Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 01:57:46 PM

Poll
Question: What do you think of it?
Option 1: brilliant
Option 2: meh
Option 3: shite
Option 4: waste of money
Option 5: f**k off
Option 6: used to be good craic
Title: GAAboard
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 01:57:46 PM
What are your opinions on it?

I shall add a poll
Title: Re: GAAboard
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 30, 2012, 02:01:27 PM
You forgot "used to be better craic"
Post by: Jonah on August 30, 2012, 02:02:48 PM
A waste of whose money?
It's free isn't it.
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 02:05:59 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 30, 2012, 02:01:27 PM

There you go sir
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 02:07:18 PM
Quote from: Jonah on August 30, 2012, 02:02:48 PM
A waste of whose money?
It's free isn't it.

Surely it has to have running costs?
Post by: Hardy on August 30, 2012, 02:14:03 PM
Roll on the First of September.
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 02:14:57 PM
What happens on the first of September?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 30, 2012, 02:16:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 30, 2012, 02:14:03 PM
Roll on the First of September.
Sure the schools have iPads and all sorts of fancy shit now. There is no escape.
Post by: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 02:22:16 PM
Oh, the schools. No, I`m not a teacher, I find them to be hateful arrogant creatures

Could we please stay on topic please?
Post by: Jonah on August 30, 2012, 02:24:16 PM
Won't be that many schools opened on September 1st.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 30, 2012, 02:45:26 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 30, 2012, 02:05:59 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 30, 2012, 02:01:27 PM

There you go sir

Good lad
Post by: JimStynes on August 30, 2012, 02:50:06 PM
Used to be good craic back in the day. Once tony fernon stopped posting as much and a load of lads got red cards it has been shit. GAA section and local GAA are still good I suppose. I prefer football365 now, some threads on there are hilarious.
Post by: The Worker on August 30, 2012, 05:08:27 PM
The boards decision not to re-instate our nail loney was the start of the end.
Post by: JimStynes on August 30, 2012, 05:09:50 PM
Quote from: The Worker on August 30, 2012, 05:08:27 PM

I agree
Post by: Main Street on August 30, 2012, 10:51:15 PM
I thought he was called 'one nail looney'.
Post by: stephenite on August 30, 2012, 10:58:46 PM
As a resource for GAA fans it's second to none, great for differing opinions from different parts of the country.
Post by: Forever Green on August 31, 2012, 01:32:40 AM
What is this mucksavage thread I have seen mentioned quite a lot on here?
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on September 01, 2012, 12:06:24 AM
shite:

1) same threads and topics of discussion all of the time

2) averse to controversy and humour

3) very cliquey, good few of the original gaaboarders still around chuckling at each other's posts
Post by: Forever Green on September 01, 2012, 12:18:07 AM
Its very PC

Personally, I think its shite too. Just wanted to hear* other peoples opinion

*you can`t actually hear people on an internet forum
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2012, 01:06:45 AM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on September 01, 2012, 12:06:24 AM
shite:

1) same threads and topics of discussion all of the time

2) averse to controversy and humour

3) very cliquey, good few of the original gaaboarders still around chuckling at each other's posts

You've been a member 3 years. Your assessment is useless.
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2012, 01:07:45 AM
Quote from: Forever Green on September 01, 2012, 12:18:07 AM
Its very PC

Personally, I think its shite too. Just wanted to hear* other peoples opinion

*you can`t actually hear people on an internet forum

You've been a member 1 year. Your assessment is useless.
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2012, 01:10:29 AM

You've been a member 3 years. Useless.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2012, 01:15:10 AM
Better than HS anyway.
Post by: screenexile on September 01, 2012, 01:35:40 AM
I still like it, the slagging isn't as good as it once was but I've been a member the best part of 10 years and it's still good craic. If you want reasoned debate you can get it but also if you want to wind up a few fools you will do it with ease. (Man Utd thread, any thread where you call the Dubs gym monkeys etc. etc.)

