GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on August 05, 2013, 01:18:42 AM

Title: Aidan O'Shea
Post by: Hardy on August 05, 2013, 01:18:42 AM
Possibly the best individual performance I've ever seen in Croke Park. Probably the best by a midfielder. I think it's worth a thread of its own, if only as a token of resistance to the apostles of negativity who want to focus on individual misdemeanours and the ridiculous hype over what people said about what happened in a match, rather than on the match itself.
Title: Re: Aidan O'Shea
Post by: Syferus on August 05, 2013, 01:23:18 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 05, 2013, 01:18:42 AM
Possibly the best individual performance I've ever seen in Croke Park. Probably the best by a midfielder. I think it's worth a thread of its own, if only as a token of resistance to the apostles of negativity who want to focus on individual misdemeanours and the ridiculous hype over what people said about what happened in a match, rather than on the match itself.

Still only a poor man's Seamie O'Neill though.
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2013, 01:39:08 AM
Some player.
He needs to lose the fringe though.
Post by: ardchieftain on August 05, 2013, 01:56:02 AM
Thought he was a bit unlucky to get the line but gave a masterclass in midfield play today. Hopefully he can put in a similar performance in the next two games.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 05, 2013, 03:35:02 AM
From Brian O'Driscoll's twitter:
QuoteBrian O'Driscoll ‏@BrianODriscoll 10h
I'm getting me an Aidan O'Shea fringe on Tuesday!
Expand
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 05, 2013, 08:11:34 AM
i remember him playing in the minor final against tyrone a few years ago and he looked an awesome player. he has taken a few years to really realise that potential at senior level, but his performance yesterday was pure class.
Post by: rrhf on August 05, 2013, 08:15:55 AM
Great pic of mc kenna standing on his shoulders in that game. 
Post by: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 08:18:13 AM
One of the biggest transformations over the last two seasons.  A couple of years ago he was a talented player in midfield but didn't  have the engine or temperament to be affective the entire game, just in short bursts.  Last year his fitness had clearly came on, but this year he his the finished article.  Really look forward to seeing his battle in the middle with cavanagh.  Think he will bowl him over.  A powerhouse of a performance yesterday.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 05, 2013, 08:20:35 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 08:18:13 AM
One of the biggest transformations over the last two seasons.  A couple of years ago he was a talented player in midfield but didn't  have the engine or temperament to be affective the entire game, just in short bursts.  Last year his fitness had clearly came on, but this year he his the finished article.  Really look forward to seeing his battle in the middle with cavanagh.  Think he will bowl him over.  A powerhouse of a performance yesterday.

Cavanagh will roast him.
Post by: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 08:38:32 AM
Cavanagh is one of the best players of the last twenty years, completely different type of player than O Shea.  It will have to be a collective effort from Mayo to stop his runs, but my money will be O shea to edge their duel.
Plus O She doesn't dive, you could go out for a pint with him after the game  ;)
Post by: thewobbler on August 05, 2013, 08:42:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 05, 2013, 08:20:35 AM

Cavanagh will roast him.

I can't really see these pair marking each other. Both of them spend too much time in the no.6 position.

O'Shea was extraordinary yesterday. He must have touched the ball upwards on 50 times, and I can't remember a mistake.
Post by: Ard-Rí on August 05, 2013, 08:47:46 AM
Phenomenal performance. Not much more can be said, except that every county in  the country would love to have him.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 05, 2013, 08:49:30 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 05, 2013, 08:42:11 AM

Cavanagh will roast him.

I can't really see these pair marking each other. Both of them spend too much time in the no.6 position.

O'Shea was extraordinary yesterday. He must have touched the ball upwards on 50 times, and I can't remember a mistake.
a stat came up on screen at the beginning of the second half i think it was ,  that he had 20 possessions, i think the next closest of any player was 14
Post by: small white mayoman on August 05, 2013, 08:54:28 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 05, 2013, 08:49:30 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 05, 2013, 08:42:11 AM

Cavanagh will roast him.

a stat came up on screen at the beginning of the second half i think it was ,  that he had 20 possessions, i think the next closest of any player was 14

Savage Display from O'Shea yesterday . Pretty sure he had 32 possessions in Total 
Post by: Mario on August 05, 2013, 09:19:19 AM
Unbelievable performance, certainly one of the best i've ever seen from a midfielder. Turned balls over, clean catches, breaks, carried the ball and good deliveries, immense.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 05, 2013, 09:48:04 AM
Another Player appreciation stream. Yawn! Who was it last week that was a world beater and their next game they were back to being a Joe Soap player. Appreciations are written when a player finishes his career, not when he's starting it.
Post by: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 10:15:14 AM
So we should only praise players when they retire?  If we done that the excellent performances of Canty for example would be almost forgotten. "He hasn't retired yet lads, hold the praise, he is bound to put a few shite performances together"
Jaysus some of you Mayo boys are hard to please!
Post by: omagh_gael on August 05, 2013, 10:16:29 AM
Think he made one mistake yesterday. Won a clean catch in his own square but gave the ball away to McFadden. However, he didn't give up, chased him down,  blocked his shot, won possesion back and started a new attack. Fantastic.
Post by: sam03/05 on August 05, 2013, 10:38:03 AM
Great player, but after all the hype surrounding Sran Cavanagh tackle - O'Shea produced the worst tackle of the weekend, a forearm smash into the face of a Donegal player, far worse than anything Cavanagh has done over previous two weeks, but not a word about it. Should have been a straight red instead of a second yellow!
Post by: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 10:42:41 AM
Wise up.  Nothing you wouldn't see in any club match.  The Donegal player made a meal of it.  Not a chance was it worse than Cavanaghs tackle, which BTW I would be expecting one of my own teammates to make if a player was baring down on goal
Post by: From the Bunker on August 05, 2013, 10:50:53 AM
Quote from: sam03/05 on August 05, 2013, 10:38:03 AM
Great player, but after all the hype surrounding Sran Cavanagh tackle - O'Shea produced the worst tackle of the weekend, a forearm smash into the face of a Donegal player, far worse than anything Cavanagh has done over previous two weeks, but not a word about it. Should have been a straight red instead of a second yellow!

Both incidents no more than yellows! If you think O'Shea's tackle was a straight red, you really have never played the game!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2013, 10:52:29 AM
The buckos could see this performance coming and were ridiculed for stating the obvious............................. A monster of a man, no doubt if he produces within a fraction of this performance in his next two games whilst winning, he will be crowned player of the year and Mayo champions
Post by: Syferus on August 05, 2013, 11:29:38 AM

Cavanagh will roast him.

Always thought Cavanagh had trouble marking players, even big, lumbering midfielders. AOS has been ran by a fair share of times himself but I've seen Cavanagh cleaned out in their air plenty of times too in a manner I've rarely seen happen to AOS.

Cavanagh is at his best when you feed him ball in space. He's a top full-forward playing midfield in many ways, it's the old club trick of putting your best player in midfield. AOS is simply a pure midfielder at this stage.

It's be daft for Cavanagh to be put on AOS in the first place so it's not going to be the match-up.
Post by: NAG1 on August 05, 2013, 12:06:53 PM
One thing I found funny yesterday having listened to the match on the radio. Heard all the great reports on AOS which I have no doubt were true, got the sunday game on last night expecting to see him right to the fore. In the highlights package he was barely mentioned. Found that strange.
Post by: Declan on August 05, 2013, 12:25:25 PM
Fantastic performance alright.As good as anything I've seen in HQ
Post by: popinpopout on August 05, 2013, 12:27:15 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 05, 2013, 08:11:34 AM
i remember him playing in the minor final against tyrone a few years ago and he looked an awesome player. he has taken a few years to really realise that potential at senior level, but his performance yesterday was pure class.

