Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Applesisapples on January 10, 2013, 10:27:45 AM

Title: BBC NI one sided shock!
Post by: Applesisapples on January 10, 2013, 10:27:45 AM
I have followed the flag dispute on BBC NI. Their onesided approach to what constitutes equlaity is astounding. PUL reps are allowed more airtime and to go unchallenged as they pursue a one sided propaganda. Ably assisted by SF who for fear of annoying the DUP are keeping the head down. fair play to Conall McDevitt he has been the only nationalist speaker on the subject who has articulated the nationalist position and challenged PUL views. He has been on once though. Nolan again this morning had Gerry Kelly as a lone voice in a debate that had 3 PUL reps and a number of callers from that community.
Title: Re: BBC NI one sided shock!
Post by: glens abu on January 10, 2013, 10:32:25 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 10, 2013, 10:27:45 AM
I have followed the flag dispute on BBC NI. Their onesided approach to what constitutes equlaity is astounding. PUL reps are allowed more airtime and to go unchallenged as they pursue a one sided propaganda. Ably assisted by SF who for fear of annoying the DUP are keeping the head down. fair play to Conall McDevitt he has been the only nationalist speaker on the subject who has articulated the nationalist position and challenged PUL views. He has been on once though. Nolan again this morning had Gerry Kelly as a lone voice in a debate that had 3 PUL reps and a number of callers from that community.

You should phone in and get on the show,I am sure you would be very good and maybe Conall will contact you to join the party.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2013, 10:33:44 AM

Thought you said SF were keeping their heads down
Post by: Nally Stand on January 10, 2013, 10:34:39 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2013, 10:33:44 AM

Same thought struck me!  :D
Post by: NAG1 on January 10, 2013, 10:42:40 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 10, 2013, 10:34:39 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2013, 10:33:44 AM

Same thought struck me!  :D

Is it just me or has Gerry Kelly lost interest in the whole thing, few years ago he was sharp as a tack and was all over every debate few tmies I have seen him lately on the TV he has struggled to get his points across and doesnt seem overly bothered.

Maybe just me.
Post by: Ulick on January 10, 2013, 10:43:13 AM
Kelly and Maskey haven't been off the radio shows this past six weeks. The only thing I've heard from McDevitt over the same period were some inappropriate comments about Gerry Adams having a prostrate operation in the US.
Post by: Ulick on January 10, 2013, 10:44:26 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 10, 2013, 10:42:40 AM
Is it just me or has Gerry Kelly lost interest in the whole thing, few years ago he was sharp as a tack and was all over every debate few tmies I have seen him lately on the TV he has struggled to get his points across and doesnt seem overly bothered.

Maybe just me.

I'd say most politicians get fed up saying the same thing over and over again.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2013, 10:44:49 AM
I thought the BBC have been great on this and making the flag protesters look like eejits. Fair play. Nolan has taken the piss out of most of the callers on his show. The other lad that filled in for him the other day did the same.

I think Kelly is just letting the protesters fall on their own sword on this one. Best method in my view
Post by: Nally Stand on January 10, 2013, 10:45:22 AM
Quote from: Ulick on January 10, 2013, 10:43:13 AM
Kelly and Maskey haven't been off the radio shows this past six weeks. The only thing I've heard from McDevitt over the same period were some inappropriate comments about Gerry Adams having a prostrate operation in the US.

+ Jim McVeigh
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 11:43:44 AM
Most loyalists I have seen on local or national news just come across as thick as pig shite....I'd let them tear away.
Post by: armaghniac on January 10, 2013, 11:47:23 AM
QuoteI'd say most politicians get fed up saying the same thing over and over again.

If only this was true for forum posters...... :P

In general any pro protest speakers I have seen have seen have been quite unable to put a case of any sort. You'd nearly be better to let them have the speaking time.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2013, 01:29:07 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 11:43:44 AM
Most loyalists I have seen on local or national news just come across as thick as pig shite....I'd let them tear away.

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/BAPhg6aCUAA7Nu_png-large_zpsdbd3b97f.png)
Post by: Up The Middle on January 10, 2013, 01:44:38 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 10, 2013, 01:29:07 PM

(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/BAPhg6aCUAA7Nu_png-large_zpsdbd3b97f.png)

Says all you need to know about the type of people you are dealing with here.
Post by: Denn Forever on January 10, 2013, 02:04:24 PM
They obviously don't have a Hardy to keep their grammar or spelling in check.
Post by: Rossfan on January 10, 2013, 02:04:48 PM
Some spelling there alright.
Not to mention that their map shows the 6 Cos as "Ulster" and ignores the fact that only 40% of the people who live there are British.
Also of the approx 750,000 who described themselves as "British" in the census - how many are out hooliganising/protesting??
5,000 in total  or about 0.67%.
Post by: Ulick on January 10, 2013, 02:34:47 PM
Quote from: Up The Middle on January 10, 2013, 01:44:38 PM

Says all you need to know about the type of people you are dealing with here.

