Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on December 27, 2012, 10:40:12 PM

Title: Most annoying words
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2012, 10:40:12 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1227/breaking29.html

"You know," "whatever" is a really annoying term - "like" "you know." We're "just sayin'." When it comes to the most annoying words or phrases used in conversation, those four top the list in 2012, according to the annual Marist Poll.

"Whatever" headed the list, cited by 32 per cent of adults, and next came "like," which 21 per cent didn't like.

Runners-up included "Twitterverse" and "gotcha'." The results mirrored last year's survey when "whatever" topped the annoying words list for a third straight year. But "seriously," named by 7 per cent last year, dropped off the list entirely - really. Marist questioned 1,246 adults in a US telephone survey.

Results showed differences by age and regions, with people younger than 45 or in the northeast especially annoyed by "like," while "you know" offended more of the 45-and-over set.

Men and women gave similar responses overall, but whites were twice as likely as non-whites to find "you know" irritating. And people under 45 were more than twice as likely as those over 45 to be put off by "just sayin.'"
Title: Re: Most annoying words
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2012, 10:46:00 PM
Basically
Mate
Awesome
Wonderful
Delightful
Sweet
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2012, 10:57:00 PM
Literally
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 27, 2012, 10:57:52 PM
Wouldn't be a fan of literally when used incorrectly.

A fella on Strictly Come Dancing said the other week that his partner was "literally moving as fast as lightening".  >:(
Post by: Minder on December 27, 2012, 10:58:54 PM
"In the round" is a new one that has crept into political speak.
Post by: Itchy on December 27, 2012, 10:59:12 PM
Ger
Canning
Marty
Morrisey
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 27, 2012, 11:01:24 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 27, 2012, 10:57:00 PM
Literally
I was literally posting about this at the same time as you.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2012, 11:05:29 PM
Most. Misused. Word. Ever.
Post by: Gaffer on December 27, 2012, 11:06:38 PM
"And your point is?  "

The most hateful expression of all time!!!!

Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2012, 11:22:58 PM
"No harm to you but...."
Post by: Sandy Hill on December 27, 2012, 11:34:23 PM
"Shall" as in "we'll have a traffic update now, shall we?" as constantly used by Karen Patterson on Good morning Ulster. Nobody but nobody that I know ever uses that word!

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 27, 2012, 11:36:25 PM
People who confuse Specific and Pacific.
Post by: laoislad on December 27, 2012, 11:36:47 PM
Not tonight I'm tired.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 27, 2012, 11:40:27 PM
"Personally, I feel myself.." as used by most politicians. Bloody wankers, the whole lot of them.
"We here in this country.." as used by the above.
Post by: Gaffer on December 27, 2012, 11:44:38 PM
"Last evening"  when they mean "yesterday evening"
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2012, 11:48:00 PM
It'll never happen
Roasties
Post by: ballela-angel on December 27, 2012, 11:49:26 PM
"At the end of the day"
Post by: fitzroyalty on December 28, 2012, 12:02:36 AM
Banter. Poor man's craic.
Post by: Puckoon on December 28, 2012, 12:14:48 AM
I don't like the word asinine
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2012, 03:27:02 AM
"The death has taken place of..."  Was it a planned event or something?
Post by: thejuice on December 28, 2012, 03:34:57 AM
The word celebrity and all it invokes in these shallow times. It's death can't come soon enough.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2012, 04:22:44 AM
"Normalcy"

I first heard it in September 2001 and have hated it ever since.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 28, 2012, 08:52:42 AM
"Inanyways" The Dubs favourite expression.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2012, 09:33:22 AM
"Ye"

The free-stater version of "youse"
Post by: ONeill on December 28, 2012, 09:40:52 AM
youse
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2012, 09:45:44 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 28, 2012, 09:40:52 AM
youse
Couldn't live without it. Or "yousuns".
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2012, 09:50:14 AM
".. that there"
Post by: Gaffer on December 28, 2012, 10:25:19 AM
"So it is "     (Baker Bradley)
Post by: magpie seanie on December 28, 2012, 10:27:40 AM
"Liverpool" as said by Alan Green.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 28, 2012, 10:29:43 AM
"Tyone win the All Ireland"
Post by: Hardy on December 28, 2012, 10:31:16 AM
Whenever.

