Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ballinaman on October 21, 2012, 09:58:43 AM

Title: Drivers Knock down cyclist in London
Post by: ballinaman on October 21, 2012, 09:58:43 AM
Crazy stuff here. How some people are allowed to drive is beyond me. I drive and cycle in Dublin and some of the stuff you see drivers do is ridiculous.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6qycF0raqpg

She really annoyed me. Sat on her arse in the car instead on checking on the cyclist. I'd say she was just watching the Golf and when the Golf went to turn right she assumed the way was clear to her right.

Found this in the youtube comments.

"Driver one RJ05 EFO Chris Bassett OF Harrow, PLEADED GUILTY ( His statement was that he's insurance company told not to plead not guilty as there was no damage to his car but on seeing the video he pleaded guilty). : RECEIVED SIX POINT AND A £230 FINE.
Drive two NC04 LXG Sue Trepak of Hanwell, has pleaded NOT GUILITY even on view the video. The court case has been delay until sep 2012 due to the court has not the facility to play the video format (.MOV)."
Title: Re: Drivers Knock down cyclist in London
Post by: trileacman on October 21, 2012, 12:10:49 PM
I drive and cycle in dublin as well and to be fair I've seen both sides as guilty as each other. Firstly some drivers don't watch themselves and look out for cyclists and some cyclists have no respect for pedestrians or the rules of the road. The amount of times i've seen cyclists run lights, make turns without signalling or mount a kerb/cross a road is easily as many times as I've seen motorists ignore cyclists.
Post by: turk on October 21, 2012, 04:54:09 PM
When insurance companies tell motorists never to admit they are at fault even when you are at fault then you will get apes like this. A mate of mind broke a stop sign and pulled out on a main road in front of an oncoming car. Luckily everyone was ok but there was a good bit of damage to the cars. He said he was at fault from the start. His insurance company gave him a load of hassle over it.

The other side of the stick then is when baboons go and stick on a neck collar even when they are at fault and head off to court to get some of the cash merry go round that is jacking up everyone's insurance premiums!
Post by: laoislad on October 21, 2012, 05:05:47 PM
Cyclists in Dublin are a pain in the arse.
The rules of the road seemingly don't apply to the f**kers.
Post by: bennydorano on October 21, 2012, 05:36:27 PM
I cringe at some cyclists manouveres (as a keen one myself) some assholes with licences thou. Wee bastid in a tractor near killed 2 of us a few weeks back & he done it in pure badness too.
Post by: turk on October 21, 2012, 10:02:22 PM
Very few people think they are a bad driver!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 21, 2012, 10:37:07 PM
"I didn't see you" says she, and the bike under her car!  >:(

And any muppets concerned road users talking about the transgressions of cyclists: an errant bike won't kill you, but an errant car probably will.
Post by: thewobbler on October 21, 2012, 10:55:36 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 21, 2012, 10:37:07 PM

And any muppets concerned road users talking about the transgressions of cyclists: an errant bike won't kill you, but an errant car probably will.

Here's the thing though. Motorists are taxed, insured and licensed. They can be punished in multiple ways should they break the rules of the road, let alone cause an incident.

Cyclists can switch from pavement to road, jump through red lights, ride three abreast, and cause any mayhem they so choose while listening to their iPod at full volume, without any punishment.

There are many, many bad drivers on the road. But it is nearly always possible to predict what a bad driver will do, because it will usually fall within the outer barriers of road use. It's not the same of cyclists.

When that issue is redressed, I'll start to look upon our two wheeled cousins' plight with more sympathy. Until they start policing themselves though, I'm ambivalent.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 21, 2012, 10:59:08 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 21, 2012, 10:55:36 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 21, 2012, 10:37:07 PM

Here's the thing though. Motorists are taxed, insured and licensed. They can be punished in multiple ways should they break the rules of the road, let alone cause an incident.

We're all taxed Wobbler, next you'll be telling me that road tax is spent exclusively on the roads.

I drive and cycle weekly in Dublin, and can say with no fear of contradiction that cyclists cause me no issues in my car, but cars cause me plenty on my bike.
Post by: maddog on October 21, 2012, 11:08:20 PM
I have never seen this wobbler and i have been cycling for getting on 30 years. There is a code, ride 2 abreast when you are out in the countryside but first sign of a car you go single file. Motorists are generally fuckwits and the bigger more expensive the car will be in keep with the lack of consideration shown to cyclists. A bike wont write anyone off but a car will. That whole tax argument is bollix because most cyclists happen to be motorists too. Having spent a week in craigavon as a result of a pissed driver and me on the aul racer i feel strongly about this. Ask some of the lads from Newry Wheelers as they were called back in the day, they will tell you.
Post by: tyssam5 on October 22, 2012, 06:34:12 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on October 21, 2012, 09:58:43 AM
Crazy stuff here. How some people are allowed to drive is beyond me. I drive and cycle in Dublin and some of the stuff you see drivers do is ridiculous.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6qycF0raqpg

She really annoyed me. Sat on her arse in the car instead on checking on the cyclist. I'd say she was just watching the Golf and when the Golf went to turn right she assumed the way was clear to her right.

Found this in the youtube comments.

"Driver one RJ05 EFO Chris Bassett OF Harrow, PLEADED GUILTY ( His statement was that he's insurance company told not to plead not guilty as there was no damage to his car but on seeing the video he pleaded guilty). : RECEIVED SIX POINT AND A £230 FINE.
Drive two NC04 LXG Sue Trepak of Hanwell, has pleaded NOT GUILITY even on view the video. The court case has been delay until sep 2012 due to the court has not the facility to play the video format (.MOV)."

Very calm gent, I'd have been going a bit more nuts there. Been meaning to get a helmet cam, almost got the same last week.
Post by: bennydorano on October 22, 2012, 09:09:50 AM
As a club member I have a cycling licence which means i'm licenced & insured (3rd party), i also  pay every other tax going, so your argument is a bit pants wobbler.  I've saw police tackling cyclists as well, so we're not exactly exempt from the law.
Post by: nifan on October 22, 2012, 09:19:50 AM
Some people are just selfish pricks - whether on a bike or in a car.

In london as a pedestrian Id say bikes are a more concerning issue to me - cars at least dont run red lights generally but some cyclists do.