From said minor final....I believe that's him....underneath McKenna...
https://ssl.utvinternet.com/sportingvisions/imgdir/252241121/322271.jpg
Post by: rodney trotter on August 05, 2013, 12:28:28 PM
He was like a bulldozer yesterday, great potential, still 23.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2013, 12:51:40 PM
Still a bit to go to fill the Brady boots ....................................................look at the sublime leg work from big David

(http://www.mayopics.com/sport/aib-club-semi-feb05/glry/013e4126_watch_it_fly_tn.jpg)
Post by: Whishtup on August 05, 2013, 01:01:38 PM
A small fast niggly boy would do a job on him-pity Penrose is gone!
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2013, 01:12:16 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on August 05, 2013, 01:01:38 PM

Not a chance, he would swipe him aside.............................I expect Gormley to get in his face at some stage
Post by: Whishtup on August 05, 2013, 01:35:43 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 05, 2013, 01:12:16 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on August 05, 2013, 01:01:38 PM

Not a chance, he would swipe him aside.............................I expect Gormley to get in his face at some stage

Hopefully...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 05, 2013, 02:29:31 PM
AOS played very well on Sunday but the performance needs to be tempered against the complete lack of opposition he had facing him.  Donegal's MF and HF line were completely MIA and AOS was not under any immense pressure.  He is an excellent player but this love in is ridiculous.  I would expect Harte to start Gormley on him and then rotate the players on him, each one picking up a tick or a yellow and then moving on.  They will torture him.
Post by: Syferus on August 05, 2013, 02:52:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 05, 2013, 02:29:31 PM
AOS played very well on Sunday but the performance needs to be tempered against the complete lack of opposition he had facing him.  Donegal's MF and HF line were completely MIA and AOS was not under any immense pressure.  He is an excellent player but this love in is ridiculous.  I would expect Harte to start Gormley on him and then rotate the players on him, each one picking up a tick or a yellow and then moving on.  They will torture him.

Brolly has marked Tyrone's book for the next day. Hard to see past at least one red for Tyrone if things get dodgy.
Post by: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 03:02:30 PM
AOS played very well on Sunday but the performance needs to be tempered against the complete lack of opposition he had facing him.  Donegal's MF and HF line were completely MIA and AOS was not under any immense pressure.  He is an excellent player but this love in is ridiculous. I would expect Harte to start Gormley on him and then rotate the players on him, each one picking up a tick or a yellow and then moving on.  They will torture him.
Aye BCB1 but how could you go out for a pint with them afterwards :D  That will be playing on their minds
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 05, 2013, 03:05:30 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 05, 2013, 03:02:30 PM
AOS played very well on Sunday but the performance needs to be tempered against the complete lack of opposition he had facing him.  Donegal's MF and HF line were completely MIA and AOS was not under any immense pressure.  He is an excellent player but this love in is ridiculous. I would expect Harte to start Gormley on him and then rotate the players on him, each one picking up a tick or a yellow and then moving on.  They will torture him.
Aye BCB1 but how could you go out for a pint with them afterwards :D  That will be playing on their minds

I'd go for pints with any man no matter how much he tortured me ;)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2013, 06:12:39 PM
Seamus O`Shea will pick up Cavanagh and he is equally strong in the air.i would expect mayo to dominate round the middle if they stop Tyrone option of a short kick out. Like the way O`Shea plays myself, hope by the time hes finished he up there with the 3 big out and out midfielders Tohill. O`Se and McDermott. I always though Cavanagh was better suited to wing froward
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 06, 2013, 03:50:15 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 05, 2013, 06:12:39 PM
Seamus O`Shea will pick up Cavanagh and he is equally strong in the air.i would expect mayo to dominate round the middle if they stop Tyrone option of a short kick out. Like the way O`Shea plays myself, hope by the time hes finished he up there with the 3 big out and out midfielders Tohill. O`Se and McDermott. I always though Cavanagh was better suited to wing froward

About time someone mentioned the brother.
Post by: ballinaman on August 06, 2013, 03:51:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on August 06, 2013, 03:50:15 PM

Thought he had a savage game. Credit to the S&C team, his mobility this year has been fantastic.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 06, 2013, 03:55:28 PM

Will this be the first time ever two brothers will be marking two brothers in an inter county senior game? Assuming Seamus and Aidan, Colm and Sean all start as in the recent games?
Post by: blanketattack on August 06, 2013, 04:08:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 06, 2013, 03:55:28 PM

Will this be the first time ever two brothers will be marking two brothers in an inter county senior game? Assuming Seamus and Aidan, Colm and Sean all start as in the recent games?

Didn't the Ó Sés mark the McAntees?
Post by: AZOffaly on August 06, 2013, 04:09:19 PM
In midfield? Sorry, I meant as two midfield partnerships...
Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2013, 04:41:19 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BPjPfwgCUAAR2YL.jpg:large)

PotY 2013 in the house?
Post by: Declan on August 06, 2013, 04:47:37 PM
No wonder he was refused entry in the Everleigh!
Post by: orangeman on August 06, 2013, 04:52:21 PM

The owners of one of Dublin's most popular nightspots have apologised to GAA footballer Aidan O'Shea after he was refused entry on the evening of his All-Ireland Quarter-Final win.

Mayo midfielder O'Shea was voted man of the match after helping his team annihilate Donegal with a 4-17 to 1-10 win on Sunday- but even that didn't help him at the door of Dublin nightclub Everleigh Garden.

Manager of the Harcourt Street venue Conor Buckley said it was simply a case of mix-up at the door.

"We absolutely apologise to Aidan, there must have been some mix-up," he said.

"We had all the Mayo lads in, Shane McHale, Kevin McLaughlin and Lee Keegan. We love the GAA boys and sent them over a few celebratory drinks."

Conor also denied the suggestion that club promoters prefer Ireland's rugby players over the GAA lads.

"We love having the GAA lads in. There's no preference, we try to make everyone feel relaxed and want to ensure all the lads have a good time," Buckley said.

O'Shea hit Dublin Sunday night to celebrate his team's momentous win over the All-Ireland champions.

What the Breaffy clubman wasn't bargaining for however was to be turned away from the door of Everleigh Garden.

The footballer took to Twitter the next morning to thank the general manager of Dublin 2 nightclub Grafton Lounge for their hospitality the night before.

"Good feeling waking up this morning... focus onto the next one now... Mayo supporters thanking you," O'Shea wrote.

"Also big thanks to @graftonlounge always look after the boys much appreciated @JohnboyEnnis @Davens05."

O'Shea followed up his thanks with a mention to the fact that he had been refused from the club and bar Everleigh Gardens.

"On the other hand thanks to Everleigh Gardens for refusing me entry!," he posted.

The footballer hit headlines for his blistering performance in yesterday's All-Ireland Football Championship Quarter-Final.

And it wasn't just his skills fellow Irish sport-stars were coveting post-match; Irish and Leinster rugby player Brian O'Driscoll tweeted his love for O'Shea's 'do.

"I'm getting me an Aidan O'Shea fringe on Tuesday!," he posted online.

BOD's tweet has since had over a thousand retweets and favorites.

Post by: theticklemister on August 06, 2013, 04:59:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 06, 2013, 04:09:19 PM
In midfield? Sorry, I meant as two midfield partnerships...

Colm Cavanagh may wear a mfers number, but he is not a decent player midfielder.

Did ye not know thats where Sean got his 'tackling technique' from him  ;D
Post by: SouthDublinBro on August 06, 2013, 06:07:30 PM
I'd select MacAuley over either of the O'Shea's in a heartbeat.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 06, 2013, 06:34:13 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 06, 2013, 06:07:30 PM

Fair enough.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 06, 2013, 07:13:18 PM
Down through the years Mayo has produced alot of good county midfilders
Post by: From the Bunker on August 06, 2013, 07:26:28 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on August 06, 2013, 06:07:30 PM

Well you'd have to The O'Sheas are not eligible to play for Dublin! :P
Post by: Syferus on August 06, 2013, 07:33:57 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 06, 2013, 07:13:18 PM

Aye.

