GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Orior on April 03, 2007, 10:43:30 PM

Title: Armagh v Westmeath
Post by: Orior on April 03, 2007, 10:43:30 PM
Not much history between these two teams, so I think it should be an interesting match.

To be honest, I'd not mind a year in Division 3. It would certainly flush out the old guard (perhaps including large Joseph), give us a chance to bind together the next generation.

Its yours for the taking Westmeath, if you're man enough.
Title: Re: Armagh v Westmeath
Post by: corn02 on April 03, 2007, 10:51:17 PM
Hopefully Joe has the cop on to leave this year.

I fully expect us to beat Westmeath by at least six points this week.
Post by: holylandsniper on April 03, 2007, 11:02:58 PM
According to our manager yes, apart from the twins, delighted to welcome rest back - including Stephen, lovely another chance for him to impress
Post by: Tyrones own on April 03, 2007, 11:09:07 PM
 "To be honest, I'd not mind a year in Division 3"

It will take two years to get back to division 1 though.
Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2007, 11:25:45 PM
QuoteNot much history between these two teams

I do recall, when I first took an interest in such matters in the post '77 period, Armagh played Westmeath in a challenge when we got something like 8-14, with one of Harp's finest sons, Sean Devlin, scoring at hat trick at least. I suppose this is unlikely on Sunday, indeed if we score 1-14 it would probably do the trick.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 04, 2007, 12:25:45 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 03, 2007, 11:25:45 PM
QuoteNot much history between these two teams

I do recall, when I first took an interest in such matters in the post '77 period, Armagh played Westmeath in a challenge when we got something like 8-14, with one of Harp's finest sons, Sean Devlin, scoring at hat trick at least. I suppose this is unlikely on Sunday, indeed if we score 1-14 it would probably do the trick.

If memory serves me well armaghniac, I think that was a League game in the Athletic Grounds - 8-13 to 1-06 (open to correction on the score  ;))
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 08:20:40 AM
is there any word of any of the injury problems clearin nd passin fit?
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 10:44:11 AM

trying to do the impossible and read Joe mor's mind, the team for sunday will probably be

Hearty
Moriarty
Toner
McNulty
Kernan
McGeeney
Dyas
McGrane
Loughran
O'Rourke
Kernan
McKeever
McDonnell
Marsden
McConville
Post by: thebandit on April 04, 2007, 11:05:15 AM
Oisin McConville definately wont be playing this weekend, I think he's taking a wee break for a few weeks.

I'd be surprised if any Cross man other than Aaron is in contention to start
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 11:06:59 AM
Quote from: thebandit on April 04, 2007, 11:05:15 AM

I'd be surprised if any Cross man other than Aaron is in contention to start

prepare to be surprised
Post by: Six Inch Nail on April 04, 2007, 11:10:01 AM
Uladh, in yesterdays Irish News Oisin led us to believe that he wouldn't be returning to the Armagh squad this week.  Anyone else think that?  Do you not think that Bellew will be at full back?  I know you are trying to name a team that Joe will pick and it is not your opinion, but surely even daddy couldn't put Stephen on when he can't get his place on his club team.  And Loughran, back to the hut with him I doubt and get Lavery or Vernon in the middle.  Don't be surprised to see David McKenna getting a run at some point!
Post by: thebandit on April 04, 2007, 11:11:42 AM
I hope you're right  :)
Post by: full back on April 04, 2007, 11:21:22 AM
From the games that I have seen Mc Kenna at league & championship level IMO he deserves a rattle at the county squad.
Although I dont think he is strong enough for midfield yet, he must be worth a shot at CHF or indeed wing half forward in the remaining league game or indeed the build up to the championship.
All of these opinions may be redundant if the Cross lads are partying for a few weeks!
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 11:23:27 AM
I'm sure oisin will get a break and rightly so. i was lead to believe that francie is still having difficulties with his shoulders and needs more rehab time now? but maybe given the situation, that might be after sunday. i expect at least hanratty and mckenna to be added to the panel along with the usual suspects. Joe is in a bind and he has the readymade excuse that the other lads haven't been cutting it for playing who he likes. i'd say he'll start the club sub.
Post by: full back on April 04, 2007, 11:30:59 AM
Quote from: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 11:23:27 AM
he has the readymade excuse that the other lads haven't been cutting it for playing who he likes. i'd say he'll start the club sub.
TBH uladh, and it is clear you love for Joe isnt that of Romeo & Juliet, this isnt an excuse it's the truth.
Look at the position we are in the league FFS
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 11:39:55 AM