When I do drive in london, which i do as little as I can, its touch and go which i see more off - bad cyclists or bad drivers.

For the good cyclists some of the insane cycle lane sections dont help them - sharing with buses or changing lanes randomly coming up to major junctions.
Post by: thewobbler on October 22, 2012, 09:19:56 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 22, 2012, 09:09:50 AM
As a club member I have a cycling licence which means i'm licenced & insured (3rd party), i also  pay every other tax going, so your argument is a bit pants wobbler.  I've saw police tackling cyclists as well, so we're not exactly exempt from the law.

1. So you don't see that you're the exception here? How many cycling licences are in circulation.

2. When police "track" a cyclist, what punishment are they likely to hand out? It's not like they're going to lose the books.

3. I'm a taxed, licensed and insured car driver. But I wouldn't ride a motorbike on a public road.

There are many, many very safe, very reliable cyclists in this world. I'm not suggesting otherwise. But all too many cyclists I face on the roads every day in Belfast are anything but. Should an accident occur between me and them, I'm guilty without trial. I lose out.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 22, 2012, 09:47:34 AM
Another cycling commuter who pays road tax and car insurance here. I do find though that attitudes towards cyclists have gradually improved over the years, although they were piss poor to start with. Idiotic cyclists who break lights at major junctions grind my gears as much as idiotic motorists who manage to come to a complete stop in the bike lane and force cyclists off the road. Have seen a cyclist pulled over for an outrageous break of lights so cyclists are are no more above the law than a motorist.
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 22, 2012, 09:53:24 AM
On two seperate occasions i have chased coppers into Garda HQ in the Pheonix Park who have nearly ran me over , I was lit up like a f**king christmas tree. I asked could one of them be arrested! I drive and cycle and agree with Nifan "Some people are just selfish pricks - whether on a bike or in a car" when they are like that they shouldnt be on the road.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 01:42:37 PM
Jaysus he got a right hopper there. why was he wearing a camera though? Seems odd.

Anyhow, wrt to cyclists vs motorists, I think it's fair to say most cyclists are motorists as well, so pig ignorance works both ways. I hate when those amateur Tour de France lads go 3 or 4 abreast on country roads. Lads, single f*cking file. Unless it's a proper race with marshalls and guards, there's no excuse for that.

However I have seen some really ignorant drivers just not looking for cyclists. I don't see many people deliberately putting cyclists at risk, but a huge amount of people, especially turning left, just don't check for cyclists coming up behind them. Deadly dangerous.

Post by: ludermor on October 22, 2012, 03:00:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 01:42:37 PM
Jaysus he got a right hopper there. why was he wearing a camera though? Seems odd.

Anyhow, wrt to cyclists vs motorists, I think it's fair to say most cyclists are motorists as well, so pig ignorance works both ways. I hate when those amateur Tour de France lads go 3 or 4 abreast on country roads. Lads, single f*cking file. Unless it's a proper race with marshalls and guards, there's no excuse for that.

However I have seen some really ignorant drivers just not looking for cyclists. I don't see many people deliberately putting cyclists at risk, but a huge amount of people, especially turning left, just don't check for cyclists coming up behind them. Deadly dangerous.
AZ they are becoming more more common, you can pick up a wee camera for 20 quid these days and you upload them by USB.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 03:50:14 PM
Quote from: ludermor on October 22, 2012, 03:00:12 PM

AZ they are becoming more more common, you can pick up a wee camera for 20 quid these days and you upload them by USB.

Yeah, but why? Is it to record dangerous driving or what? Or is it like a black box on a plane in case something happens to you?

Post by: ballinaman on October 22, 2012, 04:22:16 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 03:50:14 PM

Yeah, but why? Is it to record dangerous driving or what? Or is it like a black box on a plane in case something happens to you?
Probably a bit of both AZ.

Check out this lad. Skip to 3.08  :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=He7RsjcRiGM#!
Post by: tyssam5 on October 22, 2012, 04:22:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 03:50:14 PM

Yeah good for accidents etc., plenty of commercial vehicles have them now. Also good fun, esp.for mountain biking.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 22, 2012, 04:24:33 PM
OK, now this is really puzzling. Shorts? Check. T-Shirt? Check. Buideál of water? Check. Watch? Check. Socks? Check. Runners? Check. Camera strapped to the top of my head as i go for a jog? Check.

what the Jaysus is that about?
Post by: Ulick on October 22, 2012, 04:25:08 PM
I had an ignorant p***k of cyclist mouth off to me a few weeks back because I pulled into the side of a four lane road two minutes before the clearway restrictions were due to expire. Didn't cut him up or anything, this lad just decided to put the world to rights on his own. When I told him to get lost he made a big deal over his helmet camera and how he was going to report me to the peelers. Strange thing he never came within two dozen paces but preferred to shout down the street. Spotted him mouthing off to some bewildered foreign national the other night on the same stretch of road. Arsehole needs those sweaty spandex trunks shoved down his throat.
Post by: nifan on October 22, 2012, 05:21:17 PM

Very common in london now, and there have been people getting points and fines for reckless driving on the back of them.

Id like to see some of the dodgy cyclists receiving the same justice though.
Post by: bennydorano on October 22, 2012, 05:46:54 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 22, 2012, 09:19:56 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 22, 2012, 09:09:50 AM

1. So you don't see that you're the exception here? How many cycling licences are in circulation.

2. When police "track" a cyclist, what punishment are they likely to hand out? It's not like they're going to lose the books.

3. I'm a taxed, licensed and insured car driver. But I wouldn't ride a motorbike on a public road.

There are many, many very safe, very reliable cyclists in this world. I'm not suggesting otherwise. But all too many cyclists I face on the roads every day in Belfast are anything but. Should an accident occur between me and them, I'm guilty without trial. I lose out.
It's the generalisations that cause annoyance, You cant be a club member without paying your dues, so quite a few licences in circulation, prob as many as there are vehicles on the roads without road tax or insurance. Htf are you automatically guilty if you tangle with a cyclist? Thats just balls. Cyclists can be done for wild riding.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 22, 2012, 06:15:56 PM
Any time I see another rider running a red light I make sure and give them a bollicking.  A couple of months ago there was this one fella who sailed clean through a left turn red arrow on 4-lane expressway right in front of over a dozen motorists.  I roared at him and he gave me the middle finger, even invited me over to discuss it.  I told him to wait right there.  I waited for the green light and pulled up to him.