As a Derry man it was a huge deal for a while and there was some great coverage of club games, debate and slagging in the Derry thread, therewas also a stage where everyone involved in GAA in the County was reading it as well. So much so it's still the most posted in thread on the board by quite a distance. That has dried up somewhat as more established posters have left but it is still something I would check on an almost daily basis.
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2012, 08:21:38 AM
I don't think much has changed. There are just more posters. I think it's a bit like watching the same episode of Fr Ted over and over. Things that made you laugh make you smirk now. Still a brilliant resource.
Post by: JimStynes on September 01, 2012, 09:08:21 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 01, 2012, 01:10:29 AM

You've been a member 3 years. Useless.

The worker has been here from the start, he has had about 20 different names in that time though!
Post by: theticklemister on September 01, 2012, 09:15:04 AM
Sure out of curiosity what other GAA forums are there? Hogan Stand just?

Aye I agree with Screen exile, the Derry one is fantastic....... So much so in last years county AGM the county chairman had a blast at it............we speak the truth on the Derry thread; but they can't handle the truth. We said that the whole CCC and system is out of order.
Post by: Main Street on September 01, 2012, 02:08:34 PM
That's evidence that not much has changed,
Derry posters believing they are the best and have the patent on truth.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:20:01 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 01, 2012, 09:15:04 AM

Aye I agree with Screen exile, the Derry one is fantastic....... So much so in last years county AGM the county chairman had a blast at it............we speak the truth on the Derry thread; but they can't handle the truth. We said that the whole CCC and system is out of order.

An Fear rua is another one.
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:24:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 01, 2012, 02:22:15 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 01, 2012, 01:15:10 AM
Better than HS anyway.
What the fcuk is your problem?

Think the HS is hoganstand Hs
Post by: Minder on September 01, 2012, 02:24:36 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:20:01 PM

Some punter got a bollocking from the boss man on An Fear Rua the other day for posting a thread title in capital letters.
Post by: Gaffer on September 01, 2012, 02:25:12 PM
Better than HS anyway.

LOL
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:29:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 01, 2012, 02:24:36 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:20:01 PM

Some punter got a bollocking from the boss man on An Fear Rua the other day for posting a thread title in capital letters.

Saw that allright  ;D Jesus he would be busy here at times
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:35:21 PM
 :-[ Didn't want you getting upset hS  ;)
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 01, 2012, 10:42:47 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 01, 2012, 02:24:06 PM
Better than HS anyway.

Think the HS is hoganstand Hs
(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRP1Ltc7_iUWMRmZM1by5Laj-Y9AxuIGH_CdVsFupXH_nPSx_vw&t=1)
:)
Post by: illdecide on September 01, 2012, 11:42:58 PM
The Board is def not as good craic as it once was, i know some of the stories were made up and some of responses were a bit childish (mostly mine) but it was only a bit of fun to pass the day but some guys on here  (PC Brigade) were soon down your throat about it. ONL was good craic along with that Clougher fool (Joe Mac)...lol, even the local gaa section (Armagh) has went to the dogs that bad i don't even check it now ffs.

Jim Stynes your right saan...
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 05, 2012, 08:44:24 AM
Quote from: Gaffer on September 01, 2012, 02:25:12 PM
Better than HS anyway.

LOL

Post by: Premier Emperor on September 05, 2012, 11:19:06 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 01, 2012, 06:24:13 PM
AFR is very fond of dishing out the banhammer, most contributors to his message board have been hit with a ban at some point. There's only about a handful at the most of long term regular contributors (South Limerick Referee being one).
If you haven't been banned a few times over on AFR, there is something wrong with you.
The place is policed like the Gestapo are in charge and the bannings are often totally random.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 05, 2012, 12:49:01 PM
In a previous life I met the owner of An Fearr Rua to see if we could benefit each other (I was flogging jerseys and hurls online in 2000/2001 in a vain attempt to become a millionaire). I assume the same chap is in charge? I was registered on AFR but I haven't logged on or even visited the site in years and years.
Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2012, 01:27:57 PM
The board is a wonderful  resource as O'Neill said. It's a great place to share the ups and downs of being a GAA fan. 

And it's better than the GAA section of most newspapers.  The insight is second to none. It's great to see all the interaction between the wee 6 and the rest of the country. And going to matches is different when you read more widely about the games, I think   

Plus there are great nuggets every so often.

