don't need to get ultra excited about it.  ;D
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2014, 12:08:25 AM
Quote from: StephenC on March 13, 2014, 08:28:20 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 13, 2014, 07:22:30 PM

It's football, you don't need to get ultra excited about it.  ;D

Very measured approach. Head screwed on there.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 17, 2014, 07:47:54 PM
So what do Tyrone boys think of your team this year, many of them starting with the seniors. Since Cavan beat Derry they have now been installed as favourites at 9/4 and Tyrone at 3/1. Indeed Cavan are 4/7 to win on Wednesday and Tyrone are 13/8. Tyrone odds drifted out in last few days for some reason.

Its hard to know will the extra game help Cavan or will it have revealed their hand to Tyrone. Although Cavan won easy enough against Derry I'm told the Cavan forwards were not great but the back 6 and midfield were pretty excellent.

It should be a great match. I think home advantage might swing it by 1 or 2 points to Cavan.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 17, 2014, 08:32:55 PM
Hard to have any real idea of where we stand at u-21 these days. On paper we should be contesting the later stages of the AI on a much more regular basis but it has never happened for us. Much less 'big names' on this team, which mightn't be a bad thing. Only senior in this team is Darren McCurry who was rested yesterday.

We have drifted due to your swatting of Derry. That was a mightily impressive performance regardless of the preparation/setup of the opposition.

We're hoping for the best on Wednesday night,  tell your young lads to go easy on us.
Post by: Westside on March 17, 2014, 08:50:13 PM
Tyrone will bring the same savage work rate as Cavan do. So I think it will come down to what team take their chances on the night. We don't have a forward in the class of McCurry but I think we hold an advantage in having a game under our belt and a team that have been on a Minor run together and an U21 run for the past two seasons. It will be very much 50/50 on the night, I'm sure both teams will bring good support and hopefully it will be a good night for football.
Post by: sam03/05 on March 18, 2014, 09:31:10 PM
Tyrone have a very young team, with most of them underage next couple of years. I would fancy Cavan as a result.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 19, 2014, 08:33:18 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on March 18, 2014, 09:31:10 PM
Tyrone have a very young team, with most of them underage next couple of years. I would fancy Cavan as a result.

Although you would hope  they should do well considering that the fact that the bulk of the team will be made up of players who appeared in last years All Ireland Minor final and won the year befores Ulster minor title.
Post by: regal on March 19, 2014, 08:57:59 AM
Quote from: AFS on March 18, 2014, 09:38:13 PM
Armagh team for tomorrow night anyway:

Noel McCoy
Michael Finnegan
Seamus Kelly
Shea Freeman
Donal O’Neill
Diarmuid O’Hagan
Paudi Crilly
Aaron Findon
Ethan Rafferty
Paul McGeown
Miceal McKenna
Callum Comiskey
Aidan Nugent
Ciaron O’Hanlon
Conor McNally

It's great to see O'Hanlon playing. He played for the seniors in the championship last year, why is he not involved with the seniors this year?
Post by: mackers on March 19, 2014, 10:36:59 AM
It was his decision Regal.  He didn't want to play for the seniors this year.
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 10:57:44 AM
Quote from: mackers on March 19, 2014, 10:36:59 AM
It was his decision Regal.  He didn't want to play for the seniors this year.

Time enough for him to be in the seniors. Hopefully he'll make his mark in the U21.
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:00:50 PM
Cavan v Tyrone delayed by 15 minutes.
Post by: Dougal on March 19, 2014, 08:05:56 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:00:50 PM
Cavan v Tyrone delayed by 15 minutes.

any team named?
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:07:11 PM
No can't get my hands on one! Declan Woods not up to his usual standard.
Post by: Dougal on March 19, 2014, 08:10:12 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:07:11 PM
No can't get my hands on one! Declan Woods not up to his usual standard.

i see that. hopefully keep us up to date once the game starts.
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:13:22 PM
Mickey Brennan on Northern Sound names the team, looks like Conor Madden is out, being replaced by Aaron Watson. Good few positional changes other than that.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 19, 2014, 08:15:27 PM
Any radio station doing the iniskeen game?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 19, 2014, 08:20:33 PM
Update on northern sound aristo. Last I heard monaghan were 1-03 to 1-00 up
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:25:39 PM
Monaghan 1-4 Down 2-2
Cavan 0-0 Tyrone 0-2
Donegal 0-2 Fermanagh 0-5
Armagh 0-1 Antrim 0-1

Id say wind is a factor in all games
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:27:51 PM
Is there some sort of media blackout in Breffni!? Nowhere near the usual amount of coverage on the game through twitter/blogs etc..
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 19, 2014, 08:28:48 PM
thanks og
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:30:15 PM
HUGE crowd in Breffni, throw in was delayed by 15 minutes. Tyrone have a big wind in 1st half.
Post by: Aristo 60 on March 19, 2014, 08:33:02 PM
Where are u getting all your info myles?
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 19, 2014, 08:34:08 PM
Paddy Power's live betting section is good for latest scores.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:35:11 PM
mixture of twitter and some people at the match on text. Pissed off cant be there but its too far for me from where I work to Cavan mid week.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 08:35:40 PM
Armagh 0-2 Antrim 1-2, 18 mins
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:36:20 PM
Some half times
Donegal 2-4 Fermanagh 0-5
Monaghan 1-8 Down 2-2
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:38:22 PM
Cavan 0-2 Tyrone 0-2
20 mins gone

Post by: omagh_gael on March 19, 2014, 08:41:28 PM
Teamtalkmag have commentary from the Tyrone Cavan game but it appears not to be working.  Anyone getting an joy with them?
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:43:48 PM
Cavan 0-2 Tyrone 0-3
25 mins in
Post by: omagh_gael on March 19, 2014, 08:46:05 PM
Tyronegaa just tweeted saying there are on going connection issues in Breffni.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:48:01 PM
Hard to know why there would be problems, normally there are great updates from Breffni. Maybe weather has damaged a mast or something?
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:49:52 PM
There's connection issues in Breffni apparently. Tyrone playing with wind advantage and 13 men behind the ball. Cavan with the lions share of possession but can't convert it to scores.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 08:50:52 PM
Armagh 0-05 Antrim 1-02 half time.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:51:25 PM
Cavan 0-3 Tyrone 0-3

HT score
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:52:52 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 19, 2014, 08:49:52 PM
There's connection issues in Breffni apparently. Tyrone playing with wind advantage and 13 men behind the ball. Cavan with the lions share of possession but can't convert it to scores.

