Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on May 30, 2013, 01:19:32 PM

Title: Cover Versions.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 30, 2013, 01:19:32 PM
Sometimes you get the most unexpected cover versions that work.

Just found this one.

Ride on - AC/DC cover by Norah Jones and band.
Title: Re: Cover Versions.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 30, 2013, 01:57:21 PM
Not in a position to google and post the links but a few cover versions I used to love were

Ghostbusters - xentrix                        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZVQv_bttaY
Happy days - nuclear assault               http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9B7RfbRAo   
Post by: Orior on May 30, 2013, 02:06:42 PM
Let's call this the lazy thread.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2013, 02:19:02 PM
Cat Power does a great (and completely unrecognisable) version of (I can't get no) Satisfaction.  Well worth a listen. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcm7Tts0G3Q (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcm7Tts0G3Q)
Post by: theskull1 on May 30, 2013, 02:39:47 PM
Willie Nelson - The Scientist (Cold Play)

Better than the original IMO
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6S2KJIf1UC8

Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2013, 02:42:32 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 30, 2013, 01:19:32 PM
Sometimes you get the most unexpected cover versions that work.

Just found this one.

Ride on - AC/DC cover by Norah Jones and band.

She's no Bon Scott I'm afraid, hardly surprising though!!
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 30, 2013, 03:50:50 PM
The original Hurt by Nine Inch Nails  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prDoGmY5kj8

Cover version of Hurt by Johnny Cash   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmVAWKfJ4Go

Post by: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2013, 03:59:07 PM
Anything Ronan Keating covers is basically gold.

I think we can call him the king of cover.
Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2013, 04:01:30 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2013, 03:59:07 PM

Did he and westlife/boyzone ever do anything other than covers?
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 30, 2013, 04:09:44 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 30, 2013, 03:50:50 PM
The original Hurt by Nine Inch Nails  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prDoGmY5kj8

Cover version of Hurt by Johnny Cash   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmVAWKfJ4Go

Hell of a lot of emotion in the Johnny Cash version, he really made it his own.
Post by: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2013, 04:11:42 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 30, 2013, 04:01:30 PM

Are my eyes deceiving me???

Do you not remember Life is a Rollercoaster??
Post by: johnneycool on May 30, 2013, 04:35:37 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 30, 2013, 04:11:42 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on May 30, 2013, 04:01:30 PM

Are my eyes deceiving me???

Do you not remember Life is a Rollercoaster??

Was that an original?

The Johnny Cash version of 'Hurt' is very good and I think I read somewhere that the 9 inch nails no longer play it as a tribute to Johnny.
Post by: michaelg on May 30, 2013, 05:13:50 PM
Yes - Written by your man from the New Radicals I believe
Post by: laoislad on May 30, 2013, 05:52:06 PM
Hard to beat Rik Waller's I will always love you.
Post by: theskull1 on May 30, 2013, 05:55:17 PM

Confident guess that the legend Mr Johnny Cash has covered more songs than Ronan Keating. ...just saying like

Post by: Tony Baloney on May 30, 2013, 07:02:26 PM
Will be a short thread. Can't think of many covers better than the original - Jimi's All Along The Watchtower over Dylan's original is the first one to spring to mind.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 30, 2013, 07:24:03 PM
Good cover versions, better i don't know.

Mad world-Gary Jules
Common people - William Shatner
Man who stole the world - Nirvana
Post by: anglocelt39 on May 30, 2013, 07:39:58 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=IhpedXul_1g

Steve Earles cover of Jagger/Richards Dead Flowers is close to my ultimate.............".............send me dead flowers at my wedding and I won't forget to put roses on your grave............." when two suburban London punks sang that you knew it was a piss take, when Steve sang it it felt like he meant every dang syllable and more. Enjoy
Post by: anglocelt39 on May 30, 2013, 07:44:08 PM
Hendrix at Monterey-like a Rolling Stone;

Cocker at Woodstock-With  a Little Help from my Friends.