*Re: The Sunday Game
When Spillane presented the Sunday Game a few years back I had a cousin home from America who wouldnt believe me that Spillane was a real presenter and not a comedy sketch!
Post by: AQMP on September 05, 2012, 01:50:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 05, 2012, 01:27:57 PM
The board is a wonderful  resource as O'Neill said. It's a great place to share the ups and downs of being a GAA fan. 

And it's better than the GAA section of most newspapers.  The insight is second to none. It's great to see all the interaction between the wee 6 and the rest of the country. And going to matches is different when you read more widely about the games, I think   

Plus there are great nuggets every so often.

Agreed.  I still enjoy the board for the most part.  Also good for us exiled to another county to keep up with the club scene etc at home.
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 05, 2012, 02:34:41 PM
[img]One contributor mentioned an evolving membership/contributor base which I suppose means some ebb and flow in terms of overall activity and the number of interesting threads.

For what it's worth I think that all contributors (and particularly senior/hero members) should do their bit to encourage the membership base to flourish and welcome new folk.

Maybe I'm wrong but at times I perceive new contributors get a somewhat cold shoulder from the so called heroes who prefer only to comment/reply on each others threads and comments. There is also the gauntlet each new contributor has to run through when the heroes  bring up the " you're a kid on summer holidays" stance. 

It would be nice to think that all board members remember they too were once newbies.

Anyway my door is always open.

Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2012, 03:11:36 PM
The other thing about the board is all the archive material in the back pages.
The slow decline of Tyrone and the rise of Mayo are there in more detail than you can ever get in a newspaper. 
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 05, 2012, 03:30:59 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on September 05, 2012, 02:34:41 PM
[img]One contributor mentioned an evolving membership/contributor base which I suppose means some ebb and flow in terms of overall activity and the number of interesting threads.

For what it's worth I think that all contributors (and particularly senior/hero members) should do their bit to encourage the membership base to flourish and welcome new folk.

Maybe I'm wrong but at times I perceive new contributors get a somewhat cold shoulder from the so called heroes who prefer only to comment/reply on each others threads and comments. There is also the gauntlet each new contributor has to run through when the heroes  bring up the " you're a kid on summer holidays" stance. 

It would be nice to think that all board members remember they too were once newbies.

ffs, school holidays not over yet................... :)
have to agree, though ive been around a bit, im not too regular a poster, but the amount of threads ive stopped in my tracks because im not in the clique would be embarassing if i gived a toss lol, but agree with you on that point, (if you can make sense of what im saying)
do have to say its not the craic it used to be, not the same volume of posts to read etc
Post by: Cold tea on September 05, 2012, 03:43:32 PM

Yip and creaming themselves when they do!
Post by: eddie d on September 05, 2012, 04:12:04 PM
its good for derry ones cus we never know when games are on
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2012, 04:14:22 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on September 05, 2012, 03:30:59 PM

ffs, school holidays not over yet................... :)
have to agree, though ive been around a bit, im not too regular a poster, but the amount of threads ive stopped in my tracks because im not in the clique would be embarassing if i gived a toss lol, but agree with you on that point, (if you can make sense of what im saying)
do have to say its not the craic it used to be, not the same volume of posts to read etc

Maybe it's not because you're a relative newbie. Maybe it's because your talking shite :D

I've never seen a newbie with something interesting to say being shot down. I've seen newbies who want this place to be like Football365 being given short shrift alright, but I think that's fair enough. Nothing against F365, and if that's your thing fair enough, but I think there a lot of people on this forum who've grown old with it :) I was about 25 when I joined it!!
Post by: Aristo 60 on September 05, 2012, 04:23:33 PM
Thanks (AZ) Awfully  ;)
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 06:03:14 PM

Hi shut your pipehole Mr 86 posts. OK?
Post by: laoislad on September 05, 2012, 06:13:49 PM
Another decent thing about the board is meeting some of the lads who post here.
I've met about a dozen and all were sound.
Well except for Shamrock Shore, the hoor spent the whole time trying to sell me a set of jerseys and some hurls.
Post by: Gold on September 05, 2012, 06:44:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 06:03:14 PM

I dont post that much compared to many but there isnt a day goes by when im not reading the board.
I think its the best website on the web and like reading the Antrim Football Threads the most (though not enough people post on it!)

