Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on December 19, 2012, 08:36:23 AM

Title: Shaving Blades
Post by: bennydorano on December 19, 2012, 08:36:23 AM
I've had the same Gillette Fusion blade (non-battery) on the go since August, i think that must be a record as i generally toss them after a couple of weeks & have seen ones not last a week.

Still short of my da's record of 3 years outa the one Bic in the 80's  thou :D
Title: Re: Shaving Blades
Post by: BenDover on December 19, 2012, 09:17:33 AM
I find that the wilkinson sword quattro seem to last a brave while
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2012, 09:20:39 AM
I've tried them all but always end up going back to the Mach 3.
I find they last the longest and give the best shave.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 19, 2012, 09:44:47 AM
I was one for the expensive blades and the fancy chrome handles etc until a few years back when I decided to give the disposalables a go. The auld fella had been using these for ever and a day and low and behold I'm now a complete convert. They give a good enough shave and stay cleaner than the expensive systems which with our water always became clogged with limescale and eventually plain old gunk.

Boots knock the disposalables out in packs of 10 for about £1.75 and I'd have no bother getting 18 months out of them.

I do like the idea of seeing how long I could get from one blade - maybe just bringing in a substitute blade for weddings and job interviews etc.
Post by: southdown on December 19, 2012, 09:50:48 AM
Iv got the Tesco version of the Mach 3, fraction of the price and just as good
Post by: Harold Disgracey on December 19, 2012, 12:43:37 PM
Quote from: BenDover on December 19, 2012, 09:17:33 AM
I find that the wilkinson sword quattro seem to last a brave while

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 19, 2012, 01:59:08 PM
Seriously expensive thing to have, they aren't that expensive either to make, 3 fine blades made of hardened alloy steel. Priced way too much. I can't use the disposables and they usually leave my face and neck in cuts and nicks
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 19, 2012, 01:59:33 PM
Some expense those bloody blades. They must get NASA to make them.

Can't use disposables. They rip the face off me.
Post by: ballinaman on December 19, 2012, 02:04:49 PM
Know a few lads who are living in the states using DollarShaveClub, said its quality. Be great if they set it up here!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUG9qYTJMsI
Post by: southdown on December 19, 2012, 03:02:31 PM
I read somewhere before that something like 2 thirds of the cost of gillette products are used to cover their huge advertising costs while the other third goes into the actual production of the products. 
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2012, 03:18:52 PM
Quote from: southdown on December 19, 2012, 09:50:48 AM

So they fit the Gillette Mach 3 razor ?
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2012, 04:18:13 PM
Read a few reviews of that Dollar Shaving Club and it seems pretty stellar.

I grew a beard, now I trim my neck and my upper cheek once a week, maybe twice if I'm feeling frisky. I've been using the same blade since September.
Post by: laoislad on December 19, 2012, 04:28:43 PM
Quote from: southdown on December 19, 2012, 09:50:48 AM

I got them and they are dreadful.
Very cheap but will only last one or two shaves and very easy cut yourself with them.
I suppose it all depends on how much stubble you have,mine grows fairly thick and very fast plus I also shave my head at the same time so I need a decent blade.
The disposable ones aren't worth a feck imo.
Post by: The Iceman on December 19, 2012, 04:34:34 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 19, 2012, 04:18:13 PM
Read a few reviews of that Dollar Shaving Club and it seems pretty stellar.

I grew a beard, now I trim my neck and my upper cheek once a week, maybe twice if I'm feeling frisky. I've been using the same blade since September.

Yous must have wile soft stubble. My razors would be blunt in about 3 weeks and I shave twice a week like yourself puck with the bear grown. Sick buying new blades will definitely check out this dollar blade club when we land out west
Post by: Puckoon on December 19, 2012, 04:50:36 PM
Soft stubble wouldn't be what I'm known for. I'm just subborn and I feel the odd pinch as the blades pull one out but every time I stand at the razor aisle I just can't pull the trigger. I keep telling myself I'll find a coupon for them next week!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 19, 2012, 05:05:41 PM
I ditched the cartridge razors a year or two ago and bought myself one of the old style double edged safety razors for about €50. A pack of 100 blades which last for well over a year can be bought online for less than a tenner. Initially it takes a while to get the hang of it and it does take a few minutes extra to shave each morning but it's a much closer shave than the Gillette and Wilkinson Sword cartridge razors.
Post by: bennydorano on December 19, 2012, 05:22:48 PM
No electric men? I used to use a pretty decent one at some point, but never could get used to it, always thought it was worse in the skin than the blade & soap.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 19, 2012, 05:37:34 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 19, 2012, 05:22:48 PM
No electric men? I used to use a pretty decent one at some point, but never could get used to it, always thought it was worse in the skin than the blade & soap.

