GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 12:58:03 PM

Title: Limerick introduce new tactic
Post by: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 12:58:03 PM
The Bluffer's Bugle and Weekly Advertiser

An Occasional Series

Limerick, March 2007.

Football followers have, for years now, scratched their heads in vain for a solution to the appalling diving tendency that has threatened to ruin our game. 

Diving, often seen as a component of the much reviled 'puke football' system, is perhaps most notoriously perpetrated by dual All-Ireland winners Tyrone, though most observers credit Kerryman, Mick O'Dwyer with its invention.

Now, appropriately, another Kerryman, Limerick football manager Mickey Ned O'Sullivan, may have refurbished the county's reputation by coming up with the antidote to this virulent syndrome, with a new tactic introduced at last Sunday's league game against Tyrone. And, like all good ideas, it's simplicity itself.

Rather than try to describe the tactic and the technique behind it, we will allow this picture to illustrate it:
www.geocities.com/hardyarse/401887.jpg
Title: Re: Limerick introduce new tactic
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 01:04:41 PM
That went over my head quicker than Ugly Betty
Post by: full back on March 28, 2007, 01:06:06 PM
You and me both RRHF
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 28, 2007, 01:07:34 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 01:04:41 PM
That went over my head quicker than Ugly Betty
you
went
down
on
ugly
betty

:o :o :-X
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 01:16:02 PM
Oof below the belt.  :D
Post by: bennydorano on March 28, 2007, 03:03:58 PM
Can't access the picture
Post by: Orior on March 28, 2007, 03:13:47 PM
Tis a picture of McMenimen burying his head in the stomach of a Limerick forward
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2007, 03:36:49 PM
Or, more to the point I think, it is a picture of a Limerick lad grabbing a hould of a Tyronie and not allowing him to go down. Kind of like a rugby tackle where the tackler wants to form a maul and get a turnover rather than a ruck.
Post by: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 03:43:56 PM
Sorry lads - sometimes it just doesn't work. As AZ says, it was meant to be Ricey doing his best to fall and the Limerick lad trying to prevent him. At least that's what it looked like to me and I thought it was funny.

There you go. 
Post by: realredhandfan on March 28, 2007, 03:48:21 PM
and I get accused of love crimes with Ugly Betty.  Hardy this is worse than the Martin O Connell incidents.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 28, 2007, 03:49:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 03:43:56 PM
Sorry lads - sometimes it just doesn't work. As AZ says, it was meant to be Ricey doing his best to fall and the Limerick lad trying to prevent him. At least that's what it looked like to me and I thought it was funny.

There you go. 

Flawed premise, false promise... damp squib!  ;)
Post by: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 03:56:07 PM
Yes - pfhhhttt ....

RRHF - after ten years, its incidentS now! He'll be a serial killer in no time.

Post by: lynchbhoy on March 28, 2007, 04:03:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 28, 2007, 03:56:07 PM
Yes - pfhhhttt ....

RRHF - after ten years, its incidentS now! He'll be a serial killer in no time.
funnily enough - he's a butcher by trade.......
:o
Post by: timmykelleher on March 28, 2007, 04:57:17 PM
Speaking of diving.... I thought it was interesting at the weekend that the referee gave a free against Mark Kerins for over carrying when he attempted a Klinsmann. I say fair dues to the ref for calling it correctly. Tipp ended up getting a goal from the free.
I hoped in that situation that his manager would hold his hands up and say it was a poor attempt at a dive and tell his player not to be diving (or at least diving that badly), instead Loughnane was complaining that he should have got a free. Dissapointed in that.
Post by: phpearse on March 28, 2007, 04:58:11 PM
Is it not Niall Gormley.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 28, 2007, 08:42:23 PM
I wonder do they practice the diving in training ?
Post by: Tyrones own on March 28, 2007, 09:04:45 PM

Personally I'd have thought that Martin O'Rourke had done more than enough to have
put distance between Tyrone and the word diving, but i also know that you're a piss take merchant
Mike so I'll not be too much bothered by your agenda which might i add is 2 plus yr's out of date at this stage.
Same old.................... ::)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 29, 2007, 08:00:17 PM
Please dont resort to diving when you visit this weekend. You will be in the home football so I expect
you to play football.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 29, 2007, 08:42:09 PM

Same Old..................... ::)

In that Master Class that was the '05 AI Final when ye had no answer to
the quality of "Football" from the Nordies, i didn't hear diving mentioned so
its just strange to me that you have to resort back to '03 to find a problem
with our style of play.
Move on or get current man, it is 2007
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 08:56:06 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 29, 2007, 08:00:17 PM
Please dont resort to diving when you visit this weekend. You will be in the home football so I expect
you to play football.

