GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: rodney trotter on November 25, 2013, 10:36:28 PM

Title: Pat Flanagan new Sligo Manager
Post by: rodney trotter on November 25, 2013, 10:36:28 PM
Sligo finally got a manager before Christmass... Surprised he was let go by Westmeath

Flanagan is new Sligo manager
25 November 2013

Westmeath manager Pat Flanagan. Sligo's five-month search for a new football manager has ended with the appointment of former Westmeath boss Pat Flanagan.

The Offaly man was installed as Kevin Walsh's successor at a county board meeting tonight. It is the last inter-county football managerial position to be filled ahead of the 2014 season.

Flanagan spent four years in charge of Westmeath, leading them to Division 1 of the Allianz League for next season. In spite of this, the Lake County opted to replace him with Paul Bealin in September.

A statement issued by the Sligo county board tonight read: "Sligo County Board has tonight ratified the appointment of Pat Flanagan as Sligo Senior Football Manager for the coming year. Pat brings a wealth of experience having previously managed at inter-county level with Westmeath, bringing them from Division 3 to Division 1 of the National League.

"He also has managed both Clara of Offaly and Tyrrellspass of Westmeath to county successes. He has been appointed for a one-year term which will be reviewed at the end of the season. He will be meeting the players this week in addition to finalising a backroom team shortly which forms part of the management of the Sligo under 21 Team."
Title: Re: Pat Flanagan new Sligo Manager
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 26, 2013, 04:27:08 AM
I would be interested to hear the thoughts of westmeath and offaly folk on this, it was a surprise to me, its out of left field, winning back to back promotions and then getting let go was harsh, but the drubbing to dublin is a worry as westmeath seemed to peak in the league and collapse in championship, could go either way for us, but he has experience, Sligo are in far better shape than anyone realises aswell imo, kelly got club player of year and is flying again, youngsters are doing well with colleges so i am hoping a new look squad for next yr...

best of luck to him
Post by: INDIANA on November 26, 2013, 07:28:55 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 26, 2013, 04:27:08 AM
I would be interested to hear the thoughts of westmeath and offaly folk on this, it was a surprise to me, its out of left field, winning back to back promotions and then getting let go was harsh, but the drubbing to dublin is a worry as westmeath seemed to peak in the league and collapse in championship, could go either way for us, but he has experience, Sligo are in far better shape than anyone realises aswell imo, kelly got club player of year and is flying again, youngsters are doing well with colleges so i am hoping a new look squad for next yr...

selectors are glenn young and tommy craddock, with young in line for u21 job...

best of luck to him

Westmeath were very badly setup that day. Employed a 12 man deep defence and invited Dublin onto them. Players marked space and never marked anybody. So it became an absolute cakewalk for Dublin.

After the game he blamed the fact it was in Croke Park and said they'd have beaten Dublin in Cusack Park.

Hard to know in my view on this one.
Post by: shark on November 26, 2013, 09:32:47 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 26, 2013, 07:28:55 AM

best of luck to him

Westmeath were very badly setup that day. Employed a 12 man deep defence and invited Dublin onto them. Players marked space and never marked anybody. So it became an absolute cakewalk for Dublin.

After the game he blamed the fact it was in Croke Park and said they'd have beaten Dublin in Cusack Park.

Hard to know in my view on this one.

I don't think he actually said they would have beaten Dublin in Cusack Park, but he was certainly looking for excuses after an awful performance.  He had 3 good national league campaigns but not one championship win of note.  He was well liked among the players without really being respected as a top level manager. His best results have been at club level, where he brought Tyrrellspass to a Leinster final. I think Westmeath were correct in moving him on, but I'm not sure that he has been replaced well. Sligo could have done a lot worse.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 09:50:01 AM

best of luck to him

Ye won't do much better this late in the day. Has experience of coming in at the 11th hour before and settling things down. Great league manager but rubbish championship one. Could never find that extra gear that you need for championship. In fact we lost about 10% every summer instead of gaining it. But shouldn't really concern Sligo IMO, league more important for ye next year. BTW, didn't get back to back promotions, just about kept us in Div 2 in the year between promotions. Worth noting however that that was the year that Garrycastle made the club final and there were a load of defections to the hurlers as well.

QuoteAfter the game he blamed the fact it was in Croke Park and said they'd have beaten Dublin in Cusack Park.

