Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 08:30:01 PM

Title: Boston-based Irish International Immigrant Center does the unspeakable Read mor
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 08:30:01 PM
Unreal stuff from this Irish immigration group based in Boston, bullies to put it mildly >:(   

http://www.irishcentral.com/story/news/periscope/young-irish-woman-turned-in-to-us-authorities-by-irish-immigrant-support-group---boston-based-irish-international-immigrant-center-does-the-unspeakable--208627761.html

A Boston-based, Irish government funded immigrant's rights organization has turned a young Irish girl in to U.S. authorities because she worked in a bar in contradiction of her visa terms.

The Irish International Immigrant Center (IIIC) received $253,000 in Irish government funding to help immigrants in 2011. They also received funding from the American Ireland Fund.

In all my years covering the Irish American community I have never seen such a callous act inflicted on a young Irish immigrant by an Irish organization allegedly established to help young immigrants.

They informed on her to the U.S. State Department after tracking an article she wrote for this publication about her life in America where she stated she tried to make ends meet by working in a bar. She is here legally on a year-long J-1 student visa.

In a harshly worded letter that she received yesterday, the IIIC stated that her visa was revoked and demanded that she immediately book passage home and leave the country by mid June.

The letter reads like a missive that immigration authorities would be proud of and the specter of an Irish immigrant rights group (allegedly) playing immigration cop on a vulnerable young woman is a sad one to behold.

The alleged immigrant rights organization made over $1 million processing visas in the last year for Irish students on the J-1 visa which allows recent college students or graduates to work in the U.S. for one year.

Boston Irish sources say the IIIC is known for nasty and bullying letters which are often received by new legal emigrants for very minor transgressions. Apparently because they profit heavily from every emigrant they process they also feel the need to spy on bully and cajole those they think have stepped out of line in order to preserve their cash cow.

Our young intern just happened to be working for us which is why we came across this dreadful betrayal; who knows how many others have stories to tell about the IIIC?

I would urge great caution for any would-be immigrant or present immigrant in approaching this organization.

What they have done to this young woman -- and who knows how many others they have bullied -- is far outside the pale for an Irish organization, especially one funded by the Irish taxpayer. 

The IIIC was formerly run by Sister Lena Deevey, a much acknowledged woman in the Irish American community who recently retired.

An Irish agency acting as immigration enforcers rather than helping immigrants is a new wrinkle for an Irish group. Monitoring Irish American media looking for "offenders" is positively despicable and  McCarthy-like.

Perhaps they can go the whole hog and get an U.S. immigration enforcement  officer on their staff and nab the undocumented as they arrive.

The new IIIC director is Ronnie Miller, and he seemed positively delighted to tell me yesterday how they had caught this awful girl in the dreadful act of working in a bar to make ends meet.

He knows damn well of course because students find it impossible to survive on intern's wages that many have to find a way to supplement their income. The J1 visa is a very flawed vehicle in this regard but the lack of basic humanity in how these people deal with students is appalling to witness.

I asked friend Ronnie if it was decent at this time of great hope for immigration reform -- at a time when President Obama has suspended almost all deportations of young people -- that the IIIC would ruin a young Irish woman's American dream by turning her in, informer-style, to U.S. authorities.
He said he did not want to discuss the matter any further.

An IIC employee, Jude Clarke, a Northern Ireland native like Miller, admitted he had monitored Irish media and saw that the young girl had written she worked in a bar, in addition to interning here at IrishCentral.

Shortly afterwards she received a letter signed by another genius, Ann Marie Byrne, director of the IIIC's Learning Exchange Programs, demanding that she immediately buy a ticket to leave the U.S.
Playing the immigration officer, Byrne demanded the girl be gone from the U.S. by June 19, 2013.

In all my 30 years in the Irish American media, finding an Irish organization that turns in one of its own for a very minor breach of a visa issue is a new low.

It is also unique to find an organization that so cheerfully defends its jackboot tactics and gets substantial Irish government funding while dashing the dreams of young people.

Shame on them, and on the Irish government if it continues to fund this organization which picks on defenseless Irish immigrants and turns them in.

If you would like to contact the IIIC they are at 617 542 7654 or Facebook. For more visit their website, iiicenter.org.

See more: Irish News ,   Irish Immigration Center ,   Irish immigration ,   Boston Local ,   Irish in Boston ,   Irish in New York

Read more: http://www.irishcentral.com/story/news/periscope/young-irish-woman-turned-in-to-us-authorities-by-irish-immigrant-support-group---boston-based-irish-international-immigrant-center-does-the-unspeakable--208627761.html#ixzz2U96TMigm
Follow us: @IrishCentral on Twitter | IrishCentral on Facebook
Title: Re: Boston-based Irish International Immigrant Center does the unspeakable Read mor
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:42:56 PM
For those who didn't follow the link, the article was written by Niall O'Dowd.

