GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Ash Smoker on September 01, 2012, 09:33:21 PM

Title: Declan Ryan quits Tipperary hurling job
Post by: Ash Smoker on September 01, 2012, 09:33:21 PM
Ryan quits Tipperary hurling job

Saturday, September 01, 2012 - 07:37 PM

Tipperary Senior hurling manager, Declan Ryan, has left his post.

Coach, Tommy Dunne and selector, Michael Gleeson have also stepped down from their posts.

The Tipperary County Board and the Tipperary senior hurling panel have thanked the trio for leading Tipperary to two Munster senior hurling championship successes and "their dedication and commitment in carrying out their roles during the last 2 years".

The board's statement said: "All three men have made a great contribution to the GAA in Tipperary over a long number of years and we are fortunate that men of their calibre have been willing to serve the county so generously and so loyally.

"We acknowledge the time, effort and many personal sacrifices they and their families have made in the interests of Tipperary's senior hurling fortunes and we firmly believe that their good work will lead to continued success for the county."

The board went on to wish the trio and their families well and said they looked forward to their "continued involvement with and contribution to the GAA in Tipperary".

County Chairman, Sean Nugent, will lead the search for a replacement team.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/ryan-quits-tipperary-hurling-job-565325.html
Title: Re: Declan Ryan quits Tipperary hurling job
Post by: Ash Smoker on September 01, 2012, 09:34:17 PM
No surprises here.
Tipperary need to arrest the slide by getting someone of the calibre of Nicky English or Liam Sheedy in charge.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 01, 2012, 10:32:22 PM
If the Tipp County Board had given Declan the fairly available technology to manage the team correctly they would not be looking for a past manager now. FFS, Fr. Tommy Maher was using for Kilkenny back in the 60's what the doormen on Quinns pub are using today as standard modern means of transmission of important observations. Unless a manager has the experience of someone like Cody there is a need for at least two observers to be located at strategic points/locations to relay the changes that need to be made to a manager who finds it is all over before it began.

Tradition will no longer win All-Irelands and if Tipp think that bringing back Nicky or Sheedy will change that then the 'home of hurling' will soon become, like my own county, 'the home of hopelessness'  I have no sympathy for Declan Ryan, but I have more for him than he will get in Tipperary.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 01, 2012, 10:54:03 PM
A non story really considering his 2 year term was up, i hope Deccie is remembered as he should be, as a legend of Tipp hurling, won three All-Irelands in three decades as a player and dedicated his entire adult life to Tipperary( and Clonoulty) hurling,playing,coaching and managing, i know I'm biased,as Deccie is a friend, but his treatment since the semi final has been nothing short of a disgrace, his  dedication to Tipperary has been absolute, no financial incentive,unlike other counties, in fact managing Tipp has cost him money considering his profession, i doubt  the arseholes abusing him have ever dedicated a single second to Tipperary gaa, anyway, rant over, thanks Dec, thanks for 89,senior and U-21, thanks for 91, and thanks for 2001, and everything in between.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 01, 2012, 11:19:30 PM
You have explained my sentiments better than I ever could myself. Everyone involved in hurling owes the likes of Declan Ryan, Declan Ryan owes nobody. Never met the man but I'd say he would go in his bare feet before managing another county or hogging prime position in the Cusack Premium bar telling anyone who would listen what should or should not be happening outside or casting aspersions on anyone from his own county. Only Munster final I ever went to was to see him and the team of the time play. Wish him well.
Post by: theskull1 on September 02, 2012, 11:02:39 AM
Great post homeofhurling. He sounds like a model GAA man. Fcuk the begrudgers
Post by: seafoid on September 02, 2012, 09:09:21 PM
A great servant to Tipp etc but they lost by 25 points or whatever it was and Tipp hurling is in trauma.
People are entitled to be disappointed within reason. 
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 02, 2012, 09:42:50 PM
and within reason is the crucial point you make.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 02, 2012, 10:08:13 PM
I suppose it depends on your definition of reasonable, I'm about as fervent a Tipp supporter as possible, my wife,who is Italian and thinks I'm absolutely nuts, knows that she cant book anything,weekends away,holidays,birthday parties,christenings  etc.. without referring to the calendar in the kitchen which is filled in as soon as the championship draws are made and updated with league,waterford crystal,intermediate,minor,u-21 fixtures etc.. i went to 14 training sessions this year that's a 3 hour round trip from Dublin on a Tuesday/Thursday night, i would consider myself a dedicated Tipp hurling man but my dedication doesn't even register against the dedication of Deccie, his entire adult life has been dedicated to Tipp, the thought that he could possibly owe anything to the likes of the gobshite who attempted to spit in his face recently, or the pair of hard men who thought abusing him in front of children was ok because we lost a game of hurling,is ridiculous imho.

