Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BarryBreensBandage on November 07, 2013, 08:11:08 PM

Title: AP McCoy
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 07, 2013, 08:11:08 PM
Is AP McCoy the greatest sportsperson to ever hail from this island?

Clare Balding said this evening that he is the greatest sportsperson she has ever met
Title: Re: AP McCoy
Post by: EC Unique on November 07, 2013, 08:50:27 PM
4000 winners. Mental. He has a 24% win rate. He will never be equaled.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 07, 2013, 08:55:22 PM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 07, 2013, 08:11:08 PM

Clare Balding said this evening that he is the greatest sportsperson she has ever met

would be hard to argue with it.
His dedication is second to none, heard one jockey this evening in an interview saying that he once flew home from a 4 day golfing break to ride ONE horse at a meeting somewhere

if you read his book you would be amazed at some of the stories
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 07, 2013, 09:36:55 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 07, 2013, 08:55:22 PM

would be hard to argue with it.
His dedication is second to none, heard one jockey this evening in an interview saying that he once flew home from a 4 day golfing break to ride ONE horse at a meeting somewhere

According to his family, he will celebrate tonight in his pub with a glass of juice, and then has two races tomorrow and two on Saturday.
Unbelievable dedication.
Post by: Orior on November 07, 2013, 11:16:22 PM
A true legend
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 07, 2013, 11:29:57 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 07, 2013, 11:16:22 PM
A true legend
Indeed, up there with Beckham.
Post by: Premier Emperor on November 08, 2013, 10:29:53 AM
How much credit should the jockey get when it's the horse that's doing the running?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2013, 10:34:51 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on November 08, 2013, 10:29:53 AM
How much credit should the jockey get when it's the horse that's doing the running?

Why would Cody get all the credit for managing the Kilkenny team when the players do all the work ;)
Post by: BennyHarp on November 08, 2013, 10:52:00 AM

All 4000 of those horses must have been pure class. Just watch the win yesterday for your answer.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 11:21:29 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 08, 2013, 10:52:00 AM

All 4000 of those horses must have pure class. Just watch the win yesterday for your answer.

Surely your man must have a point though - only in Ireland would your greatest ever sportsman be one who gets to the finish line on top of an animal. 
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 11:25:53 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 11:21:29 AM
Surely your man must have a point though - only in Ireland would your greatest ever sportsman be one who gets to the finish line on top of an animal.

As opposed to, say, someone who does it as part of a team of 11/15 players?
Post by: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 11:29:43 AM

All 4000 of those horses must have pure class. Just watch the win yesterday for your answer.

All a matter of opinion and where you rate certain sportspeople above others in terms of the merits of their particular sport.

Harrington, DJ, O'Dricsoll, Kelly, McGuigan, Katie Taylor even would all have a claim of being Ireland's best ever sportsperson
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 11:30:23 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 11:29:43 AM
All a matter of opinion and where you rate certain sportspeople above others in terms of the merits of their particular sport.

Harrington, DJ, O'Dricsoll, Kelly, McGuigan, Katie Taylor even would all have a claim of being Ireland's best ever sportsperson

*sharpens knives* ;)
Post by: EC Unique on November 08, 2013, 12:45:35 PM

I was taking you seriously until 'Katie Taylor'  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2013, 01:21:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 08, 2013, 11:41:13 AM

Out of that list, it has to be Frank McGuigan.
Not DJ Kane or Gary Kelly?
Post by: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 01:32:07 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 08, 2013, 12:45:35 PM

Best in the world at her sport. . . surely she has to be on the list!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2013, 01:40:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 01:32:07 PM

Sure that's like saying someone is the best ladies footballer or camogie player when the overall standard of the sport is pish...  :)

*ducks for cover*
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 01:43:14 PM
Katie is one of our greatest Olympians.
Post by: highorlow on November 08, 2013, 01:45:42 PM
Quoteif you read his book you would be amazed at some of the stories

Aye great book.

Gives a great insight to anyone (myself included) that has no understanding much about the skill involved in riding how rare these lads are and the dedication and risks they take.

