Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on August 27, 2012, 12:03:00 AM

Title: The official "moon landings were a hoax" thread for nut jobs
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 27, 2012, 12:03:00 AM
Post your crackpot conspiracy theories here so that we can mock you.  ::)
Title: Re: The official "moon landings were a hoax" thread for nut jobs
Post by: Forever Green on August 27, 2012, 12:05:48 AM
Weirdo
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 27, 2012, 01:09:33 PM
Exhibit One.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8226075.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8226075.stm)
Post by: Hardy on August 27, 2012, 01:36:59 PM
Close this thread. Even discussing this nonsense accords it undue recognition, like the "teach the controversy" shite with regard to creationism.
Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2012, 01:56:48 PM
Marilyn Manson was your man from Wonder Years . . . FACT!
Post by: Bingo on August 27, 2012, 02:07:24 PM
One of Laurel and Hardy (the skinny one) was Clint Eastwoods father.....FACT.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 27, 2012, 02:15:52 PM
(http://i42.tinypic.com/160a2ok.jpg)
Post by: johnneycool on August 27, 2012, 02:19:51 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 27, 2012, 02:15:52 PM

That's an awful pair of boots to be walking onto a pitch with.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 27, 2012, 02:20:15 PM
Its crazy to believe that you could land a walk on, never mind land a spaceship on, a big ball of cheese in space. I mean, you'd get bogged down in the cheese if you walked on it and then the mice would finish you off. Nonsense that these men could have got back home and not a trace of cheddar on their space boots.
Post by: johnneycool on August 27, 2012, 02:22:18 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 27, 2012, 02:20:15 PM
Its crazy to believe that you could land a walk on, never mind land a spaceship on, a big ball of cheese in space. I mean, you'd get bogged down in the cheese if you walked on it and then the mice would finish you off. Nonsense that these men could have got back home and not a trace of cheddar on their space boots.

God, you're some eejit.

It was stilton, not cheddar.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 27, 2012, 02:41:19 PM
It looks more like Feta in the pictures.  Just saying like.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2012, 03:21:01 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 27, 2012, 02:15:52 PM
;D I had forgot about the 'Sully's 6-foot Arm' controversy!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 27, 2012, 03:23:27 PM
Jazes - I could print one or two 'facts' here that could shut down the internets!

That said, if the moon landings were faked would the ex-Soviet Union not have gone out on a limb to demonstrate such a fraud?
Post by: BennyCake on August 27, 2012, 04:16:44 PM
Three words - Van Allen belt.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 27, 2012, 04:22:51 PM
What Eddie Van Halens trouser belt has to do with the moon landings I don't know.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2012, 04:26:29 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 27, 2012, 04:16:44 PM

You should have read a few more....

The Apollo missions marked the first event where humans traveled through the Van Allen belts, which was one of several radiation hazards known by mission planners. The astronauts had low exposure in the Van Allen belts due to the short period of time spent flying through them in the heavily-shielded Command Module. In fact, the astronauts' overall exposure was dominated by solar particles once outside the earth's magnetic field. The total radiation received by the astronauts varied from mission to mission but was measured to be between 0.16 and 1.14 rads, much less than the standard of five (5) rem per year set by the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission for people who work with radioactivity.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Van_Allen_radiation_belt
Post by: thebigfella on August 27, 2012, 04:29:42 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 27, 2012, 04:16:44 PM

Three words - You are thick
Post by: ziggysego on August 27, 2012, 04:36:17 PM
Neil Armstrong put a mirror on the moon, so NASAL could bounce lasers off it from Earth to prove that the moon was slowly moving away from us. They only stopped this project as recently as 2009.
Post by: Orior on August 27, 2012, 04:54:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2012, 04:36:17 PM
Neil Armstrong put a mirror on the moon, so NASAL could bounce lasers off it from Earth to prove that the moon was slowly moving away from us. They only stopped this project as recently as 2009.