When all is said and done its an amateur game, i had a pretty feisty exchange of views with a couple of Tipp supporters in the Palace on the night of the semi-final, they were of the opinion that paying for their ticket entitled them to abuse Declan and co, I'm of the opinion that paying for your ticket entitles you to 70 minutes of entertainment and f**k all else in an amateur sport,it aint the premiership ffs.
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2012, 03:13:58 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 02, 2012, 10:08:13 PM
I suppose it depends on your definition of reasonable, I'm about as fervent a Tipp supporter as possible, my wife,who is Italian and thinks I'm absolutely nuts, knows that she cant book anything,weekends away,holidays,birthday parties,christenings  etc.. without referring to the calendar in the kitchen which is filled in as soon as the championship draws are made and updated with league,waterford crystal,intermediate,minor,u-21 fixtures etc.. i went to 14 training sessions this year that's a 3 hour round trip from Dublin on a Tuesday/Thursday night, i would consider myself a dedicated Tipp hurling man but my dedication doesn't even register against the dedication of Deccie, his entire adult life has been dedicated to Tipp, the thought that he could possibly owe anything to the likes of the gobshite who attempted to spit in his face recently, or the pair of hard men who thought abusing him in front of children was ok because we lost a game of hurling,is ridiculous imho.

When all is said and done its an amateur game, i had a pretty feisty exchange of views with a couple of Tipp supporters in the Palace on the night of the semi-final, they were of the opinion that paying for their ticket entitled them to abuse Declan and co, I'm of the opinion that paying for your ticket entitles you to 70 minutes of entertainment and f**k all else in an amateur sport,it aint the premiership ffs.

Entirely correct HOH8, no one has any right to abuse anyone even if they do pay their way in through the gate.

If some arsehole spat at me I'd make sure their next spit was through a gaping set of teeth, despicable hoor shouldn't be let in the gates of any club in Ireland.
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 04, 2012, 03:26:06 PM
It's a pity people will try to judge Declan on 35 minutes of one game, where things went badly wrong.
In his 2 years in charge, Tipperary had a 100% record in Munster and only lost to one county in championship.

Liam Sheedy lost a Munster Championship game to Cork by 10 points 2 years ago, but had a safety net to allow him recover from it. Kilkenny were beaten out the gate in Leinster, but had the luxury of a 2nd chance.

If we were playing Kilkenny again in a week's time, it would be as close as Tipp-Kilkenny games usually are.
Post by: johnneycool on September 04, 2012, 03:36:02 PM
On the home of hurling thread there was talk of how passionate Tipperary fans were about hurling and sometimes that manifests itself in ugly and irrational ways.
After 2010 and an exceptional U-21 team the expectations from Tipp people were that they'd go onto win more AI's. That hasn't happened yet and Deccy seems to be the object for that frustration. I'm sure Deccy will admit to his own mistakes a few weeks back, but he didn't send so many talented hurlers out to under perform as they did and you would struggle to name a Tipp hurler who had a decent 70 minutes let alone a good game.
Post by: Colombia on September 17, 2012, 03:00:51 PM
I hear Eamonn O'Shea's name being linked with this, that might be a salve to the wounds.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:06:06 PM
I think that's why we haven't had any mention of retirements Colombia, i think the players have been tipped the nod that Eamonn is on board, I hope so anyway, not least because i threw a sizable chunk of the kids inheritance on him ;),  i believe the county board are finalising his selectors at the moment, they are being very thorough as i know of at least four lads who have been sounded out about their interest.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 04:44:53 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:06:06 PM
I think that's why we haven't had any mention of retirements Colombia, i think the players have been tipped the nod that Eamonn is on board, I hope so anyway, not least because i threw a sizable chunk of the kids inheritance on him ;),  i believe the county board are finalising his selectors at the moment, they are being very thorough as i know of at least four lads who have been sounded out about their interest.

