GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on September 16, 2013, 04:41:57 PM

Poll
Question: Who will win Sunday's final and by how much?
Option 1: Dublin by 1-3 votes: 22
Option 2: Dublin by 4-6 votes: 15
Option 3: Dublin by 7+ votes: 9
Option 4: Mayo by 1-3 votes: 29
Option 5: Mayo by 4-6 votes: 28
Option 6: Mayo by 7+ votes: 5
Option 7: The GAA (Draw Game) votes: 5
Title: The GAABoard calls it 2013 Winner Mayo by 1 - 3 points
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 16, 2013, 04:41:57 PM
Well?
Title: Re: The GAABoard calls it and by how much 2013 AISF winner
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 16, 2013, 04:42:35 PM
Mayo by 2.
Post by: highorlow on September 16, 2013, 04:46:23 PM
If this wasn't a final I would say we are man for man a 7 points better team than Dublin. Seen as it's a final though I'd say it will only be a margin of between 2 and 6.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 16, 2013, 04:50:03 PM
(http://www.calorgas.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/The-Road-to-Croke-Park-2013-Infographic.jpg)
Post by: Syferus on September 16, 2013, 04:56:55 PM
The Ros remain the only county manly enough to stop the Mayo monsters from finding the net. Giz us a call, Clux. Two can play at the collusion game.

Mayo by a score.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 16, 2013, 05:06:28 PM
This game is too close to call, I'm sitting on the fence.
Post by: ONeill on September 16, 2013, 05:47:37 PM
Dublin by 2
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 16, 2013, 05:58:11 PM
Dublin to win their second All Ireland in three years and Mayo to lose their seventh All Ireland final in twenty four years.

Dublin by one point.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 16, 2013, 06:00:47 PM
What's the story with o'connor? Fit or not?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 16, 2013, 06:02:25 PM
Dublin beat Kerry by 7. They'll hammer us.
Post by: J70 on September 16, 2013, 06:07:12 PM
Mayo by four.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 16, 2013, 06:19:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 16, 2013, 06:02:25 PM
Dublin beat Kerry by 7. They'll hammer us.

Ah sure, we will have the day out.........with the game over after the 20 minutes, plenty of time to get back to Heuston........
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 16, 2013, 06:26:13 PM
Dublin by....oh......at least 8 points.
Post by: Qwerty28 on September 16, 2013, 06:45:20 PM
Mayo by 2....hopefully ye cross the Shannon this day week with the canister!! ;)
Post by: T Fearon on September 16, 2013, 07:34:43 PM
Mayo by three
Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 16, 2013, 07:45:59 PM
Dublin by 4 to 6
Post by: Itchy on September 16, 2013, 07:47:18 PM
I think Dublin will edge it by a point or two.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 16, 2013, 08:32:13 PM
Draw.
Post by: rrhf on September 16, 2013, 08:50:48 PM
Mayo by 5, but it could be more.
Post by: thewobbler on September 16, 2013, 09:01:51 PM
Mayo by 7+
Post by: BennyHarp on September 16, 2013, 09:10:17 PM
Id like to see Mayo win but if I was betting on the game I'd have Dublin -4.
Post by: thejuice on September 17, 2013, 01:19:17 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on September 16, 2013, 07:45:59 PM
Dublin by 4 to 6

that's my hunch too. But you never know.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 17, 2013, 10:49:13 AM
Dublin by 5.
Post by: laoislad on September 17, 2013, 10:52:43 AM
Mayo by 4.
Post by: Rossfan on September 17, 2013, 10:54:07 AM
Draw.
Post by: ballinaman on September 17, 2013, 11:56:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 16, 2013, 06:00:47 PM
What's the story with o'connor? Fit or not?
Ready to rock.

Mayo by 5...minimum
Post by: spuds on September 17, 2013, 12:00:37 PM
Mayo by 2 in senior and 5 in minor.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 12:02:07 PM
Mayo by 6 points, start brilliantly allow Dublin back into the game then finish strong, Dubs to have player sent off and controversy over a penalty. Heard it here first
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2013, 12:14:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 12:02:07 PM
Mayo by 6 points, start brilliantly allow Dublin back into the game then finish strong, Dubs to have player sent off and controversy over a penalty. Heard it here first

I don't think I would be able for that.

Can you think about it a bit more and come again?
Post by: deiseach on September 17, 2013, 12:20:56 PM
Mayo by 4 and some lucky, lucky chap to be remembered like Declan Bonner for popping over the insurance score.
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2013, 12:26:28 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 17, 2013, 12:20:56 PM
Mayo by 4 and some lucky, lucky chap to be remembered like Declan Bonner for popping over the insurance score.

From a Mayo POV if we are lucky enough to have such a moment, I would like that to be Andy Moran. Cillian or Aiden O'XI would be great too, but jaysus anyone would do.

