Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 01, 2013, 12:05:15 AM

Title: 2013 - Hopes and dreams
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 01, 2013, 12:05:15 AM
Let's hear it GAAboarders, what are your hopes and dreams for 2013?  Family, career, business, sport, what do you want to make happen this year?
Title: Re: 2013 - Hopes and dreams
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2013, 12:07:35 AM
A cure for baldness.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2013, 12:09:01 AM
Beat me to it.

Think this will be a big year professionally - good or bad remains to be seen. Want to get the outside of the house sorted and wanes to behave!
Post by: Rois on January 01, 2013, 12:18:37 AM
If this year is as good as last year I'll be happy.

Couple or three good holidays with serious saving in between.

Garvaghey to open successfully to coincide with Tyrone's 10th anniversary of the first All Ireland.

Post by: Puckoon on January 01, 2013, 12:21:03 AM
1. Get the index down to 9
2. Buy our home
3. Increase the morning sex quota
4. Not have to spend more than $500 on my car
5. Take off the 10lbs I put on since summer ended
6. Make a trip home - may have to go on ice due to #2.
Post by: laoislad on January 01, 2013, 12:27:42 AM
2013 has been shite so far, can't wait till its over.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2013, 12:29:32 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 01, 2013, 12:27:42 AM
Debbie McGee didnt call back?
Post by: SHEEDY on January 01, 2013, 12:31:23 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 01, 2013, 12:27:42 AM
beat me to it. the weather has been shite and the tv is shite. sport this year is shite. everything about 2013 has been shite so far. roll on 2014.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2013, 12:36:18 AM
Good call, we already looking forward to next year lol
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 01, 2013, 12:38:10 AM
A third cut of silage for the first time in yonkers.
Post by: ONeill on January 01, 2013, 01:16:13 AM
To rule 97% of the planet through a reign of terror.

Get my teeth seen to as often as possible. The dentist is deadly. Maturing well.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2013, 01:43:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 01, 2013, 01:16:13 AM

Get my teeth seen to as often as possible. The dentist is deadly. Maturing well.
Is this the dentist in Glengormley you have mentioned previously? You will have to drop her business address.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 01, 2013, 01:46:50 AM
1. Mayo to win the All Ireland.
2. Someone to explain to me what "Singularity" in cosmological terms means.
3. All my loved ones to be around to help me usher in 2014.
4. Gaaboard to continue on as before.
5. May the least all of us here wish for be the least we get in the coming year.
6. Mayo to win... (Jaysus, I think I already said that!)

Happy New Year everyone except O'Neill!
PS. O'Neill, póg  mo thóin. ;D
Post by: ONeill on January 01, 2013, 01:51:37 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2013, 01:43:05 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 01, 2013, 01:16:13 AM

Is this the dentist in Glengormley you have mentioned previously? You will have to drop her business address.

Definitely not. That'd be like sharing a Frostie.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 01, 2013, 01:46:50 AM
5. May the least all of us here wish for be the least we get in the coming year.

Shove yer platitudes.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 01, 2013, 10:02:57 AM
Happy New Year to all.

It's a beautiful sunny morning here in Hall Green.

Post by: ziggysego on January 01, 2013, 12:30:04 PM
After what has been a traumatic year, health wise,  my main goal this year is to regain lost ground and get myself back to a reasonably healthy state again.
Post by: Hardy on January 01, 2013, 12:45:00 PM
I'm going to learn the piano (well, keyboard).

Anyone know any good online resources?
Post by: theticklemister on January 01, 2013, 12:52:43 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 01, 2013, 12:45:00 PM

Do ye have an ipad? Bounds to be tons of apps that ye could use.

Wouldn't mind learning the guitar, saying that for ages. Have a mandolin in me room from my 21st birthday but never managed to get around to learning it. I play the bodhran and whistle but I can't seem to play a stringed instrument.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2013, 12:55:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 01, 2013, 12:45:00 PM

I have threatened to do this too. The eldest son is taking lessons at the minute through school but he has zero interest and the wife can play so thinking me learning at the same time might encourage him. When I see the wife playing Beethoven etc. I don't think I will ever get there! I have so far mastered Old Macdonald  8).
Post by: ONeill on January 01, 2013, 01:29:53 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on January 01, 2013, 10:02:57 AM
Happy New Year to all.