I'm certainly not saying it isn't true but by the same token, i don't hink the return of the cross players is going to make a blind bit of difference. the problems are much deeper than that.
Post by: puskas on April 04, 2007, 11:41:32 AM
has this game been postponed to the 15th or is it going ahead on sunday?
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 11:57:28 AM
NOT "CLUB SUB"S GREATEST FAN BUT AT LEAST A)HES NOT PADDY MCKEEVER AND B)IS A NATURAL HALF FORWARD UNLIKE VERNON,LOUGHRAN R ANYONE THAT HAS TRIED TO PLAY IN THIS POSITION FOR ARMAGH
Post by: full back on April 04, 2007, 11:59:36 AM
Why would the game not be on this Sunday puskas?
Post by: puskas on April 04, 2007, 12:07:09 PM
http://www.hoganstand.com/Westmeath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=75104
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 12:09:57 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 11:57:28 AM
NOT "CLUB SUB"S GREATEST FAN BUT AT LEAST A)HES NOT PADDY MCKEEVER AND B)IS A NATURAL HALF FORWARD UNLIKE VERNON,LOUGHRAN R ANYONE THAT HAS TRIED TO PLAY IN THIS POSITION FOR ARMAGH

so are every half forward playing for their club in the county.

stop shouting
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 12:17:36 PM
WHAT HALF FORWARD LINE WUD U PLAY THEN ULADH?KERNAN HAS SHOWN POTENTIAL B4 IN THAT POSITION,THOUGH NOT OFTEN ENOUGH.WUD U RATHER PLAY SUM1 AND LET THEN RUN ROUND LIKE A HEADLESS CHICKEN,WHICH HAZ HAPPENED THE WHOLE CAMPAIGN.IM JUST STATING HE KNOWS THE POSITION UNLIKE OTHERS
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 12:18:53 PM

martin ahern, john mc entee or john murtagh?

stop shouting
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 12:26:41 PM
the fact that mcentee has retired would probably count against him, ahern dont think so murtagh though worth a look wud agree

Post by: puskas on April 04, 2007, 12:30:10 PM
just after re-reading that. it only applies to div 2A games.
Post by: Six Inch Nail on April 04, 2007, 12:48:24 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 12:18:53 PM

Martin Aherne is way too light for county football and I think that John Murtagh is too found of the good life to play county football.  Martin O'Rourke has to be one of the half forwards, I think that Marsden could be worth a look at on the 40', leaving us needed one more for Sunday.  I know to a certain extent that would be robbing Peter to pay Paul, but I really think that we need to find a centre half forward from somewhere, Oisin will be a help to McDonnell when he returns.
Post by: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 12:53:59 PM

I don't believe either ahern or murtagh are fit for county football either. i'm merely pointing out two obvious candidates who are ahead of sk in the natural order of selection
Post by: illdecide on April 04, 2007, 01:07:12 PM
Quote from: Six Inch Nail on April 04, 2007, 12:48:24 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 04, 2007, 12:18:53 PM

Martin Aherne is way too light for county football and I think that John Murtagh is too found of the good life to play county football.  Martin O'Rourke has to be one of the half forwards, I think that Marsden could be worth a look at on the 40', leaving us needed one more for Sunday.  I know to a certain extent that would be robbing Peter to pay Paul, but I really think that we need to find a centre half forward from somewhere, Oisin will be a help to McDonnell when he returns.

Marsden def needs to play out the pitch, he's a work horse and i don't think he has the burst of pace needed for the full forward line. He's a smart footballer so out the pitch a bit will suit him and Armagh, Joe can then (try) and bring Oisin back into the full forward line. Armagh's biggest problem in my view is they have lost a bit of drive even the teams of old when the played bad they still fought like Warriors for the ball, that seems to have gone and i don't know if that was a Paul Grimley thing. I just hope it comes back it time for the championship as Donegal could be giving us a hiding.
Post by: Hank Everlast on April 04, 2007, 01:10:27 PM
If i was to have a stab at the team joe will play it wud be...

mckinney/hearty
Moriarty
Toner/bellew
McNulty
Kernan
McGeeney
duffy
McGrane
lavery
O'Rourke
vernon
loughran
McDonnell
Marsden
mckeever
Post by: Louis the Red on April 04, 2007, 01:18:47 PM
Any word on Peadar Toals injury.  Will he be fit for Sunday?
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 02:01:15 PM
hearty
mallon
bellew
McNulty
mckeever
McGeeney
duffy
McGrane
lavery
O'Rourke
marsden
swift/michael o rouke
McDonnell
mcconville
toal

for championship?
Post by: High Catch on April 04, 2007, 02:04:46 PM
Charlie, do you really believe that Aaron Kernan will not be playing in the Championship?
Post by: armaghniac on April 04, 2007, 02:05:21 PM
I think Charlie that Joe would find a place for Aaron somewhere, there may be some debate over his best role but he is a class footballer. Drop C. Mckeever.
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 02:14:59 PM
forgot him copy and pasted the names.would give him a go at chf and drop marty o rourke
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 03:29:41 PM
my championship team

hearty
amallon
bellew
mcnulty
arron
mckeever
dyas
mcgrane
mal mackin
peadar toal
brian mallon (all going to plan he'll be back)
martin orourke
mcdonald
paul keenan
oisin

with oisin comin out into the half forward line!

