GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: heffo on May 02, 2013, 10:51:44 AM

Title: Sheehan queries time free-taking goalies get
Post by: heffo on May 02, 2013, 10:51:44 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/sheehan-queries-time-free-taking-goalies-get-230108.html

"We remember the 2011 All-Ireland final, would I get that long to take a free or would the referee throw the ball in?" he said. "If I was delaying, waiting around, what would happen? That's my only issue with it."

While still not being able to take a fair beating, he clearly doesn't remember that he took ten seconds longer with one of his free's at a time when Kerry were cruising than Cluxton did with his last kick. He tied his lace, took a drink, checked the wind and took his run up.
Title: Re: Sheehan queries time free-taking goalies get
Post by: magpie seanie on May 02, 2013, 11:29:37 AM
We used to time Maurice Sheridan of Mayo. 45-50 seconds on average.
Post by: criostlinn on May 02, 2013, 11:40:55 AM
Cillian O Connor was pulled up for the length of time it took him to take a free in the Connacht Final in 2011. This was his first big game and it seemd more like a petty attempt by the ref to put him back in his box. Not sure how long he took before he was pulled up but was definitely no longer then any of the goalies take.
Post by: screenexile on May 02, 2013, 11:56:27 AM
Quote from: heffo on May 02, 2013, 10:51:44 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/sheehan-queries-time-free-taking-goalies-get-230108.html

"We remember the 2011 All-Ireland final, would I get that long to take a free or would the referee throw the ball in?" he said. "If I was delaying, waiting around, what would happen? That's my only issue with it."

While still not being able to take a fair beating, he clearly doesn't remember that he took ten seconds longer with one of his free's at a time when Kerry were cruising than Cluxton did with his last kick. He tied his lace, took a drink, checked the wind and took his run up.

That's a bit of a leap there... what comment in his quote makes him a sore loser? He just said he doesn't think the ref would let him take as long over a free as they let goalkeepers. It's a true statement!

Niall Morgan's free taking took an extra 5 mins 30 seconds. Seems to be a lot of playing time lost if you ask me! 30 seconds should be plenty of time to take a free kick.

Outfield players should be fit to take frees anyway I don't see why we should hold up the game for someone to run the length of the field to take a free.
Post by: heffo on May 02, 2013, 12:03:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 02, 2013, 11:56:27 AM

That's a bit of a leap there... what comment in his quote makes him a sore loser? He just said he doesn't think the ref would let him take as long over a free as they let goalkeepers. It's a true statement!

Niall Morgan's free taking took an extra 5 mins 30 seconds. Seems to be a lot of playing time lost if you ask me! 30 seconds should be plenty of time to take a free kick.

Outfield players should be fit to take frees anyway I don't see why we should hold up the game for someone to run the length of the field to take a free.

I would think he's citing Cluxton's final kick as an unfair advantage we accrued, when he himself took longer with one of his kicks.

It's just the latest in a long line of ungracious comments from Kerry players/mgt surrounding that game.
Post by: rosnarun on May 02, 2013, 12:04:51 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 02, 2013, 11:40:55 AM
Cillian O Connor was pulled up for the length of time it took him to take a free in the Connacht Final in 2011. This was his first big game and it seemd more like a petty attempt by the ref to put him back in his box. Not sure how long he took before he was pulled up but was definitely no longer then any of the goalies take.
about 40 seconds if my menory serves me well.
It was a mean act by the referee  alright but Cillian showed then and since he has nerves of Ice
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2013, 12:09:04 PM
One of the outfield players should place the ball while the goalie is running up the field.
The goalie then has to kick it immediately without breaking stride.
20 seconds max.
Post by: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 12:12:20 PM
I did that one time when I was a keeper in soccer and I used to take the penalties. The ball was on the spot when I arrived and I just hit it in my stride. Highly recommended technique - took the keeper completely by surprise. He just stood there looking at the ref. The ref blew the whistle and pointed to the centre circle.
Post by: Canalman on May 02, 2013, 12:21:00 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 02, 2013, 12:03:06 PM

I would think he's citing Cluxton's final kick as an unfair advantage we accrued, when he himself took longer with one of his kicks.

It's just the latest in a long line of ungracious comments from Kerry players/mgt surrounding that game.

Agree Heffo. Makes the victory all the sweeter. Still makes me smile to think they are grumbling away even now.

Post by: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2013, 12:23:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 12:12:20 PM
I did that one time when I was a keeper in soccer and I used to take the penalties. The ball was on the spot when I arrived and I just hit it in my stride. Highly recommended technique - took the keeper completely by surprise. He just stood there looking at the ref. The ref blew the whistle and pointed to the centre circle.

