Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on September 29, 2012, 04:53:59 PM

Title: Ulster Covenant march
Post by: Minder on September 29, 2012, 04:53:59 PM
I had to go into Belfast City centre this morning on unavoidable business and have to say i have never seen so many scumbags in my life. Hoors standing beside the peelers drinking their carryouts on Royal Avenue, i thought that wasnt allowed.

Must have cost a fortune to police it and clean up after it, should they not have to contribute to the clean up costs ?
Title: Re: Ulster Covenant march
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 05:16:05 PM
Had to laugh at the News Letter headline during the week "Covenant Parade is for Everyone".

Haven't heard too much from the Shinners??  They must have negotiated some march for Easter 2016!! ;)
Post by: theticklemister on September 29, 2012, 05:20:36 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 05:16:05 PM
Had to laugh at the News Letter headline during the week "Covenant Parade is for Everyone".

Haven't heard too much from the Shinners??  They must have negotiated some march for Easter 2016!! ;)

they took part in it the day sure  ;) ;) ;)
Post by: SHEEDY on September 29, 2012, 05:51:23 PM
coat trailing sectarian scumbags. no use in having a parade if you cant annoy people along the route.
Post by: red hander on September 29, 2012, 06:47:24 PM
But it's their culture, so it is
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2012, 07:05:35 PM
Kids were off at different parties today so me and the wife decided to head into Belfast for some food, a good deal to, 2 courses for a tenner at the Northern Whig, to my amazement plenty of parking around there and I parked facing John Hewitt's. In the space of about 20 minutes the place was covered with police and I could hear a rumbling and 30 plus bands marched past the bar, thought I was on the Shankill, prams being pushed by Union Jack mothers carrying blue bags filled with WKD bottles, flags a waving all over the place.

Some culture alright, finished off with two band lads pissing in the corner of the street with the police in full view, and did nowt.

Post by: Maguire01 on September 29, 2012, 07:18:09 PM
I see the delightful Nick Griffin made the journey.
Post by: Abble on September 29, 2012, 07:38:10 PM
I'd say the boys responsible for the signing of the ulster covenant would have been right and proud of what was out on the streets today celebrating them.
Post by: armaghniac on September 29, 2012, 08:23:34 PM
Quote from: Abble on September 29, 2012, 07:38:10 PM
I'd say the boys responsible for the signing of the ulster covenant would have been right and proud of what was out on the streets today celebrating them.

Abble, are you implying that these
(http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/561690_288411057930416_1877339343_n.jpg)

would not have been proud of these?
(http://images.huffingtonpost.com/gadgets/slideshows/253687/slide_253687_1582288_free.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2012, 08:30:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 29, 2012, 08:23:34 PM
Quote from: Abble on September 29, 2012, 07:38:10 PM

Abble, are you implying that these
(http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn1/561690_288411057930416_1877339343_n.jpg)

would not have been proud of these?
(http://images.huffingtonpost.com/gadgets/slideshows/253687/slide_253687_1582288_free.jpg)
Looks like Cushendall's own Cathal McNaughton wearing a dodgy hat on the right.
Post by: give her dixie on September 29, 2012, 08:57:11 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on September 29, 2012, 07:18:09 PM

Nick Griffin MEP@nickgriffinmep

So Ulster pics have upset my Republican stalkers. Tell you what, the bodran can't match the lambeg, you Fenian bastards.
Post by: seafoid on September 29, 2012, 08:59:35 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on September 29, 2012, 08:57:11 PM

So Ulster pics have upset my Republican stalkers. Tell you what, the bodran can't match the lambeg, you Fenian b**tards.
I never heard any decent music played on a lambeg
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 29, 2012, 09:03:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 29, 2012, 08:59:35 PM

So Ulster pics have upset my Republican stalkers. Tell you what, the bodran can't match the lambeg, you Fenian b**tards.
I never heard any decent music played on a lambeg

Poor oul Nick can't spell Bodhrán correctly.  ::)
Post by: CiKe on September 29, 2012, 09:04:05 PM