Thats been this teams weakness so far. Even in Hastings cup we lorded possession but were very wasteful up front. Hopefully with wind we can slot over some scores from distance.
Post by: Tubberman on March 19, 2014, 09:00:31 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 08:51:25 PM
Cavan 0-3 Tyrone 0-3

HT score

Sounds like an Ulster classic!
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 09:01:11 PM
Completely. I was in Newtowncashel for the Roscommon game. We lorded possession, played most of the football and still lost. Roscommon just set up defensively and took their chances much better, looks like Tyrone will try do the same tonight. Let's hope someone can find their range in the second half. Madden is a big loss.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:03:03 PM
Strange tactics from Tyrone. They had a huge wind in the 1st half and played everyone behind the ball. Lets see what happens in the 2nd half. I predict a final score of 3-16 to 4-13
Post by: Syferus on March 19, 2014, 09:04:52 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 19, 2014, 09:00:31 PM
Cavan 0-3 Tyrone 0-3

HT score

Least they're still in the championship at half-time.
Post by: Tubberman on March 19, 2014, 09:09:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 19, 2014, 09:04:52 PM
Cavan 0-3 Tyrone 0-3

HT score

Don't try to gloat. There will be multiple opportunities later in the summer for you to get your face rubbed in the shite you talk
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:10:59 PM
Cavan 0-4 Tyrone 0-3

Argue with his 2nd
Post by: Syferus on March 19, 2014, 09:11:48 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 19, 2014, 09:09:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 19, 2014, 09:04:52 PM
Cavan 0-3 Tyrone 0-3

HT score

Don't try to gloat. There will be multiple opportunities later in the summer for you to get your face rubbed in the shite you talk

Sure it was only a joke, Tubberman. Calm yerself!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:14:04 PM
Cavan 0-5 Tyrone 0-3
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:17:39 PM
Cavan 0-5 to Tyrone 0-4
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 19, 2014, 09:20:30 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:10:59 PM
Cavan 0-4 Tyrone 0-3

Argue with his 2nd
Was it not his third?
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:20:43 PM
 Armagh 1-7 Antrim 1-6
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:21:33 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 19, 2014, 09:20:30 PM
Cavan 0-4 Tyrone 0-3

Argue with his 2nd
Was it not his third?
He got Cavans 5th too so he has 3 now.
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 09:22:19 PM
He has 4 now. Joe Dillon Goal!!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:22:57 PM
Cavan 1-6 Tyrone 0-4
Argue with his 4th and Joe Dillon with the goal.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 19, 2014, 09:24:13 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:20:43 PM
Armagh 1-7 Antrim 1-6

How much time is left?
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 19, 2014, 09:25:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:21:33 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 19, 2014, 09:20:30 PM
Cavan 0-4 Tyrone 0-3

Argue with his 2nd
Was it not his third?
He got Cavans 5th too so he has 3 now.
Ok. I won't get into a disagreement over how many Argue scores.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:26:20 PM
13mins left
Post by: Schkite on March 19, 2014, 09:26:39 PM
Monaghan 1-12
Down 2-7 FT
Post by: omagh_gael on March 19, 2014, 09:27:01 PM
Something seriously flawed in our approach at u-21. How can we go from regularly reaching the last stages of the minor AI series and fall flat on our faces at u-21. Depressing waste of great talent. We should not be sitting on 4 points in a championship match with the talent in our ranks.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:31:34 PM
Cavan 1-8 Tyrone 0-4
Moynagh and McVitty
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:33:34 PM
Cavan 1-9 Tyrone 0-4

Madden just after coming on as a sub and scoring
Post by: skeog on March 19, 2014, 09:36:00 PM
cavan are a serious outfit peter donnelly doing great work for them
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:36:56 PM
Cavan 1-9 Tyrone 0-5 (McCurry)

6 mins of added time to go
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:38:12 PM
Two late Antrim goals Armagh 1-14 Antrim 3-8.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:39:34 PM
Cavan 1-10 (Bouchier) Tyrone 0-6 (mcclure)
Post by: babarino on March 19, 2014, 09:41:05 PM
Quote from: Schkite on March 19, 2014, 09:26:39 PM
Monaghan 1-12
Down 2-7 FT

Who are Monaghan up against next?
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:41:47 PM
Quote from: babarino on March 19, 2014, 09:41:05 PM
Quote from: Schkite on March 19, 2014, 09:26:39 PM
Monaghan 1-12
Down 2-7 FT

Who are Monaghan up against next?

Cavan
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:43:18 PM
Cavan 1-11 to Tyrone 0-6

Madden

Game over

Fantastic Result!
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 09:50:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 19, 2014, 09:44:17 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:38:12 PM
Two late Antrim goals Armagh 1-14 Antrim 3-8.
Amazing comeback.

Armagh should be closed this one out in normal time.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:52:47 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 09:43:18 PM
Cavan 1-11 to Tyrone 0-6

Madden

Game over

Fantastic Result!

Consistent from Tyrone three points in each half. 2006 since Tyrone have won Ulster under 21 title their good minors aren't making the step up. Cavan should win Ulster again.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 19, 2014, 09:54:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 09:50:06 PM
Armagh should be closed this one out in normal time.
Correct.

Half Time of Extra Time Armagh 1-20 Antrim 3-08
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:01:36 PM
1-20 to 3-11. Antrim reeling them in again!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:02:49 PM
2 point game now 1-20 to 3-12
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:04:18 PM
LEVEL!!
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 10:05:42 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 19, 2014, 09:27:01 PM
Something seriously flawed in our approach at u-21. How can we go from regularly reaching the last stages of the minor AI series and fall flat on our faces at u-21. Depressing waste of great talent. We should not be sitting on 4 points in a championship match with the talent in our ranks.

To be fair, Tyrone have been competitive reaching finals in 2011 and 2012 and just came up against hungrier Cavan sides on the night.

Delighted with that win. Argue really stepped up when the going was tough for Cavan and pushed us in front. He's scored 4 from play in the last two games. Brilliant from a midfielder.

The Farneymen up next, they'll be baying for our blood no doubt.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:06:07 PM
Armagh 1-20 Antrim 3-14 Full Time

That must have been some game
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:07:26 PM
Quote from: Westside on March 19, 2014, 10:05:42 PM

To be fair, Tyrone have been competitive reaching finals in 2011 and 2012 and just came up against hungrier Cavan sides on the night.

Delighted with that win. Argue really stepped up when the going was tough for Cavan and pushed us in front. He's scored 4 from play in the last two games. Brilliant from a midfielder.

