Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: laoislad on February 04, 2013, 09:21:22 PM

Title: Gazza
Post by: laoislad on February 04, 2013, 09:21:22 PM
The man is fecked.
Love him or hate him,but there is no doubt he was a fabulous footballer.
Shame to see such a talent waste away like this. Doubt he will be of this earth for much longer.

This video of him is sad. The yobs in the crowd cheering him on are as bad.
It's all self inflicted I know but still....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=T2Tv-2CCqU8

At his best:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N9p0ExBpqeY

Title: Re: Gazza
Post by: EC Unique on February 04, 2013, 09:27:10 PM
Away to America today for intense treatment. Hope it sorts him out. I don't think many people would hate him.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2013, 09:38:40 PM
Jaysus that's a shocking video. I remember him telling Morgan he was on 16 lines of cocaine and four bottles of brandy a day at his worst.
Post by: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 09:44:42 PM
The man never grew up. He needed slapping 20 odd years ago. Maybe that would've helped. I can't find any sympathy in me for him to be honest. He was talented, earned more money than most of us wouldn't earn in a lifetime, had a great lifestyle.

People seemed to have bent over backwards to help him out, get him coaching roles, tv work etc, but he pissed them away. He was an adult, and is/was responsible for his own decisions. Yes it's sad to see anyone in that situation, but I don't have any sympathy for him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2013, 09:46:38 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2013, 09:38:40 PM
Jaysus that's a shocking video. I remember him telling Morgan he was on 16 lines of cocaine and four bottles of brandy a day at his worst.
Couldn't watch it - 10 seconds max. An absolute mess. I don't think he can be fixed but he seems to be getting more chances than your average Joe.
Post by: Apparently so on February 04, 2013, 09:48:07 PM
f**k him. He`s a hateful, wife beating sc**bag bastard
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 12:04:34 AM
Wouldn't have a pile of time for him myself
Post by: spuds on February 05, 2013, 03:28:16 AM
That's quite disturbing to watch. Some harsh comments here, not very compassionate. Man in free-fall.
Post by: Main Street on February 05, 2013, 08:23:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2013, 09:38:40 PM
Not in the same day? probably (with a high degree of certainty) 2 different examples of a worst day.

Post by: NAG1 on February 05, 2013, 08:25:27 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 12:04:34 AM

Nor would I, biggest mistake he ever made, was picking Spurs over United, I would put good money on it that he would not be in the shape he is in now if he had of signed for Ferguson at that time. Maybe Im wrong but that move to London didnt help him in any sense.
Post by: seafoid on February 05, 2013, 09:10:37 AM
Beating a man when he is down is poor form, I think.
We all have our crosses to bear.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 05, 2013, 09:15:04 AM
He's a likeable gom apart from throwing a few slaps into the then missus.

He needs help - but if he is not willing to help himself then there is no hope and he will be dead or in a gutter in a few years.

I believe he is now in the States in rehab.

Post by: Two Hands FFS on February 05, 2013, 09:20:16 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on February 05, 2013, 08:25:27 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 12:04:34 AM

Nor would I, biggest mistake he ever made, was picking Spurs over United, I would put good money on it that he would not be in the shape he is in now if he had of signed for Ferguson at that time. Maybe Im wrong but that move to London didnt help him in any sense.
Possibly would have helped...but Slur Fergie couldn't help Paul McGrath so who knows. I don't think it would have mattered that much.
Post by: thewobbler on February 05, 2013, 09:21:33 AM
He was born with a self destruct button unfortunately. Similar to George Best in that regard, except Gascoigne's injuries never allowed him to peak as a player. In 1990/91 he was right up there with the best in the world. And then that tackle.
Post by: johnneycool on February 05, 2013, 10:27:35 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 05, 2013, 09:21:33 AM
He was born with a self destruct button unfortunately. Similar to George Best in that regard, except Gascoigne's injuries never allowed him to peak as a player. In 1990/91 he was right up there with the best in the world. And then that tackle.

His own doing as he went to bury Steve Hodge of Notts Forest and came off second best.

Gascoigne was talented, but immature and had money to burn at a very young age, he just couldn't handle it. He's not the first and won't be the last.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 05, 2013, 10:32:12 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 05, 2013, 10:27:35 AM

His own doing as he went to bury Steve Hodge of Notts Forest and came off second best.

Gascoigne was talented, but immature and had money to burn at a very young age, he just couldn't handle it. He's not the first and won't be the last.

was it not Gary Charles
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2013, 10:37:37 AM
How anyone can not have sympathy for someone struggling with alcoholism is beyond me, at no part in life does anyone want to end up like that. He made a lot of bad choices in life I'm sure, but picking to be an alcoholic  wasn't one of them
Post by: NAG1 on February 05, 2013, 10:46:19 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2013, 10:37:37 AM
How anyone can not have sympathy for someone struggling with alcoholism is beyond me, at no part in life does anyone want to end up like that. He made a lot of bad choices in life I'm sure, but picking to be an alcoholic  wasn't one of them

I wonder do the likes of Chris Evans, Danny Baker, Five Bellies and the rest have much regret about their part in all this.
Post by: johnneycool on February 05, 2013, 11:01:58 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on February 05, 2013, 10:32:12 AM

was it not Gary Charles

No it was Steve Hodge after a few weeks on the sun beds!!