Me: "I don't want to make a big deal about this but..."
Him: "Well it's too late for that, you already have."
Me: "That was a very dangerous thing you just did back there."
Him: "Well I disagree, I think sometimes it's safer to run a red light or run a stop sign."
Me: "I don't see anything safe about what you did."
Him: "Well maybe that was borderline, but what is it to you anyway?  What's it gotta do with you, huh?"
Me: "It's got plenty to do with me.  I'm out on these roads every week and I depend on motorists to have respect for cyclists if I'm going to stay alive out here."
Him: "So you think it affects you?"
Me: "Yes it does. It's hard enough to earn a bit of respect out here without people like you running stop lights and running stop signs.  I could understand you maybe doing it when there's no cars around, but you did that right in front of a ton of drivers."

This went on for another few minutes and he kinda backed down a wee bit, but his ego wouldn't let him completely admit he was wrong.

BTW, if it's not safe to pass bikes riding two abreast then it's not safe to pass when they're riding single file.  In fact there's times when riding single file would be even more of an obstacle.  Example: a squad of about 20 of us were riding into Point Reyes Station on a narrow windy road and some cars had gathered up behind us.  We all got into single file (we always do on that road because it has a fair bit of traffic) but the cars still couldn't get past us.  We were stretched out for so long that it was impossible for anyone to get past in the short overtaking straights.  If we were riding in a compact bunch then we'd have been a bit wider but would have been a lot shorter and it would have been easier for drivers to get past.  But we know how much that pisses the stupid drivers off so we daren't do it.
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2012, 06:21:15 PM
I reckon you are definitely going to Heaven.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 22, 2012, 06:24:52 PM
I don't.
Post by: cadence on October 22, 2012, 08:33:54 PM
i've cycled in london for years. it's best to stay as far away as possible from the busiest routes and the hairiest junctions as london drivers are amongst some of the most aggressive out there. they really don't give a flying f*ck a lot of them. my own theory on it is that it can be a very individualistic, competitive, darwinian rat race at times and the roads are a good reflection of the stress that people are under. having said that, some drivers in london are very cyclist aware due to the amount they share the roads with and are an absolute pleasure to be on the same road with. a heap aren't though. i'm in birmingham at the moment and they are not half as aggressive and are a very laid back bunch, but drivers here just don't have the level of awareness you get in london.

i'd prfer to cycle in birmingham any day. london is scary, best sticking to the back routes and through parks as much as you can and factor this into your journey time. mad place on a bike.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 23, 2012, 01:54:27 AM
San Francisco, despite the hills, is a huge cycling city.  There's a lot of different cycling tribes though.

The racers (my group). 
Attire: club outfits, helmet and bike chosen to match club colors. 
Equipment: Latest carbon fiber frames.  Anything older than a year is considered obsolete.  Power meters ensure that the current and average wattage provides a steady stream of conversation.
Habitat: country roads outside the city in Marin
Behavior: Reasonable at obeying the rules compared to some, but no angels.  Often found riding in large packs.
Critics say: Get single file. And slow the hell down when coming back across the Golden Gate Bridge when tourists on rental bikes are wobbling their way across in the other direction.

Messengers:
Attire: T-shirt, messenger bag, jeans with drive-side leg turned up to just below the knee.
Equipment: Low budget, fixed wheel, no brakes. 
Habitat: Financial district, or any part of town where there's small businesses needing parcels moved.
Behavior: Kamakaze riders, they put the fear of God into onlookers as they hurtle around with no brakes, having near-misses with every vehicle in town, and being a general pain in the ass by running every stop sign and stop light in sight.
Critics say: Darwinian natural selection in action

Hipsters:
Attire: same as messengers, even if there's no need for a messenger bag
Equipment: Designer fixed wheels, usually brightly colored tri-spoke affairs.  Brakes optional.
Habitat: Any part of town with a decent concentration of dive bars, particularly venues that play live music.
Behavior:  Use their bikes ostensibly to get around at night, but mainly as a fashion statement.  It's not uncommon to walk past dive bars and see a load of fixies locked up outside with their laminated cards and artwork woven into the spokes.  Just as likely to be seen walking their bikes as riding them.
Critics say: Learn to ride

Critical Mass crowd:
Attire: Unwashed
Equipment: Anything on two wheels.
Habitat: Every street during the evening commute for one day of the month
Behavior:  Utterly lawless when they get into that big group and set out to alienate every motorist in town.  Previous mayors have tried unsuccessfully to crack down on it, nowadays they have a police escort and you see SFPD motorcyclists helping them out by "corking" junctions to stop the cross traffic and to clear a path for them.  The thinking seems to be that cracking down on it will make it less of an act of defiance and they might lose interest, but it doesn't seem to get any smaller.
Critics say: Ban it

Anti-car activists:
Attire: See Critical Mass
Equipment: In the absence of a whicker handlebar basket, it'll be a crate is attached to the rack over the back wheel and emblazoned with stickers saying "One less car", "No wars for oil" and other leftist slogans. 
Habitat: Any train that allows bikes to be carried during the commute
Behavior: Usually pretty slow and timid on the street.
Critics say: Stop taking up so much room on the train

Tourists:
Attire: A tank top for the girls, T shirt for the fellas, shorts, flip flops, and other woefully inadequate preparations for the howling icy cold wind that blows across the Golden Gate Bridge in the summer
Equipment: Identical hybrid bikes with a bag on the front labelled "Blazing Saddles bike hire" and a map of the local area on top of it.
Habitat: Anywhere between the Marina and Sausilito. 
Behavior: Obedient of the rules, but timid, wobbly, and clearly inexperienced.  Often seen stopped in the middle of the path on the Golden gate Bridge, or worse, trying to control a bike in one hand and a camcorder in the other while looking everywhere except where they're going while racers are bearing down on them at 35MPH coming the other way.  Prone to panicking, locking up the front wheel, and flying over the handlebars when being overtaken by faster riders.
Critics say: Look where you're going, dammit.
Post by: ballinaman on June 06, 2014, 11:38:21 AM
Dublin bus driver  >:(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwqRqIvo4GU
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 11:46:06 AM
The Bus driver was wrong, but I hate these fecking cyclists with cameras, and next thing your story is up on You Tube, without context. Who knows what that lad was doing before hand? I think if we had dash mounted cameras on cars, and sent in videos of cyclists riding two or 3 abreast in a cycle lane, or up through the middle of traffic, or breaking red lights, there'd be a few horror stories as well.

