Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 02:09:59 PM

Title: Ryder Cup
Post by: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 02:09:59 PM
Well lads who will come out on top?

I think Europe will sneak it.

Europe has an advantage in away games compared to the yanks when they travel, as most of the Europeans are vastly experienced at playing in the states, while some of the Americans hardly have a stamp on their passports.

I like the way Olazabal has honoured Seve on the bag and I reckon the Europeans will want to win it for him.
Title: Re: Ryder Cup
Post by: LeoMc on September 27, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 02:09:59 PM

Europe has an advantage in away games compared to the yanks when they travel, as most of the Europeans are vastly experienced at playing in the states, while some of the Americans hardly have a stamp on their passports.

I like the way Olazabal has honoured Seve on the bag and I reckon the Europeans will want to win it for him.

That would be an advantage if the Ryder cup was in Europe but the Americans are at home and have the crowds backing them.
Post by: deiseach on September 27, 2012, 02:51:08 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on September 27, 2012, 02:26:00 PM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 02:09:59 PM

That would be an advantage if the Ryder cup was in Europe but the Americans are at home and have the crowds backing them.

I think his point is that home advantage is less of an advantage of the Yanks than to the Europeans because the Europeans are used to playing Stateside. Personally, I'm not so sure. We always hear how Americans are not used to playing in Europe when they're over here, but there's nothing un-American about venues like the Belfry, Valderrama, the K Club and Celtic Manor.

I think Europe will win it. In previous years they've been relying on a lot of team spirit waffle to get them over the finishing line, but for the first time in a generation they look to have the better players in their ranks as well. McIlroy is the best, Donald is close enough and they have some proper snarling matchplay competitors in Garcia, Poulter, Westwood and McDowell. Oh, and the team spirit thing is also there. Never mind 'doing it for Seve', they'll all want to rub America's noses in it.
Post by: Puckoon on September 27, 2012, 03:24:10 PM
As I posted below on the golf thread - I think we are going to get whupped. Based on current PGA tour form we are in danger of a hiding and I think the only thing that might save us is team spirit, the match play format and the hope that some of our higher ranked players ( the 6 guys in the 20s and upwards) play really really well. This American team is as good a team as they have sent out in a few ryder cups now... I've two different bets on with fellas from work, and I think it's going to be a costly weekend! Not to mention the rankings below were before Snedecker won the fed-ex cup. Those rankings are about a month old.

I would fear for the European team if this was a straight up stroke play 4 day tournament. Granted, I mostly watch the PGA tour, but many of the Europeans are playing week in and week out in it and while they are winning and doing well - almost all of the players in the American side have been on the front page of the leaderboard on any given Sunday.

Match play is a very different animal, and that I hope is where the European hope lies for a win. We've been hammering them in the majors, G-mac and Rory have taken some great scalps over the last two years. Sergio is coming back into form this year and Poulter's Ryder cup record is fantastic.

If Westwood and Donald can do something also, Justin Rose can rediscover some of his early 2012 form and the rest of the duffers just make themselves hard to beat - then we have a chance.

USA
1.   Tiger Woods (3)
2.   Phil Mickelson (22)
3.   Bubba Watson, ( 8  )
4.   Jason Dufner, (7)
5.   Keegan Bradley (12)
6.   Webb Simpson (5)
7.   Zach Johnson  (16)
8.   Matt Kuchar (13)
9.   Dustin Johnson (14)
10.   Jim Furyk (30)
11.   Brandt Snedeker (18)
12.   Steve Stricker (10)

Europe
Rory McIlroy (1)
Justin Rose (9)
Graeme McDowell (15)
Paul Lawrie (28)
Francesco Molinari (25)
Luke Donald (2)
Lee Westwood (4)
Sergio Garcia (17)
Peter Hanson (34)
Martin Kaymer (29)
Ian Poulter (26)
Nicolas Colsaerts (36)

I entered the official world rankings of each player there, startlingly high numbers on the European sides, and I think it puts the Stricker/Johnson debate to bed  . Dustin Johnson for his length should be winning more, but his short game has been poor.
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2012, 11:12:03 PM
Morning foursomes just announced.

Prediction:

USA 3 Europe 1
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2012, 11:15:53 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 27, 2012, 11:12:03 PM

Are you gonna tell us or do we have to guess?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:20:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 27, 2012, 11:15:53 PM

McIlroy & McDowell vs Furyk & Snedeker
Donald & Garcia vs Mickelson & Bradley
Westwood & Molinari vs Dufner & Z Johnson
Poulter & Rose vs Stricker & Woods
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:23:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:20:05 PM

Going for (updated):

EU
US
1/2
US

EU:1 1/2
US:2 1/2
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2012, 11:25:51 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:23:14 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:20:05 PM

Going for:

EU
US
Either way
US
1/2
EU
US
EU

EU 2 1/2
US 1 1/2
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2012, 11:31:09 PM
Undecided really on the last pairing. Poulter and Rose could blow hot or cold - Poulter is a good man for the matchplay and is good mates with Rose so may turn out to be a good pairing.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 12:44:44 AM
I like the look of the first two European pairings. If the crowd gets in Sergio's head again it's all over though!
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 08:56:27 AM
McIlroy & McDowell vs Furyk & Snedeker  1/2
Donald & Garcia vs Mickelson & Bradley    EU
Westwood & Molinari vs Dufner & Z Johnson  US
Poulter & Rose vs Stricker & Woods  US
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 28, 2012, 09:54:05 AM
I predict McIlroy will have a stinker!
Post by: southdown on September 28, 2012, 10:37:04 AM
What is difference between fourball, fousromes and singles (Im new to the game so excuse my ignorance)?
Post by: oisinog on September 28, 2012, 10:42:04 AM
Quote from: southdown on September 28, 2012, 10:37:04 AM
What is difference between fourball, fousromes and singles (Im new to the game so excuse my ignorance)?

In Fourball each player plays a ball and the best score wins the hole

In foursomes 1 ball is played per pairing and its stroke about best score wins the hole

singles is straight matchplay best score wins the hole
Post by: Two Hands FFS on September 28, 2012, 10:43:54 AM
Quote from: southdown on September 28, 2012, 10:37:04 AM
Foursomes they take it shot about. Player 1 takes tee shot & player 2 takes next shot.
Fourballs, both players on both teams hit their own ball & whoever has the best score wins
Singles, the 12 on each team play each other in singles match play on Sunday.

