GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shrewdness on April 01, 2007, 03:14:43 PM

Title: CONNACHT U-21 FINAL, MAYO v ROSCOMMON
Post by: Shrewdness on April 01, 2007, 03:14:43 PM
Do any of ye give Roscommon a decent chance in the final, next Saturday, or are the red and green ribbons already on the trophy?

As Mayo have about 8 of last year's All Ireland winning team on board, and with home advantage, they must start as hot favourites.
Roscommon would have a young u-21 team, and finished yesterday's semi final win over Sligo with no fewer than 7 of last year's All Ireland Winning minors on the field. Most of the rest of yesterday's team have already forced their way onto the Roscommon senior team.

Will the John Maughan factor have any bearing on the proceedings, or is it just a sideshow for the media to hype up?

The Sligo lads on this site might have different views, but to me, Ros were more superior against Sligo than the 1-14 to 0-10 scoreline suggests.

Interesting game ahead, or Mayo to have too much class for a young Ros team??
Title: Re: CONNACHT U-21 FINAL, MAYO v ROSCOMMON
Post by: whassupp2 on April 01, 2007, 08:24:41 PM
Can't see Ros' winning even though they were impressive at times against Sligo.
4/5 players who played against Sligo featured in what was a brutal game of ball today against Leitrim. 2 games in 2 days could take its toll.
However considering the circumstances he left Mayo, I'm sure Maughan will be ready to have a right crack at them.

Post by: Rossfan on April 01, 2007, 09:48:47 PM
Quote from: whassupp2 on April 01, 2007, 08:24:41 PM
Can't see Ros' winning even though they were impressive at times against Sligo.
4, I'm sure Maughan will be ready to have a right crack at them.

We have little hope next Saturday but it will be good experience for the young lads.
As for Maughan - why do ye hate us so much to inflict him on us ?
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 01, 2007, 10:40:28 PM
Expect it will be handy enough for Mayo. Not sure Maughan is too motivated to try to win anything with Ros - going through the motions I think.
Post by: Ryano on April 02, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
Totally agree. It's just a matter of Mayo turning up to collect the cup. They are AI champions after all, sure Roscommon are happy to just get to a final! We will turn up and act as cannon fodder for the far superior Mayo team and their fans. A day out in Castlebar is all, might have a look around the shops and then off home....... In fact why not just hand over the cup now, tis a formality after all ::)
Post by: stephenite on April 02, 2007, 12:51:35 PM
Quote from: Ryano on April 02, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
A day out in Castlebar is all, might have a look around the shops and then off home.......

Leo Doherty has some grand new pairs of chinos in ;)
Seriously, don't think anyone will be taking the Rossies for granted on this, or any other game in fairness
Post by: blast05 on April 02, 2007, 12:55:08 PM
Quotethe far superior Mayo team and their fans

Can't comment about the team but 100% correct about the fans  ;D
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 02, 2007, 01:45:19 PM
I have to say this is a new approach from Roscommon supporters, you're actually playing down your chances??? well come of it anyway! Mayo U-21s won the AI last with 5 or 6 of the minors that LOST the All-Ireland in 2005. The fact that Ross have 7 or so from a winning minor team suggests they will be a fair old force this year. Not a chance of the Mayo management taking the Rossies lightly, I'd say it will be a much closer game that either of the semis. We have a new injury worry with K O'Malley having to be substituted yesterday, he would be a massive loss. That probably evens things up a little, but hopefully we'll pip ye by a point or two in the end
Post by: Rossfan on April 02, 2007, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on April 02, 2007, 01:45:19 PM
. Not a chance of the Mayo management taking the Rossies lightly,

At least ye have a ******g management >:(
Post by: spectator on April 02, 2007, 06:26:14 PM
Even so, Oirthear,  Mayo are reigning Connacht & AIF champions, have home advantage & also have a good number of last year's winning team still available.
Galway were impressively despatched, which is a good indicator of Mayo's abilities.

It's not a question of a new approach from Rossies, but a realistic one.

We're not a 'fair old force' as you suggested, but rather are a promising 'young force' at best.

For this young Rossie side it's a very steep learning curve at present.

