Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on December 04, 2012, 04:26:30 PM

Title: Budget 2013
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 04, 2012, 04:26:30 PM
(http://s3.jrnl.ie/media/2012/12/04122012-dublin-scenes-pictured-a-sign-hangs-o-2-630x436.jpg)
Title: Re: Budget 2013
Post by: Rossfan on December 04, 2012, 08:00:37 PM
So true.
Then you have the reports of the Blueshirt backbenchers revolting over a proposal to increase the Social Charge on income over €100,000 p.a.
Shows where their interests lie.
If only those on income over 100k vote Blueshirt next time around they'll be lucky to get 5 seats.
Post by: Itchy on December 04, 2012, 09:54:43 PM
If you are in the middle classes then I suggest you go home tonight, lube up and get ready to be rode sideways tomorrow.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 05, 2012, 03:15:35 PM
€1 added to a bottle of wine. Good job Labour are in there to keep thise blueshirts in line eh ::)

http://irishelectionliterature.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fgeverylittlehelps.jpg?w=646&h=451 (http://irishelectionliterature.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fgeverylittlehelps.jpg?w=646&h=451)
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 03:30:42 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 05, 2012, 03:15:35 PM
€1 added to a bottle of wine. Good job Labour are in there to keep thise blueshirts in line eh ::)

http://irishelectionliterature.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fgeverylittlehelps.jpg?w=646&h=451 (http://irishelectionliterature.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/fgeverylittlehelps.jpg?w=646&h=451)

The middle classes revolt....
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 05, 2012, 03:44:53 PM
Went up to Tesco last night got 12 bottles of wine and they were doing 25% off. f**k you Budget!
Post by: Nally Stand on December 05, 2012, 03:47:40 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 05, 2012, 03:44:53 PM
Went up to Tesco last night got 12 bottles of wine and they were doing 25% off. f**k you Budget!

(http://workwithjstewdotcom.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/beat-the-system.jpg?w=590)
Post by: Capt Pat on December 05, 2012, 05:05:20 PM
No big dramas in the budget today then? I was expecting worse.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 05:12:16 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on December 05, 2012, 05:05:20 PM

Is that not the strategy, Gov makes leaks, people expect the worst and then when it's not as bad as expected people think it was ok when in reality you're still get screwed for a few more dollars. Also the wine tax is a masterstroke it's all anyone seems to be talking about, not the property tax, not the PRSI etc etc but the bloody €1 on a bottle a wine that you can choose to buy or not!
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 05, 2012, 05:21:01 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 05:12:16 PM

Is that not the strategy, Gov makes leaks, people expect the worst and then when it's not as bad as expected people think it was ok when in reality you're still get screwed for a few more dollars. Also the wine tax is a masterstroke it's all anyone seems to be talking about, not the property tax, not the PRSI etc etc but the bloody €1 on a bottle a wine that you can choose to buy or not!

Heard someone say that the €1 on the bottle of wine will have more of an effect on them financially than the property charge  :o
Post by: Rossfan on December 05, 2012, 05:22:37 PM
Good oul Labour - gave in on increasing the Social Charge for those over €100k and then screwed the low paid by imposing PRSI on the exempt first €127 per week.
So the lad on €400 pw gets hit the same as the Blueshirt minister on €4,000+ per week.
Oh I nearly forgot - the €1m mansion tax - probably 100 houses in the country will fall into this category now.
John Kelly/ Frank Feighan and your cohorts - do not come near my door ever again ye shower .....
Post by: Declan on December 05, 2012, 05:25:47 PM
QuoteAlso the wine tax is a masterstroke it's all anyone seems to be talking about,

As decided by our masters in Montrose ;) Jaysus Goebbels wouldn't get a gig in there
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2012, 05:30:58 PM

Those of us who are trying to fund our own schemes for our retirements have been raped. I have many years left to go to retirement but already (after today's measure is introduced) I will have a huge tax bill to pay the day I retire. In today's money that tax bill will be more than the value of my house was at the top of the boom. I will either have to sell my house to pay it or hand over most of my self funded pension to pay the tax.