Back to Enniskillen hopefully, would be do-able commute for me!
Post by: rodney trotter on March 19, 2014, 10:12:28 PM
Very good performance by Cavan, by far the better team. Pauric Faulkner was outstanding at Corner back, Conor Moynagh very good  at centre back, and Dara McVeety on the wing. Argue hit some massive scores in both  halfs, great talent. Forward linked well, led by Bouchier but shooting was off at times, the subs made an impact like Tom Hayes and Conor Madden.
McCurry showed well for Tyrone and hit a few good scores but they were very limited bar him

Looked like a nasty injury to one of the Tyrone players in the second game, game was stopped for 6/7 minutes..
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:12:59 PM

Argue is developing into some player. I always thought he looked dangly and awkward as a minor but he has developed brilliantly over the last 2 years. He will almost certainly be starting for the seniors this year. He's a huge man with super passing and shooting ability. He's a really exciting prospect as are the entire half back line of McVitty, Moynagh and Smith - three lovely footballers. Monaghan will be another tough battle. Last two time at this level we had big tussle with them. Last year it was extra time in Breffni and a few years prior a brilliant last minute point by Givney won the semi final.
Post by: Orior on March 19, 2014, 10:14:43 PM
Where will they have the replay - Windsor Park or Corrigan Park?

Sounds like McDonnell's problems are similar to the senior team - need to work on the defence.

How often have Armagh been put out in the first round recently?
Post by: babarino on March 19, 2014, 10:16:02 PM

Colourful depiction of our attitude to this challenge. And you'll find not many are from Farney.
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 10:16:13 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:06:07 PM

Lose one 6 point lead is one thing, losing 2 suggests carelessness.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:18:49 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 10:16:13 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:06:07 PM

Lose one 6 point lead is one thing, losing 2 suggests carelessness.

Ah I know but good to see an Antrim team put it up to one of the big boys, they've had a terrible 2014 at all levels so far and its sad to see, especially since there were green shoots showing a couple of years ago.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 19, 2014, 10:20:25 PM
Antrim performed well in the Shamrock Cup and reached the final, not a big shock.
Post by: ardchieftain on March 19, 2014, 10:25:53 PM
What is the Shamrock cup and who competed in it?
Post by: JP on March 19, 2014, 10:27:34 PM
Heard Ethan Rafferty went off injured. Can anyone at the match confirm this? if so did it look bad?

Another injury.... that's the last thing we needed. It's just getting ridiculous now/
Post by: rodney trotter on March 19, 2014, 10:30:45 PM
Pre Season U21 tournament same as the Hastings Cup, run by Monaghan, Monaghan, Louth, Antrim, Tyrone were involved this year not sure if there was others
Post by: Throw ball on March 19, 2014, 10:32:18 PM
Quote from: JP on March 19, 2014, 10:27:34 PM
Heard Ethan Rafferty went off injured. Can anyone at the match confirm this? if so did it look bad?

Another injury.... that's the last thing we needed. It's just getting ridiculous now/

Rafferty went off injured in first half of extra time. Looked like ankle. May not make next match but did not look long term - I hope.
First Antrim comeback was started when the Armagh keeper lost a fifty yard punt in the lights and let ball into net. Armagh really missed Rafferty in second part of extra time playing into very strong wind.

The worst display of refereeing I have seen since in the All Ireland minor final a couple of years ago. I wonder who the referee was then?
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:35:49 PM
Cavan & Tyrone teams and scorers tonight...

Cavan: J Farrelly, B Fortune, K Clarke, P Faulkner, G Smith, C Moynagh (0-1), C Brady, B Sankey, M Argue (0-4), P Graham, E Flanagan, A Watson, D McVeety (0-2), K Bouchier (0-2, 2f), J Dillon (1-0).
Subs: T Hayes for Dillon (47), C Madden (0-2) for Graham (56), C Byrne for Flanagan (59), L Buchanan for Sankey (61), E Hession for McVitty, J McCabe for Brady (66)

Tyrone: M McReynolds, B Burns, R Brennan, C McLaughlin, M McCann, J Munroe, K McGeary, D McClure (0-1), C McCann, C McKenna, M Cassidy, F Burns (0-1), D McCurry (0-1), D McNulty (0-1, f), M Bradley (0-2).
Subs: C Meyler for F Burns (BC, 38), T McCarron for Brennan (45), J Loughran for McGeary (54)
Post by: imtommygunn on March 19, 2014, 11:00:14 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:35:49 PM
Cavan & Tyrone teams and scorers tonight...

Cavan: J Farrelly, B Fortune, K Clarke, P Faulkner, G Smith, C Moynagh (0-1), C Brady, B Sankey, M Argue (0-4), P Graham, E Flanagan, A Watson, D McVeety (0-2), K Bouchier (0-2, 2f), J Dillon (1-0).
Subs: T Hayes for Dillon (47), C Madden (0-2) for Graham (56), C Byrne for Flanagan (59), L Buchanan for Sankey (61), E Hession for McVitty, J McCabe for Brady (66)

Tyrone: M McReynolds, B Burns, R Brennan, C McLaughlin, M McCann, J Munroe, K McGeary, D McClure (0-1), C McCann, C McKenna, M Cassidy, F Burns (0-1), D McCurry (0-1), D McNulty (0-1, f), M Bradley (0-2).
Subs: C Meyler for F Burns (BC, 38), T McCarron for Brennan (45), J Loughran for McGeary (54)

Can't argue with that.

I'll get my coat...

Great comebacks from antrim.  Hopeful for replay.
Post by: Itchy on March 19, 2014, 11:17:02 PM
Excellent performance by us yet again. Well organised and drilled with quality players in every line. McCurry held to 1 point and really we dominated possession. Moynagh is some player, if only we had him fit last year. Anyone know why Madden didn't start? As good a performance as ive seen from our lads as u21 and that's saying something
Post by: Westside on March 19, 2014, 11:43:15 PM
Who was marking McCurry? Strange that Madden didn't start, really thought he was our go to forward for the year. Was it Dillon and Bouchier playing inside and McVeety back sweeping?
Post by: Main Street on March 19, 2014, 11:44:26 PM
Quote from: babarino on March 19, 2014, 10:16:02 PM

Colourful depiction of our attitude to this challenge. And you'll find not many are from Farney.
And it's hard to imagine anyone in Monaghan being  that worked up over playing Cavan, over and above any other team. We do have a bit of compassion for the way Cavan folk have been parodied over the years but generally it's a "there but for the grace of God go I " type attitude.
Post by: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 11:53:31 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 19, 2014, 11:44:26 PM
And it's hard to imagine anyone in Monaghan being  that worked up over playing Cavan, over and above any other team. We do have a bit of compassion for the way Cavan folk have been parodied over the years but generally it's a "there but for the grace of God go I " type attitude.

Who'd be bothered slagging Monaghan people?
Post by: Main Street on March 19, 2014, 11:58:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 19, 2014, 11:53:31 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 19, 2014, 11:44:26 PM

Who'd be bothered slagging Monaghan people?
Seeing as slaggers are the lowest, then you tell me?
Post by: timmyot501 on March 20, 2014, 12:02:48 AM
Monaghan were the better team in first half tonight and going in with a lead at half time after facing a stiff breeze should have been the end of the matter. But down did well in the second half getting it back to level only to run out of steam. Lots for Monaghan to improve on if they are to trouble cavan
Post by: charlie linkbox on March 20, 2014, 08:53:12 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 19, 2014, 10:12:59 PM
Monaghan will be another tough battle. Last two time at this level we had big tussle with them. Last year it was extra time in Breffni and a few years prior a brilliant last minute point by Givney won the semi final.