(http://inpho.ie/cache/inpho/fb/c6/c3/f9a7d9b08300ebf0c29cd6b1c8d1294230e56fe5b7/INPHO_00194843.jpg)
Post by: yellowcard on August 06, 2013, 07:38:28 PM
I remember seeing O Shea in an AI minor final defeat against Tyrone (think it went to a replay) and he was the standout player on the pitch in both games. However this was largely due to his size and direct running. His progress had been slow coming out of minor (or at least I never noticed him much) but he seems to have trimmed down a lot in the last year or two and looks more mobile now than he did when he first arrived on the scene. It really was an exceptional performance by him on Sunday, but he will find it harder to dominate in the air in the next 2 games particularly since Tyrone and Dublin don't like belting the ball out long to midfield catchers.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on August 06, 2013, 11:58:49 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 06, 2013, 07:13:18 PM

A magnificent exhibition of midfield play by Aidan O'Shea last Sunday.  I'm sure it will stick in the minds of Mayo supporters, indeed all gaelic football fans, for years to come. Willie Joe Padden is remembered with great fondness for such displays.
Post by: redhandluke on August 07, 2013, 12:40:48 AM
What do O'Shea score on Sunday??? 0-0  :o
Yes he had a good game, but to say it was "Possibly the best individual performance I've ever seen in Croke Park" - I suggest Hardy you should get out a bit more.

I can suggest two better performances of the top of my head, Cavanagh against Meath and Cavanagh  against Monaghan in the past two weeks alone.  Or Canavan scoring 0-11 against Dublin in 95 AIF.
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 12:45:41 AM
Quote from: redhandluke on August 07, 2013, 12:40:48 AM
Yes he had a good game, but to say it was "Possibly the best individual performance I've ever seen in Croke Park" - I suggest Hardy you should get out a bit more.

I can suggest two better performances of the top of my head, Cavanagh against Meath and Cavanagh  against Monaghan in the past two weeks alone.  Or Canavan scoring 0-11 against Dublin in 95 AIF.

Any non-Tyrone players do any good?
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 07, 2013, 01:00:06 AM

It's your opinion and you are entitled to have it but I haven't come across any other individual yet, on two legs or four, who agrees with you. ;D
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 01:02:53 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 07, 2013, 01:00:06 AM

It's your opinion and you are entitled to have it but I haven't come across any other individual yet, on two legs or four, who agrees with you. ;D

Ros hater.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 07, 2013, 01:06:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 01:02:53 AM

Ros hater.
Honestly, didn't mean it that way. Actually, I was thinking of a particular jackass (not Enda Kenny) at the time. ;D
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 01:07:55 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 07, 2013, 01:06:12 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 01:02:53 AM

Ros hater.
Honestly, didn't mean it that way. Actually, I was thinking of a particular jackass (not Enda Kenny) at the time. ;D

(http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2860/9354913508_3a7c4259c8_o.jpg)

Enda doesn't look happy about the implication.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 07, 2013, 04:50:32 AM

Obviously when people are raving about AOS, they mean to say "Not counting every midfield performance ever by every Tyrone player, this was the best midfield performance at Croke Park."  It's just that's a bit much to type every time.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 07, 2013, 08:29:37 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 06, 2013, 07:38:28 PM
I remember seeing O Shea in an AI minor final defeat against Tyrone (think it went to a replay) and he was the standout player on the pitch in both games. However this was largely due to his size and direct running. His progress had been slow coming out of minor (or at least I never noticed him much) but he seems to have trimmed down a lot in the last year or two and looks more mobile now than he did when he first arrived on the scene. It really was an exceptional performance by him on Sunday, but he will find it harder to dominate in the air in the next 2 games particularly since Tyrone and Dublin don't like belting the ball out long to midfield catchers.

Most would have seen Kyle Coney as the stand out player.

As for the weekend, he played well but Cavanaghs play from midfield over the past 2 weeks has been unbelievable.
Post by: Hardy on August 07, 2013, 09:42:14 AM

Right. Enough said.
Post by: theticklemister on August 07, 2013, 10:03:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2013, 09:42:14 AM

Right. Enough said.

And ye wonder why there is a lot of anti- Tyrone wans out there??
Post by: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 05:00:01 PM
Aidan O'Shea was superb on Sunday but in the other three games i thought his brother Seamus played better, why doesn't he get the same hype? if remember correctly he also played a huge part in Mayos U-21 All Ireland win in 2006.
Post by: muppet on August 07, 2013, 05:21:32 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 05:00:01 PM
Aidan O'Shea was superb on Sunday but in the other three games i thought his brother Seamus played better, why doesn't he get the same hype? if remember correctly he also played a huge part in Mayos U-21 All Ireland win in 2006.

He is a good player and a great foil for Aiden. But he isn't quite at Aiden's level and remember Aiden is still only 23. There is hopefully more to come.
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 05:46:12 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 07, 2013, 05:21:32 PM

He is a good player and a great foil for Aiden. But he isn't quite at Aiden's level and remember Aiden is still only 23. There is hopefully more to come.

We thought the same about Seamie, who knows what's ahead. He's already the best midfielder in the country and physically one of the most imposing of all-time. It's about staying focused and not listening to the hype about yourself now. I think AO'S has shown the right attitude in that regard the past two years.
Post by: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 06:25:48 PM
We were well beaten in the match but we still fared fairly well against the O'Sheas

(http://dontfoul.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/kickouts.jpg)

In 2011 Connacht final we won midfield against the two O'Sheas but still lost  :-\
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 06:42:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 06:25:48 PM
We were well beaten in the match but we still fared fairly well against the O'Sheas

In 2011 Connacht final we won midfield against the two O'Sheas but still lost  :-\

We were excellent at winning breaks against Mayo, at least in the first 25 minutes or so when it was a contest. Keenan was like a human vacuum cleaner. The way to beat AOS is breaking it away from him or, where possible, just avoiding him. For all his good work going back into defence you'd love to have your forwards in space with AOS on them because like any man his size he's not going to be able to react as fast or match the smaller man's acceleration.
Post by: INDIANA on August 07, 2013, 09:08:49 PM

Donegal fired every kickout at AOS. He had a fantastic game. Best individual display ever by a midfielder is stretching it in my view.

Tyrone wont hit one kick-out in his direction. Then will be the acid test of how effective he is at midfield. Can he do all the other spade-work required around there.

I still have my reservations he'd be able to keep up with a Michael Mc Auley for example who torched him for 25 mins in the second half of the semi last year.

Post by: Whishtup on August 07, 2013, 09:13:05 PM
Holy jeasis, a couple of high catches and a couple of bulllock runs and you're a superstar..
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 07, 2013, 09:18:33 PM
Hardy's racked with guilt at the thought of what the Meath team of '96 might have done to him had he been playing for Mayo then... nightmares, cold sweats, the works! Has to try to exorcise the demons somehow! :P
Post by: muppet on August 07, 2013, 10:02:42 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 07, 2013, 09:08:49 PM

Donegal fired every kickout at AOS. He had a fantastic game. Best individual display ever by a midfielder is stretching it in my view.

Tyrone wont hit one kick-out in his direction. Then will be the acid test of how effective he is at midfield. Can he do all the other spade-work required around there.

I still have my reservations he'd be able to keep up with a Michael Mc Auley for example who torched him for 25 mins in the second half of the semi last year.

O'Shea was flying in the League last year, including against McAuley in Castlebar. Then he got injured. He never really got back to that level of match fitness in last year's Championship. He was only a sub against Sligo but a game changing one when he came on. He played well against Donegal last year but ran out of steam in the last 20 minutes.

