Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaffer on July 27, 2013, 10:56:29 AM

Title: BT Sport
Post by: Gaffer on July 27, 2013, 10:56:29 AM
Anyone signed up to this ? Wondering is it worth investing in if you have sky sports already ?
Title: Re: BT Sport
Post by: Minder on July 27, 2013, 11:01:18 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on July 27, 2013, 10:56:29 AM
Anyone signed up to this ? Wondering is it worth investing in if you have sky sports already ?

Well if you have BT Broadband it's free so not much of a decision to make !
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2013, 11:11:27 AM
Have signed up. Like Minder says I have BT Broadband so it is free - very easy decision.
Post by: Minder on July 27, 2013, 11:20:24 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2013, 11:11:27 AM
Have signed up. Like Minder says I have BT Broadband so it is free - very easy decision.

Where did i say you had BT Broadband ?
Post by: theticklemister on July 27, 2013, 11:30:29 AM
So does it appear on yer tv or internet explorer if yer already a member?
Post by: commonman on July 27, 2013, 11:47:18 AM
QuoteSetanta unveils Premier League fixtures

Liverpool, Manchester United and Arsenal each feature six times on Setanta Sports, which for the first time includes top pick Saturday 12:45 games on BT Sport, in the opening few weeks of the 2013-14 Barclays Premier League season.

First up on BT Sport on August 17th at 12.45 is Liverpool's clash with Stoke at Anfield, which will be followed by Aston Villa's trip to Arsenal at 15.00 on Setanta.

Man United, Liverpool and Arsenal each feature 6 times during the opening weeks, with the Merseyside derby between Everton and Liverpool scheduled for November 23rd.

Another top pick is Tottenham's clash with Manchester United on November 30th at 12.45 on BT Sport, while another early highlight on September 28th sees former Chelsea boss Andre Villas-Boas welcome his former mentor Jose Mourinho, who is back in charge of the Blues, to White Hart Lane.

The same afternoon Manchester United will host West Brom on Setanta, while Manchester City will entertain Everton in front of the BT Sport cameras on October 5th.

From August 1st Setanta subscribers will receive three new channels BT Sport 1, BT Sport 2 and ESPN resulting in an increase from 33 matches to 71 Premier League matches over the coming season. Setanta subscribers will have 28 BT Sport Saturday games with a 12.45pm kick off and 18 of these will be top pick games which means Setanta subscribers will have access to the highest profile fixtures on 18 weekends over the season.
Fans of both Liverpool and Manchester United do not have to wait until the start of the season to see their teams in action as the Reds' pre-season game against Preston North End will be broadcast on Setanta Ireland this Saturday, July 13th at 15.00.

In addition Steven Gerrard testimonial against Olympiacos will be shown on BT Sport on August 3rd with Rio Ferdinand's testimonial between United and Sevilla set for August 9th.

"This is a very exciting time for us in Setanta with the addition of BT Sport 1, BT Sport 2 and ESPN," Brian Quinn, Marketing Operations Director of Setanta Sports said.

"To have 71 Barclays Premier League games this season including 18 top picks is fantastic.  We feel that our initial fixture list as announced today will appeal to most football fans but of course fans of Man United, Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal will be particularly pleased.

"Having games like the Merseyside derby, Spurs v Man United and Chelsea v Spurs is a real step up in quality for us. Also BT Sport have only used 5 of their 18 top picks which means there are even more big clashes to come."
Post by: Gaffer on July 27, 2013, 01:33:02 PM
Thanks for that
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2013, 06:23:34 PM
Really feckin' annoyed at ESPN jumping ship. Robbing basta*ds.
Post by: naka on July 29, 2013, 04:14:33 PM
Pissed off
Because am a business user they are trying to charge 12 pounds a month
Told them to feck off
Post by: johnneycool on July 29, 2013, 04:49:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 27, 2013, 11:11:27 AM

I have BT Broadband, but its that shíte I can't get BT sport.