A Shane Curran special

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3ZKbZlERhQs#t=6s (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3ZKbZlERhQs#t=6s)
Post by: supersarsfields on May 02, 2013, 01:50:07 PM

So should a team not be allowed to get the best person to hit the free just because they're farther away from the free? Does this mean a corner back shouldn't be allowed either, or a half back? Where's the line in proximity to the free? Such a load of nonsense. As long as he doesn't take the p!ss strolling up the pitch (And Morgan and Cluxton general don't) then there's no issue.
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2013, 01:59:29 PM
This is exactly why we need the visible clock on/clock off system.
Post by: Rossfan on May 02, 2013, 02:24:21 PM
If the clock is stopped from once the ref blows for a free until such time as the ball is kicked .... we'd better add an hour to the time we'll be out of the house for games - football ones anyway - 50 frees @ 40 secs = 33 mins extra, then add the sidelines and wides/scores/45s.....
Post by: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 02:26:44 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 02, 2013, 12:23:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 02, 2013, 12:12:20 PM

A Shane Curran special

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3ZKbZlERhQs#t=6s (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3ZKbZlERhQs#t=6s)

Ah I've been looking for that clip for years. Good man, Dinny.
Post by: rosnarun on May 02, 2013, 02:36:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2013, 01:59:29 PM
I thought it was so teams can just Waste the last 5/10 minutes like they do in Rugby
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2013, 02:44:34 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 02, 2013, 02:36:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 02, 2013, 01:59:29 PM
I thought it was so teams can just Waste the last 5/10 minutes like they do in Rugby

Have you even watched a tight game of gaelic football end?
Post by: screenexile on May 02, 2013, 03:04:15 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 02, 2013, 01:50:07 PM

So should a team not be allowed to get the best person to hit the free just because they're farther away from the free? Does this mean a corner back shouldn't be allowed either, or a half back? Where's the line in proximity to the free? Such a load of nonsense. As long as he doesn't take the p!ss strolling up the pitch (And Morgan and Cluxton general don't) then there's no issue.

Nah I think it holds up the game too much. Get your free taken within 30 seconds or feck off.

Put it like this. I'm in a team that's winning by a point and get a free kick in the full back line will the referee allow me 40 seconds to kick that free? Not a chance... I'd be lucky to get 15!

It should be the same for all frees all over the pitch unless you bring in some kind of rule about a scoring free!! 30 seconds should be ample time to kick a ball over the bar.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 02, 2013, 03:14:06 PM
If you threw the ball down and walked away form it for the centre half to come back to hit it because he's a better foot than your ( obviously completely hypothical, I'm sure your feet are equally as good as the centre half, knees however....) and it took 30-40 seconds for him to trot back and lift the ball and hit the free, I don't believe a ref would blow it up. It's just too hard to regulate. If the free taker makes a decent enough effort to get up/down the pitch then I think there's little can be done. Now if the free taker saunters across the pitch and is ripping the ass out of it then fair enough book them. But that's not the case with the keepers coming up the pitch.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2013, 03:18:55 PM
I would agree with him. The game is getting riddled with stoppages and delays enough these days without waiting an eternity for keepers to come up the field.  It just adds to the game getting slower.

There should be a fixed time for a free to be taken however without this rule (it's "discretionary" really what is deemed as time wasting) it would be very hard to penalise someone for it.
Post by: rrhf on May 02, 2013, 04:05:30 PM
"Change the bloody rules" says Kerryman. 
Post by: supersarsfields on May 02, 2013, 04:06:52 PM
Naw I don't think you can stop Keepers who make a genuine effort to get up the pitch from hitting frees. As I said if they were swinging the leg then by all means book then, but I haven't seen either Cluxton or Morgan time wasting. They make a genuine run up the pitch.
I really enjoy the long range free taking especially of the ground, so I don't understand why anyone would want to limit it. Especially not when the players involved aren't intentionally running the clock down unlike the dropping for cramp/ fake injuries.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 02, 2013, 04:25:50 PM
Jaysus would people ever stop whinging about the rules of the game? If anyone tries something outside the boundaries of the traditional game, there's always a group who want it banned (usually from Kerry). I'm sure the people who are moaning about Morgan and Cluxton are also the same people who bemoan the fact that frees are kicked fom the hands. Dead ball kicking for goal off the ground is a great skill of our game - even it does take a few extra seconds - and it's a spectacular sight to see a player ping one over from beyond the 45. Perhaps all the rules should be re-drafted to suit Kerry so they win every AI and maybe then the moaning will stop?
Post by: Denn Forever on May 02, 2013, 05:31:17 PM
With the game being run to the clock as in the Ladies game, maybe the clock should be stopped when there is a 45?
Post by: thewobbler on May 02, 2013, 05:50:45 PM
I make Sheehan absolutely right.