He was flying for the entire game against Donegal this year. As long as he stays fully fit he will be hard to touch.
Post by: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 10:59:03 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 07, 2013, 09:08:49 PM

For the last few years Mickey Harte used the wings & a short kick out routine against us will be interesting if they try that same tactic in this game.
Post by: Hardy on August 07, 2013, 11:03:04 PM
It's like trying to teach trigonometry to calves. They see but they don't understand. Some don't even see. A performance that included serial possession winning, vision, right place, right time, anticipation, 32 possessions (THIRTY TWO!) inspired defending, finding the right pass 98% of the time and just one (ONE!) error is dismissed as "a couple of bullock runs". All he didn't do was score a goal and save a penalty. But that's not good enough for those who think his brother was better. Even if that was in some other match. Sometimes I wonder. More times I don't bother.

(FOSB - don't you think the 1996 theme is a bit played out? We still enjoy the memories but it would be healthier for you lads to forget the trauma.)
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 11:08:56 PM
He'd fetch a fair price at the mart, though. They're well used to stopping bullock runs there too.
Post by: ross matt on August 07, 2013, 11:15:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 07, 2013, 11:03:04 PM
It's like trying to teach trigonometry to calves. They see but they don't understand. Some don't even see. A performance that included serial possession winning, vision, right place, right time, anticipation, 32 possessions (THIRTY TWO!) inspired defending, finding the right pass 98% of the time and just one (ONE!) error is dismissed as "a couple of bullock runs". All he didn't do was score a goal and save a penalty. But that's not good enough for those who think his brother was better. Even if that was in some other match. Sometimes I wonder. More times I don't bother.

(FOSB - don't you think the 1996 theme is a bit played out? We still enjoy the memories but it would be healthier for you lads to forget the trauma.)

+1000

Best midfield performance since Jacko 1984/85 (and even then the Kerry man had few rivals that could realistically rival him so it was easier to excel. )
Post by: ross matt on August 07, 2013, 11:17:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 11:08:56 PM
He'd fetch a fair price at the mart, though. They're well used to stopping bullock runs there too.

RTE commentary stated he was 14.5 stone..... surely 15 or 16 stone? Can any Mayo men enlighten us ?
Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 11:23:03 PM
Quote from: ross matt on August 07, 2013, 11:17:19 PM

RTE commentary stated he was 14.5 stone..... surely 15 or 16 stone? Can any Mayo men enlighten us ?

I checked the Connacht final program from this year and he's listed at 16st 2lbs, 6' 4''. I'd tend to believe the listed stats in this case - no way in hell he weighs 14 1/2.
Post by: muppet on August 07, 2013, 11:29:27 PM

We are beyond the stones age.

He weighs one Larry Reilly.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 07, 2013, 11:34:54 PM
he about 16st alright, best midfield show since big tohill had a stormer in croker against meath in a league final all them yrs ago. Tyrone will run into the same problem kicking to seamus o`shea HES EQUALLY STRONG IN THE AIR.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 07, 2013, 11:39:21 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 11:23:03 PM
I checked the Connacht final program from this year and he's listed at 16st 2lbs, 6' 4''.

Your Body Mass Index (BMI) is 27.5.

Overweight - You are carrying too much weight for your height. Try and correct this imbalance before you gain more weight. Our range of LOVE life You Count food and drink can help you to eat fewer calories as part of a healthy balanced diet. Combine this with regular daily exercise to help you to shift those excess pounds.

http://www.waitrose.com/home/inspiration/waitrose_lovelife/love_life_you_count/bmi_calculator.html

Post by: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 11:42:58 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 07, 2013, 11:39:21 PM
I checked the Connacht final program from this year and he's listed at 16st 2lbs, 6' 4''.

Overweight - You are carrying too much weight for your height. Try and correct this imbalance before you gain more weight. Our range of LOVE life You Count food and drink can help you to eat fewer calories as part of a healthy balanced diet. Combine this with regular daily exercise to help you to shift those excess pounds.

http://www.waitrose.com/home/inspiration/waitrose_lovelife/love_life_you_count/bmi_calculator.html

AOS needs to stop eating other midfielders alive or his weight is going to get out of control.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 07, 2013, 11:51:43 PM
Ah jeez Hardy, I look back on that year with the fondest of memories - as I (just) might have mentioned before, only for that year we'd still, in all probability, be sitting on a grand total of ZERO SAMs! How could I not look back upon it with anything other than the warmest of sentiments, truly! Thanks a million! (I know, I know, any time)
Post by: orangeman on August 07, 2013, 11:52:31 PM
COLM KEYS – 12 JUNE 2013

Last week, while walking his dog out around Breaffy's GAA pitch, Martin Carney came across the imposing figure of Aidan O'Shea and his promising younger sibling Conor jogging around the perimeter.

Carney and the O'Sheas are neighbours and, when they got talking, it struck him that this was a trek that had become quite routine to them.

"The days that they are not training are the ones they do their running. To me it was a new departure in terms of the intensity of preparation. They'd often be over there, himself and Conor, practising their foot-passing and whatever. But this is routine for them."

For the elder O'Shea, the runs have had to become part of that routine. Compare his chiselled look in the Galway game even to last year's All-Ireland final and there's a world of a difference. Contrast the young man who set off seeking a rookie contract with AFL club Western Bulldogs three-and-a-half years earlier and struggled with their pre-season fitness regime and it's a different universe.

Prior to the Donegal game he weighed in at 16st 2lbs. There is no updated statistic available, but you only have to look to know that the figure has surely tumbled.

He still cuts a very physical presence, however, and in Mayo's opening match it was striking how, at the age of 22, he had become the team's enforcer, taking and making big hits around midfield and controlling the pace and flow of the game with his huge frame and close control.

DAUNTING

"Physically he is daunting. He's so influential now and for a lot of the lads around him he's one of these totemic figures they look to," says Carney.

"They look to him to actually set the tone for the game. He's starting to do that and for a lad who is so young, it's a fair achievement. One of the fellas I remember being able to do that was Trevor Giles."

Carney knows that winning his battle with weight has been the critical turning point in O'Shea career.

As a 13-year-old he could make the Breaffy minor team and as a minor with Mayo he carried the fight impressively to Tyrone to force a replay in an epic All-Ireland final.

Size was always on his side, but fitness has appeared to be something he was catching up on.

Carney believes interest and ambition to do well in the game will continue to drive him to the top.

"He really wants to do well in football, he has a great attitude to it. He's very much the modern player in so far as football gets priority," he says.

"The big things that he has bought into are nutrition, hydration and, in his case, weight management. Managing his weight is always going to be a consideration because he has a massive frame. He doesn't take it from the wind. His father (former Kerry minor Jim) is a big man.

"He has bought into what is needed is order to keep the weight manageable at a level he can compete at," says Carney.

Two years ago, when Aidan and Mayo played his father's native county in an All-Ireland semi-final, his absence of mobility was perhaps more pointed than ever, but since then, the graph has risen impressively, his impact off the bench in the Connacht final against Leitrim helping to steer a wobbling ship to safety before he played a vital role in helping Mayo to recover from Donegal's early barrage.

Improving his fitness is reaping big results, which he sees, according to Carney.

"A number of years ago when he went to Australia (for those trials in late 2009) I remember talking to him. He found the stamina work difficult. It really hurt him.

"He has seen enough red flags in terms of stamina. It's the area that he has to continuously work on and improve on. He has brought it forward quite a few notches from where he was a few years ago, particularly that Kerry game."

For Carney, "facing the ball" is the only way to align him on the field and he's glad that the experiments at full-forward and centre-forward have been dispensed with. Former Mayo midfielder Liam MacHale acknowledges the improvement in O'Shea too, but believes he can go further with the right partner.

According to MacHale, neither Barry Moran, his All-Ireland sidekick, nor his brother Seamus, whose improvement in Moran's absence has also been significant, are the right foil for him.

"I'd like to see a more mobile midfielder in with him. I find with Barry Moran and Aidan O'Shea in the middle of the field that defensively we're not great. Laterally, they wouldn't be great movers, they wouldn't be the best defenders. You need a James Nallen-type guy in there with him," figures McHale.