Is there a set top box option of some sort or other?
Post by: ned on July 29, 2013, 09:05:09 PM
You can get BT Sport through Sky or through your PC if you have a BT broadband sub.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2013, 12:48:54 PM
I can't believe ESPN America is biting the dust with this rejigging. I hope they show some of the NCAA matches on ESPN proper.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2013, 01:22:45 PM
JC if you log into your BT account you should be able to get an option to add it to your sky. You'll need your sky viewing card number but can get that easy enough from the box. I ordered it last night so hopefully it will turn up ok when they turn it on.(Presumably on August the 1st as that's the cut off date fo signing up)
Post by: johnneycool on July 30, 2013, 01:25:52 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 30, 2013, 01:22:45 PM
JC if you log into your BT account you should be able to get an option to add it to your sky. You'll need your sky viewing card number but can get that easy enough from the box. I ordered it last night so hopefully it will turn up ok when they turn it on.(Presumably on August the 1st as that's the cut off date fo signing up)

Don't have Sky either, just the old freeview TV's. They do have the channels coming up on them, but not sure how I'd activate them,,
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2013, 01:30:20 PM
http://www.cable.co.uk/community/qa/can-i-get-bt-sport-on-freeview-q40/ (http://www.cable.co.uk/community/qa/can-i-get-bt-sport-on-freeview-q40/)

Looks like on digital you need sky or BT TV for it. >:(
Post by: johnneycool on July 30, 2013, 01:55:46 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 30, 2013, 01:30:20 PM
http://www.cable.co.uk/community/qa/can-i-get-bt-sport-on-freeview-q40/ (http://www.cable.co.uk/community/qa/can-i-get-bt-sport-on-freeview-q40/)

Looks like on digital you need sky or BT TV for it. >:(

Can't get BT TV as I can't get BT infinity, so the only options are the PC based broadband which is really shit speeds OR FreeSat, do they have BT Sport on FreeSat?
Post by: imtommygunn on July 30, 2013, 01:59:58 PM
I don't think so no.
Post by: T Fearon on July 30, 2013, 03:45:10 PM
So Partick Thistle V Dundee Utd this Friday night is BT sport's first live broadcast?
Post by: Gaffer on July 30, 2013, 03:47:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 30, 2013, 03:45:10 PM
So Partick Thistle V Dundee Utd this Friday night is BT sport's first live broadcast?

I'll sit in for that one !!!!!!
Post by: AQMP on July 31, 2013, 10:32:37 AM
BT TV not available where I live.  Decision made then!
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 01, 2013, 09:09:51 AM
I currently have my Broadband with TalkTalk (ended with them after going with Nildram 10 years ago and they went through 2 or 4 acquisitions).

Am I mad for not signing up to BT broadband to take advantage of the BT Sport free channel offer?

I am happy with the broadband service I get, but I guess there is no logical reason for that to change if I switch to BT as I am using BT lines anyway.
Post by: NAG1 on August 01, 2013, 09:37:34 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on August 01, 2013, 09:09:51 AM
I currently have my Broadband with TalkTalk (ended with them after going with Nildram 10 years ago and they went through 2 or 4 acquisitions).

Am I mad for not signing up to BT broadband to take advantage of the BT Sport free channel offer?

I am happy with the broadband service I get, but I guess there is no logical reason for that to change if I switch to BT as I am using BT lines anyway.