Pretty damning criticism given how much he has campaigned for Irish emigrants.

Here is the letter:

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-AO-C3Vek2Dc/UZ33u92J1vI/AAAAAAAAbHo/OCxmCR4hl9g/s640/IIIC+letter+immigration+J+visa.jpg)
Title: Re: Boston-based Irish International Immigrant Center does the unspeakable Read mor
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:47:21 PM
If you're in some country illegally..... you can't complain if they turf you out.
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:50:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:47:21 PM
If you're in some country illegally..... you can't complain if they turf you out.

They didn't, the organisation we set up and pay for to look after them did. http://iiicenter.org (http://iiicenter.org)
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:54:14 PM
Why should we be paying money to "look after" people who break the laws of another Country?
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:55:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:54:14 PM
Why should we be paying money to "look after" people who break the laws of another Country?

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRck0LJkltAH5JjPzz9pdKfm6M4d2k2_-ePg2QSsZqZ_qtUal8P)
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:59:59 PM
Very funny ha ha.
But why am I paying to "look after"  people who basically illegally break and enter another Country?
Post by: muppet on May 23, 2013, 09:19:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:59:59 PM
Very funny ha ha.
But why am I paying to "look after"  people who basically illegally break and enter another Country?

You will now be paying that person's dole. How does that make you feel?
Post by: leenie on May 23, 2013, 09:30:43 PM
Very harsh

I'm hoping to return to Boston next yr after a ten year break ;) am planning to go on the exact date I left 10 yrs ago .,.. For nostalgic reasons of course
Post by: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 09:32:46 PM
I am sympathetic to the plight of this girl, but there's quite a bit of this she has brought on by herself.

1. You choose to sign a CONTRACT stating you understand you are prohibited from working in any area or extra job for which you are not currently sponsored to work in
2. Said contract states that you "promise" (what the f**k is that about anyway, promises?) to comply with the rules, GOVERNMENT regulations, IIIC guidelines and policies of the J-1 Irish work and travel program.
3. You IGNORE points 1 and 2 (ok, you're taking a risk here)
4. You broadcast on social media that you are working in a position, and in a place where you are not authorised to work, under a visa which was provided to you via the IIIC on behalf of the American Government (this is my understanding of her visa).

Now, maybe I am naive in this, or maybe I just dealt with visas in a smaller Irish community, where everyone was legal and squared away. This isn't just some visa she applied for herself and got touted on for breaking immigration rules. This is a visa she applied for through a program (granted, these people seem incredibly rigid) and she is flaunting the program rules. It's tough on these visas, no denial. I lived on Ramen noodles sleeping on a mattress for a full year, making 800$ a month and under the rules of the program I accepted a visa on I could not work anywhere else. I also couldn't experiment with drugs, nor get into a relationship with someone under 21 (I was 21 at the time). This wasn't written down anywhere, but the man in charge made it perfectly clear that we were here with HIS help and under HIS rules.

The problem with rules is that everyone has an exception that makes perfect sense from their perspective. Once everyone wants an exception, there's no rules any more.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 09:50:00 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 09:32:46 PM
I am sympathetic to the plight of this girl, but there's quite a bit of this she has brought on by herself.

1. You choose to sign a CONTRACT stating you understand you are prohibited from working in any area or extra job for which you are not currently sponsored to work in
2. Said contract states that you "promise" (what the f**k is that about anyway, promises?) to comply with the rules, GOVERNMENT regulations, IIIC guidelines and policies of the J-1 Irish work and travel program.
3. You IGNORE points 1 and 2 (ok, you're taking a risk here)
4. You broadcast on social media that you are working in a position, and in a place where you are not authorised to work, under a visa which was provided to you via the IIIC on behalf of the American Government (this is my understanding of her visa).

Now, maybe I am naive in this, or maybe I just dealt with visas in a smaller Irish community, where everyone was legal and squared away. This isn't just some visa she applied for herself and got touted on for breaking immigration rules. This is a visa she applied for through a program (granted, these people seem incredibly rigid) and she is flaunting the program rules. It's tough on these visas, no denial. I lived on Ramen noodles sleeping on a mattress for a full year, making 800$ a month and under the rules of the program I accepted a visa on I could not work anywhere else. I also couldn't experiment with drugs, nor get into a relationship with someone under 21 (I was 21 at the time). This wasn't written down anywhere, but the man in charge made it perfectly clear that we were here with HIS help and under HIS rules.