General Discussion Board is v good but i miss the New and Improved Hot Ladies Thread NSFW !

We need an Even Newer and Improved Hot Ladies Thread!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2012, 10:20:03 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 05, 2012, 10:13:59 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 01, 2012, 06:04:56 PM
(b) gaaboard.com has done very well to last like it has and keep up it's popularity as long as it has.

The board's stats (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?action=stats) would suggest that the place has been heading out of fashion for a while now. There's only half the chat there was three years ago.
Maybe the quality of chat has improved!

Anyway, those stats - fcuk there has been some shite talked about Derry football!
Post by: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 10:25:37 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 05, 2012, 06:44:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 06:03:14 PM

I dont post that much compared to many but there isnt a day goes by when im not reading the board.
I think its the best website on the web and like reading the Antrim Football Threads the most (though not enough people post on it!)

General Discussion Board is v good but i miss the New and Improved Hot Ladies Thread NSFW !

We need an Even Newer and Improved Hot Ladies Thread!

The reason this board is great is the Iris thread and the Rachel Riley thread, some craic. Also for all the shite and arguments you get some good stuff from the board, whether it is scandal, good jokes or a few videos or advice.
Post by: JimStynes on September 05, 2012, 10:43:00 PM
Still not half the craic it used to be though. Mods kill the craic!!
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 05, 2012, 11:11:20 PM
I think for a while all threads turned into the same arguments, destroyed the board for a couple of years but lately it's been improving again I think.
Some new posters provide great craic, like Olly, poster of the year IMHO.
The mayo lads have a wealth of information on everything mayo related, even I'd Barney isn't seen enough.

Also think its gas to see lads grow up on the board, I remember O'Neill making up a fee different aliases for himself and coming on backing up his opinion. There was a dope from Dublin that did it a couple of years ago and forgot who he was logged in as, swore blind he wasn't both posters, a good laugh.

I think in general we've stayed away from the reservoir dubs, HS standard
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:30:20 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 05, 2012, 11:11:20 PM

Also think its gas to see lads grow up on the board, I remember O'Neill making up a fee different aliases for himself and coming on backing up his opinion.

Really? Could you point me in the right direction, or even a little hint?
Post by: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 11:37:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:30:20 PM

Also think its gas to see lads grow up on the board, I remember O'Neill making up a fee different aliases for himself and coming on backing up his opinion.

Ah just cause you have a billion posts, you think you're mister f**king big, I mind when you hadn't an arse in your trousers!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 05, 2012, 11:39:38 PM

For fcuk sake O'Neill every man and his dog knows you were/are Armagh4SamAgain, Olly and ziggysego.
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:42:32 PM
Those three clifts couldn't back up an exercise book.
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:43:32 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 11:37:18 PM

Ah just cause you have a billion posts, you think you're mister f**king big, I mind when you hadn't an arse in your trousers!

You should see my arse now.
Post by: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 11:44:40 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 05, 2012, 10:13:59 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 01, 2012, 06:04:56 PM
(b) gaaboard.com has done very well to last like it has and keep up it's popularity as long as it has.

The board's stats (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?action=stats) would suggest that the place has been heading out of fashion for a while now. There's only half the chat there was three years ago.

I see a big decline in new members over the past two years, must be since O'Neill stopped adding different aliases.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 05, 2012, 11:46:34 PM

Come on now O'Neill, I'd say it was on last board but you had a good few
Post by: Hardy on September 05, 2012, 11:46:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:43:32 PM
Quote from: trileacman on September 05, 2012, 11:37:18 PM

You should see my arse now.

I hear we will if Mayo win.
Post by: ONeill on September 05, 2012, 11:49:26 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 05, 2012, 11:46:34 PM

Come on now O'Neill, I'd say it was on last board but you had a good few

Nope. Any clues at all? Unfounded and inaccurate accusations of being the odd eejit on here but never been accused of someone engaging in debate.