All the matches are picked by the captain(ie pairings & order you go out in..either 1st/2nd/3rd etc)so you don't know who you'll be up against in all formats
Post by: deiseach on September 28, 2012, 11:10:26 AM
The Americans (probably unofficially, it's not mentioned on the website) call foursomes 'alternate shot' and and fourball 'better ball', which encapsulates the difference between the two formats. Foursomes is the work of the devil. I remember a time when Tiger Woods looked like he wanted to murder Phil Mickelson when the latter hit his tee shot way out west. You're meant to be happy when another player does that in golf!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 28, 2012, 11:20:55 AM
Would you want to be cleaning up after Phil Mickelson's drives??
Post by: deiseach on September 28, 2012, 11:43:48 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 28, 2012, 11:20:55 AM

That's why foursomes is evil. You gotta love it.
Post by: Link on September 28, 2012, 12:14:41 PM
£5 treble on mcilroy/mcdowell, donald/garcia and woods/stricker. Pays £34

hopefully the other game is a draw. 2.5 - 1.5 after morning foursomes!
Post by: Billys Boots on September 28, 2012, 12:36:44 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 28, 2012, 11:43:48 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 28, 2012, 11:20:55 AM

That's why foursomes is evil. You gotta love it.

True, but if you want to see lads trying mad things, watch the fourballs. 
Post by: J OGorman on September 28, 2012, 12:54:06 PM
any links men?

cheers
Post by: Hound on September 28, 2012, 01:01:57 PM
Rumours that GMac struggled badly in practice yesterday, so value bet of the day might be Furyk and Sned. Although if Olly is still putting him first out, presumably he's not worried.

Wouldnt bet against Poulter & Rose. They'll push Tiger and Stricker all the way.

Interesting commentary by Monty yesterday. He said Love has ensured there's virtually no rough on the course to make it a putting contest, on the basis that Love believes its the one area where the US are significantly better than Europe.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 01:58:32 PM
Is betterball not what it's called at home now? Fourball betterball or twoball betterball?
Post by: deiseach on September 28, 2012, 02:02:39 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on September 28, 2012, 12:36:44 PM
True, but if you want to see lads trying mad things, watch the fourballs.

I know what you mean. It's great watching players really attack the hole on long putts because they know their partner has a relatively simple two-putt. Half those kind of efforts end up in greenside bunkers.
Post by: GAA_Talk on September 28, 2012, 02:16:20 PM
Some shot from Rory there!!!!
Post by: LeoMc on September 28, 2012, 03:03:33 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 28, 2012, 12:54:06 PM
any links men?

cheers

Aye, Clarke would be one from his years in Portrush.  :)
Post by: stew on September 28, 2012, 03:38:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 28, 2012, 01:01:57 PM
Rumours that GMac struggled badly in practice yesterday, so value bet of the day might be Furyk and Sned. Although if Olly is still putting him first out, presumably he's not worried.

Wouldnt bet against Poulter & Rose. They'll push Tiger and Stricker all the way.

Interesting commentary by Monty yesterday. He said Love has ensured there's virtually no rough on the course to make it a putting contest, on the basis that Love believes its the one area where the US are significantly better than Europe.

McDowell did indeed struggle in practice yesterday, he even shanked one ball a la tin cup, that said I watched him for half an hour and he hit some incredible tee shots and holed out from 60 yards.

Cant wait until Sunday, will be roaring on the Euros live, will be some craic if yesterday was anything to go by.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 03:52:15 PM
Europe need to close out these 3 matches in which they are up, the americans are on the ropes in the first round and to let them back into it will be a real shot in the arm for them.
Post by: Absent on September 28, 2012, 04:06:43 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on September 28, 2012, 12:54:06 PM
any links men?

cheers

http://www.vipboxsports.eu/watch/74889/1/38th-ryder-cup-2012---foursomes-live-stream-online.html

Great picture at the moment.
Post by: stew on September 28, 2012, 04:12:34 PM
Interesting choice of venue this year..................the cool temps have the euro's very comfortable and although I think the yanks will win this it will be closer than I first thought.

Woods is having a mare and yet they are still right there, he is the worst player on the course at the minute, absolute disaster is Eldred.  ;D
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 05:01:45 PM
Stew and Puckoons team 1
Europe 0
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 05:08:48 PM
Previously unbeaten in the foursomes Donald and Garcia get their arses skelped by Mickelson and Bradley.  McIlroy & McDowell were 3 up a while ago but now A/S with 2 to play.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 05:18:12 PM
The Irish lads with a gift on 18 from Snedeker, please put it in play boys!
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 05:19:15 PM
1 down with 4 to play Westwood puts his tee shot in the water...
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 05:20:10 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 05:18:12 PM
The Irish/British/N Irish lads with a gift on 18 from Snedeker, please put it in play boys!

Fixed that for you Puck ;)
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 05:21:57 PM
Westwood & Molinari lose 15.  2 down with 3 to play.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 05:27:11 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 05:18:12 PM
The Irish lads with a gift on 18 from Snedeker, please put it in play boys!

Harrington and Lowry???
Post by: magpie seanie on September 28, 2012, 05:28:07 PM
That's a huge point by the Irish bucks.
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2012, 05:29:47 PM
McIlroy & McDowell win 1 up
Post by: stew on September 28, 2012, 05:31:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 28, 2012, 05:28:07 PM
That's a huge point by the Irish bucks.

Brilliant match, well done the Mac bhoys.

Woods is still playing very poor golf, he is a train wreck in this event over the years.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 06:06:19 PM
What time is the evening session teeing off
Post by: dec on September 28, 2012, 06:10:31 PM
18:50    0    Tiger Woods / Steve Stricker    A/S    v    A/S    Lee Westwood / Nicolas Colsaerts
18:35    0    Dustin Johnson / Matt Kuchar    A/S    v    A/S    Justin Rose / Martin Kaymer
18:20    0    Phil Mickelson / Keegan Bradley    A/S    v    A/S    Rory McIlroy / Graeme McDowell
18:05    0    Bubba Watson / Webb Simpson    A/S    v    A/S    Paul Lawrie / Peter Hanson
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 07:05:06 PM
Terrible decision from Jose Maria to leave out Poulter. What is he thinking?

I fear for Lawrie and Hanson.
Post by: Square Ball on September 28, 2012, 07:34:02 PM
jebus,  a bit of a baiting at the minute, but its early days
Post by: The Worker on September 28, 2012, 07:38:01 PM
any working links?
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 07:41:20 PM
When was the last time a session went 4-0?
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 08:34:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 07:05:06 PM
Terrible decision from Jose Maria to leave out Poulter. What is he thinking?

I fear for Lawrie and Hanson.
You were right to fear for them. Oh dear!
Post by: glens abu on September 28, 2012, 08:37:59 PM
Looks far too easy for the Yanks,and I also cant understand why he left Poulter out.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 08:39:59 PM
Watson and Simpson are playing so well I doubt it would matter who they were playing.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 08:43:03 PM
Will be red faces if the second session finishes 4-0
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 09:04:49 PM
Apparently the decision to leave Poulter out was made yesterday, but that doesn't make it any less of a dumb decision.

This may well be the session that gives the cup to the Americans.