The problem with rules is that everyone has an exception that makes perfect sense from their perspective. Once everyone wants an exception, there's no rules any more.

Yes she broke the rules, but a little "common sense" would have gone a long way in this issue. The people mentioned in the article are over zealous in their interpretation of the rules plus so they seem to be very proud of their deportation attempt.
Post by: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 09:56:08 PM
I'm all for common sense FL, but we don't know all the info here. Is this a recurring problem? Are their visa holders under audit? Is the young girl being made an example of? Have they had a warning shot across their bow from immigration? In isolation, it's certainly heavy handed. Would a company who does quite a bit to help people and give them an opportunity just all of a sudden turn into such an overzealous tatletale?

Bottom line, taking the visa from this crowd is a choice. Take it as it's stated, or run the risk. She ran and now she's flying.

Not to mention that article is atrociously written - you can just see the steam coming out of the authors ears.

And this choice morsel

It is also unique to find an organization that so cheerfully defends its jackboot tactics and gets substantial Irish government funding while dashing the dreams of young people

How about suggesting they are protecting the dreams of other young people coming after, who are prepared and willing to abide by the rules?
Post by: Itchy on May 23, 2013, 10:00:21 PM
Should all illegal immigrants in Ireland be allowed stay? She is illegal, broke the law of another country so she should take her punishment.
Post by: lawnseed on May 23, 2013, 10:04:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 23, 2013, 08:55:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 23, 2013, 08:54:14 PM

(https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRck0LJkltAH5JjPzz9pdKfm6M4d2k2_-ePg2QSsZqZ_qtUal8P)

yip! thats rossfan he just doesnt get it on any thread ::)
Post by: tommysmith on May 23, 2013, 10:05:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2013, 10:00:21 PM
Should all illegal immigrants in Ireland be allowed stay? She is illegal, broke the law of another country so she should take her punishment.

Do you think all the other Illegal irish in America should be sent home aswell?

Post by: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 10:20:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 09:56:08 PM
I'm all for common sense FL, but we don't know all the info here. Is this a recurring problem? Are their visa holders under audit? Is the young girl being made an example of? Have they had a warning shot across their bow from immigration? In isolation, it's certainly heavy handed. Would a company who does quite a bit to help people and give them an opportunity just all of a sudden turn into such an overzealous tatletale?

Bottom line, taking the visa from this crowd is a choice. Take it as it's stated, or run the risk. She ran and now she's flying.

Not to mention that article is atrociously written - you can just see the steam coming out of the authors ears.

And this choice morsel

It is also unique to find an organization that so cheerfully defends its jackboot tactics and gets substantial Irish government funding while dashing the dreams of young people

How about suggesting they are protecting the dreams of other young people coming after, who are prepared and willing to abide by the rules?

You can see he is steamed in the article but I cant see why Niall O'Dowd would put his reputation on the line unless there is merit to the story.
Anyway Puck, isn't common sense  alien to a scientist like yourself ;)
Post by: lawnseed on May 23, 2013, 10:23:21 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 23, 2013, 10:05:23 PM

Do you think all the other Illegal Irish in America should be sent home as well?

ahh jeez i never thought of that. most of the diaspora cant come to the big 'partaay' (gathering) since they are illegals
Post by: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 11:05:44 PM
Ah yeah, I get what you're saying FL. It's a bad situation, I'm just tired of these people in all walks of life not taking responsibility for their actions and the rest of the folks carrying the can and then being incredulous when they get busted for it.

BTW - The scientist tag is only for another 4 weeks. Then I'll be a businessman...

Post by: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 11:20:16 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 11:05:44 PM
Ah yeah, I get what you're saying FL. It's a bad situation, I'm just tired of these people in all walks of life not taking responsibility for their actions and the rest of the folks carrying the can and then being incredulous when they get busted for it.

BTW - The scientist tag is only for another 4 weeks. Then I'll be a businessman...

Ah great stuff Puck, congrats my friend, you're climbing the corporate ladder. Wont be long now until you'll be one of the 1%ers and a Republican.... giving out about how us union men are ruining the country ;)
Post by: Puckoon on May 23, 2013, 11:23:29 PM
Please God no. Now I watch Fox for the entertainment value (although the selective editing of the IRS hearings last night was top notch), if I start watching it for real I'll take a long walk off Pier 39.
Post by: whitey on May 24, 2013, 03:11:55 AM
My guess is that given their tax exempt status they have to be seen to be upholding the terms of the visa to the letter of the law. if they didn't act, there could have been wide ranging consequences for the entire organisation and the great work that they do in the Boston Irish community

They helped me find my first apartment in Boston and also helped my wife get her Irish citizenship-they do great work and I feel Mr O Dowd is out of line in his criticism
Post by: fearbrags on May 24, 2013, 04:10:44 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/columnists/john-riordan/us-gaa-clubs-can-cash-in-on-p-3-visa-option-231957.html
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 05:00:09 AM
Quote from: tommysmith on May 23, 2013, 10:05:23 PM

Do you think all the other Illegal irish in America should be sent home aswell?

