Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on November 14, 2013, 05:30:25 PM

Title: Define the common characteristics of Connacht man/ woman
Post by: Rossfan on November 14, 2013, 05:30:25 PM
Dacency
Politeness to a fault
Treasures education
Title: Re: Define the common characteristics of Connacht man/ woman
Post by: lawnseed on November 14, 2013, 05:50:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 14, 2013, 05:30:25 PM
Dacency
Politeness to a fault
Treasures education
rossie...? your sure you want to do this? :D
Post by: seafoid on November 14, 2013, 06:09:07 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on November 14, 2013, 05:50:32 PM
Dacency
Politeness to a fault
Treasures education
Floury potatoes
Post by: Rossfan on November 14, 2013, 07:10:13 PM
Use of the dimunitive "ín"
Post by: armaghniac on November 14, 2013, 07:31:36 PM
Chip on the shoulder.
Inferiority complex re other provinces.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 07:35:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 14, 2013, 07:31:36 PM
Chip on the shoulder.

Funny from an Ulsterman.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 07:43:08 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 07:35:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 14, 2013, 07:31:36 PM
Chip on the shoulder.

Funny from an Ulsterman.
Only province where people can pronounce three properly.

Add extra h after first or second consonant of many words.

Fierce rivallry within the province, allies outside.

The rest of Ireland has the Irish Sea or Atlantic to define their seperation from the rest of the world, we also got the Shannon.

Softly spoken people.

Province with highest % of 3'rd level educated youth.

Migration and emmigration.

Saw Doctors.

GAA rules supreme.

Where Cuntish isn't not a bad word.

N17

Stunning scenery is our backyard.

Not putting a coat or jumper on when it rains, coz  it always rains.

Moderate politics.

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 07:52:29 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on November 14, 2013, 05:50:32 PM
Dacency
Politeness to a fault
Treasures education

Lawnseeds unwelcome West of the Shannon.
Post by: Syferus on November 14, 2013, 08:25:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 14, 2013, 07:10:13 PM

"een".
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 14, 2013, 08:26:21 PM
You can probably thank an ancestor of mine, Colonel William Blacker, for enhancing the gene pool in the west by sending some 7,000 Catholics from the Portadown area your way after the Battle of the Diamond. Think about it you might all be distantly related to Tony Fearon.
Post by: muppet on November 14, 2013, 08:29:50 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 14, 2013, 08:26:21 PM
You can probably thank an ancestor of mine, Colonel William Blacker, for enhancing the gene pool in the west by sending some 7,000 Catholics from the Portadown area your way after the Battle of the Diamond. Think about it you might all be distantly related to Tony Fearon.

As a matter of interest any idea if there are records of where they went?

Around 2,000 O'Donnells and their people (Gallaghers, McGinley, O'Cleirigh, Devir, Scanlans, Cafferkeys, Conways etc.) moved to Ballycroy around the same time.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 14, 2013, 08:32:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 14, 2013, 08:25:36 PM

"een".

I prefer the ín myself. The Anglicised version just adds extra letters.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 08:38:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 14, 2013, 08:32:59 PM

"een".

Feck no, I'm partly from of the stock that ended up in south west Mayo.

I suppose we should thank Cromwell for driving refugees into the province too  :P
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 14, 2013, 08:40:17 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 08:38:08 PM

"een".

Feck no, I'm partly from of the stock that ended up in south west Mayo.

I suppose we should thank Cromwell for driving refugees into the province too  :P

I wonder did the Meathmen thank the Land commission for driving people from Connacht up there? ;)
Post by: Gazzler on November 14, 2013, 08:44:32 PM
BESTIALITY
Post by: Syferus on November 14, 2013, 08:49:27 PM

"een".

Thanks for telling me that, in English.  ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 09:06:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 14, 2013, 08:49:27 PM

"een".

Thanks for telling me that, in English.  ;)

Biteen/in oversensitve there.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 14, 2013, 09:08:55 PM
Quote from: Gazzler on November 14, 2013, 08:44:32 PM
BESTIALITY

Thats just for the Stag parties from other provinces.
Post by: Main Street on November 14, 2013, 11:02:23 PM
in a word, verbose.
Post by: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 12:15:33 AM
We also have the best county emblems in Ireland. And nicknames too.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 15, 2013, 12:24:41 AM
The original Irish Republic.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 12:35:05 AM
Jingoistic. If a province can be such a thing.
Post by: deiseach on November 15, 2013, 12:46:09 PM
All good Connacht men and women know that Ballaghaderreen is in county . . . whoa, is that the time? Must dash!
Post by: ballinaman on November 15, 2013, 01:20:17 PM
Can smell a decent slice of boxty at forty paces...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 15, 2013, 01:31:45 PM
Ability to soak up one own's bodyweight in rain water.
Ability to walk at a permanent 45 degree angle into driving wind without falling over.
Longing to annex Clare back into it's rightful province thereby increasing the Connacht "Lebensraum".
Wanting to put anyone who says "Connaught" in front of a firing squad.
Post by: mouview on November 15, 2013, 01:41:57 PM
Abroad.   :(
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 15, 2013, 01:58:08 PM
Loves cycling
can fish
cant swim
Will always invite a visitor in for a cup of tea
Has driven home from the pub cause its only up the road
Post by: Rossfan on November 15, 2013, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 12:35:05 AM
Please elaborate -- but just remember Mayogodhelphim is not your typical Connacht man.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 15, 2013, 04:52:41 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 15, 2013, 04:31:07 PM
Please elaborate -- but just remember Mayogodhelphim is not your typical Connacht man.