Post by: Six Inch Nail on April 04, 2007, 03:39:57 PM
Mal Mackin in the middle  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Have you ever been at an Armagh match in your life?
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 03:41:58 PM
QuoteHave you ever been at an Armagh match in your life?

go to every game, i no u have a thing against cullyhanna but this is armagh weare talkin about here! did u not see him against mcgrane last year in the mckenna cup before he got injured playin for j'town!
Post by: David McKeown on April 04, 2007, 03:46:37 PM
Yeah he was excllent in that game but ive never seen him reach that level of form for Armagh.  TBH i thought his best game was when he came on at FF for clarke against Donegal a few years back
Post by: Six Inch Nail on April 04, 2007, 03:47:21 PM
Yes I did.

Did you not see him playing since?

Apart from my obvious dislike for Cullyhanna, Mal Mackin is useless.  The opposition are always at their most dangerous when he has the ball!
Post by: full back on April 04, 2007, 03:49:26 PM
ard mhaca abu - are you armagh4samagain in disguise?
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 03:55:33 PM
Quoteard mhaca abu - are you armagh4samagain in disguise?
no y do you think that?
Post by: charlie stubbs on April 04, 2007, 04:02:52 PM
if mallon is fit would definately have him at chf think he is mcentee's natural replacement and he lets the ball go alot quicker meaning the ff line can benefit of early ball.not sure of keenan to be honest.but at the min imo its very hard for us to get fifteen players that u cant complain about.the last few years the team more or less picked itself,barring one or maybe 2 positions,don't even think joe knows the best team never mind me or u
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 04:21:10 PM
keenan was the only player we had against derry and against galway in the first half when the ball went in early keenan was very effective!
Post by: Uladh on April 05, 2007, 11:11:18 AM
Quote from: ard mhaca abu on April 04, 2007, 03:29:41 PM
my championship team

hearty
amallon
bellew
mcnulty
arron
mckeever
dyas
mcgrane
mal mackin
peadar toal
brian mallon (all going to plan he'll be back)
martin orourke
mcdonald
paul keenan
oisin

with oisin comin out into the half forward line!

Post by: charlie stubbs on April 05, 2007, 11:36:57 AM
share your centiments uladh if we have keenan at full forward for the summer we will do well to see august
Post by: High Catch on April 05, 2007, 11:42:13 AM
Think that's being abit harsh. He has played rightly this year before he got injured a few weeks back.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 05, 2007, 11:50:42 AM
No news from the Westmeath camp yet, team usually announced tonight. What's the best way to Crossmaglen coming from Dublin, i.e. which turnoff around Dundalk???
Title: Ger Loughnane Directions...
Post by: Uladh on April 05, 2007, 12:13:36 PM

Straight to the end of the new motorway, which'll take you onto the ballymac roundabout. take your second exit, signposted greenore/omeath and stay on that road for about eight miles. you can't miss it on the left hand side!
Post by: illdecide on April 05, 2007, 12:17:19 PM
Stephen and Aaron Kernan were at training on Tue night as well as Hearty but no Bellew and i hear Mc Conville is on the sauce. So stephen Kernan is coming to the rescue for Armagh on Sunday ::). Can't even get his place with Cross
Post by: thebandit on April 05, 2007, 12:20:49 PM
Uladh ur a bad hoor.....
Post by: Uladh on April 05, 2007, 12:21:28 PM

What?
Post by: thebandit on April 05, 2007, 12:26:42 PM
If they are heading to Omeath they are going the opposite direction to Cross :D
Post by: Uladh on April 05, 2007, 01:27:48 PM

SSSSSSSSHHHHHHHH
Title: fao Charlie Stubbs
Post by: heganboy on April 05, 2007, 08:54:25 PM
I'd be pretty sure that injury problems aside Paddy Mc will be playing in the half forward line come championship, in fact he has even lined out at MF in a couple of challenges this year. The biggest problem that Armagh face in the line up is that a conventional half forward line isn't played, all of the half forwards play the same role as an attacking midfielder in a club game, cover a lot of ground, have a strong physical presence and should provide good link play between back and the ff line. The ability to run at players and score long range points, whilst certainly a bonus, is not the selection criteria as JK has proved time and time again
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 12:43:09 AM
QuoteTake the Castleblaney/Dundalk exit off the motorway. Turn left at the top of the slip road. Go on out that road about 5/6 miles. You will see a sign on the right for SuperValue in Crossmaglen. Take that turn it will take you directly into Cross, past the pitch.
(http://www.picsoup.com/images/38775cross-route.jpg)

Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2007, 01:12:50 AM
QuoteI'd be pretty sure that injury problems aside Paddy Mc will be playing in the half forward line come championship

Paddy Mc has played well for Armagh. However he seems to do this when the team is going well if things are going badly he is not one to lift the team in the way that Oisin or Stevie can do.
Title: From Setanta
Post by: Uladh on April 06, 2007, 11:43:48 AM

Armagh manager Joe Kernan has drafted in three of Crossmaglen's All-Ireland Club championship -winning side for Sunday's Allianz National Football league Division 1B clash with Westmeath.

Paul Hearty returns between the posts in place of Ciaran McKinney. Francie Bellew comes in at full back, while Aaron Kernan takes up his usual right wing back berth.

ARMAGH: P Hearty; E McNulty, F Bellew, F Morriarty; A Kernan, K McGeeney, B Donaghy; P McGrane, C Toner; J Lavery, D Marsden, Martin O'Rourke; S McDonnell, P Loughran, P McKeever.
Post by: Uladh on April 06, 2007, 11:45:59 AM

Great to see Marsden at 11. that'll give us a bit of threat and creativity there for the first time this year.

Can't see Ciaran McKinney being exceptionally happy at losing his place at the first time of asking.

I'd also assume Loughran will augment the midfield.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 06, 2007, 11:55:37 AM
Uladh, I wouldn't necessarily sayhe has lost his place.  In the League Joe always rotates the Keepers so maybe he is just giving Hearty his turn as he hasn't played any league at all, nothing moresinister than that.

I have to say I am delighted to see Marsden at 11.  I really think that this would be the role for him.  If they do bring Loughran out to supplement midfield, Marsden can play slightly closer to the FF line and be both creator and score taker.  With MOR on the wing doing the grafting I think this is potentially very beneficial for Armagh.

Also with Geezer at CHB and McGrane MF that is a very experienced axis to build upon.
Post by: Uladh on April 06, 2007, 12:12:09 PM

Agreed bc... it has a better looking structure to it than previously. for this sunday, if what we expect happens the stevie will still carry a mjor scoring burden as given paddy's recent efforts there'll not be much in the way of help inside.
Post by: Armamike on April 06, 2007, 12:33:35 PM
Will be interesting to see how Marsden performs at CHF. Definitely worth trying him there.  It's hard to see where the scores are going to come from though, especially with Armagh needing to win by 6 - that forward line looks very toothless indeed.  I'd be worried too that Philly Loughran will have a largely anonymous game again in that type of roaming forward role that gives him a licence to stay completely out of it.  Need a big game from McKeever (start praying) and O'Rourke needs to release the ball a lot sharper and accurately.  i don't know what Westmeath's half  forwards are like, but i'd be worried about young Donaghy at wing back.  Armagh can win this game, but by 6?   
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 06, 2007, 01:50:10 PM
QuoteI'd be worried too that Philly Loughran will have a largely anonymous game again in that type of roaming forward role that gives him a licence to stay completely out of it.

Loughran, IMHO, lacks does not have what it takes in high intensity county games which is what I expect this week's match to be. An interesting team for Sunday but I doubt if Diarmuid is fit enough yet for No 11.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 06, 2007, 02:01:07 PM
CHF will suit Marsden, his link up play is exceptional.

Also concerned about the young Clonmore lad. Didnt he start in the full forward line in the 1st couple of McKenna cup games?
Post by: Orior on April 06, 2007, 02:03:17 PM
From the look of the Armagh team I'm beginning to fear for Westmeath. It wont do their Leinster championship prospects any good by getting a serious whipping on Sunday.
Post by: Armamike on April 06, 2007, 02:30:06 PM
Are you on the happy pills Orior?!
Title: Re: Ger Loughnane Directions...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 06, 2007, 08:33:47 PM
Quote from: Uladh on April 05, 2007, 12:13:36 PM

Straight to the end of the new motorway, which'll take you onto the ballymac roundabout. take your second exit, signposted greenore/omeath and stay on that road for about eight miles. you can't miss it on the left hand side!

Nice try Uladh but we're not all thick fcukers in the midlands, granted we're surrounded by a couple alright...  ;) Actually staying in Omeath Sunday night, taking in Carlingford on Mon (hangover permitting).

That was the route I had in mind lads but wasn't sure of the condition of the road into Cross or if I'd have to go through Cullaville. Thanks lads.