What the feck does it matter where someone is from?

Illegals should not be in a Country they have no right to be in, period! That said these despicable bastards seem to be profiting from hanging them out to dry so they are scumbags of the lowwest order.

Students on this visa should be afforded the opportunity to support themselves, if it is ok to let illegals work your fields as migrant workers surely a kid trying to get an education that sets them up for life be given the same opportunity!
Post by: Count 10 on May 24, 2013, 07:13:49 AM
Whilst I have sympathy for her in that her American dream is now gone, was she not incredibly naïve to write the article under her own name?

Rules are rules with these type of organisation.
Post by: bennydorano on May 24, 2013, 11:01:44 AM
They've went out of their way to sink her AFAICS, actions of a jobsworth.
Post by: rosnarun on May 24, 2013, 11:16:14 AM
can every one with illegal aliens in the states please report them to the immigration Department please . think of how much money the american government will save.
those Drones don't bny themselves you know
Post by: johnneycool on May 24, 2013, 01:27:32 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 24, 2013, 11:16:14 AM
can every one with illegal aliens in the states please report them to the immigration Department please . think of how much money the american government will save.

But who would make those same drones?
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 01:59:56 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 23, 2013, 11:20:16 PM

Ah great stuff Puck, congrats my friend, you're climbing the corporate ladder. Wont be long now until you'll be one of the 1%ers and a Republican.... giving out about how us union men are ruining the country ;)

Unions are a dinosaur, my mate Scott bitch slapped the unions here in Wisconsin, no more collective bargaining here I am delighted to say! ;)
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 02:06:52 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 24, 2013, 11:16:14 AM

Righteo, so the money saved goes into buying drones, K then.

This shower of bastards need to lose their funding immediately, those that  were involved in this cowardly shit deserve more than a good boot up the hole, I am not one for illegal immigrants running around the place but these bastards are the scum of the earth and I am ashamed to say they are Irish, well some of them anyway.
Post by: Canalman on May 24, 2013, 02:21:32 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 01:59:56 PM

Unions are a dinosaur, my mate Scott bitch slapped the unions here in Wisconsin, no more collective bargaining here I am delighted to say! ;)

Trade Unions won you and your family the right to "the weekend"  Stew and the right to  trifling things like overtime/ fair procedure/ designated breaks etc.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 02:42:18 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 24, 2013, 02:21:32 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 01:59:56 PM

Trade Unions won you and your family the right to "the weekend"  Stew and the right to  trifling things like overtime/ fair procedure/ designated breaks etc.

Stew needs to realise that in an indirect way most work benefit he has earned since moving to the U.S has been thanks to the hard work of unions and their PAC's. Rick Scott here in Florida will realise next year that the union movement in Florida is far form a dinosaur, trying to take away hard earned benefits from  Police Officers, Teachers and Firefighters has made him the most unpopular governor in Florida history,  his policies effectively handed the state of Florida to Obama in last years election. 
Post by: deiseach on May 24, 2013, 03:12:16 PM

To all Discussion Boarders based in the USA - enjoy the Memorial Day weekend. I'm sure its existence is down to the lobbying efforts of big business.
Title: !
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 04:41:19 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 24, 2013, 03:12:16 PM

To all Discussion Boarders based in the USA - enjoy the Memorial Day weekend. I'm sure its existence is down to the lobbying efforts of big business.

A lot of the unions are as corrupt as fcuk so fcuk those unions, I have seen unions in action and they repulse me, I was at a conference three years ago and asked an employee for a cup of tea at lunch time, he told me that was not a part of his job description and the union wouldn't let him do anything outside of his job description, he was almost finished serving lunch at the time and I was one of the last one's to eat and this was a fantastic, top class hotel they had us at, in, of course Chicago, home of the most corrupt of Unions.

The big dig in Boston is a prime example of corruption within the unions, there people died due to shoddy workmanship from the union members because they were using substandard materials so that the unions officers could stick money in their pockets.

The unions & their ties to the mafia are well documented and there was a time when unions were necessary, some still are but overall they are about as useful as teats on a bull.

I was in a union when I first got here, a more useless shower of cnuts you will never meet, I was on strike in Ireland in a great union that did a great job for it's members.

