Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:03:26 AM

Title: Irish celebrity facing underage rape charge dating back to 70s
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:03:26 AM
According to this morning's Irish News. Not named in the report but it makes me want to spit
Title: Re: Irish celebrity facing underage rape charge dating back to 70s
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:07:41 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:03:26 AM
According to this morning's Irish News. Not named in the report but it makes me want to spit
Probably someone who was working on the mainland. I doubt there was much swinging at RTE in 1975.
Post by: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 09:10:11 AM
This is a joke I thought it was just the British who were up to these things, us Irish would never do somrthing like this...........  ::) ::) :P ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 09:10:50 AM
'Rock' and roll I would imagine
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:26:30 AM
It has taken them long enough. You'd have to quibble with the headline "Major Irish Celebrity" though!
Post by: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 09:27:38 AM
Could it be the music trio 'The Priests'?
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:28:03 AM
Seafoid, you're not seriously suggesting this or that you do not suspect the identity. Victim alleges "he" is the father of her child.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:34:14 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:28:03 AM
Seafoid, you're not seriously suggesting this or that you do not suspect the identity. Victim alleges "he" is the father of her child.
I had no idea, Tony.
But I see the picture now.
Very depressing.

I think a lot more stuff will come crawling out of the woodwork post Savile.
Stuart Hall was caught because a  woman who had seen the Savile story wrote to Yasmin Alibhai Brown.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/the-letter-in-full-i-write-to-tell-you-that-stuart-hall-is-another-tv-presenter-you-can-investigate-8601824.html

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/how-i-exposed-stuart-halls-sex-abuse-yasmin-alibhaibrown-on-the-letter-that-kickstarted-the-investigation-8601517.html
Post by: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 10:12:37 AM
Who is it?
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 10:15:28 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 09:10:11 AM
This is a joke I thought it was just the British who were up to these things, us Irish would never do somrthing like this...........  ::) ::) :P ::) ::) ::)

Whoever he is, he was British for years but now he's Irish.
Post by: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 10:22:28 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 10:15:28 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 09:10:11 AM

Is it Terry Wogan or Terry O'Wogan???
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 10:27:10 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 10:22:28 AM

Is it Sir Terry Wogan or Sir Terry O'Wogan???

Fixed that for you (http://www.digitalspy.ie/showbiz/news/a472514/margaret-thatcher-funeral-jeremy-clarkson-terry-wogan-ex-pms-invited.html).
Post by: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 10:30:39 AM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 10:27:10 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 10:22:28 AM

Is it Sir Terry Wogan or Sir Terry O'Wogan???

Fixed that for you (http://www.digitalspy.ie/showbiz/news/a472514/margaret-thatcher-funeral-jeremy-clarkson-terry-wogan-ex-pms-invited.html).

:)
Post by: thejuice on May 16, 2013, 10:46:52 AM
This seems like lies.

We don't have any celebrities just big headed wankers.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 11:14:27 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 16, 2013, 10:46:52 AM
This seems like lies.

We don't have any celebrities just big headed w**kers.
and Late Late show luvvies
Post by: Aerlik on May 16, 2013, 11:18:16 AM
Quote from: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 09:07:41 AM

Probably someone who was working on the mainland. I doubt there was much swinging at RTE in 1975.

Where are you Seafoid?  Achill Island, Rathlin, The Blaskets? 

Post by: Orior on May 16, 2013, 11:23:03 AM
It is strange how these stories lay dormant for so many years. Is it the lure of cash in hand that raises them to the surface?
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2013, 11:24:06 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on May 16, 2013, 11:18:16 AM

lol
Post by: ziggysego on May 16, 2013, 11:28:00 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 16, 2013, 11:23:03 AM
It is strange how these stories lay dormant for so many years. Is it the lure of cash in hand that raises them to the surface?

Years ago, nobody would have believed them. Celebrities had an obscure level or respect and untouchability in that time. Much like Priests had in the same era.
Post by: LeoMc on May 16, 2013, 11:47:38 AM
Good hint Tony. Sally Bercow could have taken lessons from you and shamrock.
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 11:57:22 AM
It was too good! Most people seem to have missed it!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 12:07:34 PM
I am only speculating, like.

I could be totally wrong. Perhaps Tony has an inside track.
Post by: Oraisteach on May 16, 2013, 01:06:30 PM
These cryptic clues have me befuddled.  I'm as lost as a pilgrim heading to Plymouth Rock and ending up in Miami.
Post by: Declan on May 16, 2013, 01:27:02 PM
Cryptic clues only known to posters of a certain vintage ;) ;)
Post by: Armaghgeddon on May 16, 2013, 01:30:10 PM
If it is Terry Wogan they can have him as British.
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 01:31:44 PM
Quote from: Declan on May 16, 2013, 01:27:02 PM
Cryptic clues only known to posters of a certain vintage ;) ;)

Board vintage or real-life vintage? Either way, I'm stumped - although realising I don't have an insight into the workings of Fearon's brain comes as quite a relief.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 01:32:48 PM
Ah deiseach, it's obvious. Come on man, Spit it out.
Post by: LeoMc on May 16, 2013, 01:40:23 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 12:07:34 PM
I am only speculating, like.