Hoy noy broyn coy.
Post by: screenexile on December 28, 2012, 10:38:04 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on December 28, 2012, 10:25:19 AM
"So it is "     (Baker Bradley)

I thought it went more like "saa it is"
Post by: seafoid on December 28, 2012, 10:40:07 AM
"The reality of the situation" which is just a fancier form of STFU

"wealth creators" instead of "very rich people who don't want to pay taxes"

"comes from a well respected local family" ie the criminal is not a t**ker
Post by: AZOffaly on December 28, 2012, 11:30:39 AM
I hate the phrases like 'tots emosh' or however the feck you spell it. Comes from watching that vacuous brain inhibitor television that they call 'reality' I think.

Post by: JUst retired on December 28, 2012, 11:39:47 AM
 " early doors" How stupid is that saying.
Post by: Hardy on December 28, 2012, 11:52:46 AM
Morning Ireland is a monstrous recycling centre for worn-out cliches.

The devil is in the detail.

The elephant in the room.

The proof is in the pudding (even more annoying because it's not only a cliche, it's a cliche now rendered meaningless by misquoting).

And "in terms of", usually as the first three words of a sentence, but liable to pop up anywhere. This filler phrase is the Japanese knotweed of the English language. Morning Ireland is merely the site of the worst infestation - try counting the number of times it's used in one programme and I bet it will be dozens - but it's sprouting up everywhere in the English-speaking media now.
Post by: ballinaman on December 28, 2012, 11:52:51 AM
(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/32564647.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on December 28, 2012, 11:55:00 AM
Quote from: JUst retired on December 28, 2012, 11:39:47 AM

Oh God yes. Where in the namajaysus did that come from? I remember when it used to be treated as a comic eccentricity when some English football manager used to spout it. Now it's used in normal conversation by people who expect to be taken seriously.

Edit - apparently this is where it came from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Early_Doors#Etymology_of_show.27s_title
Post by: ballinaman on December 28, 2012, 11:57:22 AM
Saying "mind" at the end of a sentence gets me too...Mark Lawrenson is a terror for it when commentating...
Post by: seafoid on December 28, 2012, 12:39:13 PM
"on the High st" when discussing retail business in Ireland

Post by: Lar Naparka on December 28, 2012, 01:11:24 PM
Anything Kevin McStay comes out with when in game analysis mode.
"Poor shot selection set" is my pet hate but the list is a really long one.

"And the ball is with.." as used by many GAA, soccer and rugby commentators.
"Result" meaning  win is nearly as bad as "at this point in time" where "now" is all that's needed.

The Dubs' habit of sticking "roight?" at the end of every sentence when attempting to explain something to another person."
"So, you take the first left, roight?
" Then you go straight on, roight?"
Post by: muppet on December 28, 2012, 01:45:49 PM
"Going forward"  >:(

Words the The Indo sticks in relentlessly to try to influence your thinking on people:

"The Baron of Ballsbridge" Sean Dunne
"The glamorous" Gayle Killilea
"<insert any of a multitude of compliments>" Averil Power
"Glamorous wife" Karen Woods
"Style icon" Karen Woods (Examiner rather than Indo)
a "cool" <insert any amount of money anyone ever got> e.g. he received a cool €2,000
Post by: take_yer_points on December 28, 2012, 01:50:52 PM
This is an EPIC thread
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2012, 03:03:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 28, 2012, 01:45:49 PM
"Going forward"  >:(

Words the The Indo sticks in relentlessly to try to influence your thinking on people:

"The Baron of Ballsbridge" Sean Dunne
"The glamorous" Gayle Killilea
"<insert any of a multitude of compliments>" Averil Power
"Glamorous wife" Karen Woods
"Style icon" Karen Woods (Examiner rather than Indo)
a "cool" <insert any amount of money anyone ever got> e.g. he received a cool €2,000
Some of the sums I received for my Confirmation could not be termed "cool".

Post by: laoislad on December 28, 2012, 03:11:57 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 28, 2012, 11:57:22 AM
Saying "mind" at the end of a sentence gets me too...Mark Lawrenson is a terror for it when commentating...