If I was a Dub or neutral I would love to see Alan Brogan coming on and scoring the insurance point.
Post by: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 12:27:24 PM
Mayo will bottle it like they always do in finals. Dublin by 9.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 17, 2013, 12:31:55 PM
Mayo by 2. Having O Connor fit to start is a big help. I think another defeat would be too much for some of the older Mayo players like Moran.
Post by: rrhf on September 17, 2013, 01:02:52 PM
Coulld it happen. 
Cluxton to come up the field to hit a 50 kick to meet a "hard reinforced by concrete blocks" shoulder from Cillian o Connor and needs smelling salts. 
In the resultant melee Mc Hale jumps the fence and steams up the field and flails into it, ref picks him out tells him to go home, and yer man gets stewarded out of the gound in shame.   
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 17, 2013, 01:16:17 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 12:27:24 PM

Good man. I was waiting for the bottlers tag to be bandied around.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 17, 2013, 01:28:34 PM
Mayo to shit in the nest. Dublin by 2.
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 17, 2013, 01:38:14 PM
40,000 mayoese on the pitch by about 5pm
Post by: From the Bunker on September 17, 2013, 01:38:29 PM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 17, 2013, 01:28:34 PM

I think ye lads are reading to many Eugene McGee and Martin Brehony columns? :P
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2013, 01:54:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 17, 2013, 01:38:29 PM

How do you like your Mayo? Bottled!

Post by: ballinaman on September 17, 2013, 01:56:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 17, 2013, 01:54:54 PM

Jarred come Sunday evening... ;)
Post by: Hardy on September 17, 2013, 01:59:38 PM

Boxed in 1996.
Post by: AQMP on September 17, 2013, 02:03:23 PM
Mayo by 4.
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2013, 02:12:02 PM

Bubbly!
Post by: From the Bunker on September 17, 2013, 02:13:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2013, 02:12:02 PM

Bubbly!

Sparkling!
Post by: deiseach on September 17, 2013, 02:26:09 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 17, 2013, 01:02:52 PM
Coulld it happen. 
Cluxton to come up the field to hit a 50 kick to meet a "hard reinforced by concrete blocks" shoulder from Cillian o Connor and needs smelling salts. 
In the resultant melee Mc Hale jumps the fence and steams up the field and flails into it, ref picks him out tells him to go home, and yer man gets stewarded out of the gound in shame.

I'm dubious, but we live in a world where Willie Frazer exists, so...
Post by: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 02:47:17 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 17, 2013, 01:16:17 PM

Good man. I was waiting for the bottlers tag to be bandied around.
Ah lovely, good to know you waited 20 hours for my post. At least that's one long wait that has come to an end for a Mayo supporter this week.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 17, 2013, 02:57:55 PM

Bubbly!

That's Areo not Mayo.
Post by: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 03:03:59 PM

Whipped.
Post by: spuds on September 17, 2013, 03:07:54 PM

From a Kildare poster....ignore and read on.  8)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 17, 2013, 03:15:06 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 17, 2013, 03:07:54 PM

From a Kildare poster....ignore and read on.  8)

Green eyed monster showing.

Mayo by 8+
Post by: From the Bunker on September 17, 2013, 03:22:07 PM
Quote from: Sidney on September 17, 2013, 03:03:59 PM

Whipped.

Shaken not stirred!  :P
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 03:49:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 17, 2013, 12:14:49 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2013, 12:02:07 PM
Mayo by 6 points, Mayo start brilliantly build up a decent lead at half time, allow Dublin back into the game, then Mayo will finish strongly, Dubs to have player sent off and controversy over a penalty. Heard it here first

I don't think I would be able for that.

Can you think about it a bit more and come again?

Is that better?
Post by: muppet on September 17, 2013, 03:55:05 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on September 17, 2013, 02:57:55 PM

Bubbly!

That's Areo not Mayo.

It is bad when you have to explain but....

Mayo.......Bottled.......bubbly?

No??

(http://images.sciencedaily.com/2009/12/091231110436-large.jpg)
Post by: rrhf on September 17, 2013, 03:57:01 PM
It would be great if Enda Kenny was allowed to present Sam to Mayo.  There would be tears...
Post by: ballinaman on September 17, 2013, 03:59:40 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 17, 2013, 03:57:01 PM
It would be great if Enda Kenny was allowed to present Sam to Mayo.  There would be tears...
Sshhh...don't mention him, we actually have a bit of goodwill built up from around the country!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 19, 2013, 11:26:37 AM
Dubs by 4. This is a very good Mayo team who will not capitulate but Dublin have that vital experience of getting over the line in an All Ireland Final before. That experience and composure showed against Kerry in the semi final. Even though they had a poor year at underage level this year, I fear we could be entering an era of Dublin dominance at national level. They have some great talent coming through and such is the age profile of a lot of their players, these lads could win four or five All Ireland titles before they retire.
Post by: Fuzzman on September 19, 2013, 03:30:58 PM
At the start of the year I tipped the Dubs and whilst I've seen them struggle a few times during games, they always seem to get that little extra boost from their subs to push them over the line. They appear to have a greater attacking capacity with lots more scoring forwards (and MF & backs) than in previous Dublin teams.

