GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: inexile on June 06, 2013, 03:44:51 PM

Title: Kildare v Dublin thread - where did it go?
Post by: inexile on June 06, 2013, 03:44:51 PM
Was Dinny's Kildare v Dublin thread taken down?
Title: Re: Kildare v Dublin thread - where did it go?
Post by: Johnnybegood on June 06, 2013, 04:19:02 PM
Was a crap thread
Too much politics not enough ball talk
Fancy Dublin to win this by 4/5 points
To their credit under McGeeney Kildare have put in a huge effort and with Jason Ryan on board their tactics will be more solid but their lack in scoring power will again be their downfall
Unless of course they have an off day and shoot the lights out
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 06, 2013, 04:26:39 PM
Seven million reasons why the last thread was taken down  ;)
Post by: Syferus on June 06, 2013, 05:06:07 PM
Surely this proves Don't Matter's claims? ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 06, 2013, 05:40:24 PM
Was there bannings handed out?
Post by: Dont Matter on June 06, 2013, 06:00:13 PM
They're trying to silence me boys, I've moved to a secret location. You'll never get me. I am the voice of the people and they'll protect me.
You may have taken our money but you'll never take our freedom!!
Post by: muppet on June 06, 2013, 06:12:07 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 06, 2013, 06:00:13 PM
They're trying to silence me boys, I've moved to a secret location. You'll never get me. I am the voice of the people and they'll protect me.

I can see you now, proudly, on your piebald, bareback, holding up your hurley.  :D
Post by: INDIANA on June 06, 2013, 06:17:50 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 06, 2013, 06:00:13 PM

Why don't you piss off and setup up your own thread on the subject.
Post by: Hardy on June 06, 2013, 10:17:10 PM
I'd say somebody bit somebody. Expect pictures tomorrow.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2013, 10:32:32 PM
The thread was pulled because Don't Matter revealed his masterplan to go up to Parnell Park and claim back whatever is left of this €7 million in the interests of the wider GAA community

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF178/167389.jpg)
Post by: Dont Matter on June 06, 2013, 11:07:21 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 06, 2013, 06:12:07 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2013, 10:32:32 PM
The thread was pulled because Don't Matter revealed his masterplan to go up to Parnell Park and claim back whatever is left of this €7 million in the interests of the wider GAA community

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF178/167389.jpg)
I can see you now, proudly, on your piebald, bareback, holding up your hurley.  :D

I've been unmasked. How did you two boyos know? Are you one of them? Alright my last attack on Parnell didn't go well. I wasn't prepared but I'm ready this time. I'm warnin ye, I'm coming for ya.

(http://cdn.c.photoshelter.com/img-get/I0000w7FNorNa458/t/150/I0000w7FNorNa458.jpg)

Don't ye worry, I'll be bringing my cockerel too. He's just as angry as me and he's willing to do something about it.
Post by: Hound on June 07, 2013, 07:47:36 AM
Pretty crappy decision by the mods to axe the whole thread rather than take the 7 or 8 minutes to simply delete all the off topic posts
Post by: laoislad on June 07, 2013, 10:12:39 AM
Keep her lit Dont Matter you're doing a fine job.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 07, 2013, 11:45:41 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 07, 2013, 10:12:39 AM
Keep her lit Dont Matter you're doing a fine job.