Cycling in cities is very dangerous, because drivers have STILL not got the message that there is a third variable now, and I'm sure quite a lot of cyclists are getting clipped in the bike lane. The roads are tight as well in some parts of Dublin, to have a cycle lane, and it wouldn't take much of a mistake to hit a cyclist with a wing mirror or something. Scary at times.
Post by: laoislad on June 06, 2014, 12:17:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 11:46:06 AM
Who knows what that lad was doing before hand? I think if we had dash mounted cameras on cars, and sent in videos of cyclists riding two or 3 abreast in a cycle lane, or up through the middle of traffic, or breaking red lights, there'd be a few horror stories as well.

Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 12:25:56 PM
The guy with the camera is a menace. Look though his YouTube page. As someone who cycles in Dublin everyday and at one point averaging 500km a week on a bike; I have had a few incidents but no where near the amount this guy has filmed. He's clearly putting himself in situations which could be avoided just to play the martyr. It's easy to be right when you lying under the wheels of a bus or lorry.

While the bus driver did mistakenly drive into the lane the guy on the bike should have a bit of cop on and not to cycle up the into buses/lorries blind spots irrespective on a cycle lane or not.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2014, 12:33:38 PM
The Bus driver was wrong, but I hate these fecking cyclists with cameras, and next thing your story is up on You Tube, without context. Who knows what that lad was doing before hand?

Does it matter what the lad was doing. A bus pulls into a cycle lane, The cyclist could be killed. I have had two recent run-ins with Dublin Bus. One lad just pulled out across the road in front of me and stopped. I has nowhere to go. The previous night I had tightened the brakes, if I hadn't i was gone. I had a big bright f**king jacket on. The guards are another shower. I have chased three different cars into the garda HQ. I asked for one lad to be arrested, the copper on the gate said, you have to go to a garda station to make that request! I drive and I cycle. There is very little safety concern offered to cyclists by drivers IMO.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 12:40:36 PM
Gerry the bus driver was wrong. No doubt about it. But my problem with these amateur videographers is that I think sometimes they are deliberately looking to escalate the situation simply because they have a camera. As I said a camera on a car would find several instances of cyclists being dangerous (albeit they can usually only harm themselves). Why chase after a lad and continue your aggro with him, just because you have a camera on your head. And then why post that on you tube so you can show how you stood up to the big bad bus drivers.

I have to remind myself to be mindful of cyclists in Dublin, and I'm not deliberately trying to kill someone. On left turns, I find it deadly dangerous, especially because cyclists don't necessarily notice indicators all the time either, and they are bombing up on your inside. I've never had an incident, and I'm getting much better at checking, but it's not a natural thing to do as a driver. You are watching for traffic coming from your right, or coming against you. You'd never be turning left across a line of traffic going the same way as you, so it's a brand new variable.  It's definitely something that I would say most vehicle drivers don't think about because the cycling in the city is still relatively new to people.  but I think some roads in Dublin with cycle lanes are not big enough for them, and I think cyclists themselves don't do themselves favours sometimes as well.
Post by: laoislad on June 06, 2014, 12:56:46 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2014, 12:33:38 PM

The guards are another shower. I have chased three different cars into the garda HQ. I asked for one lad to be arrested, the copper on the gate said, you have to go to a garda station to make that request!

It's happen 3 times now gerry?
You really need to be more careful and stop getting in their way...

Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 22, 2012, 09:53:24 AM
On two seperate occasions i have chased coppers into Garda HQ in the Pheonix Park who have nearly ran me over , I was lit up like a f**king christmas tree. I asked could one of them be arrested! I drive and cycle and agree with Nifan "Some people are just selfish pricks - whether on a bike or in a car" when they are like that they shouldnt be on the road.
Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 01:02:51 PM
The Bus driver was wrong, but I hate these fecking cyclists with cameras, and next thing your story is up on You Tube, without context. Who knows what that lad was doing before hand?

Does it matter what the lad was doing. A bus pulls into a cycle lane, The cyclist could be killed. I have had two recent run-ins with Dublin Bus. One lad just pulled out across the road in front of me and stopped. I has nowhere to go. The previous night I had tightened the brakes, if I hadn't i was gone. I had a big bright f**king jacket on. The guards are another shower. I have chased three different cars into the garda HQ. I asked for one lad to be arrested, the copper on the gate said, you have to go to a garda station to make that request! I drive and I cycle. There is very little safety concern offered to cyclists by drivers IMO.

I'd disagree with that and think it's a bit of an overreaction to a few incidents. For sure there are loads of cnuts driving buses, cars, lorries and cycling but there are genuine mistakes too.

Everyone on the road has to be considerate; that includes cyclists understanding that these vehicles have blind spots; learning to read road conditions further than the vehicle in front; accepting that congestion will lead to more hazardous situations etc.... It's better try to avoid putting yourself in the position on the bike where you could potentially have a serious accident. Principles are no f**king good when a 20 tonne lorry is parked on your head.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2014, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 01:02:51 PM

I'd disagree with that and think it's a bit of an overreaction to a few incidents. For sure there are loads of cnuts driving buses, cars, lorries and cycling but there are genuine mistakes too.

Everyone on the road has to be considerate; that includes cyclists understanding that these vehicles have blind spots; learning to read road conditions further than the vehicle in front; accepting that congestion will lead to more hazardous situations etc.... It's better try to avoid putting yourself in the position on the bike where you could potentially have a serious accident. Principles are no f**king good when a 20 tonne lorry is parked on your head.

On two occasions I could have been killed......this is an overreaction! On both occasion I had don't nothing wrong. I was lit up like a f**king lighthouse.