However, I am finding it very hard to call this game as I tend to believe there are some years a team is just destined to win it. I thought Donegal looked very focused and hungry to go the whole way last year and back in 2003 when Tyrone won it I also thought once we got out of Ulster we seemed unbeatable. Mayo this year appear to have that invincibility tag that they lacked other years. Of course that's feck all use if you don't stand up and be counted. If you don't kick the scores and be up for the fight.
The way they came out in the second half v Tyrone and simply blew us away and within 20 mins it was all over. Whilst the Dublin v Kerry match was indeed enthralling and very entertaining, it probably did lack the huge intensity that we saw last year from Mayo & Donegal. How will Dublin cope with that? They've not really had a hard battling game yet this year where it comes down to true grit & battling qualities as opposed to lovely passing flowing football.

I think Horan is a very shrewd man and whilst he'd love to win with style I'd say he knows that by making it a battle of wits, a war of attrition then the Dubs young team won't like that sort of game and could suffocate the life out of them. It could be like how Tyrone approached Kerry in 2003 semifinal. If the Dubs are held to a less that 5 or 6 scores in the first half, the pressure will be huge on them. Will Mannion & Brogan be able to keep their heads. Will Connolly's discipline stand up to any off the ball goading?

Of course I don't know, as do any of us but I just think it could be Mayo's year as they've had too many bad days and its time to win ugly or at least win at all costs.

Just for the record, I too would hate to see this time of game transpire so don't go labelling me a typical Ulster fan wishing for Mayo to resort to negative tactics to bring Sam home.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 19, 2013, 03:34:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 19, 2013, 03:30:58 PM
At the start of the year I tipped the Dubs and whilst I've seen them struggle a few times during games, they always seem to get that little extra boost from their subs to push them over the line. They appear to have a greater attacking capacity with lots more scoring forwards (and MF & backs) than in previous Dublin teams.

However, I am finding it very hard to call this game as I tend to believe there are some years a team is just destined to win it. I thought Donegal looked very focused and hungry to go the whole way last year and back in 2003 when Tyrone won it I also thought once we got out of Ulster we seemed unbeatable. Mayo this year appear to have that invincibility tag that they lacked other years. Of course that's feck all use if you don't stand up and be counted. If you don't kick the scores and be up for the fight.
The way they came out in the second half v Tyrone and simply blew us away and within 20 mins it was all over. Whilst the Dublin v Kerry match was indeed enthralling and very entertaining, it probably did lack the huge intensity that we saw last year from Mayo & Donegal. How will Dublin cope with that? They've not really had a hard battling game yet this year where it comes down to true grit & battling qualities as opposed to lovely passing flowing football.

I think Horan is a very shrewd man and whilst he'd love to win with style I'd say he knows that by making it a battle of wits, a war of attrition then the Dubs young team won't like that sort of game and could suffocate the life out of them. It could be like how Tyrone approached Kerry in 2003 semifinal. If the Dubs are held to a less that 5 or 6 scores in the first half, the pressure will be huge on them. Will Mannion & Brogan be able to keep their heads. Will Connolly's discipline stand up to any off the ball goading?

Of course I don't know, as do any of us but I just think it could be Mayo's year as they've had too many bad days and its time to win ugly or at least win at all costs.

Just for the record, I too would hate to see this time of game transpire so don't go labelling me a typical Ulster fan wishing for Mayo to resort to negative tactics to bring Sam home.

Top Post Fuzzman...
Post by: Tubberman on September 19, 2013, 03:37:17 PM
We'd happily settle for the most dour All-Ireland win of all time Fuzzman :)
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 19, 2013, 04:09:34 PM
Would like to see the neighbours finally bring Sam across the Shannon but I fear they will come up a couple of points shy on Sunday.  Too many niggling doubts about the form and fitness of Mayo's better fowards and the Dubs just seem to have better options on the bench to push on during the last quarter...............
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 19, 2013, 04:26:48 PM
Huge anti-climax as this will be won with 15 minutes left as we're 5-6 points up and squeeze the life out of the game

I'll cry, watch the cup being lifted, cry again, listen to the speech, bawl my eyes out for most of that, meet the family outside Gills after, more tears and then have a huge feed of pints and hug everyone
Post by: Mayo Mick on September 19, 2013, 04:36:56 PM
This one is in the bag. Expect we will dominate early stages stick in a few goals and go 7/8 pts up. Will comfortably absorb anything Dubs manage to throw at us after that and win pulling up by 6+.  We have way too much horsepower for this Dubs team.
Post by: seafoid on September 19, 2013, 04:37:42 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on September 19, 2013, 04:09:34 PM
Would like to see the neighbours finally bring Sam across the Shannon but I fear they will come up a couple of points shy on Sunday.  Too many niggling doubts about the form and fitness of Mayo's better fowards and the Dubs just seem to have better options on the bench to push on during the last quarter...............
As long as they don't concede any soft goals in the first quarter I think they'll do it.
It might end up like the 2001 final.
Post by: rrhf on September 19, 2013, 04:45:17 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 19, 2013, 04:26:48 PM
I'll cry, watch the cup being lifted, cry again, listen to the speech, bawl my eyes out for most of that, meet the family outside Gills after, more tears and then have a huge feed of pints and hug