Why anyone would have an alias on here is beyond me.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 06, 2012, 12:12:28 AM
O'Neill a quick good search shows up four pages from here with talk about your alisases, Armagh4SamAgain, FarneyBoy, WeeSaySanchez?
Post by: ONeill on September 06, 2012, 12:17:32 AM
Yea, they sound like the sort of boys who'd come on to back me up in an argument alright. Great detective work there.
Post by: rrhf on September 06, 2012, 11:51:15 AM
I always suspected O Neill was Hardy, no two people could struggle with like everything, so much,  and not be related or married.  Come on lads are you cousins?  I also suspected T Fearon and O Neill might be related, and Saffron Sam may be the father. 
Post by: screenexile on September 06, 2012, 12:11:04 PM
I don't know if it's been mentioned before but ziggys definitely one of the mods!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 06, 2012, 03:06:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 06, 2012, 12:11:04 PM
I don't know if it's been mentioned before but ziggys definitely one of the mods!!
Heard that myself alright. He banned Hardstation a year or so ago for next to nothing. Fascist.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 06, 2012, 04:38:52 PM
ONeill, will you repost your meeting with forkinknife, to cheer the young lads up.
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 11, 2012, 08:19:14 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 01, 2012, 06:24:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 01, 2012, 02:24:36 PM

AFR is very fond of dishing out the banhammer, most contributors to his message board have been hit with a ban at some point. There's only about a handful at the most of long term regular contributors (South Limerick Referee being one).
Liam Cahill has gone mad and shut down the AFR forum.
He'd banned all the good posters so it isn't much loss
Post by: AZOffaly on September 11, 2012, 09:18:24 AM
why did he do that? I remember he called a load of us bolloxes before, me included, but I always thought that was a good forum, especially for the small ball.
Post by: Minder on September 11, 2012, 09:53:37 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 11, 2012, 09:18:24 AM
why did he do that? I remember he called a load of us bolloxes before, me included, but I always thought that was a good forum, especially for the small ball.

He put a notice up a few months back that he was suffering from an illness, that he didn't specify, unless that coloured his thinking.
Post by: Declan on September 11, 2012, 10:13:31 AM
QuoteHe put a notice up a few months back that he was suffering from an illness, that he didn't specify, unless that coloured his thinking.

He's fairly clear in this statement why he closed it down alright

Exactly twelve years ago this month I set up An Fear Rua-The GAA Unplugged! I have now decided to discontinue it.

An anonymous internet forum is an anachronism. It has been overtaken by the arrival of 'open identity' forums such as Twitter and Facebook. This model of internet comment is no longer viable, if the comment is to be within the law at all times as well as the bounds of good taste.

This has been a labour of love. In hard cash it has cost me more than €150,000 over the years. If I costed the time I've spent managing it – at even the average industrial wage – the total cost or investment would be the best part of €500,000. I have never made more than €10,000 a year on average in advertising revenue, despite trying the services of five or six ad selling agencies. It is simply not possible to make this site a paying proposition.

I have a further concern which has weighed on me more, especially in the last couple of years. I am no longer prepared to walk the tight rope between an open, anonymous forum like this and the libel laws. I have sailed far to close to the wire in recent times and it would be stupid to continue to run such a risk.

In that context, my decision is also influenced by the unreasonable sense of entitlement displayed by a growing minority of Registered Users. There is a sense that they can just register under a pseudonym, pay nothing towards the upkeep of the site or towards an insurance against libel matched by a total lack of any attempt to even understand – let alone accept – that I have a right, and a duty, to administer this site in accordance with the law and in the interests of everyone who used it.