That was a nonsense idea by Nasa. No reflection on ogeyggiZ of course.
Post by: stew on August 27, 2012, 05:03:35 PM
Heres hoping we are all still here when we go back to the moon, NASA are going to show footage of the lunar landers etc from prior missions, that will shut the fruitcakes up.
Post by: Hardy on August 27, 2012, 05:35:04 PM
No it won't. If they were amenable to logic and evidence, they'd have shut up long ago.
Post by: Orior on August 27, 2012, 05:45:16 PM
I think there are a few hoax hoaxers amongst us. And the hoax hoaxers are annoying the natives. Good wholesome entertainment.
Post by: rrhf on August 27, 2012, 07:11:20 PM
The belt makes the whole thing so damn unlikely I just don't know what to say.
Post by: Gazzler on August 27, 2012, 08:17:43 PM

As seen in the Big Bang Theory!
Post by: saffron sam2 on August 27, 2012, 08:26:30 PM
If you trace their respective family trees back far enough, I bet you will find that Neil Armstrong was related to Lance Armstrong.

Exactly.
Post by: Jonah on August 27, 2012, 10:31:07 PM
Quote from: stew on August 27, 2012, 05:03:35 PM
Heres hoping we are all still here when we go back to the moon, NASA are going to show footage of the lunar landers etc from prior missions, that will shut the fruitcakes up.

But they could just fake that too couldn't they?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 27, 2012, 10:32:46 PM
You could fly a conspiracy theorist to the moon and rub his nose in the dust of Armstrong's footprints and they'd still claim they were being tricked.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 27, 2012, 10:48:48 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 27, 2012, 10:32:46 PM
You could fly a conspiracy theorist to the moon and rub his nose in the dust of Armstrong's footprints and they'd still claim they were being tricked.

If you rubbed their nose in it then it would be a trick since they'd have to have them big space helmets on them on the real moon.
Post by: trileacman on August 27, 2012, 10:50:13 PM
f**k some men are awful touchy about this.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 27, 2012, 11:20:03 PM
The only thing I found odd about it was the fact they did it on first attempt  ??? especially when the soviets were leading the race.
Post by: thejuice on August 27, 2012, 11:33:09 PM
The internet will spread democracy. FACT.

Well actually it mostly spreads porn and fuels nonsensical conspiracies and gives oppressive governments like China, Saudi Arabia and Iran greater access and inside information on potential protesters which they can stifle with greater ease.

In fact they are even beginning to use their influence in the wider world to try and force sites like youtube to remove content that might be considered dangerous to the them. And even their own citizens are helping them.

It's quite startling that someone like Alex Jones can now reach a word wide audience and the amount of people that seem to be buying into his angle on current events in an increasing number in Europe too. I wouldn't want anyone to censor him but you would hope people apply some critical thinking towards his broadcasts as he claims to do towards the mainstream media.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 27, 2012, 11:48:51 PM
The Internet gives idiots a voice. Not directed at anyone on this thread.

I find it hard to believe it will spread democracy.
Post by: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 12:09:06 AM
It's pointless trying to comment on this. People who think the landings were genuine will refer to those who think it's a hoax, as nutters, no matter what is brought in front of them. Their minds are made up, and won't consider anything to the contrary.

As far as I'm concerned, the landings were fake. So call me what you will, throw me in with those who seen Elvis alive, I don't care. I'm not going to waste my time on this subject.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 28, 2012, 12:11:04 AM
Could you explain why you think this belt makes you 100% certain?

Is it not a theory - where does 100% sure come from?
Post by: ONeill on August 28, 2012, 12:19:54 AM
http://www.wwheaton.com/waw/mad/mad19.html
Post by: trileacman on August 28, 2012, 12:25:53 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 12:09:06 AM
It's pointless trying to comment on this. People who think the landings were genuine will refer to those who think it's a hoax, as nutters, no matter what is brought in front of them. Their minds are made up, and won't consider anything to the contrary.

As far as I'm concerned, the landings were fake. So call me what you will, throw me in with those who seen Elvis alive, I don't care. I'm not going to waste my time on this subject.