Two major 2012 champions up against those two fellas. Not bringing harrington will seem even worse now.
Post by: heganboy on September 28, 2012, 09:06:16 PM
Keegan Bradley throwing top darts
Post by: heganboy on September 28, 2012, 09:25:55 PM
webb simpson not too far behind him...
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 09:35:26 PM
Meanwhile the world number 2 is having a massage. Or a cup of tea.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 09:41:16 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 09:04:49 PM
Apparently the decision to leave Poulter out was made yesterday, but that doesn't make it any less of a dumb decision.

This may well be the session that gives the cup to the Americans.

Two major 2012 champions up against those two fellas. Not bringing harrington will seem even worse now.

Whose to say Poulter would have been any better,Bubba and Webb have been excellent and I doubt many would have beaten them with the form their in.
Also Poulter might not have even been paired against them he could have been in a different match.

Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 09:54:19 PM
I am not saying that the pairing has any effect. What I am saying is when you compare the two American lads against Lawrie and Hansen, its no surprise. Relax yourself.

For what it's worth, Garcia and Poulter I think would have put up a much better fight against any pairing the Americans threw out than H&L. I certainly couldn't see Poulter being worse, so I don't know what yer on about. The two lads getting steamrolled like this doesn't bring anything to the table.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 10:01:40 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 09:54:19 PM
I am not saying that the pairing has any effect. What I am saying is when you compare the two American lads against Lawrie and Hansen, its no surprise. Relax yourself.

For what it's worth, Garcia and Poulter I think would have put up a much better fight against any pairing the Americans threw out than H&L. I certainly couldn't see Poulter being worse, so I don't know what yer on about. The two lads getting steamrolled like this doesn't bring anything to the table.

I am very relaxed thanks.
I didn't say Poulter would be worse so I don't know what you're on about.
All I'm saying is Lawrie and Hanson didn't lose it as such but more Watson and Simpson won it by playing superb golf and would have beaten any pairing playing like they did IMO...

Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 10:03:51 PM
You said Poulter wouldn't have been better, he almost certainly wouldn't have been equal to or worse, which makes him better than that result just now.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 10:07:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 10:03:51 PM
You said Poulter wouldn't have been better, he almost certainly wouldn't have been equal to or worse, which makes him better than that result just now.

No I didn't.

Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 10:22:45 PM
Youse are like a pair of auld women.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 10:25:04 PM
A pair of auld women might have done better! Ha!

In Fairness the two fellas played very well, we will see tomorrow and sunday if there was any merit in resting the spaniard and the two english fellas.
Post by: Jonah on September 28, 2012, 10:25:29 PM
I agree insofar as I honestly don't think anyone would have beaten Webb Simpson and Bubba tonight as they have played some amazing golf.
Would Poults have made a difference to the other Europeans losing? I don't think he would have been any better than Mcilroy/GMac or  Rose/Kaymer.
Maybe he should have kept the Rose/Poulter partnership together but apart from that I don't see how he would have made a difference to any of the pairings.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 10:28:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 10:22:45 PM
Youse are like a pair of auld women.

You can go and suck a fart out of me arse.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 28, 2012, 10:29:59 PM
Europeans should be pleased to finish this day 2 behind at 5-3 cos the Americans been great this avo and the course suiting their long wayward drives no end.
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 10:32:15 PM
If the two Irish lads can get this match even back to even that would be a superb bonus half point.
If Westwood could putt he would be some golfer.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 10:36:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 28, 2012, 10:32:15 PM
If the two Irish lads can get this match even back to even that would be a superb bonus half point.
If Westwood could putt he would be some golfer.
Aye that cold putter has cost him over the past couple of years.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 10:43:27 PM
Great putt from Colsaerts
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:06:17 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 10:43:27 PM
Not so much there. Vital that Europe cling on to that point.
Post by: ONeill on September 28, 2012, 11:18:59 PM
Up the USA !

I'd like to see the Yanks win her this time.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 11:25:17 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:06:17 PM

another good one just there.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:28:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 11:25:17 PM

Woods is shot. Europe clinging on to that point. An afternoon to forget.

Where is Olly?

O'Neill there is a quare moonlicht nicht the nicht. Head you outside with your spyglass.
Post by: ONeill on September 28, 2012, 11:32:36 PM
Been in and out like a hokey cokey gala. Bit cloudy in Glenavy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:46:09 PM
Pressure on now.
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 11:56:45 PM

and a nudder
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:58:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 11:56:45 PM

and a nudder
Indeed.
Post by: laoislad on September 29, 2012, 12:03:58 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2012, 11:58:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 28, 2012, 11:56:45 PM

and a nudder
Indeed.

You could see Tigers face drop when he got it.
Tiger was like I'm all that when he left his tee shot within a few feet...
In yer face Tiger..In yer face..
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2012, 12:06:05 AM
Big point by Colsaerts if they hold it together. Westwood not at it with the putter.

5-3 would be reasonable going into tomorrow after being battered in the other 3 games.
Post by: Hound on September 29, 2012, 08:36:24 AM
No surprise that Kaymer, Hansen and Lawrie are sitting it out this morning, though I would have had Westwood on the bench beside them rather than Molinari.

I suppose its a reasonable assumption that Westwood will improve, but his chipping and putting has been downright awful, and on this course that's far more important than driving.

Looking forward to seeing Sergio and Nico together. Class comment by the Belgian in his after match interview yesterday, "Its all about what's in your pants!"
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 10:49:16 AM
Europe are in big bother here. 

You've got to fancy the USA to win the singles, so EU need to go into tomorrow in the lead.  Had Colsaerts not played like a genius at 6-2 the match would be over.  It's a big task and EU need something like 3-1 and 2.5-1.5 in the two sessions today.  That would leave them up 8.5-7.5 going into the singles and there's a chance. 

But my gut tells me US are going to win the Cup by about 4-5 points
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 02:17:07 PM
Westwood plops it in the water.  2 down after 2.  WTF is he doing out there?!  The Ryder Cup could be over bar the shouting by tea time!
Post by: magpie seanie on September 29, 2012, 02:46:59 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 02:17:07 PM
Westwood plops it in the water.  2 down after 2.  WTF is he doing out there?!  The Ryder Cup could be over bar the shouting by tea time!

Looking bad alright though at least no-one is 3 or 4 down (yet!).

Er - whoops!
Post by: joe bloggs on September 29, 2012, 02:59:46 PM
Westwood and Donald are terrible today, while much can't be said for some of the others
Post by: laoislad on September 29, 2012, 03:01:20 PM
 :o
(http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss340/laoislad78/photo.png)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2012, 03:51:56 PM
Reddner for Westwood and Donald. Westie should have sat in the house this week.
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 03:53:27 PM
Bradley & Mickelson 6 up after 10 on Westwood & Donald :'(  That's a certain point for USA.  Westwood has been nothing short of woeful
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2012, 04:00:22 PM
Surely Westwood needs rested til the singles.

