Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 08:02:53 AM

Title: Internment Bonfires....our culture... really?
Post by: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 08:02:53 AM
Someone help me out here. Explain how this is not copying one of the most despised cultural pastimes of loyalism? A classic case of monkey see monkey do. Surely we know the sentiment/message that these events are conveying to wider society and ingraining locally. Are we happy about that? I would have thought nationalism was a more evolved being to get involved in such things. Pandering to the lowest common denominator with blue bags at the ready
Title: Re: Internment Bonfires....our culture... really?
Post by: T Fearon on August 09, 2013, 08:13:56 AM
Nah,its just revenge for July 11th when we burn their stuff because they burned ours.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 09, 2013, 08:20:42 AM
It isn't part of any culture of mine just like it isn't part of a lot of protestants culture. People who do that shit are scum no matter what side they think they're on.
Post by: Minder on August 09, 2013, 08:23:33 AM
Irish News journalist Allison Morris was attacked at the Divis one the other night.
Post by: sheamy on August 09, 2013, 08:28:11 AM
This is cheapening an important historical date and is an awful waste of pallets. It's embarrassing to be honest.
Post by: Gaffer on August 09, 2013, 08:48:38 AM
Where do they get all these pallets from?

Do they nick them?
Post by: T Fearon on August 09, 2013, 09:13:41 AM
Also they nicked a loyalist mural? How do you steal a mural?
Post by: theticklemister on August 09, 2013, 09:19:51 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 09, 2013, 08:20:42 AM
It isn't part of any culture of mine just like it isn't part of a lot of protestants culture. People who do that shit are scum no matter what side they think they're on.

ALL scum. Good job we have someone like yourself to cast judgement over everyone else.
Post by: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 09:25:16 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 09, 2013, 09:19:51 AM

ALL scum. Good job we have someone like yourself to cast judgement over everyone else.

Please continue...
Post by: WeeDonns on August 09, 2013, 09:26:34 AM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/politics/orange-order-to-stage-protest-at-internment-rally-29482313.html
QuoteBY CHRIS KILPATRICK – 09 August 2013
An Orange Order protest against a dissident republican parade through the centre of Belfast does not signal a shift in policy, a senior figure has said.
Six groups plan to protest at tomorrow evening's anti-internment parade.

The Orange Order has notified the Parades Commission of a demonstration at Royal Avenue with two other protests planned by United Protestant Voice and the Protestant Coalition.

The Order's No 2 district plans to stage a 100-strong protest. The district has been embroiled in the parading row in north Belfast after its members were prevented from marching past Ardoyne on the Twelfth and subsequently.

Another group, Friends of No 9 District, has notified the Parades Commission of a demonstration featuring 150 people. A determination on that is due to be made today.

It is believed to be the first time the Orange Order has protested against a republican parade.

The Orange Order chaplain Mervyn Gibson said the decision to protest was taken by the district involved and denied it was a shift in policy.

"It was a local decision," he said.

"I think a crisis has been created by the Parades Commission and everything now has become contentious again. There is anger about the dissident parade."

Mr Gibson called on those taking part in protests to ensure they are peaceful.

The parading watchdog has already issued its determinations on the remaining two protests to be held by loyalist residents each featuring up to 150 people.

The protests could see up to 1,000 unionist/loyalist demonstrators picket the parade.

Last week the anti-internment rally was given the go-ahead with no restrictions on the route of the 5,000-strong march.

The parade's organising body, the Anti-Internment League, is an umbrella group formed specifically for next week's rally.

A number of dissident republican groups united to organise the event under the title including the 32 County Sovereignty Movement and Republican Network for Unity (RNU), both of which are alleged to have links to republican terror groups, which they deny.

The Irish Republican Socialist Party, eirigi and the 1916 Societies are also involved.

Organisers said they also intend inviting trade unions, GAA clubs and human rights groups.

Meanwhile, on Saturday afternoon the now weekly Orange parade towards Ardoyne will again be blocked by police from passing Woodvale Parade.

BACKGROUND

Marchers will assemble at Ardoyne Avenue at 6pm before walking along Oldpark, Cliftonville and Antrim roads. They will parade on Donegall Street, Royal Avenue, Castle Street and the Falls Road. The commission stressed "the importance of respectful behaviour in the vicinity of interface areas, namely that there shall be no singing, chanting, or loud drumming".

