What in the nameajaysus can ye get your Da for Christmas?
I got mine a Ping Golf jumper.
Jumper and a shirt :-\
Quote from: laoislad on December 23, 2012, 09:00:01 PM
I got mine a Ping Golf jumper.
Was it too tight on you?
My sister in law was shopping for a present for me, she was going to get aftershave for me, she was chatting to the sales guy, he asked how old i was and what I did for a living, she added i liked playing golf. The w**ker suggested Old Spice! And thats three years ago.
A flashy bottle of whiskey.
I must be getting old as I'm hoping I get a new pair of slippers this year!
I would never tire of getting a Shift Wrench, or Srewdrivers
Tools, definitely. If he's a normal, useful man he'll appreciate them. If he's not, it'll be a subtle message to take a look at himself.
As I get older I couldnt give 2 tosses about getting presents. Most men are easy pleased, few drinks, flutter on the horses and football on st stephens day and a good feed keeps most happy. If there are any good books out on local history or nostalgia I find that always goes down well with the oul boys.
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 24, 2012, 12:10:53 PM
As I get older I couldnt give 2 tosses about getting presents. Most men are easy pleased, few drinks, flutter on the horses and football on st stephens day and a good feed keeps most happy. If there are any good books out on local history or nostalgia I find that always goes down well with the oul boys.
On the nose our kid.
Get him a City break, but just you and him, took my Da off to Derry there (part of a Xmas gift) and he lapped it up, was good to have him on his own. We might not have these guys in a few years so good to have that time together!!
Viagra. The house mightn't get much sleep on Christmas night though, as old flames burn brightly once more.
Well, I've reached the stage of life where I no longer need to give someone the money to buy me a present so I don't know what I'm going to receive this year from anyone.
Don't mind what I get from anyone as long as it's given in the spirit of Christmas - Vincent de Paul included.
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 23, 2012, 09:06:03 PM
My sister in law was shopping for a present for me, she was going to get aftershave for me, she was chatting to the sales guy, he asked how old i was and what I did for a living, she added i liked playing golf. The w**ker suggested Old Spice! And thats three years ago.
That's all I use is old spice, I get the powders and deodorant as well, nothing wrong with old spice at all at all.
I'm getting into this one just because I'm an Oul Fella, turning into a right oul geezer I am! - Take time out with your Da, he'll love it and you'll be glad you did it - I have a great relationship with my son - We fish a lot together and once a year go to dear camp together - He helps me around the yard with tractors and cutting trees, chain saws and the like - I treasure the time we spend together - He's my best male friend and I'm looking forward to doing similar things with his 3 year old son as he grows up, if I live long enough
A thought came to me when I saw the Viagra comment above - Recently I was listening to a CD from Gene Fitzpatrick (He's a friend from Banbridge and is a stand-up comedian) - His line was something like this "As we get to grow older, us men loose our sex drive, which we can live with, but God forbid that we'd ever loose our glasses!" - Too true - Merry Christmas to all of you
GAA Season ticket, better than the usual aftershaves etc
Thai Brides?
Gene Fitzpatrick is a comedian? First I've heard of that!
That's all I use is old spice, I get the powders and deodorant as well, nothing wrong with old spice at all at all - The marketers here agree with Stew - On the back of the deodorant sticks in this part of the US the line is "If your grandfather hadn't worn it, you wouldn't exist"
"Gene Fitzpatrick is a comedian? First I've heard of that!"
He has a track record of making audiences around the world laugh and brightening up the lives of people who have an unjaundiced outlook on life, who can see further than their parochial noses, and who don't constantly take themselves, nor life, too seriously
Heard him twice this year. Laughed out loud at both events which is something that I never do with younger comedians. 10/10.
Have only had the misfortune to hear Gene Fitzpatrick twice,at Christmas dos one year apart,the second gig was 90% the same as the first one the year previously,and neither made me laugh.
Maybe I'm hitting auld boy status: pyjamas, a "f**k schillaci" shirt from the Italian Mrs and a new pair of sunglasses. Happy as Larry Reilly, not a tool set in sight.
Tickets to We Will Rock You in the O2 from the wife and a Liverpool polo shirt from the young lad.
I'm happy with that.
Stew, ill do you a good deal on an old spice box set.
8$ shipped via pay pal!
I printed out the census results for 1911 for my Dad's home place. He loved it!
21 pairs of socks. By Feb I'll have 21 socks.
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2012, 11:26:36 AM
If they are exactly the same socks then you'll be grand, just less socks of course but still available pairs, Got socks again too but anythime the wife wears her boots she has my socks on ffs!!