I drove for twenty odd years before I went back on the bike. I'm cycling about 8 years now also. The genuine mistakes I except. It's dliberate dangerous driving I cannot stand and I see alot of it. I have no time for bad cycling either.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 06, 2014, 01:24:32 PM

can a cyclist operate between lanes like that?
Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 01:30:57 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2014, 01:14:11 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 01:02:51 PM

On two occasions I could have been killed......this is an overreaction! On both occasion I had don't nothing wrong. I was lit up like a f**king lighthouse.

I drove for twenty odd years before I went back on the bike. I'm cycling about 8 years now also. The genuine mistakes I except. It's dliberate dangerous driving I cannot stand and I see alot of it. I have no time for bad cycling either.

I was referring to sweeping statement "There is very little safety concern offered to cyclists by drivers IMO" and not your particular incidents.

I'm cycling (competitively too) from my mid teens (20 years) and have been hit by cars on 3 separate occasions. Lucky I had no life threatening injuries and the other persons were solely at fault. They are isolated though; and not representative my every day experience of other road users.
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 01:50:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 12:40:36 PM
Why chase after a lad and continue your aggro with him, just because you have a camera on your head. And then why post that on you tube so you can show how you stood up to the big bad bus drivers.

Because it's the right thing to do. The driver here is a menace, and I don't see how the presence of the camera means you should shirk away from the confrontation. Well done to Liam Phelan for standing up to thuggery.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 01:51:28 PM
Disagree, I think the camera just enflames the situation.
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 06, 2014, 01:52:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 06, 2014, 12:56:46 PM

The guards are another shower. I have chased three different cars into the garda HQ. I asked for one lad to be arrested, the copper on the gate said, you have to go to a garda station to make that request!

It's happen 3 times now gerry?
You really need to be more careful and stop getting in their way...

Quote from: gerrykeegan on October 22, 2012, 09:53:24 AM
On two separate occasions i have chased coppers into Garda HQ in the Pheonix Park who have nearly ran me over , I was lit up like a f**king christmas tree. I asked could one of them be arrested! I drive and cycle and agree with Nifan "Some people are just selfish pricks - whether on a bike or in a car" when they are like that they shouldn't be on the road.
Belive me you couldn't make it up. It's the same spot everytime. Once time another copper observed what happened and had his head in has hands with what I can only guess was horror at what unfolded. My uncle who is a retired copper has advised me that I maybe shouldn't take on a copper! I'm 2014 "garda" incident free.
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 01:53:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 01:51:28 PM
Disagree, I think the camera just enflames the situation.

So it would be okay to confront the bus driver if he didn't have a camera?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 01:58:09 PM
There's a difference between giving out to someone for cutting you off, or for driving dangerously, and following them down the road, filming them with a camera, and then posting the exchange on You Tube, without any context. So yes, I think it would be okay to give out to the driver if you are annoyed, but why does the rest of the world need to see it?
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:01:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 01:58:09 PM
There's a difference between giving out to someone for cutting you off, or for driving dangerously, and following them down the road, filming them with a camera, and then posting the exchange on You Tube, without any context. So yes, I think it would be okay to give out to the driver if you are annoyed, but why does the rest of the world need to see it?

Because the driver is a menace, and needs to be called out as such.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:02:15 PM
Ah horseshite. If that's the case send the video to the Gardai and Dublin Bus.
Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:05:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 01:50:19 PM
Why chase after a lad and continue your aggro with him, just because you have a camera on your head. And then why post that on you tube so you can show how you stood up to the big bad bus drivers.

Because it's the right thing to do. The driver here is a menace, and I don't see how the presence of the camera means you should shirk away from the confrontation. Well done to Liam Phelan for standing up to thuggery.

Yeah look at some of his other videos; it takes a real hero to confront/threaten a woman  ::)
Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:07:19 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:01:07 PM

Wise up; he made a mistake but hardly a menace.
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:09:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:02:15 PM
Ah horseshite. If that's the case send the video to the Gardai and Dublin Bus.

The guards and Dublin Bus are both aware investigating (http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/video-watch-dublin-bus-driver-3647654). I don't see what the problem is with putting it on YouTube. It's no different than it being reported on the news.
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:10:07 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:07:19 PM

If he admitted to making a mistake, that'd be fine. But he doesn't think he made a mistake, and that makes him a menace.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:10:41 PM
It is different, because you can edit or present it (with the commentary he's typed in) in any way you want. It's one sided and subjective. And I don't see what the point of it is. It's self serving and smug, in my opinion. If he has other, similar, videos up there then it reinforces that opinion.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:12:44 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:10:07 PM

If he admitted to making a mistake, that'd be fine. But he doesn't think he made a mistake, and that makes him a menace.

Put yourself in his shoes. Lad comes cycling up, talking about his 'camera' and starts giving out. I don't know about you, but I'd be inclined to tell him to f**k off.

I have made mistakes on the road, and apologised immediately. Everyone makes mistakes. But if you have a lad filming you and making a song and dance BECAUSE he has the camera, my back would be up too..

Post by: Hotshot Hamish on June 06, 2014, 02:15:33 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:05:22 PM

Yeah look at some of his other videos; it takes a real hero to confront/threaten a woman  ::)
The cyclist seems like a right prat imo.
YouTube account full of videos of similar incidents. It's like he wants to be run over so he can have something to post on youtube.
We could all fill endless youtube accounts of videos of bad driving and stupid cyclists.
This p***k won't allow comments on his account either.
If your gonna put up videos of people then you should be man enough to allow them a chance to reply and take comments from people who may have a different opinions.

Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:15:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:12:44 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:10:07 PM

Put yourself in his shoes. Lad comes cycling up, talking about his 'camera' and starts giving out. I don't know about you, but I'd be inclined to tell him to f**k off.

I have made mistakes on the road, and apologised immediately. Everyone makes mistakes. But if you have a lad filming you and making a song and dance BECAUSE he has the camera, my back would be up too..

Also I wouldn't admit liability on a camera either.
Post by: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:17:36 PM
Quote from: Hotshot Hamish on June 06, 2014, 02:15:33 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 06, 2014, 02:05:22 PM

The cyclist seems like a right prat imo.
YouTube account full of videos of similar incidents. It's like he wants to be run over so he can have something to post on youtube.
We could all fill endless youtube accounts of videos of bad driving and stupid cyclists.
This p***k won't allow comments on his account either.
If your gonna put up videos of people then you should be man enough to allow them a chance to reply and take comments from people who may have a different opinions.