Couple of the other ties in the balance. Going into the afternoon 7-5 down would be a result at this stage.
Post by: ardtole on September 29, 2012, 04:26:22 PM
any links for todays golf?
Post by: heganboy on September 29, 2012, 04:53:20 PM
Colsaerts really should have done better there, need something special here from Graeme and Rory
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 05:10:32 PM
If US win this session 3-1 then they can put their feet up.  Europe have been poor.  They've been outplayed and outfought so far.  Westwood and Donald ranked 3 and 4 in the world??  Rankings schmankings!!

Poluter and Rose make a ballix of 16.  Neither McIlroy nor MeDole have made a birdie today.
Post by: heganboy on September 29, 2012, 06:14:05 PM
Graeme having a mare, should have been way closer from 132 giving the full point Away, but Rory's game is back on. Looking forward to see how he plays with Poultrr, that could be fun...
Post by: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 06:45:25 PM
EU need to win this session 3.5 - 0.5.  Don't think you can blame Olazabal.  The big players haven't turned up.  I detect a wee bit of over confidence. :-\
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2012, 08:33:19 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 29, 2012, 06:45:25 PM
EU need to win this session 3.5 - 0.5.  Don't think you can blame Olazabal.  The big players haven't turned up.  I detect a wee bit of over confidence. :-\
11-5 by the looks of it. Poor.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 29, 2012, 08:59:08 PM
Only Poulter and Coelsaerts have played anywhere near their best. Could be a record margin of victory as you have to fancy the Americans to win 7/8 out of the 12 tomorrow too. Very lethargic display from most of the European lads for some odd reason
Post by: ONeill on September 29, 2012, 10:20:13 PM
(http://www.crwflags.com/fotw/images/u/us.gif)
Post by: leaveherinsir on September 29, 2012, 11:02:44 PM
the ryder cup is so charmless. Cheering your opponents misfortune has nothing to do with the game of golf I was taught and play
Post by: Declan on September 30, 2012, 12:28:09 AM
Just confirms my opinion that it's contrived nonsense.
Post by: gallsman on September 30, 2012, 12:42:26 AM
Poulter has been absolutely excellent.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 30, 2012, 12:43:32 AM
Fair fecks to Poulter, has played some tournament so far.
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 12:43:46 AM
Fair fucks to Poulter he has kept the Europeans just about in it.
3 great putts in a row.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 12:45:42 AM
Poulter has been unreal. Balls of steel on the 18th.

Pity didn't play yesterday afternoon.

Post by: leaveherinsir on September 30, 2012, 12:52:24 AM
Some good golf played in last hour or so.despite the spectators! Colsaerts and Poulter definetly use "whats in the trousers"
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 12:58:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 12:45:42 AM

Wouldn't have mattered  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 01:01:10 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 12:58:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 12:45:42 AM

Wouldn't have mattered  ;)
Oh aye forgot this discussion has been had.

Big day ahead tomorrow in the singles (after Galway bating Kilkenny).
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2012, 07:30:26 AM
Europe still too far behind.
Post by: Hound on September 30, 2012, 08:40:04 AM
Still think its been super entertainment. The last half hour was particularly exciting last night - way past my bed time but I just couldn't turn it off!

The diff between the 2 sides is almost entirely down to putting. The reason Poults and Nico are the only 2 who can hold their head up high is because they are the only 2 who have putted properly.

Rory's pathetic effort on the last was typical of 10 of his teammates. He knew with the Duff beside the whole only a birdie was good enough and still left it short.

A huge amount of our putts have missed either short or low. That's no use in Ryder Cup, you can't me worried about the one coming back. The yanks have been far more aggressive on the greens, and therefore far more putts have fallen.

You could argue Nico hit a few too hard, but at least he was almost always giving the hole a chance, and was very unlucky a couple of times.

I like the way the draw has come out for the singles. But a huge longshot for Europe, I'd say it'll be well over come my bedtime!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 30, 2012, 10:32:21 AM
Bubba Watson v Luke Donald (1703 BST)
Webb Simpson v Ian Poulter (1714)
Keegan Bradley v Rory McIlroy (1725)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (1736)
Brandt Snedeker v Paul Lawrie (1747)
Dustin Johnson v Nicolas Colsaerts (1758)
Zach Johnson v Graeme McDowell (1809)
Jim Furyk v Sergio Garcia (1820)
Jason Dufner v Peter Hanson (1831)
Matt Kuchar v Lee Westwood (1842)
Steve Stricker v Martin Kaymer (1853)
Tiger Woods v Francesco Molinari (1904

its possible -quite a few 50/50 games in there, although i wouldnt like to be depending on 4 points from last 4 games !
Post by: AQMP on September 30, 2012, 11:38:13 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 30, 2012, 10:32:21 AM
Bubba Watson v Luke Donald (1703 BST)
Webb Simpson v Ian Poulter (1714)
Keegan Bradley v Rory McIlroy (1725)
Phil Mickelson v Justin Rose (1736)
Brandt Snedeker v Paul Lawrie (1747)
Dustin Johnson v Nicolas Colsaerts (1758)
Zach Johnson v Graeme McDowell (1809)
Jim Furyk v Sergio Garcia (1820)
Jason Dufner v Peter Hanson (1831)
Matt Kuchar v Lee Westwood (1842)
Steve Stricker v Martin Kaymer (1853)
Tiger Woods v Francesco Molinari (1904

its possible -quite a few 50/50 games in there, although i wouldnt like to be depending on 4 points from last 4 games !

You really think so??  Based on what we've seen so far of the top four matches you'd only really back Poulter for an Europe win.  McDowell hasn't played well and as for the bottom four games...

As Hound has said, Eur's putting has been pretty awful, so unless they start dropping this evening I'd say you're looking at 7.5 - 4.5 for the US
Post by: dillinger on September 30, 2012, 02:07:29 PM
The US usually come out on top in the singles.
Post by: AQMP on September 30, 2012, 03:14:49 PM
Quote from: dillinger on September 30, 2012, 02:07:29 PM
The US usually come out on top in the singles.

In the 16 Ryder Cups since the team became Europe in 1979, Eur has won the singles only 5 times, though 3 of these vicotries were in 2002, 2004 and 2006.
Post by: stew on September 30, 2012, 07:58:35 PM
I had to sell my tickets for today, I was in the hospital at four this morning and I am absolutely gutted that I wont be there to cheer on the euros today.

c'mon Europe, slap it into the hoors, going well ealry, I doubt we will win it but who knows.
Post by: leaveherinsir on September 30, 2012, 09:10:55 PM
Johnson and Colsaerts is real "ball in the hole smoke your own stuff"
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 09:15:09 PM
Say what you want about the Ryder Cup but this is great to watch tonight.
I think the players do care despite what some think.
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 09:29:17 PM
Eff me pink. Europe giving her a right rattle.
Post by: stew on September 30, 2012, 09:34:02 PM
Great theater altotogether, what a clutch putt by Rose.