Loads more out there
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2013, 09:07:48 PM
Van Morrison's version of  "Baby please don't go"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fymacb7GYDg

Ram Jam's version of "Black Betty"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH1IV0EWii4
Post by: michaelg on May 30, 2013, 09:09:42 PM

David Kitt's cover of Thin Lizzy's Dancing in the moonlight is pretty cool (As his cover of Magnolia by JJ Cole - Can't find it on You Tube unfortunately)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NvBICZ7UZb0
Post by: ONeill on May 30, 2013, 09:20:09 PM
The Young Ones - Living Doll = http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta18JnQyZks
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2013, 09:35:28 PM
Donegal's version of Tyrone isn't bad
Post by: firestarter on May 30, 2013, 10:02:06 PM
Glen hansard did a gr8 version of britney spears song 'everytime'. I shit u not.
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2013, 11:09:22 PM
Luke Kelly, The sun is burning.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 30, 2013, 11:17:17 PM
Glen Campbell did a superb version of Gentle on my Mind.....but. It will never compare to John Hartford's...http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=_pdzFaGg-4M&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D_pdzFaGg-4M
Post by: rodney trotter on May 30, 2013, 11:31:31 PM
Snow Patrol cover of One day like this - Elbow http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gkn5Dxxi3Ho
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 12:38:32 AM
Does the original have to be well known?

If not ....here's a beautiful Sheryl Crow number ....'Mrs Major Tom' retelling the Major Tom story from the wife's perspective... K.I.A  :o done the original

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BoXhlnRJXTA&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 01:11:57 AM
Another obscure one. Dungivens finest Mary Dillon doing a Kate Bush cover

Army Dreamers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-6oT9et6nA&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 01:21:02 AM
And another obscure but cool and mellow version of a big Jerry Lee Lewis track

Lee Hazlewood - Whole lotta shaking goin on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8uxt5v97io&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: NetNitrate on May 31, 2013, 01:52:32 AM
Brendan Bowyer's The Hucklebuck. So good, many think he wrote it. Didn't know myself until my wedding DJ asked in a very pompous manner if I wanted Bowyer or the original. Bowyer unless you want to cause a riot sez I.
Post by: gallsman on May 31, 2013, 12:31:22 PM
Battleme do a great cover of Hey, Hey, My, My by Neil Young.
Post by: Bod Mor on May 31, 2013, 01:12:03 PM
Ravel - Pictures at an exhibition
Rachmaninov - Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini
Post by: The Blegard on May 31, 2013, 01:14:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLtDY1VSq40    The Reverend Horton heat. Folsom city blues

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmceSj07_fs     Rage against the machine. Maggie's Farm
Post by: screenexile on May 31, 2013, 01:52:19 PM
Jaysus lads I love this stuff. Some great cover versions out there. Here are a few of my favourites:

Jolene
White Stripes - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gE3-q-aoFZI
Dolly Parton - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1plvBR02wDs

Wonderwall
Ryan Adams - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78KHK6oE3h8
Oasis - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hzrDeceEKc

I am the Walrus
Oasis - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98Z2vQDqpVw
Beatles - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42luHhrsNhg

Hand on Your Heart
Jose Gonzalez - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucOjx01zwrE
Kylie Minogue - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FfNaRnuFbsE

Stairway to Heaven
Rodrigo & Gabriela - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNc5o9TU0t0
Led Zeppelin - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9TGj2jrJk8

Smalltown Boy
Andre Herman Dune - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7V89hM-EBE
Bronski Beat - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xuz94ZIPfJk

Also check out a band called Nouvelle Vague who do some good covers. Will get a few more up when I've time.
Post by: Dougal on May 31, 2013, 01:59:27 PM
brian ferrys cover of jealous guy 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRzGzRqNj58 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRzGzRqNj58)
better than the original.

another great one,wheatus cover of little respect by erasure
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssmEMtE9YxM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssmEMtE9YxM)

jimi hendrix had some great ones,as mentioned,like a rolling stone,all along the watch tower,always loved his cover of sgt. pepper.
johnny cash had a few great ones aswel,hurt,one.

my favourite is probably heartbeats by jose gonzalez,think it was originaly by The Knife
Post by: johnneycool on May 31, 2013, 03:46:16 PM

Cat's in the cradle with Ugly kid Joe, much better than Louis Walshes version;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hcTUuzHlvM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hcTUuzHlvM)
Post by: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
It seems that the most popular cover versions on here are when one artist takes a song and completely turns it around from how it is originally performed - thats cool (with the exception of Wee Wullie Nelson's "scientist", Christ thats garbage) :-X