Nordies saying mind instead of remember.
Post by: maddog on December 28, 2012, 03:21:16 PM
"recycled" should never be used in GAA circles.
Post by: leaveherinsir on December 28, 2012, 03:32:57 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 28, 2012, 03:11:57 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on December 28, 2012, 11:57:22 AM

Nordies saying mind instead of remember.
Mexicans saying which instead of "Pardon me but i did not quite understand your ulster scots dialect sir" ;)
Post by: ONeill on December 28, 2012, 04:38:05 PM
Ger Canning "..and he scores from an impossible angle."

Epic
Legend
Post by: moysider on December 28, 2012, 05:51:22 PM

'I'm late'
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 28, 2012, 06:04:50 PM
To reach out is one that is annoying me recently....just call the person for feck sakes
Post by: imtommygunn on December 28, 2012, 06:17:47 PM
Reach out

Socialise - as in "have you socialised this" . To normal people that word means communicate.

Piece

Rathole

Some people in jobs pick up buzzwords quickly without knowing what they mean. They think it'll progress them.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 28, 2012, 06:44:41 PM
"mind games"
Post by: Hardy on December 28, 2012, 06:50:39 PM
Gobsmacked.
Post by: NetNitrate on December 28, 2012, 07:06:29 PM
Craic. Eejits trying to make anglosaxon word "crack" sound Irish.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 28, 2012, 07:24:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 28, 2012, 07:21:45 PM
Teilifís
Carr
Fón
Tae

Well they weren't invented in Ireland so I wouldn't expect there to be native Irish words for them. Restaurants and Cafes were invented in France, they got to pick the words for them and naturally enough they picked French words. That's just the way it goes.
Post by: charlieTully on December 28, 2012, 07:44:52 PM
Willy-nilly. Horrible word.
Post by: ziggy90 on December 28, 2012, 07:50:54 PM
"Bab", Brummie term of endearment.
Post by: Santino on December 28, 2012, 08:01:27 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on December 28, 2012, 07:06:29 PM

It wasnt in common use and we ran with it! Why would it bother you? Its quite an endearing term if u ask me, much like the word eejit....
Post by: andoireabu on December 28, 2012, 09:26:52 PM
Unbelievable. Usually said after watching something happen.
Post by: ONeill on December 28, 2012, 09:55:18 PM

That's a new one for me. I thought it preceded crack. Was very wrong.
Post by: Orior on December 28, 2012, 10:08:01 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on December 28, 2012, 07:50:54 PM
"Bab", Brummie term of endearment.

Is that like c o c k, which is a Manchester term of endearment?
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 28, 2012, 10:23:04 PM
Ta-ra, chuck.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on December 28, 2012, 10:29:40 PM
A habit I'm guilty of myself is putting unnecessary words at the end of a sentence like ye know.

I've also heard the phrase "shovel ready" or something similar a few times.
Post by: Hardy on December 29, 2012, 12:04:45 AM

I agree, but not quite. Craic is an abomination, as you say, but crack I understood to be Hiberno-English and maybe particularly of Ulster protestant origin. There's a book in our house from the 1950s, which is a collection of Ulster protestant humour. It's called Brave Crack.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2012, 12:10:50 AM
They use the word "crack" (or "craic" if you prefer) in Cumbria the same way they use it in Ireland.  If that comes from Cumbric then its Irish cousin might be from Hibermo-English all right.
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 01:00:52 AM
Cheers.

In recent years this has been used more and more here. I used to hear my family in england say this a wile lot but never people in ireland in times gone by.
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 01:11:54 AM
This one really gets to me

The person would say.....

'well, I'm not a racist but...........'

These words are usually followed by something really racist. 
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 29, 2012, 01:36:45 AM
Whoop

'big night out with the girls planed! Whoop Whoop!'

Even worse if used by a fella.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 29, 2012, 02:20:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 27, 2012, 10:40:12 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/1227/breaking29.html

"You know," "whatever" is a really annoying term - "like" "you know." We're "just sayin'." When it comes to the most annoying words or phrases used in conversation, those four top the list in 2012, according to the annual Marist Poll.

"Whatever" headed the list, cited by 32 per cent of adults, and next came "like," which 21 per cent didn't like.