He did a fair bit of whinging alright but he never said that. The actual quote:

"Dublin played eight games here this year, this is our third game in about four years here. It's got to be a huge advantage. That's not Dublin's fault by any means or manner. It is a huge opportunity for Dublin.

"I would say if we had all our games in Cusack Park for the next two years, we would win a Leinster championship. It is a bonus to them. But it is something every other county needs to overcome because the games are not going to be shifted out of it."

Edit: beaten by shark, again.
Post by: orangeman on November 26, 2013, 09:57:09 AM
Pat's complaint about playing in Cusack Park came back to bite the arse off him when Fermanagh bate Westmeath in Cusack Park in the first round of the qualifiers.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 26, 2013, 10:01:11 AM
Surely the man deserved a crack at Div 1 with Westmeath??

Has Paul Bealin done anything of note since he was over Wexford?
Post by: rodney trotter on November 26, 2013, 10:15:30 AM
Paul Bealins record at County level isn't a step up over Pat Flanagan. Average CV at Co level, and was managing a team of stars this year Parnells, and didn't deliver with them.
Post by: Rossfan on November 26, 2013, 10:40:29 AM
A late hour to have a manager coming in which doesn't help as we found out over the last 2 years.
Hopefully he and Pete McGrath will have wonderful D3 campaigns in 2015 ;) and sure we might meet in the 2014 Connacht final
Post by: magpie seanie on November 26, 2013, 11:18:32 AM
Hadn't heard about the selectors but guessed one of the two and should have suspected the other. All in all I'm pretty optimistic about this setup, particularly in light of some of the speculation as to who we could have got. He has a long list of success at club level. I wouldn't be too worried about last summers game against Dublin - very few would have lived with them last year. We won't need to beat a team as good as Dublin to have a successful season. Croi's comments are a worry in that regard but for once I actually think we need a decent league. Morale is so low in the county that a few early wins are needed. We need to be at the upper end of Div3 rather than fighting the drop.

Would have been better to get him in place a little earlier but the lads are back training a few weeks (don't think they could start any earlier anyway?) so I wouldn't see it as a huge impediment. Cautiously optimistic.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 12:06:39 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 26, 2013, 10:01:11 AM

Horrendous championship record ensured that he didn't deserve another year. He had a win percentage of 33% in the Leinster Championship, 20% in the qualifiers with an overall percentage of 27% in the All Ireland Championship. This from a county that is in Division 1 next year.

That said, I think Bealin is a step backwards. At least Flanagan had success on the club scene. Could be worse to come as well, Carr is reportedly lined up for the job next year, didn't want it this year as he doesn't fancy our chances in Div 1.  ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 12:30:12 PM
If ye appoint mr Carr you'd better keep your mouth shut on here.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 26, 2013, 12:49:57 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 12:06:39 PM
Horrendous championship record ensured that he didn't deserve another year. He had a win percentage of 33% in the Leinster Championship, 20% in the qualifiers with an overall percentage of 27% in the All Ireland Championship. This from a county that is in Division 1 next year.

Surely you must realise that this is a daft way of thinking? I can understand people giving Flanagan credit for the league success and criticising him for the championship, or it would also be fair to say that the players deserve both the praise and the criticism. But to blame Flanagan for championship results and say that it's unacceptable "from a county in division 1" as if that status came out of nowhere is utterly hypocritical.

In 2011 he had just taken over and yes the championship performances were poor, but it was his first year and he had just won promotion with the team.

In 2012 ye lost narrowly to Louth and avenged that result emphatically in the qualifiers, before getting a harsh overcarrying call that knocked ye out against Kerry. In 2013 ye destroyed an admittedly poor Carlow side, before losing ye're main forward in the warm up and had a bad day against a Dublin team that destroyed a lot of good teams, and then a normally reliable keeper let in two howlers against Fermanagh and ye lost by a point.