Just like 06
Post by: EC Unique on September 19, 2013, 04:50:45 PM
Dubs by 4 or 5.
Post by: blanketattack on September 19, 2013, 05:15:15 PM
Another Mayo funeral. Mayo GAA supporters are getting more wear out of their black dresses than Rose Kennedy did.
Sunday will be up there with JFK and Bobby's funeral.
Post by: Count 10 on September 19, 2013, 06:07:41 PM
Mayo by 2 ;D
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 19, 2013, 06:09:31 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 19, 2013, 05:15:15 PM
Another Mayo funeral. Mayo GAA supporters are getting more wear out of their black dresses than Rose Kennedy did.
Its only a game of football hopefully nobody dies.
Post by: God14 on September 19, 2013, 07:25:16 PM
Heart says Mayo. Head says "catch yourself on, Dublin will hammer them"

Tight first half. Dubs to lead 0-8 til 0-7.

Dubs to cut loose second half.
Final score Dublin 2-12 Mayo 1-10

Post by: FL/MAYO on September 19, 2013, 07:53:36 PM
If Mayo play to their full potential they will win by 4 with Lee Keegan scoring the insurance point with 4 minutes left. The first 15 minutes will be tight then Mayo will settle and start running at the Dubs. Andy Moran will have his best game of the year setting up a goal for Kevin McLoughlin in the second half. Dublin will have a player sent off in the last few minutes.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 19, 2013, 10:17:15 PM
Fuzzman, I'd love if Mayo could win. By any means possible!
Post by: blanketattack on September 19, 2013, 10:24:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 19, 2013, 06:09:31 PM

Statistically it would be highly unlikely that nobody dies. 7 people who go to the final will be dead by this time next week. I reckon a low estimate of 600,000 people would probably consider themselves Mayo or Dublin supporters. 10 of those will die on Sunday alone.
These statistics are based on normal circumstances. The excitement of the final could cause a spike. Plus there might be a fair few Mayo fans that have been clinging to life in recent times with the hope of seeing Mayo win an/another All-Ireland and a win would send them off fulfilled.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 19, 2013, 10:29:13 PM
Well if Mayo can do it, I'll die a happy man afterwards!! :P
Post by: moysider on September 19, 2013, 11:09:36 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on September 19, 2013, 10:24:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 19, 2013, 06:09:31 PM

Statistically it would be highly unlikely that nobody dies. 7 people who go to the final will be dead by this time next week. I reckon a low estimate of 600,000 people would probably consider themselves Mayo or Dublin supporters. 10 of those will die on Sunday alone.
These statistics are based on normal circumstances. The excitement of the final could cause a spike. Plus there might be a fair few Mayo fans that have been clinging to life in recent times with the hope of seeing Mayo win an/another All-Ireland and a win would send them off fulfilled.

Charming! Reminds me - as if I need reminding - that my old man died at 3.30 on a Sunday that Mayo played in a senior AI final. He at least had seen Mayo win a couple.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 19, 2013, 11:44:12 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 17, 2013, 03:59:40 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 17, 2013, 03:57:01 PM
Sshhh...don't mention him, we actually have a bit of goodwill built up from around the country!

In 2004 I bet a Dublin mate who thought Bertie was the greatest thing since sliced bread that within the next decade Enda Kenny would be Taoiseach and Mayo would win Sam. I wish we had put money on it. I will happily remind him on Facebook, e-mail, text and over the phone on monday ;)
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 20, 2013, 12:02:18 AM
Dublin forwards to finally deliver the  performance they've been threatening all year and have the game won by half time.
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:20:30 AM
Dublin by 4-6 points.

Mayo to shit in the nest yet again. They just don't have enough top quality forwards to win it. Dublin are beatable, just not by Mayo in an AI final.

Talk of the curse will continue...
Post by: ballinaman on September 20, 2013, 10:17:18 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:20:30 AM
Dublin by 4-6 points.

Mayo to shit in the nest yet again. They just don't have enough top quality forwards to win it. Dublin are beatable, just not by Mayo in an AI final.

Sound Benny. I think one of the orders of business whenever the day does come, it may not be Sunday but you can guarantee that it will, will be to get a replica Sam made and travel the length and breath of this beautiful land and ram dear Sam up where the sun fails to shine of folk like yourself.

So if you see a '91 Toyota hiace van pull up outside your gaf with lads who look like they've fallen off the side of a mountain will a big silver yoke with two big lugs on it in their hands...you'll know what the gig is. ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 20, 2013, 10:42:05 AM
Dublin by 4-6 points.