Did he really say that? Not just a bigot, also tone deaf.
Post by: armaghniac on September 29, 2012, 09:13:06 PM
While I am in the picture posting mood, count the crowd

Anti Sunningdale 1974
(http://www.angelfire.com/folk/ulster_explained/SUN1974.jpg)

Monster covenant march 2012
(http://cdn.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/dynamic/00715/car_715716c.jpg)

Post by: bennydorano on September 29, 2012, 09:22:16 PM
Jimmy Young was a visionary, Orange Lil will never be dead with the likes of those 2 trouts knockin about.
Post by: T Fearon on September 29, 2012, 09:24:07 PM
What I don't understand is that if educational standards (and are) so low among the Protestant/unionist working classes,how did they rustle up hundreds of thousands of literate signatories in 1912?
Post by: LeoMc on September 29, 2012, 10:40:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 29, 2012, 09:24:07 PM
What I don't understand is that if educational standards (and are) so low among the Protestant/unionist working classes,how did they rustle up hundreds of thousands of literate signatories in 1912?

They had to go to Liverpool and York, which kinda dilutes the achievement.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2012, 11:35:38 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 29, 2012, 10:40:23 PM

Was Carson not a Trinity student?
Post by: ziggysego on September 30, 2012, 01:04:38 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 29, 2012, 11:35:38 PM

He was and a Dubliner. Not the band...
Post by: stephenite on September 30, 2012, 02:51:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 30, 2012, 01:04:38 AM

And a hurler
Post by: seafoid on September 30, 2012, 09:17:20 AM
That whole rule Britannia/ blood covenant shtick is very tired now, 100 years on.
Dole in England is 60 quid per week for a single person. Huge cuts on welfare are coming down the line. People are going to be evicted from council housing. Food banks are being set up to catch those who can't feed themselves on benefits.
The Royal Navy is down on ships. The economic future of the UK is very uncertain. The City needs to be reined in but there is no growth engine to replace it.

Norn Irn is a money drain . For all their loyalty the Unionists don't add much in value. The key element of this economic  crisis is how it has shattered schemes and understandings of how things work. I wonder how secure NI's place in the union really is .

It will be very interesting to see how it all pans out.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 09:20:40 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 30, 2012, 09:17:20 AM
That whole rule Britannia/ blood covenant shtick is very tired now, 100 years on.
Dole in England is 60 quid per week for a single person. Huge cuts on welfare are coming down the line. People are going to be evicted from council housing. Food banks are being set up to catch those who can't feed themselves on benefits.
The Royal Navy is down on ships. The economic future of the UK is very uncertain. The City needs to be reined in but there is no growth engine to replace it.

Norn Irn is a money drain . For all their loyalty the Unionists don't add much in value. The key element of this economic  crisis is how it has shattered schemes and understandings of how things work. I wonder how secure NI's place in the union really is .

It seems that their Britishness and marching fetish trumps all other concerns. That is of course unless you can make money off the back of the threat of violence due to marching restrictions.
Post by: orangeman on September 30, 2012, 09:22:13 AM

As an orangeman, I'm very worried about my future in the union. So should the other orangemen.
Post by: screenexile on September 30, 2012, 09:48:19 AM
Quote from: orangeman on September 30, 2012, 09:22:13 AM

As an orangeman, I'm very worried about my future in the union. So should the other orangemen.

This issue is going to raise its head at some stage! The Brits can't afford to keep us and the Free State can't afford to take us in ... what happens then? We fend for ourselves? We're fucked!
Post by: AQMP on September 30, 2012, 11:46:15 AM

There were around 3,000 signatories from Dublin.  Big numbers from Scotland and England too
Post by: GAA_Talk on September 30, 2012, 11:58:55 AM
Quote from: CiKe on September 29, 2012, 09:04:05 PM

Did he really say that? Not just a bigot, also tone deaf.

He did aye. Had to go and check his twitter. His latest post reads, "recorded interview with BBC Radio Ulster. Going out at 12.20. Republican grievance machine wants 'apology'. If their skins were any thinner they'd leak green slime all over Stormont carpets they share with DUP sell-out bastards".