Not brilliant certainly, but hardly horrendous either. I've said it before and I'll say it again - this is a daft decision by the Westmeath County board and if someone wanted to offer me good odds on Sligo playing division 2 football in 2016 while Westmeath are down in division 3, I'd punt. Ye've traded a good guy that players respected for a journeyman outsider with no track record of success - it's daft and it'll also be remembered when ye look for other managers in the future.
Post by: Syferus on November 26, 2013, 02:20:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 12:06:39 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 26, 2013, 10:01:11 AM

That said, I think Bealin is a step backwards. At least Flanagan had success on the club scene. Could be worse to come as well, Carr is reportedly lined up for the job next year, didn't want it this year as he doesn't fancy our chances in Div 1.  ::)

Ah don't worry, you won't be there for long. See you in D2 in 2015, Croi.

Would be grand if Tommy was on the opposite sideline too.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 02:34:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 12:30:12 PM

On the contrary, there will be plenty of venting to be done.

LS, we've already been through this on twitter and I know you're a fan of Pat but he simply wasn't able to gear them up for championship. All the top managers are able to wrangle an extra 10% out of a team come championship. The reality is that Westmeath never did themselves justice under Pat in the championship (and of course the players have to take their share of the criticism here as well).

We can go through each end every game but to take your examples:

2011: Were completely dismantled by Wexford, complete horror show. Then lost faith in his game plan and tried to change to a more defensive formation for the 1st round of the qualifiers. Another horror show ensured in Casement Park. This was not the actions of a man in command of the situation, probably the lowest ebb.

2012: Lost to Louth in a game we should have won. Should have but didn't avenge that result emphatically. Louth had two men sent off in the first half and it was level with 5 minutes to go. To quote Flanagan "We were like headless chickens out there today". People can whinge and whine about the harsh overcarrying call against Kerry but we were still in front after the goal. Not to mention the softish penalty awarded to us and the bizarre events leading up to the match.

2013: The Carlow game was the first game I've never had championship nerves for, the reason being their warm up and poor skill execution. I've seen Junior B's with better set ups, like you said poor. Crazy tactics against Dublin, learnt absolutely nothing from trying to mark space in the games against Derry. The better players were beaten by the better coached team in the qualifiers. Notwithstanding Gary getting under a ball we were never on top in that game and when it came to the crunch it was Fermanagh who had the smarts.

P11 W3 L8. Two of the wins were against Div 4 teams and other one was against 13 men for 35 minutes. Two of the wins were in Mullingar, the other one was in Tullamore. Sure you can make the odd excuse the odd time but not when you look at the big picture. Like I said horrendous.

Not all the players respected Pat but I agree that we've probably traded down. Our CB get more things wrong than right but in this instance they were fully justified to see were there more suitable candidates out there. I'm surprised they didn't get a better quality of managers interested, (why did McStay go for the Kildare job when Westmeath are nearer to his base) but they still did the right thing in looking. Now appointing Bealin over reappointing Pat is where we start to get things wrong again.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 26, 2013, 04:03:27 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 02:34:06 PM
Not all the players respected Pat but I agree that we've probably traded down. Our CB get more things wrong than right but in this instance they were fully justified to see were there more suitable candidates out there. I'm surprised they didn't get a better quality of managers interested, (why did McStay go for the Kildare job when Westmeath are nearer to his base) but they still did the right thing in looking. Now appointing Bealin over reappointing Pat is where we start to get things wrong again.

I think McStay is now based on the Curragh.

Interesting to see how Bealin gets on with Westmeath. He had a disappointing spell with Monasterevin in Kildare. There's the bones of a good team in Westmeath if they get their act together.
Post by: shark on November 26, 2013, 04:11:15 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on November 26, 2013, 04:03:27 PM

Interesting to see how Bealin gets on with Westmeath. He had a disappointing spell with Monasterevin in Kildare. There's the bones of a good team in Westmeath if they get their act together.

He's not 'based' anywhere, he retired from the DF a few months ago. Lives in Ros town.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on November 26, 2013, 04:14:32 PM
Quote from: shark on November 26, 2013, 04:11:15 PM

He's not 'based' anywhere, he retired from the DF a few months ago. Lives in Ros town.

I thought it was the reason that he didn't stay on with St Brigids?

http://www.independent.ie/incoming/mcstays-days-as-ace-of-clubs-are-closed-forever-29208426.html
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 04:20:13 PM

That would make sense if he is. Can see it falling apart pretty quickly if we get a run of poor results. Pity Paul Curran wasn't interested in the job, probably felt he had unfinished business with Ballymun, nearly did the impossible this year in retaining the Dublin championship.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 04:27:44 PM

On the contrary, there will be plenty of venting to be done here.

