GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2013, 03:24:51 PM

Title: Wicklow v Longford - LSFC Aughrim 26 May 2013 at 3.30 pm
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2013, 03:24:51 PM
Ah - it's that time of the year when we get a day out in the sun/less cold.

Both teams had a torrid League - with both getting relegated. Longford had a bad run of luck in the League and lost more than one game that they really should have won. Confidence may be low having only won one competitive game in 2013 (agin UCD IN O'Byrne Cup) so management will have their work cut out in getting the minds focussed.

On paper Longford should have enough to get through this. There will be a few U21s coming into the side and there is a strong backbone of experience. However full back Barry Gilleran will be missing as he has a one match suspension to serve (picked up a straight red in the last league game aganst Louth). Brian Kavanagh is unavailable and Paul Barden may not have recovered full fitness from a series of injuries.

Many a team has gone to Aughrim and come home with the tail between the legs so all is not certain.

Winners play Meath at home so if that is not incentive enough I don't know what is.

Stay tuned for challenge results and team news ahead of this clash of Leinster titans!

Title: Re: Wicklow v Longford - LSFC Aughrim 26 May 2013 at 3.30 pm
Post by: thejuice on April 29, 2013, 03:55:11 PM
We'll be in the long grass.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2013, 04:20:13 PM
I'd luv it, luv it if we get a chance to give Meath a rattle.

Longford last played Meath in 1994 or thereabouts and got beaten out the gate in Longford. 4-15 to 0-09 or something like that. I think Dessie Barry was player-manager that day.

Prior to that Longford beat Meath in 1981 which caused such consternation in The Royal County that they got some "hurling fella" to manage the side.
Post by: muppet on April 29, 2013, 04:40:39 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 29, 2013, 03:55:11 PM
We'll be in the long grass.

Practicing your scything no doubt!  ;)
Post by: The Insider on April 29, 2013, 07:36:20 PM
Longford play Carlow next Sunday as part of their contribution to the Gathering scam, they then play Offaly the following Sunday at the opening of Grattens new pitch , due back from training camp today. at least 2 more rounds of the league to be played before the 26th May. No word yet on Paul Barden's injury troubles. Also no word on Robbie Smyth's collar bone. Only Mark Hughes called up from the U-21's since the Leinster final ,felt there should have been 3 or 4 more.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 29, 2013, 07:51:53 PM
QuoteOnly Mark Hughes called up from the U-21's since the Leinster final ,felt there should have been 3 or 4 more.

Now that sounds like madness to me. I suppose the question would be who would you drop to make way.....but still......only one!

Where is the game agin Carlow?
Post by: Syferus on April 29, 2013, 08:58:09 PM
Was there few of them on the panel throughout the league? That sounds very strange, especially with two key forwards not available.

We usually use the league to bed players in while they're still U21s, if they're good enough. Three of our best players this season are U21s and from the look of Longford's U21 team they're very much on the same level as our lads.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 29, 2013, 09:18:28 PM
A few U21's had been on the panel like Padraigh McCormack, Robbie Smith who is now Injured. 
Mark Hughes looks a very handy forward

Leighton Glynn didn't kick a ball in the League and has been ruled out of the Championship. He would be a massive loss for Wicklow.
Post by: The Insider on April 30, 2013, 10:05:57 PM
Meant that Mark Hughes was the only additional U-21 added to the panel that was there for the National league . 1 other lad asked but has gone to the USA. Paddy Collum, Barry O Farrell Padraig Mc Cormack , Barry Mc Keon and Robbie Smyth all were part of the league squad
Post by: Qwerty28 on April 30, 2013, 10:32:47 PM
You know Summer time is just arund the corner when the individual Champioship match threads appear! Just over 3 weeks to go at this stage!  :)

Never been the Aughrim so will be another venue  ticked off and hopefully we come away with a win. As pointed out confidence cant be too high after a very poor league but the first four/five defeats were all by very slim margains so its not as if we were completely outclassed at any stage. Few U-21s should be pushing for a start and at least add a bit of strength to the subs bench as seemed to rarely use  many subs during league or even championship last year.