Don't hold back Nick, tell us how you really feel.
Post by: Bensars on September 30, 2012, 12:05:20 PM
Quote from: stephenite on September 30, 2012, 02:51:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 30, 2012, 01:04:38 AM

And a hurler

Was the hurling  aspect not an urban myth ?  I know SF have used his name for the competition up on the hill, but thought i heard or read somewhere that his Hurling credentials where hugely exaggerated. Open to correction
Post by: AQMP on September 30, 2012, 12:20:33 PM
Carson was born in 1854 which means he would have been at Trinity in the early 1870s.  Would there have been a hurling club at Trinity in 1870??  I read somewhere that the game played at Trinity was more akin to hockey than hurling and would have borne little or no resemblance to "modern" hurling.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2012, 01:47:27 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 30, 2012, 12:20:33 PM
Carson was born in 1854 which means he would have been at Trinity in the early 1870s.  Would there have been a hurling club at Trinity in 1870?? I read somewhere that the game played at Trinity was more akin to hockey than hurling and would have borne little or no resemblance to "modern" hurling.
I heard that myself.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 30, 2012, 01:51:59 PM
and another breach of a Parade Commission ruling.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19776951
It's hard to see who exactly the PPS could pin the breach on here, or what they could do about it.

It's about time the legislation was amended to deter the likes of this. Make the parade organisers hand over a deposit for every parade subject to a ruling and return the deposit only if there are no breaches.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2012, 09:54:53 AM
Apparently there's a photo in the IN of a Loyalist bandsman relieving himself against the gates of St Matthew's RC Church.

Exactly how stupid are these people?
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 10:02:23 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2012, 09:54:53 AM
Apparently there's a photo in the IN of a Loyalist bandsman relieving himself against the gates of St Matthew's RC Church.

Surely that is in line with the Orange Order's objectives of Protestant supremacy?
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2012, 10:07:41 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2012, 10:02:23 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2012, 09:54:53 AM

Surely that is in line with the Orange Order's objectives of Protestant supremacy?
True. Though I thought this was fulfilled by playing the Sash but I thought wrong. Time the Sally rods cleaned up their act
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 01, 2012, 10:12:23 AM
Carson hurled Fitzgibbon for Trinity the same year that Socrates played in the Sigerson with UCD.

Post by: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:17:31 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on October 01, 2012, 10:12:23 AM
Carson hurled Fitzgibbon for Trinity the same year that Socrates played in the Sigerson with UCD.

Was he studying Economics? That could be why the Greek economy is fcuked!
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 10:20:25 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19784052

Post by: seafoid on October 01, 2012, 10:42:21 AM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 10:20:25 AM

Is there anywhere else in Europe that does parades like Norn Irn ? That has provocative songs that are designed to wind up certain groups and do so very successfully ? 

And WTF is the point of singing hymns on a parade? 
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 10:44:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 01, 2012, 10:42:21 AM

Is there anywhere else in Europe that does parades like Norn Irn ? That has provocative songs that are designed to wind up certain groups and do so very successfully ? 

seafoid, do you not know that the Orange Order is primarily a religious and cultural organisation...
Post by: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:48:27 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 29, 2012, 09:13:06 PM

Anti Sunningdale 1974

Only 30,000 of them!!!
You would have got more on the pitch after the all-Ireland if it wasn't for them pesky barriers.
Post by: seafoid on October 01, 2012, 10:54:08 AM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 10:44:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 01, 2012, 10:42:21 AM

seafoid, do you not know that the Orange Order is primarily a religious and cultural organisation...