The stories about him mitching from school and going to his 1st trainers yard (can't think of trainers name) and how no jockey in the yard senior or junior could handle this particular crankey horse until wee Tony got up on him and controlled him, he was only 12 or so!.
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 08, 2013, 01:21:15 PM
Not DJ Kane or Gary Kelly?

DJ Foran.

(http://img.rasset.ie/0007b7fa-642.jpg)

(No need to comment on Kelly.)
Post by: highorlow on November 08, 2013, 01:53:42 PM
For dedication, commitment, ability, skill, bravery, longevity and winning everything in his sport that was on offer AP must be on of the greatest ever individually.

Only the like of Christy Ring would compare, but he was part of a team.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2013, 02:34:07 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 01:43:14 PM

Michelle Smith??
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 02:58:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2013, 02:34:07 PM

Michelle Smith??

I would say no. But your mileage may vary.
Post by: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 03:04:34 PM

Michelle Smith??

Only in Jimmy Magee's eyes.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 03:27:00 PM
You have different criteria to bring into this argument such as how global is the sport in question and how does the individual rank in the overal hierarchy?  You have:

- Mc Coy, who relies on a horse to do most of the work.  One of the best jockeys about but again how global is the 'sport', has all his winners not been mainly in the UK and Ireland against other UK and Ireland jockeys?  If he is the best, how many jockeys is he actually competing against?

- Harrington, who won multiple majors in one of the most global sports with a huge number of participants.  Definitely in with a shout. 

-  Katie Taylor, dominates her weight class in a minority sport that is largely unpopular around the globe.

- McGuigan,  won a world title but didn't hold it long.  Was he really the best in the world at his weight? 

- Kelly/Roche, both near the top of the cycling world in a sport that is pretty global.  Roche has to be in with a shout.

- O'Driscoll, one of the best players in the world in his position but again in a minority sport that is only taken seriously by a handful of countries.

- McIlroy, 2 majors already at a young age in a huge global sport.  Nationality up for debate.

- Best, arguably the greatest footballer to ever come out of the UK and Ireland and possibly the greatest European footballer ever.  Is he Irish though?
Post by: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 03:32:29 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 03:27:00 PM
You have different criteria to bring into this argument such as how global is the sport in question and how does the individual rank in the overal hierarchy?  You have:

- Mc Coy, who relies on a horse to do most of the work.  One of the best jockeys about but again how global is the 'sport', has all his winners not been mainly in the UK and Ireland against other UK and Ireland jockeys?  If he is the best, how many jockeys is he actually competing against? Prior to McCoy, only one other jockey had ridden 200 winners in a season. McCoy has done it 7 times. To eclipse McCoy (if he retired today), someone would on average have to have 200 winners for 20 seasons.

- Harrington, who won multiple majors in one of the most global sports with a huge number of participants.  Definitely in with a shout. 

-  Katie Taylor, dominates her weight class in a minority sport that is largely unpopular around the globe. Boxing is unpopular? Four time world champion. Ireland's only legitimate Olympic gold medalist in 20 years.

- McGuigan,  won a world title but didn't hold it long.  Was he really the best in the world at his weight? Briefly, yes, in a time where you became the man by beating the man. In this case, a long reigning legend.

- Kelly/Roche, both near the top of the cycling world in a sport that is pretty global.  Roche has to be in with a shout. Drugs cheats the two of them

- O'Driscoll, one of the best players in the world in his position but again in a minority sport that is only taken seriously by a handful of countries.

- McIlroy, 2 majors already at a young age in a huge global sport.  Nationality up for debate.

- Best, arguably the greatest footballer to ever come out of the UK and Ireland and possibly the greatest European footballer ever.  Is he Irish though?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2013, 03:34:36 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 02:58:43 PM

Michelle Smith??

I would say no. But your mileage may vary.

Strange some craic in Ireland when she won, seemed a lovely girl
Post by: Hardy on November 08, 2013, 03:40:40 PM
McCoy is a phenomenon that almost defies description. I don't think I've ever heard anybody utter a negative syllable about him and this universal admiration seems to be justified by the accounts of all who know him.