Be careful. Remember tommy's rant about faceless cowards on Internet forums.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 04:51:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 04:27:44 PM

The Tommy filter must have snared that one (along with all the rest of his ranting). When and where was that?
Post by: muppet on November 26, 2013, 05:23:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 26, 2013, 04:51:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 04:27:44 PM

The Tommy filter must have snared that one (along with all the rest of his ranting). When and where was that?

Probably done anonymously on the net.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 06:12:03 PM
On newstalk with Val Andrewwwwwwwwws and Ger 'the sellout' Gilroy one Saturday.
Post by: ross4life on November 26, 2013, 06:16:14 PM
Pat Flanagan seem like a solid appointment for Sligo. How & why is Tommy Carr getting promoted to the senior gig with Westmeath? he was unable to get the best out of very good Westmeath U-16 team.
Post by: neilthemac on November 26, 2013, 07:10:57 PM
Tommy is currently manager of the minor team and is heavily involved with developing systems for underage development in Westmeath.
Some people never learn
Post by: shark on November 26, 2013, 07:53:01 PM
Quote from: ross4life on November 26, 2013, 06:16:14 PM
Pat Flanagan seem like a solid appointment for Sligo. How & why is Tommy Carr getting promoted to the senior gig with Westmeath? he was unable to get the best out of very good Westmeath U-16 team.

Well they got to the All-Ireland 1/4 final where they lost to the eventual champions.  They were indeed very strong at u-16 but they were heavily reliant on one player (Luke Loughlin) which becomes more of an issue as you move up the age groups.  We will see how he goes with them this year, as he has the majority of last year's team underage again.
Post by: Syferus on November 26, 2013, 09:22:27 PM

They were good but very good is a stretch. Mayo and a over-egged Lilies' side man-handled them.

Carr isn't as bad as some here would have you believe, but I wouldn't be about to plant him in a senior job unless his arrow keeps pointing upwards.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 27, 2013, 10:14:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 26, 2013, 06:12:03 PM
On newstalk with Val Andrewwwwwwwwws and Ger 'the sellout' Gilroy one Saturday.

There's another reason that got filtered out, Val is very harsh on the ears. Sports on newstalk isn't the same since the Second Captains left/were sent home.

Quote from: shark on November 26, 2013, 07:53:01 PM

Well they got to the All-Ireland 1/4 final where they lost to the eventual champions.  They were indeed very strong at u-16 but they were heavily reliant on one player (Luke Loughlin) which becomes more of an issue as you move up the age groups.  We will see how he goes with them this year, as he has the majority of last year's team underage again.

True but they got their asses handed to them by Mayo and Kildare. It was real naive stuff against Kildare. There's lads that achieved at U16 that should have been starting but Tommy obviously wanted to blood the younger lads. Pressure on them now this year, Tommy's third year in the job.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 27, 2013, 10:50:47 AM
New Sligo manager Pat Flanagan has refused to rule out reaching out to Eamonn O'Hara for a comeback with the Yeats County.

The former All Star retired after being left out by former boss Kevin Walsh this year and went on to feature as an analyst for RTÉ.

Flanagan told the Irish Daily Mail: "I was only ratified on Monday night so as far as I'm concerned my plan would be to get the best for Sligo football.

"And whatever that is and whatever that takes I'll be doing it.

"The door won't be closed on anybody and my idea is to try and improve players and get the best out of their ability.

"That was a controversial incident between Kevin and Eamonn.

"What I want to do tonight is meet with several individuals and from there I'll draw up a plan. I wouldn't rule out anything at this point."
Post by: Rossfan on November 27, 2013, 11:07:00 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 26, 2013, 09:22:27 PM
a over-egged Lilies' side man-handled them.

wouldn't be about to plant him in a senior job unless his arrow keeps pointing upwards.
I'd love to be able to help ye with a translation lads but I have no earthly idea what th'eejitín is on about  :-[ :( ???
Post by: sligoman2 on November 29, 2013, 05:06:08 PM
Did Pat pick his selectors yet?
Post by: larryin89 on November 30, 2013, 01:48:42 AM
More wasted time and energy on a lesser county, who will have a big match win once very 5/6 years .