It all looks like it needs a makeover . Maybe it made sense in 1912.
Post by: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 11:01:50 AM

When I first saw the headline I thought it was an apology from the other Nelson. Now that would have been news.
Post by: T Fearon on October 01, 2012, 11:21:38 AM
Looking forward to the next Parades Commission determination either banning pissing altogether or restricting numbers permitted to piss ;D
Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 01, 2012, 04:04:09 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 01, 2012, 11:21:38 AM
Looking forward to the next Parades Commission determination either banning pissing altogether or restricting numbers permitted to piss ;D

Doesn't really matter a shite. As has been proved recently, the Parades Commission continues to makes absolutely unenforceable, toothless determinations, which are then freely walked all over by the Orange Order & their coat-trailing supporters, while the cops ignore what's going on & force them through the flashpoint. Nothing ever really changes, does it?
Post by: lawnseed on October 01, 2012, 06:29:22 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:48:27 AM

Anti Sunningdale 1974

Only 30,000 of them!!!
You would have got more on the pitch after the all-Ireland if it wasn't for them pesky barriers.
i have some difficulty with the crowd estimates at these orangey gatherings. i was talking to a lad who was working in keady at the twelth were the crowd was claimed to be 20000 he reckons 2 or 3 thousand at the most in fact they had to bus the bands from the field back to the start of the march because there were not enough bands. i'm comparing belfast to clones on ulster final day i reckon there were about 10000 in belfast.

we should not forget that these marches are specifically designed to annoy  irish/catholic/nationalist/republican people and guess what the existance of this thread proves that they work. i'm pissed off. i know that i should rise above it.. be the bigger man.. ignore these idiots.. but dont you just want to wade into them with the boots flying?? would you ever get tired of kickin that big fukr with the drum?? just lock me in a room with him for 30 secs.. thats all i want.. 30secs >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 01, 2012, 07:52:50 PM
These lads are big fookers, they'd knock your pan in ffs
Post by: michaelg on October 01, 2012, 08:10:34 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on October 01, 2012, 06:29:22 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:48:27 AM

Anti Sunningdale 1974

Only 30,000 of them!!!
i have some difficulty with the crowd estimates at these orangey gatherings. i was talking to a lad who was working in keady at the twelth were the crowd was claimed to be 20000 he reckons 2 or 3 thousand at the most in fact they had to bus the bands from the field back to the start of the march because there were not enough bands. i'm comparing belfast to clones on ulster final day i reckon there were about 10000 in belfast.

we should not forget that these marches are specifically designed to annoy  irish/catholic/nationalist/republican people and guess what the existance of this thread proves that they work. i'm pissed off. i know that i should rise above it.. be the bigger man.. ignore these idiots.. but dont you just want to wade into them with the boots flying?? would you ever get tired of kickin that big fukr with the drum?? just lock me in a room with him for 30 secs.. thats all i want.. 30secs >:( >:( >:(
Don't flatter yourself.  Although no fan of the Orange Order or marches generally, I wouldn't say they are specifically designed to annoy irish/catholic/nationalist/republican people. 
Post by: bennydorano on October 01, 2012, 08:47:18 PM
Thought the Irish News was a bit OTT with faux outrage, really was sensationalist rubbish when you realise the genuine trouble that has gone b4. Unpalatable as Saturday's march was, it wasn't that bad.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 01, 2012, 09:37:18 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 01, 2012, 08:47:18 PM
Thought the Irish News was a bit OTT with faux outrage, really was sensationalist rubbish when you realise the genuine trouble that has gone b4. Unpalatable as Saturday's march was, it wasn't that bad.
What other society in Europe would accept that bullshit that went on at the weekend and over the 12th? Granted there's been a hell of a lot worse, that doesn't make it ok.

The reprobates that make up the loyal orders need dragged into the 21st century and the more publicity that is given to their anti-social behaviour the better. The PC are spineless and the PSNI sit back and watch year after year and tend to do fcuk all. Then we have so-called leaders in Peter Robinson, who says nothing at all and in fact encourages marchers to defy PC rulings (in his own constituency no less)

Fair play Irish News no one should have to put up with marching shite in the first place but if they do they should at least be afforded some basic respect. If my parish church was pissed on like that in broad daylight while police watched on I'd be pretty fucked off.
Post by: thewobbler on October 01, 2012, 09:51:57 PM
I've a 5 year plan which would more or less remove the blight of marching.