On that particular occasion, Cluxton took every second he could off the clock, safe in the knowledge that not even the most bonkers of referees would take the right decision and blow him for time-wasting.

Which is fair enough in one way - we aren't here to watch referees decide matches - but the ref should have added upwards on 30 seconds onto injury time, if for no other reason than to help discourage this type of gamesmanship in future.

By the way, there is absolutely no point in putting a clock on the amount of time it takes to hit a free. Even the stupidest of footballers wouldn't be long working out that if you want your keeper to take a free, and you want to give him as long as possible to take it, then feign a head injury when the foul is awarded. So by trying to clean the game up, you would inadvertently reward a worse level of cheating.

Referees have too much to think about it as it is, and I don't want to put pressure on them, but a commonsense approach to adding additional time to injury time would sort out the more contentious of these concerns.

Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 02, 2013, 06:10:29 PM
Ah poor Kerry always the oul vicrims eh...................yerra somebody should remind Sheehan of the unfair advantage Jack OConnor has had over the years ploughing all the married kerry women out of it...................................
Post by: stew on May 02, 2013, 06:15:47 PM
The rugger buggers have got it right, no guessing on time added on, when there is a stoppage the clock stops and does not start until play begins again.
Post by: neilthemac on May 02, 2013, 07:21:00 PM
Quote from: stew on May 02, 2013, 06:15:47 PM
The rugger buggers have got it right, no guessing on time added on, when there is a stoppage the clock stops and does not start until play begins again.

except the two minutes it takes to take a fecking kick
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 02, 2013, 07:50:27 PM
Simples...................... outfield player kicks 45 equates to 2 point..........................keeper equates to 1 point
Post by: Dont Matter on May 02, 2013, 08:11:53 PM
Of course Sheehan is right. Everyone knows Dublin were handed that All Ireland and the ref let Cluxton away with clear time wasting. Dublin are due an All Ireland the ref was told and he followed orders.
On the issue of keepers coming up for frees and 45's, well the ref should say 'stop the clock' when he feels there is too much time been taking and start it again when the kick is struck.
Post by: heffo on May 02, 2013, 08:13:25 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 02, 2013, 05:50:45 PM

On that particular occasion, Cluxton took every second he could off the clock, safe in the knowledge that not even the most bonkers of referees would take the right decision and blow him for time-wasting.

I don't how you do.

As I already pointed out, Sheehan took 15 seconds longer over one of his free's around the 62nd minute when he thought Kerry had it in the bag.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2013, 08:50:48 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 02, 2013, 08:13:25 PM

I don't how you do.

As I already pointed out, Sheehan took 15 seconds longer over one of his free's around the 62nd minute when he thought Kerry had it in the bag.

What free are you referring to around the 62nd minute ?.

If its the one I am thinking about then, by my reckoning, not only did Sheehan only take about 10 seconds to take that kick but he actually ran over to it with the intent of taking it quickly. It was the other Kerry players that didn't give him an option that caused him to hesitate.

Meanwhile it was a full minute from the time Dublin free was awarded and Cluxton actually taking it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 02, 2013, 09:28:00 PM
Should be more ashamed the only person worth a damn to take a free is the damn keeper. they say football come forward from yesteryear but free taking in the past is way better than it is now. Hard to talk about quality forwards when  none them fit to take a 45. Sure it be like american football next, with stoppages between every play, and the kicker bouncing of the bench to take frees
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on May 02, 2013, 09:36:41 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2013, 08:50:48 PM

I don't how you do.`

If its the one I am thinking about then, by my reckoning, not only did Sheehan only take about 10 seconds to take that kick but he actually ran over to it with the intent of taking it quickly. It was the other Kerry players that didn't give him an option that caused him to hesitate.

Meanwhile it was a full minute from the time Dublin free was awarded and Cluxton actually taking it.

Sheehan took 1 minute 10 seconds to take a free with about 12 mins left when it looked like Kerry were coasting. He fixed his boot, took a drink and generally fannied about before kicking it wide. He has a hard neck moaning about Cluxton who jogged up the field, put the ball down and kicked it over the bar with minimum fuss and no fannying. Maybe Sheehan would be better off if he spent a little less time ateing snack boxes and a little more time practicing his frees.