You're not getting tired of been wrong it seems, every time you hope we get beaten, everytime we smash those in our path. The only shit here is coming out your mouth. It will be smeared all over your pathetic mug by sunday evening.

Bennycake to shit the nest as Mayo lifts two All-Irelands on sunday.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 10:50:08 AM
 Lads I think Benny and the others predicting Dublin to win are actually giving us a compliment on this current Mayo team. It use to be that"shitting the nest" or "the game will be over at halftime" meant we would lose by between 10 and 15 points so the lads must think this is a tougher Mayo outfit if we are only going to lose by 4 to 6 points  ;D.
Gradual improvement and patience is the name of the game we should be with in 1 or 2 points when we get back to a final in a bout 7 years time  ;).
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 01:15:39 PM
OK, so 'shit the nest' is probably the wrong term to use here. Mayo were terrible v Tyrone first half, and that's the sort of thing Mayo tend to do when they get to the big games. Yes, they beat them in the second half half well, but only after a dodgy decision. I'm reading for weeks that this is a different Mayo team, stronger physically and mentally. I don't agree.

I honestly hope Mayo do win on Sunday. God knows you've had your disappointments over the years. Great players came and went, failing to get that elusive medal. But I honestly can't see Dublin losing it, as much as that pains me to say.

Dublin have goals in them, they're capable of scoring 3 or 4 in each game. They have 4 or 5 top forwards, who are able to chip in with important scores, as well as those subs coming in too. Mayo I feel, just don't have that quality. If O'Connor isn't fit, they will really struggle.

I'm sure Mayo will win one in the next few years. It just won't be this year.
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 01:21:33 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 20, 2013, 10:42:05 AM
Dublin by 4-6 points.

You're not getting tired of been wrong it seems, every time you hope we get beaten, everytime we smash those in our path. The only shit here is coming out your mouth. It will be smeared all over your pathetic mug by sunday evening.

I'm always wrong? About what? You remember every prediction of mine on here, do you?

It's nothing personal against Mayo. I, like probably the other 31 counties, will be supporting Mayo on Sunday. But I just don't see them winning it. So there's no need to insult me over a prediction.
Post by: God14 on September 20, 2013, 01:33:45 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 20, 2013, 10:42:05 AM
Dublin by 4-6 points.

Maygodhelpus - sounds like you've cracked! too much pressure! relax man & enjoy the games.
I hope Mayo win for you, that's like a mouthful id have come out with in 2003 (and been ashamed of later!)

Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 02:26:52 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 01:15:39 PM
OK, so 'shit the nest' is probably the wrong term to use here. Mayo were terrible v Tyrone first half, and that's the sort of thing Mayo tend to do when they get to the big games. Yes, they beat them in the second half half well, but only after a dodgy decision. I'm reading for weeks that this is a different Mayo team, stronger physically and mentally. I don't agree.

I honestly hope Mayo do win on Sunday. God knows you've had your disappointments over the years. Great players came and went, failing to get that elusive medal. But I honestly can't see Dublin losing it, as much as that pains me to say.

Dublin have goals in them, they're capable of scoring 3 or 4 in each game. They have 4 or 5 top forwards, who are able to chip in with important scores, as well as those subs coming in too. Mayo I feel, just don't have that quality. If O'Connor isn't fit, they will really struggle.

So do you think the Dubs will be like Kerry and put the hammer down when they get on top in the first quarter leading to a hammering of 9+ points or will the Dubs coast to a 5 or 6 point win after a gallant effort from Mayo after the first quarter like against Donegal last year? If you really think we are the same Mayo as always ( throwing in the huge burden of 6 final lost in a row) then Dublin -8 on the handicap @ 9/1 is surely a tasty bet. If you have an inkling that it might be like last year the the Dubs -5 @ 4/1 is a lock!!

I am confused as to how we can win one (apart from turning up till teams get sick of beating us ;D) in the next few years if nothing really changes with Mayo from year to year in the view of most neutrals?
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 02:45:53 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 02:26:52 PM

So do you think the Dubs will be like Kerry and put the hammer down when they get on top in the first quarter leading to a hammering of 9+ points or will the Dubs coast to a 5 or 6 point win after a gallant effort from Mayo after the first quarter like against Donegal last year? If you really think we are the same Mayo as always ( throwing in the huge burden of 6 final lost in a row) then Dublin -8 on the handicap @ 9/1 is surely a tasty bet. If you have an inkling that it might be like last year the the Dubs -5 @ 4/1 is a lock!!

I am confused as to how we can win one (apart from turning up till teams get sick of beating us ;D) in the next few years if nothing really changes with Mayo from year to year in the view of most neutrals?
I think this Mayo team is different. Steel, ruthlessness  and attention to detail. Horan is quite impressive.  Those rampaging half backs. They take their chances, they don't panic. They seem to be built like a team from a county used to closing out the deal.

Grinding, grinding. They come in waves.  Like they know their rhythm.  If they let in a goal they can come down the field and reply in kind. And they tack over the points with a decent regularity.  They'll have a big crowd behind them too. 