"Give Aidan a licence to go forward. If you put a real athletic, mobile guy that wants to defend and has a real defender's mindset I would imagine then you would see the best of him. His brother (Seamus) is similar to him, which I don't think suits him. We should be trying to put someone in there that would help him reach his full potential as a dominant, physical attacking midfielder. Someone like Donal Vaughan.

"I'd like to see Aidan get three or four shots on goal (per game), which he is not doing at the moment," says MacHale. "I think he has to to sit in the hole more than he'd like to."

After a good season with DIT, winnining the Sigerson Cup, and free from the pubic-bone trouble that set him back in the early part of last year, O'Shea has quickly developed into arguably the most forceful midfield presence in the game.

There is, as MacHale pointed to, improvements to be made. But Aidan O'Shea's baby-faced days look well behind him.
Post by: trileacman on August 08, 2013, 12:12:19 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 07, 2013, 11:29:27 PM

Is it true gold is worth it's weight in Larry Reillys?
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2013, 12:14:54 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 08, 2013, 12:12:19 AM
Quote from: muppet on August 07, 2013, 11:29:27 PM

Is it true gold is worth it's weight in Larry Reillys?

Some say that, but I couldn't possibly comment.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 08, 2013, 12:15:09 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 07, 2013, 11:39:21 PM

BMI is just a guide, several different organisations give different numbers. Also it is poor for accounting for fat v muscle. It is poor guide for the distribution of body weight.
Post by: INDIANA on August 08, 2013, 12:32:55 AM

You'd have to question why Donegal kept firing kick-outs in his direction. You can't hit greatness on the strength of one game and lets face it Mayo have never been short of good midfielders.

Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 08:48:02 AM
People seem to be getting confused here as I would imagine that most people would rate Sean Cavanagh as the best midfielder in the country currently.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 08:49:42 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 08:48:02 AM
People seem to be getting confused here as I would imagine that most Tyrone people would rate Sean Cavanagh as the best midfielder in the country currently.

Fixed that for you
Post by: Hardy on August 08, 2013, 09:53:34 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 08, 2013, 12:32:55 AM

You'd have to question why Donegal kept firing kick-outs in his direction.
So it wasn't a great performance because Donegal kicked the ball in his direction. Right.

QuoteYou can't hit greatness on the strength of one game
Indeed. Who said anything about greatness? My OP was about the best midfield performance I remember in Croke park. No more. No less. He could have a stinker in the semi. He might never play well again. It will still be the best midfield performance I can remember.
Post by: INDIANA on August 08, 2013, 10:03:33 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 08, 2013, 09:53:34 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 08, 2013, 12:32:55 AM

You'd have to question why Donegal kept firing kick-outs in his direction.
So it wasn't a great performance because Donegal kicked the ball in his direction. Right.

QuoteYou can't hit greatness on the strength of one game
Indeed. Who said anything about greatness? My OP was about the best midfield performance I remember in Croke park. No more. No less. He could have a stinker in the semi. He might never play well again. It will still be the best midfield performance I can remember.

I'm saying Donegal made it easy for him. Thats all.

As regards the second part you're entitled to your opinion but I'd have a few performances from Jack O Shea and Mullins in my head when marking each otherthat would have eclipsed that
Post by: iorras on August 08, 2013, 10:06:58 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 07, 2013, 06:42:44 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 07, 2013, 06:25:48 PM

We were excellent at winning breaks against Mayo, at least in the first 25 minutes or so when it was a contest. Keenan was like a human vacuum cleaner. The way to beat AOS is breaking it away from him or, where possible, just avoiding him. For all his good work going back into defence you'd love to have your forwards in space with AOS on them because like any man his size he's not going to be able to react as fast or match the smaller man's acceleration.
Why do the Rossies always try to manage to bring EVERY topic back to the irrelevance that is Roscommon football?

Move on lads, go back to watching the 1980 final on Betamax
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 10:18:59 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 08:49:42 AM
People seem to be getting confused here as I would imagine that most Tyrone people would rate Sean Cavanagh as the best midfielder in the country currently.

Fixed that for you

Do you believe Aidan O'Se is better than Sean Cavanagh?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 08, 2013, 10:43:59 AM
Hardy is was a very good performance but as much as it hurts me to do this but I agree with Indiana.  Donegal made it very easy for him and I would go further to say that it wasn't just the fact that Donegal bombed the kickouts on top of him constantly.  The Donegal MF was AWOL for the 70 minutes.  They simply did not have any impact on the game.  You might say that was to do with AOS and his overall awesomeness but they were an abject failure in terms of their role.  Anyone can be an All Star when they are not marked.  When he had the ball he did everything right but it is easy to do it right when not under any pressure.  He field the ball well but he was not under any pressure.  Maybe he is going to be the greatest MF ever but not just on the performance against Donegal.  I would say though that the winning of the AI semi will be decided by who has the most influence in the game between AOS and Cavanagh.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2013, 10:49:22 AM
I thought Aidan OShea was brilliant on Sunday. Was it the best midfield performance in my memory, I dunno, but my memory is bad :D Obviously Donegal were abect, but in fairness there's a cameo where O'Shea won a great ball in his own defence, made a mistake and turned it over coming out, and then blocked the lad down to win it back for Mayo. He was all over the place, bulling out with the ball, winning it and clearing out.  Obviously Donegal's ineptitude was a factor, but it's not like he stood in one place and they kicked it to him all day either.

In terms of 'possessions' though, Gooch had over 30 on Saturday as well, which I thought was very impressive, and I think he's the sort of lad that will do damage with his passing if he's getting the ball 30 times. Ger Brennan will need to get a lot tighter than Cavan did.

Back to O'Shea though, it was a great performance, and I think the fact that he won MOTM while a corner forward scored 3-4 is fairly impressive itself!
Post by: Hardy on August 08, 2013, 11:04:19 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 08, 2013, 10:43:59 AM
Hardy is was a very good performance but as much as it hurts me to do this but I agree with Indiana.  Donegal made it very easy for him and I would go further to say that it wasn't just the fact that Donegal bombed the kickouts on top of him constantly.  The Donegal MF was AWOL for the 70 minutes.  They simply did not have any impact on the game.  You might say that was to do with AOS and his overall awesomeness but they were an abject failure in terms of their role.  Anyone can be an All Star when they are not marked.  When he had the ball he did everything right but it is easy to do it right when not under any pressure.  He field the ball well but he was not under any pressure.  Maybe he is going to be the greatest MF ever but not just on the performance against Donegal.  I would say though that the winning of the AI semi will be decided by who has the most influence in the game between AOS and Cavanagh.

BC, I'm not disagreeing with you or Indiana. I'm just saying that no matter what the reason, this was the best display I can remember from a midfielder. A couple of points, though:

Even if Donegal were kicking the ball to him all the time, he had to win it. He did - practically every time - and that was jumping with three others most of the time. And you could argue that the absence of Donegal's midfield was as likely the effect of AO'S's performance as the cause of it. (But I won't - they were shite.)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 11:14:11 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 10:18:59 AM

Fixed that for you

I don't think there's much in it. Sean Cavanagh scores more points so gets more headlines. At the dirty ball winning, laying off etc etc O'Se is better. At attacking and scoring Cavanagh is better.