Leitrim , Sligo and Ross should join forces to have any notion of challenging Mayo and Galway over the next ten years at least.
Post by: ck on November 30, 2013, 02:19:56 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on November 30, 2013, 01:48:42 AM
More wasted time and energy on a lesser county, who will have a big match win once very 5/6 years .

Leitrim , Sligo and Ross should join forces to have any notion of challenging Mayo and Galway over the next ten years at least.

Ah Larry would ya whisht! Sure put yee boys in Croke Park and ya can beat no-one either. Big day bottlers!!

For me this is a good appointment for Sligo. Sligo football is on the up, some good young players coming through and of course Kelly back this year. I think Sligo will progress under this man
Post by: Rossfan on November 30, 2013, 05:17:16 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on November 30, 2013, 01:48:42 AM

2010 isn't so long ago ya plaidhc. THat was a great year for civilised society - esp around Pearse Park. Longford  ;D ;D
And how many Connchts have Galway won since Sligo won their last one.
Post by: larryin89 on November 30, 2013, 06:56:58 PM
2010 , just another year when Ross never beat any team worth talkin about but you keep telling yourself , it's all grand , one win v Mayo in over twenty years is not bad if you are comparing to Leitrim who have the same.
Post by: Rossfan on December 03, 2013, 10:55:51 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on November 30, 2013, 06:56:58 PM
2010 , just another year when Ross never beat any team worth talkin about
Bet the team that bet ye anyway  ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 05, 2013, 07:53:59 PM
Old Sligo manger Kevin Walsh is the new manager of Na Breathnaigh in Galway.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2014, 11:39:13 AM
As good as any place to post this. Bealin got the boot last night, fair play to the clubs for standing up for football in Westmeath. Vote was 37-12 against Bealin. Year was worse than any of us feared. Need a decent manager to stabilise us next year. Hopefully Tommy Carr has scuppered his chances after a brutal year with the minors.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 07, 2014, 12:11:33 PM
Just started a thread on this topic :)
Post by: Rossfan on August 07, 2014, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2014, 11:39:13 AM
As good as any place to post this. Bealin got the boot last night, fair play to the clubs for standing up for football in Westmeath. Vote was 37-12 against Bealin. Year was worse than any of us feared. Need a decent manager to stabilise us next year. Hopefully Tommy Carr has scuppered his chances after a brutal year with the minors.
Ye certainly know how to pick them alright Croí :-\
Post by: magpie seanie on August 07, 2014, 02:45:58 PM
Jaysus Croi, you gave me a hear attack there!!!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 08, 2014, 12:14:59 PM
 :D Sorry Seanie, stuck for a place to put that, must start a new thread. What's the feeling on Pat after the year? Looks like he came out on the right side of a few tight finishes whereas he was coming out the wrong side down here.

Edit: Scratch that Seanie, just saw your post on the other thread.

Quote from: Rossfan on August 07, 2014, 02:37:50 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2014, 11:39:13 AM
Ye certainly know how to pick them alright Croí :-\

You said it. Worse than that the county chairman has come out and said that Bealin brought the most professional approach he has seen, he should have got his 3 years and that his work was finished (you couldn't tell it was even started). Worse than that though he (county board chairman) has aid that we don't have the players, as simple as that. Imagine coming out and saying that! >:(

Anyway, there's a big push from the clubs that the next manager will be from Westmeath so that will hopefully rule out Carr.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2014, 01:26:39 PM
Any chance of Auld Dessie finally getting it? With new Dessie as a sidekick maybe?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 11, 2014, 10:07:04 AM
There's a chance I suppose but not likely. If Cunningham isn't retained by Galway he'll be approached I'd say.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 26, 2014, 09:17:53 PM
Rumors are spreading that he might be the new Offaly manager...

Well at least James Horan is available and McStay and Mchale
Post by: Syferus on September 26, 2014, 10:05:00 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 26, 2014, 09:17:53 PM
Rumors are spreading that he might be the new Offaly manager...

Well at least James Horan is available and McStay and Mchale

No appetite for Flanagan to continue? You'd assume if there was this would have been a slam-dunk. Limp performance against a limited Galway side aside he wasn't disastrous for a late appointment. Unless Sligo have someone in mind switching horses again so soon mightn't be good for the team.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 26, 2014, 11:20:22 PM
Few names being linked for that Job http://www.hoganstand.com/offaly/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=225000

The Offaly senior football manager's job seems to be one of the hottest tickets, if the reported interest is correct.