I thank all the decent people who supported the site over the years. I regret that it has come to this and I wish you well in the future
Post by: Billys Boots on September 11, 2012, 12:42:22 PM
I think Shamrock Shore will feel his pain, with respect to his administration of the Longford Forum many moons ago.
Post by: Hardy on September 11, 2012, 12:54:34 PM
Sailing too close to the wire - a typical AFR-ism.
Post by: cicfada on September 11, 2012, 01:42:48 PM
That's feckin unreal altogether lads/lassies!! i thought that the site was gone to hell allright, for exaample there was only 1 topic allowed on the All ireland  hurling final.....a thing that would never have been done in the past!! He banned me for reproducing an Irish Independent article about  an aoplogy from them regarding a piece they did about Michael Duignan's book! He went doolalley on me, firstly deleting the post and then when I queried it banning me. I tried to  tell him that the post was about an article already in the public domain but  he wasn't having any of it! I just reapplied and started posting in another name but I was shocked! He banned so many lads for feck all but let all manners of idiots post then, expecially  in relation to soccer! Some of the posts about Brian Cody were shocking though after that the match on Sunday! I expect some other kind of board to be set up though as it used  to be a great site for lovers of the small ball game!I wonder about his "losses" as well, they seem a bit high!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 11, 2012, 02:07:48 PM
QuoteI think Shamrock Shore will feel his pain, with respect to his administration of the Longford Forum many moons ago.

Indeed - the number of gobshites out there is depressing!

I do recall in my meeting with AFR not long after the site was up and running - I'd say it was summer 2001 - he quoted me a IR£ sum amount on how much he has spent on the site and I recall being astonished at the time (I cannot recall the exact figure). So the figure he now quotes of €120k over the past 12 or so years would not surprise me.

Good speed to him.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2012, 02:19:12 PM
Maybe some of them will migtrate over to here.  Was wondering would it be worthwhile to open up a twitter account for the Board, Mods?  Also I am sure there are a few aspiring journailsts among us, would it be worthwhile having a "media" section where said "potentials" could ply their wares?
Post by: thebigfella on September 11, 2012, 02:54:14 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2012, 02:19:12 PM
Maybe some of them will migtrate over to here.  Was wondering would it be worthwhile to open up a twitter account for the Board, Mods?  Also I am sure there are a few aspiring journailsts deluded fools among us, would it be worthwhile having a "media" section where said "potentials" could ply their wares?

Fixed that for ya
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2012, 03:17:01 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 11, 2012, 02:50:08 PM
I think apart from poor moderation, one of the problems was the courting of the nomadic "ClareHurlers" members left an imprint. That forum up until it disappeared was pretty much the Wild West of GAA forums. Some of them did actually camp over here for a while, but then moved on not too later because the general Ulster-Connacht football bias wasn't really for them. AFR courted them by redrafting his "Speak Out!" forum (which was as good as dead at the time) as "Clare Hurlers - The craic goes on!" which most of them eventually did. Unfortunately, CH.com was very anarchic by nature and even though many of the posters came through it and were banned or went away elsewhere, the spirit of CH was impossible to eradicate and ultimately a case of too much for one person to handle - it's fire could never be fully put out.

I think OrchardCounty.com went in a similar fashion a couple of years back, while it seemed to get under the skin of some ex-Armagh county players it was some juvenile posting that was open to libel that seen Barry eventually pull the plug.

Orchardcounty is gone but armaghgaa.net/forum is basically the same forum and is pretty good.  Plenty of Armagh posters from here on it and it has basically ended the armagh club discussion thread on here
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 11, 2012, 03:24:25 PM
I will miss AFR as the hurling chat on there was very good at times even though a small number of head the balls did their best to ruin multiple threads.

As far as I know many of the original board members that were purged from AFR now reside over at thefreekick.com forums so much rejoicing over there today.
Post by: johnneycool on September 12, 2012, 04:33:13 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 12, 2012, 12:38:39 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 11, 2012, 03:24:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2012, 03:17:01 PM
I think apart from poor moderation, one of the problems was the courting of the nomadic "ClareHurlers" members left an imprint. That forum up until it disappeared was pretty much the Wild West of GAA forums. Some of them did actually camp over here for a while, but then moved on not too later because the general Ulster-Connacht football bias wasn't really for them. AFR courted them by redrafting his "Speak Out!" forum (which was as good as dead at the time) as "Clare Hurlers - The craic goes on!" which most of them eventually did. Unfortunately, CH.com was very anarchic by nature and even though many of the posters came through it and were banned or went away elsewhere, the spirit of CH was impossible to eradicate and ultimately a case of too much for one person to handle - it's fire could never be fully put out.