On a side issue, I'm puzzled. Maybe some of our fitness/diet enthusiasts here can help. We keep hearing about AP's diet - dinner only four times a week, the smell of an oily rag for lunch, etc. We hear the same about most jockeys. Lester famously lived on coffee and cigars. My problem is this. To maintain a certain weight, you need only balance energy intake (food calories) with energy expended (exercise and exertion). To achieve that balance, the typical adult male who takes a reasonable amount of exercise needs to consume about 1,800 to 2,200 calories per day. That would be three normal meals.

Athletes typically need to consume much more than this just to fuel their physical effort and maintain a constant, healthy weight. That is, whether you weigh seven stone or seventeen stone, if you engage in competitive physical activity you probably need from 2,500 to 4,000 calories, depending on your sport and level, just to maintain your seven or seventeen stone. Yet it seems that AP and the other jockeys are surviving on not much more than 1,000 calories per day, while conducting a very physically vigorous life. In theory they should be malnourished and continue losing weight until they waste away. What am I missing?
Post by: Premier Emperor on November 08, 2013, 03:41:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 08, 2013, 01:32:07 PM

...Amateur boxing. How would she fare in the professional game?
Post by: maddog on November 08, 2013, 03:47:25 PM

- Mc Coy, who relies on a horse to do most of the work.  One of the best jockeys about but again how global is the 'sport', has all his winners not been mainly in the UK and Ireland against other UK and Ireland jockeys?  If he is the best, how many jockeys is he actually competing against?

-  Katie Taylor, dominates her weight class in a minority sport that is largely unpopular around the globe.

- McGuigan,  won a world title but didn't hold it long.  Was he really the best in the world at his weight? 

- Kelly/Roche, both near the top of the cycling world in a sport that is pretty global.  Roche has to be in with a shout.

Roche (whatever the speculation) achieved something only every done by Eddy Merckx (Tour of Italy Tour de France and road world championship in one season).  But for injury he would have won a lot more.
Have huge respect for McCoy, was stood by the open ditch in a novice chase (near sure it was the same day as the Omagh bomb) on the back straight at Stratford upon Avon. The horse ploughed into the fence and catapulted McCoy into the air - 15ft easily. He landed with a fair old thud - going was firm for sure that day as it was baking hot. He got up and tore his helmet off and fired it into the ground in a temper, pure frustration at what he said was his own mistake in asking the horse for a big leap at the fence. He marched off across the course back to the weighing room for his next ride. No one was asking him for autographs at that point with the head he had on him.
A hardy buck.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 04:04:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 03:32:29 PM

- Mc Coy, who relies on a horse to do most of the work.  One of the best jockeys about but again how global is the 'sport', has all his winners not been mainly in the UK and Ireland against other UK and Ireland jockeys?  If he is the best, how many jockeys is he actually competing against? Prior to McCoy, only one other jockey had ridden 200 winners in a season. McCoy has done it 7 times. To eclipse McCoy (if he retired today), someone would on average have to have 200 winners for 20 seasons.

-  Katie Taylor, dominates her weight class in a minority sport that is largely unpopular around the globe. Boxing is unpopular? Four time world champion. Ireland's only legitimate Olympic gold medalist in 20 years.

- McGuigan,  won a world title but didn't hold it long.  Was he really the best in the world at his weight? Briefly, yes, in a time where you became the man by beating the man. In this case, a long reigning legend.

- Kelly/Roche, both near the top of the cycling world in a sport that is pretty global.  Roche has to be in with a shout. Drugs cheats the two of them

Katie Taylor is the best amateur boxer in her weight category.  Womens boxing is a minority sport though.
Post by: Bensars on November 08, 2013, 04:10:15 PM
Its a good job all these named greats have been around the last 25 years. ::)

Must piss of all those who plyed their trade in the years prior to this "golden" age

Screen will be listing Glenn Ross next !
(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSDTWrtIbyA8zxbYpVrgLrhre7x1OOpNrqE05ZbD5nvfVSowYByAw)
Post by: deiseach on November 08, 2013, 04:16:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2013, 03:34:36 PM
Strange some craic in Ireland when she won, seemed a lovely girl

I would never have described her as 'lovely', she was as brittle as feck. Still, I can't deny I enjoyed the moment(s).
Post by: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 08:35:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 08, 2013, 04:04:17 PM
Katie Taylor is the best amateur boxer in her weight category.  Womens boxing is a minority sport though.

