Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Wildweasel74 on August 30, 2013, 09:29:35 PM

Title: Big fat gypsy wedding luck of the Irish
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 30, 2013, 09:29:35 PM
There may be a topic on this so sorry if starting one again

Just watching this on TV, nothing offensive or anything, but why do travellers from different parts of Ireland all sound the same?
They seem to have no local accent, even dealing with travellers in Belfast , they all seem to have a very strong southern accent even though they may have been born in belfast,
Title: Re: Big fat gypsy wedding luck of the Irish
Post by: laoislad on August 30, 2013, 09:41:42 PM
What's a very strong Southern accent? There are tons of different accents here.
Do you think we all sound the same?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 30, 2013, 09:46:02 PM
no not at all, Louth, dublin, wexford, cork, all accents are different and you can pick up in general where abouts someone is from, In belfast you would mistake them from down round Limerick even though they have been born up here
Post by: laoislad on August 30, 2013, 09:58:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 30, 2013, 09:57:22 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 30, 2013, 09:41:42 PM
What's a very strong Southern accent? There are tons of different accents here.
Do you think we all sound the same?
There are a right few different accents up here but you would know a northern accent if you heard it.

Ye all sound the same to me.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 30, 2013, 10:07:41 PM
Its not hard to pick out a Ballymena accent up here lol, A derry city accent is very different than a south derry one, Armagh people from Crossmaglen sound different that the Lurgan crowd, Cork is the stand out accent down south, pick a cork person out  off a crowd easy.

With Travellers it is very hard to distinguish where they are from, maybe it is with moving around but alot of travellers are settled now.
Post by: BennyCake on August 31, 2013, 12:01:14 AM
There's 2 shows that make me want to kick the TV in, and this is one of them.
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2013, 12:47:08 AM
The big lad with the tash used to do a fair bit of boxing and maybe still does. He's some bear of a man.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 31, 2013, 06:30:30 PM
Thought i seen the father in the sunday world a few times alright
Post by: Gaffer on August 31, 2013, 06:36:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 31, 2013, 12:47:08 AM
The big lad with the tash used to do a fair bit of boxing and maybe still does. He's some bear of a man.

Youtube is full of him mouthing and slabbering.

A  great example to his up and coming kin.
Post by: Agent Orange on February 11, 2015, 08:48:17 PM
Shotgun Wedding (http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-31424976)
Post by: Nigel White on February 11, 2015, 08:54:57 PM
Bizarre thing is what the Priest said - Asked what he did then, he said: "I went on ahead with the wedding - I could do nothing else, because they were anxious to get this girl married.
Post by: Agent Orange on February 11, 2015, 09:09:44 PM
There'll be some craic at the reception.
Post by: foxcommander on February 11, 2015, 09:18:44 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on February 11, 2015, 08:54:57 PM
Bizarre thing is what the Priest said - Asked what he did then, he said: "I went on ahead with the wedding - I could do nothing else, because they were anxious to get this girl married.

I think he just wanted it over and done with....
Post by: Hardy on February 12, 2015, 02:49:59 PM
Racism is alive and well.
Post by: NAG1 on February 12, 2015, 03:56:25 PM
When did travellers become a separate Race?
Post by: Hardy on February 12, 2015, 04:51:28 PM
OK, counsel has a point of semantics. But is he suggesting that wishing them dead because they're travellers is OK because it's not, strictly speaking, racism?
Post by: Over the Bar on February 12, 2015, 06:20:00 PM
QuoteWhen did travellers become a separate Race? [\quote]

Ever since the suffered abject discrimination for being what they are rather than who they are 
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on February 12, 2015, 09:21:39 PM
Right lads, ease up on the old ethnic insults, not acceptable.