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQal9tG735HNhDxDSt_DVthanfCna2bXb7Iulx2QYIT0csKxOcG)
Post by: thewobbler on February 05, 2013, 11:03:23 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on February 05, 2013, 10:46:19 AM

I wonder do the likes of Chris Evans, Danny Baker, Five Bellies and the rest have much regret about their part in all this.

If it hadn't been them, it would have been someone else. You can guarantee that throughout his career there were more people trying to pull him in the right direction than the wrong one, but Gazza couldn't help himself.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2013, 11:13:43 AM

They might do, or they might be self centred dciks and don't care about anyone other than themselves, but that doesn't change the fact that some people can have a drink, even loads of drink and not be an alcoholic. Then there are people like Best Higgins and Gazza who have an addictive style to them. He might not have best liked by many but to end up like that can't be nice
Post by: Geoff Tipps on February 05, 2013, 11:17:17 AM

was it not Gary Charles

Yes was Gary Charles. Incidentally he ended up an alcoholic too.
Post by: muppet on February 05, 2013, 12:26:54 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on February 05, 2013, 11:17:17 AM

was it not Gary Charles

Yes was Gary Charles. Incidentally he ended up an alcoholic too.

Steve Hodge didn't play, Keane had displaced him by then.

Edit: I see on Wiki Hodge came on after 62' mins. Gazza was long gone by then.
Edit 2: Couldn't spell edit.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 04:00:57 PM

and Ally McCoist and Andy Gorham et al
Post by: ziggysego on February 05, 2013, 04:44:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 05, 2013, 09:10:37 AM
Beating a man when he is down is poor form, I think.
We all have our crosses to bear.

Whilst I can't say I've been happy with a lot of his behaviour, it's incredibly sad to see someone reduced to this. I do hope he gets all the help he needs and requires.
Post by: red hander on February 05, 2013, 04:47:47 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 04:00:57 PM

and Ally McCoist and Andy Gorham et al

Which Andy Goram are you talking about?
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 04:56:18 PM
Well he is schizophrenic
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 05, 2013, 05:30:51 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 05, 2013, 11:01:58 AM

was it not Gary Charles

No it was Steve Hodge after a few weeks on the sun beds!!

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQal9tG735HNhDxDSt_DVthanfCna2bXb7Iulx2QYIT0csKxOcG)

and a spell on the Atkins diet!
Post by: laoislad on February 05, 2013, 05:42:25 PM
I really don't see how going to Man Utd would have saved Gazza or at least not make him turn out the way he did.
Post by: EC Unique on February 05, 2013, 05:43:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2013, 11:13:43 AM

They might do, or they might be self centred dciks and don't care about anyone other than themselves, but that doesn't change the fact that some people can have a drink, even loads of drink and not be an alcoholic. Then there are people like Best Higgins and Gazza who have an addictive style to them. He might not have best liked by many but to end up like that can't be nice

Chris Evans (along with others) is funding his rehab in America.
Post by: spuds on February 05, 2013, 06:11:17 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 05, 2013, 05:43:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2013, 11:13:43 AM

Chris Evans (along with others) is funding his rehab in America.
Good to hear this, so many peple are too quick to think the worse of people and comment from a position of blissful ignorance. Surprised so many are blinded by their foreign football club loyalties.
Post by: muppet on February 05, 2013, 06:18:34 PM
Very sad watching that. Was there no one with the cop on to put an end to it earlier?

Gazza needs some strong people around him. One of our Irish greatest is doing fine but is never far away from a similar episode. He has support though from his mates, ex-colleagues and most amazingly the Irish media.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2013, 07:02:04 PM
While I would never condone what he did slapping the wife etc, I liked the ould bollix. He was always up for a laugh. Taking the piss whenever he could and having fun. People argue about his carry on at Rangers with the flute playin etc....but do you really think Gazza was a bitter hun??? He had plenty of those around himat Ibrox egging him on.

Sad to see him like that now.....his book "Gazza. My Story" was hilarious.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 07:15:32 PM
He also shit in the shower in the away dressing room in Celtic Park after a Scottish Cup semi final against Hearts
Post by: red hander on February 05, 2013, 07:32:52 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 05, 2013, 07:15:32 PM
He also shit in the shower in the away dressing room in Celtic Park after a Scottish Cup semi final against Hearts

I understand a lot of Rangers players shat themselves in the changing rooms at Parkhead when they heard Henrik and Lubo were in the team...
Gascoigne was indeed egged on by certain team-mates and I for one would much prefer it if Andy 'black armband for my mate Billy Wright' was the one suffering rather than a thick Geordie 45-year-old man child
Post by: Apparently so on February 05, 2013, 08:12:06 PM
Two Andy Gorams, theirs only two Andy Gorams
Post by: stew on February 05, 2013, 08:21:35 PM
Gascoigne is a serious, grade 1 addict on several fronts, for some on here to be going on about him here the way they are is sad and makes no sense.