Post by: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 05:32:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 05, 2012, 05:30:58 PM

Those of us who are trying to fund our own schemes for our retirements have been raped. I have many years left to go to retirement but already (after today's measure is introduced) I will have a huge tax bill to pay the day I retire. In today's money that tax bill will be more than the value of my house was at the top of the boom. I will either have to sell my house to pay it or hand over most of my self funded pension to pay the tax.

The dead have arisen...
Post by: Declan on December 05, 2012, 05:36:26 PM
QuoteThose of us who are trying to fund our own schemes for our retirements have been raped. I have many years left to go to retirement but already (after today's measure is introduced) I will have a huge tax bill to pay the day I retire. In today's money that tax bill will be more than the value of my house was at the top of the boom. I will either have to sell my house to pay it or hand over most of my self funded pension to pay the tax.

Bienvenu  ;)

And in more breaking news Ireland is emerging from its economic crisis, Finance Minister Michael Noonan declared as Budget 13, the sixth austerity budget in a row, got underway.
Mr Noonan said the economy was continuing to grow but still had a long way to go.

"There are manifest signs that the country is emerging from the worst of the crisis," he said.

I'm obviously living in an alternative universe
Post by: Rossfan on December 05, 2012, 06:31:00 PM
He must have been cutting/pasting from Brian Lenihan's speech circa 2009  ;D
Why does Muppet or anyone else need a pension of over 60,000 per annum ?
Post by: Ulick on December 05, 2012, 06:39:17 PM
Batten down the hatches, hold onto your children, avoid supermarket car parks, the Mexicans are invading again.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2012, 08:36:14 PM
Quote from: Ulick on December 05, 2012, 06:39:17 PM
Batten down the hatches, hold onto your children, avoid supermarket car parks, the Mexicans are invading again.
Shopping for another nuclear holocaust that won't happen.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 05, 2012, 09:48:26 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 05, 2012, 05:12:16 PM
Also the wine tax is a masterstroke it's all anyone seems to be talking about, not the property tax, not the PRSI etc etc but the bloody €1 on a bottle a wine that you can choose to buy or not!

Does that include Buckfast?
Post by: magpie seanie on December 05, 2012, 10:37:46 PM
Please God let the govt fall. This is not a workable plan, never mind fair.
Post by: comethekingdom on December 05, 2012, 10:45:41 PM
See they went really hard on the politicians! All expenses to be vouched and leaders allowances cut by 10 percent!👿
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2012, 11:02:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 05, 2012, 06:31:00 PM
He must have been cutting/pasting from Brian Lenihan's speech circa 2009  ;D
Why does Muppet or anyone else need a pension of over 60,000 per annum ?

I don't need a €60,000 pension, I simply choose to fund one myself rather than wait for handouts.

I chose to fund it so that if I die my wife will get half of it to live on and look after my kids.

€60,000 when I retire will worth maybe €45,000 in today's money and if I live for 20 years it will be worth far less.

Post by: lawnseed on December 05, 2012, 11:33:21 PM
mings post budget speech was brilliant. mattie mcgrath... sweet geez needed subtitles how does this guy get elected.. ffs how does enda get elected? sheep.. bah
Post by: muppet on December 05, 2012, 11:46:54 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 05, 2012, 11:33:21 PM
mings post budget speech was brilliant. mattie mcgrath... sweet geez needed subtitles how does this guy get elected.. ffs how does enda get elected? sheep.. bah

I must admit I had a good laugh at Sean Fleming complaining that they didn't follow Fianna Fail's 'way':

http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/dail-budget-speech-by-fianna-fail-spokesperson-on-public-expenditure-and-re/ (http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/dail-budget-speech-by-fianna-fail-spokesperson-on-public-expenditure-and-re/)
Post by: Declan on December 06, 2012, 07:44:11 AM
(http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/65105_10151276836094670_2075443800_n.jpg)
Post by: Declan on December 06, 2012, 08:30:29 AM
QuoteIf I was 10 years younger and not married with kids I would be gone out of here in a shot. Now I just have to suck it up and get on with it knowing our society is build on systematic inequality.

Lots more like you as well Seanie. The old Irish solution of emigration is now our main plank of policy when it comes to strategy for the next generation. Sickening.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 06, 2012, 08:42:20 AM
OK - the budget is one thing. A PR spin.