This is one of the greatest sporting events in the world.

Post by: All of a Sludden on September 30, 2012, 09:34:22 PM
Momentum with the Americans now. The twunts.
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 09:38:55 PM
There'll not be a cow milked in the Bronx tonight.
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 09:43:53 PM
Wouldn't be fond of Rose but balls of feckin steel today.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 30, 2012, 09:44:30 PM
Fantastic from Rose, 1 down with 2 to play and he wins it.
Post by: JimStynes on September 30, 2012, 09:46:10 PM
Any good links for watching the golf on a macbook?
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 09:48:51 PM
http://www.coolsport.tv/stream1.html
Post by: JimStynes on September 30, 2012, 10:03:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 09:48:51 PM
http://www.coolsport.tv/stream1.html

good man
Post by: The Worker on September 30, 2012, 10:09:18 PM
Any links for watching via an iPad?
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2012, 10:10:38 PM
Quote from: The Worker on September 30, 2012, 10:09:18 PM

Get puffin browser from App Store and any links should work
Post by: The Worker on September 30, 2012, 10:15:15 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 30, 2012, 10:10:38 PM
Quote from: The Worker on September 30, 2012, 10:09:18 PM

Get puffin browser from App Store and any links should work

cheers
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 10:18:40 PM
This could be the greatest comeback since 25/5/2005.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 10:32:26 PM
f**k ye Kaymer!
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 30, 2012, 10:35:03 PM
Hard to call who has the balls for thus, sky sports are wetting themselves
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 10:35:47 PM
I think Europe will fall just short. Hope not though.
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 30, 2012, 10:42:19 PM
I wonder has hound stayed up past his bedtime
Post by: sammymaguire on September 30, 2012, 10:58:57 PM
Wonderful golfing drama in Chicago! What an inspired performance from a team that isn't really a team
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:02:35 PM
Hope Kaymer keeps his shit together and it isn't left to the last pair.

Would fairly rubs the noses in it for all those Yank cnuts jeering all week.
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 30, 2012, 11:06:42 PM
Agree, loud mouthed ignorant fucks should be thrown off the course,mashed potatoe me hole
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:15:05 PM
Balls of German steel....
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:15:18 PM
Unbelievable Jeff.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 30, 2012, 11:15:32 PM
Nerves of steel ze Germans
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 30, 2012, 11:16:15 PM
Sweet as a nut!  ;D
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:16:28 PM
What odds were we  ;) at the start of play?
Post by: screenexile on September 30, 2012, 11:16:47 PM
Just great sport enjoyed every second of that this evening!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 30, 2012, 11:17:36 PM
He's no Langer
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 30, 2012, 11:18:09 PM
The spirit of Seve lives on.
The U-S-A hollering and whooping gallery nicely silenced in the end!
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:20:25 PM
Hope Rory has the tri colour ready...
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 30, 2012, 11:25:19 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:20:25 PM

He has his NI flag.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:25:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:20:25 PM
Opted for OWC.
Post by: Puckoon on September 30, 2012, 11:27:38 PM
Very very glad to be wrong. The match play format really worked for us and poulters momentum was absolutely key for us. Olé!
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:27:53 PM
Surprised Tiger didn't ask Molinari to putt.
Post by: orangeman on September 30, 2012, 11:28:32 PM
Poor Tiger.
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 11:29:27 PM
That was fecking deadly.
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 30, 2012, 11:30:18 PM
(http://thumbsnap.com/s/0BdFxkYA.png)
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:31:07 PM
Justin Rose and Sergio winning was the turning point.

Jaysis I'd love a game of golf right now.
Post by: Puckoon on September 30, 2012, 11:32:34 PM
I just played a round and it was shite, overrated game!!

Rose was massive down the last three when I saw him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:32:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:31:07 PM

She's a bit dark horse.
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:34:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:32:51 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:31:07 PM

She's a bit dark horse.

Firing up Tiger Woods on the Wii as we speak.
Post by: Puckoon on September 30, 2012, 11:34:26 PM
Just to add, lots of Americans talk about Phil not being a genuine guy, but his response to Justin rose draining that putt on 17 to me was indicative of the gentleman he really appears to be, and was more in line with the spirit of the game as I was taught. Kudos to Phil for that.
Post by: Orior on September 30, 2012, 11:37:59 PM
Unbelievable. Makes me proud to be European!
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:39:50 PM
Any sign of John Terry in golf gear and European flag?
Post by: ONeill on September 30, 2012, 11:41:25 PM
USA fairly calved. Got the feeling it meant little to Tiger over the years and that has permeated their team.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:41:53 PM
Nice to see Sergio enjoying himself.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on September 30, 2012, 11:47:29 PM
That was sporting drama at it's best. What a comeback. Also, the emotional ties to Seve really added to the drama and spirit
of the occasion.

However, a serious question. I, as much as anyone, have allegiances to different teams. But proud to be a European?   A wee bit too out there for me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2012, 11:49:00 PM
Hanson the only one not to score? Don't think anyone disgraced themselves in the end up after a tough few days.
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 30, 2012, 11:53:07 PM
Having backed keegan Bradley before I look out for him, very poor form on the 8th as rory was starting his putting stroke, he started walking and he was in rorys line of vision,he cut out the spitting  now he needs to learn manners.
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2012, 11:55:23 PM
You going upstairs to give the wife a little nudge tonight gerry?
Post by: Puckoon on September 30, 2012, 11:58:40 PM
That was a serious spanking Paul Lawrie gave Snedeker.
Post by: deiseach on September 30, 2012, 11:59:49 PM
Golf. Bloody hell.
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 12:09:15 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on September 30, 2012, 11:47:29 PM
That was sporting drama at it's best. What a comeback. Also, the emotional ties to Seve really added to the drama and spirit
of the occasion.

However, a serious question. I, as much as anyone, have allegiances to different teams. But proud to be a European?   A wee bit too out there for me.

Proud to not be American ;D

(Before the likes of Mike Sheedy gets medieval on my ass, I love America, but it's sticking it to the USA! USA! USA! mentality that unites twelve professionals of diverse nationalities).
Post by: laoislad on October 01, 2012, 12:13:54 AM
Oopppss

http://espn.go.com/golf/rydercup12/story/_/id/8434982/ryder-cup-all-locked-us

U.S. Takes 10-6 Lead Into Singles

Phil Mickelson and Keegan Bradley lead the way for the U.S. as they take a 10-6 lead after Saturday's action at the Ryder Cup.

MEDINAH, Ill. -- For those who think this Ryder Cup is finished, think again. Team Europe can still win if the following five things happen Sunday:

-- Keegan Bradley is abducted.

-- Team USA captain Davis Love III inserts Cup spectators Michael Jordan, President George W. Bush, Amy Mickelson and the Rev. Jesse Jackson into the singles lineup.

-- Lee Westwood: U.S. citizen.