It's a beautiful sunny morning here in Hall Green.

Where in Hall Green are you? I lived in the appropriately named Studland Road.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 01, 2013, 01:44:00 PM
About two minutes walk from Studland Rd, if you crossed School Rd and walked up Miall Rd you'd be right beside the "High Chapperal". Where did you do your drinking the Maggie's? Vaughans? Maybe you're a sensible kind of chap and frequented the Horseshoe, the Robin or the Plume. Enlighten me further, I may have known you :o.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 01, 2013, 02:54:01 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 01, 2013, 12:30:04 PM
After what has been a traumatic year, health wise,  my main goal this year is to regain lost ground and get myself back to a reasonably healthy state again.
Great to hear you're on the mend again. Good men are scarce.
(Well, in Tyrone anyway.) ;D
Post by: The Iceman on January 01, 2013, 04:00:31 PM
1. Be a better husband and daddy
2. Buy 5 acres and build a house
3. Get back into some kind of shape - maybe give P90x a rattle...
4. Get the mountain bike out more than I have in 2012
5. Keep trying to be better than I was yesterday
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 01, 2013, 04:01:46 PM
Sports- to complete a couple of full triathlons. Continue to hurl for the clubs South Antrim team. Get under 20 minutes for 5K.

Health - cut out the shit foods (as he tucks into chicken burger!!) Drink less (currently getting ready for a night out!!) get a six pack

Work - Get some part-time work in another college (I've interview next week) oh and continue with my current job, flat out at the minute so all looks good for the next few years

Home- be less grumpy (really difficult :o) finish off work in house. Would love an extension to house (who wouldn't??)

Think some of these are easy enough to get, some impossible
Post by: ziggysego on January 01, 2013, 05:02:31 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 01, 2013, 02:54:01 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 01, 2013, 12:30:04 PM
Great to hear you're on the mend again. Good men are scarce.
(Well, in Tyrone anyway.) ;D

Cheers..... I think ;)
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 01, 2013, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 01, 2013, 04:01:46 PM
Sports- to complete a couple of full triathlons. Continue to hurl for the clubs South Antrim team. Get under 20 minutes for 5K.

Health - cut out the shit foods (as he tucks into chicken burger!!) Drink less (currently getting ready for a night out!!) get a six pack

Work - Get some part-time work in another college (I've interview next week) oh and continue with my current job, flat out at the minute so all looks good for the next few years

Home- be less grumpy (really difficult :o) finish off work in house. Would love an extension to house (who wouldn't??)

Same with me on that one, doing ok so far, day 1. avoiding wife and kids is key I feel
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 02, 2013, 11:51:11 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on January 01, 2013, 05:25:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 01, 2013, 04:01:46 PM

Same with me on that one, doing ok so far, day 1. avoiding wife and kids is key I feel

I don't know what it is but when you get older tolerance levels drop!! Day 2 (my birthday!!) wife at work, one of the kids at school the other sitting about, no hassle so far!!
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2013, 01:19:40 PM
1) The RSA/Governments deserves credit fro the big reduction in road deaths, now they need to tackle the incredible rise in people taking their own lives. It has touched almost everyone I know in the last 12 months and looks set to rise this year. Jan/Feb will probably be the worst 2 months. It is way beyond time to do something about it.

2) Our various elected officials and representatives are all busy trying to fool us by pretending that they are either in Government or Opposition. They are neither, the Troika is in Government and there is no opposition. I dream that, for once, the little people in the various parties could (even temporarily) ignore their own ideology, their petty local issues and their next elections and unite behind a common cause that would benefit all Irish citizens. I naively hope for a pan-political movement to march on either the tearing up of the Promissory Note, Bank Guarantee or Bank Bailouts, or all 3.

3) Our media took a serious bashing in 2012, RTE in particular. Somehow parts of the print media revelled in this, especially the Indo of all people. They all need to dramatically clean up their acts and here's hoping 2013 is the year.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 02, 2013, 01:47:54 PM
Hope that all family and friends stay healthy and are around to welcome in 2014.
Wouldnt mind a new car for myself too though, a proper big  car, but increasing insurances and fuel costs are making it more difficult all the time.
Post by: ardal on January 03, 2013, 02:42:37 PM
Very little more to hope for, beyond the health of all friends and family; world peace, be able to visit back home etc, but all in all, really quite content with what life has dished out; although the local gaa club caved in at the end of 2012.

