GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Orior on April 05, 2007, 10:09:26 AM

Title: Buffoon calls for the permanent opening of Croke Park
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2007, 10:09:26 AM
Letter in the Belfast Telegraph rag last night:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/letters/article2419891.ece (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/letters/article2419891.ece)

Is it time for a Croke Park cricket match?
Wednesday, April 04, 2007

On St Patrick's weekend we had the usual exodus of Irish politicians heading out of the country with overpaid expenses in their pockets on so-called promotional trips around the globe.

It turned out that the butcher, the baker and the candlestick maker were the real ambassadors for Ireland over the holiday weekend.

Ireland's amateur cricketers, along with their small army of supporters, lit up the country on the world sporting stage.

It really satisfies the soul to witness what is becoming a modern multi-cultural country far removed from De Valera's dour Ireland of 50 years ago, where Catholic school curriculums when it came to sporting activities offered us the stark choice of 'God only plays Gaelic games' and those of us who did manage to get our hands on cricket balls were looked upon by many priests and teachers as committing a mortal sin.

If the present trend of substantial immigration into Ireland continues over the next 30 years, I wouldn't bet against the government of the day's compulsory purchasing Croke Park due to a lack of interest in Gaelic games and the massive need to satisfy the sporting appetite of the vast majority.

With cricket seemingly making a welcome comeback in the Republic, would it not be a great idea to celebrate the north of Ireland's power-sharing agreement to stage a friendly cricket match at Croke Park stadium?

Orange versus the Green - it would be well worth the entrance fee just to watch Paisley trying to bowl Adams out leg before wicket, while Blair and Ahern watch from their silly mid-on positions, maybe giving us a little flavour of what we can expect when the Northern Ireland politicians take up their positions in May.

Brendan Buffini

Maidstone, Kent

Buffini, you've been away too long.
Title: Re: Buffoon calls for the permanent opening of Croke Park
Post by: cavan4ever on April 05, 2007, 10:12:44 AM
He's just taking the piss!
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 05, 2007, 10:17:31 AM
my only question would be how to stop the rows over who gets the hill 16 end for the warm up before the game

if teams pull a 'Mayo' stunt, there could be a vicious row with stumps, pads and willow bats flying... :D
Post by: rosnarun on April 05, 2007, 10:28:31 AM
Maybe cluxton wouldn't be so quick to offer 10 years olds a fight if  they had cricket bats
Post by: dubnut on April 05, 2007, 10:29:44 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2007, 10:28:31 AM
Maybe cluxton wouldn't be so quick to offer 10 years olds a fight if  they had cricket bats

Post by: cavanmaniac on April 05, 2007, 11:17:30 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 05, 2007, 10:09:26 AM
If the present trend of substantial immigration into Ireland continues over the next 30 years, I wouldn't bet against the government of the day's compulsory purchasing Croke Park due to a lack of interest in Gaelic games and the massive need to satisfy the sporting appetite of the vast majority.

Brendan Buffini  ;D ;D
Post by: thejuice on April 05, 2007, 02:36:48 PM
Hey Brendan, Go f**k Yourself!!  >:(

sorry just had to let that out

Post by: rosnarun on April 05, 2007, 02:58:56 PM
For those with an Irony bypass
I really think brendan Bufini was trying to be funny;

wasn't he?
Post by: thejuice on April 05, 2007, 03:02:17 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 05, 2007, 02:58:56 PM
For those with an Irony bypass

wasn't he?

oh Ok sorry, the bit about lack of interest got under my skin. I dont know who Brendan Buffini is nor have i heard of him before.
Post by: dec on April 05, 2007, 03:27:04 PM
I think Mr Buffini is a WUM.

Do a search on google for his name and you find some interesting letters he has sent to newspapers.