Year 1: ignore all marching activity
Year 2: Ignore all marching activity
Year 3: Ignore all marching activity
Year 4: Poke gentle fun at marching when they're not marching, otherwise ignore
Year 5: Ignore all marching and avoid talking about it all.

When we get to year 6, they'll all have gone away apart from a handful each year at Scarva.

This WILL work.
Post by: bennydorano on October 01, 2012, 09:53:29 PM
True & fair points, I've been anethnatised to their behaviour, so when they are only mildly badly behaved it doesn't register.
Post by: ziggysego on October 01, 2012, 09:54:42 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 01, 2012, 09:51:57 PM

When we get to year 6, they'll all have gone away apart from a handful each year at Scarva.

This WILL work.

(http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/25800927.jpg)
Post by: theskull1 on October 01, 2012, 11:03:25 PM

This WILL work.

I think this is the the very best way forward. All the contentious areas should come to arrangements that some funding is offered for family friendly activities to take communities away for the afternoon. Those that cant make it ....just close the blinds and ignore them.
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2012, 12:03:12 AM
Let them fund the security, it'll be restricted to one day a year after that.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 02, 2012, 07:03:19 AM

This WILL work.

We did it that way on our road for years. Shut the blinds and pay no heed to them. Nowadays they don't bother their heads marching. Probably sitting in the house watching the Formula 1, washing the motor, riding, or on a good day all three.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 02, 2012, 09:03:12 AM
Scum the lot of them.
I reckon all these "grants" for bonfires, bands and parades need to be scrapped first off and each parade should have to pay for the policing and cleanup operations incurred.
That would soon put a bit of manners in the shower of inbreds. See how "British" or traditional they are when they have to pay their own way.
Post by: Windmill abu on October 02, 2012, 11:17:40 PM
QuoteDon't flatter yourself.  Although no fan of the Orange Order or marches generally, I wouldn't say they are specifically designed to annoy irish/catholic/nationalist/republican people.

Then don't hold them where they are not welcome

Post by: EC Unique on October 02, 2012, 11:47:48 PM
On spotlight tonight the bloke from the PSNI suggested that funding the policing of the events needs to be  looked at. In excess of £6m this year. What a waste. Let the organisers of the march pay for it as said above. 
Post by: gallsman on October 03, 2012, 12:00:58 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on October 02, 2012, 11:47:48 PM
On spotlight tonight the bloke from the PSNI suggested that funding the policing of the events needs to be  looked at. In excess of £6m this year. What a waste. Let the organisers of the march pay for it as said above.

Would absolutely agree with that proposal - like football clubs in England. The OO would surely never accept it though.
Post by: bailestil on October 03, 2012, 09:28:39 AM
Serious Questions.

Why do Marchers wear white gloves?
Why do Bands wear Military Uniforms?
What does the average orangeman do 13th July - 11th july?
How often do the meet up? Is it like a prayer group or what?

I genuinely have no idea.
Post by: HiMucker on October 03, 2012, 09:59:49 AM
Quote from: bailestil on October 03, 2012, 09:28:39 AM
Serious Questions.

Q1 White gloves are worn to protect their hands from their own piss whilst urinating against catholic churches/homes.  If any yellow stains show up on the gloves they know that they are not hydrated enough and must get more liquid on board for other stops/targets on the route.

Q2 Military uniforms are only worn as there is a genuine shortage of penis costumes.  Many have already been bought by halloween enthusiasts in Derry. 

Q3 On the 11th they work themselves up into a taig hating frenzy by watching "The Devils Own" and "Michael Collins"  Some bandsmen may practice "Trumboning" or Dutch trumpets on this night with each other.  Others will play small sided games, like tossing their bowler hats on to other members erections.  On the 13th they take a few blood pressure tablets before attending A&E for chest pain.

Q4 They meet up very sunday in a Field a ear shot away for Gaelic football match

This is all allegedly BTW and is meant as tongue in cheek so I will insert a wee  ;D just to keep any would be offence takers at bay

Post by: J OGorman on October 03, 2012, 10:12:02 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 03, 2012, 09:59:49 AM
Serious Questions.