I was not serious about Scott Walker, he is a dangerous fcuker that stripped away the rights of the union members to bargain collectively, he, like that arsehole in Florida do more harm than good, I have no time for unions but I respect their right to exist.

It's a funny thing, if the capitalists didn't invest money to make money you would have no need of the unions since there would be no corporations to work for, so happy Memorial day everyone and a big thank you to all who provide employment to working class stiffs like myself and my wife and two girls.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 04:43:27 PM
The taking on of the unions in the States has as nothing to do with Stew's beloved anti-liberalism, it is purely the last desperate actions of authorities going bankrupt. The authorities can't lose the fight because they have no money to pay if the unions hold out.

http://www.vanityfair.com/business/features/2011/11/michael-lewis-201111 (http://www.vanityfair.com/business/features/2011/11/michael-lewis-201111)

But it is easier to believe that it is part of a good guys versus evil unions crusade.
Post by: The Iceman on May 24, 2013, 04:52:10 PM
a lot of my friends are union guys and they will admit that in NY at least the unions held the city to ransom. Charging hourly rates that Big 4 accountants wouldn't get, turning power off to a building if a union contractor didn't get the job.....it had to come to an end. I have nothing against Unions but lets be fair about it.
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 04:52:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2013, 04:43:27 PM
The taking on of the unions in the States has as nothing to do with Stew's beloved anti-liberalism, it is purely the last desperate actions of authorities going bankrupt. The authorities can't lose the fight because they have no money to pay if the unions hold out.

http://www.vanityfair.com/business/features/2011/11/michael-lewis-201111 (http://www.vanityfair.com/business/features/2011/11/michael-lewis-201111)

But it is easier to believe that it is part of a good guys versus evil unions crusade.

I am not anti Liberal, I am anti far left liberal they way you have your beloved anti conservatism slant.

Look what the unions did to Detroit, you cannot have high school graduates making $75,000 a year on a car production line doing a mundane job that takes little skill, and also have a world class pension and benefit package and expect that company to survive in the long term, hence the collapse in the market in 09.

The unions were made offers that they rejected out of hand, they knew the company could no longer afford to pay them what they were making and still they said no, I am talking about GM & Chrysler here, check it out for yourselves, the unions fcuked up like usual and the cost to their members was devastating, so again, fcuk the unions!
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 04:58:11 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 24, 2013, 04:52:10 PM
a lot of my friends are union guys and they will admit that in NY at least the unions held the city to ransom. Charging hourly rates that Big 4 accountants wouldn't get, turning power off to a building if a union contractor didn't get the job.....it had to come to an end. I have nothing against Unions but lets be fair about it.

That's the thing, the good people in the unions never get into positions of authority because they are not corrupt or on the take.

My experience here with Unions has not been a good one at all, when we were building the house I had contractors place bids for the work, I had union tradesmen bid and they came in with the cheapest bid however I decided to check out how they fared with people they had done work for before, to say they got bad reviews would give bad reviews a bad name, I went with a non union crowd called Tycore Built and they did a tremendous job, the other crowd called to ask what was going on with the bid, when I told them i went elsewhere he went off on me over the phone, so fcuk the unions!
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 06:08:25 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 04:58:11 PM

That's the thing, the good people in the unions never get into positions of authority because they are not corrupt or on the take.

My experience here with Unions has not been a good one at all, when we were building the house I had contractors place bids for the work, I had union tradesmen bid and they came in with the cheapest bid however I decided to check out how they fared with people they had done work for before, to say they got bad reviews would give bad reviews a bad name, I went with a non union crowd called Tycore Built and they did a tremendous job, the other crowd called to ask what was going on with the bid, when I told them i went elsewhere he went off on me over the phone, so fcuk the unions!

Its nice to see that you class all unions and union members as corrupt, lazy and inept due to your experience of not getting your dinner on time ;)

Firstly,the financial collapse of 2009 was not the fault of union member's though the Republican Party and Fox News would like to blame us for this, greedy banks and Wall Street running amok with little or no regulations or oversight for years is the reason for the 2009 collapse of the U.S economy.