I don't think so Myles, not on what I saw last night.

It was a poor enough game between Monaghan and Down. Plenty of mistakes from both sides; with lots fumbling, misplaced passing and poor shooting.

Monaghan did well in the first half against a strong wind were 1-8 to 2-2 up at half time, hitting some nice points. I thought they'd kick on and win by 7 or 8 but the 2nd half was poor stuff; carrying the ball up the field and allowing Down time to retreat into defence when letting the ball on early would have been a better option. They also allowed Down to cut through their defence on a number of occasions, with Down's two goals in the first half coming by breaking through the centre of the defence. Down outscored us by a point in the 2nd half and they were poor to be honest.

At the end Monaghan broke through for a goal with three Monaghan players bearing down on the Down goalie. By the time they had finished hand passing to each other in front of the goals the Down defence had recovered and after a comical, Under-10 like goalmouth scramble, the ball was cleared by Down.

That said, the wind didn't help. At one stage in the 2nd half when Down were playing against the wind one of their players had the ball on the right wing midway between their 45m line and the half-way line. He tried a cross field pass to a free teammate on the other wing but the wind carried the ball back to the 13m line at their left corner back position. Monaghan won possession and scored a point.

I haven't seen Cavan but I can't imagine they'll lose too much sleep at the prospect of facing Monaghan based on last night's performance. This is not the same calibre of team that ran Cavan close last year. Midfield was non-existent with our No.11 Christopher McKenna, who wouldn't be the biggest, ending up competing for a lot of the ball in the air, and he did ok in fairness to him. We withdrew our No.14 Paudie McKenna out the field after he had scored two good points early on and ended up with no attacking threat in the full forward line – both our corner forwards were withdrawn. The workrate and tackling was good and intense, can't fault the application, but the work with the ball wasn't of a standard that would beat Cavan.

Hopefully I'm being too harsh on the performance and not taking enough account of the conditions though.
Post by: yellowcard on March 20, 2014, 09:42:55 AM
Went to Armagh v Antrim game last night and it had plenty of drama anyway. Both sides put on good attacking performances but Antrim came back from the dead twice to grab a draw and could have even stolen victory after extra time. A bad error by the goalkeeper, needless indiscipline by a forward when the game was won and a failure to batten down the hatches with the game at their mercy almost cost Armagh dearly. They will have to improve to progress past Antrim away from home in the replay and if they learn the lessons from last night they are capaable of doing so. However Antrim are a decent team at this level.

In terms of the overall competitiion though it looks like Cavan are the standout team at this level after restricting a Tyrone side to a miserable 6 points. Their teams appear to all play to the same rigid defensive structure which whilst great viewing for the purist has reaped rich dividends over the last 3/4 years particularly at underage level and now seems to be transferring itself to senior level. Four in a row at this level would be no mean feat. They are definitely capable of winning an USFC in the next 2/3 years with the pool of players coming through and the proven system that most of them are familiar with.   
Post by: Denn Forever on March 20, 2014, 10:18:38 AM
Heard about the Antrim/Armagh game.  Sounded like a humdinger
Post by: mackers on March 20, 2014, 10:42:54 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 20, 2014, 10:18:38 AM
It was value for money at £9.  Both attacks were well on top for most of the game.  Armagh were the better team but could not put a gutsy Antrim team away. Too many Armagh defenders did not compete for the ball as it came in.  It was obvious from early doors that a lot of Antrim forwards had the beating of their man for pace.  It was not all doom and gloom, however, our two midfielders lorded it for long periods (Rafferty is a star of the future and Findon is a good prospect also)but when Antrim did get possession we were in big diffs at the back.  Our forwards showed very well with McKenna, Hall and English all looking sharp. O'Hanlon has more in him than he showed tonight bar a few great catches.
Quick note to the Ulster Council.....please do not let that clown of a ref near a pitch again!!
Post by: yellowcard on March 20, 2014, 11:01:18 AM
Quote from: mackers on March 20, 2014, 10:42:54 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 20, 2014, 10:18:38 AM
It was value for money at £9.  Both attacks were well on top for most of the game.  Armagh were the better team but could not put a gutsy Antrim team away. Too many Armagh defenders did not compete for the ball as it came in.  It was obvious from early doors that a lot of Antrim forwards had the beating of their man for pace.  It was not all doom and gloom, however, our two midfielders lorded it for long periods (Rafferty is a star of the future and Findon is a good prospect also)but when Antrim did get possession we were in big diffs at the back.  Our forwards showed very well with McKenna, Hall and English all looking sharp. O'Hanlon has more in him than he showed tonight bar a few great catches.
Quick note to the Ulster Council.....please do not let that clown of a ref near a pitch again!!

One of the most entertaining games I have seen in a while and it was good to see both sides go for the throat in an attacking sense. Armaghs strength lies in their forward division and the attacking players you mentioned along with McGeown and the 2 midfielders all played well. On the other hand, defensively they looked as though they could concede every time Antrim attacked, although their full back line were left isolated and slightly exposed at times. I doubt if there are many better midfield partnerships at this level and Rafferty in particular is a beast of a player.

I'm loathe to criticise referees too much but that fellow was really poor last night.
Post by: mackers on March 20, 2014, 11:31:42 AM
I forgot to stick McGeown in along with the other forwards who played well, he's a big lad who can win his own ball and has a great left foot.
Post by: pauly2 on March 20, 2014, 01:57:04 PM
Why have Down continuously not produced at this level for a number of years now??? Is it the management or does it go deeper??
Post by: Blue in hope on March 20, 2014, 04:33:29 PM
Who was marking McCurry? Strange that Madden didn't start, really thought he was our go to forward for the year. Was it Dillon and Bouchier playing inside and McVeety back sweeping?

Barry Fortune was marking McCurry,. The whole full back line was great last night. Clarke was never in trouble and Faulkner was my man of the match.
Post by: babarino on March 21, 2014, 12:05:20 AM
Quote from: charlie linkbox on March 20, 2014, 08:53:12 AM

I don't think so Myles, not on what I saw last night.

It was a poor enough game between Monaghan and Down. Plenty of mistakes from both sides; with lots fumbling, misplaced passing and poor shooting.

Monaghan did well in the first half against a strong wind were 1-8 to 2-2 up at half time, hitting some nice points. I thought they'd kick on and win by 7 or 8 but the 2nd half was poor stuff; carrying the ball up the field and allowing Down time to retreat into defence when letting the ball on early would have been a better option. They also allowed Down to cut through their defence on a number of occasions, with Down's two goals in the first half coming by breaking through the centre of the defence. Down outscored us by a point in the 2nd half and they were poor to be honest.