Wait for the Finance Act 2013 for the real savagery.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 06, 2012, 09:28:31 AM
Any one else pissed off when they saw Noonan and the Fianna fail spokesperson for finance laughing their way through their discussion on the budget like it was some sort of Comedy show .
Post by: seafoid on December 06, 2012, 11:28:35 AM
From the Irish economy website

There was an interesting study done recently for the Department of Social welfare on this issue. I noticed one table that the authors barely mentioned. Its on Page 28
http://www.socialinclusion.ie/documents/2012-10-15_DSPFoodPovertyPaper_001.pdf
18-30 years 16%
31-40 years 13%
41-50 years 11%
51-60 years 10%
61+ years 5%
The HRP for young people is 3 times higher 16% than for older people 5%.
This is a very dramatic change in a short period of time and is a direct result of social welfare policy. In the 2006 census 56% of people in the lowest decile were over 65. In 2011 it was only 24%
The basic rate of social welfare has had either a dramatic change or remained static depending on your age between 2007 and 2011.
Older people have been protected (old age pension has actually gone up about 10%) and younger people have had cuts of up to 47%
The cut in child benefit yesterday for even the poorest families continues that trend of attacking the young disproportionately.
Post by: Canalman on December 06, 2012, 12:04:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 06, 2012, 11:28:35 AM

There was an interesting study done recently for the Department of Social welfare on this issue. I noticed one table that the authors barely mentioned. Its on Page 28
18-30 years 16%
31-40 years 13%
41-50 years 11%
51-60 years 10%
61+ years 5%
This is a very dramatic change in a short period of time and is a direct result of social welfare policy. In the 2006 census 56% of people in the lowest decile were over 65. In 2011 it was only 24%
The basic rate of social welfare has had either a dramatic change or remained static depending on your age between 2007 and 2011.
Older people have been protected (old age pension has actually gone up about 10%) and younger people have had cuts of up to 47%
The cut in child benefit yesterday for even the poorest families continues that trend of attacking the young disproportionately.

In a way Seafóid it is democracy at its purest. The pensioners or those nearing that age vote in high numbers and regularly in all elections. They also tend to converge on TD clinics when aggrieved and definitely carry more clout than any other demographic.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 06, 2012, 12:59:50 PM
Quote from: Canalman on December 06, 2012, 12:04:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 06, 2012, 11:28:35 AM

18-30 years 16%
31-40 years 13%
41-50 years 11%
51-60 years 10%
61+ years 5%

In a way Seafóid it is democracy at its purest. The pensioners or those nearing that age vote in high numbers and regularly in all elections. They also tend to converge on TD clinics when aggrieved and definitely carry more clout than any other demographic.

Yeah - cos we're all busy trying to keep our heads above water.
Post by: Hound on December 06, 2012, 01:16:15 PM

Where are you getting this from Muppet?

I'm pretty sure you're completely off the wall!

The impact of this is you only get tax relief for contributions to pension schemes that will give you up to €60k a year. So basically once your pension scheme is worth circa €1.5M (they havent announced what this exact figure will be) then you will get no more tax relief for contributions to it (you can still make more contributions to it if you like).

If you happen to have already more than the €1.5M (or whatever the figure is), then there is absolutely no clawback for relief you have already claimed on those contributions.

When you retire, there will be no massive tax hit that means you have to sell your house!!
You will be entitled to a tax-free lump sum, and I think this amount will be now be less that it would have been.
If your annual pension is more than €60,000, then any excess will be taxed at 52% under current rates.

Unless I've missed something completely (and I may have) I can not see anywhere where you've been raped and where your huge tax bill will arise. You'll only pay tax on the income you receive, which while not as nice as it might have been, seems fair enough.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 06, 2012, 01:33:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 06, 2012, 01:16:15 PM

The impact of this is you only get tax relief for contributions to pension schemes that will give you up to €60k a year. So basically once your pension scheme is worth circa €1.5M (they havent announced what this exact figure will be) then you will get no more tax relief for contributions to it (you can still make more contributions to it if you like).

If you happen to have already more than the €1.5M (or whatever the figure is), then there is absolutely no clawback for relief you have already claimed on those contributions.