There is an alleged three interested candidates from outside the county as former Longford manager and Kildare footballer Glenn Ryan, his ex-county team mate Dermot Earley and former Waterford manager Niall Carew all linked with the job.

A further three Offaly men are in the running also as Clara's Pat Flanagan, Edenderry's Peter Brady and Gracefield's Padraig Dunne have been nominated.

Flanagan is believed to be the front runner for the role as the former Westmeath manager has yet to commit for another term with the Sligo footballers.

The selection committee of Padraig Boland, Fergal McKeown, James Brady and David Coffey have begun the interviewing process this week.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2014, 01:34:36 PM
hope it's a fairer process than the Rhubarb one  ;D
Poor oul Sligo don't seem to be a favourite for Managers.
In 2013 Walsh kept them waiting for months until he saw he wasn't getting( or wouldn't take ) the Ros job. No wonder Sligo were so bad in 2013.
Now Flanagan is leaving them in suspense while he waits for a call from someone else.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 29, 2014, 01:58:43 PM
Can't really blame Flanagan if he gets a chance to manage his home county.  The last thing we need is another new manager appointed on Christmas eve
Post by: moysider on September 30, 2014, 12:35:26 AM

Why doesn t the likes of O Hara, Sloyan, McGuire, Taylor etc. take an interest?

Huge respect for those lads. Those are the ones that need to take it up. Jordan and Walsh were riddled. Why look to outside?
Post by: Syferus on September 30, 2014, 01:58:50 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 30, 2014, 12:35:26 AM

Why doesn t the likes of O Hara, Sloyan, McGuire, Taylor etc. take an interest?

Huge respect for those lads. Those are the ones that need to take it up. Jordan and Walsh were riddled. Why look to outside?

Do you really think the powers that be in Sligo would let O'Hara near the senior hot-seat after last year, Moy?
Post by: sligoman2 on September 30, 2014, 03:46:03 PM
Why not, eoh Would be a good choice even without prior managerial experience.  We need passion not politics
Post by: magpie seanie on September 30, 2014, 05:33:57 PM
The county board need to cop themselves on with this managerial stuff. "I'll manage ye if I don't get a better offer" - to be honest that doesn't cut it for me, especially from someone who didn't set the world on fire. We're not brilliant but have we any wee bit of pride left at all?

QuoteWhy not, eoh Would be a good choice even without prior managerial experience.  We need passion not politics

I agree with the sentiments here, especially the last bit. Unfortunately, the reality on the ground is that politics will win out as they almost always have in Sligo. "We're the bosses and if ye kick us out we'll wreck things until ye beg us back...." 
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 01, 2014, 11:53:52 AM
This management fiasco is really pissing me off, its 10 weeks since cork beat us and were allowing this man to tout himself for the offaly job and leave us in shit creek once again. Its just typical of the cb with there history of late appointments. Flanagan didn't even do that good a job imo. Even if he decides to stay, he's lost a lot of respect within the county regarding his reluctance to take the job. We were aswell saying good luck a few weeks ago and looking for someone new.

People are laughing at mayo cb at least they only took 3 weeks to get there management sorted. Our cb continue to disgrace us and will continue to do so into the foreseeable future.
Post by: sligoman2 on October 04, 2014, 05:59:52 PM

I just noticed this on sligogaa - it looks like we have decided to part with Pat as he can't commit which I assume means he will be the Offaly manager.  Does anyone have Horans cell phone number?

The Executive of Sligo GAA County Committee has authorised a sub-committee to seek out a suitable person to manage the senior County football panel.
This decision was arrived at due to the continued uncertainty regarding Pat Flanagan's availability to remain in the role.
An Coiste Bainistí acknowledge Pat's undoubted talent as a manager and his recent positive contribution to Sligo football.
We wish him the very best for the future.
Gavin Cawley PRO
For and on behalf of Sligo GAA County Executive.
Post by: moysider on October 04, 2014, 06:35:20 PM

Good move by Sligo CB but should have been done much sooner.
Post by: sligoman2 on October 05, 2014, 08:56:07 PM
Any gossip around who the new man will be?

Hopefully they nail it down quickly and we can move on.

Is Tommy Brehony a possibility.