I think OrchardCounty.com went in a similar fashion a couple of years back, while it seemed to get under the skin of some ex-Armagh county players it was some juvenile posting that was open to libel that seen Barry eventually pull the plug.

Orchardcounty is gone but armaghgaa.net/forum is basically the same forum and is pretty good.  Plenty of Armagh posters from here on it and it has basically ended the armagh club discussion thread on here
Noticed that. Has it been subsumed into the official county board website in Armagh?

Yeah, the same lad is running both now. Bit mad that any head the ball in the county that wants to have a go at the county board can now do so on their own website.

If you want to see how to moderate a website go to the official Antrimgaa.net website.

Whoever moderates their guestbook is spoiling for a fight every cut and turn.
Title: Aontroim
Post by: drici on September 12, 2012, 04:41:28 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 12, 2012, 04:33:13 PM

If you want to see how to moderate a website go to the official Antrimgaa.net website.

Ach, you're probably just taking him up wrong.

(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/339.jpg?t=1347464289)
Title: Re: Aontroim
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 12, 2012, 04:51:34 PM
Quote from: drici on September 12, 2012, 04:41:28 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 12, 2012, 04:33:13 PM

Ach, you're probably just taking him up wrong.

(http://i849.photobucket.com/albums/ab56/declanrice/339.jpg?t=1347464289)

Obviously a career in PR awaits. ;D
Post by: imtommygunn on September 12, 2012, 05:07:32 PM
It gets better.... the rumour is it's our former county chairman.

They seem to vet some stuff and yet they put some complete tripe on it. It seems they just do this to get on their high horse.

Basically unless you say that everything in the county is great then you will get a reply like this.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2012, 10:00:16 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 12, 2012, 05:07:32 PM
It gets better.... the rumour is it's our former county chairman.

They seem to vet some stuff and yet they put some complete tripe on it. It seems they just do this to get on their high horse.

Basically unless you say that everything in the county is great then you will get a reply like this.
Has been like that for years. An absolute ballbag of a moderator. The censorship is like something in Iran! You are not allowed to show even the slightest dissent. Could be anyone but the good Dr had a good old rant about it a few years back.
Post by: The Worker on September 12, 2012, 10:32:11 PM
Since ziggy became a mod this site has went downhill.
Post by: seafoid on September 13, 2012, 08:42:47 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 12, 2012, 10:32:11 PM
Since ziggy became a mod this site has went downhill.
Ziggy doesn't care about grammar.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 14, 2012, 01:33:00 PM
Fair play to Ziggy. Running this show isn't easy and it must cost him a small fortune.

He hasn't even set up a "tip jar" for donations.
Post by: laoislad on September 14, 2012, 01:37:07 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on September 14, 2012, 01:33:00 PM
Fair play to Ziggy. Running this show isn't easy and it must cost him a small fortune.

He told me he gets plenty of favours off the female posters.
What ever that means I dunno.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 14, 2012, 02:10:28 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 13, 2012, 05:56:21 PM
Looks like a lot of the AFR refugees have taken up at least temp residence on the GAA section of boards.ie

Not sure boards will suit them. It is fairly heavily moderated.
Post by: supersarsfields on September 14, 2012, 02:36:50 PM

Ziggy has made a fortune from this place. It's how he got all his Bling.
Post by: trileacman on September 14, 2012, 11:31:46 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on September 14, 2012, 02:36:50 PM

Ziggy has made a fortune from this place. It's how he got all his Bling.

(http://www.alldiecast.co.uk/images_miniatures/model_volkswagen_bora_1.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 15, 2012, 09:37:02 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 12, 2012, 12:38:39 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 11, 2012, 03:24:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 11, 2012, 03:17:01 PM

Noticed that. Has it been subsumed into the official county board website in Armagh?

Yeah, the same lad is running both now. Bit mad that any head the ball in the county that wants to have a go at the county board can now do so on their own website.

Why thank you.  :D

I was a little worried when the forum was subsumed into the County Board website that we were in for a more totalitarian regime but to be fair to the moderators, there hasn't been any unnecessary intervention so far. As bcb points out, its killed the club thread on here and is now my own first port of call to the point where I realised tonight that I haven't posted on here since July.