At the end Monaghan broke through for a goal with three Monaghan players bearing down on the Down goalie. By the time they had finished hand passing to each other in front of the goals the Down defence had recovered and after a comical, Under-10 like goalmouth scramble, the ball was cleared by Down.

That said, the wind didn't help. At one stage in the 2nd half when Down were playing against the wind one of their players had the ball on the right wing midway between their 45m line and the half-way line. He tried a cross field pass to a free teammate on the other wing but the wind carried the ball back to the 13m line at their left corner back position. Monaghan won possession and scored a point.

I haven't seen Cavan but I can't imagine they'll lose too much sleep at the prospect of facing Monaghan based on last night's performance. This is not the same calibre of team that ran Cavan close last year. Midfield was non-existent with our No.11 Christopher McKenna, who wouldn't be the biggest, ending up competing for a lot of the ball in the air, and he did ok in fairness to him. We withdrew our No.14 Paudie McKenna out the field after he had scored two good points early on and ended up with no attacking threat in the full forward line – both our corner forwards were withdrawn. The workrate and tackling was good and intense, can't fault the application, but the work with the ball wasn't of a standard that would beat Cavan.

Hopefully I'm being too harsh on the performance and not taking enough account of the conditions though.

Good analysis of the match there Charlie, and it's ok to build the Breifne up for a fall.
Post by: armaghniac on March 26, 2014, 09:39:37 PM
Armagh 0-13
Antrim 0-10
Antrim played with 14 men for most of the game, straight red for 14 Ronan O' Grady.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 26, 2014, 10:07:37 PM
He scored 3-4 the last day, would have been a big loss. Think its pronounced McGrady
Post by: armaghniac on March 26, 2014, 10:20:53 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 26, 2014, 10:07:37 PM
He scored 3-4 the last day, would have been a big loss. Think its pronounced McGrady

Well the Armagh twitter said Ronan I' Grady, so take your pick! No doubt he was a marked man!
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on March 26, 2014, 11:00:22 PM
We were negative. With an extra man we should have let O'Hanlon play in full forward and put high ball into him. We made hard work of a match that we should have been able to win easily. Big improvement needed next week
Post by: Man Marker on March 27, 2014, 03:35:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 26, 2014, 10:55:19 PM
Scrappy game tonight with a lot of handling errors and silly mistakes on a very greasy pitch. Silliest mistake of all came from McGrady, who really handed the game to Armagh with his moment of complete daftness.

Lots of factors to consider when weighing this one up. An optimistic Armagh supporter might say we won without our best player, and that it would've been a lot handier but for three good saves from the Antrim keeper. A more pessimistic one would focus on how much of a struggle it was to put away an Antrim side bereft of their key forward from the 10th minute onward.

McGeown was decent for us. Hard to pick out many other exceptional performers on the Armagh side. Best of the rest maybe O'Neill, Cumiskey and Hall. Didn't really happen for some of our better players like Findon, McKenna and O'Hanlon. Findon in particular didn't look 100%. Spare man largely wasted in the FB line, disappointing that the line didn't come up with something better there.

Treated to another balloon of a ref from Tyrone too. I pity the men that have to put up with those two on a weekly basis.

Did you get the names?
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 27, 2014, 06:44:16 PM
A repeat of the Ulster Under 21 final from last year and result by the looks of it.

Cavan U21 (4/5), Donegal U21 (11/4), Monaghan U21 (5), Armagh U21 (8 )
Post by: Syferus on March 27, 2014, 07:35:23 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 27, 2014, 06:44:16 PM
A repeat of the Ulster Under 21 final from last year and result by the looks of it.

Cavan U21 (4/5), Donegal U21 (11/4), Monaghan U21 (5), Armagh U21 (8 )

Surely Armagh are the value bet? Bad performance against Antrim but that 2011 minor side was a good crop and avoiding Cavan in the semis gives them a fighting chance.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 27, 2014, 08:08:43 PM
Value bet maybe however i can't see Armagh beating Donegal who are a step up from Antrim.
Post by: Throw ball on March 27, 2014, 11:58:14 PM
Antrim were no fools and had a couple of very good players. Donegal are rightly favourites but Armagh have a better prepared team than normal. If Rafferty is fit and they can mark McBearty it would not be a big surprise if they made the final.
Post by: Itchy on April 01, 2014, 11:59:18 PM
Semi finals tomorrow.

Cavan by 3 and Donegal by 6.

Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 12:29:41 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 01, 2014, 11:59:18 PM
Semi finals tomorrow.

Cavan by 3 and Donegal by 6.

Cavan by six and Donegal by three in my opinion. Cavan to win the Ulster final by three.
Post by: Orior on April 02, 2014, 01:44:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 01, 2014, 11:59:18 PM
Semi finals tomorrow.

Cavan by 2 and Donegal by 9.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 03:24:37 PM
Are Northern Sound covering the Monaghan Cavan game? seeing as they are calling it the northern sound derby, I'd expect so but there's no announcement on their website.
If they are covering it, I hope we are not inflicted with the usual slow drone commentators from the Cavan side.
Post by: Throw ball on April 02, 2014, 03:43:56 PM
Armagh v Donegal switched to Breffni with 8.30 throw in.
Post by: donegal lad on April 02, 2014, 05:12:43 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 02, 2014, 03:43:56 PM
Armagh v Donegal switched to Breffni with 8.30 throw in.
Was going to travel to omagh for the game tonight but Cavan to far away on a week night :( anyone know if any radio station is covering the game highland radio only has updates from it
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 06:57:50 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 03:24:37 PM
Are Northern Sound covering the Monaghan Cavan game? seeing as they are calling it the northern sound derby, I'd expect so but there's no announcement on their website.
If they are covering it, I hope we are not inflicted with the usual slow drone commentators from the Cavan side.

Willie Hegerty is free tonight.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 08:39:12 PM
Fortunately the Northern Sound commentary is Monaghan centric,
a concession though as a token cavan man is sharing the co-commentary with Nudie Hughes.

Cavan ahead at half time in a low scoring scrappy game.
Cavan 0-03  Monaghan 0-02

Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 08:40:03 PM
Monaghan pulling and dragging their way into this game. Tyrone Ref letting then at it. Cavan lead 3 to 2 at half time.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 08:42:22 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 08:40:03 PM
Monaghan pulling and dragging their way into this game. Tyrone Ref letting then at it. Cavan lead 3 to 2 at half time.