In terms of value to the team  Tyrone have less free scoring forwards(maybe that should be players with Mayo's half back line) so depend on Cavanagh's scores more and he is invaluable in that regard. In terms of O'Se's value to the team he provides the platform for others to score. If O'Se didn't win so much ball Mayo wouldn't score anywhere near as much. If Cavanagh didn't score points Tyrone wouldn't score anywhere near as much. Net result really the same to me and they're about on a par.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 08, 2013, 11:23:02 AM
O'Shea was good on Sunday but his performance has been grossly over-rated! Funny how he is lauded for a display which included two cynical yellow card fouls and Cavanagh is castigated for what an equally good performance with one cynical yellow card foul. O'Shea's 2nd yellow when 20 or so points ahead was silly in the extreme! I personally think Donal Vaughan had a much bigger influence on the game, especially in the first half when the game was still there to be won.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 12:10:31 PM
Is the number of possessions the new stat in rage in 2013?  Never heard as much about the number of possessions certain players had as I have over the past few weeks.  Its what you do with it that counts.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 08, 2013, 12:13:03 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 11:14:11 AM

Fixed that for you

I don't think there's much in it. Sean Cavanagh scores more points so gets more headlines. At the dirty ball winning, laying off etc etc O'Se is better. At attacking and scoring Cavanagh is better.

In terms of value to the team  Tyrone have less free scoring forwards(maybe that should be players with Mayo's half back line) so depend on Cavanagh's scores more and he is invaluable in that regard. In terms of O'Se's value to the team he provides the platform for others to score. If O'Se didn't win so much ball Mayo wouldn't score anywhere near as much. If Cavanagh didn't score points Tyrone wouldn't score anywhere near as much. Net result really the same to me and they're about on a par.
O'se has done it once in croke park , whereas cavanagh ahs been doing it for 10 years.
O'se may go on to be as good a football as cavanagh, he might win 3 allirelands, a footballer of the year and 4 or 5 allstars, but at the minute i would say Cavanagh is the better player having already done all that
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:17:20 PM
I can't believe anyone could type that it's even questionable that Sean Cavanagh is a better midfielder than AOS right now.

Cavanagh has never been a traditional midfielder, he's in the Earley mould of being the free-taker/key attacker on his team. As an out-and-out midfielder Cavanagh has rarely struck me as exceptional. As a player, he's one of the best of his generation. He's playing in the middle because Mickey knows it's the best place to have him to feed him ball. The more touches he gets, the better it always is for Tyrone.
Post by: Man Marker on August 08, 2013, 12:22:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:17:20 PM
I can't believe anyone could type that Sean Cavanagh it's even questionable that he is a better midfielder than AOS right now.

Cavanagh has never been a traditional midfielder, he's in the Earley mould of being the free-taker/key attacker on his team. As an out-and-out midfielder Cavanagh has rarely struck me as exceptional. As a player, he's one of the best of his generation.

Can you understand this, Cavanagh is playing midfield for Tyrone, what you need to do is reassess your view of football, traditional football doesn't exist i.e. 15 V 15 orthordox style, its now everyone defend, everyone attack, very simple, but I'm sure you understand, do you?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 12:25:46 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 08, 2013, 12:13:03 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 08, 2013, 11:14:11 AM

Fixed that for you

O'se has done it once in croke park , whereas cavanagh ahs been doing it for 10 years.
O'se may go on to be as good a football as cavanagh, he might win 3 allirelands, a footballer of the year and 4 or 5 allstars, but at the minute i would say Cavanagh is the better player having already done all that

In one respect I would agree with you - Cavanagh has done it many times before so you know he is tried and trusted.

Aidan O'Se hasn't done it so much before and is still a developing player so has he just had a few good games or is he outstanding.

Based on the last number of games I doubt there's too much in it.

That isn't a slight on Sean Cavanagh
. At the minute he's playing outstanding but so is Aidan O'Se.

Note that for Cavanagh to play such an outstanding role he needs a partner in crime as for once Syferus makes a valid point that Cavanagh isn't a traditional midfielder. He needs a foil to allow him to play the way he does and at present Colm is doing that very well despite all criticism.
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:26:38 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on August 08, 2013, 12:22:20 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:17:20 PM
I can't believe anyone could type that Sean Cavanagh it's even questionable that he is a better midfielder than AOS right now.

Cavanagh has never been a traditional midfielder, he's in the Earley mould of being the free-taker/key attacker on his team. As an out-and-out midfielder Cavanagh has rarely struck me as exceptional. As a player, he's one of the best of his generation.

Can you understand this, Cavanagh is playing midfield for Tyrone, what you need to do is reassess your view if football, traditional football doesn't exist i.e. 15 V 15 orthordox style, its now everyone defend, evryone attack, very simple, but I'm sure you understand, do you?

Where did anything I said contradict any of that?

Midfielders are still expected to win or break ball and provide possession, that much certainly has not changed, no matter what other duties they're given. AOS does the things that make you a midfielder better than Sean Cavanagh does. Simple enough, I'd say.
Post by: screenexile on August 08, 2013, 12:30:46 PM
Jesus some bit of getting carried away on here. At the minute the All Star Midfield is Cavanagh and AOS. Player of the year at this stage would probably be Jack McCaffrey. Does it really matter who is the better footballer? We'll have a fair answer when they go head to head I think but at this point it's conjecture!
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2013, 12:38:27 PM
This is all a bit silly.

Hardy simply thought it was the best midfield performance he has seen in Croker. He is entitled to his opinion and it carries a bit more weight as he is a neutral.

Now it has turned into a perceived slight against Sean Cavanagh. It is understandable that Tyrone supporters want to defend Cavanagh after Brolly's Kevin Keegan moment, but that has nothing to do with this thread.
Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:40:49 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 08, 2013, 12:30:46 PM
Jesus some bit of getting carried away on here. At the minute the All Star Midfield is Cavanagh and AOS. Player of the year at this stage would probably be Jack McCaffrey. Does it really matter who is the better footballer? We'll have a fair answer when they go head to head I think but at this point it's conjecture!

Jack Mc has pace but a lot of nuance is missing from his game right now. Not in the PotY race for me, but a shoe-in for YPotY.
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2013, 12:52:18 PM
POTY will almost certainly come from the winners.

If (Allah be good) it happens to be a team from the West then AOS & COC are the frontrunners at the moment. But it could easily go to another depending on the next two games. O'Connor scored 0-6 v Galway, didn't play against Ros, scored 3-3 as a half-time sub against London and 3-4 against Donegal. That is 6-13 in 2.5 games. But it would be hard to see him maintain his 6 points, per half, average in the next game.

If Tyrone win it out Cavanagh would be the front-runner but a couple of big games could force others over the line.

If the Dubs win McCaffrey appears to be favourite but any of BBB, Flynn, Kilkenny. MDMcA etc could easily win.

BTW, who is the other team left. Are they any good at all?

Post by: Syferus on August 08, 2013, 12:59:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 08, 2013, 12:52:18 PM

If (Allah be good) it happens to be a team from the West then AOS & COC are the frontrunners at the moment. But it could easily go to another depending on the next two games. O'Connor scored 0-6 v Galway, didn't play against Ros, scored 3-3 as a half-time sub against London and 3-4 against Donegal. That is 6-13 in 2.5 games. But it would be hard to see him maintain his 6 points, per half, average in the next game.

If Tyrone win it out Cavanagh would be the front-runner but a couple of big games could force others over the line.

If the Dubs win McCaffrey appears to be favourite but any of BBB, Flynn, Kilkenny. MDMcA etc could easily win.

No.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 08, 2013, 01:19:37 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2013, 12:10:31 PM
Is the number of possessions the new stat in rage in 2013?  Never heard as much about the number of possessions certain players had as I have over the past few weeks.  Its what you do with it that counts.