Tedious link to the piano thing. Crossing the road the other day with my 5 yr old son and was waiting at the zebra crossing. No traffic coming either direction and the boy shouts, "let's go papa, piano playing time".  Why isn't the zebra crossing called the piano crossing; ebony and ivory.
Post by: Nally Stand on January 03, 2013, 03:21:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 02, 2013, 01:19:40 PM
3) Our media took a serious bashing in 2012, RTE in particular. Somehow parts of the print media revelled in this, especially the Indo of all people. They all need to dramatically clean up their acts and here's hoping 2013 is the year.

Speaking of the Indo, no doubt Commonwealth membership is up there on their 2013 hopes and dreams wishlist, if some of their "royal visit" headlines are anything to go by:

A new path to a Common Wealth
Poll shows how Queen was taken to Irish hearts
Dashing Army captain who left all of us ladies green with envy
Paddy has passed a milestone on the long road to adulthood
Old enemy has turned out to be our most valued and trusted ally
Friends and equals don't need to ask for apologies
Her head bowed and 'the whole of Ireland missed a heartbeat'
Footprint of monarchy stamped on our history
Post by: stew on January 04, 2013, 03:17:39 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on January 01, 2013, 01:46:50 AM

1. Not going to happen!
2. The theoretical point at the bottom of a black hole in space where light, planets, suns and dark matter reside in an infinitely small, single mass.
3. Hope that happens for you.
4. Like the universe, the gaaboard is never ending (almost)
5. Eh?
6. See response numero uno!

Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2013, 03:02:26 PM
Four days in and 2013 is already ▶□■↑ing annoying me.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 03:19:16 PM
I hope 2013 is better than 2012 which has been the toughest year of my life for a number of reasons. I hope for more patience with my family and my eldest in particular. 
Post by: johnneycool on January 04, 2013, 03:45:13 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 03:19:16 PM
I hope 2013 is better than 2012 which has been the toughest year of my life for a number of reasons. I hope for more patience with my family and my eldest in particular.

Never to worry BC, you lose them for 10 years in their teenage years. Get the through to their early 20's and all will be fine.

I was given that advice when my first was born by an auld fella I used to work with and from talking to some of my mates who've kids hitting the teens now, its a very true statement.
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2013, 04:04:11 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 04, 2013, 03:45:13 PM

Never to worry BC, you lose them for 10 years in their teenage years. Get the through to their early 20's and all will be fine.

I was given that advice when my first was born by an auld fella I used to work with and from talking to some of my mates who've kids hitting the teens now, its a very true statement.

Yes. The thing is, they need you just as much, if not more than ever, in those years, even though they're making a big show of the opposite. It's a time of big doubts for them, so even if they're acting like they hate you, they need the certainty that you love them and that they can always trust you. They also need boundaries, though again they act as if they don't. It's tough, but it ends, as Johnney says.

I said to my eldest son recently that I sometimes felt sorry for times when I made harsh decisions on him growing up. (The eldest always seems to have it the hardest, as you're learning on them.) "You weren't half harsh enough", he said. I don't tell that as support for a tough regime but more as an encouragement to be confident in doing the right thing even if, at the time, the teenager sees it as the end of the world and seems to hate you for it.

If I could change anything, or use my experience to advise anyone setting out on this road, I would communicate better when laying things on the line and put it in a framework that they understand better - e.g. this is my job, we have rules and boundaries, you have responsibilities, how you're acting is normal, but so is how I'm acting, etc. Rather than "do it because I said so".
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2013, 05:02:58 PM
The last few posts are sobering reading. Something I worry about often as a parent - how the teenage years will impact the adulthood of my child and our respective relationships with each other. Shes already into girly things with the women in her life, while Dad gets left out cause he doesnt know the first thing about rainbow sparkle nail polish! I hope 2013 improves on 2012 for you BCB1 although I read somewhere a quote from a mother to her son on one of those stupid FB meme things that stuck with me. Loosely paraphrased it read

We will fail, our rules will be broken by you, we will impose suitable punishment, and then we will start again. This is because we are learning all the time, us as parents, and you as our son.