Did you only realise now you're playing in the Ulster championship, Myles?
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 08:43:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 08:42:22 PM

Monaghan are a whole other level Syferus. They'll have a player off yet. They should have at least one black card already
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 08:48:00 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 08:43:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 08:42:22 PM

Monaghan are a whole other level Syferus. They'll have a player off yet. They should have at least one black card already

Are they just sitting 13-14 men deep? It seems to me like a lot teams that do that against an opponent who they perceive to be better overall don't usually have the discipline to use the numbers properly and they just resort to dragging arms and jerseys and hope the ref lets them away with it. I have seen a lot of referees unable or unwilling to apply the black card rules properly so far this year.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 08:48:37 PM
Monaghan have hit 7 wides and 2 dropped short and by some distance, have been showing much more in this game, but wastefulness letting Cavan off the hook.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 08:51:31 PM
Monaghan owned 1st 1/4. Cavan the 2nd 1/4. Cavan had two goal chances, Monaghan missed some bad wides. Its tight but some of our big names havent played yet. If they do in the 2nd half we will win by 2/3 points. The weather is dire so its a big leveller.
Post by: Westside on April 02, 2014, 09:00:49 PM
Mel Boyce doing a real job on Argue, should have been black carded and lucky to still be on the field after multiple fouls while on a yellow.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 09:02:35 PM
The Tyrone ref's apparently at 6's and 7's, nobody can guess what he is about to decide,
Monaghan goalie stretchered off, the 2nd to be taken off on a stretcher.
Cavan keep missing easy free kicks, still only as point ahead.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 09:11:50 PM
Goal for Cavan, finally.
The sub goalie made a bit of a slip, so they all say.
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 09:19:04 PM
Northern Sound gone silent for the last few minutes.
Cavan ahead by 4 points with a few minutes left.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 09:26:29 PM
Final Score 1-7 to 0-4.

Very tough game but well done to the lads yet again.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 09:29:38 PM
A four-in-a-row is within touching distance now. It would be an exceptional achievement against the backdrop of Ulster teams like Tyrone and Armagh with minor All-Ireland in recent years.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 09:32:58 PM
Cavan the best or most defensive Under 21 side left the competition?
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 09:33:16 PM
It sounded like both teams could have done a lot better but there was little doubt that Cavan worked hard enough and had the extra ability in reserve to earn their their final appearance.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 09:53:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 12:29:41 AM
Cavan by six and Donegal by three in my opinion. Cavan to win the Ulster final by three.
I was almost spot on tonight. I'll stick with the Ulster final prediction.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 02, 2014, 09:53:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 09:32:58 PM
Cavan the best or most defensive Under 21 side left the competition?

Cavan should indeed be thinking All-Ireland under 21 at this stage. Think beyond the 4-in-a-row Ulsters.
Post by: orangeman on April 02, 2014, 10:02:09 PM
Thank God for the black card and the new rules and the massive scores that teams are putting up.
Post by: Throw ball on April 02, 2014, 10:05:45 PM
To be fair on a terrible night like tonight it is very hard to play football, or judge a player.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 10:08:14 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on April 02, 2014, 09:53:38 PM
Cavan should indeed be thinking All-Ireland under 21 at this stage. Think beyond the 4-in-a-row Ulsters.
If Cavan win Ulster again they would play Dublin in the All Ireland semi final the winner of that game should win the All Ireland.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 10:23:45 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 10:08:14 PM
If Cavan win Ulster again they would play Dublin in the All Ireland semi final the winner of that game should win the All Ireland.

Don't know about that. Roscommon will be strong and I imagine there will be a good team coming from Munster too.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 10:37:51 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 02, 2014, 10:23:45 PM

Don't know about that. Roscommon will be strong and I imagine there will be a good team coming from Munster too.

Anyone disregarding Tipp (2012 AI minor champions against one of our best minor teams of recent vintages and a Dublin side better than the one that won the AI the next year) and Cork, nevermind Connacht teams' pedigree at underage is losing the plot.

I think all four eventual provincial champions will have realistic ambitions towards the AI. We could be in for some mini-classics.
Post by: quiganmaster on April 02, 2014, 10:40:54 PM
Congratulations to Cavan on getting to a 5th Ulster u21 final in a row. The future is most definitely Red and White, Doire abú   ;) ;D ::)
Post by: rodney trotter on April 02, 2014, 10:45:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 10:37:51 PM

Anyone disregarding Tipp (2012 AI minor champions against one of our best minor teams of recent vintages and a Dublin side better than the one that won the AI the next year) and Cork, nevermind Connacht teams' pedigree at underage is losing the plot.

I think all four eventual provincial champions will have realistic ambitions towards the AI. We could be in for some mini-classics.

Cork have the advantage of the U21 final being in Cork next Wednesday, but thats a very good Tipp team being All Ireland Minor Champions  2012, could go either way.

Paddy McBrearty was hard stopped last year in the Ulster final final and id expect the same again. Ryan Mchugh also had to go off early with an ankle problem in that game. Should be a decent final next Wednesday
Post by: Westside on April 02, 2014, 10:49:01 PM
Still lots of questions surrounding Cavan's attacking prowess after tonight, injuries to Joe Dillon and Conor Madden won't help our case going forward one bit. McBrearty will be hard contained.
Post by: CC1 on April 02, 2014, 11:02:37 PM
Should be interesting to see Killian Clarke up against McBrearty again. Possibly two of the best young talents in Ulster.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2014, 11:04:58 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 02, 2014, 10:45:34 PM

Cork have the advantage of the U21 final being in Cork next Wednesday, but thats a very good Tipp team being All Ireland Minor Champions  2012, could go either way.

Paddy McBrearty was hard stopped last year in the Ulster final final and id expect the same again. Ryan Mchugh also had to go off early with an ankle problem in that game. Should be a decent final next Wednesday

Jigger Jr. (son of our own John Jigger O'Connor) is a class act too and has been getting time with the seniors. Very good basis for any U21 forward line to work from.

Still, Cavan can grind teams down like no other.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 02, 2014, 11:09:00 PM
Yeah, just out of Minor, didnt start tonight against Armagh but came on near the end. Think he got injured playing for his school a few weeks ago.
Post by: Gaffer on April 02, 2014, 11:31:09 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 09:02:35 PM
The Tyrone ref's apparently at 6's and 7's, nobody can guess what he is about to decide,

Who was the Tyrone ref?
Post by: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 11:39:17 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on April 02, 2014, 11:31:09 PM

Who was the Tyrone ref?
Sean Hurson.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 11:54:27 PM

Tipperary won the minor All Ireland 2011 and if they face Dublin again this year lighting is unlikely to strike twice. Was better Cork teams other years and the teams left in Connacht is Leitrim and Roscommon who only just bet Sligo.
Post by: Westside on April 03, 2014, 12:05:14 AM
Roscommon are an excellent side, I don't think they'll have much bother beating Leitrim and wouldn't back against them in a Semi Final against Cork or Tipp. The Ulster final will be very evenly matched. The Dubs are the team to beat, a lot of quality in the side.
Post by: Throw ball on April 03, 2014, 12:09:42 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 11:39:17 PM

Who was the Tyrone ref?
Sean Hurson.