From around the web

Will GAA clubs be taking part in this?
Post by: pullhard on August 09, 2013, 09:36:52 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 09, 2013, 08:48:38 AM
Where do they get all these pallets from?

Do they nick them?

often wonder this, they're bound to be worth a few quid each. seems like some waste.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 09, 2013, 09:39:26 AM
This and Castlederg plays right into the hands of the politicians, the OO and loyalists with their backs against the wall. I would rather see all these events cancelled this year to make loyalism look even worse and republicanism as magnanimous. Lets be honest the bonfires are not a commemoration of anything, they are an excuse for a piss up.
Post by: sheamy on August 09, 2013, 09:50:42 AM
Take a JCB up to the lower falls and sort this out lads...

"This is not about commemoration or a political expression, but just a focal point for drinking and drug-taking" Paul Maskey SF
Post by: WeeDonns on August 09, 2013, 09:54:04 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 09, 2013, 09:39:26 AM
This and Castlederg plays right into the hands of the politicians, the OO and loyalists with their backs against the wall. I would rather see all these events cancelled this year to make loyalism look even worse and republicanism as magnanimous. Lets be honest the bonfires are not a commemoration of anything, they are an excuse for a piss up.

Totally agree
Post by: theticklemister on August 09, 2013, 10:06:39 AM
Quote from: sheamy on August 09, 2013, 09:50:42 AM

"This is not about commemoration or a political expression, but just a focal point for drinking and drug-taking" Paul Maskey SF

Has anyone a quote from Maskey about bonfires 10/15 years ago? Ill give er a go here......

'These bonfires are to commemorate the people who were interned in 1971, they are seen as an act of resistance and are a symbol for everyone throughout the world who are in support of basic human rights. Tonight we commmemorate these people on the Falls Road because it was here that a lot of these men were taken.'
Post by: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 10:09:54 AM
Why don't you give us your perspective?
Post by: EC Unique on August 09, 2013, 10:10:43 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on August 09, 2013, 09:54:04 AM

Totally agree

This crowd are as bad as the orange marching scum. Some of the men who were actually interned should speak out against it.
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 09, 2013, 10:11:48 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 09, 2013, 09:19:51 AM

Not on everyone. Just hoods running bonfires and creating trouble in this day and age.
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 10:18:14 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 09, 2013, 10:06:39 AM
Quote from: sheamy on August 09, 2013, 09:50:42 AM

Has anyone a quote from Maskey about bonfires 10/15 years ago? Ill give er a go here......

'These bonfires are to commemorate the people who were interned in 1971, they are seen as an act of resistance and are a symbol for everyone throughout the world who are in support of basic human rights. Tonight we commmemorate these people on the Falls Road because it was here that a lot of these men were taken.'

Like to see the proof of this as SF help start Feile An Phobail 25 years ago to bring about a better way of remembering internment ,and have been againist the bonfire culture and the trouble it brings to Nationalist areas for many years.
Post by: ziggysego on August 09, 2013, 10:32:02 AM
Absolutely disgusted to see the bonfire, with Loyalist and British symbols on it. It was horrible to see them going up for the 11th night and it's downright shameful and embarrassing to see it being aped by Nationalist / Republicans / Spides (Delete as applicable).
Post by: Orior on August 09, 2013, 11:05:25 AM
So it looks like everyone here is not in favour of the bonfire at Divis.

I trust the journo's are reading this.

I said, I trust the journo's are reading this.
Post by: armaghniac on August 09, 2013, 11:11:09 AM
QuoteThis crowd are as bad as the orange marching scum. Some of the men who were actually interned should speak out against it.

Well said.
Post by: muppet on August 09, 2013, 02:59:06 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on August 09, 2013, 10:10:43 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on August 09, 2013, 09:54:04 AM

Totally agree

This crowd are as bad as the orange marching scum. Some of the men who were actually interned should speak out against it.