This is year 3 of the Sam programme.  First year had a semi, last year beaten finalists-  the trend is good...

And who did Dublin beat anyway ? Kildare, Meath, Cork, Kerry. Easier side of the draw  ;)
I expect Mayo to be very aggressive from the start.

Hopefully JoeMamas will get the 5 o'clock feeling on the 8th attempt.
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:02:19 PM

It will be tight until HT. But I can see Dublin getting 2 or 3 second half goals. When Mayo need scores, they won't get them, and heads will drop. Dublin to keep the scoreboard ticking over and win by 5 or 6 points. Maybe more. I'm not a betting man so the - /+@ etc mean nothing to me.

Mayo are a very good side. But they need that 2 or 3 game-winning forwards to win Sam. At the minute, they just don't have that. It might take even a couple of years for the current batch to improve.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 03:08:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 02:45:53 PM

I think this Mayo team is different. Steel, ruthlessness  and attention to detail. Horan is quite impressive.  Those rampaging half backs. They take their chances, they don't panic. They seem to be built like a team from a county used to closing out the deal.

Grinding, grinding. They come in waves.  Like they know their rhythm.  If they let in a goal they can come down the field and reply in kind. And they tack over the points with a decent regularity.  They'll have a big crowd behind them too. 

This is year 3 of the Sam programme.  First year had a semi, last year beaten finalists-  the trend is good...

And who did Dublin beat anyway ? Kildare, Meath, Cork, Kerry. Easier side of the draw  ;)

Hopefully JoeMamas will get the 5 o'clock feeling on the 8th attempt.

In fairness seafoid you have been consistent from the start of where you view this Mayo team but what intrigues me is not that a large section of neutrals doubt we can overcome our demons on All Ireland final day but the view that we might win one in the next few years! The main thrust of their argument is that while talented we never posses sufficient quality to win and with our mental frailties on the big day this lends to eventual failure and the contest being settled by halftime. If the arguments ring true on Sunday surely this in theory points to Mayo having an inability to rectify this shortcomings that would have gone unaddressed fro the last 62 years?

In my opinion a trend or rot can seemingly change in a instant( e.g this Sunday) but is usually a gradual upward curve that reveals itself through the benefit of hindsight and why can't this Sunday's challenge be the catalyst for this change. I am in no way neutral though when it comes to Mayo ;).

By the way this is also my eighth final including replays :o.
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:10:49 PM

Yes, but Mayo only beat Galway, Roscommon, London, a Donegal team on the slide for a year and a Tyrone team that was a shadow of it's former self. Tough, close games usually stand to a team well. Mayo haven't had any, bar 35 tough minutes v Tyrone.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 03:13:32 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:02:19 PM

It will be tight until HT. But I can see Dublin getting 2 or 3 second half goals. When Mayo need scores, they won't get them, and heads will drop. Dublin to keep the scoreboard ticking over and win by 5 or 6 points. Maybe more. I'm not a betting man so the - /+@ etc mean nothing to me.

Mayo are a very good side. But they need that 2 or 3 game-winning forwards to win Sam. At the minute, they just don't have that. It might take even a couple of years for the current batch to improve.

Very fair assessment from a neutral Benny but I am still intrigued ( and glad as a Mayoman ) that the view is held that the 2 or 3 forwards ( which is generally what most fair observers point to as our main weakness) will come through/develop when it hasn't happened in the last 20 years anyway. It could be down to the fact that recently we keep reaching this stage on a regular basis?
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 03:14:28 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:10:49 PM

Yes, but Mayo only beat Galway, Roscommon, London, a Donegal team on the slide for a year and a Tyrone team that was a shadow of it's former self. Tough, close games usually stand to a team well. Mayo haven't had any, bar 35 tough minutes v Tyrone.
Tyrone, Dublin and Mayo would be the top 3 and Dublin didn't get any practice against a top team yet .
Tight matches whatever but Dublin should have played Kerry off the park.

I think it could be like 2001. Everyone expecting a titanic match and the team that beat an overrated Kerry in a ding dong semifinal is put to the sword by the Connacht champions. 
Post by: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:24:21 PM
I think most people would agree the two best teams are in the final.
Who wins it depends on lots of factors but from my experience the winning of an AI final often comes down to that self belief and hunger.
The 2003 final is a prime example of that where there wasn't much between Armagh & Tyrone. Armagh was hell bent on winning two in a row and certainly not losing to their biggest rivals.
However, Tyrone were even more hungry for success and haven't watched another of their neighbours claim their first title the year before we edged them out.

Dublin won the AI 2 years ago and even the most biased supporter would have to say they probably stole it that day from Kerry. Still they hung in there and it just shows it can come down to small things.

Last year Mayo played well for a lot of that game but they were always chasing the game which is how Donegal like to play you.

I just see Mayo's hunger & steeliness this year at a whole new level and whilst that on its own is no where near enough to win the game, I think it could be that little extra to carry them over the line.