I think they were a fake too but I couldn't really give a shit either way. The amount of people who are adamant that they are real and seek to insult anyone who would consider it otherwise is shocking, especially that the moon landings have nearly no influence on our day to day lives.

The funny thing is that if you'd have said that 10 years ago that you thought Lance Armstrong was a drug cheating scum-bag you'd probably have been called a conspiracy theorist and a nut-job as well.
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 12:31:13 AM

You mean some people actually think Elvis is dead?
Really?
Post by: ziggysego on August 28, 2012, 12:38:54 AM
Quote from: Gazzler on August 27, 2012, 08:17:43 PM
Neil Armstrong put a mirror on the moon, so NASA could bounce lasers off it from Earth to prove that the moon was slowly moving away from us. They only stopped this project as recently as 2009.

As seen in the Big Bang Theory!

I like to cross reference stuff I see on TV to see if they're factual or not, this was :)
Post by: dec on August 28, 2012, 12:41:58 AM
The flat earthers and the "moon landing is a hoax" people don't actually believe what they are saying. It is just a pisstake to get a rise out of people.

The birthers and creationists actually believe what they are claiming, they are the real scary nuts.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 12:58:16 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on August 27, 2012, 11:20:03 PM
The only thing I found odd about it was the fact they did it on first attempt  ??? especially when the soviets were leading the race.

Quite right. Apollo 11 was the first attempt.  ::)
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 28, 2012, 01:09:11 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 12:58:16 AM

manned moon landing, didnt realise I had to point that bit out. Well aware of the tests beforehand also.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 01:10:08 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 28, 2012, 12:25:53 AM
I think they were a fake too but I couldn't really give a shit either way. The amount of people who are adamant that they are real and seek to insult anyone who would consider it otherwise is shocking, especially that the moon landings have nearly no influence on our day to day lives.

Batshit insane conspiracy garbage aside, I'm going to pull you up on this "no influence on our daily lives" thing.

Racing drivers, nuclear reactor technicians, shipyard workers, people with multiple sclerosis and children with hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia all use cooling suits developed for Apollo

Recycling fluids for kidney dialysis - made possible by Apollo

Cardiovascular conditioning equipment - developed for Apollo

Modern materials used in a multitude of products like training shoes - developed for Apollo

Household insulation materials and packaging materials that keep food fresh for longer - developed to protect Apollo astronauts from radiation

Water purification and lead-reduction - developed for Apollo

Freeze-dried food - developed for Apollo

Hazardous gas detection technology - developed for ...  oh screw it. You get the idea.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 01:11:30 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on August 28, 2012, 01:09:11 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 12:58:16 AM

manned moon landing, didnt realise I had to point that bit out.

They almost ran out of fuel because the ground on their landing site was rockier than they were expecting. That countdown that the mission control people were calling out?  That was the amount of fuel they had left. It was almost a disaster.

Happy now?
Post by: trileacman on August 28, 2012, 01:18:58 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 01:10:08 AM
Quote from: trileacman on August 28, 2012, 12:25:53 AM

Batshit insane conspiracy garbage aside, I'm going to pull you up on this "no influence on our daily lives" thing.

Racing drivers, nuclear reactor technicians, shipyard workers, people with multiple sclerosis and children with hypohidrotic ectodermal dysplasia all use cooling suits developed for Apollo

Recycling fluids for kidney dialysis - made possible by Apollo

Cardiovascular conditioning equipment - developed for Apollo

Modern materials used in a multitude of products like training shoes - developed for Apollo

Household insulation materials and packaging materials that keep food fresh for longer - developed to protect Apollo astronauts from radiation

Water purification and lead-reduction - developed for Apollo

Freeze-dried food - developed for Apollo

Hazardous gas detection technology - developed for ...  oh screw it. You get the idea.