No word on the Westmeath team lads but I don't think you'll be beating us off the pitch, Cross lads back or not. We're not just coming up to make up the numbers... I said at the start of the NFL that we should be looking to win our home games and anything else would be a bonus. We've been pipped at the end in the last couple but a win on Sunday would leave us with 8 points and a possibility of Division 1 football next year. Plus we need a win to set us up to have a right rattle at Longford in May. Should be a good one, looks like we'll have the weather for it anyway.
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 06, 2007, 08:53:08 PM
Don't be too surprised if Oisin makes an appearance sometime during the game on Sunday.
Then the axis of Oisin, Stevie and Diarmaid should get the necessary scores required.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 06, 2007, 09:53:55 PM
Tough game to call on Sunday although i think we'll win but will probably still need Derry to do us a favour as I can't see a 6 point victory. I'd agree that CHF should suit Marsden a bit better although he has seemed well off the pace so far in his league appearances, hopefully Sunday will see an improvement. Would agree with BC's analysis on the goalkeeper situation. I'd say its pretty much a 50/50 call as to who'll make the starting team come championship team. Would slightly favour McKinney myself.

Francie's return should tighten up the defence after last Saturday's debacle. Whatever else about him, he's a tight marker and that's exactly what we missed in Laois. I'm not convinced at all by Moriarty though.

The problem is getting the scores in the absence of mallon, Clarke and mcConville. Hopefully Paddy mcKeever can show a bit of improvement from last Saturday. It'll probably be although cause of relying on Stevie to get us over the line though.

Armagh by a couple of points.
Post by: Red Nose Red Hand on April 06, 2007, 10:20:01 PM
Sorry to interject with something that is not within a hundred Irish miles of being related to the topic - and I apologise for that - but, having profited from his post to cheer everyone up last weekend, can Bud Wiser let us know what's hot this weekend at the horse-racing?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on April 07, 2007, 11:35:21 AM
GK Situation... has to be Hearty. The goal aganst Derry said enough to me to choose Heaty!
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 07, 2007, 01:53:06 PM
Armaghniac, where did you pull that OS extract from? It's very difficult to get uptodate maps.
Post by: armaghniac on April 07, 2007, 02:27:34 PM
QuoteArmaghniac, where did you pull that OS extract from? It's very difficult to get uptodate maps

myhome.ie that sells houses has these maps in the background, they come from mapflow rather than either OS.
however the mapflow maps are generally only in other paid services, as they have to recoup the cost of making these.
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 07, 2007, 05:51:26 PM
Great job Armaghniac and cheaper than the OSi, Thanks.
Post by: armaghniac on April 07, 2007, 06:34:59 PM
QuoteGreat job Armaghniac and cheaper than the OSi, Thanks

Not too hard to be cheaper than the OSi, but only cheaper, but better organised for most applications too.
Its all here in the Armagh threads, better digital maps, tips for a sure nag....... 
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 07, 2007, 08:08:53 PM
Could you organise a 6/7 point win for tomorrow?
Post by: Tyrones own on April 08, 2007, 05:28:16 PM

Does the Derry result keep Armagh in Div 2 then?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2007, 05:51:49 PM
Aye that's Armagh in division 2 with the exact same record as we had last year. We ended up the best team in ulster in 06 so hopefully it'll be the same this year.

We were fortunate enough to win by 4 points. Dodgy Westmeath goalkeeping handed Stevie his second goal. To be honest we were lucky enough to get out of Cross with the win at all (as we were in the other 2 victorys). We should have had Westmeath dead and buried int he first half after missing 2 or 3 gilt edged goal chances in the first half but going on only 3 down at the break, Westmeath rallied and some excellent scores from Dessie Dolan could have inspired them to victory.

Again we're over reliant on Stevie, think he musta scored at least 2-3 today. Great to Marsden back to something approaching his best, if he can keep improving over the next month he'll be a real asset come Donegal. Lavery did some fine fielding at midfield before being taken off and Aaron Kernan had a good game, scored a mgnificent point int he first half and got a crucial late score.

Loughran was poor at full forward. Untill Clarke comes back, this will likely be Armagh's problem position. Oisin scored a great point within a minute of coming on but was quite int he second half although this probably had more to do with the lack of ball coming in. Thought we were very pedestrian for long periods of the second half and were lucky to get away with it. Still a lot of improvement needed before Donegal. Loughran and McKeever especially were very poor today and I really doubt if bringing Stephen Kernan on will be the answer. Still if we can get C McKeever and Andy Mallon back for DOnegal that should tighten up the backs rightly and hopefully Stevie, Diarmaid and Oisin can produce the scores between them. Anybody got any idea of the chances of Brian Mallon and Ronan Clarke seeing much c'ship action? I know Ronan said int he Gaelic Life he was aiming for the Donegal match and I'd thought his was the more serious injury of the two?
Post by: armaghniac on April 08, 2007, 06:06:20 PM
QuoteCould you organise a 6/7 point win for tomorrow?