For such a proud footballing county Kerry are showing little pride in continueing to whinge abut 2011. Maybe its an indicator that they realise they are going to be waiting a while to win their next one.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2013, 10:05:46 PM
Quote from: Michael Schmeichal on May 02, 2013, 09:36:41 PM

I don't how you do.`

Sheehan took 1 minute 10 seconds to take a free with about 12 mins left when it looked like Kerry were coasting. He fixed his boot, took a drink and generally fannied about before kicking it wide. He has a hard neck moaning about Cluxton who jogged up the field, put the ball down and kicked it over the bar with minimum fuss and no fannying. Maybe Sheehan would be better off if he spent a little less time ateing snack boxes and a little more time practicing his frees.

For such a proud footballing county Kerry are showing little pride in continueing to whinge abut 2011. Maybe its an indicator that they realise they are going to be waiting a while to win their next one.

Oh so now we are talking about a free that happened with 12 minutes to go are we. You Dubs are great for comparing the auld apple and Oranges aren't you.

Also Sheehan took 45secs to take the kick. The only timewasting was due to some jawing that McCauley was doing at the ref.

and I'm sure Brian Sheehan is amused to be getting dietary advice from a bunch of cannibals.
Post by: heffo on May 02, 2013, 10:33:36 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2013, 10:05:46 PM

I don't how you do.`

Oh so now we are talking about a free that happened with 12 minutes to go are we. You Dubs are great for comparing the auld apple and Oranges aren't you.

Also Sheehan took 45secs to take the kick. The only timewasting was due to some jawing that McCauley was doing at the ref.

and I'm sure Brian Sheehan is amused to be getting dietary advice from a bunch of cannibals.

1 minute 13 seconds and no-one was talking to the ref.

Awful pity that a once proud county like Kerry have to resort to this short of shite.
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2013, 11:27:20 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 02, 2013, 09:28:00 PM
Should be more ashamed the only person worth a damn to take a free is the damn keeper. they say football come forward from yesteryear but free taking in the past is way better than it is now. Hard to talk about quality forwards when  none them fit to take a 45. Sure it be like american football next, with stoppages between every play, and the kicker bouncing of the bench to take frees

Calm down Grandad.
Post by: muppet on May 03, 2013, 02:07:34 AM
Every team should nominate a free-taker. He wouldn't have to play because he could come on to take the free as play would obviously have to stop for the free. In fact kicking frees could be his only job. To cut out the auld sh*te that would go on, like when Maurice Fitz came on agin the Dubs in 2001, you could have a special squad of bodyguards who would run on with the free-taker when he was going to take his free. When he scored or missed or hit the post, he could then piss off back to the bench and think about what he just did to his county. In fact he could have a special seat in the stand so fans could tell him what the wind was doing or whether he was a clown for his last free etc.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 03, 2013, 08:54:47 AM

I don't how you do.`

Cracker Michael Schmeichal.  First laugh I've had all day.  I suppose we are just lucky Sheehan isn't in goals anymore as it would take him quite a while to get from the nets to the other teams 45. 
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 03, 2013, 09:28:32 AM
Clearly Sheehan is in fat town at the moment, he struggles with his tubbyness..........................so I reckon this was a twitter rant from him whilst he was spooning a bucket of HB
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2013, 09:43:54 AM
Less of the personal abuse lads.
Post by: Michael Schmeichal on May 03, 2013, 09:47:55 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2013, 10:05:46 PM

Look, if you want me to go back and look at the match again and take down the exact time elapsed when the free was awarded just say the word and I'll do it. It would be unfair to ask a Kerryman like yourself to do it on the grounds of unecccessary cruelty. On the other hand myself as a Dub watching the replay of this match never fails to give me a soft horn at the very least.

On the subject of whingeing after defeats you Kerry boys could take a lesson in how to conduct yourselves in defeat from your Cork neighbours. They kept a steadfastly stiff upper lip after Tadgh Kenneally's disgraceful and premeditated assault on Nicholas Murphy in the opening seconds of the 2009 final which basically took Murphy out of the game. Don't even attempt to deny it because Tadgh admitted it in his buke! If a Tyrone or Dublin man did ithe same to one of the Kingdoms finest ye would be looking to send the perpetrator to Guantanamo.
Post by: Bingo on May 03, 2013, 10:32:16 AM
I think Sheehan is more looking at the game going forward.

As it stands now, when a free is awarded in this scoring zone and the keeper is flagged to take it, its like a rugby union match now, everything stops, forwards and defenders know it has to be kicked dead and everyone takes a break. Keeper trots up, takes a recovery when he gets there and then lines up his free. All this takes time.