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2007/02/17/story25711.asp

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=53&si=1241395&issue_id=11345&printer=1 (This letter has drawn some discussion on a couple of boards http://www.anfearrua.com/db/default.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=307593 and http://peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-96467.html )

http://scripts.ireland.com/polls/head2head/index.cfm?fuseaction=yesnopoll&pn=6&lastID=29592&subsiteid=352&pollid=7419

Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2007, 03:29:51 PM
Well he's in the Maidstone phone book, so he exists to that extent.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 05, 2007, 06:50:43 PM
QuoteFor those with an Irony bypass

wasn't he?
Well he made me laugh...
Post by: deiseach on April 05, 2007, 07:47:40 PM
When I first read this, I thought it read "Buffon calls for the permanent opening of Croke Park" and wondered why Italy's World Cup winning goalie was sticking his oar in.
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2007, 07:55:11 PM
do you think he knows Holly (aged 7)
Post by: Orior on April 05, 2007, 09:52:48 PM
Quote from: dec on April 05, 2007, 03:27:04 PM
I think Mr Buffini is a WUM.

Do a search on google for his name and you find some interesting letters he has sent to newspapers.

http://archives.tcm.ie/irishexaminer/2007/02/17/story25711.asp

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=53&si=1241395&issue_id=11345&printer=1 (This letter has drawn some discussion on a couple of boards http://www.anfearrua.com/db/default.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=307593 and http://peoplesrepublicofcork.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-96467.html )

http://scripts.ireland.com/polls/head2head/index.cfm?fuseaction=yesnopoll&pn=6&lastID=29592&subsiteid=352&pollid=7419

Crikey, judging  by his other letters he really hates Ireland. Multi-cultural engerland should suit him.
Post by: stew on April 05, 2007, 10:33:38 PM
Here, whats the fcukers phone number?????
Post by: armaghniac on April 05, 2007, 11:33:18 PM
QuoteHere, whats the fcukers phone number?

I won't set a precedent by publishing it, but click here

http://www.thephonebook.bt.com/publisha.content/en/find/residential/residential_numbers.publisha (http://www.thephonebook.bt.com/publisha.content/en/find/residential/residential_numbers.publisha)
Post by: dublinfella on April 06, 2007, 12:24:12 AM
jesus people on this site are just itching to find any auld shite to be offended by. rovers fans using bold words to a clear crackpot writing letters to a paper. permarage.

putting a link to the guys personal details on this site is downright irresponsible
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 12:28:19 AM
Quoteputting a link to the guys personal details on this site is downright irresponsible

it would, Roversfella, but no such link has been posted. The web address of the phone book is hardly top secret, even a soccer supporter could find it.
Post by: dublinfella on April 06, 2007, 12:39:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 12:28:19 AM
Quoteputting a link to the guys personal details on this site is downright irresponsible

it would, Roversfella, but no such link has been posted. The web address of the phone book is hardly top secret, even a soccer supporter could find it.

thats not the point and you know it. if stew does ring this loon and give him or his family the treatment, will you take any responsibility for engouraging and assisting him?

grow the f**k up.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 06, 2007, 01:06:52 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on April 06, 2007, 12:39:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 12:28:19 AM

thats not the point and you know it. if stew does ring this loon and give him or his family the treatment, will you take any responsibility for engouraging and assisting him?

grow the f**k up.
Ah here, jaysus, df, have you still not got it??  When i saw this first i thought (apologies in advance for drunken post), i reckoned the letter was a wind up - i'm shokcked you are stil here on the auld gah board giving it loads, considering the rovers are a bit fcuked now (as they'd spell it) -c'mon lad, we all know you're a rovers man - which is fine, but jaysus, to still ne trying that you're not.........
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 01:31:27 AM
Quotewill you take any responsibility for engouraging and assisting him?

I also posted directions to Crossmaglen on the Armagh v Westmeath thread, am I responsible if one of these Westmeath people comes to the game and shouts abuse at the referee?

Quotegrow the f**k up.

How erudite and witty you are, Tallaght's answer to Oscar Wilde. When it comes to growing up, I'd say you have further to go than I do.
Post by: Orior on April 06, 2007, 09:44:47 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on April 06, 2007, 12:24:12 AM
jesus people on this site are just itching to find any auld shite to be offended by. rovers fans using bold words to a clear crackpot writing letters to a paper. permarage.

Nobody here is getting offended. We're just laughing at the ridiculous suggestion by the imbecile know as Brendan B.

We prefer to leave the mopery to your OWC friends