And none of this would have been discovered but for Armstrong setting foot on the moon? Would none of them have been released if the moon landings had have failed or never really happened in the first place?
Post by: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 01:25:44 PM
What are the reasons that make people think it was fake?
Post by: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 01:37:47 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 27, 2012, 12:03:00 AM

You are an absolute bollocks. Go and get a life instead of sitting at a computer inviting people you don't know to say something you disagree with, just so you can mock them and feel some pathetically achieved sense of superiority.
Post by: J70 on August 28, 2012, 01:41:25 PM

If I'm not mistaken, you sem to be a bit of a serial conspiracy theorist, assuming you're genuine. Were you not spewing nonsense several months ago about volcanoes being much more significant contributors to global warming than man-made emissions?

Are you a truther, birther and creationist too?
Post by: J70 on August 28, 2012, 01:46:32 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 01:37:47 PM

You are an absolute bollocks. Go and get a life instead of sitting at a computer inviting people you don't know to say something you disagree with, just so you can mock them and feel some pathetically achieved sense of superiority.

What do you care? Did some of them not bite, albeit merely to complain about no one taking them seriously?
The more crackpot views and pseudoscience are exposed, the better.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 01:47:09 PM

Forever Green likes this post
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 01:53:36 PM

Well said Nally Stand.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 02:00:11 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 28, 2012, 01:46:32 PM

What do you care? Did some of them not bite, albeit merely to complain about no one taking them seriously?

The world doesn't need gaaboard.com to expose moon landing conspiracies. They are already well known. This thread is merely Eamonn's method of feeling good about himself by inviting people he doesn't know to disagree with him just "so he can mock them".
Post by: Hashtag on August 28, 2012, 02:00:42 PM
AIDS was developed in a lab in order to reduce the population in Africa.
Post by: J70 on August 28, 2012, 02:07:17 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 02:00:11 PM

You are an absolute bollocks. Go and get a life instead of sitting at a computer inviting people you don't know to say something you disagree with, just so you can mock them and feel some pathetically achieved sense of superiority.y

The world doesn't need gaaboard.com to expose moon landing conspiracies. They are already well known. This thread is merely Eamonn's method of feeling good about himself by inviting people he doesn't know to disagree with him just "so he can mock them".
There's plenty of threads on here I have little interest in and which are not 'needed' by 'the world'. Others disagree. Rather than whinge about a discussion in which I've no interest, I ignore the thread.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 02:08:03 PM
Paul McCartney is really dead
Post by: From the Bunker on August 28, 2012, 02:13:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 01:25:44 PM

On May 25, 1961, President John F. Kennedy announced before a special joint session of Congress the dramatic and ambitious goal of sending an American safely to the Moon before the end of the decade. A number of political factors affected Kennedy's decision and the timing of it. In general, Kennedy felt great pressure to have the United States "catch up to and overtake" the Soviet Union in the "space race." Four years after the Sputnik shock of 1957, the cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin had become the first human in space on April 12, 1961, greatly embarrassing the U.S. While Alan Shepard became the first American in space on May 5, he only flew on a short suborbital flight instead of orbiting the Earth, as Gagarin had done. In addition, the Bay of Pigs fiasco in mid-April put unquantifiable pressure on Kennedy. He wanted to announce a program that the U.S. had a strong chance at achieving before the Soviet Union.

Great amounts of American Tax payers money was invested over the decade. If after all this money which had been spent, their goal could not be achieved there would have been egg on face big time.

Just say coming close to the deadline of putting a man on the moon (before the end of the 60's) could not be achieved, what would the USA do? Tell the people it was a waste of Money? Look embarrassed in front of their competitors?

Crazy stuff happened in the USA in the 60's. Presidents and potential presidents were assinated, Civil rights leaders were murdered, Vietnam war, post McCarthyism  and all the cold war stuff. Putting a spin on things became a fact of American life.

