Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: supersub on September 11, 2012, 10:16:11 AM

Title: iPhone 5
Post by: supersub on September 11, 2012, 10:16:11 AM
The 'launch' is nearly here, and while people will dismiss it and call it shite and a waste of money etc etc, no doubt most will have a gander at the look and specification of the new device at some point in the next week or so!

What do people expect and will those with current iphones be going all out to get their hands on it?

Few rumors about different things here..

http://www.t3.com/news/apple-iphone-5-news-release-date-price-specs-rumours
Title: Re: iPhone 5
Post by: mc_grens on September 11, 2012, 01:19:41 PM
I'm still using a 3Gs which is coming towards the end. I've thought about moving to a Galsxy S3 but said I'd hold on and get a look at iPhone 5.

Upon further thought I've decided I prob will buy the iPhone 5 as all my apps are from the Apple app store and all my music etc. is on iTunes and it'd be too much bother to redo all that.
Post by: supersub on September 11, 2012, 08:57:44 PM
Indeed. Will wait and see what the Craic is with it myself. Tempted to go for galaxy siii!
Post by: laoislad on September 12, 2012, 07:46:06 PM
Specs look good but they didn't really push the boat out in terms of design.
Slightly longer and thinner but basically looks the same as iPhone 4/4s
Post by: Maguire01 on September 12, 2012, 08:19:48 PM
Nothing very exciting or innovative from what I've seen.
Post by: Don Johnson on September 13, 2012, 09:57:32 AM
Well that was a bit of a letdown.

I had said if it was that much of an improvement I would sell my 4s and pay for the rest to get the new handset.

Nothing too special to make me want to now though. My 4s is working perfectly fine so think I will stick with it for now.

Looking forward to the new iOs though, some nice features on it.
Post by: Cold tea on September 13, 2012, 10:09:12 AM
I have a nokia - it makes calls and sends texts - it's perfect.
Post by: laoislad on September 13, 2012, 11:49:19 AM
I think the next development will be holograms.
When your talking to someone on the phone you'll be able see a hologram of them, or if your looking up pictures of women on the Internet their hologram will pop up.

A Debbie McGee hologram... Nice ;D
Post by: Bingo on September 13, 2012, 11:56:16 AM
Quote from: laoislad on September 13, 2012, 11:49:19 AM
I think the next development will be holograms.
When your talking to someone on the phone you'll be able see a hologram of them, or if your looking up pictures of women on the Internet their hologram will pop up.

A Debbie McGee hologram... Nice ;D

Can see the headlines now "Arrest in serial hologram abuser case made in Laois - McGee said to be recovering well"  ;D
Post by: Declan on September 13, 2012, 01:12:26 PM
Naw here's the next release

(http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/427826_10151061452763030_1776847737_n.jpg)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 13, 2012, 01:14:41 PM
Meh!

Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 13, 2012, 01:36:37 PM
Nokia Lumia 920 is a better phone.
Post by: Puckoon on September 13, 2012, 04:04:06 PM
Currently wielding the iPhone 4 and I can't say I'm in any rush to upgrade, although when this one takes a shit I will be going back to apple. I like the convenience and the ease of use with these phones. I really love the iMessage and face time which enables me to text and call Ireland for free, without the use of an app.
Apart from continual improvement of the cameras, and getting my jig on with Siri, there's not much they can do after this that I'm going to be in a rush to go out and buy.
Post by: Maguire01 on September 13, 2012, 06:19:53 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 13, 2012, 10:09:12 AM
I'm sure it is, if that's all you want it to do.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 13, 2012, 07:00:35 PM
Difficult to say where the next development on the phone front is going to be. The whole siri thing isn't that new, Nokia have had it on their phones for ages and it has been included in on the nokia N8 but I personally don't think it can or will be perfected. Im suprised that the Iphone has not put in a better camera, the N8 which is out dated by some 2 years now still has a better camera at 12mp and HD video. Nokia are on the right track with the development of wireless charging and it is something that everyone with a phone would use. At the moment there isn't anything new, it has appeared at some point in the past on mobile phones.  If 3DTV does take off, it won't be long untill it is introduced to the phone.
Post by: laoislad on September 13, 2012, 07:17:39 PM
The amount of megapixels a camera has isn't always related to how good a camera is and how good photos it can take.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 13, 2012, 07:31:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 13, 2012, 07:17:39 PM
The amount of megapixels a camera has isn't always related to how good a camera is and how good photos it can take.