Quote from: ONeill on December 26, 2012, 11:26:36 AM
You need
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sock-savers-Clips-O-RING-Clip-for-Washing-Drying-and-Storing-your-socks-joined-/320975942804?pt=UK_HomeGarden_CLV_Cleaning_CA&var=&hash=item4abba83494
No booze at all. Is this a message?
No tools either. I'm OK with that message.
Books - Jo Nesbo, astronomy, self sufficiency. Lovely.
Tickets to Neil Young. Wahey.
A jumper. Grand.
A bust of an ould fella in a cap, made by the donor. Brilliant.
A shirt. Pink. Jesus.
And a new game invented - Trivial Pictionary. Trivial Pursuit, but instead of answering questions, you have to draw the answer on the card for the category you land on. I wonder what it would be like sober.
Quote from: Hardy on December 26, 2012, 01:05:52 PM
No booze at all. Is this a message?
No tools either. I'm OK with that message.
Books - Jo Nesbo, astronomy, self sufficiency. Lovely.
Tickets to Neil Young. Wahey.
A jumper. Grand.
A bust of an ould fella in a cap, made by the donor. Brilliant.
A shirt. Pink. Jesus.
And a new game invented - Trivial Pictionary. Trivial Pursuit, but instead of answering questions, you have to draw the answer on the card for the category you land on. I wonder what it would be like sober.
:D :D
As ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Quote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Your best bet is the Italy game in March. Make a nice weekend in Rome out of it - you will be able to pick up tickets for it no bother. I would recommend booking own travel and accommodation - don't use a packaged deal.
You will struggle to get tickets for any of the other games - and will end up paying a complete fortune for them. You could get flights, accomadation and tickets to the Italy game fpr the same price as just tickets for the others.
Quote from: samuel maguire on December 03, 2024, 03:50:01 PMQuote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Your best bet is the Italy game in March. Make a nice weekend in Rome out of it - you will be able to pick up tickets for it no bother. I would recommend booking own travel and accommodation - don't use a packaged deal.
You will struggle to get tickets for any of the other games - and will end up paying a complete fortune for them. You could get flights, accomadation and tickets to the Italy game fpr the same price as just tickets for the others.
Who are you booking flights to Rome with for the rugby that isn't exorbitant or takes you on a 24 hr magical mystery tour?
(https://scontent.fdub4-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/468979520_8979648985415362_6958680716133808314_n.jpg?stp=dst-jpg_s720x720&_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=aa7b47&_nc_ohc=evGwgvl4UScQ7kNvgEYSDbU&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub4-2.fna&_nc_gid=AGZE-sABlpM2Lg6u5xYyDKL&oh=00_AYB012B8WfFYlWXN7ASihK2KXdLJ9NT3vBlBdaZc_s_HZA&oe=67552A12)
Quality socks & jocks in Next are f**king exorbitant these days. Hard to beat tho.
Quote from: JoG2 on December 03, 2024, 05:15:20 PMQuote from: samuel maguire on December 03, 2024, 03:50:01 PMQuote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Who are you booking flights to Rome with for the rugby that isn't exorbitant or takes you on a 24 hr magical mystery tour?
Chatting to a fella last week who was looking at home tickets for the France match but they were E800 on a resale site. Scrapped that and found tickets for Italy v Rome for under E50. Flights however were over E500 so he was away to look at flights to Pisa and train to Rome. No cheap options.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 03, 2024, 09:26:46 PMQuote from: JoG2 on December 03, 2024, 05:15:20 PMQuote from: samuel maguire on December 03, 2024, 03:50:01 PMQuote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Chatting to a fella last week who was looking at home tickets for the France match but they were E800 on a resale site. Scrapped that and found tickets for Italy v Rome for under E50. Flights however were over E500 so he was away to look at flights to Pisa and train to Rome. No cheap options.
We've looked at the Rome fixture a few times down the years, eye watering flight wise unless you spend half the weekend travelling
Not cheaper to fly to Manchester and then from there?
Plenty of oul fellas would appreciate something like this
(https://www.orthobethesda.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/What-to-Avoid-After-Knee-Replacement.jpg)
Quote from: armaghniac on December 03, 2024, 10:09:08 PMPlenty of oul fellas would appreciate something like this
(https://www.orthobethesda.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/What-to-Avoid-After-Knee-Replacement.jpg)
Put some trousers on ffs
Quote from: JoG2 on December 03, 2024, 05:15:20 PMQuote from: samuel maguire on December 03, 2024, 03:50:01 PMQuote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Aer Lingus currently have flights from Dub-Rome leaving Thursday and returning Sunday for e210. Say you are sharing room add another e50 per night, that means you can get your flights, accommodation and tickets for around e400. I don't think that is bad value.