Q1 White gloves are worn to protect their hands from their own piss whilst urinating against catholic churches/homes.  If any yellow stains show up on the gloves they know that they are not hydrated enough and must get more liquid on board for other stops/targets on the route.

Q2 Military uniforms are only worn as there is a genuine shortage of penis costumes.  Many have already been bought by halloween enthusiasts in Derry. 

Q3 On the 11th they work themselves up into a taig hating frenzy by watching "The Devils Own" and "Michael Collins"  Some bandsmen may practice "Trumboning" or Dutch trumpets on this night with each other.  Others will play small sided games, like tossing their bowler hats on to other members erections.  On the 13th they take a few blood pressure tablets before attending A&E for chest pain.

Q4 They meet up very sunday in a Field a ear shot away for Gaelic football match

This is all allegedly BTW and is meant as tongue in cheek so I will insert a wee  ;D just to keep any would be offence takers at bay

I am laughing, good craic
Post by: Cold tea on October 03, 2012, 10:13:34 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on October 03, 2012, 09:59:49 AM
Serious Questions.

That made me laugh out loud.
Post by: HiMucker on October 03, 2012, 10:34:19 AM
There was a few spelling mistakes there due to alot of minimising, as a grand master of one the lodges in Donegal sits beside me in work.  Im not kidding!!  Has to be said he is a sound fella and doesnt seem to have a bitter bone in his body.  Which confuses me, as the OO is sectarian by its very makeup.  Was able to help me out getting a ticket for the AI from a pal of his in the ulter scots society!!  You couldnt make it up.  I turned the soup down on principal :)
Post by: Orior on October 03, 2012, 12:40:50 PM
Is the right trail your coat through catholic areas more important than education?

Unionists seem more vociforous about their right to march along their Queen's highway, as opposed to encouraging their offspring to go to school.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19796833 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19796833)
Post by: lawnseed on October 04, 2012, 07:34:29 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2012, 12:40:50 PM
Is the right trail your coat through catholic areas more important than education?

Unionists seem more vociforous about their right to march along their Queen's highway, as opposed to encouraging their offspring to go to school.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19796833 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-19796833)

yes we dont want wee wullie to grow up to be an illiterate bigot like his father before him...
Post by: Minder on October 04, 2012, 07:37:42 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 03, 2012, 12:40:50 PM

Not sure how you can blame any politician for a child not bothering their hole going to school, that responsibility has to be with the parent(s), and that's where the problem is, too many on both sides of the house don't give a shit. This is just being used as leverage by Unionist politicians to get money pumped into the areas. Face painting classes, nonsense like that.
Post by: seafoid on December 28, 2012, 10:57:20 AM

http://www.irishtimes.com/letters/index.html#1224328225736

•   Sir, – I would not have expected anything different from John Bruton, a fully paid-up member of the EU sycophancy brigade, to come up with any other opinion than the one he espouses in his recent article in The Irish Times ("UK exit from EU would take big toll on Border area", Opinion Analysis, December 21st). He essentially suggests that the Irish diplomatic service should lobby the British government against a referendum on their relationship with the EU. A referendum, he argues, would be detrimental to the economic and cultural interests of the Border region in Ireland. This is an absurd argument on two fronts.
Firstly the British government controls the entire United Kingdom and to suggest that that government is going to base its decisions on what's best for the entire country on the interests of the 2.5 per cent of the UK population that live in Northern Ireland is plainly ludicrous. Secondly the British government is not going to pay the slightest attention to the Irish diplomatic service when it says, "Don't leave the EU as it doesn't suit us Irish!" They will say that they will take the Irish view into consideration, to be polite, but then completely ignore it. He also argues that the northern nationalists would feel more cut off from the Republic if the UK left the EU. Would that be more cut off then using a different currency, a different judicial process, a different school system, a different police force, a different system of local government, etc? Northern Ireland already consumes more than twice it earns and the gap is filled by the good people of London, Manchester, etc. The idea that northern nationalists are only champing at the bit to join the broke Republic and throw all that money away is simply wrong.