Runners-up included "Twitterverse" and "gotcha'." The results mirrored last year's survey when "whatever" topped the annoying words list for a third straight year. But "seriously," named by 7 per cent last year, dropped off the list entirely - really. Marist questioned 1,246 adults in a US telephone survey.

Results showed differences by age and regions, with people younger than 45 or in the northeast especially annoyed by "like," while "you know" offended more of the 45-and-over set.

Men and women gave similar responses overall, but whites were twice as likely as non-whites to find "you know" irritating. And people under 45 were more than twice as likely as those over 45 to be put off by "just sayin.'"

Some of Seafoid's most annoying words

jew
hanukkah
yarmulke
even
handed
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 29, 2012, 02:52:05 AM
(http://www.bl.uk/learning/langlit/sounds/case-studies/geordie/lexis/) (http://(http://www.bl.uk/learning/langlit/sounds/case-studies/geordie/lexis/))
According to the British Library website   the word "crack, " meaning banter, camaraderie, fun is probably  from the Anglo-Saxon verb cracian (cf. modern German krachen) - from which we get Standard English expressions, such as to crack a joke and wisecrack.
Post by: heganboy on December 29, 2012, 04:38:16 AM
Touch base.

People meeting you for the first time "And what is it that you do?"

I tend to leave, quickly.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2012, 09:09:19 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 01:11:54 AM
This one really gets to me

The person would say.....

'well, I'm not a racist but...........'

These words are usually followed by something really racist.

Or "no offense but... [something offensive]"

Same as when you're at a GAA meeting, you have the floor, you're making a point, and some ignoramus blurts out at full volume while you're in mid-sentence "I'm not cutting you off Eamonn but ..."
Post by: ballinaman on December 29, 2012, 10:08:04 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on December 29, 2012, 01:36:45 AM
Whoop

'big night out with the girls planed! Whoop Whoop!'

Even worse if used by a fella.
Agree 100%, instant block from anyone who says that on facebook
Post by: Armaghgeddon on December 29, 2012, 10:59:45 AM
"Roll on Friday" (could be another day of the week, a particular date, a month; haven't got anything against Friday just using it as an example) really pisses me off, it is such an annoying phrase.

"At the end of the day" gets on my nerves to.

"Yeoooo" is kind of annoying to.

Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 29, 2012, 11:04:11 AM
Alright already.

Enough already.

Ok already.

>:(
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 11:29:12 AM
He had a good innings

I was stumped

------------------------------------------------

Go back to cricket land ya monkey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Here's a question ---------- why in the magners ad when the truck is out of control does it plough through a cricket game and not a hurling game????????????/ Is cricket big in Clonmel??
Post by: Hardy on December 29, 2012, 12:04:42 PM
No, but Magners is big in England.
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 29, 2012, 12:04:42 PM

Damn you and your Bulmers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another reason for the terrible tragedy of partition, the Bulmers/Magners name change!!!
Post by: From the Bunker on December 29, 2012, 05:45:12 PM
People saying 'Sir Alex'!
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2012, 06:21:18 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 28, 2012, 06:17:47 PM
Reach out

Socialise - as in "have you socialised this" . To normal people that word means communicate.

Piece

Rathole

Some people in jobs pick up buzzwords quickly without knowing what they mean. They think it'll progress them.

Piece? What's wrong with piece?
Post by: trileacman on December 29, 2012, 06:24:14 PM
c u n t
w**ker
Motherfucker
Post by: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 06:26:58 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 29, 2012, 05:45:12 PM
People saying 'Sir Alex'!

R ye jealous ye never got one today???;-);-);-);-);-)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 07:33:48 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 29, 2012, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on December 29, 2012, 12:04:42 PM

Damn you and your Bulmers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another reason for the terrible tragedy of partition, the Bulmers/Magners name change!!!

Why doesn't the sign say Bulmers, Tippeary was in the Republic last time I checked.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 29, 2012, 07:46:39 PM
 CORK

There was two inches of rain, heaviest rain fell in  Cork

Demonstrations took place today against (fill in)  The largest demonstration was in Cork
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 09:00:40 PM
Funny Bud, Dublin is the word that the national media in Ireland appear obsessed with.
Post by: Sandy Hill on December 29, 2012, 10:35:31 PM
Nine very over-used words if you watch "Pointless" on BBC1 "Very well done if you got that at home"
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2013, 05:57:27 AM
Just read the thread and have been nodding in agreement with a lot of them.