I really don't know if Dublin have that mental strength to keep calm and keep grinding should things not go as planned. Whilst they have a lot of talented footballers, do they have many leaders that can take the game by the scruff of the neck when the chips are down. Maybe they do I don't know but I fear not.

On the other hand you would probably say they dealt with Kerry's forwards and still won out so you would imagine Mayo's attack won't be so prolific.

To be honest I can't really call it and so I am going to go for another AI final draw. Has it ever happened before in the one year?

On a side note, how do poor Mayo ex-pats come back year after year for AI finals, fearing the worst but not wanting to miss the biggest day every. It must be heartbreak to decide, should I risk not going this year.

All the best to both teams and I won't be bothered either way who wins though I'll feel bad for Mayo if they lose again.
Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 03:41:04 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:24:21 PM
I think most people would agree the two best teams are in the final.
Who wins it depends on lots of factors but from my experience the winning of an AI final often comes down to that self belief and hunger.
The 2003 final is a prime example of that where there wasn't much between Armagh & Tyrone. Armagh was hell bent on winning two in a row and certainly not losing to their biggest rivals.
However, Tyrone were even more hungry for success and haven't watched another of their neighbours claim their first title the year before we edged them out.

Dublin won the AI 2 years ago and even the most biased supporter would have to say they probably stole it that day from Kerry. Still they hung in there and it just shows it can come down to small things.

Last year Mayo played well for a lot of that game but they were always chasing the game which is how Donegal like to play you.

I just see Mayo's hunger & steeliness this year at a whole new level and whilst that on its own is no where near enough to win the game, I think it could be that little extra to carry them over the line.

I really don't know if Dublin have that mental strength to keep calm and keep grinding should things not go as planned. Whilst they have a lot of talented footballers, do they have many leaders that can take the game by the scruff of the neck when the chips are down. Maybe they do I don't know but I fear not.

On the other hand you would probably say they dealt with Kerry's forwards and still won out so you would imagine Mayo's attack won't be so prolific.

To be honest I can't really call it and so I am going to go for another AI final draw. Has it ever happened before in the one year?

On a side note, how do poor Mayo ex-pats come back year after year for AI finals, fearing the worst but not wanting to miss the biggest day every. It must be heartbreak to decide, should I risk not going this year.

All the best to both teams and I won't be bothered either way who wins though I'll feel bad for Mayo if they lose again.

Simply Mayo is your county , it's in your blood and your soul no matter where you live and football brings us together. This becomes even more prominent in your mind if you have been living far afield. So it isn't a choice but a given for the majority to return in hope.
Post by: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:54:03 PM
Must be expensive and heart destroying over the years
At least up until this Sunday
Post by: Crete Boom on September 20, 2013, 04:18:49 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:54:03 PM

In the short term after the final it is heartbreaking but in hindsight there is great craic and experiences had ( mainly pints) on the seemingly endless journey to the promised land. When it comes to money you can't put a price on what Mayo football means to most of us and being from Mayo history teaches us money/jobs/prosperity can often be too fickle to have a major impact on the direction of your life! The ex pats have this magnified for them more than the rest of us in Ireland and I am sure this rings true for most counties who suffer the frequent bouts of emigration.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 04:36:35 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:54:03 PM
Most counties never win much. Only 1 team wins the fuball every year.
I'm sure Cavan or Kildare fans would love to be where Mayo are now. 
And whenever Mayo do get over the finishing line there will such an outpouring of
heartfelt emotion.
Title: Re: The GAABoard calls it 2013 Winner Mayo by 1 - 3 points
Post by: blanketattack on September 20, 2013, 04:40:04 PM
As a Kerryman, I hope Mayo win the double on Sunday. Good luck Mayo lads. As work is petering out on the Friday evening beforehand, it's must be about that time that the butterflies start to arrive.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 20, 2013, 04:54:56 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 20, 2013, 03:24:21 PM

Better team on the day over 70 minutes.  Fully deserved.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 20, 2013, 05:02:24 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 03:10:49 PM

Absolute bull, you talk down Donegal and Tyrone because it was Mayo who beat them. The teams Dublin beat in Leinster if to be grouped with Mayo's Connacht opposition and drawn to play off I would be Confident the men from the West will be more than a match or the Easties. Cork, is this the same team Galway were within one poibt of beating. Kerry v Donegal, I am confident Donegal would murder them. Kerry and Cork are in decline.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2013, 05:15:51 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 03:14:28 PM

Tyrone would be the top 3

I think it could be like 2001.

A top three side would win their provincial title and be able to beat division three sides by more than two points.

In 2001 the defending champions Kerry were well beaten by Meath then they were well beaten in the final. For it to be like 2001 Mayo will have to well beaten in the final i can't see that happening this Mayo side are better than Meath were back then.
Post by: BennyCake on September 20, 2013, 07:02:01 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 20, 2013, 05:02:24 PM
Absolute bull, you talk down Donegal and Tyrone because it was Mayo who beat them. The teams Dublin beat in Leinster if to be grouped with Mayo's Connacht opposition and drawn to play off I would be Confident the men from the West will be more than a match or the Easties. Cork, is this the same team Galway were within one poibt of beating. Kerry v Donegal, I am confident Donegal would murder them. Kerry and Cork are in decline.