Like the I said; people should watch the one where he is confronting the woman in a threatening manor. Tells you a lot about what type of man he is.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:21:50 PM
He has 175 videos!!!
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:25:45 PM
Interesting to see there is a tribe of motorists. The modern world makes for strange alliances.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2014, 02:28:05 PM
A what now?
Post by: Zip Code on June 06, 2014, 02:31:32 PM
Quote from: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:25:45 PM
Interesting to see there is a tribe of motorists. The modern world makes for strange alliances.

What do you call cyclists who ride illegally 3 and 4 abreast on main roads, apart from a shower of c***ts?
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:34:12 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on June 06, 2014, 02:31:32 PM

What do you call cyclists who ride illegally 3 and 4 abreast on main roads, apart from a shower of c***ts?

Shower of c***ts works for me.
Post by: ballinaman on June 06, 2014, 02:42:34 PM
I cycle the odd time through the city and you need your wits about you, taxi drivers are the worst...lethal.

Some cyclists are gobshites too, all over the road. Fat arse boulevard coming up Gardiner street as I call it, wobbling coming home from work in the IFSC. Saw a Garda pulling over a cyclist the last day who ran a red light, was very enjoyable to see!

Post by: ballinaman on June 06, 2014, 02:44:01 PM

Didn't that that was illegal? Any of the cycling crew know more about this...mayo4sam?
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:46:10 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 06, 2014, 02:42:34 PM
I cycle the odd time through the city and you need your wits about you, taxi drivers are the worst...lethal.

Some cyclists are gobshites too, all over the road. Fat arse boulevard coming up Gardiner street as I call it, wobbling coming home from work in the IFSC. Saw a Garda pulling over a cyclist the last day who ran a red light, was very enjoyable to see!

Good for the guard. I'm endlessly baffled by the shortcuts some cyclists seem to think is their privilege. Wait for the poxy light!
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2014, 02:46:55 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 06, 2014, 02:44:01 PM

Didn't that that was illegal? Any of the cycling crew know more about this...mayo4sam?

I thought it was illegal to cycle more than two abreast. Could be wrong. At the very least it's bad form.
Post by: Zip Code on June 06, 2014, 03:13:45 PM
Section 66 of the UK Highway code.

You should

keep both hands on the handlebars except when signalling or changing gear
keep both feet on the pedals
never ride more than two abreast, and ride in single file on narrow or busy roads and when riding round bends
not ride close behind another vehicle
not carry anything which will affect your balance or may get tangled up with your wheels or chain
be considerate of other road users, particularly blind and partially sighted pedestrians. Let them know you are there when necessary, for example, by ringing your bell if you have one. It is recommended that a bell be fitted.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 16, 2014, 05:36:33 PM

Only seeing this now, it is legal to cycle two abreast on all roads in Ireland (Other than motorways)

Originally Posted by S.I. No. 294/1964 - Road Traffic General Bye-Laws, 1964

29.—(1) A pedal cyclist shall not, save when overtaking other pedal cyclists (and then only if to do so will not endanger other traffic or pedestrians) drive a pedal cycle on a roadway in such a manner as to result in more than two pedal cycles driving abreast.

(2) Pedal cyclists on a roadway shall cycle in single file when overtaking other traffic.

This means you may cycle two abreast. You can cycle three abreast while overtaking, but only when a.) the overtaking cyclists are cycling in single file and the overtaken cyclists are two abreasts and b.) the overtaking manoeuvre is not endangering other road users.

So for riding single file on a narrow road, you literally could not do a more dangerous thing.
If there is enough room or clear road in front of you then its enough to pass two cyclists the same as it is to pass one.
Singling out invites cars to pass you while there is on-coming cars, if they get it wrong there is only going to be one loser, they will hit the cyclist rather than the pile of metal coming the opposite direction.
Cyclists should act as traffic at all times because they are traffic, demand respect and your space on the road and you'll get it.
You do need a thick skin for all the abuse you get but a big smile and a nice wave goes a long way towards pissing these c***ts off.

It would definitely distinguish between cyclists and commuters, commuters are arseholes who put themselves and other at risk by breaking the ROTR and give cyclists a bad name
Post by: thebigfella on July 16, 2014, 05:59:38 PM
Quote from: Zip Code on June 06, 2014, 03:13:45 PM
Section 66 of the UK Highway code.

You should

keep both hands on the handlebars except when signalling or changing gear
keep both feet on the pedals
never ride more than two abreast, and ride in single file on narrow or busy roads and when riding round bends
not ride close behind another vehicle
not carry anything which will affect your balance or may get tangled up with your wheels or chain
be considerate of other road users, particularly blind and partially sighted pedestrians. Let them know you are there when necessary, for example, by ringing your bell if you have one. It is recommended that a bell be fitted.

Only (UK) rules with the MUST/MUST NOT are a legal requirement.
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2014, 09:04:33 PM

Some cyclists are gobs but that does not detract from that motorists are at fault in about 80%  to 90% of collisions with cyclists. That's why cyclists in many european urban areas are protected from these road users.
From the UK stats for 2012 (where lethal taxis also get a mention)
http://www.rospa.com/roadsafety/advice/cycling/info/cycling_accidents_factsheet.pdf (http://www.rospa.com/roadsafety/advice/cycling/info/cycling_accidents_factsheet.pdf)

'In a quarter of fatal cyclist accidents, the front of the vehicle hit the rear of the bicycle'.

'iAbout one quarter of accidents resulting in serious injury to a cyclist involved an HGV, bus or coach ,,passing too close‟ to the rider.
'cyclist crosses the road at a pedestrian crossing), which was recorded in about 20% serious collisions (and over one third of serious collisions involving child cyclists).
Post by: thewobbler on July 16, 2014, 09:15:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2014, 09:04:33 PM

Some cyclists are gobs but that does not detract from that motorists are at fault in about 80%  to 90% of collisions with cyclists. That's why cyclists in many european urban areas are protected from these road users.
http://www.rospa.com/roadsafety/advice/cycling/info/cycling_accidents_factsheet.pdf (http://www.rospa.com/roadsafety/advice/cycling/info/cycling_accidents_factsheet.pdf)

'In a quarter of fatal cyclist accidents, the front of the vehicle hit the rear of the bicycle'.