I see Brendan Quigley has jumped ship
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 07, 2013, 12:12:27 PM
Don't think this thread will survive, unless Don't Matter doesn't spot the story this morning about the GAA's plans for a €9m high performance centre based in you-know-where...
Post by: Dont Matter on June 07, 2013, 02:25:54 PM
Oh not to worry Ohtoohtobe, this facility is not just for Dublin but for everyone. Thats what they say and why shouldn't we believe them?
Just like Croke Park is for everyone. Even though one team plays all their home games there and they get to choose which end they warm up in, the same end that their fans own. Plus with home advantage you get home town referees. They'll add on the time which suits the home team the most as an extra bonus, along with the obligatory soft frees.
That's all irrelevant to this though. This place is for EVERYONE. They say it. 'This will cater for the needs of counties, clubs, schools and colleges in Dublin and the greater Leinster area.' Ok that's not everyone but still, it's not just Dublin.
Who will it benefit the most? Well yeah, probably Dublin but why shouldn't they benefit? It's not as if they already get their fair share of profit from the GAA. Well ok, they do already get their fair share but it's not as if they get any extra funding. Well, you're right again they do but.... surely............capital.........volunteers................................???............ammmmmmm......good for football....................population growth........................................good for hurling...........ammmmmmmmm........................................................1 of those.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 07, 2013, 03:59:35 PM
Your borderline Ted Bundy "dont matter" ............................

I heard Dublin played the Rossies in a challenge the other night.........any scores buckos???? Is the kildare camp all fit and well ????
Post by: Rossfan on June 07, 2013, 04:30:54 PM
We bet Dublin -  by 5 points according to Syfín.
0-18 to 1-10 given on stolensheep so Syfín could be right for once ;D

I'd say we'll take some stoppin now  8)
Post by: muppet on June 07, 2013, 04:54:53 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 07, 2013, 04:30:54 PM
We bet Dublin -  by 5 points according to Syfín.
0-18 to 1-10 given on stolensheep so Syfín could be right for once ;D

I'd say we'll take some stoppin now  8)

There is never any stopping the Rossies.

A bum steer usually sorts them out for a while, but you'll never stop them.
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2013, 08:16:16 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 07, 2013, 07:47:36 AM
Pretty crappy decision by the mods to axe the whole thread rather than take the 7 or 8 minutes to simply delete all the off topic posts

or just ban the imbecile ruining it for everyone else. That would be too simple
Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 08:27:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2013, 08:16:16 PM

Ah, don't be so hard on yourself!
Post by: INDIANA on June 07, 2013, 08:42:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 08:27:08 PM

you're a funny guy. I suppose you have to learn to laugh well in roscommon.
Post by: Rossfan on June 07, 2013, 08:50:18 PM
Stop takin yourself so seriously Indiana and lighten up a biteen.
You're just about the touchiest ( Non 6 Cos ;D) poster around.
Post by: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 08:51:42 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 07, 2013, 08:42:44 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 07, 2013, 08:27:08 PM

you're a funny guy. I suppose you have to learn to laugh well in roscommon.

Like clockwork  8)

Love you too, man.
Post by: inexile on June 08, 2013, 11:51:12 PM
I'm wondering how strong a team Kildare will put out. If the expectation is a big defeat would Kildare management think they might be better off putting out an experimental team for the Dublin match and keeping the main men injury and penalty free for the qualifiers?
Post by: Zulu on June 08, 2013, 11:56:50 PM
Wouldn't imagine there is any chance of that happening. Kildare's main aim would be Leinster and it only benefits them going toe to toe with the likes of Dublin win, lose or draw.
Post by: Syferus on June 09, 2013, 01:25:53 AM
Aye, doing a Westmeath as it is sure to become known as.

If only other teams had the sheer talent and belief of the Ros maybe the rest of ye would be able to put it up to the Dublins and the Donegals of this world.
Post by: Rossfan on June 09, 2013, 10:48:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 09, 2013, 01:25:53 AM

If only other teams had the sheer talent and belief of the Ros maybe the rest of ye would be able to put it up to the Dublins and the Donegals of this world.

Ah !! So that's why we're now going for 3 in a row and are in Div 1 for years.

Drank a bottle of Daddy's beer did we? :-[
Post by: AZOffaly on June 09, 2013, 10:56:10 AM
I always kind of liked the Rossies. Dermot Early came to our club when we were underage footballers and gave us a really nice talk. We've played challenge matches against Clan na Gael, Brigids, Padraic Pearses etc, and got on great with all of them. Roscommon football is similar to Offaly football in a lot of ways.