Can't believe 'random' hasn't been mentioned.

'OMG, what a random night'
'Soooo  random!'

Major gear grinder
Post by: Ulick on January 06, 2013, 09:12:04 AM
Kid and kids.

A kid is a fecking goat, okay.
Post by: theticklemister on January 06, 2013, 09:39:08 AM
'FA Cup'

This is the worse competition in soccer history , yet the english still try and romanticise it. Forget it, it is shite.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2013, 01:03:46 PM
Unreal . The match was unreal .

Sort of . Ok once in a while but people from London sort of use it in every sentence sort of you know sort of.
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2013, 01:04:49 PM
'Railway Cup'

This is the worst competition in football history, yet the Ulster people still try and romanticise it. Forget it, it is shite.
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2013, 01:06:37 PM
Y'know.
Or the Dublin version: Y'knowarrimeyan.
Or the Donegal/wider Ulster version: And stuff like that there.
Post by: ziggysego on January 06, 2013, 01:14:59 PM
"I only think of you as a friend..."
Post by: ONeill on January 06, 2013, 01:20:10 PM
Panties
Post by: illdecide on January 06, 2013, 01:53:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 06, 2013, 01:20:10 PM
Panties

What do you call them "Kecks"...lol?
Post by: illdecide on January 06, 2013, 01:54:25 PM
Tyrone and Derry ones saying "wan"
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 06, 2013, 02:21:39 PM
Wrecked.com
Dying.com
Post by: muppet on January 06, 2013, 04:34:16 PM
Holistic
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2013, 05:30:56 PM
Entitlements instead of government spending .
Death tax instead of inheritance tax .
Adjustment programme instead of internal devaluation where wages are driven down.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2013, 05:37:52 PM
Gah as in do yiz play gah down the country?
Hurley as in do yiz play hurley down the country?
Bluestocking as used in the irish times property section.
Post by: NetNitrate on January 06, 2013, 06:57:03 PM
Phat

I can understand Irish people having difficulty with some words and so dat, dem and dere are okay because our ancestors used the Irish way of pronouncing th and we inherited that. But why is 'what' so difficult to pronounce, why is someone always coming late for a match and asking 'phat's de score?' 'Phat's left in it?' Phat's de ref at at all?'
Post by: Orior on January 06, 2013, 07:14:20 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 06, 2013, 01:06:37 PM
Y'know.
Or the Dublin version: Y'knowarrimeyan.
Or the Donegal/wider Ulster version: And stuff like that there.

Donegal wans always say 'and stuff like dat der'
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2013, 08:36:55 PM
Quote from: NetNitrate on January 06, 2013, 06:57:03 PM
Phat

I can understand Irish people having difficulty with some words and so dat, dem and dere are okay because our ancestors used the Irish way of pronouncing th and we inherited that. But why is 'what' so difficult to pronounce, why is someone always coming late for a match and asking 'phat's de score?' 'Phat's left in it?' Phat's de ref at at all?'

I'd say it's for the same reason as you pointed out for dat, dem, etc. There is no 'w' in Irish, so Irish people speaking English for the first time rendered 'w' as 'bhu' ('well' = 'bhuel') and 'wh' as 'phu' ('what' = 'phuat'). 
Post by: From the Bunker on January 06, 2013, 10:10:52 PM
This probably has been covered, but here goes......

Three cheers for a gallant Mayo team, I sure they will be back next year or in the Future as AI Champions.   ;D

Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 06, 2013, 10:18:48 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2013, 05:57:27 AM

'Soooo  random!'

Major gear grinder

Agreed.