I know Tipp are a huge county, but how on gods earth can you get a man in to manage the team and then let the county board elect selectors to go with him?

Does the manager have final say on who the selectors are?

who says they'll all pull together?

I'd have thought the days to a commmiitteee gathered round the sideline, some on bended knee talking about changes etc had gone?
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 08:17:00 PM
Sheedy had never met O'Shea before the county board suggested him (on Nickys advice) in 2007, when they met it became quickly apparent they were pulling in the same direction but Sheedy is on record saying that if they hadn't he would have walked away, in fairness the Tipp county board are a relatively progressive bunch, i doubt Nugent and co would push selectors on O'Shea, its more a case of suggesting names.
Post by: johnneycool on September 18, 2012, 08:38:28 AM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 08:17:00 PM
Sheedy had never met O'Shea before the county board suggested him (on Nickys advice) in 2007, when they met it became quickly apparent they were pulling in the same direction but Sheedy is on record saying that if they hadn't he would have walked away, in fairness the Tipp county board are a relatively progressive bunch, i doubt Nugent and co would push selectors on O'Shea, its more a case of suggesting names.

You can be lucky in that regard with Sheedy and O'Shea, but it looks like more often than not some yahoo'd putting together a 'dream team' of ex star players or what not and they mightn't agree on the time of day and quickly transcend into farce.
Post by: seafoid on September 18, 2012, 09:15:09 AM
What is the mood like down in the soi disant home of hurling these days now that the dust has settled after the semi final?
Post by: Asal Mor on September 18, 2012, 11:02:14 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 04, 2012, 03:26:06 PM
It's a pity people will try to judge Declan on 35 minutes of one game, where things went badly wrong.
In his 2 years in charge, Tipperary had a 100% record in Munster and only lost to one county in championship.

Liam Sheedy lost a Munster Championship game to Cork by 10 points 2 years ago, but had a safety net to allow him recover from it. Kilkenny were beaten out the gate in Leinster, but had the luxury of a 2nd chance.

If we were playing Kilkenny again in a week's time, it would be as close as Tipp-Kilkenny games usually are.

It seems a little harsh when based on results but Tipps' performances in the last 2 years weren't as good as in Sheedy's time. In last year's final and this year's semi for they were clearly outplayed by Kilkenny, whereas in the two previous years they more than matched Kilkenny and were unlucky not to win both. It's not necessarily Ryan's fault that performances have slipped but at the same time it's the manager's job so it's always his fault.
Post by: Colombia on September 19, 2012, 01:11:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 18, 2012, 09:15:09 AM
What is the mood like down in the soi disant home of hurling these days now that the dust has settled after the semi final?

I'm an exile so I wouldn't be privy to the prevailing mood, but if Eamonn O'Shea is appointed as Declan Ryan's successor well all will be sunshine & lollipops, if the public gets what the public wants.

Hearing now that we're going to have another Killenaule resident as selector, so homeofhurling8's Twitter account will need suspending 8)
Post by: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 11:47:34 AM
no sunshine and lollipops down Tipp way so far!!

From HS:

O'Shea and Sheedy out of Tipp race
20 September 2012
Eamon O'Shea and Liam Sheedy have ruled themselves out of the running to become the next Tipperary hurling manager.