Funny, I was tasked at club training last to count the possession stats and I said the exact same thing. 
Post by: easytiger95 on August 08, 2013, 01:37:19 PM
Didn't get to see the game live and the highlights didn't really reflect the performance - and far be it from me to disagree with Hardy. But it put me in mind of one of the great "lost" performances at midfield - Ciaran Whelan v Donegal in the quarter final replay 2002. He scored 7 points from play and completely devastated a side that had really put it up to us in the drawn game and had a fairly decent forward line with Sweeney, Devenney and Roper. Whelo was absolutely class that day and i think it was one of the last really swashbuckling performances from him - 2003 and 2004 were poor years and under Pillar he was far more disciplined and tended to stay between the 45s. that day though he scored off left and right and one, in particular under the shadow of the Cusack shooting into the Hill was as good a score as I'd ever seen - racing past the wing back and hanging it up miles out. Good days.
Post by: muppet on August 08, 2013, 01:55:54 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on August 08, 2013, 01:37:19 PM
Didn't get to see the game live and the highlights didn't really reflect the performance - and far be it from me to disagree with Hardy. But it put me in mind of one of the great "lost" performances at midfield - Ciaran Whelan v Donegal in the quarter final replay 2002. He scored 7 points from play and completely devastated a side that had really put it up to us in the drawn game and had a fairly decent forward line with Sweeney, Devenney and Roper. Whelo was absolutely class that day and i think it was one of the last really swashbuckling performances from him - 2003 and 2004 were poor years and under Pillar he was far more disciplined and tended to stay between the 45s. that day though he scored off left and right and one, in particular under the shadow of the Cusack shooting into the Hill was as good a score as I'd ever seen - racing past the wing back and hanging it up miles out. Good days.

Welcome back EasyTiger.
Post by: screenexile on August 08, 2013, 01:57:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 08, 2013, 12:52:18 PM

Probably his worst year in a Dublin jersey he's been very poor!
Post by: criostlinn on August 08, 2013, 02:12:25 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 08, 2013, 11:23:02 AM
O'Shea was good on Sunday but his performance has been grossly over-rated! Funny how he is lauded for a display which included two cynical yellow card fouls and Cavanagh is castigated for what an equally good performance with one cynical yellow card foul. O'Shea's 2nd yellow when 20 or so points ahead was silly in the extreme! I personally think Donal Vaughan had a much bigger influence on the game, especially in the first half when the game was still there to be won.

Two cynical yellow cards, you say, to Sean Cavanaghs one. Please explain this. Please enlighten me as to how you consider Aiden O'Shea's yellow cards cynical.

Poor Joe is fighting a losing battle with ye Tyrone boys if you dont know what a friggin Cynical foul is
Post by: easytiger95 on August 08, 2013, 02:22:22 PM
Cheers Muppet - hope to be around a bit more now the work schedule suits it.
Post by: Hardy on August 08, 2013, 02:31:31 PM
Good man, easytiger! Now my hopes have been boosted that someday we'll get sonny back.
Post by: easytiger95 on August 08, 2013, 02:36:39 PM
Howya Fionn/ Hardy - Jaysis Sonny is a blast from the past! It's well overdue that we get a sequel to "Out of Africa". I know, I'll mention Whelo's "fracas" with Nigel Crawford at the throw in in 2005 - that'll have him coming in off the savannah.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2013, 02:38:15 PM

Well Holy Jaysus!! Welcome back.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 08, 2013, 04:41:51 PM

Well said easy tiger.................. He put in a solid performance in the semi against armagh with a rasper of a goal, however somewhat down hill from there on in

To think eamon fennell and eoghan o gara have celtic crosses and not him  :o
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 08, 2013, 07:40:11 PM
The lad Murphy out of carlow is better than the 2 of them, so that put that argument to rest
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 04:04:43 PM

Well, what's he like today?
Post by: Hardy on August 25, 2013, 04:12:21 PM
Crap. What's that got to do with how  he played a few weeks ago?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 04:17:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 25, 2013, 04:12:21 PM

In an open field a few weeks ago he was imperious as he had no opposition, in a tight MF he has been virtually anonymous resulting in a petulant slap and a cowardly dive clutching his face after it trying to get a man booked/sent off.  He is a good footballer but his performance a few weeks ago was based on the fact that he had no opposition.
Post by: stephenite on August 25, 2013, 04:51:09 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 04:17:57 PM

In an open field a few weeks ago he was imperious as he had no opposition, in a tight MF he has been virtually anonymous resulting in a petulant slap and a cowardly dive clutching his face after it trying to get a man booked/sent off.  He is a good footballer but his performance a few weeks ago was based on the fact that he had no opposition.

The entire hype about the entire Mayo team performance was based on the fact they had no opposition
Post by: stephenite on August 25, 2013, 05:50:02 PM

Wasn't a bad second half to be fair
Post by: Rois on August 25, 2013, 07:51:37 PM
He didn't deserve the standing ovation - bit of an ego-massaging substitution. 
Post by: maigheo on August 25, 2013, 07:57:02 PM

Just wondering did Syferus hack into your account,BC1.you are comming out with alot of rubbish today on this and the other threads
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2013, 07:59:31 PM
Big Seamie was better than Aidan today.

To be fair Aidan  imperious against Donegal and it was always going to be difficult to reproduce that performance.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 25, 2013, 08:28:24 PM
His brother was better today......................Colm Cavanagh had a good game too
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 08:33:26 PM
Quote from: maigheo on August 25, 2013, 07:57:02 PM

Just wondering did Syferus hack into your account,BC1.you are comming out with alot of rubbish today on this and the other threads

I stand over everything I said about AOS.  His brother was much better today and it was his graft in the MF area at the start of the second half which provided a platform for Mayo to build on.  AOS is a very good footballer but he was not great today and against Donegal he basically had a free run of the field. 
Post by: spuds on August 25, 2013, 08:53:00 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 08:33:26 PM

I stand over everything I said about AOS.  His brother was much better today and it was his graft in the MF area at the start of the second half which provided a platform for Mayo to build on.  AOS is a very good footballer but he was not great today and against Donegal he basically had a free run of the field.
Seamie and Colm outshone their more touted brothers today. Aidan did very well in second half. Thought Seán was well marshalled and ended up a relatively peripheral figure.
Post by: ck on August 25, 2013, 10:50:55 PM
AOS is pure gold but when's he's poor he's very poor. If mayo win the final it'll be because AOS plays well
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 26, 2013, 08:02:14 AM

He did hardly any training in between the two games though.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 26, 2013, 09:43:51 AM
Quote from: spuds on August 25, 2013, 08:53:00 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 25, 2013, 08:33:26 PM

Seamie and Colm outshone their more touted brothers today. Aidan did very well in second half. Thought Seán was well marshalled and ended up a relatively peripheral figure.

Did you watch the same game I did?
I thought both were outstanding, Seamus in particular but when we were 6-3 down Aidan won a lot of ball and drove us on
Post by: rosnarun on August 26, 2013, 09:50:00 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2013, 10:53:25 PM
Quote from: ck on August 25, 2013, 10:50:55 PM
AOS is pure gold but when's he's poor he's very poor. If mayo win the final it'll be because AOS plays well
Depends who comes through. I reckon he'd murder Kerry's midfield but the pace and fitness of Dublin's midfield will be some challenge for him.

surely you mean when hes Very Poor he is still good enough to get man of the Match,
Post by: Jinxy on August 26, 2013, 11:17:40 AM
It was striking, watching the snippets they showed of him in action against Donegal, how often he caught clean ball, landed and carried the ball away without a Donegal man in sight.
Tyrone made sure there were bodies around him in the 1st half and he didn't like it one bit.
He won't dominate against either midfield that's left if you ask me.
Maher, Moran and Buckley are all excellent fielders and O'Sullivan, Bastick and MacAuley will harry and run all day.
Post by: Syferus on August 26, 2013, 03:09:13 PM
Don't lose faith in your soul-mate, Hardy, here's him soaring into action for the throw-in:

(http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3788/9600308560_037edbfb2c_o.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on August 26, 2013, 03:27:34 PM
Nice one ross4life.
Post by: rrhf on August 26, 2013, 03:27:53 PM
Theres another Tyrone man jumps higher than o Shea
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2013, 03:43:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 26, 2013, 11:17:40 AM
It was striking, watching the snippets they showed of him in action against Donegal, how often he caught clean ball, landed and carried the ball away without a Donegal man in sight.
Tyrone made sure there were bodies around him in the 1st half and he didn't like it one bit.
Maher, Moran and Buckley are all excellent fielders and O'Sullivan, Bastick and MacAuley will harry and run all day.