Also, I've heard chicks refer to people they've just met as 'Randomers'. f**k sake.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 06, 2013, 10:50:25 PM
Irish people calling St Stephen's Day - boxing day

Post by: boojangles on January 07, 2013, 12:17:38 AM
Fashionista.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 01:06:55 AM
People calling Boxing Day St Stephen's Day and questioning the Irishness of anyone who doesn't do it their way.
Post by: seafoid on January 07, 2013, 12:25:23 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 01:06:55 AM
People calling Boxing Day St Stephen's Day and questioning the Irishness of anyone who doesn't do it their way.
Boxing day is very upstairs downstairs. Even the plebs in England get the 25th off these days .
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2013, 12:28:44 PM
It's another cultural differentiator - we name the day after a saint and they name it after Henry Cooper.
Post by: deiseach on January 07, 2013, 12:46:34 PM
I've shrugged off many English things over the years. Football (not a difficult one), Northern Ireland, squaddie worship, Father Christmas, pork scratchings, asking you to say turty tree tousand, fruit machines in pubs, yellow number plates, fear and loathing of the metric system. All just things the English say or do and nothing sinister is meant by it. Heck, I even let it slide when people refer to that settlement on the banks of the Foyle by anything other than its proper name. But Boxing Day? No matter how many times I hear it, I think they're taking the piss. They're not, that's what they call it. But I've never adjusted.
Post by: maddog on January 07, 2013, 12:48:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2013, 12:28:44 PM
It's another cultural differentiator - we name the day after a saint and they name it after Henry Cooper.

Should be just called 2nd Christmas dinner beer and racing day.
Post by: Orior on January 07, 2013, 12:53:59 PM

Health Warning: This message contains severe levels of sarcasim which may upset some readers.

Yes it is better to fall in line with what the English do, because they are more knowledgeable and more religious and have more money than the stupid Irish.  And how dare anyone question that.
Post by: Nally Stand on January 07, 2013, 02:40:47 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 07, 2013, 12:53:59 PM

Health Warning: This message contains severe levels of sarcasim which may upset some readers.

Yes it is better to fall in line with what the English do, because they are more knowledgeable and more religious and have more money than the stupid Irish.  And how dare anyone question that.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2013, 02:53:19 PM
Boxing Day is a major one for me as it is directly associated with the days of tugging the forelock when the 'master' gave the 'servant' their Christmas boxes which often contained leftovers from the greedy hoors from their Christmas Day feast. 
Post by: highorlow on January 07, 2013, 03:17:15 PM
QuoteIrish people calling St Stephen's Day - boxing day

I don't want to be over fussy but is it not Stephen Zuss Day?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2013, 03:34:11 PM
Quote from: highorlow on January 07, 2013, 03:17:15 PM

Post of the day!  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 07, 2013, 04:34:54 PM

No
Post by: sans pessimism on January 07, 2013, 04:53:59 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 06, 2013, 10:18:48 PM

'Soooo  random!'

Major gear grinder

Agreed.

Also, I've heard chicks refer to people they've just met as 'Randomers'. f**k sake.
Fukin hate dat
Post by: Orior on January 07, 2013, 05:00:15 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2013, 03:34:11 PM

Post of the day!  ;D

Only if you know what it means!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2013, 05:10:29 PM
I have never heard St Stephen's Day used in every day speech in Derry. Yes the local paper lists it as St Stephen's Day etc but the ordinary man in the street will almost always say Boxing Day. But I sure if you accused those who say it as following british traditions they would be horrified. If you accused them of been less Irish because of it they would think you were buck mad.
Post by: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 05:18:27 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2013, 05:10:29 PM
I have never heard St Stephen's Day used in every day speech in Derry. Yes the local paper lists it as St Stephen's Day etc but the ordinary man in the street will almost always say Boxing Day. But I sure if you accused those who say it as following british traditions they would be horrified. If you accused them of been less Irish because of it they would think you were buck mad.

What ya mean FBNS, the people of our city would never accept to be called British................. ::)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 05:30:51 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 07, 2013, 12:46:34 PM
I've shrugged off many English things over the years. Football (not a difficult one), Northern Ireland, squaddie worship, Father Christmas, pork scratchings, asking you to say turty tree tousand, fruit machines in pubs, yellow number plates, fear and loathing of the metric system. All just things the English say or do and nothing sinister is meant by it. Heck, I even let it slide when people refer to that settlement on the banks of the Foyle by anything other than its proper name. But Boxing Day? No matter how many times I hear it, I think they're taking the piss. They're not, that's what they call it. But I've never adjusted.

God love you.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 07, 2013, 05:33:03 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on January 07, 2013, 04:53:59 PM

'Soooo  random!'

Major gear grinder

Agreed.