Alas, I think we'll probably find this stronger, more experienced Mayo side too high a hurdle to jump this time around. :(
Post by: Redgreenery on April 02, 2007, 07:22:23 PM
Would expect Mayo to win because they are probably still running strong since last year and have serious talent on the team plus with home advantage I can't see roscommon having much of a chance.
Post by: Redgreenery on April 02, 2007, 07:43:43 PM
Put this on the Tyrone v Mayo thread but as K O Malley is also on the U-21 Team it also relates to this one:

From gaa.ie:

QuoteMayo may have secured a semi-final berth last weekend but they have lost netminder Kenneth O'Malley, who sustained a thumb injury during the Allianz National Football League Division 1A win over Dublin, for a number of weeks.

The Ballinrobe clubman is likely to miss the Westerners' final regulation round game away to Tyrone this weekend.

O'Malley dislocated his thumb and will not be available for the final regulation round league tie as well as Mayo's Connacht U21 FC final against Roscommon.

Post by: Shrewdness on April 02, 2007, 07:50:54 PM
I wouldn't get obsessed with thinking that Galway is the yardstick by which everything must be measured....Don't forget Mayo minors were warm favourites to beat Ros in last years Connacht Final in Castlebar, and we all know what happened there!!!!
Ros must start well next Saturday, or i fear it could all go wrong in a big way.
Post by: rosnarun on April 03, 2007, 09:33:11 AM
any one who thinks Maughan wont be motivated to bwin with the sheepstealers know nothing about the man. and its not any silly getting one back against mayo . the man is a winner full stop. and hes welcome back to the mayo job at any time as the blueshirt has a lot of proving to do that he has actually improved the mayo team yet.
Post by: stephenite on April 03, 2007, 09:37:20 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 03, 2007, 09:33:11 AM
hes welcome back to the mayo job at any time

Thankfully that won't be your decision to make - like George Bush, JM will not get a third term
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 03, 2007, 10:02:06 AM
Shrewdness, that's exactly my line of thinking. Apparently Our minors last year were very confident, they thought it was a matter of getting through Connaht and getting back to an AIF and righting the wrongs of the previous year, then look what happened. All I'm saying is if the U-21s don't play well or take anything for granted this young Ross team are well able to take them and that would be my main worry. All said and done the Mayo U-21s have lost tehir 2 best forwards from last year in Kilcoyne and Conroy that shouldn't be forgotten. By the way Ros, what are you on, JM would be welcomed back? Jonno has lots to prove? It's march, Jonno has made a good start but its early days before we can see what progress has been made. On the other hand we all know what JM is capable of.......
Post by: Redgreenery on April 03, 2007, 10:06:21 AM
We'd be going backwards so much if we welcomed JM back!
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on April 03, 2007, 12:39:20 PM
Just to correct myself, it's actually April. You're right we should be showing signs of progress by now ;D
Post by: neilthemac on April 03, 2007, 02:48:32 PM
all we're saying is that Maughan isn't convincing too many people down in Ros about his ability to do something positive with the team in terms of performances

a few people also worried that he won't get the maximum from the U21 panel

I'd hope Ros to be competitive and give Mayo a good game. can't see us winning though.

Maybe next year
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 03, 2007, 02:52:47 PM
I guess you'd have to back Mayo in this one given their experience from last year. Good 7 point win over Galway too although that result was a little bit flattering to the Mayo men as Galway missed one great goal chance and hit the woodwork with another and certainly losing Sean Armstrong before throw-in was a big loss. Still Mayo looked a good side.
Post by: Rossfan on April 03, 2007, 07:12:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 03, 2007, 02:52:47 PM
losing Sean Armstrong before throw-in was a big loss. 