I had signed up with Sky for their BB service and could not believe how slow it was, stuck it out for the year contract switched to BT recently and the speed change is completely unreal. The wireless is more or less perfection.
Post by: johnneycool on August 02, 2013, 11:53:56 AM
Got a bit of BT sport free last night, Mickey Owen might but me off my crusade to get it though!!!
Post by: laoislad on August 02, 2013, 04:05:43 PM
Just added the Setanta Sports package onto my UPC.
Gives me BT Sport 1 & 2, ESPN and Setanta Ireland and Setanta Sports 1.
€16 extra a month on my bill which is reasonable enough I think considering Sky Sports is €35 a month.
What games are they showing? Will they all be on BT Sport or will Setanta and ESPN have some as well?
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2013, 04:14:53 PM
Just in time to see the clash of the titans tonight, Partick Thistle V Dundee Utd ;D
Post by: Gaffer on August 02, 2013, 04:19:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2013, 04:14:53 PM
Just in time to see the clash of the titans tonight, Partick Thistle V Dundee Utd ;D

I'll sit in for that one too!!!
Post by: laoislad on August 02, 2013, 04:23:01 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on August 02, 2013, 04:19:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2013, 04:14:53 PM

I'll sit in for that one too!!!

There will be better quality games down the local park Sunday morning.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 02, 2013, 04:23:45 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 02, 2013, 04:05:43 PM
Just added the Setanta Sports package onto my UPC.
Gives me BT Sport 1 & 2, ESPN and Setanta Ireland and Setanta Sports 1.
€16 extra a month on my bill which is reasonable enough I think considering Sky Sports is €35 a month.
What games are they showing? Will they all be on BT Sport or will Setanta and ESPN have some as well?
Stevie G Testimonial tomorrow, Arsenal v Galatasaray on Sunday, friendly v Valerenga on Wednesday,  v Stoke on 17th @12:45, Bundesliga, Fulham v Arsenal on 24th...

www.btsport.com
(http://www.btsport.com)
Plenty of your beloved rugby on it too  ;)
Post by: laoislad on August 02, 2013, 04:31:44 PM
Is Liverpool v Stoke the only game on at 12.45 on the opening day?
Could be top of the league at 3pm so...  :)
Post by: T Fearon on August 03, 2013, 08:42:22 AM
Stoke?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 05, 2013, 11:53:09 AM
Does BT Sport work across multi-room?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 05, 2013, 12:22:06 PM
It's probably the same as setanta used to be(maybe stil is) in that it's tied to viewing card number.

You'd need to phone them. The way I signed up it wouldn't (I have bt broadband and sky). As I said it's tied to viewing card.
Post by: Sandino on August 05, 2013, 12:25:43 PM
Will we be able to get this if we use freeview without extra equipment? I am a BT user and I don't want to have to add another receiver to my TV, its cluttered enough in the corner, lol.
Post by: J OGorman on August 05, 2013, 12:36:07 PM
have had BT Vision for a while. From what I got from speaking to a  BT TV chap at the weekend, if you have Infinity you will be able to get sport channels to your box via the infinity. If you have BT broadband, but not infinity (like I do), they will send you a card (much like the old Setanta / ESPN one) that you stick into the BT Vision box. They have one stipulation though, you have to have a decent digital aerial to allow BT sport to feed in from the aerial (other wise there is no point sending her out)...their marker is if you can receive VIVA or More 4 (on the same frequency as BT sport) then you should be good to go. Have downloaded the BT Sport App on the phone, setup a BT id and contacted BT to push the green light to activate..works grand
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 05, 2013, 01:00:55 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on August 05, 2013, 11:53:09 AM
Does BT Sport work across multi-room?

No, you will need need an extra subscription for multi-room. If you have an IPAD, download the BT Sport APP.
Post by: johnneycool on August 05, 2013, 03:06:27 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 05, 2013, 12:36:07 PM
have had BT Vision for a while. From what I got from speaking to a  BT TV chap at the weekend, if you have Infinity you will be able to get sport channels to your box via the infinity. If you have BT broadband, but not infinity (like I do), they will send you a card (much like the old Setanta / ESPN one) that you stick into the BT Vision box. They have one stipulation though, you have to have a decent digital aerial to allow BT sport to feed in from the aerial (other wise there is no point sending her out)...their marker is if you can receive VIVA or More 4 (on the same frequency as BT sport) then you should be good to go. Have downloaded the BT Sport App on the phone, setup a BT id and contacted BT to push the green light to activate..works grand

So you can have BT vision and only broadband, right who do i need to talk to as I hate those bloody call centres..
Post by: NAG1 on August 05, 2013, 03:18:28 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 05, 2013, 03:06:27 PM

So you can have BT vision and only broadband, right who do i need to talk to as I hate those bloody call centres..