Hopefully Paul will be back to at least make an appearance form the bench, even the last 15 minutes would be a big boost to the side
Post by: North Longford on May 01, 2013, 11:18:46 PM
James mcgivney not involved with seniors this year?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 07, 2013, 12:39:00 PM
Longford tore Carlow a new ringpiece in the challenge game over the weekend. Not sure of the score.

Anyone have it to post?

Longford website is never bang on up-to-date
Post by: seafoid on May 07, 2013, 12:49:46 PM
Longford should win this handy. D2 was a bit much for them but they are a good bit better than Wickla.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 07, 2013, 01:02:49 PM
Quotebut they are a good bit better than Wickla.

They should be for sure but it's never that simple with Longford!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 08, 2013, 02:17:28 PM
Longford 2-15
Carlow 0-11

was the result of the recent challenge
Post by: omagh_gael on May 08, 2013, 02:40:54 PM
Longford for Sam!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 11, 2013, 10:43:11 AM
Good man Peter O'Reilly - our very own Frank Murphy - I know this is a hurling story but read on:

AN astonishing oversight by Croke Park will leave Tipperary sharpshooter Lar Corbett and Kilkenny defender JJ Delaney free to line out in the first round of their respective provincial championships.

A rulebook technicality means that, provided he recovers from a rib injury, Corbett can play against Limerick on June 9 in the Munster SHC semi-final – with Delaney also eligible for Kilkenny's Leinster SHC quarter-final clash against Offaly in Tullamore on the same day.

Corbett and Delaney, both former Hurlers of the Year, were sent off in last Sunday's NHL Division 1 final at Nowlan Park following a second-half goalmouth fracas, and four-week time-based suspensions have been proposed.

It had been thought that the pair would each receive one-match bans, to extend from the league into the first round of the championship, but a recent case involving Longford defender Barry Gilleran appears to have cleared them.

Gilleran is free to play against Wicklow in the first round of the Leinster SFC, despite being red-carded in the final league game of the season against Louth on April 7.

This came about after Longford officials successfully appealed the championship ban to the Central Appeals Committee (CAC), on the basis that the rule under which Gilleran was suspended effectively expired on December 31, 2012.

A rule introduced in 2012, covering the National League and championship, ensured that if a player was sent off in a competitive match, he was thereby suspended for his team's next outing.

Central Council extended that rule into 2013 at a meeting early this year, but Longford successfully argued that the governing body did not have the power do so.

When Annual Congress in Derry retained the 2012 rule, the 2013 National League campaign had already begun.

Consequently, Gilleran's one-match ban applied under a rule that had expired at the end of last year and was not officially in place for the 2013 campaign. Longford, exploiting a loophole relating to rule 7.2 (b) of the GAA's Official Guide, won their case on that basis.

Post by: Qwerty28 on May 13, 2013, 09:55:12 PM
Theres a bonus although dont agree with the use of a technicality to get it but will prob need all the help we can get!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2013, 12:43:56 PM
David Barden has exited, stage left, from the county panel it would seem.

Why, I don't know.

Probably rows in the Clonguish camp.
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2013, 04:35:06 PM
Wicklow 2/1

Draw 7/1

Longford 8/15

Actually thought Longford would be a bit stronger favourites for this.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 20, 2013, 04:56:26 PM
Lump the savings on a draw!
Post by: panc56 on May 21, 2013, 10:42:55 PM
Odds are way off. This game is 50/50 with Aughrim an awful kip to play in. If we don't build an early lead we could be in trouble. I see they've done a Seanie Johnston with some free taker from Tipperary.

I don't have too many good memories of Wickla. Up the Larries.  ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 21, 2013, 11:50:59 PM
Wicklow do not look as strong without Leighton Glynn and Tony Hannon. If Longford can limit the supply into Seanie Furlong they should have too much.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 22, 2013, 02:32:30 PM
No sign of a team yet?