Spot on. Aping themmuns idiocy is still idiocy.
Post by: Onion Bag on August 09, 2013, 03:07:01 PM
This country is a shite hole! the whole world must be having a right laugh!
Post by: Nally Stand on August 09, 2013, 03:21:14 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on August 09, 2013, 03:07:01 PM

You're falling into the mindset of loyalism, which thinks Ulster is the centre of the universe and that the whole world is watching it on the news daily. The "whole world" doesn't know what happens here, let alone give two fiddlers. 200 people could be killed in Syria in one day, but if a stone is thrown in Belfast, UTV/BBCNI will talk on and on about "the images of Belfast being beamed around the world tonight". Laughable!
Post by: Onion Bag on August 09, 2013, 03:46:38 PM
Sorry Nally but i have travelled a fair bit round the world and believe it or not there are other news stations than the bbc and utv and they show the riots and the bonfires and the usual shite that happens, so the rest of the world do see what goes on round here
Post by: Tubberman on August 09, 2013, 03:52:13 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 09, 2013, 03:21:14 PM

You're falling into the mindset of loyalism, which thinks Ulster is the centre of the universe and that the whole world is watching it on the news daily. The "whole world" doesn't know what happens here, let alone give two fiddlers. 200 people could be killed in Syria in one day, but if a stone is thrown in Belfast, UTV/BBCNI will talk on and on about "the images of Belfast being beamed around the world tonight". Laughable!

So ye can make gobshites of yourselves without a care, because nobody else is watching?
Remember this the next time you come lecturing those of us in the south about how we run our affairs.
Post by: Puckoon on August 09, 2013, 04:24:00 PM

As it was pointed out RE: the 'derg - it is their right, therefore it's right.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 09, 2013, 05:13:59 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on August 09, 2013, 03:46:38 PM
Sorry Nally but i have travelled a fair bit round the world and believe it or not there are other news stations than the bbc and utv and they show the riots and the bonfires and the usual shite that happens, so the rest of the world do see what goes on round here

As have I, funny enough! Not too many see or care what happens here when there are much bigger world news stories!
Post by: Maguire01 on August 09, 2013, 05:14:55 PM
Yep, republicans really are are grasping defeat from the jaws of victory on these issues. Loyalists make a show of themselves on Twaddell Ave and in Woodvale Park, but rather than leave them at it, we can now balance the books a bit with bonfires and marches on the other side.

As for the title of the thread - "our culture... really?", well no, it's not mine.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 09, 2013, 05:20:09 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 09, 2013, 03:52:13 PM

So ye can make gobshites of yourselves without a care, because nobody else is watching?
Remember this the next time you come lecturing those of us in the south about how we run our affairs.

Who said anything about "making gobshites out of ourselves"? I think these bonfires are ridiculous. A night out for spides is all they are. Nothing more. My point was that those who think that a few spides making a few piss poor looking bonfires this week will make world headlines are delusion. And as far as lecturing "those of us in the south" on how you "run your affairs", I think there are an awful lot who have nothing to learn about making gobshites of themselves, so I have no idea what it is you're telling me to remember.
Post by: optimus cheese on August 09, 2013, 05:21:01 PM
If any doubt about the type of vermin associated with these 'internment bonfires' have a look at some highlights from last year http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aowZ3hU-UC8

These people are not Republicans, Nationalist, they aren't even Irish. Just cretins wearing Celtic jerseys (I'm sure Celtic FC are delighted to have their club dragged through the mud by this element that attaches themselves to them). Absolute hood scum that torture our communities day and daily. None of them could tell you what internment was, they can't even spell it going by the scrawl on a wall at Divis.
Burning anyone's emblem is the lowest of the low.
Years ago, I'm talking late 1980s, these things were commonplace, as was painting kerbs etc. Due to people in areas with a bit of respect from themselves and their country,all this was stopped and today you have  Feile an Phobail where people put their energies to good use, do something positive.
Unfortunately, this underclass or glue fuelled morons don't like that. In fact, they detest anyone making an effort or a positive contribution to society.
While they were all gathered in one place last night, they ought to have been rounded up and locked under the bloody jail. Society would be a better place without these retards.
Post by: Puckoon on August 09, 2013, 06:30:26 PM
Quote from: optimus cheese on August 09, 2013, 05:21:01 PM
If any doubt about the type of vermin associated with these 'internment bonfires' have a look at some highlights from last year http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aowZ3hU-UC8

These people are not Republicans, Nationalist, they aren't even Irish. Just cretins wearing Celtic jerseys (I'm sure Celtic FC are delighted to have their club dragged through the mud by this element that attaches themselves to them). Absolute hood scum that torture our communities day and daily. None of them could tell you what internment was, they can't even spell it going by the scrawl on a wall at Divis.
Years ago, I'm talking late 1980s, these things were commonplace, as was painting kerbs etc. Due to people in areas with a bit of respect from themselves and their country,all this was stopped and today you have  Feile an Phobail where people put their energies to good use, do something positive.
Unfortunately, this underclass or glue fuelled morons don't like that. In fact, they detest anyone making an effort or a positive contribution to society.
While they were all gathered in one place last night, they ought to have been rounded up and locked under the bloody jail. Society would be a better place without these retards.

Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:20:31 PM
Is there nobody in their communities to give them a kick in the arse, put out their fires and send them home? Where are the "community activists"?
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:25:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:20:31 PM
Is there nobody in their communities to give them a kick in the arse, put out their fires and send them home? Where are the "community activists"?

Where do you live?
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:26:12 PM
Far away. That's why I asked.
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:27:52 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:26:12 PM
Far away. That's why I asked.

Must be lucky no anti-social behaviour there,but very hard to hit a few hundred drunken,drugged up hoods a kick in the arse and send them home.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:28:41 PM
You don't understand metaphor?
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:32:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:28:41 PM
You don't understand metaphor?

Good one 8)
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:39:06 PM
Any sensible person able to answer the (genuine) question? I'm not intimately familiar with the situation on the streets of Belfast. I presume the absence of the traditional deterrents for antisocial behaviour means the young hoods are out of control?
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:43:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 07:39:06 PM
Any sensible person able to answer the (genuine) question? I'm not intimately familiar with the situation on the streets of Belfast. I presume the absence of the traditional deterrents for antisocial behaviour means the young hoods are out of control?

Before you print nonsense you would be better to inform yourself of the situation on the streets of Belfast,there is no absence of traditional deterrents any longer.Police police everywhere. ;)
Post by: trileacman on August 09, 2013, 07:46:51 PM

You get spides like these everywhere. Galway, Limerick, Dublin. Was there no-one there to give Dublin's best and brightest a kick up the arse and send them home at the Love Ulster riots?
Post by: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 07:53:55 PM
The police would have wide public support. No one wants scumbags to feel that they can have this level of control over the communities. Giving them the by ball year in year out develops a sense of power within them. 
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 08:02:58 PM
Quote from: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:43:11 PM

Before you print nonsense you would be better to inform yourself of the situation on the streets of Belfast,there is no absence of traditional deterrents any longer.Police police everywhere. ;)

Shoo. I'm discussing this with the sensible people now.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 09, 2013, 08:05:56 PM
Spides/hoods or what ever you want to call them they  are a dangerous bunch in this particular area. If you notice the graffiti about the bonfire it states DHLA (Divis Hoods Liberation Army). They are a gang of dangerous hoods, criminals that have been operating for years. They hate everyone , police, prods, provisionals. I think the cops are quite happy for the tension btw them and 'real republicans'. Not so long ago theY murdered a veteran republican Bap McGreevy on his own door step for standing up to them. They only understand one language which is difficult to engage with in post ceasefire Belfast.
Post by: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 08:07:08 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 09, 2013, 07:53:55 PM
The police would have wide public support. No one wants scumbags to feel that they can have this level of control over the communities. Giving them the by ball year in year out develops a sense of power within them. 

I was wondering whether the traditional "community activists" have any influence left at all? We see Gerry Kelly commendably able to keep a rein on lads looking for trouble at the orange march. Just wondering where this level of influence stops.

Edit: Jeepers' post begins to paint a picture.
Post by: michaelg on August 09, 2013, 08:09:18 PM

Great idea - Intern people commemorating victims of internment.
Post by: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 08:11:41 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 09, 2013, 08:02:58 PM
Quote from: glens abu on August 09, 2013, 07:43:11 PM

Shoo. I'm discussing this with the sensible people now.

;D ;Dthats the best way for you to discuss,just listen and say nothing :)
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on August 09, 2013, 10:45:49 PM
Read in the paper that coppers were attacked with a sword at an internment bonfire last night.

What's with Nordies ans swords?

/Jim
Post by: optimus cheese on August 10, 2013, 01:20:06 AM
Quote from: michaelg on August 09, 2013, 08:09:18 PM

Great idea - Intern people commemorating victims of internment.

Arrest them then for theft (pallets), incitement to hatred (burning flags), street drinking, vandalism, drunk and disorderly, car crime (as we can see in the video), drug taking and or dealing. Want me to go on?
Post by: armaghniac on August 10, 2013, 01:33:59 AM
QuoteArrest them then for theft (pallets), incitement to hatred (burning flags), street drinking, vandalism, drunk and disorderly, car crime (as we can see in the video), drug taking and or dealing. Want me to go on?