Secondly how repulsed would you be if six union firefighters ran into you house to rescue you or your family members. Since I have started in this profession I have seen things that you would not believe, watching young kids die form drug overdoses, standing by and watching and smelling 14 years old boys cook to death due to getting electrocuted, I have been spat at, shit on, stuck with needles, I have picked up peoples heads after they were decapitated not to mention the unknown hazards that my body have been exposed too. Firefighters die much younger than the rest of the general population, the job is very stressful. So when I hear right wing nuts bash unions and blame us for the way the economy is I rightly get pissed. After 25 years on the job I will deserve my pension despite what the the right wing of the Republican Party think, they're a bunch of hypocrites.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 06:16:02 PM

If a black man picked your pocket would you say fcuk the black man?
Post by: Count 10 on May 24, 2013, 06:25:22 PM
Hunt with the hounds and run with the hare springs to mind ::)
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:30:46 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 06:08:25 PM

Its nice to see that you class all unions and union members as corrupt, lazy and inept due to your experience of not getting your dinner on time ;)

Firstly,the financial collapse of 2009 was not the fault of union member's though the Republican Party and Fox News would like to blame us for this, greedy banks and Wall Street running amok with little or no regulations or oversight for years is the reason for the 2009 collapse of the U.S economy.

Secondly how repulsed would you be if six union firefighters ran into you house to rescue you or your family members. Since I have started in this profession I have seen things that you would not believe, watching young kids die form drug overdoses, standing by and watching and smelling 14 years old boys cook to death due to getting electrocuted, I have been spat at, shit on, stuck with needles, I have picked up peoples heads after they were decapitated not to mention the unknown hazards that my body have been exposed too. Firefighters die much younger than the rest of the general population, the job is very stressful. So when I hear right wing nuts bash unions and blame us for the way the economy is I rightly get pissed. After 25 years on the job I will deserve my pension despite what the the right wing of the Republican Party think, they're a bunch of hypocrites.

First of all not once did I say that all  union members and unions are all lazy and corrupt! secondly I did not say that union members did not deserve their pensions, if it was negotiated they deserve to get what they have coming to them as do all citizens, you included.

Unions have the right to exist but too many of them are shite so fcuk those unions, as for the job you have, bully for you, it is an incredibly tough job, no doubt about it and you deserve to be taken care of but nobody put a gun to your head and made you become a firefighter.

As for your experiences on the job, that is what you signed up for, you knew what you were getting into and if it causing you that much stress you should consider doing something else.

As for me looking for a cup of tea, I was making a point of how petty unions can be, especially in Chicago.

Hypocrites all belong to the right, is that your assertion? too many clampetts on here blame the conservatives on everything whilst leaving the left blameless on all fronts.

Wall Street AND greedy unions (fcuk the greedy unions) ruined the economy, greedy union members helped ruin the economy by self destructing and destroying the fabric of companies that treated them like world class professionals and paid them handsomely for the privilege to have them weld, for example, a few spots on a shell of a car on a conveyor belt. (Again, this was an example)

Tell me this, is it only the Republicans that fcuk things up in America or are you another one of these union boyos that think with the rest of the sheep and just blame the right for everything whilst the left can do no wrong?

Spare me the Fox news shit, CNN is as bent as Fox is and you know it! they are all the fecking same and to me objective reporting in this country died decades ago!
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:32:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2013, 06:16:02 PM

Are you on drugs?
Post by: Count 10 on May 24, 2013, 06:36:14 PM
Think someone has forgotten to take theirs ;D
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 06:36:57 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:32:35 PM

Are you on drugs?

Your sweeping generalisation of trade unions 'so fcuk the unions!', based on a quote to do work on your house, is so determined yet absurd, that I assumed this thinking would be consistent.

Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:54:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2013, 06:36:57 PM

Are you on drugs?

Your sweeping generalisation of trade unions 'so fcuk the unions!', based on a quote to do work on your house, is so determined yet absurd, that I assumed this thinking would be consistent.

In an ideal world the good union would exist and the corrupt one's would be disbanded.

As for your ridiculous question, a man is a man be he black white or yellow so no i would not say that, does that answer your question toots?
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2013, 07:14:26 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:54:32 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 24, 2013, 06:36:57 PM

Are you on drugs?

In an ideal world the good union would exist and the corrupt one's would be disbanded.

As for your ridiculous question, a man is a man be he black white or yellow so no i would not say that, does that answer your question toots?

Is a man a man when he runs a corrupt union?
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 08:03:03 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 06:30:46 PM

First of all not once did I say that all  union members and unions are all lazy and corrupt! secondly I did not say that union members did not deserve their pensions, if it was negotiated they deserve to get what they have coming to them as do all citizens, you included.

Unions have the right to exist but too many of them are shite so fcuk those unions, as for the job you have, bully for you, it is an incredibly tough job, no doubt about it and you deserve to be taken care of but nobody put a gun to your head and made you become a firefighter.

As for your experiences on the job, that is what you signed up for, you knew what you were getting into and if it causing you that much stress you should consider doing something else.

As for me looking for a cup of tea, I was making a point of how petty unions can be, especially in Chicago.