I expect Paul Barden to be named on the starting 15 - surely he cannot go on forever?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 23, 2013, 08:04:38 AM
Longford team to face Wicklow this Sunday

1 Damien Sheridan,

2 Dermot Brady,              3 Barry Gilleran,         4 Declan Reilly

5 Colm P. Smyth,             6 Michael Quinn,         7 Shane Mulligan

8 John Keegan,             9 Michael Brady

10 Bernard Mc Elvaney, 11 Paul Barden(Capt.)12 Pádraig Mc Cormack

13 Robbie Smyth            14 Francis Mc Gee       15 Sean Mc Cormack

16 Paddy Collum, 17 Fergal Battrim,  18 Kevin Diffley, 19 Barry O'Farrell, 20 Donal Mc Elligott, 21 Aidan Rowan,  22 JJ Matthews, 23 Shane Doyle, 24 John Paul Reilly, 25 Niall Mulligan, 26 Paul Kelly.
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 23, 2013, 10:17:37 PM
Fairly experienced side, especially the backs and great to see Paul starting, hopefully his fitness will stand up to a good 50-55 mins seeing he only played 35 mins in the whole league. Will need Stan to be on form from frees if we hope to progress. Not too many stand out options form the bench it would appear but then again Glen doesnt seem to be one for using all 5 subs whether thats through choice or lack of options.

Hard to be too confident due to poor league and our lack of ability to close out tight games but I'll be optimistic and hopefully we can do enough to scrape through by 2-3 points...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2013, 11:06:06 AM
Any Longfordian gaaboard member travelling to Augrim?

I'll be there with the 9 year old daughter - time to get her used to her Dad's pain.

I'd say Insider is going.

Perhaps we should have a gathering.

Or better still, with a win hoepfully, leave to the game agin Meath where Hardy can come to represent Meath and his honoroary Longford-ness
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2013, 11:16:35 AM
Quote from: thejuice on May 20, 2013, 04:35:06 PM
Wicklow 2/1

Draw 7/1

Longford 8/15

I think the odds for richer Leinster counties are always arseways.
If Kildare were playing Donegal they'd probably be unbackable.
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2013, 12:23:50 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2013, 11:06:06 AM

I'll be there with the 9 year old daughter - time to get her used to her Dad's pain.

Or better still, with a win hoepfully, leave to the game agin Meath where Hardy can come to represent Meath and his honoroary Longford-ness

I'd be looking forward to that, were it not for a just-discovered monumental scutter-up. Meself and herself got a Christmas present of a pair of tickets for Neil Young and Crazy Horse at the RDS from the young lad in Australia. I noticed a few weeks ago that the the gig is on the same weekend as the Meath-Longford (sorry about that, Wickla) game. Great, says I - gig on Saturday, match on Sunday - makings of a great weekend.

Then yesterday I discover the match is on the Saturday - and at exactly the same time as I'll be beyant in Dee Four, probably getting pissed upon, if my last visit there is anything to go by. At least this time it's not The Eagles (http://www.tubechop.com/watch/1211076).
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2013, 12:27:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 25, 2013, 11:16:35 AM
Wicklow 2/1

Draw 7/1

Longford 8/15

There's some truth in that, at least as regards Kildare - dunno about Wicklow. Whatever, I think Longford -2 at 11/10 (Boyles, PP) is sufficiently attractive for an investment.
Post by: Jinxy on May 25, 2013, 10:41:21 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 25, 2013, 12:23:50 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2013, 11:06:06 AM

I'd be looking forward to that, were it not for a just-discovered monumental scutter-up. Meself and herself got a Christmas present of a pair of tickets for Neil Young and Crazy Horse at the RDS from the young lad in Australia. I noticed a few weeks ago that the the gig is on the same weekend as the Meath-Longford (sorry about that, Wickla) game. Great, says I - gig on Saturday, match on Sunday - makings of a great weekend.

Then yesterday I discover the match is on the Saturday - and at exactly the same time as I'll be beyant in Dee Four, probably getting pissed upon, if my last visit there is anything to go by. At least this time it's not The Eagles (http://www.tubechop.com/watch/1211076).