So it's a real achievement for Syferus to make me hope that Mayo hammer them out the gate!
Post by: Drummerboy on June 09, 2013, 01:07:37 PM
The reply of the Leinster Hurling quarter final between Wexford and Dublin has been set for Parnell Park, which has caused Liam Dunne, the Wexford manager, to complain. He contends the game should be played in Croke Park.

I guess  you can't keep everybody happy.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 09, 2013, 02:16:38 PM
Quote from: Drummerboy on June 09, 2013, 01:07:37 PM
The reply of the Leinster Hurling quarter final between Wexford and Dublin has been set for Parnell Park, which has caused Liam Dunne, the Wexford manager, to complain. He contends the game should be played in Croke Park.

for all the whinging by eejits, all intercounty players WANT to play in croker - whether its against the dubs or not, and even if the dubs are your opponents, no one gives a feck that there 'may' be some home advantage (though most top sides play there as much as Dublin do these days so its hardly any advantage to the metropolitans) !

I'd say parnell park would be considered more of an advantage to Dublin teams ! They play there more often (esp hurling) in the past in league games at least.
Post by: Syferus on June 09, 2013, 02:22:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 09, 2013, 10:56:10 AM
I always kind of liked the Rossies. Dermot Early came to our club when we were underage footballers and gave us a really nice talk. We've played challenge matches against Clan na Gael, Brigids, Padraic Pearses etc, and got on great with all of them. Roscommon football is similar to Offaly football in a lot of ways.

So it's a real achievement for Syferus to make me hope that Mayo hammer them out the gate!

Jesus - we're not that bad, yet.

Back to Dublin. And Kildare too. But mostly Dublin.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:20:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 09, 2013, 02:16:38 PM

for all the whinging by eejits, all intercounty players WANT to play in croker - whether its against the dubs or not, and even if the dubs are your opponents, no one gives a feck that there 'may' be some home advantage (though most top sides play there as much as Dublin do these days so its hardly any advantage to the metropolitans) !

I'd say parnell park would be considered more of an advantage to Dublin teams ! They play there more often (esp hurling) in the past in league games at least.

This fella is like those students from around the country who head to college in Dublin and come back with a D4 accent a few months later. A feeble character.
The reason Dunne wants the game moved to Croke Park is because they haven't played a championship game there since 2008!!!!! Nearly as long as the Dublin footballers have played a game away from Croke Park. I know you don't like me pointing out facts but you can always come up with some off the wall reason for this occurring.
Yes, players like playing in Croke Park but not against Dublin. Obviously because it's giving away home advantage. You didn't see Dunne calling for the game the other day being moved to Croke Park did you? Dessie Dolan said he'd have loved if their game against Dublin was in Mullingar.
Finally to your point in brackets "(though most top sides play there as much as Dublin do these days so its hardly any advantage to the metropolitans)." You're some joker.
I can go find out the stats and make a show of you again or you can accept that that sentence is nonsense.
Post by: Johnnybegood on June 09, 2013, 03:39:24 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:20:36 PM

This fella is like those students from around the country who head to college in Dublin and come back with a D4 accent a few months later. A feeble character.
The reason Dunne wants the game moved to Croke Park is because they haven't played a championship game there since 2008!!!!! Nearly as long as the Dublin footballers have played a game away from Croke Park. I know you don't like me pointing out facts but you can always come up with some off the wall reason for this occurring.
Yes, players like playing in Croke Park but not against Dublin. Obviously because it's giving away home advantage. You didn't see Dunne calling for the game the other day being moved to Croke Park did you? Dessie Dolan said he'd have loved if their game against Dublin was in Mullingar.
Finally to your point in brackets "(though most top sides play there as much as Dublin do these days so its hardly any advantage to the metropolitans)." You're some joker.
I can go find out the stats and make a show of you again or you can accept that that sentence is nonsense.
you seem to have a keen insight into players and managers minds!
Why did the Wexford footballers last year give up home advantage and opt instead to play the Dublin footballers in Croke Park?
Post by: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:52:30 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on June 09, 2013, 03:39:24 PM
Why did the Wexford footballers last year give up home advantage and opt instead to play the Dublin footballers in Croke Park?