JC get online on the website, really easy and better deals on line actually too on the BB side of things.
Post by: johnneycool on August 05, 2013, 03:52:45 PM
I've tried it, but once I go to BT vision and put in my post code it says I can't get it..........

Post by: NAG1 on August 05, 2013, 04:08:25 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 05, 2013, 03:52:45 PM
I've tried it, but once I go to BT vision and put in my post code it says I can't get it..........

BT vision relies on a certain level of download speed as a lot of its features are the downloading and streaming of content.

If this isnt an option what about a basic sky package not sure how much that is at the moment with BT BB and that way you will be able to get it through your sky. Might be a bit extreme but think its the only clear option.
Post by: J OGorman on August 05, 2013, 04:21:08 PM

will try and dig out the number, call centres are a pain but the guy I was speaking to was from the north. he was trying to guage if my aerial on the roof would bring the BT sport in with decent reception afore sending me out  a card for the BT vision box. Seemingly some TV masts give a lot more channels than others, eg, Limavady will give 88 odd channels inc BT Sport, whilst Sheriffs Mountain in Derry will only give 18 odd channels. He told me to make sure mine was pointing to Limavady, it is. That I can pick up channels on the same frequency as BT Sport (More 4 / VIVA), i can..card in the post seemingly. But I can remember from the old Setanta days, using the Setanta card with a 1 off fee of £11/£12,  sometimes the reception was great, other times it was patchy
Post by: johnneycool on August 06, 2013, 08:56:59 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 05, 2013, 04:21:08 PM

will try and dig out the number, call centres are a pain but the guy I was speaking to was from the north. he was trying to guage if my aerial on the roof would bring the BT sport in with decent reception afore sending me out  a card for the BT vision box. Seemingly some TV masts give a lot more channels than others, eg, Limavady will give 88 odd channels inc BT Sport, whilst Sheriffs Mountain in Derry will only give 18 odd channels. He told me to make sure mine was pointing to Limavady, it is. That I can pick up channels on the same frequency as BT Sport (More 4 / VIVA), i can..card in the post seemingly. But I can remember from the old Setanta days, using the Setanta card with a 1 off fee of £11/£12,  sometimes the reception was great, other times it was patchy

Much appreciated if you can hoke out that number for me J. IM me if you can get it.

I can get viva More 4 etc on my freeview TV's, good enough picture, not sure what direction the antenna is pointing, I'd have thought Divis from where I live.
Post by: J OGorman on August 06, 2013, 11:15:30 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 06, 2013, 08:56:59 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 05, 2013, 04:21:08 PM

Much appreciated if you can hoke out that number for me J. IM me if you can get it.

I can get viva More 4 etc on my freeview TV's, good enough picture, not sure what direction the antenna is pointing, I'd have thought Divis from where I live.

no bother..the number I called was 0800 111 4567 and got speaking to a guy from Belfast.
Post by: johnneycool on August 06, 2013, 01:24:04 PM
Rang that number there and they told me I needed a minimum broadband speed of 3 Meg for BT Vision and I've only got 1.6 Meg, I'm surprised its even as high as that, so no go.

They hope to have BT Infinity in the area in 6 months time....
Post by: theticklemister on August 06, 2013, 04:36:21 PM
J o gorman, yer a derry city mucker as myself. My aerial is pointing towards leim an mhaidaigh and have viva and more 4 ok. I dont have that bt vision box as ye state but I have saorview. Im getting three bt channels on saorview at moment but up comes content scrambled.