'Old man look at my life,
I'm a lot like you were.'
For shame Hardy.  :(
You'll probably come looking for tickets when we get to the All-Ireland final.
Ah yeah.
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2013, 01:00:31 PM
I know. I hear screamin' and bullwhips crackin'.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 26, 2013, 02:21:28 PM
Greetings to the world from Aughrim! Lots of confident Wicklow people about!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 26, 2013, 04:07:42 PM
In a poor first half the score at half time is

Wicklow 0-09
Longford 0-05
Post by: macdanger2 on May 26, 2013, 04:14:16 PM
Hard to see the feckers covering the 2pt spread at this rate of going  >:(
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2013, 04:38:30 PM
Who had the wind in the first half?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2013, 04:39:46 PM
Wicklow 1-11 Longford 0-11 20 mins to go
Post by: macdanger2 on May 26, 2013, 04:55:05 PM
3 pts in it, 4 min to go in normal time
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2013, 05:00:36 PM
FT Wicklow 1-15 Longford 0-16
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 05:53:31 PM
Genuinely surprised at that result.
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2013, 06:02:30 PM
Yeah thought Longford were going to win this by a bit. Hopefully Meath won't be taken by surprise in Aughrim.

Well done Wicklow. Looking forward to a trip down amoun the mountains
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2013, 06:21:06 PM
I'm happy now I've got dem Neil Young tickets. Have we ever played in Aughrim before?

Edit: I forgot - last Feb. in the League. I'm fairly sure we've never been there in the Championship, though.
Post by: Rossfan on May 26, 2013, 06:49:00 PM
Hard luck Larries but ye were hardly ever going to win up there in the mountains.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 26, 2013, 07:40:58 PM
Feck that for a game of soldiers.

Wicklow full value for their win. Our first 35 mins was the league form all over again.

More anon as I have work to do.
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2013, 07:53:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 05:53:31 PM
Genuinely surprised at that result.
Me too. Longford should be better than losing to Wicklow.
Post by: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 08:13:39 PM
I hope our lads can handle playing at altitude.
Post by: seafoid on May 26, 2013, 08:31:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 26, 2013, 08:13:39 PM
I hope our lads can handle playing at altitude.
They haven't had the right altitude since Boylan was defenestrated.
Post by: The Insider on May 26, 2013, 10:27:31 PM
So disappointed. have never seen Dermot Brady and Colm P get such a roasting , turned over too much ball, could have conceded at least 2 more goals. Wicklow more tuned in from the throw in , more direct in their play. Our tendency to play this short hand passing game back and forth across the pitch could only lead to one result. The only good thing that could be said was at least we made a fight of it in the second half . A famous saying in Longford is that we never preform as favorites going into any game. We are only able to lift our game when we are the underdog. Clock ticking down for the present management team. Might be time to go native again with the next team manager. Might also forget about foreign training camps for a while. Will be interesting to see what john Bannon made of the referee today in tomorrows Examiner. Let lots go., went to book players on both sides for fouls but frees were being taken quickly and never got back to do it. No problem with that but the next day the ref won't be allowing that and will be stopping play creating tension. If Wicklow can repeat the best parts of their game today against Meath they might be able to spring a surprise
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2013, 12:46:06 AM
It wouldn't be a very surprising surprise.
Post by: Syferus on May 27, 2013, 12:58:30 AM
O Longford, how could thee, fair maiden?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2013, 06:37:07 AM
Quote from: Hardy on May 25, 2013, 12:27:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 25, 2013, 11:16:35 AM
Wicklow 2/1

Draw 7/1

Longford 8/15

There's some truth in that, at least as regards Kildare - dunno about Wicklow. Whatever, I think Longford -2 at 11/10 (Boyles, PP) is sufficiently attractive for an investment.

Good advice but you right about Kildare - 1/14 to beat Offaly.
Post by: neilthemac on May 27, 2013, 08:04:13 AM
I'd say Longford saw this as a game they could 'train through'
they have invested a lot of money in strength and conditioning facilities and coaches the past two years

Wicklow were poor in Division 3 while Longford were in Division 2 (albeit they got relegated)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 27, 2013, 08:23:23 AM
I don't think so Neil.

I think there was selection errors at the beginning, especially in midfield.

Losing our powerhouse centre half back, Michael Quinn, through injury (not sure, got an accidental belt may have injured eye) midway through the first half didnt help.