Often times a wash of shame comes over me when I think of the times I was a p***k to my parents.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 05:20:10 PM
I think maybe I came across a bit wrong. I want more patience in general with my kids (and my wife!) and in particular my eldest but they didn't make my life too difficult in 2012.  My lad is no different from any other 14 year old, and if anything is much more manageable than I was at his age and certainly better behaved in terms of what I was at.  I have just had a very tough year and I took it out on them. The old phrase that you hurt the ones you love the most was certainly true. 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 04, 2013, 05:36:31 PM
My hopes are being able to save enough money for this fecking wedding  :(
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 05:50:36 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 04, 2013, 05:36:31 PM
Keep it small is my advice. You'll not enjoy it anymore just by throwing cash at it.

Some the other gaaboarders will act as witnesses.
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2013, 07:16:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 05:50:36 PM
Keep it small is my advice. You'll not enjoy it anymore just by throwing cash at it.

What yer man said. Having paid for said event 4 times, a simple (in our case backyard) wedding, with the friends and family most close was really the dogs bollocks. Less stress, more involvement (actually putting the event together) and a few more $ in the account at the end of it.

Let me know when to book the tickets.  ;)
Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2013, 07:37:01 PM

+1000
Best piece of advice I got was off my Da.
Once the music stops playing and everyone is gone home with their bellies full,you're the one left to pay the bill.

We had about 96 at ours and it was plenty imo.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 07:48:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 04, 2013, 07:37:01 PM

+1000
Once the music stops playing and everyone is gone home with their bellies full,you're the one left to pay the bill.

JFT96.
Post by: trileacman on January 04, 2013, 07:58:53 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 07:48:46 PM
JFT96.

Hopes for 2013: Be less fat.
Post by: laoislad on January 04, 2013, 08:02:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 07:48:46 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 04, 2013, 07:37:01 PM

+1000

JFT96.

There was a rousing rendition of YNWA at the end. DJ was a Man U fan so it made it all the sweeter. ;D
Post by: ziggy90 on January 04, 2013, 08:25:08 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2013, 04:04:11 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 04, 2013, 03:45:13 PM

Yes. The thing is, they need you just as much, if not more than ever, in those years, even though they're making a big show of the opposite. It's a time of big doubts for them, so even if they're acting like they hate you, they need the certainty that you love them and that they can always trust you. They also need boundaries, though again they act as if they don't. It's tough, but it ends, as Johnney says.

I said to my eldest son recently that I sometimes felt sorry for times when I made harsh decisions on him growing up. (The eldest always seems to have it the hardest, as you're learning on them.) "You weren't half harsh enough", he said. I don't tell that as support for a tough regime but more as an encouragement to be confident in doing the right thing even if, at the time, the teenager sees it as the end of the world and seems to hate you for it.

If I could change anything, or use my experience to advise anyone setting out on this road, I would communicate better when laying things on the line and put it in a framework that they understand better - e.g. this is my job, we have rules and boundaries, you have responsibilities, how you're acting is normal, but so is how I'm acting, etc. Rather than "do it because I said so".

All good advice, and if I could add a sentiment of my own BC. You'll be fine, it takes a good man to apologise, it takes an even better one to recognise his own shortcomings and to act on them.
Post by: Ulick on January 04, 2013, 09:10:17 PM
Am expecting 2013 to be a tough one. If number 4 comes out healthy, I can put food on the table for everyone and stay off the fags I'll be a happy man this time next year.
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2013, 09:24:29 PM

Toe up the hole. Traditional and back in fashion.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 10:18:21 PM
Just to repeat, my children are not the reason I had a tough year. I had a tough year was as a result I was unnecessarily impatient and tough on my kids, the older one in particular. I hope. 2013 will be a better year for my so that I won't be as agitated easily and therefore more patient with them.

If not I will just resort to the boot up the hole method ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2013, 11:00:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 10:18:21 PM
Just to repeat, my children are not the reason I had a tough year. I had a tough year was as a result I was unnecessarily impatient and tough on my kids, the older one in particular. I hope. 2013 will be a better year for my so that I won't be as agitated easily and therefore more patient with them.