I kinda prefer acoustic cover versions myself - either by known artists or some of the many unknown folks plying their trade on Youtube, or in bars and coffee shops around the world, particularly when the song is difficult!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLrC7e3vSv8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLrC7e3vSv8)
Mike Masse has some quality covers on his youtube channel - this is my favourite - Toto's Africa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcuLjGkWWUc (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcuLjGkWWUc)
Betty Davis Eyes - Handsome devil - catchy little punk version

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdRP6yhWURE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cdRP6yhWURE)
One of the best covers of Thriller out there.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2U0NFgoNI7s (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2U0NFgoNI7s)
Walk off the earth, gained fame by their covers. This is my favourite - Someone like you.
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 05:00:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
It seems that the most popular cover versions on here are when one artist takes a song and completely turns it around from how it is originally performed - thats cool (with the exception of Wee Wullie Nelson's "scientist", Christ thats garbage) :-X
hey boy.....
(http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/Willie%20Nelson%20finger.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 05:02:14 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 05:00:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 04:48:13 PM
hey boy.....
(http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/Willie%20Nelson%20finger.jpg)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpKCqp9CALQ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpKCqp9CALQ)
Post by: theskull1 on May 31, 2013, 05:17:24 PM
If it was a cover I'd have appreciated the tenuous humor  ::)
Post by: Puckoon on May 31, 2013, 05:57:36 PM
I'll have to try to not let that ruin my day so.  ???

John Mayer is a talented fecker.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmYys-ZjNrg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmYys-ZjNrg)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 31, 2013, 06:56:26 PM
Like her or loath her Rebecca ferguson from the x factor (stay with me) does a mean cover of kings of Leon 'knocked up'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtcnnM8UW2w&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Also Suzanne and the magical orchestra covering 'love will tear us apart'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHhVydgvuAc&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Post by: Hardy on December 24, 2017, 12:06:58 PM
Happy Christmas all. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNg-FKzg6X4&t=1m50s)
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2017, 12:43:28 PM
https://youtu.be/z-wT3HXS_sA
Post by: Orior on December 24, 2017, 01:22:34 PM
Two cover versions that should never have been made

1) I will always love you
Crap yelling: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ardglr9MVVQ
Original singing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aDqqm_gTPjc

2) Father and Son
Torn to shreds: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54IV2rOi3CU
Original: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-7c4VNGOgU
Post by: SHEEDY on December 24, 2017, 01:25:44 PM
https://youtu.be/e8be3MuRF_k

loads of christmas classics rolled into one.
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2017, 01:31:04 PM
Anyone else not like Fairytale of New York or am I on my own ?
Post by: ziggy90 on December 24, 2017, 02:18:13 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 24, 2017, 01:31:04 PM

Prefer this version.
https://youtu.be/Iz63zBEaBAs
Post by: ziggy90 on December 24, 2017, 02:20:33 PM
My favourite cover.
The Ramones - Baby I Love You.
https://youtu.be/U9NwSmmWkLQ
Post by: Itchy on December 24, 2017, 02:39:10 PM

It's a great song but nowhere near the best the pogues came up with.
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 02:41:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 24, 2017, 01:22:34 PM

Dolly has said Whitney's version is miles better.
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 02:42:38 PM
Also, I haven't heard it but that little f**king turd Ed Sheeran has apparently butchered Fairytale of New York. At least Galway Girl was already shite before he butchered it.

Edit: have just looked it up on YouTube. It's unsurprisingly shite. They've also gone for the Ronan Keating end Katie Melua lyrics.
Post by: screenexile on December 24, 2017, 03:06:45 PM

Can't have it anymore at all!!
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 03:08:37 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 24, 2017, 02:51:12 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 02:42:38 PM
Also, I haven't heard it but that little f**king turd Ed Sheeran has apparently butchered Fairytale of New York. At least Galway Girl was already shite before he butchered it.
Was his Galway Girl not an original?

Well, I guess it was. "Inspired by" the other one I guess. Was still shite.
Post by: JoG2 on December 24, 2017, 04:05:21 PM
Lemonheads / Evan Dando - Skulls
                                                  - Different Drum
                                                  - The Outdoor Type
                                                  -  Galveston

All super imo
Post by: Orior on December 24, 2017, 05:16:28 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 02:41:08 PM

Not only is Dolly generous to a fault, she is kind as well.
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 05:47:55 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 24, 2017, 05:16:28 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 24, 2017, 02:41:08 PM

Not only is Dolly generous to a fault, she is kind as well.