'iAbout one quarter of accidents resulting in serious injury to a cyclist involved an HGV, bus or coach ,,passing too close‟ to the rider.
'cyclist crosses the road at a pedestrian crossing), which was recorded in about 20% serious collisions (and over one third of serious collisions involving child cyclists).

You know, there's nothing in your ROSPA factsheet to back up your exaggerated claim.
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2014, 10:41:26 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on July 16, 2014, 09:15:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 16, 2014, 09:04:33 PM

You know, there's nothing in your ROSPA factsheet to back up your exaggerated claim.
Then how can you say the claim is exaggerated? :)
However my interpretation is definitely biased as i have a distaste for the usual reactionary rants against travellers, immigrants cyclists, and  even Nordies on the odd occasion.

When verified prats like Boris johnson and Rod Liddle came out publicly http://twowheelsgood-fourwheelsbad.blogspot.com/2013_11_01_archive.html (http://twowheelsgood-fourwheelsbad.blogspot.com/2013_11_01_archive.html) with the oft repeated nonsense about cyclists being responsible for the majority of fatalities / serious injuries involving a collision between a vehicle and cyclists, police records became the subject of closer scrutiny where it was revealed amongst many things that cyclists were adjudged to be at fault for 6% of those serious accidents / fatalities.
Post by: ballinaman on July 31, 2015, 02:33:29 PM
Update....strong language NSFW

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PFRdEUN240
Post by: laoislad on July 31, 2015, 02:56:25 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Post by: ballinaman on July 31, 2015, 03:02:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 31, 2015, 02:56:25 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Agreed. Great finish to the video though. I'd give it 7 thumbs up.
Post by: theskull1 on July 31, 2015, 03:02:31 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 31, 2015, 02:33:29 PM

Too late ... I'm offended. I'm on my way with a go pro to pull you up on it.

The language in that video was fc*kable altogether
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2015, 05:53:41 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 31, 2015, 03:02:31 PM

This sort of crap happens all the time on the Canal Bank at Poyntzpass. The Canal Bank is a road used on a daily basis by families, workers and farmers. It is a single lane, and for the past couple of years it is also a cycle path. The arrogance of some cyclists is astounding. Some won't pull over, or give way to cars or tractors. If any cyclist hits a car or tractor it is the driver who takes the blame, not the cyclist, because the latter has no insurance. A little bit of care from all cyclists would be great. By the way, I'm also a keen cyclist.
Post by: bennydorano on July 31, 2015, 06:17:00 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Complete & utter.

He's not highlighting motorists bad behaviour, he's going out of his way to wind him up. Doing a dis-service to cyclists imo.
Post by: gallsman on July 31, 2015, 06:30:32 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 31, 2015, 06:17:00 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Complete & utter.

He's not highlighting motorists bad behaviour, he's going out of his way to wind him up. Doing a dis-service to cyclists imo.

Was the car all that close to him to begin with?! He gave him 4 feet or so.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 31, 2015, 09:05:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 31, 2015, 06:30:32 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 31, 2015, 06:17:00 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Complete & utter.

Was the car all that close to him to begin with?! He gave him 4 feet or so.

I thought that as well, seemed like he had loads of room
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 31, 2015, 09:30:45 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
They all are. The cnuts aren't paying road tax on their bikes so should be forced by the Highway Code to ride in single file and let road tax payers get about their business. Same applies to farmers.
Post by: andoireabu on July 31, 2015, 09:38:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 31, 2015, 09:30:45 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
They all are. The cnuts aren't paying road tax on their bikes so should be forced by the Highway Code to ride in single file and let road tax payers get about their business. Same applies to farmers.
is road tax not based on emissions? So unless the cyclist is farting something really bad he wouldn't be paying road tax anyway?  Think they should have a licence plate for identifying offenders and pay some sort of insurance for scratches and things like that they may cause. Are there not privacy laws on putting up films with people's faces and number plates etc?
Post by: snoopdog on July 31, 2015, 09:58:16 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on July 31, 2015, 09:38:44 PM

That cyclist is a knob.
is road tax not based on emissions? So unless the cyclist is farting something really bad he wouldn't be paying road tax anyway?  Think they should have a licence plate for identifying offenders and pay some sort of insurance for scratches and things like that they may cause. Are there not privacy laws on putting up films with people's faces and number plates etc?
[/quote
That cyclist is a twat. He Prob Wears The Camera And Goes Looking For Confrontations.  The guy gave him tons of room .   As for road tax? I think it's motor tax now. If it was a tax for the road everyone would pay the same.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 31, 2015, 11:03:12 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 31, 2015, 03:02:03 PM
That cyclist is a knob.
Agreed. Great finish to the video though. I'd give it 7 thumbs up.

Very good finish to the video, you don't expect it. There's plenty of people like this driver in England.
Post by: grounded on August 01, 2015, 01:14:19 AM
That cyclist is a knob.

Feckin A and don't get me started about those ambulances, driving around with their flashing lights thinkin they own the road.   ;)
Post by: Windmill abu on August 01, 2015, 02:23:39 AM
That cyclist is a knob.

Feckin A and don't get me started about those ambulances, driving around with their flashing lights thinkin they own the road.

ambulances should only flash their lights when,

1. going to or leaving an emergency situation when rapid response is called for.

2. transporting a seriously/critically ill patient when time is of the essence.

3. When there is danger of the drivers dinner going cold.

QuoteHe's not highlighting motorists bad behaviour, he's going out of his way to wind him up. Doing a dis-service to cyclists imo.

Cyclists who upload these incidents should also have to upload their videos of attempted motorist baiting while trying to get their self justifying moment of glory.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 01, 2015, 11:26:15 AM
That cyclist is a knob.

If you're paying road tax u need to talk to someone, they abolished it nearly a century ago in Ireland.

Instead it's just normal tax that goes to upkeep the road, which cyclists pay, gives them the right to use it

What you actually pay for ur car is motor tax, based on the size of ur motor and emissions. A bike has none.