Look they probably put a man up there! But don't be afraid to question it.
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 02:14:56 PM

Why? What difference will it make to your life?
Post by: NAG1 on August 28, 2012, 02:15:40 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 02:08:03 PM

Seriously wouldn't be surprised judging by his performance at the open ceremony of the Olympics  ;)
Post by: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 02:16:28 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 28, 2012, 02:07:17 PM

You are an absolute bollocks. Go and get a life instead of sitting at a computer inviting people you don't know to say something you disagree with, just so you can mock them and feel some pathetically achieved sense of superiority.y

There's plenty of threads on here I have little interest in and which are not 'needed' by 'the world'. Others disagree. Rather than whinge about a discussion in which I've no interest, I ignore the thread.

Which is what I do with the unending list of soccer threads. Soccer doesn't interest me. Astronomy etc does, but then to read an opening post like Eamonn's who makes it clear that he is merely inviting people he has never met to disagree with him so that "he can mock them"?! You don't make a very compelling case for that being a good reason to start a thread.
Post by: rrhf on August 28, 2012, 02:19:45 PM
Lads dont be falling out over the moon.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 02:22:03 PM
The moon isn`t real
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 02:22:24 PM
Jim Corr is my hero.
Post by: J70 on August 28, 2012, 02:55:23 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 02:16:28 PM

Which is what I do with the unending list of soccer threads. Soccer doesn't interest me. Astronomy etc does, but then to read an opening post like Eamonn's who makes it clear that he is merely inviting people he has never met to disagree with him so that "he can mock them"?! You don't make a very compelling case for that being a good reason to start a thread.

I don't care about his motives in starting the discussion. The topic is still interesting and, living in the states, a very real issue. The republican convention in Tampa is packed with people who believe  in this sort of shite and that has real life consequences.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 03:03:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 28, 2012, 02:55:23 PM

I don't care about his motives in starting the discussion. The topic is still interesting and, living in the states, a very real issue. The republican convention in Tampa is packed with people who believe  in this sort of shite and that has real life consequences.

Yes but most people in the USA won't be logging into gaaboard.com regularly to read about these conspiracies. And if they did, they wouldn't even find a thread about them. All they would find would be a thread where some poor attention starved fella called Eamonn invites people he doesn't know to let him "mock" them. Nothing more, nothing less.
Post by: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 03:13:10 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 28, 2012, 02:13:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 01:25:44 PM

On May 25, 1961, President John F. Kennedy announced before a special joint session of Congress the dramatic and ambitious goal of sending an American safely to the Moon before the end of the decade. A number of political factors affected Kennedy's decision and the timing of it. In general, Kennedy felt great pressure to have the United States "catch up to and overtake" the Soviet Union in the "space race." Four years after the Sputnik shock of 1957, the cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin had become the first human in space on April 12, 1961, greatly embarrassing the U.S. While Alan Shepard became the first American in space on May 5, he only flew on a short suborbital flight instead of orbiting the Earth, as Gagarin had done. In addition, the Bay of Pigs fiasco in mid-April put unquantifiable pressure on Kennedy. He wanted to announce a program that the U.S. had a strong chance at achieving before the Soviet Union.

Great amounts of American Tax payers money was invested over the decade. If after all this money which had been spent, their goal could not be achieved there would have been egg on face big time.

Just say coming close to the deadline of putting a man on the moon (before the end of the 60's) could not be achieved, what would the USA do? Tell the people it was a waste of Money? Look embarrassed in front of their competitors?

Crazy stuff happened in the USA in the 60's. Presidents and potential presidents were assinated, Civil rights leaders were murdered, Vietnam war, post McCarthyism  and all the cold war stuff. Putting a spin on things became a fact of American life.

Look they probably put a man up there! But don't be afraid to question it.

If there was a chance that it was fake do you not think the Russians would have let them away with it? The Russians had a probe in orbit at the time of the landing. Also 400,000 worked on it, that's far too many people to keep quiet. They built and tested crafts that were capable of going to the moon, so why not use them? Plus they went up there 6 times, why fake it 6 times? Plus there is a lunar reconnaissance orbiter is able to show the landing sites (in quite good detail as well). Even if Nasa tried to fake this then why would the other nations that have lunar crafts in orbit not try to expose the americans.