It's easy done sir. Unfortunately they tend to do stuff that tips you over the edge if you are under stress. Just downstairs from bollocking them because they were plastering my aftershave all over the gaff. Smells like Debenhams cosmetics counter!
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2013, 11:09:57 PM
bcb1 - http://www.parents.com/parenting/better-parenting/advice/8-ways-to-be-a-better-parent/
Post by: muppet on January 05, 2013, 08:47:35 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2013, 10:18:21 PM

Best of luck BC1 in 2013 from Muppet and his mini-muppets.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 06, 2013, 12:49:54 AM
Sub 20 min 5k
Lose 5kg
Cycle 5,000km
Post by: omagh_gael on January 06, 2013, 01:04:38 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on January 06, 2013, 12:49:54 AM
Sub 20 min 5k
Lose 5kg
Cycle 5,000km

Sounds like mighty craic!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 06, 2013, 01:07:14 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 06, 2013, 01:04:38 AM
Sub 20 min 5k
Lose 5kg
Cycle 5,000km

Sounds like a busy day!
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2013, 11:00:57 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on January 01, 2013, 01:44:00 PM
About two minutes walk from Studland Rd, if you crossed School Rd and walked up Miall Rd you'd be right beside the "High Chapperal". Where did you do your drinking the Maggie's? Vaughans? Maybe you're a sensible kind of chap and frequented the Horseshoe, the Robin or the Plume. Enlighten me further, I may have known you :o.

I loved the Poitin Stil near Bordesley Green. Great during the summer to watch games.
Cleary's was a regular spot. Don't think it's there any more.
The Roscommon Bar
The Kerryman
The Garryowen

In the city centre I'd have pinted in the Egg and Lettuce and the Newt and Cucumber.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 10, 2013, 08:55:55 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 06, 2013, 01:04:38 AM
Sub 20 min 5k
Lose 5kg
Cycle 5,000km

Well if u like cycling it is! And I f**king love it!
Post by: ziggy90 on January 10, 2013, 07:12:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 09, 2013, 11:00:57 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on January 01, 2013, 01:44:00 PM

I loved the Poitin Stil near Bordesley Green. Great during the summer to watch games.
Cleary's was a regular spot. Don't think it's there any more.
The Roscommon Bar
The Kerryman
The Garryowen

In the city centre I'd have pinted in the Egg and Lettuce and the Newt and Cucumber.

You must be one of those men who don't like drinking close to home, I wonder why? :o

The Poitin was a great spot alright, I think it's a mosque now. ::) Did the Buncrana men make you welcome? There wasn't a lot of messing about in there with the Emyvale Amazon keeping an eye on things.
I only ever drank in Cleary's once (too packed) even though the man that owned it would have been a friend of mine. There is still a pub called Cleary's although it is on different premises.
Was not The Kerryman and The Roscommon Bar the same place?
The Garryowen, enough said, legendary.

It would be very seldom I'd drink in town and I wouldn't know any of those places you mention. (Were their customers mainly refugees from Weighwatchers?) The Trocadero would be one spot I would have frequented.
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2013, 11:50:58 PM
Ah Jaysus yes - The Trocadero. I couldn't remember the name. Twas expensive but a nice place. Got free nuts! Can't believe the Poitin is away. I remember she used to close the doors at 3pm on a Sunday. Most of us would watch the game (usually oul boys from Crossmaglen or Coalisland) and the regulars would play cards around the back. Doors would open after full time. Had some craic/crack there.

The Yard of Ale was another I'd have popped into. The Square Peg? Was up at the top of a hilly street.

Ronnie Scotts got a rattle if the Fureys or someone worthwhile were in. O'Neill's was OK.

I was there from 97-99 and loved it. Helped to start the Birmingham Pipes and Drums. Taught up at Handsworth Grammar and Holyhead Secondary. I'd say if the wife wasn't such a home-bird I'd still be there.

Great fcukin memories.
Post by: ziggy90 on January 13, 2013, 11:04:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 10, 2013, 11:50:58 PM
Ah Jaysus yes - The Trocadero. I couldn't remember the name. Twas expensive but a nice place. Got free nuts! Can't believe the Poitin is away. I remember she used to close the doors at 3pm on a Sunday. Most of us would watch the game (usually oul boys from Crossmaglen or Coalisland) and the regulars would play cards around the back. Doors would open after full time. Had some craic/crack there.

The Yard of Ale was another I'd have popped into. The Square Peg? Was up at the top of a hilly street.

Ronnie Scotts got a rattle if the Fureys or someone worthwhile were in. O'Neill's was OK.

I was there from 97-99 and loved it. Helped to start the Birmingham Pipes and Drums. Taught up at Handsworth Grammar and Holyhead Secondary. I'd say if the wife wasn't such a home-bird I'd still be there.