Both have cited work commitments as their reason for not being in a position to take the job. And with Nicky English having also ruled out the prospect of returning to the role after a decade's absence, the search for Declan Ryan's successor is becoming increasingly desperate.

O'Shea, who was coach to the Tipperary team which Liam Sheedy managed to All-Ireland glory two years ago, was seen as the most likely to candidate to succeed Ryan, who stepped down in the wake of last year's humiliating All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Kilkenny.

Tipperary chairman Sean Nugent has admitted the chances of having a name to put before next Tuesday's county board meeting are slim.

"We had an executive meeting on Tuesday night. Naturally enough we discussed it, but in terms of a candidate, there is nothing to report," he said in The Irish Daily Star.

"None of those leaders in the field have put their hands up and said that they will do it. They'd love to do it but because of work commitments, it's not possible at the moment."
Post by: Absent on September 20, 2012, 12:03:03 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:06:06 PM

Now that O'Shea and Sheedy are not available,who is left,Babs definitely not the man and Nicky English not interested,will the job fall to Tommy Dunne.
Post by: Onlooker on September 20, 2012, 12:12:31 PM
I hope you are joking when you mention Tommy Dunne.  That would be a sure way of making a bad situation worse.
Post by: Absent on September 20, 2012, 12:16:16 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on September 20, 2012, 12:12:31 PM
I hope you are joking when you mention Tommy Dunne.  That would be a sure way of making a bad situation worse.

I agree but what names are likely to be in the hat now,surely its unthinkable for Tipp to go outside the county for a manager.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2012, 12:17:12 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 11:47:34 AM
no sunshine and lollipops down Tipp way so far!!

From HS:

O'Shea and Sheedy out of Tipp race
20 September 2012
Eamon O'Shea and Liam Sheedy have ruled themselves out of the running to become the next Tipperary hurling manager.

Both have cited work commitments as their reason for not being in a position to take the job. And with Nicky English having also ruled out the prospect of returning to the role after a decade's absence, the search for Declan Ryan's successor is becoming increasingly desperate.

O'Shea, who was coach to the Tipperary team which Liam Sheedy managed to All-Ireland glory two years ago, was seen as the most likely to candidate to succeed Ryan, who stepped down in the wake of last year's humiliating All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Kilkenny.

Tipperary chairman Sean Nugent has admitted the chances of having a name to put before next Tuesday's county board meeting are slim.

"We had an executive meeting on Tuesday night. Naturally enough we discussed it, but in terms of a candidate, there is nothing to report," he said in The Irish Daily Star.

"None of those leaders in the field have put their hands up and said that they will do it. They'd love to do it but because of work commitments, it's not possible at the moment."
I thought home of hurling implied the other day that Tipp had a manager lined up and that they would win the AIF in 2013 with him. 
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 20, 2012, 12:20:29 PM
I think Eamon O'Shea is someone who wants to coach rather than manage.
Work commitments is the way out people use when they aren't happy with the terms.
Post by: spuds on September 20, 2012, 12:41:23 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 20, 2012, 12:20:29 PM
I think Eamon O'Shea is someone who wants to coach rather than manage.
Work commitments is the way out people use when they aren't happy with the terms.
Oh jeepers ! And what do people say when their professional life is incompatible with the demands of intercounty management ?
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 12:49:59 PM
O'Shea hasn't ruled himself out, neither has Nugent ruled him out entirely above nor in the original interview from which the quotes above were taken , there is i believe a current impasse but O'Shea is still the only man approached officially to be manager, there have been others approached with a view to them working with O'Shea, up to yesterday the new team was due to be put forward next Tuesday night to be ratified, one of the chaps approached to be a selector was as much in the dark as everyone else when i spoke to him earlier as he was told O'Shea was already "signed and sealed".
Post by: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 01:10:58 PM
What's wrong with Dinny? Was his brainfart against Cork so bad that his native county won't entertain him?
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 20, 2012, 01:46:19 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 01:10:58 PM
What's wrong with Dinny? Was his brainfart against Cork so bad that his native county won't entertain him?
A lot in Tipp wouldn't rate him highly.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 02:00:10 PM
Dinny is a bit "old school" for the modern game imo Johnney, he reminds me a bit of yer man from Father Ted, Dinnys solution to everything is " is there anything to be said for another lap " ;), i personally think himself and Paudie Butler should tour the weaker counties 52 weeks of the year preaching the gospel to the unconverted, two finer, more passionate, men to talk about the game i have never come across.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 02:05:43 PM
I was just going to ask about Paudie Butler and would he be in the running.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 02:19:20 PM
I think he is too long out of top level management Az, isnt he also employed by the Gaa at the moment ?