Hey that's Ulster-Scots. There'll be no chipping away at unionist culture on here.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 10, 2013, 02:38:04 PM
Maybe the Beeb is letting them fall on their own sword, but I'd like to see SF challenge the "chipping away" at our culture thing and make more of the need for real equality of symbols and emblems. The grammatical faux pas above is a common theme in there (sic) posts! Is it me or are some of you a little tetchy when SF are criticised? The SDLP are by no means the leaders of nationalist opinion, but in fairness to McDevitt he is sharp. I just feel that SF are taking a least said soonest mended position. Having listened to Seamus McKee and Joel Taggart in particular they do not challenge the PUL reps in the same manner they attack SF. That said there is very definitely a UVF inspired anti SF agenda from the protesters. The programme this morning with the exception of GK's wee piece was all one way. On Monday Joel's main nationalist contributer was a headbanger going on about the RUC. The funniest moment though was when another described Willie as a head case. Joel's response was "in fairness he would deny that"! ;D
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 10, 2013, 03:17:32 PM

ziggy, of all people, highlighting poor grammar.  ::)
Post by: bennydorano on January 10, 2013, 05:41:58 PM

And that from one of their top T.O's as well. ('Telligence Officer :-) )
Post by: angermanagement on January 10, 2013, 08:11:22 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 10, 2013, 02:38:04 PM
The funniest moment though was when another described Willie as a head case. Joel's response was "in fairness he would deny that"! ;

It was Alex Maskey who called him a head case, it was funny.
Post by: glens abu on January 10, 2013, 08:40:33 PM
Quote from: angermanagement on January 10, 2013, 08:11:22 PM
The funniest moment though was when another described Willie as a head case. Joel's response was "in fairness he would deny that"! ;

Don't think it could have been Maskey,sure the Shinners are keeping their heads down.
Post by: EC Unique on January 10, 2013, 11:42:05 PM
They are just right to keep their heads down. The loyalists are doing a great self destruct on themselves. Leave them too it I say.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 11, 2013, 09:24:39 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 10, 2013, 11:42:05 PM
They are just right to keep their heads down. The loyalists are doing a great self destruct on themselves. Leave them too it I say.
You are probably right  but it is a bit galling to hear all the shit from the PUL guys go unchallenged.
Post by: Nally Stand on January 11, 2013, 11:13:23 AM
Quote from: glens abu on January 10, 2013, 08:40:33 PM

Don't think it could have been Maskey,sure the Shinners are keeping their heads down.

Gerry Kelly was on The View on bbc1 yesterday evening as well there I see. Don't know where Conal McDevitt was...probably off doing another interview somewhere about Gerry Adams' prostate problems.
Post by: Applesisapples on January 11, 2013, 04:02:55 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on January 11, 2013, 11:13:23 AM
Quote from: glens abu on January 10, 2013, 08:40:33 PM

Gerry Kelly was on The View on bbc1 yesterday evening as well there I see. Don't know where Conal McDevitt was...probably off doing another interview somewhere about Gerry Adams' prostate problems.
I have to agree some things should not be discussed, however it is a bit rich Gerry going private and him a socialist! That's as maybe though, I don't agree with McDevitt or anyone else questioning people's private health care.
Post by: Nally Stand on January 11, 2013, 04:08:42 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 11, 2013, 04:02:55 PM
I don't agree with McDevitt or anyone else questioning people's private health care.

Quote from: Applesisapples on January 11, 2013, 04:02:55 PM
it is a bit rich Gerry going private

???
Post by: Applesisapples on January 18, 2013, 10:38:31 AM
And Nolan shows the BBC's true colours rentaprod mob. Donaldson playing to the gallery!
Post by: glens abu on January 18, 2013, 10:53:04 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on January 18, 2013, 10:38:31 AM
And Nolan shows the BBC's true colours rentaprod mob. Donaldson playing to the gallery!

Did the shinner keep his head down on that show as well?
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2013, 11:01:23 AM

I would say that Catholics / Nationalists / Republicans / Ordinary working Unionists decided to keep away with the news of the Loyalist protesting outside and other than having an half empty studio for the return of Nolan's show, the BBC allowed some of the mob from the protest outside, into the studio audience. Presuming the weren't stinking of drink and carrying anything that could be used as a weapon.
Post by: EC Unique on January 18, 2013, 11:02:34 AM
Quote from: glens abu on January 18, 2013, 10:53:04 AM

Did the shinner keep his head down on that show as well?