There are a few things that have to be taken into consideration. But overall, the Nokia N8 is still a better camera phone.
Post by: thebigfella on September 13, 2012, 10:00:25 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 13, 2012, 07:17:39 PM

Yeah but bigger numbers are better; did you not know that  ;)
Post by: thebigfella on September 13, 2012, 10:01:34 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 13, 2012, 07:00:35 PM
Difficult to say where the next development on the phone front is going to be. The whole siri thing isn't that new, Nokia have had it on their phones for ages and it has been included in on the nokia N8 but I personally don't think it can or will be perfected. Im suprised that the Iphone has not put in a better camera, the N8 which is out dated by some 2 years now still has a better camera at 12mp and HD video. Nokia are on the right track with the development of wireless charging and it is something that everyone with a phone would use. At the moment there isn't anything new, it has appeared at some point in the past on mobile phones.  If 3DTV does take off, it won't be long untill it is introduced to the phone.

HTC has a 3d screen phone, it's shit......
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 13, 2012, 10:14:22 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 13, 2012, 10:09:12 AM

Does it have a rotary dial?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 13, 2012, 10:23:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 13, 2012, 04:04:06 PM
Currently wielding the iPhone 4 and I can't say I'm in any rush to upgrade, although when this one takes a shit I will be going back to apple. I like the convenience and the ease of use with these phones. I really love the iMessage and face time which enables me to text and call Ireland for free, without the use of an app.
Apart from continual improvement of the cameras, and getting my jig on with Siri, there's not much they can do after this that I'm going to be in a rush to go out and buy.

Same here. I'm happy enough with my 4, my only gripe is about battery life.  Apparently the 5 does better in that department but I'm not sure if it's worth upgrading just to save me the bother of plugging in a bit more often.  From Apple's website it seems like the big deal with the 5 is a bigger screen, faster wifi and a faster processor.  Hardly worth the hype they're giving it.  The only thing I feel like I'm missing out on is Siri, but I'm in no rush to get that. I'll wait for another version and see what comes up.

On the network front, I'm thinking of switching from AT&T, their coverage is shocking. I can't take calls at my desk, I have to get up and walk across my office before people can here me. I ask you!
Post by: Puckoon on September 13, 2012, 10:29:02 PM
Well, if it helps...

I have the same issue with AT&T at my home. It works though when I put my headset in, or when I use speaker phone. Obviously the headset would be more suited for the office. I can't say I ever drop a call when I have the head set in, whereas when I am holding the phone I lose a fair few calls.
Post by: nifan on September 20, 2012, 03:52:57 PM
Sounds like the new apple maps are a bit crap compared to google at the minute.
Post by: laoislad on September 20, 2012, 04:17:22 PM
Anyone downloaded ios6 yet?
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 05:21:29 PM
Meh ios6 isn't anything special.
The panoramic mode in the camera is ok. I like the new full screen feature in landscape mode in safari.
Not sure I like the new App Store. The new options when someone calls won't really be used.
I don't really care that you can now post a Facebook message from the notifications bar.
Not much really else to get excited about.
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 21, 2012, 06:03:51 PM
I hear the maps are good.
Post by: armaghniac on September 21, 2012, 06:08:57 PM
QuoteI hear the maps are good.

Good craic!
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:35:21 PM
I am not enamoured with the new update really. Feel like my battery life is going down quicker than before (coincidence with the iphone5 release??) and I am more irritated than I should be that the you tube feature is gone.
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 06:40:31 PM
What YouTube feature Puck?
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:47:28 PM
Previous iPhones had Youtube as one of the default features of the phone. It was there from the start. I believe that Youtube no longer wanted to be tied to apple, so it's no longer on my phone or ipad after the update. It is now an App that I need to install. I know it's no big deal, but its pissed me off.
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 06:48:37 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:47:28 PM
Previous iPhones had Youtube as one of the default features of the phone. It was there from the start. I believe that Youtube no longer wanted to be tied to apple, so it's no longer on my phone or ipad after the update. It is now an App that I need to install. I know it's no big deal, but its pissed me off.