I know the Americans can't be trusted and I love a good conspiracy as well (9/11 etc) but the moon landings happened.
Post by: J70 on August 28, 2012, 03:13:30 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on August 28, 2012, 03:03:04 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 28, 2012, 02:55:23 PM

Yes but most people in the USA won't be logging into gaaboard.com regularly to read about these conspiracies. And if they did, they wouldn't even find a thread about them. All they would find would be a thread where some poor attention starved fella called Eamonn invites people he doesn't know to let him "mock" them. Nothing more, nothing less.

And most people in Ireland don't regularly tune in to the gaa board for any topic. So what?  If the interest is not there, the thread will die.
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 03:15:14 PM
Michael Jackson isn't dead.
Janet just got tired of pretending to be a man.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:20:01 PM
Barack Obama is Osama Bin Laden in disguise

Apparently
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2012, 03:25:55 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:20:01 PM

Apparently

So with all the new technology they have now, why not go back? Is it because there is nowt on the moon worth going back to? Money?
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:27:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2012, 03:25:55 PM

Apparently

So with all the new technology they have now, why not go back? Is it because there is nowt on the moon worth going back to? Money?

Excuse me?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 28, 2012, 03:36:01 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:27:30 PM

Apparently

Excuse me?

Sorry, hit quote button
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:39:00 PM
Apology accepted
Post by: stew on August 28, 2012, 04:05:45 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on August 28, 2012, 02:15:40 PM
Quote from: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 02:08:03 PM

Seriously wouldn't be surprised judging by his performance at the open ceremony of the Olympics  ;)
Quote from: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 03:27:30 PM

Apparently

Excuse me?

The moon has tons of precious metals, including titanium and also has Helium 3 which is found only in nuclear weapons, three tons of that stuff could power the USA for an entire year.

The stakes are very high for mining the moon's natural resources and it will be interesting to see what the worlds governments come up with in order to ensure fairness for all countries who invest in mining the moon. ::)
Post by: Hound on August 28, 2012, 04:17:06 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 03:13:10 PM
If there was a chance that it was fake do you not think the Russians would have let them away with it? The Russians had a probe in orbit at the time of the landing. Also 400,000 worked on it, that's far too many people to keep quiet. They built and tested crafts that were capable of going to the moon, so why not use them? Plus they went up there 6 times, why fake it 6 times? Plus there is a lunar reconnaissance orbiter is able to show the landing sites (in quite good detail as well). Even if Nasa tried to fake this then why would the other nations that have lunar crafts in orbit not try to expose the americans.

I know the Americans can't be trusted and I love a good conspiracy as well (9/11 etc) but the moon landings happened.

Yeah, I enjoy reading conspiracy theories, but there seems to be a lot of empirical evidence indicating the moon landings were real, including the above.
Why are the people who truly believe they were fake not explaining why they think it? Or are they just joking about it?
Post by: Jonah on August 28, 2012, 04:28:51 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 28, 2012, 03:56:41 PM
Steve Jobs died from pancreatic cancer, which developed after being injected with a top secret substance when he was secretly kidnapped and drugged, and incident Jobs had no memory of afterwards. The order for Jobs to be "taken out" came from powerful shapeshifters in the Bilderberg Group whose advances to welcome Jobs into their organisation kept being refused and when they found evidence that he harboured some anti-Semitic views they contracted out a powerful global pharmaceutical company and a mercenary group of former KGB agents to make it look that Jobs died from 'natural causes' rather than assassination.
Never mind the fact there is a cure for cancer and other diseases but the big companies are making too much money off the treatments that the cures will never be made available.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2012, 04:41:24 PM
Quote from: stew on August 28, 2012, 04:05:45 PM
The stakes are very high for mining the moon's natural resources and it will be interesting to see what the worlds governments come up with in order to ensure fairness for all countries who invest in mining the moon. ::)

The human race is capable of some unbelievable stupidity where greed is concerned, and that would be just about the most boneheaded of the lot -- if the moon loses any (or all) of its gravitational pull on the Earth, life as we know it, would change utterly.

http://www.astrosociety.org/education/publications/tnl/33/33.html
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 28, 2012, 04:43:33 PM
Lads.