Will I ring that number and take it from there?
Post by: theticklemister on August 06, 2013, 06:27:22 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 06, 2013, 05:57:04 PM
The BT Sport 1 & 2 channels on the Freeview platform are only for BT Vision subscribers who are not on or cannot get BT Inifinty. They can't be brought as a standalone subscription like Sky Sports 1 & 2, ESPN and Setanta Sports used to be on the platform.

So I need to upgrade to BT vision or infinity to access the sport channels?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 06, 2013, 08:53:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 06, 2013, 01:24:04 PM
Rang that number there and they told me I needed a minimum broadband speed of 3 Meg for BT Vision and I've only got 1.6 Meg, I'm surprised its even as high as that, so no go.

I'm taking from your post you don't have Sky TV?
Post by: J OGorman on August 06, 2013, 09:09:29 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 06, 2013, 06:27:22 PM
The BT Sport 1 & 2 channels on the Freeview platform are only for BT Vision subscribers who are not on or cannot get BT Inifinty. They can't be brought as a standalone subscription like Sky Sports 1 & 2, ESPN and Setanta Sports used to be on the platform.

TV yes but you can download the app onto a phone / tablet and run it through those. Hard to believe infinity isnt available in more areas yet. ..think I registered my interest 13 year's ago
Post by: J OGorman on August 06, 2013, 09:55:35 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 06, 2013, 09:46:20 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 06, 2013, 09:09:29 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on August 06, 2013, 06:27:22 PM

TV yes but you can download the app onto a phone / tablet and run it through those. Hard to believe infinity isnt available in more areas yet. ..think I registered my interest 13 year's ago
Current roll out of FTTC (aka BT Infinity) is completed to the best of my knowledge, not all cabinets were going to be upgraded. If it hasn't been upgraded yet then it's unlikely to be for the foreseeable future.

Speaking to a bt guy at footy. .says the same thing. Hard to believe you can't get it in a city. .2nd class citizens us north west folk ;-)
Post by: johnneycool on August 08, 2013, 01:23:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 06, 2013, 08:53:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on August 06, 2013, 01:24:04 PM

I'm taking from your post you don't have Sky TV?

What, and line the pockets of that right wing cúnt Murdock? Are you wise?

No, don't have sky or freesat.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 01:33:57 PM
Derry and Belfast broadband may still be upgraded due to city special funding arrangements.  However, apart from that BT are finished with their upgrades (I was speaking to a guy this morning).

The only way that us remaining rural dwellers with slow broadband will get any joy is from the likes of this scheme http://www.detini.gov.uk/deti-telecoms-index/deti-telecoms-whats-new.htm  although I've no idea of timescale.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 02:46:09 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 08, 2013, 02:15:08 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 01:33:57 PM
Derry and Belfast broadband may still be upgraded due to city special funding arrangements.  However, apart from that BT are finished with their upgrades (I was speaking to a guy this morning).

The only way that us remaining rural dwellers with slow broadband will get any joy is from the likes of this scheme http://www.detini.gov.uk/deti-telecoms-index/deti-telecoms-whats-new.htm (http://www.detini.gov.uk/deti-telecoms-index/deti-telecoms-whats-new.htm)  although I've no idea of timescale.
Have you checked to see if local 3G mobile coverage has improved in your area recently Joe? There's been an improvement in most rural parts of the north even from just 12 months ago in such coverage from O2, EE (EE, Orange & T-Mobile are now all part of the same family) and 3 that most people even in some very isolated places should be able to get at least one 3G network if they have coverage from at least two 2G networks. Fintona for example has went from zero this time last year to having three 3G networks available since April and this would be the same for many other small towns & mid-large villages not within a sniff of the likes of Derry city or Belfast.

Satellite broadband is also another option. It's still not as cheap as ADSL but it's a lot cheaper than it used to be a couple of years ago, and when you factor in the lack of line rental if you don't really need a landline telephone it's not hugely expensive for many people now.

Cheers Fionn.

Unfortunately my mobile coverage isn't great at home due to a lot of trees nearby so 3G isn't an option for me either.