-- Marty McFly shows Team Europe captain Jose Maria Olazabal how to go back in time. Last Friday morning will do.

-- Team Europe wins eight of the remaining 12 matches to retain the cup.

Never mind. It's over. Olazabal can click off the walkie-talkie and take the IFB out of his ear. Time for the Europeans to fire up the private jets and head back home to Florida.

I wish it were different -- I really do. But overcome a 10-6 deficit? Win eight of 12 singles matches?

"It's been done in the past," said Ian Poulter, the only European with a winning record (3-0) this week. "It's going to be done again. That's all we can ask."

It has been done in the past. Once.

It happened in 1999, when American captain Ben Crenshaw wagged his finger at the media and said, "I've got a good feeling about tomorrow. That's all I'm gonna say."

That Sunday, the USA scored 8½ points and won 14½-13½.

"You know," said Sergio Garcia, who was playing in his first Ryder Cup that year, "it would be nice to kind of give it back the way they did it to us in '99."

If you're Garcia, it would be nice. But like Crenshaw, I've got a feeling too.

I've got a feeling Team Europe is doomed. I've got a feeling that Tiger Woods isn't going to go 0-for-Medinah. I've got a feeling that the eight veterans in that USA team room are reminding the four rookies it's time to step on a few throats.

The United States will take a 10-6 lead into Sunday singles against Europe. It needs 4.5 points to reclaim the Ryder Cup.
"It puts us in a nice spot," said Steve Stricker, who is 0-3 with Woods this week.

Stricker was being polite. Team USA has the kind of two-day lead that Cup captains pray for. It is as close to insurmountable as trying to climb Mt. Everest wearing a T-shirt, cargo shorts and flip-flops.

"If you would have told me we'd have a 4-point lead going into Sunday, I'd take it," said Stricker.

You think?

Team USA needs to win 4½ points. That's not a gimme putt, but it's almost within the circle of friendship.

Meanwhile, Team Europe has to play near flawless golf. And it has to do it with four guys who haven't won a match (Martin Kaymer, Peter Hanson, Francesco Molinari, Paul Lawrie), two of whom didn't play at all on Saturday (Hanson and Kaymer).

Yes, I picked the Europeans to win. I'm also the guy who picked Samsung over Apple, the Wicked Witch of the West over Dorothy and Savannah State over Florida State. I miscalculated.

For instance, I thought Westwood was the No. 4-ranked player in the world. Silly me. Here at Medinah Country Club, Westwood, one of my faves, has played like he was issued plastic clubs.

He lost one match Friday, another one Saturday morning and then was asked by Olazabal to go to the mall and not come back until he found a left-handed ax. Meanwhile, Team Europe played the afternoon four-ball matches.

Team Europe didn't give up. Those guys never give up, especially Poulter.

He won his morning foursomes match with Justin Rose and then teamed with Rory McIlroy to win the afternoon four-ball match. Each time Saturday, Poulter's pairing overcame a USA lead.

"Match play, I love the fight of it," said Poulter. "You get to stare your opponent straight in the face and sometimes that's what you need to do."

Ryder Cup analysis
ESPN.com's Michael Collins will be tracking all 12 Sunday singles matches starting Sunday at noon ET.

If Mrs. Poulter had had quintuplets and they all played golf, then Team Europe might have won this thing. But there's only one Poulter and he can win only once on Sunday -- that is, if he beats Webb Simpson in the second match.

The Europeans have to do too much with too little. They won't phone it in. That's why Olazabal front-loaded his Sunday lineup with Team Europe's heavy hitters (Luke Donald, Poulter, McIlroy, Justin Rose).

But eventually you get to Lawrie (0-2) and, in something of a surprise, Graeme McDowell (1-2) and later, Hanson, Westwood, Kaymer and Molinari.

"Individually, I wouldn't want to play anybody on our side," said a confident Love.

"Massive task, but there's a chance," said a hopeful Rose.

"Yeah, of course, there's a chance," said McIlroy.

A chance, nothing more. A minuscule, "Do-you-believe-in-miracles?" chance.

If it happens -- if Team Europe leaves with the cup for the seventh time in the past nine competitions -- then you'll hear a roar all the way from Spain, Northern Ireland, England, Scotland, Germany, Sweden, Italy and Belgium. Fathers will name their newborns Ian. Olazabal won't have to take a flight back; he can float there.

Love and Team USA would like a rout. Olazabal and Team Europe would like drama. They'd like to see sweat stains on the Americans' golf shirts.

"This has given us a heartbeat," said Poulter of a tiny European surge in the Saturday dusk that cut the USA lead to those 4 points.

Heartbeats count for something. But a 10-6 advantage for Team USA counts for more. More than the Europeans can make up.
Post by: Celt_Man on October 01, 2012, 12:31:06 AM
f**k missed a cracking night's entertaining...

That's it I'm getting Sky Sports in the morning...
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 12:39:00 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on October 01, 2012, 12:31:06 AM

Drunk talk.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 01, 2012, 12:43:24 AM
Quote from: Orior on September 30, 2012, 11:37:59 PM
Unbelievable. Makes me proud to be European!

Post by: ONeill on October 01, 2012, 12:44:13 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on October 01, 2012, 12:31:06 AM

You can get it on your laptop.

Only a gimp has Sky.
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2012, 01:33:33 AM
Yes, I picked the Europeans to win. I'm also the guy who picked Samsung over Apple, the Wicked Witch of the West over Dorothy and Savannah State over Florida State. I miscalculated.

Seems like his luck isn't getting any better!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 01, 2012, 01:39:15 AM
Message from above.................http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/golf-devil-ball-golf/european-team-receives-inspiration-sky-232713633--golf.html
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 01, 2012, 01:48:06 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 30, 2012, 11:34:26 PM
Just to add, lots of Americans talk about Phil not being a genuine guy, but his response to Justin rose draining that putt on 17 to me was indicative of the gentleman he really appears to be, and was more in line with the spirit of the game as I was taught. Kudos to Phil for that.

Never heard anything nagative about Phil just the opposite, did you see him handing out the Ryder Cup pins to all the kids along the ropes after his match?
Post by: Asal Mor on October 01, 2012, 03:39:09 AM
Anyone know a torrent site where I could download some of the the highlights?
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 07:46:31 AM
In-f**king-credible!
Post by: Declan on October 01, 2012, 07:48:53 AM
Wouldn't be a fan of it but by God that was great TV  - Obviously meant a whole pile to Olly
Post by: Hound on October 01, 2012, 08:30:05 AM
That was amazing.

Donald (-4), Rose (-6), Rory (-5) and Lawrie (-5) all played phenomenal golf. Sergio and Poults ground out great wins and Westwood's putter finally found some heat. Ironic that the hero at the end Kaymer, was our worst player on the day (+3 according to the Times), but showed super composure to hold that winner.