Not the worst referee in Tyrone. Plenty of competition though!

He is not a bad fella all the same.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2014, 01:50:04 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 11:54:27 PM

Tipperary won the minor All Ireland 2011 and if they face Dublin again this year lighting is unlikely to strike twice. Was better Cork teams other years and the teams left in Connacht is Leitrim and Roscommon who only just bet Sligo.

I'll let us do our talking on the field, I have total confidence in our lads and our management.

To reduce a very, very good Tipp side to being a lightning strike is ridiculously insulting. They were simply the best side in the country in 2011 and it was a vintage year for a lot counties that year. Tipp are just as much a power at underage as Cavan or ourselves and they're the only one of us to have an AI in the trophy room in the past few years. Discount them at your peril.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 03, 2014, 09:14:38 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 02, 2014, 11:54:27 PM

Just your opinion,have you seen even seen any of the teams play this year?  This is a good Roscommon team who hammered Mayo in Castlebar. Cork have a good spine from last years side available not sure you are over looking them. Munster U21 Final is 50/50.
Roscommon who i would expect to beat Leitrim will give either side a good gamand capable of being either team
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2014, 10:50:08 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 03, 2014, 12:09:42 AM

Who was the Tyrone ref?
Sean Hurson.

If he'd yellow carded the 2 annoying fcukers who interfered with Ian Kilbride's attempts to take a free last Sat night then IK wouldn't have had to try and free himself from their interference, wouldn't have connected with one of their faces and wouldn't have got a red card.
Just apply the rules to both sides ( no matter what province they're from) Sean and you'll do grand.

Dublin are the team to beat this year and having lost to them in 2010 and 2012 it would be nice to
1- win Connacht
2- win our AISF
3- get revenge on Dublin.
A lot of balls to be kicked yet as they say.
Post by: Main Street on April 03, 2014, 04:29:04 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on April 03, 2014, 12:09:42 AM
Quote from: Main Street on April 02, 2014, 11:39:17 PM

Who was the Tyrone ref?
Sean Hurson.

I'm sure he's not a bad fella ................. by Tyrone standards of decency.
One of the things he wasn't getting,  according to the NS experts, was controlling his impulse to blow the whistle in order to allow the obvious advantage to develop.
Post by: FermGael on April 03, 2014, 06:47:42 PM
Final fixed for Armagh.  Good central venue for both teams.
Sure what's a couple of hours driving for the supporters.
Post by: Itchy on April 03, 2014, 07:06:27 PM
f**king ridiculous decision yet again.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2014, 07:09:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 03, 2014, 07:06:27 PM
f**king ridiculous decision yet again.

I assume it has to do with floodlighting?

Would Donegal cede home advantage to play it at Breffni?
Post by: Itchy on April 03, 2014, 08:03:58 PM
Should be in Enniskillen. End of story.
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2014, 08:37:38 PM
Quote from: FermGael on April 03, 2014, 06:47:42 PM
Final fixed for Armagh.  Good central venue for both teams.

Cavan v Donegal in Armagh ?? :o
Are they fcukin mad?
Post by: Throw ball on April 03, 2014, 08:39:58 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 03, 2014, 08:03:58 PM
Should be in Enniskillen. End of story.

Given the weather and matches postponed previously in Enniskillen I assume that is why Armagh got the nod. Could be worse. Wait until Casement is open and every match is there!

On a separate note I see O'Hagan from Tyrone has been appointed referee. Hopefully his performance in the Armagh v Antrim game was just a bad day at the office. Good luck to him next week.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 03, 2014, 08:57:58 PM
Yeah the weather is a factor, Brewster Park cant handle much rain, damp area at the best of times with . That was the case earlier this year when the McKenna Cup final was switched to the Athletic grounds.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 03, 2014, 09:11:27 PM
Would Healy Park in Omagh not be the logical choice here?
Post by: FermGael on April 03, 2014, 09:15:07 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 03, 2014, 08:57:58 PM
Yeah the weather is a factor, Brewster Park cant handle much rain, damp area at the best of times with . That was the case earlier this year when the McKenna Cup final was switched to the Athletic grounds.

Nothing to do with it Rodney.  Believe me.
It should have been in Brewster.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 03, 2014, 09:19:54 PM
Quote from: FermGael on April 03, 2014, 09:15:07 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 03, 2014, 08:57:58 PM

Nothing to do with it Rodney.  Believe me.
It should have been in Brewster.

Fair enough, strange decison then, when Enniskillen was the obvious venue for both counties like in previous year.

Post by: CC1 on April 07, 2014, 09:33:28 PM
Getting to Armagh is handier for us East Cavan lads though!  ;)
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 09, 2014, 12:11:57 PM
Good luck to the lads tonights. 4 in a row is do-able but Donegal will be hard bet. Up the Breffni.
Post by: Throw ball on April 09, 2014, 06:18:04 PM
For anyone travelling to the match tonight there are major roadworks on the Armagh bound lane of the Keady Armagh lane in Armagh from the Monaghan road junction to the turn for the Athletic Grounds. The footpath is also out of order on that side. For those travelling in from the Monaghan Road if you want to get to the official car park you will need to take the Baltaran Road or the Umgola Road across to the Killylea Road and then follow the signs for Keady or Monaghan.

Bet you will wish the match was in Enniskillen!
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 09, 2014, 06:49:09 PM
Cavan by three points tonight i reckon. To be honest Dublin in All Ireland semi final will be different level to the quality in Ulster however Cavan have the best chance of beating the outright favourites.
Post by: StephenC on April 09, 2014, 06:57:24 PM
Best of luck to the Donegal lads tonight. Cavan strong favourites but there's always a chance.
Post by: Old yeller on April 09, 2014, 07:34:51 PM
Donegal will be tough opponents but I think we should have just enough to get through. Cavan by 1!
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2014, 10:29:43 PM
Time to split Cavan in two.
Post by: Orior on April 09, 2014, 10:58:28 PM
Congrats Cavan. Impressive run of wins
Post by: Syferus on April 09, 2014, 11:24:45 PM
All aboard for Portloaise. I expect Cavan support for our curtain raiser to the Cavan-Dublin main event.
Post by: orangeman on April 09, 2014, 11:29:43 PM
4 in a row isn't easily done.

Well done. Congrats.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 10, 2014, 01:56:13 AM
Quote from: orangeman on April 09, 2014, 11:29:43 PM
4 in a row isn't easily done.

Well done. Congrats.
Agreed and well done to them. I think Cork Under-21s have done the same in Munster. Armagh ten years ago was the last Ulster side to win the under-21 All Ireland if Cavan beat Dublin i think they will end that long Ulster wait.