I could be totally wrong. Perhaps Tony has an inside track.

I was struggling with Tonys clue until yours give me an insight into his thinking (shiver). I am going to close that door and step away.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 01:41:17 PM

Rockall.

another clue perhaps
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 01:41:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 01:32:48 PM

Nope. Clearly I can only focus on spit of the world-class variety.
Post by: theskull1 on May 16, 2013, 01:41:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 09:03:26 AM

Is this him?

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/images/blog/carolgees.jpg)
Post by: muppet on May 16, 2013, 01:49:12 PM
Took me a while.

But I must be slightly younger than Tony as the clue means a different person to me and I would have been mega shocked if that were the case.

But posters need to be very careful from a legal point of view. I don't see why the former BBC man is mentioned on this thread as the tricky clues, as far I can see, aren't aimed at him at all.

As mentioned above this is worth reading: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2325457/Sally-Bercow-appears-High-Court-accused-pointing-finger-blame-Tory-peer-Lord-McAlpine-libellous-tweet-child-abuse-allegations-storm.html?ico=news%5Eheadlines (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2325457/Sally-Bercow-appears-High-Court-accused-pointing-finger-blame-Tory-peer-Lord-McAlpine-libellous-tweet-child-abuse-allegations-storm.html?ico=news%5Eheadlines)
Post by: Oraisteach on May 16, 2013, 01:58:58 PM
More spittin' going on in this thread than you'd have with a squinty-eyed woman trying to thread a needle.  And as for all these rock allusions.  I am of Tony's vintage, but my wine has turned to vinegar.
Post by: Orior on May 16, 2013, 02:10:27 PM
Quote from: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 01:41:48 PM

Nope. Clearly I can only focus on spit of the world-class variety.

lol. me too. I'm sure I've heard that catch phrase, but cannot remember where.
Post by: rosnarun on May 16, 2013, 02:27:13 PM
Dont be a dick tell us who it is
Post by: laoislad on May 16, 2013, 02:29:35 PM
Richard loves climbing Rocks.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 02:31:15 PM
Wow. Bang goes the subtlety right there :D
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 02:33:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 02:31:15 PM
Wow. Bang goes the subtlety right there :D

Now I'm positively thrilled I didn't get it. Total hipster, me.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 02:42:28 PM
Eh - I think we should stop there!
Post by: illdecide on May 16, 2013, 02:46:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 16, 2013, 02:29:35 PM

lol...couldn't get any clearer than that LL
Post by: Declan on May 16, 2013, 02:58:11 PM
As subtle as always LL
Post by: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 03:13:30 PM
That clue is lost on me!!
Post by: trasna man on May 16, 2013, 03:22:32 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on May 16, 2013, 03:13:30 PM
[/quote
I'm shocked at that. Where you not a big fan ;)
Post by: God14 on May 16, 2013, 03:32:08 PM

Your not alone Tickle, im doing a bit of head scratching myself. Havnt seen todays IN all the same
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 03:32:43 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 16, 2013, 03:32:08 PM

Your not alone Tickle, im doing a bit of head scratching myself. Havnt seen todays IN all the same

Oh, now you're just showing off!
Post by: Oraisteach on May 16, 2013, 03:37:05 PM
Well, did I get it with my Plymouth Rock and Floridian city reference?
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 03:41:34 PM
Someone from Anglo Irish bank defaced the wiki page of a well known Irish sleb (obliquely mentioned on this thread numerous times) in 2008 with lewd remarks according to Wiki. I wonder what that was all about. 
Post by: dec on May 16, 2013, 03:51:18 PM
obliquely?
Post by: God14 on May 16, 2013, 04:02:35 PM
With the aid of Google & the clues up on here i found it
Thankfully im much too young to know of him, or remember him at all
Hardly a celebrity, did the news really refer to him as a celeb?
Post by: deiseach on May 16, 2013, 04:06:57 PM
Quote from: God14 on May 16, 2013, 04:02:35 PM
Thankfully im much too young to know of him, or remember him at all

I'd say you're 40. Maybe a little older?
Post by: God14 on May 16, 2013, 04:08:43 PM
Obviously 70s celebs would never be a forte, but if he was a true celebrity sure I would have knew him
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 16, 2013, 04:10:51 PM
Rumours about the same gent have been doing the rounds for some years and it seems that more than one woman let him wash her windows.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 16, 2013, 04:22:55 PM
Is it a "statutory rape" charge or a "rape" charge?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 04:31:22 PM
What was it said about Daniel O'Connell?

A child in every parish!

It's that damnable rogue of a Daniel O'Connell,
He's now making children in Dublin by steam."