If O'Shea isn't a goer i know Richie Stakelum is highly thought of among the cognoscenti (and some of us no marks), whether he would be up for the travelling from the big smhoke is another matter, i could offer him a lift i suppose ;)
Post by: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 03:03:02 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 02:19:20 PM
I think he is too long out of top level management Az, isnt he also employed by the Gaa at the moment ?

If O'Shea isn't a goer i know Richie Stakelum is highly thought of among the cognoscenti (and some of us no marks), whether he would be up for the travelling from the big smhoke is another matter, i could offer him a lift i suppose ;)

Is Stakelum not with Daly in the Dublin set up still?
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 03:06:15 PM
He is indeed Johnney but he could be enticed with the chance to end the famine ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 20, 2012, 03:09:32 PM
Just bring back Babs.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 20, 2012, 03:19:28 PM
He never went away you know ;)

He is too busy, now that the son in law is flat out training horses "advising" on the training of horses Babs is the bookie runner for the yard ;)
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 20, 2012, 04:46:32 PM
There's always John McIntyre.
Post by: Colombia on September 21, 2012, 09:35:19 AM
At this stage there are so many rumours afloat that I wouldn't be surprised to hear Premior Emperor & homeofhurling announced as selectors with Bord na Mona man on board as the new physical trainer
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 21, 2012, 09:48:22 AM
Quote from: Colombia on September 21, 2012, 09:35:19 AMI wouldn't be surprised to hear Premior Emperor & homeofhurling announced as selectors with Bord na Mona man on board as the new physical trainer

In fairness i was having a pint with one of the chaps approached to be a selector at the time of the approach and i did say if he wasn't interested i would do it, maybe yer man on the other end of the line heard it and chalked it down as an acceptance ;) If so then i would like to announce that my team will be Paul "Sumo" Shelly-Fitness and conditioning coach, Michael "Babs" Keating-Player relations, Diarmuid Fitzgerald - Forwards coach, John "twinkle Leahy- Backs coach and Timmy "d'unbelievable" Ryan- Manager and psychologist, if we don't win five in a row with that team I'm the pope ;) 
Post by: seafoid on September 21, 2012, 10:10:22 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 20, 2012, 03:09:32 PM
Just bring back Babs.
I was listening to Babs on the radio there after the Tipp KK match and he sounds like a real old codger. Bringing up the 1958 Munster final to make a point. But he didn't say anything about the tactics of the match. 
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 21, 2012, 10:40:55 AM
Babs still has a very sharp hurling brain in fairness to him, he plays up to his media image a bit but if you get him on his own it can be very entertaining and enlightening, he is an irascible old boot at times and like all auld fellas everything was better in his day but the fire still burns bright.
Post by: seafoid on September 21, 2012, 10:54:36 AM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 21, 2012, 10:40:55 AM
Babs still has a very sharp hurling brain in fairness to him, he plays up to his media image a bit but if you get him on his own it can be very entertaining and enlightening, he is an irascible old boot at times and like all auld fellas everything was better in his day but the fire still burns bright.
What age is he ? He wouldn't be much older than Cyril Farrell, would he ?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 21, 2012, 10:55:34 AM
How much older than Cody would he be?
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 21, 2012, 11:00:08 AM
Babs must be coming up on 70 now, Farrell would be a few years younger and Cody wouldnt be 60 yet.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 21, 2012, 11:21:53 AM
I just googled there. I think Babs is 68, and Cody is 58. Cody seems to be older than that, but thinking about it he couldn't be given that he was playing in the mid 80s.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 21, 2012, 11:28:02 AM
Babs third and last year minor was in 1962 so that would tally.
Post by: Absent on September 21, 2012, 04:34:40 PM
Could Justin McCarthy do a job for Tipp seeing that there appears to be a dearth of suitable managerial talent available in the county at the moment.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 21, 2012, 05:23:35 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 21, 2012, 04:34:40 PM
Could Justin McCarthy do a job for Tipp seeing that there appears to be a dearth of suitable managerial talent available in the county at the moment.