– Yours, etc,
JOE O'SULLIVAN,
Glenview,
Stamullen,
Co Meath.
Post by: red hander on December 29, 2012, 04:50:11 AM
The day northern nationalists let a Meath arsehole speak for them is the day I accept that MBE the Queen keeps trying to foist on me
Post by: Myles Na G. on December 29, 2012, 07:48:23 AM
Joe has a point. A lot of northern nationalists will want to see the sums before they vote for a united Ireland in any future border poll. Bottom line is, if it's going to mean higher taxes, fewer jobs, etc,  then we'll stick with what we have for a bit longer.
Post by: lawnseed on December 29, 2012, 09:22:22 AM
this is a strange tangent for this thread. firstly Mr bruton is a former leader of fine gael and leader of the 26 counties. his view typifies the thinking of this party and that of a great number of mexicans. infact he is typical of the standard of leader people south of the border have 'enjoyed' since partition. IE a plethora of self serving arseholes who could all be charged with treason for various reasons.
should britain leave the eu. firstly the value of stirling would rise making the south of ireland an attractive place to shop. fuel smuggling would sky rocket, etc etc.. all money for the southern economy. however since the rules regarding free trade would no longer apply customs would have to be redeployed on both side of the border the expense could cancel the advantage. i'd reckon that britain decide to quit the eu there would have to be special arrangements for trade put in place bi-laterally between roi and gb to avoid such a scenario. i dont think gb will leave the eu cameron doesnt have the balls or the support
Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2012, 01:36:02 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 29, 2012, 09:22:22 AM
Mr bruton ......is typical of the standard of leader people south of the border have 'enjoyed' since partition. IE a plethora of self serving arseholes

Unlike the North or indeed most of the rest of the world eh ??? ;)
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 05:13:28 PM
this is a strange tangent for this thread. firstly Mr bruton is a former leader of fine gael and leader of the 26 counties. his view typifies the thinking of this party and that of a great number of mexicans. infact he is typical of the standard of leader people south of the border have 'enjoyed' since partition. IE a plethora of self serving arseholes who could all be charged with treason for various reasons.
should britain leave the eu. firstly the value of stirling would rise making the south of ireland an attractive place to shop. fuel smuggling would sky rocket, etc etc.. all money for the southern economy. however since the rules regarding free trade would no longer apply customs would have to be redeployed on both side of the border the expense could cancel the advantage. i'd reckon that britain decide to quit the eu there would have to be special arrangements for trade put in place bi-laterally between roi and gb to avoid such a scenario. i dont think gb will leave the eu cameron doesnt have the balls or the support

What has Mexico got to do with the argument.
Post by: lawnseed on December 29, 2012, 08:31:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2012, 01:36:02 PM
Mr bruton ......is typical of the standard of leader people south of the border have 'enjoyed' since partition. IE a plethora of self serving arseholes

name one politician post partition TD or senator that you would give your last Rollo Rossy. Alan shatter? bruton? haughey? the healey raes perhaps? ming? edna kenny? maybe in some backwoods somewhere theres a councillor who genuinely gave a shit. but like the proverbial tr**p "give them a horse..."
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 08:55:01 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on December 29, 2012, 08:31:35 PM

name one politician post partition TD or senator that you would give your last Rollo Rossy. Alan shatter? bruton? haughey? the healey raes perhaps? ming? edna kenny? maybe in some backwoods somewhere theres a councillor who genuinely gave a shit. but like the proverbial tr**p "give them a horse..."

Obviously some of them do give a shit as recent tragic events show. But you will keep spouting your shite from Tyrone bunkerhole.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2012, 09:01:51 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 08:55:01 PM

Obviously some of them do give a shit as recent tragic events show. But you will keep spouting your shite from Tyrone bunkerhole.
Disgraceful low blow there. No need.
Post by: lawnseed on December 29, 2012, 09:32:25 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 29, 2012, 08:55:01 PM

well it doesnt effect you. you baled out a long time ago.

still waiting to give that last rollo away.. give me a name.. some one you'd blow about some one to be proud of..?