I had expected Tyrone  to have a succession of players marking him, who'd all be more concerned about frustrating him than in out playing him at any time. Each would spend 10 minutes at most shadowing him and then would hand the task over to someone else before Deegan stepped in with a yellow card.
Unfortunately, lack of composure is his weakest trait and I was genuinely afraid that he wouldn't be able to cope with the constant niggling and would pick up a yellow card or worse before the end.
That nearly came to pass. However, that doesn't take from his football ability and I'd expect him to be better prepared for what comes his way in the final.
Post by: Syferus on August 26, 2013, 03:44:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 26, 2013, 03:27:34 PM
Nice one ross4life.

But it was my picture, thejuice?
Post by: Hardy on August 26, 2013, 03:49:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 26, 2013, 03:09:13 PM
Don't lose faith in your soul-mate, Hardy, here's him soaring into action for the throw-in:

(http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3788/9600308560_037edbfb2c_o.jpg)

Sometimes I think I've been permanently exiled in an under-fives playgroup for something awful I did years ago that I can't remember.
Post by: rrhf on August 26, 2013, 03:57:11 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2013, 03:43:44 PM

I had expected Tyrone  to have a succession of players marking him, who'd all be more concerned about frustrating him than in out playing him at any time. Each would spend 10 minutes at most shadowing him and then would hand the task over to someone else before Deegan stepped in with a yellow card.
Unfortunately, lack of composure is his weakest trait and I was genuinely afraid that he wouldn't be able to cope with the constant niggling and would pick up a yellow card or worse before the end.
That nearly came to pass. However, that doesn't take from his football ability and I'd expect him to be better prepared for what comes his way in the final.
You listening to Brolly again. How wrong you were.   
Post by: magpie seanie on August 26, 2013, 04:11:26 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 25, 2013, 07:51:37 PM

If that irritated you you'd hate living where I'm living.....
Post by: Jinxy on August 26, 2013, 04:30:40 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2013, 03:43:44 PM

Unfortunately, lack of composure is his weakest trait and I was genuinely afraid that he wouldn't be able to cope with the constant niggling and would pick up a yellow card or worse before the end. That nearly came to pass. However, that doesn't take from his football ability and I'd expect him to be better prepared for what comes his way in the final.

I said to the brother 5 minutes before half time that Mayo would win comfortably if they kept 15 on the field.
It's fierce easy for a lad his size to pick up a yellow.
Post by: Keyser soze on August 26, 2013, 05:12:53 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 26, 2013, 04:11:26 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 25, 2013, 07:51:37 PM

If that irritated you you'd hate living where I'm living.....

Really shocked he wasn't hooked a lot earlier tbh, he was only 1 silly foul away from missing the final and with that grinning clown Deegan reffing I thought Horan was dicing with danger by not subbing him with 15 to go.
Post by: ONeill on August 26, 2013, 05:21:36 PM
(http://balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/osheaface.gif)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 22, 2013, 05:07:39 PM
Where was he today?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 22, 2013, 05:10:46 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 22, 2013, 05:07:39 PM
Where was he today?

Not his day today anyway. Seemed to struggle a bit with the pace and how open the game was. Not too many kickouts landed high into midfield for him to claim.
Post by: CD on September 22, 2013, 05:16:06 PM
Had a really poor game but was in good company! Not too many great performances from either team.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2013, 05:30:48 PM
Seamus was better than Aidan again today and for some reason he was taken off?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 22, 2013, 05:33:03 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2013, 05:30:48 PM

Aye found that strange to be taken off
Post by: CD on September 22, 2013, 05:47:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 22, 2013, 05:33:03 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 22, 2013, 05:30:48 PM

Aye found that strange to be taken off

Thought that myself! I'm assuming he had a knock - I know there was talk early in the week that we was carrying an injury into the game
Post by: Syferus on September 22, 2013, 05:51:51 PM
Aido was very poor today. You'd swear Bastick was an Olympic sprinter the distance he was in front of AOS for kick-outs. Sub should have been AOS for Moran, though it's not like Moran even looked like touching the ball. Cluxton destroyed Mayo's biggest strength.
Post by: ross4life on September 22, 2013, 07:46:15 PM
Throughout this years championship SOS has performed better than AOS but the one game against Donegal AOS has been hyped to the hills. Will be interesting next year when Barry Moran is fully fit as last year IMO he was Mayos best midfielder.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 22, 2013, 08:24:27 PM
Aidan is not the footballer Anthony Tohill was at his age, and he does seem to lack abit of pace which the brother has, he be lucky to in a all star as i have MacCauley an his brother in front of him with Sean Cav in the half forward line
Post by: Whishtup on September 22, 2013, 09:04:37 PM

Moo!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 23, 2013, 03:29:46 AM
Where was he today?

Maybe he met a better unit?

Dublin's Midfield has been consistently underrated all year. Once the QFs came around, we were expected to lose every game in the middle.  Well, it might be time to admit that McAuley, O'sullivan, and Bastick in the second half is actually an excellent unit, capable of living with the best of them.
Post by: Syferus on September 23, 2013, 07:59:39 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on September 23, 2013, 03:29:46 AM
Where was he today?

Dublin's Midfield has been consistently underrated all year. Once the QFs came around, we were expected to lose every game in the middle.  Well, it might be time to admit that McAuley, O'sullivan, and Bastick in the second half is actually an excellent unit, capable of living with the best of them.

1v1 contesting a high ball they would have stood little chance. It was more about Cluxton than the midfielders yesterday, and AOS being so loose in his marking. Dublin's midfield remains one of their two big weaknesses.
Post by: screenexile on September 23, 2013, 11:18:07 AM
Where was he today?

Dublin have changed the definition of a good midfielder! It used to be that you were a good midfielder if you could outcatch your opponents. MD McAuley and O'Sullivan can't do that. What they can do is work as part of a devised system which means they create space for Cluxton to hit the ball to and they can then run onto it.

Fair play they did it exceptionally yesterday and I personally thought that was the main reason for them winning the game!
Post by: nrico2006 on September 23, 2013, 12:10:43 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 23, 2013, 11:18:07 AM
Where was he today?

Dublin have changed the definition of a good midfielder! It used to be that you were a good midfielder if you could outcatch your opponents. MD McAuley and O'Sullivan can't do that. What they can do is work as part of a devised system which means they create space for Cluxton to hit the ball to and they can then run onto it.

Fair play they did it exceptionally yesterday and I personally thought that was the main reason for them winning the game!

Sean Cavanagh changed the definition of a midfielder.  Amazes me how people suggest he is this, that and the other just because he doesn't win kick-out after kick-out in the air.  More to midfield than catching the ball.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 23, 2013, 03:30:09 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 23, 2013, 12:10:43 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 23, 2013, 11:18:07 AM
Where was he today?

Sean Cavanagh changed the definition of a midfielder.  Amazes me how people suggest he is this, that and the other just because he doesn't win kick-out after kick-out in the air.  More to midfield than catching the ball.

Micky Harte began the change I think with Tyrone not winning so much round midfield and winning more breaks.

Cluxton has made a massive difference to it though with how tactical his kickouts were. Shane Ryan, who wasn't really a midfielder, won some number of kickouts so the ball was rolling long before now.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on September 23, 2013, 05:07:18 PM
Ye can add Vaughan to that list today too......................................Flynn absolutely bullied him all day yesterday
Post by: Jinxy on September 23, 2013, 05:11:04 PM
Vaughan did his usual cardboard tough guy routine by running in to throw shapes and ending up on his arse at one stage.
Post by: GJL on July 09, 2016, 08:33:16 PM
Take a reddner Aiden :o