No team would go to Aughrim expecting an easy job. Wicklow were the better team and fully deserved their win. Longford only won one non-challenge game in 2013 (agin UCD) and it's hard to 'switch back' to a winning habit when losing is the norm.

There will be a changing of the guard now come the end of the road in the Qualifiers.
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 27, 2013, 08:44:41 PM
Can only echo the sentiments of The Insider....disappointed but not surprised by the result in the end, based on the brutal first 15 mins and first half in general. Lack of focus and confidence were evident from the very start, far far too many individual errors across the board but esp in the half back line, never mind the 3/4 occasions where the ball got kicked out over the side line..

Heard a lad saying on the way out that doing weights doesn't help a lad kick a ball and that's very true but this time last year pretty much the same bunch of players would have won that game by 6 points....poor league form has knocked the confidence of the side and cant see there being too much interest in the qualifiers unfortunately.

All the same, need to give them credit for second half showing, if only the same had been applied form the start might have been a different story...agree with yourself Shamrock, why didn't McElvaney start in midfield, had a stormer in the 2nd half it must be said
Post by: Qwerty28 on May 27, 2013, 09:36:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQ1T-gV5b3k&feature=youtu.be

Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2013, 03:03:12 PM
Don't get me wrong, I love Micheál and I think Barden one of the best footballers ever to grace the Longford colours but I found this clip a bit too much
Post by: The Insider on May 28, 2013, 06:39:56 PM
Official word is that M Quinn while he went off with a blood injury, he failed to return with an ankle injury. Disagree to a point that there is no one better out there , have we forgotten Enda Williams, Jame Mc Givney and David Barden who all fell out with one or other of the main management team .. Willie would have freed up Quinn for midfield , Mc Givney an option as a half back. with David Barden though you never know what you get, Padraig Gill if around would also add an option in the forward line, never afraid to run at defenders.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on May 29, 2013, 12:37:47 PM
Have to say I don't get why it's taken for granted that this is the end for Glenn Ryan. Are two league titles and some fine championship wins not taken as progress? Ok, terrible year this year, but you could argue that's down to terrible luck with injuries and simply playing at a higher level in the league.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2013, 12:58:11 PM
There were mumblings coming out of the ground - with one lad in particular giving out to SS Senior about Glen and SS Senior's alleged role in keeping him there for so long.

I dunno. There seems to be serious inaction on the line when plan B needs to be put into operation (or even Plan A) and this may or may not be Glen's fault. Selectors are in the mix too. I admit there was alot of bad luck in the League but you have to be judged by the results at the end of the day.

Once the Qualifiers end then I think it will be up to the CB delegates to offer another term to Glen if he wants it. I don't know his views. Does Donnelly's Hollow have his confidence?

However, as in life, one should be careful what you wish for as the perhaps successor-in-waiting may be, how would you say it politely, divisive!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 29, 2013, 01:03:33 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2013, 12:58:11 PM
There were mumblings coming out of the ground - with one lad in particular giving out to SS Senior about Glen and SS Senior's alleged role in keeping him there for so long.

I dunno. There seems to be serious inaction on the line when plan B needs to be put into operation (or even Plan A) and this may or may not be Glen's fault. Selectors are in the mix too. I admit there was alot of bad luck in the League but you have to be judged by the results at the end of the day.

Once the Qualifiers end then I think it will be up to the CB delegates to offer another term to Glen if he wants it. I don't know his views. Does Donnelly's Hollow have his confidence?

However, as in life, one should be careful what you wish for as the perhaps successor-in-waiting may be, how would you say it politely, divisive!

Dinny is a clubmate of Glenn.

Was Mark Hughes from the u21 team involved with Longford at the weekend? He looked a class act in the Leinster Final.
Post by: LaurelEye on May 29, 2013, 07:15:26 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2013, 12:58:11 PM

The failure by the management team to respond to events on the field has been a long-running problem, which became more acute this year, and my impression was that performance on the field and on the sideline deteriorated as the season went on, with morale likely being a factor.

I think it's time for him to move on, although I can reassure SS that most of us paranoid crypto-Nordies don't blame SSSr. for the situation.