I can't remember any of the big 3 hurling counties having an outside manager. Have Tipp ever had a Cork or a Kilkenny man in charge i wonder?

In any case McCarthy has never seemed willing to look at a tactical approach to hurling. He seemed a bit too set in his ways for the modern game. His Waterford team played amazing hurling but he never got an All-Ireland out of a very talented group of players.
Post by: Absent on September 21, 2012, 05:55:17 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 21, 2012, 05:23:35 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 21, 2012, 04:34:40 PM

I can't remember any of the big 3 hurling counties having an outside manager. Have Tipp ever had a Cork or a Kilkenny man in charge i wonder?

In any case McCarthy has never seemed willing to look at a tactical approach to hurling. He seemed a bit too set in his ways for the modern game. His Waterford team played amazing hurling but he never got an All-Ireland out of a very talented group of players.

True indeed about Waterford,he had them playing great hurling though,they were a credit to him.
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2012, 10:40:30 AM
Crack open the bottles of Magners/Bulmers and Cidona for the children.

O'Shea primed for Tipp
25 September 2012
Eamon O'Shea is on the verge of being appointed as Declan Ryan's successor as manager of the Tipperary senior hurlers.

It was speculated that O'Shea - who was a member of Liam Sheedy's backroom team - had withdrawn his name from the race due to work commitments but The Irish Examiner understands that he has had a change of heart.

The NUIG professor of Economics is reported to have met with county board officials for a second time last week.

PRO Ger Ryan played down the speculation, however, and revealed that the Kilruane McDonaghs man will not be unveiled at a meeting of the County Board which is scheduled for tonight.

"Unfortunately there is no white smoke," he told The Irish Examiner. "As things stand, there will be no announcement at the meeting. We still haven't finished the process. Once we have news we will release a statement."
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 25, 2012, 08:46:05 PM
Eamonn O'Shea ratified at this evenings County board meeting.
Post by: Absent on September 25, 2012, 09:53:06 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 25, 2012, 08:46:05 PM

HOH,you seem to have been right from the start,how will O'Shea do as manager as against coach,will he do both roles,could be quite a challenge for him,any word on the rest of the team.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 26, 2012, 12:08:20 AM
Long drive for him through south Galway back and over every evening to go training. A few checkpoints might have to be set up.
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2012, 10:36:08 AM
Tipp need a Keynesian approach next year.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 26, 2012, 10:48:13 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 21, 2012, 11:21:53 AM
I just googled there. I think Babs is 68, and Cody is 58. Cody seems to be older than that, but thinking about it he couldn't be given that he was playing in the mid 80s.

A feature of Kilkenny hurlers of the pre-Cody generation, was how old they always looked.
They all looked like wizened 50 year olds when they played. The Fennellys, O'Connors, Christy Heffernan, John Power etc. Its hard to fathom that some of them were actually still in their 20s.

Nowadays the typical inter county hurler is shaking off the last effects of acne.
If Wurzel Gummidge ever hurled inter-county, it would definitely have been for the Cats!
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 26, 2012, 10:58:05 AM
Quote from: Absent on September 25, 2012, 09:53:06 PM

HOH,you seem to have been right from the start,how will O'Shea do as manager as against coach,will he do both roles,could be quite a challenge for him,any word on the rest of the team.
[/b]

No announcement due to be made on the rest of the managerial team until after the minor All Ireland is out of the way, they are mostly in place bar one, possibly two, of the backroom team (not selectors) having some issues to iron out,  the only reason the board released the brief statement last night was to avoid the circus that has surrounded the appointment in the last few days, the word was obviously out so they decided it best to confirm O'Shea as manager last night after he was ratified.