When you retire, there will be no massive tax hit that means you have to sell your house!!
You will be entitled to a tax-free lump sum, and I think this amount will be now be less that it would have been.
If your annual pension is more than €60,000, then any excess will be taxed at 52% under current rates.

Unless I've missed something completely (and I may have) I can not see anywhere where you've been raped and where your huge tax bill will arise. You'll only pay tax on the income you receive, which while not as nice as it might have been, seems fair enough.

I assumed Muppet has CGT issues that he will have to deal with when he retires. I guess he has invested in shares or property for his pension.
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2012, 02:36:07 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 06, 2012, 01:33:05 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 06, 2012, 01:16:15 PM

I assumed Muppet has CGT issues that he will have to deal with when he retires. I guess he has invested in shares or property for his pension.

Neither are corrrect.

I am part of a group scheme with strict rules.

Now imagine you are  currently funded to €60,000 and stop funding immediately due to the budget.

Under pensions rules you will still accrue a notional fund increase of the CPI (say 2.5%) annually.

If you work for another 15 years your notional accrued fund will be (€60,000 * 25) * 102.5% x 15 year compounded = €2,172,447

You notional fund minus the Fund Threshold = €672,447

@ 48% tax you now owe the revenue €322.774 the day you retire.

Now imagine you are in a fund in deficit where the Trustees insist that contributors keep paying to deal with the deficit.

That tax bill will go up drastically.
Post by: Rossfan on December 06, 2012, 02:40:25 PM
Sure you could be dead in the morning  :-\
Post by: Hound on December 07, 2012, 02:02:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2012, 02:36:07 PM
Neither are corrrect.

Now imagine you are  currently funded to €60,000 and stop funding immediately due to the budget.

Under pensions rules you will still accrue a notional fund increase of the CPI (say 2.5%) annually.

If you work for another 15 years your notional accrued fund will be (€60,000 * 25) * 102.5% x 15 year compounded = €2,172,447

Now imagine you are in a fund in deficit where the Trustees insist that contributors keep paying to deal with the deficit.

Hadn't heard about the automatic tax on the excess on retirement.

But is the easy answer just to take out the €672k, so after paying your tax you have a net lump sum left of €350,000 to spend or invest as you like, plus an annual pension of €60,000 (gross). You're paying more tax than you would have done, but I'm not seeing the raping or the need to sell a house.

Post by: muppet on December 07, 2012, 04:34:23 PM
Quote from: Hound on December 07, 2012, 02:02:02 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 06, 2012, 02:36:07 PM
Neither are corrrect.

Hadn't heard about the automatic tax on the excess on retirement.

But is the easy answer just to take out the €672k, so after paying your tax you have a net lump sum left of €350,000 to spend or invest as you like, plus an annual pension of €60,000 (gross). You're paying more tax than you would have done, but I'm not seeing the raping or the need to sell a house.

If I have funded over the €60,000 to date, which was perfectly legal and contractually required, I will owe hundreds of thousands of euros in tax when I retire. Either I give up all of the excess, just to be able to pay the tax, or I sell the house to keep the pension.
Post by: muppet on December 07, 2012, 04:39:47 PM
Thinking about it further all of those pensions would have been fully taxed on retirement as it is really deferred income rather than the tax haven presented by the Shinners/Joe Higgins etc.

What they are doing is forcing the tax into the coffers now, at the expense of the tax take in the 2020s, 2030s, 2040s etc. Anyone who thinks there won't be capital flight (for those who can legally move their pensions abroad) or personnel flight (for high earners who can move their jobs) is nuts. They would be very stupid to stay.
Post by: Rossfan on December 07, 2012, 05:47:58 PM
Am  I the only one who wishes all those fcukin "high earners" would get to hell out and leave the plain people of Ireland to try and muddle along as we can on average pay?
I'm sure there are loads of people who would be glad to take on their jobs for a lot less.
Where will those "high earner" people get the same money as they get here?
Post by: muppet on December 07, 2012, 06:16:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 07, 2012, 05:47:58 PM
Am  I the only one who wishes all those fcukin "high earners" would get to hell out and leave the plain people of Ireland to try and muddle along as we can on average pay?
I'm sure there are loads of people who would be glad to take on their jobs for a lot less.
Where will those "high earner" people get the same money as they get here?