Fukin hate dat

Knew someone would.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 05:48:33 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 07, 2013, 02:53:19 PM
Boxing Day is a major one for me as it is directly associated with the days of tugging the forelock when the 'master' gave the 'servant' their Christmas boxes which often contained leftovers from the greedy hoors from their Christmas Day feast.

Ha! I'd be surprised if more than three people actually know the etymology of "Boxing" day.  Do you seriously think people in the north are "tugging the forelock to their masters" every time they say "Boxing Day"?

In the south they say "ye", in the north they say "youse".

In the south they say "St Stephen's Day" and in the north they say "Boxing Day".

Here is the news: People in different regions have different ways of speaking.

Get over it.

The day when half of Dublin stops walking around in Man U tops will be the day when I take lectures from a free stater about what it is to be Irish.
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 07, 2013, 05:56:11 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 05:48:33 PM

Ha! I'd be surprised if more than three people actually know the etymology of "Boxing" day.  Do you seriously think people in the north are "tugging the forelock to their masters" every time they say "Boxing Day"?

In the south they say "St Stephen's Day" and in the north they say "Boxing Day".

Get over it.

The day when half of Dublin stops walking around in Man U tops will be the day when I take lectures from a free stater about what it is to be Irish.
G'wan ya boy ya, burst 'em! ;D
Why not let's call it Hangover Day and we'll all be right?
Post by: muppet on January 07, 2013, 06:08:54 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 05:48:33 PM

Get over it.

Good man yourself, he is from Armagh.
Post by: armaghniac on January 07, 2013, 06:40:40 PM
QuoteGood man yourself, he is from Armagh.

Sure Cross' is practically in the Freestate, no Irish people there.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2013, 06:42:51 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 05:18:27 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2013, 05:10:29 PM

What ya mean FBNS, the people of our city would never accept to be called British................. ::)

Well definitely wouldn't accept it on basis of calling 26th dec Boxing Day. I think this thread is in danger of going off the subject if we fuel the fire anymore
Post by: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 06:58:22 PM
Fuel the fire day buck!!!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 07, 2013, 07:01:57 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 06:58:22 PM

Tempting but I will pass
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 07, 2013, 07:05:37 PM
Thank you. Thank you. Thankyouverymuch.
Post by: Puckoon on January 07, 2013, 07:06:43 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 06:58:22 PM

I love how this is in a thread about annoying words. Nice work!
Post by: sans pessimism on January 07, 2013, 07:24:57 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 07, 2013, 05:33:03 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on January 07, 2013, 04:53:59 PM

'Soooo  random!'

Major gear grinder

Agreed.

Fukin hate dat

Knew someone would.
Post by: theticklemister on January 07, 2013, 07:27:23 PM
So the last two which have been highlighted which people hate are.......'buck' and 'chicks'!!!
Post by: Rudi on January 08, 2013, 11:59:41 AM
Irish people refering to St Stephens Day as Boxing Day. That one is my pet hate. The same ones that wear Celtic tops and speak the odd cupla focal make it even more annoying.
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 08, 2013, 12:22:10 PM
Quote from: Rudi on January 08, 2013, 11:59:41 AM
Irish people refering to St Stephens Day as Boxing Day. That one is my pet hate. The same ones that wear Celtic tops and speak the odd cupla focal make it even more annoying.

I've never in all my life called it anything but Boxing Day; and no,I would never wear a Celtic top nor do I use use the odd cupla focal!
Post by: theskull1 on January 08, 2013, 01:23:21 PM
Needs to be said with a harsh Belfast accent in relation to protesting about the fleg

'the people'
Post by: Canalman on January 08, 2013, 04:39:24 PM
Commentators /Pundits saying "put in a good shift" / "emptied the tank" when talking about someone being substituted in the 2nd half of a game.
For some reason just bugs me .
Post by: theticklemister on January 09, 2013, 05:17:16 PM
wans throwing in american references

'straight out of the park'

'here comes a curve ball'

'good hustle'

people who use them are pricks.
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2013, 05:32:56 PM
You stepped up to the plate there, ticklemeister. No need to touch base - just play hardball. Some might say you're out of left field, but I say you're ballpark. Whatever, it's a whole new ball game these days.
Post by: Orior on January 09, 2013, 05:46:09 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 09, 2013, 05:17:16 PM

'good hustle'

The english language is indeed weird and wonderful. If you want to hear how English was spoken in the Middle Ages, then go to America. Apparently some pronouciations have not changed as much as they have changed over the years in England. Maybe the first settlers brought hustling with them.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on January 09, 2013, 09:22:11 PM
Not a word but a sentence...