Satellite broadband has some fairly small download limits.  I think I remember looking at the £40 or £50 per month option just got 10Gb per month.
It's a pity the data caps are fairly low as otherwise I agree it would be a real option.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 08, 2013, 02:50:15 PM
Got Bt Sport in last night, was great to watch the Liverpool game on the big screen instead of the computer and it free and all.
Post by: illdecide on August 08, 2013, 03:34:07 PM
I was going to take this BT Sport option out there and i phoned Sky to get my MAC code from them and they have offered me a 12 month contract paying £119.4 up front and then £21 a month and that gets me unlimited broadband, free evening and weekend calls, Sky TV and Sky Sports as well as the standard channels and the recording box.

Think that's a better deal.
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 06:51:00 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 08, 2013, 03:11:18 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 02:46:09 PMCheers Fionn.

Unfortunately my mobile coverage isn't great at home due to a lot of trees nearby so 3G isn't an option for me either.

Satellite broadband has some fairly small download limits.  I think I remember looking at the £40 or £50 per month option just got 10Gb per month.
It's a pity the data caps are fairly low as otherwise I agree it would be a real option.
Have a look at www.tooway.co.uk - this comes from a satellite broadband service run by Eutelsat which has resellers across Europe, the same satellite is used for RTÉ's Saorsat service. At least two I've seen (Bentley Walker and Avonline Broadband) have 20Gb per month for ~£35 with speeds 20Mbps down & 6Mbps up which doesn't look very special but it does include unlimited usage between 11pm & 7am which is useful if you're looking to schedule large downloads. Factor in that most people are paying around £13-15 per month for line rental and combine that with what most people pay also for ADSL then after the initial outlays it's not excessively expensive compared to BB over copper phone lines. Just for the record I've not really used satellite broadband other than a few occasions with other people's terminals for very short periods, but in the likes of the south and also over in Wales where such set ups are more common, most users seem to be satisfied with their service.

As regards 3G, it is possible to use a fixed external aerial which may improve matters if signal strength is a problem, but either a site survey or your own knowledge of the lie of the land can only give real answers for that idea.

Thanks for that. I might just investigate that a bit more.

Does the delay or lag with the satellite  affect streaming do you know?
Post by: Smokin Joe on August 08, 2013, 09:45:16 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 08, 2013, 09:12:40 PM
From what I'm told it takes a few more seconds to start streaming due to the long latency inherit with satellite broadband (you can't change the laws of physics) but once it starts it works fine.

Well that wouldn't be a problem - thanks.
Post by: laoislad on August 12, 2013, 10:01:58 PM
I'm liking  BT Sport.  Great 2 hrs of Premier League live preview show just there.
Michael Owen,Owen Hargreaves are grand to listen to Macca is ok but not to sure about David James.
Still though it was a nice  change to Paul Merson Phil Thompson Jamie Redknapp and the rest of them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2013, 11:59:10 PM
Haven't watched much yet. Will get stuck into over the next few weeks. Will take a while for the viewing figures to increase.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2013, 09:28:25 AM
Quote from: laoislad on August 12, 2013, 10:01:58 PM
I'm liking  BT Sport.  Great 2 hrs of Premier League live preview show just there.
Michael Owen,Owen Hargreaves are grand to listen to Macca is ok but not to sure about David James.
Still though it was a nice  change to Paul Merson Phil Thompson Jamie Redknapp and the rest of them.

Was just thinking that. I caught the last 15 minutes or so. Interesting that all 3 ex-Liverpool players picked Liverpool to finish in the top 4 I think :) The delusion is not limited to the fans :) Hargreaves picked Liverpool 6th.
Post by: NAG1 on August 13, 2013, 10:08:54 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 12, 2013, 11:59:10 PM
Haven't watched much yet. Will get stuck into over the next few weeks. Will take a while for the viewing figures to increase.

It will for sure if they keep that p***k Matt Dawson on it, jaysus he is insufferable.