He hit the woman, disgusting thing to do, I thought him lower than a dogs bollocks after doing that, but now, knowing what he was/is going through all I can do is wish him the best and not say a bad word about the man.
Post by: qubdub on February 05, 2013, 09:35:32 PM
The drinking culture in the top teams in the late 80s/90s was rampant and was one of the things Sir Alex addressed when taking over at Old Trafford. Certainly not the worst influence to have on a player such as Gazza.
Post by: laoislad on February 05, 2013, 09:49:18 PM
If anything being at a club like United with the added pressure of playing at the very top and dealing with success and exposure at level he didn't really have at the clubs he played for may have had a far more negative effect.
He may not have been able handle such success that he would have gotten at United.
I don't think God himself could have saved him to be honest, the man likes to drink and no one was gonna stop him IMO.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 05, 2013, 09:52:39 PM
Gazza's problems started way before he was even at Newcastle – he had a rough upbringing. Sad to see him like this now
Post by: 5 Sams on February 05, 2013, 10:30:16 PM

Curled one out in the bath in the away changing room in Old Trafford as well. Remember the tour guide giving us the full description :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 06, 2013, 05:58:02 PM
Mind you old Giggsy would have been too busy hooring around with other women to have had time to go drinking with any of his team mates
Post by: The Worker on February 06, 2013, 07:27:40 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2013, 10:30:16 PM

Curled one out in the bath in the away changing room in Old Trafford as well. Remember the tour guide giving us the full description :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\

:) gives the old toilet name added meaning
Post by: ziggy90 on February 06, 2013, 07:49:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 05, 2013, 07:02:04 PM
While I would never condone what he did slapping the wife etc, I liked the ould bollix. He was always up for a laugh. Taking the piss whenever he could and having fun. People argue about his carry on at Rangers with the flute playin etc....but do you really think Gazza was a bitter hun??? He had plenty of those around himat Ibrox egging him on.

Sad to see him like that now.....his book "Gazza. My Story" was hilarious.

Spotty dog. When someone like the late Bobby Robson had a great time for him he must've had some redeeming features.
Post by: Asal Mor on February 06, 2013, 07:56:48 PM
Very sad and hard to watch. Good posts by seafoid and stew and some unbelievably heartless posts from others. I always liked Gazza and I hope he can make a recovery and find happiness.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2013, 08:55:13 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 06, 2013, 05:58:02 PM
Mind you old Giggsy would have been too busy hooring around with other women to have had time to go drinking with any of his team mates

Sure why wouldn't you!!
Post by: BennyHarp on February 10, 2013, 12:58:15 AM
Not looking good for Gazza.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4787506/Football-legend-Gazza-close-to-death-The-Sun-can-reveal.html
Post by: laoislad on August 21, 2014, 11:50:46 PM
http://balls.ie/football/serious-fears-paul-gascoigne-returns-hospital/

(http://balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/gascoigne.jpg)
Post by: 5 Sams on August 21, 2014, 11:58:25 PM
Looks like he's fcuked lads?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 22, 2014, 12:05:34 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 21, 2014, 11:58:25 PM
Looks like he's fcuked lads?
Dead by 50.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 22, 2014, 01:01:43 AM
Going the way way as Alex Higgins. The poor devil.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 22, 2014, 09:17:08 AM
Is that picture really him? Jesus he looks like an 80 year old man. The poor devil. Where are all his friends now? 5 bellies and that gang?
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2014, 09:19:11 AM
It's so public as well. The poor man. 
Post by: Rossie11 on August 22, 2014, 09:34:55 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 22, 2014, 09:17:08 AM
Is that picture really him? Jesus he looks like an 80 year old man. The poor devil. Where are all his friends now? 5 bellies and that gang?

5 bellies had a lifestyle change a while ago. Remember seeing a photo of the 2 of them at the time and Gazza looked about 20years older

http://metro.co.uk/2010/09/17/pictures-jimmy-five-bellies-gardner-slims-to-13st-for-great-north-run-514473/
Post by: Bingo on August 22, 2014, 09:50:39 AM

Often seen this thrown up when Gazza lands on the front pages. And I think its very unfair on his friends.

The last time he landed in bother and needed treatment in the US, a lot of these people got him there and paid for him. We don't know what has happened in the past but from seeing a few interviews with Gazza he talked about how hard he was to handle and the friends he has lost and help he has rejected.

Someone with his illness/problem can only be helped if they want help and let people help them. A lot of the time he is in freefall and can't be helped.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2014, 10:06:34 AM
I was reading that a lot of that facial disfiguration is down to his addiction to botox. He spends a few thousands a year on it.
Post by: Sidney on August 22, 2014, 11:12:11 AM
He looks like Charlie Haughey.