Quote from: samuel maguire on December 04, 2024, 10:14:09 AMQuote from: JoG2 on December 03, 2024, 05:15:20 PMQuote from: samuel maguire on December 03, 2024, 03:50:01 PMQuote from: maggie on December 03, 2024, 02:53:49 PMAs ever on the last legs trying to get something sorted for a present. Anyone know where I could get 6 nation ticket and an overnight stay package or even just a ticketfor a match? Tried Skelton Travel Lurgan but they only do football ones.
Thanks.
Aer Lingus currently have flights from Dub-Rome leaving Thursday and returning Sunday for e210. Say you are sharing room add another e50 per night, that means you can get your flights, accommodation and tickets for around e400. I don't think that is bad value.
No you can't, even Thursday you're talking around €800 return, 3 nights sleeping, drinking eating. €3000 / couple give or take
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 03, 2024, 08:49:16 PM(https://scontent.fdub4-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/468979520_8979648985415362_6958680716133808314_n.jpg?stp=dst-jpg_s720x720&_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=aa7b47&_nc_ohc=evGwgvl4UScQ7kNvgEYSDbU&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub4-2.fna&_nc_gid=AGZE-sABlpM2Lg6u5xYyDKL&oh=00_AYB012B8WfFYlWXN7ASihK2KXdLJ9NT3vBlBdaZc_s_HZA&oe=67552A12)
I've said to our ones a few years in a row to get me socks. They always laugh and think I'm joking. Great present.
Boxers.
Always kinky to see what the sisters in laws get you
I've said too much
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 04, 2024, 11:42:54 AMBoxers.
I've said too much
Beat this
(https://cdn.webshopapp.com/shops/168365/files/264944924/800x900x2/local-fanatic-conor-mcgregor-men-underwear.jpg)
Quote from: armaghniac on December 04, 2024, 12:25:51 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 04, 2024, 11:42:54 AMBoxers.
I've said too much
Beat this
(https://cdn.webshopapp.com/shops/168365/files/264944924/800x900x2/local-fanatic-conor-mcgregor-men-underwear.jpg)
A ballbag keeping ballbags secure
As a kid I remember getting my auld fella tools. Drill bits, a saw one year. Even a new screwdriver.
My kids do all their christmas shopping in Home Bargains (other budget retailers are available).
We have to take them, and then watch them duck and dive around the shop so they don't bump into us.
It's hilarious - love Christmas for this type of reason, will miss all that when they get bigger.
I only ask for vouchers for restaurants, I usually get 2, one for xmas and one for my birthday 8 days later..
The surprise is they pick the place, though they generally know where I like
Quote from: JoG2 on December 04, 2024, 02:45:35 PMQuote from: armaghniac on December 04, 2024, 12:25:51 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 04, 2024, 11:42:54 AMBoxers.
I've said too much
Beat this
YOULLL DO NUTHINNNNN
*Me talking to me boyo
Again, I've said too much
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 05, 2024, 03:26:17 PMQuote from: JoG2 on December 04, 2024, 02:45:35 PMQuote from: armaghniac on December 04, 2024, 12:25:51 PMQuote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 04, 2024, 11:42:54 AMBoxers.
I've said too much
Beat this
YOULLL DO NUTHINNNNN
*Me talking to me boyo
Again, I've said too much
😁.. Like starting up the mower after it's sat outside all winter
I have that problem also Jog 🤣🤣
Must be that lough neagh water you derry boys are drinking 🤣
Don't want to talk about it no more 🥺😜
Elasticated chinos. x2.
I'm at that age now for some time.
Best gift I ever received and use almost every day for the past 8 years is a Kindle.
Selection of topics/genres is outstanding.
Never paid for a book the first 2 years as there are tons of free books.
I really like that you can get a free preview of books and it usually is the first chapter to see if it is something you would like.
I don't have an Amazon account (Prime) except the email account and just buy a gift card and download that to the account whenever I find a book that is interesting.
By far the best gift I have ever received.
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on December 09, 2024, 03:32:02 AMI'm at that age now for some time.
Best gift I ever received and use almost every day for the past 8 years is a Kindle.
Selection of topics/genres is outstanding.
Never paid for a book the first 2 years as there are tons of free books.
I really like that you can get a free preview of books and it usually is the first chapter to see if it is something you would like.
I don't have an Amazon account (Prime) except the email account and just buy a gift card and download that to the account whenever I find a book that is interesting.
By far the best gift I have ever received.
I'd second this. Have the unlimited deal so loads of free books included. Great gift.