Post by: tierworker blue on April 10, 2014, 02:48:39 AM
Unbelievable stuff in Armagh tonight...I don't even remember the journey back to Dublin! (it felt like it only took 15 mins!) What a team...what a comeback...unbelievable stuff!
As a person who has been going to 90% of Cavan matches, for 35ish years now (ok...being brought, for the first few years!) it is an incredible feeling to have won our fourth Ulster title on the trot, especially in such a dramatic way. To say that the atmosphere was electric, is the understatement of the decade, and I havn't experienced the likes of it in a long long time!
When Michael got the 'insurance' point, after Liam's goal, I nearly burst out crying (or so my Mrs. beside me said anyway!) such was the raw emotion. We've been through some tough times over the years folks, and many of us have stuck with it, through thin and thinner, but over the last while, it has been great to finally hold the head high, and be proud of the lads...they are a credit to the county!
I have always worn the blue jersey with pride, no matter what the circumstances. Whether it was on the train back from a drubbing in Cork, soaked to the skin on the terrace in Aughrim, or watching Kildare (and one of our own) wallop us in our back garden, the colours were on show for all to see nonetheless. What's different now, is that it is with an extra pep in our step we throw on the auld Kingspan top, and head out the door!
For years we bemoaned a lack of direction, and betimes effort, but we now have that in spades! Gone are the days when we bowed over to any and everyone without as much as a whimper. Gone are the days when players rolled up to Casement in a car, bleary eyed, and asked the likes of me how they'd get in! Gone are those days, and good riddance...may we never see them again.
Keep up the good work lads...we're behind ye all the way.
To rehash something I posted on a different site around ten years ago, but which has taken until now to bear fruit...the future is indeed blue! An Cabhan Abu!
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 10, 2014, 06:49:23 AM
Quote from: tierworker blue on April 10, 2014, 02:48:39 AM
Unbelievable stuff in Armagh tonight...I don't even remember the journey back to Dublin! (it felt like it only took 15 mins!) What a team...what a comeback...unbelievable stuff!
As a person who has been going to 90% of Cavan matches, for 35ish years now (ok...being brought, for the first few years!) it is an incredible feeling to have won our fourth Ulster title on the trot, especially in such a dramatic way. To say that the atmosphere was electric, is the understatement of the decade, and I havn't experienced the likes of it in a long long time!
When Michael got the 'insurance' point, after Liam's goal, I nearly burst out crying (or so my Mrs. beside me said anyway!) such was the raw emotion. We've been through some tough times over the years folks, and many of us have stuck with it, through thin and thinner, but over the last while, it has been great to finally hold the head high, and be proud of the lads...they are a credit to the county!
I have always worn the blue jersey with pride, no matter what the circumstances. Whether it was on the train back from a drubbing in Cork, soaked to the skin on the terrace in Aughrim, or watching Kildare (and one of our own) wallop us in our back garden, the colours were on show for all to see nonetheless. What's different now, is that it is with an extra pep in our step we throw on the auld Kingspan top, and head out the door!
For years we bemoaned a lack of direction, and betimes effort, but we now have that in spades! Gone are the days when we bowed over to any and everyone without as much as a whimper. Gone are the days when players rolled up to Casement in a car, bleary eyed, and asked the likes of me how they'd get in! Gone are those days, and good riddance...may we never see them again.
To rehash something I posted on a different site around ten years ago, but which has taken until now to bear fruit...the future is indeed blue! An Cabhan Abu!

Deep.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on April 10, 2014, 08:09:36 AM
What was the attendance figure?
Post by: J OGorman on April 10, 2014, 09:17:25 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on April 10, 2014, 06:49:23 AM
Quote from: tierworker blue on April 10, 2014, 02:48:39 AM

Deep.

beautiful. Some achievement for the Breffni men...4 in a row at this level in a knock out competition. Be great to see them land the big fish the year
Post by: Old yeller on April 10, 2014, 11:34:18 AM
None of these lads have ever been beaten in an Ulster u21 match, some feeling!
Post by: FermGael on April 10, 2014, 11:54:52 AM
Firstly Great achievement by Cavan.  Great underage set up that is the best in Ulster.

Secondly, an awful advertisement for Gaelic Football.  Both teams set up ultra defensively.
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2014, 12:31:58 PM
Have seen very little of Cavan at U21 and not a whole pile at senior but are they setting all their teams up defensively or was it just this game or this particular squad who are defensive?
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2014, 01:01:44 PM
QuoteHave seen very little of Cavan at U21 and not a whole pile at senior but are they setting all their teams up defensively or was it just this game or this particular squad who are defensive?

They are a bit defensive about the issue. Its the Cavan stereotype, don't give anything away.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 10, 2014, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: FermGael on April 10, 2014, 11:54:52 AM
Firstly Great achievement by Cavan.  Great underage set up that is the best in Ulster.

Secondly, an awful advertisement for Gaelic Football.  Both teams set up ultra defensively.

Best u21 set up in Ulster.
Post by: mylestheslasher on April 10, 2014, 03:56:11 PM
Made the long trip up to Armagh yesterday. It wasnt pretty but it was intriguing to me, although I can see why a neutral would not be impressed. The physicality in the tackle brought to bear by both teams was huge, way above anything I've seen in the last 4 years at this level. It was bone crunching stuff. For whatever reason both teams set up to stop the other. Donegal were equally impressive defensively with the only visible weak spot was under the high ball into Dillon where he had a couple of half chances before bagging his goal. Cavan too were excellent at the back with Paddy McBrearty only getting one half chance which he nailed. When McBrearty finds the going tough in the forwards at an U21 game you can imagine how good the defenses were.

The finish was stunning. We were gone as far as I could see, out of ideas but still trying hard and with our captain and leader long gone. The goal was brilliant, young Buchanan, not even down to start, ploughing up the middle and burying a low shot into the corner. It floored Donegal who were sure they had it won. We sliced them open once they came out of their shell for the last 3/4 minutes. Donegal will feel they left this behind them and they are probably right.

Super atmosphere at the end. The lads won due to pure fight until the death attitude. Conor Moynagh gave a superb speech. Referencing the greats of Cavan football and how he and his players were only borrowing their jerseys before handing on. A nice touch he asked the crowd to be quiet while the panel of players clapped for the fans. I said it last year and the year before, these young Cavan men are made of different stuff and they are what the fans in the county have been waiting on for so long. Well done to them all.

We will certainly be underdogs the next day as we really struggled up front but don't underestimate the quality of the Donegal defensive effort. If Dublin are a little more open to play the typical Dublin free flowing game I think Cavan could shock them.

Anyway, history has been made and 4 in a row has been achieved by beating Derry, Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal in the space of 5 weeks in knock out football. A fantastic achievment.