Feck off
Post by: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 05:05:13 PM
A desire to climb the Reek is in every Connacht person's blood.
Post by: fearglasmor on November 15, 2013, 05:32:02 PM
Never heard of Boxty till I landed in Leitrim/Roscommon
Doesn't know what arable is.
Expects a stranger to stand in the gap when moving cattle.
Is insulted if you don't.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 06:12:09 PM

Always thought Connacht folk were more vocally wrapped up in the province they come from than is the case with other provinces. Maybe it's just pride in place, which is fair enough. But you're right, it's probably just the sort of rambling of that other loon that put jingoism into my head.
Post by: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 06:20:48 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 06:12:09 PM

Always thought Connacht folk were more vocally wrapped up in the province they come from than is the case with other provinces. Maybe it's just pride in place, which is fair enough. But you're right, it's probably just the sort of rambling of that other loon that put jingoism into my head.

Coming from an Ulsterman that's one hell of a reach.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 15, 2013, 06:57:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 06:20:48 PM
v

Coming from you NS one of the biggest gobshites on the board that is a compliment.
Post by: seafoid on November 15, 2013, 07:09:08 PM
That feeling driving over the bridge in Athlone, in the opposite direction to hell.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 15, 2013, 07:22:14 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 15, 2013, 06:20:48 PM

Ulster says no. But by way of evidence for my statement, take a step back and look at the thread we are posting in here. Started by a Connacht man.
Post by: Rossfan on November 15, 2013, 07:23:47 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 15, 2013, 07:09:08 PM
That feeling driving over the bridge in Athlone, in the opposite direction to hell.
Tarmonbarry is even better .
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 15, 2013, 09:05:59 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on November 15, 2013, 01:20:17 PM
ah boxty ya cant beat it
Post by: muppet on November 18, 2013, 02:13:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 15, 2013, 09:05:59 PM
ah boxty ya cant beat it

Now you are talking.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 18, 2013, 06:14:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 18, 2013, 02:13:13 PM
ah boxty ya cant beat it

Now you are talking.

Boxty's not just a Connacht thing lads!
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 07:11:27 PM
Doesn't sound right the way ye lot pronounce it. ;D
Post by: Nally Stand on November 18, 2013, 07:14:54 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 07:11:27 PM
Doesn't sound right the way ye lot pronounce it. ;D

Aye the Fermanagh accent is a bit strange alright. We don't eat boxty in Tyrone though. We like our food to have an actual flavour/taste!
Post by: muppet on November 18, 2013, 07:53:34 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 18, 2013, 06:14:16 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 18, 2013, 02:13:13 PM
ah boxty ya cant beat it

Now you are talking.

Boxty's not just a Connacht thing lads!

It was an All-Ireland thing, but nowadays only the last bastions remain in the west.

I am surprised it is not the official meal of Sinn Féin!
Post by: Rossfan on November 18, 2013, 09:55:12 PM
Them boyos would be into smoked salmon nowadays to go with the Armanis.
Post by: Asal Mor on November 18, 2013, 11:08:03 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 15, 2013, 01:31:45 PM
Ability to soak up one own's bodyweight in rain water.
Ability to walk at a permanent 45 degree angle into driving wind without falling over.
Longing to annex Clare back into it's rightful province thereby increasing the Connacht "Lebensraum".
Wanting to put anyone who says "Connaught" in front of a firing squad.

;D Very good.
Post by: samboswig on November 19, 2013, 08:41:08 AM
Monday, Thueshday, Wedneshday, Thurshday, Fridah, Shaturdah, Shunday. Chrisht on a bike.
Post by: Rossfan on November 19, 2013, 10:45:39 AM
Quote from: samboswig on November 19, 2013, 08:41:08 AM
Monday, ThChueshday, Wedneshday, Thurshday, Fridah, Shaturdah, Shunday. Chrisht on a bike.
Corrected those stupid errors for ya.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 19, 2013, 01:05:27 PM
Sligo has 2 uncommon characteristics- Is the only county that isnt attached to the identity of Connacht.
Is the only county that doesnt define its self worth in footballing terms :P
Post by: sans pessimism on November 19, 2013, 01:19:51 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 19, 2013, 01:05:27 PM
Sligo has 2 uncommon characteristics- Is the only county that isnt attached to the identity of Connacht.
Is the only county that doesnt define its self worth in footballing terms :P
probably for the best
Post by: Syferus on November 24, 2013, 08:48:26 PM
Marty Duffy has inflicted pain on all of us.
Post by: Rossfan on November 24, 2013, 09:20:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2013, 08:48:26 PM
Aren't the Shliiiigo county team lucky?
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 24, 2013, 10:09:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 24, 2013, 09:20:56 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 24, 2013, 08:48:26 PM
Aren't the Shliiiigo county team lucky?

He might have ruined a few club games for them! ;)
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2013, 11:17:46 PM
Define the common characteristics of Connacht man = Shane Curran?
Post by: moysider on November 25, 2013, 10:14:46 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2013, 11:17:46 PM

:o Ugly, red hair, long nose, freckles, belly, reckless, extrovert, sly, mad in the head. ;D
Post by: sans pessimism on November 25, 2013, 11:09:51 AM
Quote from: moysider on November 25, 2013, 10:14:46 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 24, 2013, 11:17:46 PM

:o Ugly, red hair, long nose, freckles, belly, reckless, extrovert, sly, mad in the head. ;D
......and that's only the wimmin!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 27, 2013, 05:48:29 PM

Aye, knowing that no matter which way you are driving that you will land back on Westmeath soil!  ;D
Post by: Syferus on November 27, 2013, 07:36:43 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on November 27, 2013, 05:48:29 PM

Aye, knowing that no matter which way you are driving that you will land back on Westmeath soil!  ;D

You were the fella who put the 'Welcome to County Westmeath' sign beside Ganly's, right, Croi?