Don't like the feeling an electric shaver leaves after you use one.
Post by: Orior on December 19, 2012, 05:42:06 PM
Very disappointed.

I thought this thread was going to be about shaving babes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2012, 07:00:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 19, 2012, 05:22:48 PM
Electric here. Blades bring me out in an awful rash around the throat and although the electric razor isn't as close as a blade it does the job.

Had it at least 16 years and cost about 80 quid so a fiver a year isnt too shabby.
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 19, 2012, 07:16:29 PM
Theres a friend of mine, Paddy Drac (Google his pic and you get the drift) and a few years ago he got the gig of Santy Claus in the Square in Tallaght and a young lad comes in and pops up on his knee. Conversation goes like this;

Paddy; Hop up there, now,  are you a good boy.
Young Lad; Yeah.
Paddy; Well tell me what you would like me to bring you for Christmas.
Y.L. ;  Ah, well, blades anyway.
Paddy;  But shur your too young to be shaving?
Y.L.;   Roller blades ya f**king thick ya?
Paddy: (Little slap on the knee) Don't you curse at Santy or use that language or I'll bring you nothing.
Y.L  Starts bawling

Young lads Ma goes for Paddy and starts bating him, end of Santy Gig, Santy sacked.
Post by: heganboy on December 19, 2012, 08:12:06 PM
Dollar shave club
http://youtu.be/ZUG9qYTJMsI

any excuse to show the best ad of the year...
Post by: ziggy90 on December 19, 2012, 08:16:20 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on December 19, 2012, 07:16:29 PM
Theres a friend of mine, Paddy Drac (Google his pic and you get the drift) and a few years ago he got the gig of Santy Claus in the Square in Tallaght and a young lad comes in and pops up on his knee. Conversation goes like this;

Paddy; Hop up there, now,  are you a good boy.
Young Lad; Yeah.
Paddy; Well tell me what you would like me to bring you for Christmas.
Y.L. ;  Ah, well, blades anyway.
Paddy;  But shur your too young to be shaving?
Y.L.;   Roller blades ya f**king thick ya?
Paddy: (Little slap on the knee) Don't you curse at Santy or use that language or I'll bring you nothing.
Y.L  Starts bawling

Young lads Ma goes for Paddy and starts bating him, end of Santy Gig, Santy sacked.

Brilliant.
Post by: CiKe on December 19, 2012, 10:43:34 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on December 19, 2012, 05:05:41 PM
I ditched the cartridge razors a year or two ago and bought myself one of the old style double edged safety razors for about €50. A pack of 100 blades which last for well over a year can be bought online for less than a tenner. Initially it takes a while to get the hang of it and it does take a few minutes extra to shave each morning but it's a much closer shave than the Gillette and Wilkinson Sword cartridge razors.

Did the same 5yrs ago, would never go back. Cut the face off myself for the first month but much much closer and don't have have to go over and over the same patch. I tend to be scruffy so twice a week max, pack of 10 does me for some time! Bought the brother one for Christmas one year. He'd have much heavier beard and never got used to it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 19, 2012, 11:21:01 PM
Very good Bud, can just imagine that one!  :D
Post by: Bud Wiser on December 29, 2012, 07:55:33 PM
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/c106.0.403.403/p403x403/399294_440162829372384_1304273171_n.jpg)

Paddy got a gig in Hush nightclub for Christmas and got in trouble again, something about telling one of the ladies where he would like to empty his sack. 
Post by: bennydorano on November 01, 2018, 07:18:10 PM
I've been going through a few new types of blades this year - caught by a bit of marketing gimmickery for a Cornerstone,  and Dorco, but surprisingly enough the new winner is a Bic! A much fancier updated one that the old disposable one - it's very impressive for head & face.
Post by: Seany on November 03, 2018, 06:19:53 PM
I've moved to Harry's recently. Far better. Cheaper. They work out what your needs are and then send you them each month.
Post by: bennydorano on November 03, 2018, 08:31:42 PM
That seems to be the new in thing, had that with Cornerstone and now again with Bic.