All results are in now except Liverpool vs Man Utd.

Post by: Walter Cronc on January 09, 2013, 09:34:13 PM
Scoops for drinks.... F**k off!

And scary biscuits.

I'm annoyed even typing this!
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2013, 09:36:20 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 09, 2013, 05:46:09 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 09, 2013, 05:17:16 PM

'good hustle'

The english language is indeed weird and wonderful. If you want to hear how English was spoken in the Middle Ages, then go to America. Apparently some pronouciations have not changed as much as they have changed over the years in England. Maybe the first settlers brought hustling with them.

Orior you might enjoy this: http://splitsider.com/2011/04/the-accidental-comedy-masterpiece-mark-twain-called-perfect/ (http://splitsider.com/2011/04/the-accidental-comedy-masterpiece-mark-twain-called-perfect/)
Post by: michaelg on January 09, 2013, 10:03:25 PM
Arsewipe fleg protestors referring to 'Stormount'
Post by: armaghniac on January 09, 2013, 10:24:07 PM
Quote'here comes a curve ball'

While I am not keen on Americanisms this one seems a good contribution to the English language.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 09:10:00 AM
Quote from: michaelg on January 09, 2013, 10:03:25 PM
Arsewipe fleg protestors referring to 'Stormount'

The same people who refer to 'Store-mount usually also talk about 'bone-fires'.
Post by: seafoid on January 10, 2013, 09:26:24 AM
Managers who call themselves  "leaders" and refer to management as "leadership".

Leadership is Henry Shefflin carrying the cats on his own in the AIF or Horace Plunkett founding the co-op movement in Ireland. It isn't some hierarchy plug pen pushing.   
Post by: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 11:44:56 AM
Giving people a 'Head's up'......

Touching base.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 10, 2013, 03:39:23 PM
never like to hear the phrase "very unique".

Post by: Saffrongael on January 10, 2013, 09:44:13 PM
Game changer
Post by: 5 Sams on January 10, 2013, 09:57:37 PM
Might have been posted before before but worth posting again...we had an auditor in once who began EVERY sentence with..

"In terms of"

>:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Hardy on January 10, 2013, 10:34:16 PM
I thought it was only me that was irritated by that.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 11, 2013, 09:25:36 AM
Hathaway
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2013, 11:02:30 AM
Alright mucker?

I lived in Derry for three years in the late 90s and it drove me around the bend.
Post by: theticklemister on January 11, 2013, 11:14:26 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 11, 2013, 11:02:30 AM
Alright mucker?

I lived in Derry for three years in the late 90s and it drove me around the bend.

Thats a bit harsh mucker hi
Post by: sans pessimism on January 11, 2013, 12:45:08 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 11:44:56 AM
Touching base.
Thanks for the heads up
Post by: ziggysego on January 11, 2013, 12:49:00 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 11, 2013, 11:14:26 AM
Alright mucker?

(http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mbqg5q5V6l1riuh2bo1_400.gif)
Post by: Puckoon on January 11, 2013, 04:22:45 PM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on January 10, 2013, 11:44:56 AM

Touching base.

Second Base or First Base?
Post by: seafoid on January 24, 2013, 09:20:57 AM
"as such" .

I think Cyril Farrell would be a fan as such
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 26, 2013, 07:35:49 PM
Take a bow
Post by: ONeill on January 27, 2013, 12:30:52 AM
I've a sore head.
Post by: Gold on January 27, 2013, 08:58:30 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 11, 2013, 12:49:00 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 11, 2013, 11:14:26 AM
Alright mucker?

(http://24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mbqg5q5V6l1riuh2bo1_400.gif)

Wtf is that gif about?
Post by: maddog on January 27, 2013, 10:28:43 AM
"cascading"

Cascade that info back to the team.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2013, 12:50:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 24, 2013, 09:20:57 AM
"as such" .

I think Cyril Farrell would be a fan as such

Leave Lord Such alone.