The truth is here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W48f7diVZn4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W48f7diVZn4)
Post by: deiseach on August 28, 2012, 05:30:39 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2012, 04:41:24 PM
The human race is capable of some unbelievable stupidity where greed is concerned, and that would be just about the most boneheaded of the lot -- if the moon loses any (or all) of its gravitational pull on the Earth, life as we know it, would change utterly.

What force in the universe could cause that to happen?
Post by: thebigfella on August 28, 2012, 05:48:53 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 28, 2012, 05:30:39 PM

A moon sized space station with  a giant laser, like the death star?
Post by: ross4life on August 28, 2012, 06:06:06 PM
If you believed they put a man on the moon, man on the moon...
Post by: laoislad on August 28, 2012, 06:07:06 PM
Eammonca1

(http://images.sodahead.com/polls/000613165/polls_morans_0330_406727_poll_xlarge.jpeg)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 06:26:52 PM
Jesus lads I have to admire the way so many of you rose to the bait.  Some of you are so convincing I think some of you might actually believe this conspiracy fantasy stuff.  The problem is that sometimes a parody can be so realistic that it's hard to tell if they're the real thing or not. It's like the conservatives in America who think that Stephen Colbert is a real conservative and not a piss-take of them.
Post by: stew on August 28, 2012, 06:40:09 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 28, 2012, 06:07:06 PM
Eammonca1

(http://images.sodahead.com/polls/000613165/polls_morans_0330_406727_poll_xlarge.jpeg)

Ah the aul dumb yank images come up again, lovely, anyone remember the tool in the celtic shirt with the sign that called for no foreign sports in Croker?

Do all the dumb fcuks live in America and is there such a thing as a dumb Russian, Brit or German?

Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 06:46:37 PM
Some of you boys take yourselves far too seriously
Post by: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 06:53:03 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 28, 2012, 02:13:34 PM

Crazy stuff happened in the USA in the 60's. Presidents and potential presidents were assinated, Civil rights leaders were murdered, Vietnam war, post McCarthyism  and all the cold war stuff. Putting a spin on things became a fact of American life. 

Spot on.
Post by: Hardy on August 28, 2012, 07:02:36 PM
Crazy stuff happened in the USA in the 60s. Therefore, the moon landings were faked.

Gotcha.
Post by: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 07:17:49 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 28, 2012, 07:02:36 PM
Crazy stuff happened in the USA in the 60s. Therefore, the moon landings were faked.

Gotcha.

Aye, cos that was the only words I requoted. Idiot.
Post by: Hardy on August 28, 2012, 07:40:19 PM
I know I'm going to regret this, but how do the rest of the "words (you) requoted" amount to any more than I summarised them as?

Oh, and to enter into the spirit of things: sap.
Post by: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 08:02:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 28, 2012, 07:40:19 PM
I know I'm going to regret this, but how do the rest of the "words (you) requoted" amount to any more than I summarised them as?

This is exactly what I said earlier. Ignore everything you see in front of you, because your mind is made up already, and nothing will convince you, no matter what.

I don't know why I revisited this thread, trying to talk to people who haven't even considered the idea the landings were fake, or who would want to look into it, in case they realised they might actually be wrong.
Post by: Gazzler on August 28, 2012, 08:06:16 PM
The Americans landed men on the moon alright,but only because they had the technology from the UFO that crashed at Roswell.
Post by: JimStynes on August 28, 2012, 08:08:56 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 28, 2012, 08:02:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 28, 2012, 07:40:19 PM

This is exactly what I said earlier. Ignore everything you see in front of you, because your mind is made up already, and nothing will convince you, no matter what.

I don't know why I revisited this thread, trying to talk to people who haven't even considered the idea the landings were fake, or who would want to look into it, in case they realised they might actually be wrong.