Define minority sport. How many female boxers are there globally? Is it about participant numbers or specator numbers?

Don't give me that shite about "in her weight class". Ali was also the best "in his weight class". She's one of, if not, the best female boxers on the planet.
Post by: glens abu on November 08, 2013, 08:52:51 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 08:35:22 PM

Define minority sport. How many female boxers are there globally? Is it about participant numbers or specator numbers?

Don't give me that shite about "in her weight class". Ali was also the best "in his weight class". She's one of, if not, the best female boxers on the planet.

100% seen her box exhibition bout and she was great and know when she spars with the men on the Irish team she holds her own.Can only beat what is put in front of her and she beats them all.Class act in every way.
Post by: rrhf on November 09, 2013, 12:57:27 AM
To not mention Canavan in the group is demonstrating a great disservice to Gaelic football
Post by: BennyCake on November 09, 2013, 01:08:13 AM
Katie "born again nut with the personality of an ashtray" Taylor, Ireland's greatest sports star? What the fcuk?! A woman boxer? Women's boxing is a freak show. I wouldn't give it the time of day.

I heard her interviewed once, and she was rabbiting on about the mad Christian thing. That confirmed all I needed to know about her.

By the way, why did Tony McCoy change his name to AP?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 09, 2013, 08:50:51 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 09, 2013, 01:08:13 AM
Katie "born again nut with the personality of an ashtray" Taylor, Ireland's greatest sports star? What the fcuk?! A woman boxer? Women's boxing is a freak show. I wouldn't give it the time of day.

I heard her interviewed once, and she was rabbiting on about the mad Christian thing. That confirmed all I needed to know about her.

he didn't - the English media changed it from AP to Tony
Post by: Tonto on November 09, 2013, 09:26:06 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 09, 2013, 08:50:51 AM

Yeah, the English are a right bunch of arrogant bastards aren't they?  Oppressive fcukers.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2013/1104/484602-mccoy-now-two-shy-of-4000-milestone/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2013/1104/484602-mccoy-now-two-shy-of-4000-milestone/)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/24860031 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/24860031)
Post by: nrico2006 on November 11, 2013, 08:36:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 08, 2013, 08:35:22 PM

Suppose we will only know if she is the best if/when she turns professional.  Womens boxing is a minority sport.  There wouldn't be a huge amount of participants or spectators.  Hardly rocket science.
Post by: muppet on November 11, 2013, 09:05:31 AM
Quote from: Tonto on November 09, 2013, 09:26:06 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 09, 2013, 08:50:51 AM

Yeah, the English are a right bunch of arrogant b**tards aren't they?  Oppressive fcukers.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2013/1104/484602-mccoy-now-two-shy-of-4000-milestone/ (http://www.rte.ie/sport/racing/uk/2013/1104/484602-mccoy-now-two-shy-of-4000-milestone/)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/24860031 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/horse-racing/24860031)

In fairness he said the English media.

You know, those philanthropic people who gave us the Leveson Enquiry?
Post by: screenexile on November 11, 2013, 09:56:59 AM
Quote from: rrhf on November 09, 2013, 12:57:27 AM
To not mention Canavan in the group is demonstrating a great disservice to Gaelic football

FFS!!!  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 11, 2013, 11:17:40 AM
Quote from: screenexile on November 11, 2013, 09:56:59 AM
Quote from: rrhf on November 09, 2013, 12:57:27 AM

FFS!!!  ::) ::) ::)
;D Most people ignored it!
Post by: CSC on November 11, 2013, 07:16:28 PM
Quote from: highorlow on November 08, 2013, 01:45:42 PM
Quoteif you read his book you would be amazed at some of the stories

Aye great book.

Gives a great insight to anyone (myself included) that has no understanding much about the skill involved in riding how rare these lads are and the dedication and risks they take.