Hypocrites all belong to the right, is that your assertion? too many clampetts on here blame the conservatives on everything whilst leaving the left blameless on all fronts.

Wall Street AND greedy unions (fcuk the greedy unions) ruined the economy, greedy union members helped ruin the economy by self destructing and destroying the fabric of companies that treated them like world class professionals and paid them handsomely for the privilege to have them weld, for example, a few spots on a shell of a car on a conveyor belt. (Again, this was an example)

Tell me this, is it only the Republicans that fcuk things up in America or are you another one of these union boyos that think with the rest of the sheep and just blame the right for everything whilst the left can do no wrong?

Spare me the Fox news shit, CNN is as bent as Fox is and you know it! they are all the fecking same and to me objective reporting in this country died decades ago!

First of all I was giving you examples of the type of good things union members do to counter act the silly examples that you gave. I'm sorry that you did not get your cup of tea but there are useless feckers in every profession union and non-union jobs, common sense is not exclusive to just union member's :D If your opinion of unions comes from your experiences with  a waiter not serving you a cup of tea and a shoddy construction company then there is probably very little I can do to change that view.   

I never said I couldn't handle the stress of the job, I knew exactly what I was signing up and I am coping with it quiet well. Its the B.S.  I get from people such as yourself that we as union members are to blame for the collapse of the U.S economy that pisses me off.

There is plenty of blame to go around for the dysfunction in this country at the moment but when a leader like Mitch McConnell publicly state that their sole goal after the 2008 election was to make Obama a one term president then you begin to see where this dysfunction started. Racism is at the core of the problem you'd be naive not to see this.

I will agree with you on Fox and CNN but Fox is way the f@#k out there.
Post by: Puckoon on May 24, 2013, 08:24:51 PM
Fcukin' hell, there you go again FL bringing common sense into it.
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 08:43:59 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 08:03:03 PM

First of all I was giving you examples of the type of good things union members do to counter act the silly examples that you gave. I'm sorry that you did not get your cup of tea but there are useless feckers in every profession union and non-union jobs, common sense is not exclusive to just union member's :D If your opinion of unions comes from your experiences with  a waiter not serving you a cup of tea and a shoddy construction company then there is probably very little I can do to change that view.   

I never said I couldn't handle the stress of the job, I knew exactly what I was signing up and I am coping with it quiet well. Its the B.S.  I get from people such as yourself that we as union members are to blame for the collapse of the U.S economy that pisses me off.

There is plenty of blame to go around for the dysfunction in this country at the moment but when a leader like Mitch McConnell publicly state that their sole goal after the 2008 election was to make Obama a one term president then you begin to see where this dysfunction started. Racism is at the core of the problem you'd be naive not to see this.

I will agree with you on Fox and CNN but Fox is way the f@#k out there.

I don't know you and never will, how can I give you shit?

Me getting a cup of tea was an example of how petty a union was in a certain small situation, I could cite plenty of examples that actually matter were unions fecked up and actually did give you one of the best one's in the auto industry example.

So I gave you silly examples, fair enough, the Unions fcuked up the auto industry and by the way, a republican wanting a democrat to be a one term President, wow, there's a shocker.

I wanted Obama to be a no term President but the fecker won twice, he is a bad un but sure no worse than Bush.

Common sense is a two way street, common sense should tell you that racism is not exclusive to Conservatives as you imply but hey, maybe everyone that thinks Obama is shite is a racist, me included.

We will agree to disagree on the unions, I don't blame them for the ruination of the economy but they had their part to play, as for you, your pension and your right to be a card carrying member of a Union, fair play to you for the job you do and the money you rightly make and the pension you so richly deserve, it is one incredibly tough job and I know I couldn't handle seeing severed heads and toasted children, in short I am glad you feel your union take care of you as they should.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 08:45:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 24, 2013, 08:24:51 PM

Well I'm not the one that immigrated to the U.S and set up shop in Green Bay :D
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 08:55:29 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 08:45:24 PM

Nah, you went to Florida, home of no State taxes, Nascar and rednecks.

Green Bay was a great place to rear two kids, I want out soon though because the weather is feckin brutal from December to March.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 09:01:15 PM
Quote from: stew on May 24, 2013, 08:55:29 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 08:45:24 PM

Nah, you went to Florida, home of no State taxes, Nascar and rednecks.

Green Bay was a great place to rear two kids, I want out soon though because the weather is feckin brutal from December to March.

I hear you Stew, I'm getting the hell out of Florida in 5 years for a similar reason, the weather form now until November is brutally hot and humid. A lot of Floridians are moving to Colorado that might be an option for you. Back to Mayo for me hopefully!
Post by: stew on May 24, 2013, 09:06:39 PM
We are going to move to South Carolina in all likelihood.