No.
Post by: God14 on January 18, 2013, 11:20:44 AM
As a lifelong SDLP voter, I must admit I thought Gerry Kelly came across very very well, he had literally a baying mob screaming questions and personal abuse at him on many occasions throughout the show. His response was dignified and articulate.
How long into the show were we before Donaldson, McDevitt & the alliance guy were brought into the so-called debate?

On a side note - could you EVER imagine a loyalist politican sitting through what he did?? So much for standards & equality.

For those of you that missed it, its available on the iplayer for 4 or 5 days. Its a good watch if you get the chance

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01pwdcf/The_Nolan_Show_Series_2_Episode_6/
Post by: nrico2006 on January 18, 2013, 11:34:09 AM
Quote from: God14 on January 18, 2013, 11:20:44 AM
As a lifelong SDLP voter, I must admit I thought Gerry Kelly came across very very well, he had literally a baying mob screaming questions and personal abuse at him on many occasions throughout the show. His response was dignified and articulate.
How long into the show were we before Donaldson, McDevitt & the alliance guy were brought into the so-called debate?

On a side note - could you EVER imagine a loyalist politican sitting through what he did?? So much for standards & equality.

For those of you that missed it, its available on the iplayer for 4 or 5 days. Its a good watch if you get the chance

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01pwdcf/The_Nolan_Show_Series_2_Episode_6/

Gerry Kelly was very cool and did come across very well as opposed to the tubes firing stupid questions at him, like FFS I'm sure him being questioned about the prison officer or his past is water of a ducks back to him by now, not as if he hasn't been asked about it a million times before.  What is it with Unionists and 'Never, never, never'.  That prat with the big ears was embarassing, especially when he repeatedly said 'How dare you' with regards to the flag being taken down - sounded like a child trying to scold his mother. 
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2013, 11:36:13 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 18, 2013, 11:34:09 AM

Gerry Kelly was very cool and did come across very well as opposed to the tubes firing stupid questions at him, like FFS I'm sure him being questioned about the prison officer or his past is water of a ducks back to him by now, not as if he hasn't been asked about it a million times before.  What is it with Unionists and 'Never, never, never'. That prat with the big ears was embarassing, especially when he repeatedly said 'How dare you' with regards to the flag being taken down - sounded like a child trying to scold his mother.

That's Jamie Bryson, the new Willie Frazer.

Speaking of Willie, I noticed he hasn't be allowed anywhere the protests and the media since he's c**k up on the prank radio call last week.  ;D
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 18, 2013, 11:41:10 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 18, 2013, 11:36:13 AM

Gerry Kelly was very cool and did come across very well as opposed to the tubes firing stupid questions at him, like FFS I'm sure him being questioned about the prison officer or his past is water of a ducks back to him by now, not as if he hasn't been asked about it a million times before.  What is it with Unionists and 'Never, never, never'. That prat with the big ears was embarassing, especially when he repeatedly said 'How dare you' with regards to the flag being taken down - sounded like a child trying to scold his mother.

Speaking of Willie, I noticed he hasn't be allowed anywhere the protests and the media since he's c**k up on the prank radio call last week.  ;D

What was that? missed that altogether...
Post by: ranch on January 18, 2013, 11:45:10 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 18, 2013, 11:36:13 AM

It wasn't Jamie Bryson, it was another muppet.
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2013, 11:49:03 AM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 18, 2013, 11:41:10 AM
What was that? missed that altogether...

http://www.youtube.com/embed/01k9yZdxvn0?feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/embed/01k9yZdxvn0?feature=player_embedded)

Quote from: ranch on January 18, 2013, 11:45:10 AM
It wasn't Jamie Bryson, it was another muppet.

There's that many of them, it's hard to keep up  ;)
Post by: No Soloing on January 18, 2013, 01:33:00 PM
I mentioned on the other thread Wilson telling McDevitt 'remember where you live' - that and the 'How dare you' bloke sums up the level of their argument. Imagine Catholics not knowing their place! Going on about people dying for the flag is so banal - how many flags of a national or political nature have people not died under. Also, its not as if its Alliance, SF or SDLPs fault that people are still dying under that flag.
You kind of feel sorry for them. For years they were (the lowest) part of a system that meant there was always going to be someone worse off than them - we might have p*ss all but at least we arent Fenians!. That is changing and they cant handle it.
Post by: armaghniac on January 18, 2013, 11:03:20 PM
Nolan Show for 26 county residents and others

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fc5L5p6aYyM
Post by: seanaglis on January 19, 2013, 01:24:37 PM
That must have been the nootonards rd version of jabba the hut "themmuns are always throwing petrol bombs from st matthews church"