Honest, too.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 24, 2017, 07:42:07 PM
Blue Bayou Linda Ronstadt 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7UBpkw1elg

Glen Hansard Who by fire
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bebe_r0g8oc
Post by: Denn Forever on September 25, 2018, 05:20:02 PM
Shoot to Thrill - Halestorm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYgPb8tpyI0
Post by: Rudi on September 26, 2018, 11:36:20 AM
Tarpaulin is much better than plastic for covering the turf.
Post by: Tyrdub on September 27, 2018, 11:29:26 AM
Hallelujah - love this version

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qt2FWAbXinY
Post by: weareros on September 27, 2018, 11:45:28 AM
Simple cover took Tears for Fears classic to a new place

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4N3N1MlvVc4
Post by: JoG2 on September 27, 2018, 11:47:00 AM
Bon Iver - With God on our Side

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9TPW9P-fnIE
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2018, 12:05:11 PM
Underworld's Cowgirl remixed by Bedrock

https://youtu.be/aF7taNe1zKg
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 27, 2018, 03:11:57 PM
How Great Thou Art as performed by Carrie Underwood Vince Gill

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2T1csHUgF4
Post by: Ambrose on September 28, 2018, 05:41:20 PM
Mark Firth covers New Orders Blue Monday

https://youtube.com/watch?v=gn9XpoQ8-z8
Post by: Applesisapples on October 01, 2018, 12:23:37 PM
Billy Jean by Chris Cornell
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 13, 2018, 02:29:56 AM
I heard this today while driving - Bad Wolves (heavy metal) cover of Zombie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XaS93WMRQQ

Post by: Denn Forever on October 13, 2018, 11:27:47 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 13, 2018, 02:29:56 AM
I heard this today while driving - Bad Wolves (heavy metal) cover of Zombie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XaS93WMRQQ

Like it.
Post by: JoG2 on October 17, 2018, 09:48:14 AM
Heard Mumford and Sons on the wireless this morning covering Embrace's Gravity, they've changed the lyrics and renamed it Guiding Light right enough. Chancers 
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 17, 2018, 10:23:45 PM
Not sure if this is technically a cover version - Roger Waters, Van morrison and the Band - Comfortably Numb https://youtu.be/wpFo_E9Fq2k
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 25, 2018, 11:32:34 PM
Nouvelle Vague covering a well known Dead Kennedy's song.

https://youtu.be/DElRqo8u1vQ
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2018, 03:43:55 AM
John Denver's Take me Home Country Road covered by Punk Band - Me First and The Gimmie Gimmies

I actually have this CD somewhere.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP8lX8G7zuU
Post by: bennydorano on October 26, 2018, 08:16:05 AM
One of the greatest covers ever - Nirvana, Man who sold the world.

https://youtu.be/fregObNcHC8
Post by: Applesisapples on October 26, 2018, 08:54:27 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 26, 2018, 08:16:05 AM

Adds nothing to the original.
Post by: bennydorano on October 26, 2018, 09:27:46 AM
Yet still manages to be better
Post by: Applesisapples on October 26, 2018, 09:42:37 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 26, 2018, 09:27:46 AM
Yet still manages to be better
not better imo, but a good cover none the less.
Post by: lurganblue on October 26, 2018, 10:24:31 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 26, 2018, 08:16:05 AM

Feck. Was actually going to post this today. Nirvana much better than the Bowie version for me.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 01, 2018, 11:32:50 AM
There was a documentary about Lennon on the other night, recording Imagine album, first class show by the way.. but his own version of Jealous guy and Ferry's are two classics! Songs that I could listen to a lot!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 01, 2018, 12:04:08 PM
Japan - All Tomorrow's Parties (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-OIfKP7si0)

Grace Jones - Private Life (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvLn_qC7QAs)

Colourbox - You Keep Me Hangin' On (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmoqqh0z7Bk)

Lemonheads - Mrs Robinson (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvMFm5nKeUc)
Post by: north_antrim_hound on December 01, 2018, 01:06:22 PM
My way- sex pistols
Easy - faith no more
Across the universe - David Bowie
Post by: Solo_run on December 01, 2018, 03:20:56 PM
Hallowed Be Thy Name - Machine head
Post by: JoG2 on December 01, 2018, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on December 01, 2018, 03:20:56 PM

Maiden songs should not be covered!! Sacrilege
Post by: From the Bunker on December 01, 2018, 06:17:05 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on December 01, 2018, 04:31:07 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on December 01, 2018, 03:20:56 PM

Maiden songs should not be covered!! Sacrilege

This is the exception!