it is easier to organise a detailed digital map than to get Armagh to do what you want! Indeed during the 25 minutes in the 2nd half when they didn't score I feared for our chances. The last minute goal was lucky but we might have had two in the first half, when Armagh were dominant they didn't get enough on the scoreboard. Aaron Kernan was up and down the field and we might be in Division 3 without him. In the 2nd half when Oisin was on, the ball rarely game up near him. I'll never know how he didn't win a free near the end, when we got our last point, it is routine to complain about the ref, but sometimes you wonder! Marsden clearly knows what to do, but does he have the speed to carry it out?

Still its good to be in Div 2 rather than 3, and given Louth's performance today it is probably fair enough that they rather than Westmeath or Armagh went down.
Post by: dexter on April 08, 2007, 06:59:39 PM
Armagh ratings:
Hearty 9  excellent saves
Enda 9 reading of game superb
Francie 7 steady
Finnian 6 average
Donaghy 6 average
Mcgeeney 7 good distribution
Aaron 8 good going forward
McGrane 9 some inspirational play
Toner 8 good fetching in middle
O' Rourke 6 won some breaking ball
Marsden 7 showed well
Lavery 7 good fielding
Paddy 6 quiet
Loughran 5 Poor
Stevie 9 class act

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 08, 2007, 07:24:49 PM
QuoteI'll never know how he didn't win a free near the end, when we got our last point, it is routine to complain about the ref, but sometimes you wonder!

Didn't have a good view of that incident but in fairness the ref gave us a free in the second half when the Armagh man caught the ball and was knocked over by Stevie McDonnell! And we put the free over.
Post by: bennydorano on April 08, 2007, 07:29:17 PM
Lucky to get a win at all, 4 points certainly does an injustice to Westmeath judged on the second half, but the game could have been over as a contest at half time with the goal chances missed.

Best for Armagh were Aaron Kernan, Stevie & McGrane.  How Donaghy remained on for the whole game is a mystery, especially with Vernon & Dyas on the line.  Marty O'Rourke and the HF line in general had another game to forget.  The battle between McGrane and O'Shaugnessy was excellent, the big westmeath probably shaded him although he baltently pushed him on numerous occasions, although McGrane did return the favour after realising the Ref was doing nothing about it.  A mate with me thought Loughran was good, but I didn't see it, firstly he couldn't play FF(not his fault)when moved out around the middle I though his wing mirror mentality returned.

With the championship only 6 odd weeks away there's a helluva lot to be worried about, particularly in the forwards, our HF line, so often our best line, is just shit at the minute - a worrying time for both McKeever and O'Rourke to hit a dip in form.  There's defintely a place there fo Peadar Toal if he can get over his ankle injury.  McConville hopefully will take a bit of the pressure of Stevie.  Lavery and Toner have shown up well in most games but I dont know if I'd start them,at the minute my team would be:
        Hearty
Mallon, Bellew, McEnulty
AK, C MCKeever, Duffy
    McGrane, Toner
P Toal, MArsden, M O'Rourke
Micheal O'Rourke, McConville, McDonnell

For all the new players we've tried and tested this year, it's telling that none of them would make my first 15, although a few would see action at some stage.  I 'd like to see Michael O'Rourke start, but i dont think Joe rates him.

Post by: Uladh on April 08, 2007, 07:47:44 PM
Far from vintage football but Good to get out of it with a win at the end of the day.

armagh should have been well ahead at half time but tried to work goals when they weren't there very early in the game... maybe the lads were thinking about needing a six point win. 3 points wasn't a true reflection of the first half dominance and we could have paid the price had wmeath taken their shooting boots with them. they must have kicked 7/8 scorable opportunities wide in the opening 15minutes of the second half but the defence tightened up considerably in the closing period. two fantastic saves from hearty went a long way to seeing Armagh home also. it was good to see the ould grind it out mentality in evidence today in the last ten minutes when the game was level and wmeath had the breeze.

Aaron produced a fantastic attacking display, scorinf two vital points but the usual defensive lapses cost a couple of points at least. could he not be tried in a withdrawn h forward role so we can keep his positives and try to cover his frailties? I thought enda was very very shaky for long periods but started getting out in front in the last 15 minutes to good effect. moriarty just seems a bit short at this level and i can't see him playing championship football. wmeath prepared well for francie and buddha dragging him all over the field and getting little pop passes worked a treat. thank god they handicapped themselves by pushing flannagan up onto the square in the second half. After strting well, i'm beginning to wonder if its a season too far for geezer. early days yet dolan tortured him for long periods when he was on him and his distribution was woeful.

it was disappointing to see toner go off early as he'd settled well and was playing some nice football. we haven't really had a good look at him yet. McGrane battled away well as usual and probably broke even. after fielding 2 good balls early on, lavery was anonymous and loughran offered nothing when he eventually moved out.

