GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 05:09:55 PM

Title: Leinster championship 2014
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 05:09:55 PM
Can't wait!
It should see purveyors of sexy football like ourselves and the Dubs to the fore while nordie-ball merchants like Laois and Kildare are left behind.
An adventurous side like Louth or Wexford could sneak in and claim the no.3 spot for themselves.
All we're short of is a midfielder and a centre forward so the league should be interesting.
Title: Re: Leinster championship 2014
Post by: Orchardman on September 23, 2013, 05:12:07 PM
You are having a laugh.

Leinster championship? Dubs have the next year's won already
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2013, 05:12:55 PM
With our new manager ( a few interesting names in the melting pot but I am not allowed to post then here)  and a new found belief in ourselves 2014 will be our year.

I expect a run all the way to the first round at least.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2013, 05:15:05 PM
If Cluxton retires.......................which I reckon he will..................... open season
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2013, 05:17:39 PM
I'm thinking Offaly will be dark horses. A triumphant march through Division 3, followed by a blitzkrieg on Leinster, Ireland and the World. All we're missing is 6 backs, 2 midfielders and 5 forwards. Mulhall and Niall McNamee are grand.
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 05:30:40 PM
I hear the Kildare lads are already training for the O'Byrne Cup.
They've invited members of the county board down to the K Club to watch them do star jumps and burpees.
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 06:03:08 PM
C'mon Anto and Carlo.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 23, 2013, 06:06:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 05:30:40 PM
They've invited members of the county board down to the K Club to watch them do star jumps and burpees.

I know we need to get Usain Bolt in for the training, did you not hear you need sprinters now to win football matches.
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2013, 07:05:27 PM
Depends how the Dubs react after winning the AI if they bring their 2012 form into 2014 Leinster championship then the likes of Meath or Kildare have a great chance of winning it.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2013, 08:25:38 PM

I hear emmet bolton wants to join the mayo panel............................... ::)
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 08:32:58 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2013, 08:25:38 PM

I hear emmet bolton wants to join the mayo panel............................... ::)

Squire, seeing as all that colluding we done with ye to turf out the Rhus worked so well, when can we expect the comprehensive list of Ros-eligible Dub players? 8)
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 11:38:08 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 23, 2013, 06:06:40 PM

I know we need to get Usain Bolt in for the training, did you not hear you need sprinters now to win football matches.

Dermot Weld should take over as fitness coach.
Post by: thejuice on September 23, 2013, 11:39:11 PM
Sure half that Dublin team will be playing Australian Basketrugbyball for the Sydney Swans or the Geelong Flamin' Galloots this time next year.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on September 24, 2013, 01:07:00 AM
Once Kevin McStay takes over we'll be back in the hot zone for the first time since the 1920s.
Post by: Jinxy on September 24, 2013, 09:12:41 AM
Big Joe told he isn't part of Mickos plans for next year.
Thanks for your efforts and all the happy memories down through the years Joe.

(http://www.irishexaminerusa.com/mt/2010/07/13-week/images/gaa.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on September 24, 2013, 04:41:16 PM
Seriously?
Post by: rodney trotter on September 24, 2013, 04:53:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 24, 2013, 09:12:41 AM
Big Joe told he isn't part of Mickos plans for next year.
Thanks for your efforts and all the happy memories down through the years Joe.

(http://www.irishexaminerusa.com/mt/2010/07/13-week/images/gaa.jpg)

Brian Farrell gone as well.
Post by: Billys Boots on September 24, 2013, 04:54:46 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 23, 2013, 06:06:40 PM

Feck, I thought it was wrestlers. 
Post by: thejuice on September 24, 2013, 09:35:23 PM
Joe Sheridan, Brian Farrell (Meath footballer of the year 2012), Peadar Byrne, Caoimhin King and Brian Dillon all dropped. Brian, Joe and Peadar were great players for Meath, there is no doubt when we look back on the decade that was the 2000's in Meath they'll be the men we talk about, not to mention Nigel Crawford, Cian Ward and Seamus Kenny. I think I'll definitely miss seeing them come next summer. Not much in the way of silverware but there were a few games along the way that warmed the heart. I just hope we aren't letting these lads go too early.

I have often said  in a way I feel we are still producing footballers for a different era and I think them lads might have done better if the game was played as it was in the 90's. With the look of the Dublin team I'm not all that surprised by a move towards younger players. We had a minor team in the All-Ireland final last year and some of those lads will be starting to mature. I think Mick wants to mould them early on and them make his own.

That said the Dublin teams are well honed athletes especially their minors from last year, lorded over our lads who really looked their age. I don't think I've seen a Meath team ever take the field that were as gymed or athletic looking as the likes of Dublin, Donegal or Cork. Not that that is what makes an A-I winner but it's getting harder to win without it. Where's the beef as the yanks might say.

It's a wonder if Shane O'Rourke might see the Meath jersey again at this rate. Cian Ward is doing great stuff at club level but I wonder if Mick is even going to look in his direction.
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2013, 09:38:12 AM
All good footballers juice, but none of them have the requisite pace and fitness for the modern game.
This doesn't mean that we just pick athletes, but we need to focus on bringing through younger lads.
Wallace and Newman had a huge impact and if we put Menton centre back we have the makings of a good side.
The lads all need to train on through the winter though.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 25, 2013, 09:58:59 AM
Ye will bother to look back on the 2000's? Really? Don't think any of them are a loss anyway, apart from maybe King.
Post by: Jinxy on September 25, 2013, 11:07:33 AM
We're allowed say that.
YOU are not.