Everyone knows Donegal were nowhere near last years heights. That was evident from January, plus they had numerous injuries to key players. Some Tyrone folk have admitted that getting to a semi was a bonus this year, so that tells you about the expectations their own fans had for this year.

That last bit in bold - I've no idea what that all means.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 08:21:53 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2013, 05:15:51 PM

A top three side would win their provincial title and be able to beat division three sides by more than two points.

In 2001 the defending champions Kerry were well beaten by Meath then they were well beaten in the final. For it to be like 2001 Mayo will have to well beaten in the final i can't see that happening this Mayo side are better than Meath were back then.
Monaghan are not top 3. Tyrone are better than Kerry.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2013, 08:30:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 20, 2013, 08:21:53 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2013, 05:15:51 PM

Monaghan are not top 3. Tyrone are better than Kerry.

Clearly not and how do you make out that Tyrone are better than Kerry?
Post by: BartSimpson on September 21, 2013, 01:15:51 AM
Sum nut cases in here. Takin it way to personal.

All tings been normal, Dubs will win by 5/6 points. That al dependds on no sending off or key player inguries etc. eider event and it can mess up the results!

BUT dubs are winners without a catistrofie
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 21, 2013, 02:18:36 AM
Quote from: BartSimpson on September 21, 2013, 01:15:51 AM

All tings been normal, Dubs will win by 5/6 points. That al dependds on no sending off or key player inguries etc. eider event and it can mess up the results!

"catistrofie"? WTF!

Without a catastrophe you'll have a trophy, cat and all a cat as a trophy it might be for some! ;)
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 21, 2013, 11:28:56 AM
I like castastrofie it sounds like a nice dessert....
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2013, 01:13:11 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on September 21, 2013, 11:28:56 AM
I like castastrofie it sounds like a nice dessert....

Or a Latin American leader.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 21, 2013, 05:57:53 PM

You are clueless, Dublon have no defence. Mayo have outscored Dublin even with less games. Mayo had the better midfield and manager.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 21, 2013, 09:41:36 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 21, 2013, 05:57:53 PM

You are clueless, Dublon have no defence. Mayo have outscored Dublin even with less games. Mayo had the better midfield and manager.

Where are you getting this idea that Mayo have played less games?  They've each played 5.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 21, 2013, 09:46:56 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 21, 2013, 09:41:36 PM

Where are you getting this idea that Mayo have played less games?  They've each played 5.
He clearly didn't read my post on the other thread. We'll see tomorrow who has the better midfield and manager.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 21, 2013, 09:51:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 21, 2013, 09:46:56 PM

He clearly didn't read my post on the other thread. We'll see tomorrow who has the better midfield and manager.

He's been a bit wound up all week.  He clearly needs to take a more chill pill approach to life.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 21, 2013, 10:50:19 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 21, 2013, 09:51:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 21, 2013, 09:46:56 PM

He's been a bit wound up all week.  He clearly needs to take a more chill pill approach to life.

Post by: Hardy on September 22, 2013, 12:39:30 PM
I backed Mayo at 7/2 before the Donegal match. I was tempted to lay it and cash in this week, because it's too close to call, but sure let it ride. I'll be joining the Mayo hordes for the rest of the day, chanting to myself "this time it's different". That's never worked before, in any field of endeavour, so I don't know why I'm doing it. Could it be because I'm getting sentimental and actually want Mayo to win?

Boys stick together in all kinds of weather.
Don't show the white feather wherever you go.

I envy all the Dubs and Mayoites. Enjoy the day.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2013, 05:10:26 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 16, 2013, 05:58:11 PM
Dublin to win their second All Ireland in three years and Mayo to lose their seventh All Ireland final in twenty four years.

Dublin by one point.
8)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 22, 2013, 06:30:46 PM
Excellent call Captain
Post by: God14 on September 22, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Poor aul mayogodhelpus!!! Can you imagine the state of him just now. Sport can be cruel sometimes
Post by: Rossfan on September 22, 2013, 07:27:29 PM
Quote from: God14 on September 22, 2013, 07:17:58 PM
Poor aul mayogodhelpus!!! Can you imagine the state of him just now. Sport can be cruel sometimes
It's the Ballaghrhus I feel gutted for  ;D ;D
Might take a spin over to Durkin's and see what the craic is  :P
Post by: ross4life on September 22, 2013, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 22, 2013, 07:27:29 PM

Roscommon man as captain didn't work what next for them?
Post by: Rossfan on September 22, 2013, 08:10:48 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 22, 2013, 07:50:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 22, 2013, 07:27:29 PM

Roscommon man as captain didn't work what next for them?
Amalgamation with Sligo perhaps.