Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bogball88 on August 22, 2013, 05:57:21 PM

Title: Thursday night out in Belfast
Post by: bogball88 on August 22, 2013, 05:57:21 PM
Anyone think of a few suggestions for beers on a Thursday night in Belfast that doesn't include the Bot or Duke of York (not that I don't like either!) All suggestions welcome  :)
Title: Re: Thursday night out in Belfast
Post by: muppet on August 22, 2013, 06:45:17 PM
Quote from: bogball88 on August 22, 2013, 05:57:21 PM
Anyone think of a few suggestions for beers on a Thursday night in Belfast that doesn't include the Bot or Duke of York (not that I don't like either!) All suggestions welcome  :)

And while you are at it, advice for a tuesday night.
Post by: Santino on August 22, 2013, 07:45:31 PM
Filthy mcnastys is fast becoming the best bar in belfast. Laverys variety of bars always lively
Post by: Orior on August 22, 2013, 09:50:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 22, 2013, 06:45:17 PM

9 holes at my golf club?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on August 22, 2013, 09:52:05 PM
Alley Cat, Church Lane; John Hewitt, Spaniard and Muriel's.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on August 22, 2013, 10:32:48 PM
i dont think there are any good nights out in belfast  ;)
Post by: glens abu on August 22, 2013, 10:54:00 PM
Felons  :)
Post by: muppet on August 22, 2013, 11:02:36 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 22, 2013, 09:50:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 22, 2013, 06:45:17 PM

9 holes at my golf club?

Won't be in until after 9 bells.
Post by: muppet on August 27, 2013, 02:06:28 PM
Any consensus for a Tuesday from 930 on. Only criteria: not overrun by kids, music is ok as long as it is not too loud, and it is ok for a 40+ year old to sup a pint on his own without someone calling security.
Post by: LeoMc on August 27, 2013, 03:22:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2013, 02:06:28 PM
Any consensus for a Tuesday from 930 on. Only criteria: not overrun by kids, music is ok as long as it is not too loud, and it is ok for a 40+ year old to sup a pint on his own without someone calling security.
The Errigle, The Pavilion or The Parador all on on the Ormeau road.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 27, 2013, 03:32:58 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 27, 2013, 03:22:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2013, 02:06:28 PM
The Errigle, The Pavilion or The Parador all on on the Ormeau road.

The John Hewitt if you're in the city centre
Post by: bluenosebandit on August 27, 2013, 03:40:09 PM
the Washington
Post by: theskull1 on August 27, 2013, 03:46:48 PM
The John Hewitt
Post by: muppet on August 27, 2013, 04:03:35 PM
Great stuff lads. Cheers.

Might try that John Hewitt place.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 27, 2013, 04:39:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2013, 04:03:35 PM
Great stuff lads. Cheers.

Might try that John Hewitt place.

Not too sure how up to date their website is, but here's their Tuesday night entertainment:

~ BROUGE ~

The Very Best In Live Irish Traditional Music & Song. Live on Stage from 9pm. Admission Free.

Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2013, 10:28:33 PM
http://www.thejohnhewitt.com/ (http://www.thejohnhewitt.com/)

Would fourth the Hewitt. Good selection of tap beers too.

Post by: muppet on August 27, 2013, 10:38:50 PM
Good choice!

One of the locals took me under his wing and have me the tour of the place. He also insisted I had a wee malt. He wants me to go to the Duke of York. How is a Mayoman fixed there?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2013, 10:45:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2013, 10:38:50 PM
Good choice!

One of the locals took me under his wing and have me the tour of the place. He also insisted I had a wee malt. He wants me to go to the Duke of York. How is a Mayoman fixed there?
No sweat at all and same sort of vibe as The Hewitt i.e. non-flashy. Both bars about 2 mins walk apart so you could hit both.
Post by: LeoMc on August 27, 2013, 10:45:22 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 27, 2013, 10:38:50 PM
Good choice!

You will be grand, a great wee spot. Now get off your phone and talk to your guide ye unsociable Hoor ye.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 27, 2013, 10:45:58 PM
Just avoid any tyrone ones ;)

You'll have no bother in there.
Post by: muppet on August 27, 2013, 10:53:16 PM
Guide gone home. He had been on 'wee malts' longer than me.

More seriously, that is some display with the pipes all in the one frame. I got a very romantic explanation, probably due to my accent. Anyone care to explain?