Contrary to some news reports last week Eamonn never ruled himself out, he was the only man officially approached by the County board to take over.

The county board initially drew up a list with three names on it, they contacted all three through the usual "back channels" to sound them out on their availability, two recent(ish) former managers both pushed the board in the direction of O'Shea who was the other name on the list of three, he confirmed his interest as soon as contacted and agreed to a meeting during which he outlined his vision which, as will become apparent, is a little more wide ranging than a traditional managerial appointment ;), the county board reps then took that "vision" away to discuss with the remaining members of the selection committee, the county board then approached Eamonn again to offer him the position which he accepted, the delay in naming him came as the fine details were ironed out over the last couple of weeks.

As for the coaching/managing side of things i have heard people question whether he can manage as opposed to coach, i would suggest his job proves he is certainly capable of managing people and of delegating, in fairness Eamonn isn't the sort of fella who does anything by halves, this is a man that took it upon himself to travel down to Thurles, on non training nights, to coach a couple of the Tipp players one to one during his previous stint, that's the sort of chap we are talking about here.
Post by: Onlooker on September 26, 2012, 11:39:49 AM
Clearly the best man for the job and a very good appointment.  My only worry is the hype that there will be in Tipperary as a result of him getting the job.  As far as some of the hard line fans are concerned next year's All Ireland is in the bag already.   
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2012, 12:16:45 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 26, 2012, 10:58:05 AM
Quote from: Absent on September 25, 2012, 09:53:06 PM

[/b]

No announcement due to be made on the rest of the managerial team until after the minor All Ireland is out of the way, they are mostly in place bar one, possibly two, of the backroom team (not selectors) having some issues to iron out,  the only reason the board released the brief statement last night was to avoid the circus that has surrounded the appointment in the last few days, the word was obviously out so they decided it best to confirm O'Shea as manager last night after he was ratified.

Contrary to some news reports last week Eamonn never ruled himself out, he was the only man officially approached by the County board to take over.

The county board initially drew up a list with three names on it, they contacted all three through the usual "back channels" to sound them out on their availability, two recent(ish) former managers both pushed the board in the direction of O'Shea who was the other name on the list of three, he confirmed his interest as soon as contacted and agreed to a meeting during which he outlined his vision which, as will become apparent, is a little more wide ranging than a traditional managerial appointment ;), the county board reps then took that "vision" away to discuss with the remaining members of the selection committee, the county board then approached Eamonn again to offer him the position which he accepted, the delay in naming him came as the fine details were ironed out over the last couple of weeks.

As for the coaching/managing side of things i have heard people question whether he can manage as opposed to coach, i would suggest his job proves he is certainly capable of managing people and of delegating, in fairness Eamonn isn't the sort of fella who does anything by halves, this is a man that took it upon himself to travel down to Thurles, on non training nights, to coach a couple of the Tipp players one to one during his previous stint, that's the sort of chap we are talking about here.

HoH

Is this the one you were hoping they would pick ?
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 26, 2012, 03:14:57 PM
O'Shea was definetly top of my list alright Seafoid, delighted he answered the call, next summer will be very interesting now with the re-emergence of Clare and Limerick in Munster to challenge ourselves,Cork and Waterford and Kilkenny, Galway and Dublin(this year was a blip imho) scrapping it out in Leinster, isnt it great to have competitive provincial championships again.
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2012, 03:30:27 PM
Isn't it just ?

It makes the whole thing far more interesting
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 28, 2012, 09:45:53 AM
I'm delighted to have O'Shea in charge. He was very impressive in his preparations during Sheedy's reign.
It will be important to see who his selectors are. He can't be a one man show!