Great fcukin memories.

Joe Reel and Joe O'Neill (his daughter took it over after the Amazon) if I'm not mistaken? They're both having the craic/crack in the great Poitin Stil in the sky now. RIP. I would have drunk in there of a Sunday around that time (along with various other less salubrious establishments in the Small Heath area). I'd have watched the games and then settled down for a war game of 25, waiting patiently (not for long) for the row to start. ;)

The Yard of Ale is now a Halal noodle kip restaurant, without even a nod towards it's previous incarnation and history. The Square Peg, ffs,(Corporation St).

You must have moved home just when the explosion (mini) of "Irish" pubs/clubs happened in the Hall Green area. Inside a couple of years up sprung Vaughans, (Maddog's slurping house) Maggies, Scanlons, Behans and a bit later Casey Joes.

Fair play to you (and the other founder members) for your efforts on the part of the BIP&D's, they've made a big impression wherever they've played, and helped to lift the profile of Birmingam's Irish People in those and many other places.

The craic/crack was better then, but now, on occasion (seldom is wonderful), you can still fall in for a night/day of something you wont find anywhere else.

Oh, btw, the Troc was never expensive (at least it's beer wasn't). ;)
Post by: ONeill on January 13, 2013, 12:08:27 PM
Ah those were the two boys alright.  Both gone?  That's a good un about Hall Green.  There were no pubs of note when I was there.  There was one on the way out of the city on the right hand side.  Pool table but not that welcoming.  Stayed on a floor in Acocks Green for my first week. I can vaguely recall some Irish Club in that area I'd have watched the odd game in but it was dead. Is the travel agency at the top of Studland still there?

The Irish scene was thriving then. Some great bands and musicians.  Is the Irish Centre still there? It was dying on its feet when I left. 

I was back once a few years ago and it was all changed in the city centre.  Seemed to be thriving. 
Post by: ziggy90 on January 13, 2013, 01:51:07 PM
Ah those were the two boys alright.  Both gone?  That's a good un about Hall Green.  There were no pubs of note when I was there.  There was one on the way out of the city on the right hand side.  Pool table but not that welcoming.  Stayed on a floor in Acocks Green for my first week. I can vaguely recall some Irish Club in that area I'd have watched the odd game in but it was dead. Is the travel agency at the top of Studland still there?

The Irish scene was thriving then. Some great bands and musicians.  Is the Irish Centre still there? It was dying on its feet when I left. 

I was back once a few years ago and it was all changed in the city centre.  Seemed to be thriving.

I can't for the life of me think of any pub on the right hand side of Stratford Rd on the way out of town once you passed through Sparkbrook. There were plenty on the left including the Mermaid, Antelope, Bear and College, each of those would have been proper "Irish" pubs although if you were a stranger I could well understand your unwelcoming remark.

The Irish Centre is indeed still there albeit under private ownership (Galway family). It underwent a complete overhaul (management, staff and premises) and from all accounts seems to be doing very well again. It's now a popular setting for big Amateur boxing tournaments as well as being as it always was a great venue for live music.

The city centre has changed beyond recognition in the last twenty years, and with the new Bull Ring, Broad St, Arcadian and Canalside Entertainment districts does seem to be holding it's own (in spite of the worst recession in my lifetime).

Anyway, if you ever decide to visit give me a shout and I'll give you a tour of Somaliland your old haunts.

PS I might even include St Andrew's in those highlights  ;).
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2013, 03:17:47 PM
Just following up on the piano learning - in case anyone else finds it useful, I've ended up using http://www.instantpianogenius.com (http://www.instantpianogenius.com) mostly, at least for the basics. I assume I'll graduate to other stuff as I progress (if I progress), but this is brilliant for quickly learning your way around the keyboard, the chords and the relationships between them. I couldn't believe how easy it was to learn and memorise them with this method.

I'm working on the "finger memory" now, just trying to get the chord shapes and transitions to come naturally at this stage. Again, I'm finding it easier than I expected and I'm really surprised at how quickly the finger memory develops.

The goal is to be able to play Blueberry Hill spot on - not just by learning that tune, but by working from first principles. If I can do that within a year I'll be delighted.

Anyway, the point of the post is encouragement for anyone thinking of starting. So far it's much easier than I feared and great fun.