Not knocking a team that uses a keeper for these frees, as its a fine art and it also punishes fouls. But it does resemble a rugby union type build up to the actual free.
Post by: Canalman on May 03, 2013, 10:58:53 AM
Have to say I enjoy the "drama" in a goalie ambling up to take a free. Makes the stakes higher imvho and I thought the 2 goalies last Sunday added to the occasion. Bigger roar if they score, bigger jeer if they miss.

To come back to 2011 Kerry have yet to explain how they were blown away in a football sense by the Dubs in the last 10 minutes of that game. May I suggest (God forbid) that Dublin were the better footballers.

Can't blame some of them for the bitterness, this was to be the day Gooch lifted Sam and a county they despise/ had  utter contempt for was to be humiliated again.

To be fair though, Jack O'Connor was very gracious in the interview after the game. A top man imo. Won't have a bad word said against him.

Mark my words Cluxton will be nailed for "time wasting" this summer as a result.
Post by: heffo on May 03, 2013, 11:20:39 AM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on May 03, 2013, 09:28:32 AM
Clearly Sheehan is in fat town at the moment, he struggles with his tubbyness..........................so I reckon this was a twitter rant from him whilst he was spooning a bucket of HB

No need for that shi*e Squire
Post by: Hound on May 03, 2013, 11:33:34 AM
But the clock does NOT stop for rugby either when penalties are been taken. But they do have a time limit. A reasonable time to decide whether they are going to kick at goal or not (10 or 15 seconds) then another one minute to take the kick.

Cluxton or Morgan would rarely take one minute. In fact they'd be two of the quickest in the game in terms of time between placing the ball and kicking it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 03, 2013, 11:44:55 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 03, 2013, 11:33:34 AM
But the clock does NOT stop for rugby either when penalties are been taken. But they do have a time limit. A reasonable time to decide whether they are going to kick at goal or not (10 or 15 seconds) then another one minute to take the kick.

Cluxton or Morgan would rarely take one minute. In fact they'd be two of the quickest in the game in terms of time between placing the ball and kicking it.

Plus 90 secs to take the conversion from the moment a try is scored. Clock only gets stopped for - injuries, replacements, yellow and red cards, referee conversations with players & touch judges and TMO queries. Adds roughly 6/7 mins extra per half in a 40 minute game.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 03, 2013, 11:56:08 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 03, 2013, 11:44:55 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 03, 2013, 11:33:34 AM

Plus 90 secs to take the conversion from the moment a try is scored. Clock only gets stopped for - injuries, replacements, yellow and red cards, referee conversations with players & touch judges and TMO queries. Adds roughly 6/7 mins extra per half in a 40 minute game.

Hate comparing football to rugby but would that not suggest we are seriously underestimating the time we typically add on?
Post by: Hound on May 03, 2013, 12:12:57 PM
There was a good chunk of time added on in the Derry-Westmeath match (over 3mins I think). Were there many injuries?
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2013, 12:20:28 PM
One bad one for Wilkinson.
Post by: Dont Matter on May 03, 2013, 01:27:30 PM
This isn't rugby, we can make our own rules. If there's any time wasting or other nonsense going on then the ref can say stop the clock. It's pretty simple really.
As for the Sheehan free, time was added on for that, no time was added on for Cluxtons free. In fact the game was played for a minute less!
Also I hope everyone can see what the 'ordinary decent Dub fans' are really like from their comments on the last page. A nasty bunch.
Post by: heffo on May 03, 2013, 01:55:20 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on May 03, 2013, 01:27:30 PM
This isn't rugby, we can make our own rules. If there's any time wasting or other nonsense going on then the ref can say stop the clock. It's pretty simple really.
As for the Sheehan free, time was added on for that, no time was added on for Cluxtons free. In fact the game was played for a minute less!
Also I hope everyone can see what the 'ordinary decent Dub fans' are really like from their comments on the last page. A nasty bunch.

Does it take much effort to be a complete and utter wan*er or does it come natural?
Post by: thewobbler on May 03, 2013, 02:05:00 PM
One of the most frustrating things about GAABoard, is that it's seemingly impossible for about half of our contributors to discuss a subject without descending the conversation into county rivalries and barbs, without turning it into tit for tat nonsense.

Post by: heffo on May 03, 2013, 02:08:34 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 03, 2013, 02:05:00 PM
One of the most frustrating things about GAABoard, is that it's seemingly impossible for about half of our contributors to discuss a subject without descending the conversation into county rivalries and barbs, without turning it into tit for tat nonsense.

It's a pity the mods don't do their job and get rid of trolls like that clown