Those people you want to 'get the hell out' pay over half of all income tax.

You'd have some country left then.
Post by: Rossfan on December 07, 2012, 07:10:52 PM
If there is any need for the job they are doing someone else will take it on for half the cost.
The consequent savings to their employers can make us "more competitive" which according to the Taoiseach is the aim of this years Budget  ;)
Anyway I doubt if they are paying half of all income  the tax as they have so many ways of reducing their tax liabilities.
Post by: trileacman on December 07, 2012, 08:24:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 07, 2012, 07:10:52 PM
If there is any need for the job they are doing someone else will take it on for half the cost.

The consequent savings to their employers can make us "more competitive" which according to the Taoiseach is the aim of this years Budget  ;)
Anyway I doubt if they are paying half of all income the tax as they have so many ways of reducing their tax liabilities.

Half price judges, surgeons, dentists, businessmen/women. Yeah I'm sure that'll be a roaring success.

What you're extolling is that we should all get paid the same irrespective of the job we are doing. Why don't we just abolish all institutions and set up our own communist republic, comrade?
Post by: Rossfan on December 07, 2012, 10:22:20 PM
Enda Kenny took over Cowan's job at about 60% of what Biff was getting  ;)
Everyone on the right wing keeps telling us that senior public employees are way overpaid compared to their EU colleagues.
And talking about dentists - why does it cost twice as much to have a procedure in the 26 Cos than in the 6? Filling the dentists pocket ?
Hospital Consultants get paid an awful lot less up North for more public work.
The Shief of Staff of the (real) Oglaigh na h-Eireann i.e defence Forces gets paid more than the Brit or German equivalent . I bet there would be no shortage of takers when that post becomes vacant even if the rate of pay was halved ;D
Then there's thye President €300k per annum FFS  :o
Funny how to become competitive you have to cut the pay of the little people - then complain when there's a lack of consumer spending ::).
The plain people and the farmers spend most of their income in the domestic economy - the well heeled usually stash in "tax efficient" thingys or spend overseas with only a small percentage of their money going into the domestic economy.
And Trileac - where did I extol that everyone should be paid the same?
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 08, 2012, 10:12:16 AM
Mighty so now they will be popping in for a cup of tea just to see if you are telling the truth . How the feck do you value a property in Todays Market. If you go by the allsops property auctions you can see that in some parts of the country houses have been sold for a little as 40k to 50k (a few not far from where i live) however i'm sure Revenue would have a canary if you put that down as a valuation . According to the indo the only place in the country where houses are valued less than 100k is Longford.

Saturday December 08 2012

The Revenue Commissioners will have the power to come in and inspect a home to assess its value for the property tax.

Property tax dodgers also face fines of €3,000 for deliberately failing to fill in forms properly or undervaluing their house, under tough new legislation.

The legislation to back up the new property tax, the Local Property Tax Bill, 2012 was published yesterday.

The bill says the Revenue will have the power to "enter on land and inspect the relevant residential property" to assess its value.

"The section obliges the person occupying the property to allow the authorised person inspect the property at all reasonable times. The Revenue Commissioners may provide the authorised person with information that is necessary to value the property," the legislation says.

The legislation also imposes a maximum fine of €3,000 on a homeowner who "fails to submit a return or fails to include all required information" having been told to do so.

A homeowner who "knowingly makes a false statement" to reduce the amount of property tax pay, will also face a maximum fine of €3,000.

When told by Revenue to provide information on who owns a house, anybody who fails to comply will be hit with a daily fine of €100.

Revenue will be drawing up a database of every house in the country, each of which will have an identification number.

Anger

Meanwhile, householders whose properties are affected by pyrite have reacted angrily to the Department of Finance's decision to include their homes in the property tax.

The Pyrite Action Group said that the inclusion of the damaged houses in the new tax added "insult to injury", while one affected homeowner told the Irish Independent she would "absolutely not" be paying the tax which is calculated according to the value of the property.

- Fionnan Sheahan and Cormac McQuinn