The point is that they cannot really do this to these spides, as the other lot in July were allowed do all these things without being arrested. It is the broken window syndrome, if you see someone smashing a window without consequences then if you are a hooligan you have a go yourself.
Post by: optimus cheese on August 11, 2013, 02:08:01 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 10, 2013, 01:33:59 AM
QuoteArrest them then for theft (pallets), incitement to hatred (burning flags), street drinking, vandalism, drunk and disorderly, car crime (as we can see in the video), drug taking and or dealing. Want me to go on?

The point is that they cannot really do this to these spides, as the other lot in July were allowed do all these things without being arrested. It is the broken window syndrome, if you see someone smashing a window without consequences then if you are a hooligan you have a go yourself.

I agree with this. Monkey see, monkey do approach to life. Whataboutery personified. Still, everyone knows these hooding little slugs for what they are and how they have tortured the lower falls community for years now unchecked. Why not take the opportunity to get them off the streets? If loyalists do this too then so what? It's part of their culture after all....... Point of this thread no?
Post by: Chief Whip on August 11, 2013, 07:43:19 AM

Absolute drivel onion bag. Completely with Nally on this one. I have been in Australia for two years now and lived in New York for six months; both flag bearers of the Western world. I watch the news regularly and not once in my time have I seen or heard mention of these happenings in the North. Do you really think the likes of this is of any significance to the rest of the world?
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2013, 09:08:00 AM

headline news on rte was a rise in the price of gas, riots were third story think nallys right
Post by: Count 10 on August 11, 2013, 11:46:36 AM
Send a few drones in 8)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 11, 2013, 02:57:19 PM
I think u wrong that the story does not be on channels in other countries, Spanish friends who worked in belfast has been txting me , whats going on? as it is on Spanish TV channels in the north west of spain
Post by: lfdown2 on August 12, 2013, 02:48:39 AM
Quote from: Chief Whip on August 11, 2013, 07:43:19 AM

Absolute drivel onion bag. Completely with Nally on this one. I have been in Australia for two years now and lived in New York for six months; both flag bearers of the Western world. I watch the news regularly and not once in my time have I seen or heard mention of these happenings in the North. Do you really think the likes of this is of any significance to the rest of the world?

So far this year:

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/scores-injured-in-belfast-clashes-20130810-2roud.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/scores-injured-in-belfast-clashes-20130810-2roud.html)

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/mp-knocked-out-during-belfast-riot-20130713-2pwq8.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/mp-knocked-out-during-belfast-riot-20130713-2pwq8.html)

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/trouble-flares-again-in-belfast-20130714-2pxqg.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/trouble-flares-again-in-belfast-20130714-2pxqg.html)

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/clashes-over-flag-rip-belfast-apart-as-more-talks-planned-20130113-2cnjh.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/clashes-over-flag-rip-belfast-apart-as-more-talks-planned-20130113-2cnjh.html)

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/belfast-flag-dispute-escalates-into-a-bigger-movement-20130107-2ccuj.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/world/belfast-flag-dispute-escalates-into-a-bigger-movement-20130107-2ccuj.html)

Post by: Nally Stand on August 12, 2013, 08:45:02 AM
Ffs lads of course you will find news reports if you sit on Google looking specifically for them! How many people around the world sit on Google trying to get the latest update on what some semi-literate spides have been up to in Belfast? Sure, you will occasionally see the odd news snippet, but it is just delusional in the extreme to think, as unionists/loyalists and bbcni do, that people right around the world give one fiddlers about billy and Sammy standing by themselves on a traffic Island with a fleg in hand or about a few stones being thrown. "Images being beamed around the world of Belfast tonight"...horseshit. The world neither knows nor cares. And despite what bbcni might have you believe, this plastic state is not the very centre of said world.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2013, 08:55:23 AM
There's a difference between standing with a flag and full scale rioting with police. People are watching this. This impacts businesses from other countries coming into NI and if you talk to people in places like InvestNI about the protests / riots in December etc you will find NI lost business. To lose business people had to be watching.

No one cares about a bunch of plonkers and their flags at traffic islands but rioting on the other hand they do. The BBC NI etc may be a little deluded in how significant we are across the globe however we're not as insignificant as you might think either.  It impacts small businesses here, potential investors coming in, tourism and I'm sure many other things. It does matter.