That's why ye lost -ye had no one to foul the full back and get a goal like Armstrong did in the 2004 Connacht minor Final  >:(
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on April 05, 2007, 04:06:40 AM
"The old order changeth giving rise to the new". Seems strange to say that about an U.21 game. Logic would dictate that a team having a fair scatter of last year's All-Ireland winning U.21 side would defeat a team having a fair scatter of last year All-Ireland winning U.18 s side. It should be a some contest in McHale on Saturday and I'll give my vote to the primrose and blue. Looking forward to driving the Pee Flynn motorway to Castlebar.  Common Ros.
Post by: mayo51 on April 07, 2007, 02:40:07 PM
mayo 1.4 rosscommon 0.1  12 min gone  parsons scored goal
Post by: mayo51 on April 07, 2007, 04:03:27 PM
mayo vwon by 14 points
Post by: Redgreenery on April 07, 2007, 04:29:32 PM
Full Time Score:
Mayo 1-22  Roscommon 1-08.
Yes Mayo won by 14 points! Pierce Hanley scoring 9 of those points. Sounded like a very entertaining game for Mayo fans! So Mayo are Connaught champions again and could now be playing either Laois or Offaly in the Semi final I think. Well done to Mayo, great to hammer the Rossies! ;)
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2007, 05:03:52 PM
Will ye please take Maughan back as he has 2 teams ****ed up on us now. >:( >:( :( :-\ :'(
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 07, 2007, 07:25:56 PM
Ya that was a fanfuckentastic performance by Mayo,  poping points from all distances and angles, hardly a wide all game, 1 in the first & 3 in the second me thinks, and did Rossie score at all in the second, 2 max.

They shoe in for the final as they avoid Cork & Armagh until then.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2007, 08:15:56 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on April 07, 2007, 07:25:56 PM
They shoe in for the final as they avoid Cork & Armagh until then.

Good man -  count your chickens........ ::)
Post by: ross matt on April 07, 2007, 11:42:55 PM
It was serious mauling. Didn'nt turn up at all for the first 20 minutes and were 9 points down before we started to compete. Dragged ourselves to within 4 points of them at half time and started the 2nd half well enough to suggest it would be a close contest. Then Mayo just stepped on the gas and Ross had no answer to them.

Mayo looked very impressive all over the pitch. Very physically strong with serious pace. Worked the ball out in short overlaps from the back  and then ran through the middle (unfortunately mostly unopposed). Their centre back and midfielders were totally dominant with Hanly proving unmarkable at the edge of the square.

I believe they had 9 of last years successful side out whilst we had quite a few of last years minors. The difference in age and experience showed. No arguments today. The best side by a mile won by a mile. Best of luck to Mayo in the AI series. Bad day for Ross and Mr Maughan...
Post by: criostlinn on April 08, 2007, 01:41:33 PM
Quote from: Ryano on April 02, 2007, 12:44:36 PM
Totally agree. It's just a matter of Mayo turning up to collect the cup. They are AI champions after all, sure Roscommon are happy to just get to a final! We will turn up and act as cannon fodder for the far superior Mayo team and their fans. A day out in Castlebar is all, might have a look around the shops and then off home....... In fact why not just hand over the cup now, tis a formality after all ::)

Well called
Post by: dodo on April 10, 2007, 12:40:02 PM
Was Donal Shine injured for this match ?
Wasn't named in starting 15 or subs in yesterday's paper.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 10, 2007, 12:53:05 PM
Shine did not play, the only reason I can think of not playing such talent is injury
Post by: neilthemac on April 10, 2007, 01:28:47 PM
he's still a minor
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on April 10, 2007, 01:42:42 PM
Quote from: ross matt on April 07, 2007, 11:42:55 PM
It was serious mauling. Didn'nt turn up at all for the first 20 minutes and were 9 points down before we started to compete. Dragged ourselves to within 4 points of them at half time and started the 2nd half well enough to suggest it would be a close contest. Then Mayo just stepped on the gas and Ross had no answer to them.

Mayo looked very impressive all over the pitch. Very physically strong with serious pace. Worked the ball out in short overlaps from the back  and then ran through the middle (unfortunately mostly unopposed). Their centre back and midfielders were totally dominant with Hanly proving unmarkable at the edge of the square.

I believe they had 9 of last years successful side out whilst we had quite a few of last years minors. The difference in age and experience showed. No arguments today. The best side by a mile won by a mile. Best of luck to Mayo in the AI series. Bad day for Ross and Mr Maughan...
Im not JMs biggest fan,but i think all the rossies have to patient,look what was deep seated in the team before he arrived.Personally i always think that people read too much into success at minor level..it means more at u-21 as most of the squad are ready for senior unlike minors.Anyway a great perfromance by our lads and it bodes well for the future.