The half forwards were again disappointing. o'rourke offered his usual shift and maybe this aspect of armagh's game is only missed when he's missing, like last saturday night. diarmaid made a lot of runs and tackled hard but on a lot of occasions the legs didn't carry him where he wanted to go. that said, his man was an absolute rocket. diarmaid made some telling passes in the final ten minutes and it could be argued that he won us the game. lavery was poor and mc keever worse when he was moved out.

McDonnell ploughed his usual lone furrow  today again to good effect. he's worth his weight in gold. Loughran is not a full forward and oisin offered nothing after his first point, with mitigating reasons of course.

division 2 is a lot better than div 3 and its onwards and upwards for the championship hopefully!
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 08, 2007, 07:48:46 PM
Congratulations to Armagh.
If only Oisin had been on during the early part of the 1st half when ample scoring chances were there but Loughran was not able to convert.
In fact we should have had two points but got blocked down and from the resultant counter-attack Westmeath drew two frees which they converted.
I was impressed with Marsden and feel he will wear the No 11 jersey come championship.

Post by: Orior on April 08, 2007, 08:58:55 PM
Who was marking Dolan?
Post by: holylandsniper on April 08, 2007, 09:02:41 PM
Benny, Dyas injured but hopefully back for U21 game
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 08, 2007, 10:02:48 PM
QuoteWho was marking Dolan?
Kieran McGeeney
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 09, 2007, 12:01:15 PM
As normal, not a lot to add to what has been said. Thought the lads were thinking six point win from early on and coughed up many points in attempts for goals.

I honestly believe that Armagh will be a lot more formidable come the Summer - I'm convinced that the Cross pitch does not do Armagh any favours, as it is heavy, undulating, tight and bumpy. I would expect Armagh to improve a lot on the surfaces of Clones, Casement and (God willing) Croker.

I would feel too that Armagh would be doing a lot of heavy work in training, and that come the Championship, we will be a lot sharper.

Best for us yesterday were Hearty, Aaron Kernan, young Toner (until he went off - I hope his injury is not too bad) and Stevie.

By the way - time stops for no man, and watching yeterday I could see a day in the not too distant future when we field a team with no-one from our great day in 2002 featuring.
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 09, 2007, 12:07:07 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 09, 2007, 12:01:15 PM

By the way - time stops for no man, and watching yeterday I could see a day in the not too distant future when we field a team with no-one from our great day in 2002 featuring.

Hopefully when recovered young Clarke can deny us this stat rufus.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 09, 2007, 02:05:16 PM
I've nothing to really add either only that Toner really impressed me, I was very sorry to see him going off. 
As for Stephen Kernan, well what can you f**king say, how can Joe justify it? On yesterday and spent the entire time running round like a headless chicken. 
And whoever makes the announcements, would they ever shut up!
Post by: Uladh on April 09, 2007, 02:07:45 PM

I meant to put that in my original post pog. Would someone please tell the announcer to fcuk off. i couldn't hear a word anyone around me said in the last ten minutes before throwin with that gobshite blathering away in the background. it was brilliant for the down game when the pa was broken.
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 09, 2007, 02:47:30 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 09, 2007, 01:28:07 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on April 09, 2007, 12:01:15 PM
I honestly believe that Armagh will be a lot more formidable come the Summer - I'm convinced that the Cross pitch does not do Armagh any favours, as it is heavy, undulating, tight and bumpy. I would expect Armagh to improve a lot on the surfaces of Clones, Casement and (God willing) Croker.

Is the the Cross pitch not one of worst sufaces being used for county games?

It is a disgrace that as we are reaching the end of the current cycle of success for the Armagh county team, we do not have an adequate county ground to play on and there is no county setup for training and development work.  Tyrone have plans and the money for a multi-pitch centre with indoor taining facilities to be built in Omagh and even Derry have a centre of "excellence" with great facilities.  We have nothing to compete with Fermanagh and Brewster park and its floodlighting. Armagh are about to waste wads of money working on the Athletic Grounds!

Armagh have been about to spend money on the athletic grounds for near on 6 years now. Every year they realease a statment to say work will restart and the ground should be ready for the following years County final, yet it still hasn't been touched.