Almost felt a bit sorry for Tiger at the end when he missed that putt for the 14-14 draw, which arguably the yanks would have deserved after their super play across the first 2 days. But he couldnt do it.

Molinari goes down as holing the putt to win the Ryder Cup (albeit he didnt have to hole it, as it was conceded). I heard that Shane Lowry was tweeting before the singles started that 50/1 on Molinari doing just that was worth a few quid.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 01, 2012, 08:54:05 AM
Amazing viewing; really enjoyed it. 
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 09:14:14 AM
I noticed at the closing ceremony Rory went for the EU flag while GMAC favoured the NI flag.  The only Tricolour on show was round Molinari's shoulders!

Amazing stuff from EU.  Unlike the first two days they actually gave themselves chances on the greens and the putts started to drop.  The Yanks started to shave the edge of the holes and momentum pushed the EU home.  McIlroy played very well, where did Paul Lawrie get that performance?  As someone else posted, the key after Poulter's win were Rose and Garcia to win the last two holes and turn two points for the US into 2 EU points.  Fair play to Molinari for keeping it together for a half with Woods.  Surprised Tiger didn't ask him to putt on 18, maybe he wanted to get off the course ASAP!
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 09:19:52 AM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 09:14:14 AM
I noticed at the closing ceremony Rory went for the EU flag while GMAC favoured the NI flag.  The only Tricolour on show was round Molinari's shoulders!

Earlier in the celebrations Rory was wearing a Euro flag. Then OWC's Stephen Watson was seen in the background walking past.  Lo and behold in the next shot Rory had a NI flag.

Oh probably just a coincidence.

Anyone know why they were booing Alex Salmon, or just was it cheerful banter?
Post by: David McKeown on October 01, 2012, 09:25:02 AM
Amazing comeback, the luck of the draw Europe had was unreal though. When I saw the pairings I just thought Europe might have a chance. Had America's lineup been reversed they'd have won 16 to 12 according to the radio. My parents were at it for my dads birthday and my dad was saying the arrogance being shown by Love was unreal constantly talking to the crowd about how much they were going to winning by. Wonder if he regrets that now.
Post by: Saffrongael on October 01, 2012, 09:34:06 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2012, 09:19:52 AM

Earlier in the celebrations Rory was wearing a Euro flag. Then OWC's Stephen Watson was seen in the background walking past.  Lo and behold in the next shot Rory had a NI flag.

Oh probably just a coincidence.

Anyone know why they were booing Alex Salmon, or just was it cheerful banter?

He had the NI flag round him like a cape and looked pretty comfortable with it, some of you guys need to just accept it.
Post by: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:13:10 AM

Was the other way round earlier, GMAC had the EU flag and Rory the NI flag.
Anyway up to them, nothing to see here. :D
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 01, 2012, 10:16:25 AM
I don't get particular moved by the Ryder Cup that when it gets played in Europe.
Europe generally win for starters (since 1993 anyway) and the galleries are generally fair-minded.

When it gets played on American it seems to be a different matter. The crowds tend to be more boisterous, and flag wavingly patriotic.

The roars of "U-S-A, U-S-A" always gives me the mental image of fat-assed, beered up, white trash, Fred Durst lookalikes bellowing it out.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2012, 10:37:11 AM
Unreal golf and tension yesterday fair play to Europe. Thought Europe we going to loose it when Kaymer 2 putted on the 16th i think to loose the hole.  Any one know what odds were Europe yesterday to win it .
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 10:42:47 AM
American hacks will be delighted. Nothing they like more than being able to throw the word 'choke' around with abandon.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 01, 2012, 11:36:12 AM
Was it not an Ulster flag Rory had round him? The yellow background?
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 11:38:10 AM
Anyone remember Kaymer's caddie thinking he had won a car? (or half a car)

Craig was caddying for Paul Casey, and Paul said he would share the car with Craig if he got a hole in one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rLnJy6RLrg (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_rLnJy6RLrg)

After the jumping for joy, it all turned a bit sour.
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 11:39:31 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 01, 2012, 11:36:12 AM

Sorry - apparently we're not allowed to comment on such things. Some people might take it as a statement.
Post by: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 12:01:06 PM
What a days golf that was. Incredible stuff, they played the yanks into submission really.

Highlight was Monty in the sky studio afterwards. It was comedy stuff in fairness.
Post by: JimStynes on October 01, 2012, 12:08:41 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 12:01:06 PM
What a days golf that was. Incredible stuff, they played the yanks into submission really.

Highlight was Monty in the sky studio afterwards. It was comedy stuff in fairness.

What did he do?
Post by: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 12:16:44 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 01, 2012, 12:08:41 PM

What did he do?

According to him, everything.
Oh, and he may have mentioned that he captained a winning Ryder cup team.
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 12:35:01 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 12:16:44 PM

It seems to have been a recurring theme over the weekend, if Twitter is to believed. Who cares about Majors?
Post by: laoislad on October 01, 2012, 12:45:18 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 12:16:44 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 01, 2012, 12:08:41 PM

What did he do?

Once or twice!

Jack Nicklaus put Monty in his place when discussing Luke Donald and how Jack couldn't understand how you could be world No.1 and how you haven't really made it without winning a major.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 01, 2012, 12:50:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2012, 11:39:31 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 01, 2012, 11:36:12 AM

Sorry - apparently we're not allowed to comment on such things. Some people might take it as a statement.

I seen Spanish players with Spanish flags around them also, Crazy guys :o
Post by: mick999 on October 01, 2012, 01:12:26 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:13:10 AM

I don't even think it was up to them ..

During a BBC interview, GMAC has his Euro flag on him, when someone comes up to him with the NI flag and tells him to put it on

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/19783752

50 secs in ..

Who cares anyway ...
Post by: Saffrongael on October 01, 2012, 01:29:49 PM
Quote from: mick999 on October 01, 2012, 01:12:26 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 01, 2012, 10:13:10 AM

I don't even think it was up to them ..

During a BBC interview, GMAC has his Euro flag on him, when someone comes up to him with the NI flag and tells him to put it on

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/golf/19783752

50 secs in ..

Who cares anyway ...

You.
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 01:46:42 PM
I'll confess to feeling a twinge of dismay when I saw Rory McIlroy clad in the flag of the statelet. I got over it though.
Post by: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 02:07:51 PM
To be honest, I couldn't care if Rory wore a European or NI flag, he is fairly clear that what he see's himself as and that is Northern Irish.

Annoyed me to see some comments on twitter and facebook last night about the flag he wore. I honestly think some expected him to break out in a verse of the Fields of Athenry, which would have been worse.
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 02:21:53 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 02:07:51 PM
To be honest, I couldn't care if Rory wore a European or NI flag, he is fairly clear that what he see's himself as and that is Northern Irish.

Annoyed me to see some comments on twitter and facebook last night about the flag he wore. I honestly think some expected him to break out in a verse of the Fields of Athenry, which would have been worse.