Well!... Ah feck it, I'd rather talk with a grown-up!
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 29, 2007, 09:08:36 PM
QuoteWell!... Ah feck it, I'd rather talk with a grown-up!

You're one to talk...are you the same "Fear an Srath Ban" that posts over on hoganstand.com ?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2007, 09:25:46 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 29, 2007, 09:08:36 PM
QuoteWell!... Ah feck it, I'd rather talk with a grown-up!

You're one to talk...are you the same "Fear an Srath Ban" that posts over on hoganstand.com ?

Yep, and it sounds like you were one of the childish eejits that I had to deal with.
Post by: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 10:27:59 AM
Theres a lot of closet hoganstanders on here from the sound of it.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 30, 2007, 07:39:34 PM
QuoteYep, and it sounds like you were one of the childish eejits that I had to deal with

Nope, I dont post there. Just read, but all I'll say is you are some tube to be talking about conversing with grown ups considering
some of the tripe you've posted over there.

idiot.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 08:51:07 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 30, 2007, 07:39:34 PM
QuoteYep, and it sounds like you were one of the childish eejits that I had to deal with

Nope, I dont post there. Just read, but all I'll say is you are some tube to be talking about conversing with grown ups considering
some of the tripe you've posted over there.

idiot.

I kept it all for utter amadáin like yourself (post some evidence to support your claim). Do your parents know you're still up?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 09:15:43 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on March 30, 2007, 10:27:59 AM
Theres a lot of closet hoganstanders on here from the sound of it.

Indeed RRHF, though to be fair, there were (and are) a good number who are genuine and positive contributors.  Unfortunately though, they are overwhelmed, ground down and eliminated by the puerile crap that the administrators not only allow, but actually facilitate and promote (this eejit Sheehy's a good example, not content with not getting a rise from his first 'diving' comment, he had to try it again -- real grown-up stuff eh?).  No easy way to alert the good eggs on hoganstand to the existence of this board, but we can hope.
Post by: Tyrones own on March 30, 2007, 10:50:35 PM

At least you were man enough to carry your name across from
that other joke of a site, not hide like some people.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 11:22:03 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 30, 2007, 10:50:35 PM

At least you were man enough to carry your name across from
that other joke of a site, not hide like some people.

Thanks, I was something less than polite at times there to be sure, but I always aimed it at specific individuals, and if I offended through generalisations it was certainly not my intention. We all live in glass houses, and none of us is without sin in any footballing (or hurling) respect.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 30, 2007, 11:42:17 PM
you were the first to personalize this spat with your "eejit" comment so spare me your high mindedness.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 30, 2007, 11:52:57 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 30, 2007, 11:42:17 PM
you were the first to personalize this spat with your "eejit" comment so spare me your high mindedness.

So you're proud of your 'diving' jibes then?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 31, 2007, 01:51:13 AM
QuoteSo you're proud of your 'diving' jibes then?

No, I'm quite ashamed actually. I should have embellished it with "Tyrone are a bunch of diving, cheating, eye poking knaves that would sell their grandmother for a few easy frees".

In my defence,  I was afraid of going that far in case your head would explode with righteous indignation.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 31, 2007, 01:58:38 AM
Also, I have proof. This picture of Brian Dooher practicing diving was taken at a recent Tyrone training session by your fellow countyman ziggsego

(http://www.aerohio.com/images/photos/photos-s/photo3.jpg)
Post by: realredhandfan on March 31, 2007, 10:10:15 AM
Fair play Miikeys in recoil.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 31, 2007, 01:15:10 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 31, 2007, 01:51:13 AM
No, I'm quite ashamed actually. I should have embellished it with "Tyrone are a bunch of diving, cheating, eye poking knaves that would sell their grandmother for a few easy frees".

Well, at least that would have shown some imagination and effort on your behalf! ???