The stories about him mitching from school and going to his 1st trainers yard (can't think of trainers name) and how no jockey in the yard senior or junior could handle this particular crankey horse until wee Tony got up on him and controlled him, he was only 12 or so!.

This is the big "special factor" that AP has. I know a couple of lads who are in the racing business (break in horses / trainers etc) and they say that AP has this ability control horses, and in the racing world, has the ability to push a nervious horse over a fence at full speed. Most jockey's will relax the horse and let it jump the fence at its own speed if the horse is twitchy. McCoy has the ability to make the horse jump the fence without slowing down. So his ability to control horses is apparently unrivaled.

The other thing that the lads said is that there hasn't been as brave a jockey(or crazy) as McCoy.

From a diet perspective, my uncle was in the car with McCoy when he was in his early 20's driving down to  game somewhere (Croke Park ) and they handed out the old Tayto's. McCoy opened the bag, licked the flavor of the chip, and through the chip out the window. Outside of the obvious littering habit, it show's you the level of discipline these guys have. Plus McCoy is talk for a jockey, so he probably takes it further that the other "wee jockey's)
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2013, 09:42:32 AM
The discipline AP has with regard to his diet is frightening.

His ability is unrivalled.

He has taken the commitment to his sport to a new level.
Post by: deiseach on November 12, 2013, 10:33:26 AM
Quote from: CSC on November 11, 2013, 07:16:28 PM
This is the big "special factor" that AP has. I know a couple of lads who are in the racing business (break in horses / trainers etc) and they say that AP has this ability control horses, and in the racing world, has the ability to push a nervious horse over a fence at full speed. Most jockey's will relax the horse and let it jump the fence at its own speed if the horse is twitchy. McCoy has the ability to make the horse jump the fence without slowing down. So his ability to control horses is apparently unrivaled.

I remember reading Ross Brawn (I think it was) saying how Michael Schumacher was the best because he would hit the maximum braking speed into a corner every time. Everyone else would occasionally feather the throttle just a bit too much to avoid going off, but Schumacher kept the car right on the limit for the longest time possible. Sounds like the same thing with McCoy - instinctively knowing the speed to approach the fence to ensure the horse gets over while still keeping the power down. Of course, in general an F1 car is a bit less capricious than a horse. A driver would certainly be more familiar with his ride.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 12, 2013, 10:36:50 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 07, 2013, 08:55:22 PM

If you have a Kindle you can get it for a couple of quid on Amazon. Great read.
Post by: lfdown2 on November 12, 2013, 10:58:28 AM
I see he has also written a fiction novel; taking the fall, anyone read it?
Post by: pullhard on April 01, 2015, 09:08:20 AM
I'm friendly with my local editors of a local paper over here (liverpool) . They have no one dedicated to sport, let alone horse racing.

They have managed to get a 5 minute slot before the national with AP and have asked meto have a go at interviewing him.

If you had 5 minutes what would you ask AP McCoy? Which he hasn't been asked before
Post by: AZOffaly on April 01, 2015, 09:26:36 AM
I'd ask him what date it is today.
Post by: mikehunt on April 01, 2015, 09:28:49 AM
Quote from: pullhard on April 01, 2015, 09:08:20 AM
I'm friendly with my local editors of a local paper over here (liverpool) . They have no one dedicated to sport, let alone horse racing.

They have managed to get a 5 minute slot before the national with AP and have asked meto have a go at interviewing him.

If you had 5 minutes what would you ask AP McCoy? Which he hasn't been asked before

Do you think you'd beat Ruby in a foot race while carrying horses on your backs?
Post by: pullhard on April 01, 2015, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: mikehunt on April 01, 2015, 09:28:49 AM

Do you think you'd beat Ruby in a foot race while carrying horses on your backs?

The answer is clearly Chuck Norris
Post by: Crete Boom on April 01, 2015, 11:37:48 AM
Quote from: pullhard on April 01, 2015, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: mikehunt on April 01, 2015, 09:28:49 AM

The answer is clearly Chuck Norris

Surely you mean Larry Reilly!!!!
Post by: pullhard on April 01, 2015, 11:58:24 AM
or Adebayo Akinfenw.