Nah, only "Rory's winning matches..." would have been worse
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 02:29:11 PM

What if he wore one at Anfield? :P
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 02:51:27 PM
I appreciate what you guys are saying about flags, but this is the north of Ireland. And we eat flags here. It is inextricably linked with loyalism.

If flags dont matter, then why have I never seen a NI flag in a six county GAA ground?
Post by: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 02:55:31 PM
Quote from: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 02:29:11 PM

What if he wore one at Anfield? :P

He'd look like a tool - Keep Flags Scouse.
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 03:08:52 PM
We should merge this thread with the Ulster Covenant one!!
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 03:24:51 PM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 03:08:52 PM

Okay then, back on topic.

Once again I will ask - why was Alex Salmon booed?
Post by: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 03:35:02 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 02:55:31 PM

Jeez, that's a bit below the belt . . . oh sorry, I thought you said he'd look like a wool.
Post by: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 03:38:34 PM
Quote from: deiseach on October 01, 2012, 03:35:02 PM
Quote from: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 02:55:31 PM

Jeez, that's a bit below the belt . . . oh sorry, I thought you said he'd look like a wool.

At this stage is everyone outside of L4 not a wool?
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 03:46:05 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2012, 03:24:51 PM

McIlroy booed him because of his attempts to break up the Union ;)
Post by: samboswig on October 01, 2012, 03:49:24 PM
On a point of order, that fleg is not the Northern Ireland flag. It is the flag of the Government of Northern Ireland that was dissolved in 1972.
Post by: Bingo on October 01, 2012, 03:50:50 PM
Quote from: samboswig on October 01, 2012, 03:49:24 PM
On a point of order, that fleg is not the Northern Ireland flag. It is the flag of the Government of Northern Ireland that was dissolved in 1972.

Cool, he likes Retro stuff. Its all the rage.
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 04:04:49 PM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 03:46:05 PM

LOL. You're a rascal of the first order AQMP
Post by: stew on October 01, 2012, 04:32:50 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2012, 04:04:49 PM

You clowns have just witnessed one of the greatest sporting comebacks in history and all you can talk about is flags, fecking sad that.

When I become dictator of Ireland I will do away with the butchers apron, the norths flag and yes, the tri colour, anthems will be no more and petrol will be a pound a gallon. Up Armagh.
Post by: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 04:43:17 PM
Quote from: stew on October 01, 2012, 04:32:50 PM

You clowns have just witnessed one of the greatest sporting comebacks in history and all you can talk about is flags, fecking sad that.

When I become dictator of Ireland I will do away with the butchers apron, the norths flag and yes, the tri colour, anthems will be no more and petrol will be a pound a gallon. Up Armagh.

Flegs are much more important than a lock of rich pretty boys with golf sticks ;)
Post by: tommysmith on October 01, 2012, 05:03:52 PM

+1 bloddy knuckle draggers.
Post by: Jonah on October 01, 2012, 06:10:02 PM
What a superb night of sport.
I got home from the All Ireland around 8pm thinking USA would probably have it wrapped up already.
Justin Roses putt on the 17th was amazing.
I don't know how anyone can question if this means something to the players or not.
Top class entertainment and one of the greatest comebacks ever in any sport.
Trust the Germans to bail Europe out again :)
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 01, 2012, 06:40:54 PM
Quote from: samboswig on October 01, 2012, 03:49:24 PM

Is that the yellow or the white background?
Post by: macdanger2 on October 01, 2012, 08:27:15 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 01, 2012, 10:37:11 AM
Any one know what odds were Europe yesterday to win it .

They were 12 on BF when I backed them at around 5 which isn't great odds considering how they were sitting. Also backed the draw at 19.5 so could have done with Tiger asking Molinari to take the last putt............only a fiver on each though so wasn't much lost
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 01, 2012, 08:42:25 PM
Quote from: AQMP on October 01, 2012, 04:43:17 PM

Flegs are much more important than a lock of rich pretty boys with golf sticks ;)
If you think Lawrie is a pretty boy then so be it!
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2012, 11:47:17 PM
Lawrie may have fallen from the ugly tree (and hit every branch on the way down) but have you seen Poulter's ears?
Post by: Puckoon on October 01, 2012, 11:50:03 PM
No, but the Yanks saw plenty of his jolly big balls
Post by: Agent Orange on October 02, 2012, 05:24:39 AM
It was nice to see Europe playing America at their own game - turning up late and claiming victory.
Post by: Orior on August 14, 2014, 12:55:46 PM
I was beginning to think that someone had hacked into my account and posted stuff that I wouldn't post, but then I saw the dates of the posts  :-[

Anyway, Tiger Woods is not good for the US Ryder Cup team. In my opinion he is not a good team player - it is all about Tiger. Just look at the way he treats his own caddie.
Post by: Saffrongael on August 14, 2014, 12:59:30 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 14, 2014, 12:55:46 PM
I was beginning to think that someone had hacked into my account and posted stuff that I wouldn't post, but then I saw the dates of the posts  :-[

Anyway, Tiger Woods is not good for the US Ryder Cup team. In my opinion he is not a good team player - it is all about Tiger. Just look at the way he treats his own caddie.

Apparently he is a great team mate in the locker room
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2014, 01:04:49 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 14, 2014, 12:55:46 PM

Teams don't exist in golf beyond a football . It's the most individual game in the world.

I've never bought the idea that the Ryder cup is bigger then a major championship
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 14, 2014, 01:09:35 PM
Its not bigger but its different and allows players to experience a team environment.

Some thrive (Poulter) whilst others wilt (Woods).

I'd say on the whole most players enjoy it. It gives players ranked just outside the select few a great chance at success/exposure which in turn can bring in the $
Post by: INDIANA on August 14, 2014, 01:16:51 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on August 14, 2014, 01:09:35 PM
Its not bigger but its different and allows players to experience a team environment.

Some thrive (Poulter) whilst others wilt (Woods).

I'd say on the whole most players enjoy it. It gives players ranked just outside the select few a great chance at success/exposure which in turn can bring in the $

They are all the same they just big it up for the cameras. Plenty of the Europeans don't like each other.
It's professional sport money is the only thing that matters.
Post by: Rois on August 14, 2014, 01:21:23 PM
I'm just gutted I won't get to see Tiger up close.  Got an email this morning to tell me my tickets are on the way  ;D
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 14, 2014, 01:22:37 PM
Bit cynical there Indiana. For the elite players winning is the only thing that matters.

With winning the money follows. Its the players under the top tier who are solely motivated by money.

Post by: gawa316 on August 14, 2014, 02:33:22 PM
What's the story with our Rory and our Graham, are they not getting along now?
Post by: screenexile on August 15, 2014, 10:56:09 AM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/golf/the-open/graeme-mcdowell-admits-relationship-with-rory-mcilroy-not-the-same-after-management-row-30434506.html