They had their reasons. Maybe they didn't want to be the first team to take them out of Croke Park. We all know that it's such a rarity, so a load of Dubs will travel down. Like against Cork back in the day. No one wants to be first but if it becomes a regular thing (like it should), then the novelty factor will be worn off and there will be fairer matches.
Maybe Wexford thought it would show a sign of weakness. By taking them on in Croke Park they'd show they think they can compete. Mind management is huge these days. Whatever the reason, they showed that they could give them a game and if it was in Wexford Park they probably would have beaten them.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 09, 2013, 04:29:49 PM

my point exactly.

jeez- any player I ever knew was always mad to go play in croke park - irrespective of the opposition.
Thats where the quarter finals, semi finals and finals are held, so you want to get used to playing there - plus its the 'mecca' for any footballer/hurler.

Some fans eg Kerry get fed up playing there too often as they so often qualify to play there, and its a heck of a spin for a lot of them. I'd think it was fair enough for games to be played in Thurles - but I dont know if players would agree with that.
Post by: Johnnybegood on June 09, 2013, 06:50:00 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:52:30 PM

They had their reasons. Maybe they didn't want to be the first team to take them out of Croke Park. We all know that it's such a rarity, so a load of Dubs will travel down. Like against Cork back in the day. No one wants to be first but if it becomes a regular thing (like it should), then the novelty factor will be worn off and there will be fairer matches.
Maybe Wexford thought it would show a sign of weakness. By taking them on in Croke Park they'd show they think they can compete. Mind management is huge these days. Whatever the reason, they showed that they could give them a game and if it was in Wexford Park they probably would have beaten them.
congratulations you've  just contradicted you're argument that Dublin have an unfair advantage playing in Croke park.
Post by: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 07:34:20 PM
Quote from: Johnnybegood on June 09, 2013, 06:50:00 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on June 09, 2013, 03:52:30 PM

congratulations you've  just contradicted you're argument that Dublin have an unfair advantage playing in Croke park.

What are you on wacko? Actually don't answer that, I can guess.
How have I contradicted myself? Wexford ran Dublin very close last year, if they played at home they probably would have won ie home advantage would have been that, an advantage.
Since Dublin were at home they had the advantage. You see? It's basic stuff.
Post by: BartSimpson on June 10, 2013, 09:55:20 PM
Jesus. Don't matter is a shit choice of name for you. Soembody has 2 have the HQ in their back garden, so it's in the capital. Get over it.

Hav to laugh at Indiana 2. Tink I know him from another site I read. Mister I'm always rite.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 11, 2013, 04:25:05 AM
Beginning to sense a second deleted game thread for this one.
Post by: boro on June 11, 2013, 07:52:39 AM

On a point of information, Wexford never ceded home advantage last year, the Leinster Council fixed the game for Croke Park. We would have loved to play the Dubs in Wexford.
Post by: Canalman on June 11, 2013, 09:20:38 AM
Quote from: boro on June 11, 2013, 07:52:39 AM

On a point of information, Wexford never ceded home advantage last year, the Leinster Council fixed the game for Croke Park. We would have loved to play the Dubs in Wexford.

99% sure game was entitled to be played in Wexford Park if Wexford County Board wanted it. They didn't and game was fixed for CP. As to why they wanted the game played in CP I don't really know.

Have to say I had a wry smile when I heard Liam Dunne looking for replay to be played in CP.

Despite the cyberwhinging I am convinced that every player in the country wants to  and loves playing in CP, regardless of who they are playing.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 11, 2013, 09:52:05 AM
Any chance of renaming this thread and having a proper one for the match?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 11, 2013, 04:51:54 PM
Id say Jason Ryan will be at breaking point if the lillies loose this one ............................. Hes a great addition to kildare