Since I first got up on a bike or a tractor I've been used to c***ts like you thinking I've no right to be on the road, may you get stuck behind every tractor and bike in Ireland
Post by: grounded on August 01, 2015, 03:04:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2015, 05:53:41 PM

This sort of crap happens all the time on the Canal Bank at Poyntzpass. The Canal Bank is a road used on a daily basis by families, workers and farmers. It is a single lane, and for the past couple of years it is also a cycle path. The arrogance of some cyclists is astounding. Some won't pull over, or give way to cars or tractors. If any cyclist hits a car or tractor it is the driver who takes the blame, not the cyclist, because the latter has no insurance. A little bit of care from all cyclists would be great. By the way, I'm also a keen cyclist.

Many do have insurance, certainly those who do a lot of cycling, but in general you are right most casual cyclists would not.
I regularly cycle that road/towpath from Newry to Portadown. On that section I'd always pull in to let local traffic by. Though I have seen groups of cyclists and individuals who will not. I've also seen cars plough on past cyclists forcing them off the road. Like others have said, you have good and bad cyclists just like you have good and bad drivers. Unfortunately when there is an accident between the two the cyclist is inevitably going to come off worse(injury wise). A little common sense and courteousy goes a long way.

What does annoy me on the tow path itself are large groups of cyclists travelling at high speeds in pairs as if it was the road. There is quite often families with young children or people walking dogs on the path. There are a number of blind corners and at times the path is quite narrow, its just not safe to use it as you would the open road.
                     The worst I seen was the Maracycle this year. The path wasn't closed and any pedestrians/families etc. were forced off the path as a hundred or so cyclists most in pairs and some riding three abreast passed along the section from Scarva to Jerrettspass. I'm amazed that there wasn't an accident. I was cycling towards Portadown and I was told a few times by the oncoming cyclists to get off the path. At one particular bad corner I passed a number of elderly people who were out walking. I tried warning a big group of 20+ oncoming cyclists to slow down but was told to 'F*#k right off'. I'm not sure if it was the organiser's fault or the participants not obeying their own guidelines but it was bad craic.

Paradoxically many cyclists are drawn to use the tow path because they feel threatened by other road user's behaviour, yet some of them are demonstrating the same behaviour to pedestrians on the path!       
Post by: bennydorano on August 01, 2015, 04:02:32 PM
I despise that Towpath, I avoid it at all costs, dangerous for pedestrians & cyclists, shower of rain and it's slippy as fook too, not to mention the glass etc on sections near villages / riding / drinking spots.
Post by: JimStynes on August 01, 2015, 04:30:19 PM
Sportives like the Maracycle attracts a lot of people who aren't used to cycling in big groups or in the road in general. The standard of cycling at these things is atrocious. I was taking part in one this year in Fermanagh and the amount of cyclists who went through red lights, were all over the road, not calling pot holes etc was unbelievable. I really expected that someone would have been killed or seriously injured. Most of the cycling clubs that I have seen would show some common courtesy and would very rarely if ever use the likes of the tow path, too dangerous and not made for big groups. The single file thing annoys drivers but the reality is if you go single file then drivers will try and squeeze past you and either put you in the hedge or nearly hit you with the car. There is no cycling infrastructure or culture here so people don't show any patience or respect for cyclists. Go to France, Spain, Belgium, Italy, Holland etc and it's a different world for cyclists.
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2015, 07:45:00 PM
Quote from: grounded on August 01, 2015, 03:04:39 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2015, 05:53:41 PM

Many do have insurance, certainly those who do a lot of cycling, but in general you are right most casual cyclists would not.
I regularly cycle that road/towpath from Newry to Portadown. On that section I'd always pull in to let local traffic by. Though I have seen groups of cyclists and individuals who will not. I've also seen cars plough on past cyclists forcing them off the road. Like others have said, you have good and bad cyclists just like you have good and bad drivers. Unfortunately when there is an accident between the two the cyclist is inevitably going to come off worse(injury wise). A little common sense and courteousy goes a long way.

What does annoy me on the tow path itself are large groups of cyclists travelling at high speeds in pairs as if it was the road. There is quite often families with young children or people walking dogs on the path. There are a number of blind corners and at times the path is quite narrow, its just not safe to use it as you would the open road.
                     The worst I seen was the Maracycle this year. The path wasn't closed and any pedestrians/families etc. were forced off the path as a hundred or so cyclists most in pairs and some riding three abreast passed along the section from Scarva to Jerrettspass. I'm amazed that there wasn't an accident. I was cycling towards Portadown and I was told a few times by the oncoming cyclists to get off the path. At one particular bad corner I passed a number of elderly people who were out walking. I tried warning a big group of 20+ oncoming cyclists to slow down but was told to 'F*#k right off'. I'm not sure if it was the organiser's fault or the participants not obeying their own guidelines but it was bad craic.

Paradoxically many cyclists are drawn to use the tow path because they feel threatened by other road user's behaviour, yet some of them are demonstrating the same behaviour to pedestrians on the path!     

*searches for the Like button*
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2015, 10:39:24 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 01, 2015, 11:26:15 AM
That cyclist is a knob.

If you're paying road tax u need to talk to someone, they abolished it nearly a century ago in Ireland.

Instead it's just normal tax that goes to upkeep the road, which cyclists pay, gives them the right to use it

What you actually pay for ur car is motor tax, based on the size of ur motor and emissions. A bike has none.

Since I first got up on a bike or a tractor I've been used to c***ts like you thinking I've no right to be on the road, may you get stuck behind every tractor and bike in Ireland
Well if you are on your bike son be prepared to come a distant second in any encounter you have with mine or any other vehicle. The hedge is the place for cyclists.
Post by: Gaffer on August 01, 2015, 10:59:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2015, 10:39:24 PM
That cyclist is a knob.

Well if you are on your bike son be prepared to come a distant second in any encounter you have with mine or any other vehicle. The hedge is the place for cyclists.

He's from Mayo. Well used to coming a distant second !!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 02, 2015, 04:13:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 01, 2015, 10:39:24 PM
That cyclist is a knob.

Luckily they're jailing c***ts like you now

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/man-who-pushed-boy-off-bicycle-sentenced-to-10-months-in-jail-1.2264289