In regarding centres of excellence rumour has it that a deal has been struct with St. Pats Armagh about redeveloping their grounds for duel usage (TYP you might know more about this being in your profession).
Post by: holylandsniper on April 09, 2007, 03:30:15 PM
Perfect Answer not be - Bulldozer then sell for property then buy elsewere and build top class facility? Though in fairness that would be using their brains.
QuoteArmagh have been about to spend money on the athletic grounds for near on 6 years now. Every year they realease a statment to say work will restart and the ground should be ready for the following years County final, yet it still hasn't been touched.
True, but maybe come 2008 this could happen as large funds will be freed up and made available.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 09, 2007, 03:41:01 PM
Quote from: holylandsniper on April 09, 2007, 03:30:15 PM
Perfect Answer not be - Bulldozer then sell for property then buy elsewere and build top class facility? Though in fairness that would be using their brains.
QuoteArmagh have been about to spend money on the athletic grounds for near on 6 years now. Every year they realease a statment to say work will restart and the ground should be ready for the following years County final, yet it still hasn't been touched.
True, but maybe come 2008 this could happen as large funds will be freed up and made available.

I know it's frustrating lads, but our people behind the redevelopment are just as keen as any of us to see the Athletic Grounds up and running. I have had it on good authority that the powers that be are constantly putting new hurdles in front of the release of the necessary loot - to the extent that there  are people on our side ready to rip their hair out in frustration.

I used to agree myself about relocating the County ground to a green field site on the edge of the City - but what's the point if we intend building a 25-30k that will never get used. The site of the Athletic Grounds will allow for an 18k redevelopment - more than meets our Club Championship/NFL needs, and our home ground for the Summer is only forty minutes up the road!
Post by: Uladh on April 09, 2007, 05:22:26 PM

Is it forty minutes to he maze from armagh?
Post by: Donagh on April 09, 2007, 06:40:14 PM
Spot on analysis as usual Uladh though I still think McGeeney's distribution from HB is second to none. Diarmaid is shaping up nicely and I reckon come championship we'll be a formidable outfit though the Donegal match is probably a few weeks too early given their current form – in saying that, next to Wexford, Donegal they are probably the greatest pretenders and could collapse again against the Orangemen in the Clones sunshine.
Post by: Smokin Joe on April 09, 2007, 08:22:32 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 09, 2007, 06:40:14 PM
though I still think McGeeney's distribution from HB is second to none.

Donagh, I presume that doesn't include yesterday's performance.  I don't think I have ever seen give such bad ball yesterday.

Why, oh why, does every free in our own half have to be taken by Geezer?  At best it slows the play down.

I thought Loughran shaped OK in the number 14 spot, but he was totally lost when moved out after Lavery's injury.
Post by: Datsun Donaghy on April 09, 2007, 09:44:23 PM
QuoteI have had it on good authority that the powers that be are constantly putting new hurdles in front of the release of the necessary loot - to the extent that there  are people on our side ready to rip their hair out in frustration.
[/b][/b][/glow]

Nearly as bad as trying to get a passport in the off-season - young grey haired one!!!
Post by: continuity tug on April 09, 2007, 09:57:36 PM
division 2 is better for armagh that division 3 for next year
big wins against weaker counties like fermanagh and down and louth are good but dont get you ready for big games
also no point having a good surface at cross when the brits are still landing choppers on it
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 10, 2007, 09:13:03 PM
QuoteI thought his wing mirror mentality returned.

The problem is that it never went away! Just think of the options that this 6' 4'' skilled player could offer if he could only get over this problem; unfortunately those who suffer from it never get cured!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 11, 2007, 10:37:40 AM
Disappointing result but encouraging in spots from a Westmeath perspective. Looked wide open at the back early on but after a couple of scares tightened up. In three of the four games we lost in 2B it was goals that killed us so we'll have to tighten up in that regard for the visit to Slasherland. JK looked to be back to his best in patches of the 2nd half and hopefully he continues to improve. Rest of the backs had a quiet, effective game.

Thought Shaugho was immense in the middle, some man for outmuscling (legally IMO). Not sure if Heals is the partner for him though, great workrate but not physical enough. If Flan can get the fitness levels up this is the position for him.

For the second game in a row Glennon played well in the half forwards. When he puts on the afterburners there's no catching him. Bannon was lucky to last as long as he did, didn't look like he wanted to be there at all. Dessie was everywhere, took some lovely points, class act. Budda showed well without really threatening. Connellan tried his heart out, reminds me of Stringer, needs to bulk up. Good to see Gary Dolan back, should be an option for half forward come next month. Willo put over a few frees but has still to rediscover his best form.

Average league campaign from the Lakers. Beat Laois, Derry and Down convincingly and were pipped to the post by Galway, Kildare and Armagh in tight finishes. Louth away was the only real disaster but it'll be a good reference point from what type of welcome we can expect on May 13th.