Back to AP, any decent questions, i'll share the answers with the board
Post by: theticklemister on April 01, 2015, 06:46:20 PM
What's Taunton like in November?
Post by: beer baron on April 01, 2015, 07:08:52 PM
Why aren't you coming over for Punchestown AP?  :(
Post by: stiffler on April 01, 2015, 09:29:56 PM
Does ap have a pa?
Post by: T Fearon on April 01, 2015, 09:45:14 PM
Attending a lunch in June,and AP is guest speaker.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 01, 2015, 09:47:52 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 01, 2015, 09:45:14 PM
Attending a lunch in June,and AP is guest speaker.

Do you have to bring your own nose bag ?
Post by: Over the Bar on April 01, 2015, 10:26:33 PM
His last Grand National next week.  AP will be chomping at the bit never mind the 'orse!!
Post by: T Fearon on April 01, 2015, 10:38:58 PM
No.But I will get his hardback autobiography signed...the one I picked up in Easons for £4.99 last week ;D
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on April 01, 2015, 11:02:45 PM
I have never seen a sportsman so despondent and down about retiring as McCoy is.
What's the odds on a comeback?
Post by: mikehunt on April 02, 2015, 11:53:19 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on April 01, 2015, 11:02:45 PM
I have never seen a sportsman so despondent and down about retiring as McCoy is.
What's the odds on a comeback?

the Mrs must be a pain in the hoop.
Post by: ONeill on April 02, 2015, 10:52:19 PM

What's the name for excessive bodily hair growth in women?
Post by: Hardy on April 03, 2015, 01:28:12 AM
Her suit?
Post by: ONeill on April 03, 2015, 11:10:56 AM
A lot better than your corny effort.
Post by: T Fearon on April 04, 2015, 08:31:25 AM
My question to AP would be "Arsenal? Why,Ffs?"
Post by: Over the Bar on April 04, 2015, 02:41:59 PM
Ask him what is the largest mammal he could sellophane to a tree single-handedly.   
Post by: highorlow on August 12, 2015, 12:34:27 PM
http://www.joe.ie/sport/video-the-trailer-for-the-new-ap-mccoy-documentary-looks-stunning/507829
Post by: bennydorano on August 13, 2015, 01:02:40 AM
Reading his autobiography this week. Good reading so far. Would Bolger have squirmed reading it do any of u think?
Post by: Hardy on August 13, 2015, 03:29:04 PM
What did he say about Bolger?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 13, 2015, 04:21:20 PM
It would take a lot to get Jim Bolger squirming. His teeth are the softest thing about him.
Post by: bennydorano on August 13, 2015, 04:23:39 PM
Nothing really, he is a huge admirer. Bolger's old school schoolmaster ways just seemed a bit ott to me, but then again I know nothing of the industry.

Very good book, reading about his courting of Chanelle today, he's  lucky she stuck around. He certainly doesn't seem to be avoiding many uncomfortable truths / experiences.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 13, 2015, 04:44:10 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 13, 2015, 04:23:39 PM
Nothing really, he is a huge admirer. Bolger's old school schoolmaster ways just seemed a bit ott to me, but then again I know nothing of the industry.

It probably is over the top but it is hard to argue with Bolger's results down the years. His self made bloodstock operation is hugely successful and the calibre of people who have been through Coolcullen is remarkable - Aidan O'Brien, Willie Mullins, Peter Scudamore, David Wachman, Paul Nolan, Paul Carberry and McCoy.
Post by: bridge fan on August 14, 2015, 11:15:21 PM
Tell ya 1 thing JP threw some retirement party for him Springsteen the killers ED and Robbie Williams played at it
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 11, 2015, 08:55:34 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 12, 2015, 12:34:27 PM
http://www.joe.ie/sport/video-the-trailer-for-the-new-ap-mccoy-documentary-looks-stunning/507829

Heading to the premiere on Monday night - should be good.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 30, 2015, 11:31:18 PM
A knighthood for AP I see