The Trooper - Steve'n'Seagulls

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Li58voy6xXM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Li58voy6xXM)
Post by: From the Bunker on December 01, 2018, 06:40:01 PM
Post these all before on another thread.............

The Puppini Sisters - Crazy in Love

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pn-Pz3BQOrI)

ARMY DREAMERS - Marianum

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=031-w5Z6_v4)

Killswitch Engage - Holy Diver

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NR7dG_m3MsI)

Twilight Guardians - La Isla Bonita

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qToq_VQ8cN0)

7 Seconds - 99 Red Balloons

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z3eAEtYkeQ)

Chris Cornell - Billie Jean

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0uWF-37DAM)

Snuff - I Think We're Alone Now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw_U6UfKVeM)

Madness - Swan Lake

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-utkYnIV1_k)

The Darkness - Street Spirit (Fade Out)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IcMvkyw-Y)

Hurricane Highway - YOUR MAN

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgvppD2ars8)

Forward To Death - NoMeansNo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSezVb2tQug)

Red Hot Chili Peppers - Havana Affair

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fd3zNZMnBfc)

Oasis - Cum On Feel The Noise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BnxtFtaL46w)

Robbie Williams - Ant Music

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GlLiUh-uVgI)

A Little Respect - Wheatus

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zV_jbchxNeU)

Alien Ant Farm - Smooth Criminal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE)

The White Stripes Cannon John The Revelator

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDl9ZMfj6aE)

Post by: Denn Forever on March 25, 2019, 12:49:46 PM
Silversun Pickems - Shadowplay

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RetP6EfxfwM
Post by: ziggy90 on May 01, 2019, 02:51:36 PM
I always thought The Drifters with Ben E King was the definitive version of this classic but The Mavericks have just changed my mind.
Save The Last Dance For Me.
https://youtu.be/aHn9lymfkos
Post by: armaghniac on May 08, 2019, 01:35:05 AM
Gerry and the Pacemakers.
You'll never walk alone
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OV5_LQArLa0
Post by: The Blegard on May 10, 2019, 11:39:05 PM
Chris Thile ..legend
Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground White Stripes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFHXzcGCJyY
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2019, 01:22:31 PM
Sound of Silence by Disturbed.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=u9Dg-g7t2l4
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 14, 2019, 09:58:11 PM
Tom Waits - Papa's Got a Brand New Bag

https://youtu.be/LvnqIG3uiyk
Post by: Last Caress on June 15, 2019, 12:30:33 AM
Metallica - whiskey in the jar. 
Post by: Over the Bar on June 15, 2019, 12:31:06 AM
Liverpool fans copying Celtic fans YNWA and the Fields or Athenry. Charlatans.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 15, 2019, 12:45:56 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 15, 2019, 12:31:06 AM
Liverpool fans copying Celtic fans YNWA and the Fields or Athenry. Charlatans.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2003/mar/12/theknowledge.sport

''After all, the song, originally written by Rodgers and Hammerstein in 1945 for the Broadway musical Carousel, only became a terrace favourite after it was covered by Gerry and the Pacemakers in November 1963. Almost immediately - as footage from Panorama in 1964 shows - Liverpool supporters adopted it.

As Paul Fields points out: "Before the early 60s football fans made noise and occasionally chanted something brief (like Play Up Pompey!) but it was the Kop that started singing popular songs of the day (mainly Merseybeat songs such as Gerry and the Pacemakers' You'll Never Walk Alone) and later started to adapt the lyrics of songs to celebrate the team and its players.

"If any Celtic fans still claim that they sang it first, it would have to predate Gerry's version. Now can you really see thousands of working class Glaswegians in the 50s/early 60s spontaneously joining in a sing-along from a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical?" No, us neither.''
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 15, 2019, 05:00:08 AM
Gonna go out on a limb here and suggest that football crowds singing don't count as cover versions.
Post by: Ambrose on September 25, 2019, 06:25:39 PM
Orkestra Obsolete play Blue Monday.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHLbaOLWjpc

A Gospel Soul cover of U2's I Still Haven't Found

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EbLlgKFk9c&list=RD8EbLlgKFk9c&start_radio=1