Colorado is some spot, in parts you can ski and play golf on the same day, I want no part of winter, I detest it and just want to be able to live without hibernating for three or four months.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 24, 2013, 09:43:38 PM
Rocks ! don't talk to me about fcukin rocks. I had a rock in my back garden once and all it did was sit there like a big useless rock.
I'm not saying all rocks are useless whores but all rocks are useless whores. You lads are always going on about stones but stones are just smaller rocks. I'm tellin ya its the fcukin rocks that are behind it all. Whats wrong with rocks ? I wont have a bad word said about rocks. They rock ! You lads are always dissing the rocks. f**k off. I love rocks.
                                                                         stew (aka mad bastard)
Post by: cicfada on May 24, 2013, 10:00:43 PM
Stew, the rednecks stop in Florida, about 100 miles north of Miami and from there south it's a wonderful liberal mix of Jews , northerners, English , Latin Americans , Cubans etc. no state taxes has to be admired as well surely? I loved my time there but I don't regret moving home to be honest. My three boys are thriving here and both myself and herself are lucky to be working. Good to hear that you are thinking of moving home, fl/mayo. If mayo win the all Ireland final though you might have to put your return home back by five years. By then you might have shut up about it 😄😄😄😄😄😄
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 24, 2013, 10:11:51 PM
Quote from: cicfada on May 24, 2013, 10:00:43 PM
Stew, the rednecks stop in Florida, about 100 miles north of Miami and from there south it's a wonderful liberal mix of Jews , northerners, English , Latin Americans , Cubans etc. no state taxes has to be admired as well surely? I loved my time there but I don't regret moving home to be honest. My three boys are thriving here and both myself and herself are lucky to be working. Good to hear that you are thinking of moving home, fl/mayo. If mayo win the all Ireland final though you might have to put your return home back by five years. By then you might have shut up about it 😄😄😄😄😄😄

Jaysus look who has climbed out of the woodwork. Glad to hear its going well for you Cic, I will be in touch in a few more years  for a few tips plus I'll have the Five-in-a-Row Tshirts for you by 2017!!
Post by: joemamas on May 25, 2013, 05:16:02 PM

For what its worth, I also believe that if you work for 25 - 30 years you deserve a reasonable pension, in line with your average salary. Problem in US is that a lot of public servants pad the sh*t out of their pension with a ton of overtime in last years before retirement, and have no problem saying they are doing same. That is why local municipalities are up to their balls in debt, and it is also why quite a few of them have declared bankruptcy.

As for positives in labor unions just google local 608 NYC. makes one sick

As for sub prime mortgage crisis, a lot of blame to go around, believe it or not the origins of it began with Clinton administration who decided that home ownership levels were too low in US. They encouraged banks to lower lending standards, with Fannie Mae and Freedie Mac there to absorb the extra mortgage underwriting through securitizing these loans. thus began subprime loans.

Finally the media in The US have a very liberal bias, in the past two weeks, if you picked up NYTimes, you would had had to search to find stories on IRS, Bengazhi, AP scandals etc. Fox can certainly be as bad, but mainstream media in my mind has a very liberal leaning bias.
Post by: muppet on May 25, 2013, 06:24:12 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 25, 2013, 05:16:02 PM
As for sub prime mortgage crisis, a lot of blame to go around, believe it or not the origins of it began with Clinton administration who decided that home ownership levels were too low in US. They encouraged banks to lower lending standards, with Fannie Mae and Freedie Mac there to absorb the extra mortgage underwriting through securitizing these loans. thus began subprime loans.

Finally the media in The US have a very liberal bias, in the past two weeks, if you picked up NYTimes, you would had had to search to find stories on IRS, Bengazhi, AP scandals etc. Fox can certainly be as bad, but mainstream media in my mind has a very liberal leaning bias.

That is true. But the crisis began in earnest when these mortgages became packaged in CDOs, rated Triple A, and sold as fixed income bonds. The appetite for more of these bonds led to crazy lending practices and the whole thing escalated out of control.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 26, 2013, 09:40:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 25, 2013, 06:24:12 PM
Quote from: joemamas on May 25, 2013, 05:16:02 PM

That is true. But the crisis began in earnest when these mortgages became packaged in CDOs, rated Triple A, and sold as fixed income bonds. The appetite for more of these bonds led to crazy lending practices and the whole thing escalated out of control.

The documentary Insideside Job does a great explaining the crisis. Plenty of blame on both sides, the sad thing is some of the people that were major players in the crash are still influencing economic policies in the Obama White House.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FzrBurlJUNk