"Oh, children, aroo," replied the old woman.
"ainm an diabhal!, is he crazy at last?
Is there sign of a war or a sudden rebellion
Or what is the reason he wants them so fast?"
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 04:34:25 PM

He was clearly talking about the mainland, i.e. France.
Post by: dec on May 16, 2013, 04:34:34 PM
I am surprised his name hasn't cropped up on twitter yet.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 04:40:25 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 16, 2013, 02:46:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 16, 2013, 02:29:35 PM

lol...couldn't get any clearer than that LL

I think I get the clue, but I might be wrong.
Post by: ludermor on May 16, 2013, 04:43:04 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 04:34:25 PM

He was clearly talking about the mainland, i.e. France.
Has anyone got one of those facepalm yokies???
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2013, 04:43:29 PM
Ah lads. There'll be wigs on the green if somebody says the wrong thing here.
Post by: muppet on May 16, 2013, 04:47:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2013, 04:43:29 PM
Ah lads. There'll be wigs on the green if somebody says the wrong thing here.

Whatever flips your bippy.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 16, 2013, 04:51:05 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 04:31:22 PM
What was it said about Daniel O'Connell?

A child in every parish!

It's that damnable rogue of a Daniel O'Connell,
He's now making children in Dublin by steam."

"Oh, children, aroo," replied the old woman.
"ainm an diabhal!, is he crazy at last?
Is there sign of a war or a sudden rebellion
Or what is the reason he wants them so fast?"

'Twas also said by a contemporary of his that, "there isn't a skirt in the whole of Munster that he hasn't looked under."
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 04:52:31 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-3F6UuLZsPZI/T_JdsA-BomI/AAAAAAAANbc/O9DCuDSCBzk/s1600/P1030262.JPG)

Here is a candy store on the corner that I used to frequent in my time in the USA.
Post by: Sandino on May 16, 2013, 05:03:27 PM
Shamrock, l fear that one is wasted, lol.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 05:06:57 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 16, 2013, 03:41:34 PM
Someone from Anglo Irish bank defaced the wiki page of a well known Irish sleb (obliquely mentioned on this thread numerous times) in 2008 with lewd remarks according to Wiki. I wonder what that was all about.

Nah, it wasn't that. Someone said he was hung like a horse, as were his sons. Apparently.
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 16, 2013, 05:07:10 PM
Quote from: Sandino on May 16, 2013, 05:03:27 PM

SS may take you, to the chapel on the hill.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 05:30:19 PM
Quote from: All of a Sludden on May 16, 2013, 05:07:10 PM
Quote from: Sandino on May 16, 2013, 05:03:27 PM

SS may take you, to the chapel on the hill.

Here's a grand chapel on the hill

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/09/Drumcree_Church_-_geograph.org.uk_-_312428.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on May 16, 2013, 05:33:01 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 16, 2013, 04:52:31 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-3F6UuLZsPZI/T_JdsA-BomI/AAAAAAAANbc/O9DCuDSCBzk/s1600/P1030262.JPG)

Here is a candy store on the corner that I used to frequent in my time in the USA.

When did you come back to stay in Ireland.
Post by: theskull1 on May 16, 2013, 07:11:41 PM
In fairness he was probably a youngster back in the 70's.
Post by: stew on May 16, 2013, 07:12:33 PM
I thought Cliff Richard was a brit.  :P
Post by: heffo on May 16, 2013, 07:14:59 PM

No-one will get it now!
Post by: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 07:43:34 PM
SS how dare you present probably the most famous Church of Ireland in Ireland,a mere half mile from my ancestral home as a Chapel!
Post by: lawnseed on May 16, 2013, 08:23:32 PM
is it marty whelan...?
Post by: armaghniac on May 16, 2013, 08:47:47 PM
Quoteis it marty whelan...?

A rock star. Obviously can't control his dick.
Post by: laoislad on May 16, 2013, 08:50:37 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 16, 2013, 08:47:47 PM
Quoteis it marty whelan...?

A rock star. Obviously can't control his dick.
It's hard to control when it's rock hard....
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 09:25:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 16, 2013, 07:43:34 PM
SS how dare you present probably the most famous Church of Ireland in Ireland,a mere half mile from my ancestral home as a Chapel!

More famous that St.Patrick's or Christchurch in Dublin?

Still behind Christchurch Castebar, Turlough Church (Turlough, Castlebar) and St. Nicholas Collegiate Church in Galway City to me.
Post by: Syferus on May 16, 2013, 11:53:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 09:25:00 PM

Still behind Christchurch Castebar, Turlough Church (Turlough, Castlebar) and St. Nicholas Collegiate Church in Galway City to me.

Ballaghaderreen in County Roscommon has a fine cathedral too.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 17, 2013, 10:48:57 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 16, 2013, 11:53:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on May 16, 2013, 09:25:00 PM

Ballaghaderreen in County Roscommon has a fine cathedral too.

Hah? Has it f**k!  ;D
The roof is banjaxed and ready to cave in.
At least it was a couple of years ago when when an appeal was made to all the faithful in the diocese to come up with €100 per household to help restore the place to its former glory.
That's what the bro told me when I invited him out for a pint one night. (Well, I think that's what he was saying as he was giving the rules and English grammar and syntax an almighty toe up the hole at the time and I was finding it hard to keep up with him.)