Wow.
Post by: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:49:54 PM
?
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 06:53:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:49:54 PM
?

Wow as in you're crazy...
Just download the app you crazy man.
Post by: take_yer_points on September 21, 2012, 08:39:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2012, 06:53:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 21, 2012, 06:49:54 PM
?

Wow as in you're crazy...
Just download the app you crazy man.

The new app in the app store is supposed to be better than the original app too
Post by: Don Johnson on September 23, 2012, 12:42:00 AM
My emails are a lot slower since ios6. Anyone else notice this?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 23, 2012, 05:14:15 AM

I have an iPhone 4 and the youtube app might be built-in but it's almost impossible to sign into using my youtube credentials.  Anyone else notice that?  Apparently there's some process you can go through via google to confirm your account or whatever but it's so convoluted that I doubt if anyone has ever bothered.
Post by: supersub on September 26, 2012, 01:22:33 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on September 23, 2012, 12:42:00 AM

Yes!! And sometimes wifi connection drops in full signal!
Post by: faughs on September 26, 2012, 01:32:33 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 23, 2012, 05:14:15 AM

I have an iPhone 4 and the youtube app might be built-in but it's almost impossible to sign into using my youtube credentials.  Anyone else notice that?  Apparently there's some process you can go through via google to confirm your account or whatever but it's so convoluted that I doubt if anyone has ever bothered.

Its actually pretty simple to be honest

Click on this link and sign in - https://accounts.google.com/ServiceLogin?btmpl=va&continue=https%3A%2F%2Faccounts.google.com%2FIssuedAuthSubTokens

Stick a name in the box = youtube or whatever

press generate

sign into youtube using your google account and the password generated.
Post by: Minder on September 26, 2012, 03:03:48 PM

Haven't noticed any problem with your emails Don.
Post by: Puckoon on September 26, 2012, 03:14:24 PM
Previous iPhone carnations were snapped up a lot quicker than this recent version by the Gaaboard populace. Shine wearing off or are we all just cheap hoors?
Post by: laoislad on September 26, 2012, 03:22:13 PM
Quote from: supersub on September 26, 2012, 01:22:33 PM

Yes!! And sometimes wifi connection drops in full signal!

That's happening me as well.
A few times I've had to turn the wifi option on phone  off and back on again to get it working again.
Only started happening since I updated.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 26, 2012, 03:26:47 PM
So - I just see here, having plugged in my iPhone to the laptop, that iTunes wants to install OS 6 onto my phone.

For what I gather from above should I resist doing this at all costs?
Post by: Puckoon on September 26, 2012, 04:00:14 PM
Just got informed you have to buy a new charger or connector now also?
Post by: Puckoon on September 26, 2012, 04:01:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 26, 2012, 03:26:47 PM
So - I just see here, having plugged in my iPhone to the laptop, that iTunes wants to install OS 6 onto my phone.

For what I gather from above should I resist doing this at all costs?

I may be a paranoid hoor, but I did this by accident for one of the first updates and after a while I started getting so many bugs and glitches in the phone that when I took it to the store the fella told me it was because I hadn't upgraded the software.
Post by: laoislad on September 26, 2012, 04:19:22 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 26, 2012, 04:00:14 PM
Just got informed you have to buy a new charger or connector now also?

Not if your buying the iPhone 5 as I'd assume it comes with it.
Where you will run into problems is if you have a docking station the new iPhone won't fit it.
Post by: Don Johnson on September 27, 2012, 09:59:12 AM
My emails are going fine now.

The wifi in work sometimes picks up BT Openzone instead of the work one for some reason.

Haven't had an opportunity to use the Maps yet but seen some memes taking the piss out of them.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 02, 2012, 03:04:14 PM
IOS 6.01 has been released and is available for download.

I had horrid WIFI issues since I upgraded to IOS6 - seemingly this upgrade will fix it.

I've upgraded and so far it's fine - but previously it was fine at times as well, but then nothing - even though there was 3 full semi-circles showing full WIFI access meaning I had to go back to 3G chewing up my montly limit set by O2 of 700mb

(and if you think I'm downloading shedloads of dodgy stuff, I'm not......I use the radio on the phone a fair bit)
Post by: muppet on September 10, 2013, 09:50:10 PM
It's finally here!

Watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=1sIWez9HAbA#t=163 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=1sIWez9HAbA#t=163)
Post by: Syferus on September 11, 2013, 07:31:27 AM
This one's for me, it's just time to move on from my trusty iPhone 4. I'd also be worried Apple might switch to a larger screen with the 6 and I've always liked the more compact form-factor.

Finger-print sensor, new fitness tracing chip, the usual spec boosts. Solid enough update.
Post by: Puckoon on September 19, 2013, 10:32:15 PM
Anyone update the software yet? Not sure I like it from an asthetics point of view but the phone is running very smoothly.
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2013, 10:59:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 19, 2013, 10:32:15 PM
Anyone update the software yet? Not sure I like it from an asthetics point of view but the phone is running very smoothly.

Took a few restores and iTunes is still adding my stuff back onto my iPhone but iOS certainly looks the part. Way over-due a refresh.
Post by: muppet on October 17, 2013, 02:15:10 PM
Free App: Accudio

You tell it the brand and model of your earphones and it optimises your phone's settings to give the best performance. The improvement is immediately noticeable to an audio-phobe like me.

Great App.
Post by: LeoMc on October 17, 2013, 03:29:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 19, 2013, 10:32:15 PM
Anyone update the software yet? Not sure I like it from an aesthetics point of view but the phone is running very smoothly.

I have seen a few reviews on the software. It helps out on the iPhone 5 & 4S but if you have an older iPhone 4 everything is noticeably slower. I have avoided upgrading on my iPhone 4 but heard complaints from those who did.
Post by: laoislad on October 19, 2013, 11:25:43 AM
What would you be prepared to do to get the latest iPhone? One couple in China sold their baby daughter, and bought one with the profits, The Independent reports.

The couple put their third child up for adoption, advertising the fact before the girl was even born. Once money changed hands, they were arrested by Shanghai prosecutors. They now face a spell in jail for alleged human trafficking.

Identified in local media only as Mr Teng and Ms Zhang, the couple had asked for between 30,000 and 50,000 yuan (£3,000 to £5,000) for someone to take their daughter off their hands.

They spent the money on an iPhone, as well as pricey trainers and luxury goods.

Though they deny their motivations were purely financial. Instead, they say they wanted someone else to bring up their daughter so she would have a better life than they could provide. "We did not give the child away to obtain profit, but to give the child better guarantees," one of them told the Liberation Daily newspaper in China.

The couple already have two sons, which violates China's one-child policy, and were unemployed, poorly educated, and living off their parents. When Ms Zhang found herself "accidentally pregnant" (according to Liberation Daily), she lied to her neighbours, telling them she had a stomach tumour. She then gave birth at home.

Last year, a teenager sold his kidney to buy an iPhone and iPad. And when the latest handsets launched, a fight broke out at Apple's Pasadena store in the US. One man even hired a group of homeless people to stand in line for him and buy up a load of iPhones that he could sell on for profit.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on November 25, 2013, 09:47:18 AM
Camera and torch stopped working on the phone at the weekend - anybody suffer this same fate?  If so, any straightforward solution?
Post by: muppet on August 29, 2014, 05:38:55 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/24/iphone-battery-free_n_5704821.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063 (http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/08/24/iphone-battery-free_n_5704821.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063)

Apple May Give You A New iPhone Battery For Free

Mine is eligible. Make sure to back it up before you go to Apple.
Post by: Syferus on August 29, 2014, 08:14:18 PM
I always try to exercise the warranty near the end of the one year coverage period. Tell them the battery is not staying charged and they will replace it or send you a refrub with a new battery. This on the other hand is just a bad batch they they're correcting.
Post by: oakleafgael on September 22, 2014, 09:09:03 PM
iPhone 5s that wont send sms, any ideas?
Post by: armaghniac on September 22, 2014, 09:17:54 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on September 22, 2014, 09:09:03 PM
iPhone 5s that wont send sms, any ideas?

Get one of these, SMS no problem.
(http://www.letsgomobile.org/images/specs/0077/nokia_2100.jpg)