WUM
Post by: dec on August 28, 2012, 08:47:17 PM
Michael Collins did not die at Béal na mBláth. He survived and piloted the command module for Apollo 11.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 09:25:13 PM
Okay now lads, all joking aside. How many of you seriously think the landings were fake? No satirical or sarcastic replies please.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 10:33:25 PM
Of course they aren`t fake ffs. Don`t be so ridiculous

There is no moon to fake them on
Post by: trileacman on August 28, 2012, 11:09:22 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 09:25:13 PM
Okay now lads, all joking aside. How many of you seriously think the landings were fake? No satirical or sarcastic replies please.
Me.
Post by: Main Street on August 28, 2012, 11:36:44 PM
I was convinced by this evidence

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=960vBSKT-Pw&feature=player_embedded (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=960vBSKT-Pw&feature=player_embedded)
Post by: rrhf on August 29, 2012, 07:56:01 AM
Quote from: Gazzler on August 28, 2012, 08:06:16 PM
The Americans landed men on the moon alright,but only because they had the technology from the UFO that crashed at Roswell.

They were able to attach the mark 3 nuclear fusion side woofters alien issue capable of power without parallel onto appollo. They stopped On the moon on the way back from Jupiter.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 29, 2012, 09:32:29 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 28, 2012, 05:30:39 PM

Join the dots deiseach ;) ...

Mass of Earth's moon: 10,000 metric tons (lunar gravity), or 73,728,395,061,728,395,062 metric tons (Earth's gravity equivalent)

Total volume of coal mined on Earth by China alone in 2009 alone (now all up in atmospheric smoke) : 3,000,000 metric tons.
Post by: Main Street on August 29, 2012, 10:17:27 AM
I use to wonder how that one legged Chinaman could jump 1.9m.
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:18:31 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 29, 2012, 09:32:29 AM

Mass of Earth's moon: 10,000 metric tons (lunar gravity), or 73,728,395,061,728,395,062 metric tons (Earth's gravity equivalent)

Total volume of coal mined on Earth by China alone in 2009 alone (now all up in atmospheric smoke) : 3,000,000 metric tons.

Oh come on. Even if the 3,000,000 tonnes you mention were significant - there'd only be 73,728,395,061,725,395,062 tonnes left! - the coal dust hasn't floated out past the Moon. The atmosphere is held in place by the Earth's gravity. And what about all the gravity from  the people in China? There are probably one billion more people living in China than there were a century ago. At an average weight of 50kg, that's an extra 50 million tonnes of gravitational force right there. It's amazing we can't touch the Moon at this stage.
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:23:12 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 29, 2012, 10:17:27 AM
I use to wonder how that one legged Chinaman could jump 1.9m.

Aye, they all jumped at the same time and he bounced up.
Post by: Franko on August 29, 2012, 10:27:11 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:18:31 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 29, 2012, 09:32:29 AM

Oh come on. Even if the 3,000,000 tonnes you mention were significant - there'd only be 73,728,395,061,725,395,062 tonnes left! - the coal dust hasn't floated out past the Moon. The atmosphere is held in place by the Earth's gravity. And what about all the gravity from  the people in China? There are probably one billion more people living in China than there were a century ago. At an average weight of 50kg, that's an extra 50 million tonnes of gravitational force right there. It's amazing we can't touch the Moon at this stage.

I dont think you've really thought this one through deiseach have you.   ;D ;D
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:32:01 AM
Quote from: Franko on August 29, 2012, 10:27:11 AM

Did you seriously think that was serious? ???
Post by: Franko on August 29, 2012, 10:39:27 AM
Quote from: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:32:01 AM
Quote from: Franko on August 29, 2012, 10:27:11 AM

Did you seriously think that was serious? ???

Ah I see, sure I was only joking... a likely story...   :P
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 10:45:53 AM
Quote from: Franko on August 29, 2012, 10:39:27 AM
Ah I see, sure I was only joking... a likely story...   :P

This thread is full of

(http://iruntheinternet.com/lulzdump/images/not-sure-joker-serious-batman-12747466515.jpg)

moments
Post by: Nally Stand on August 29, 2012, 10:51:10 AM
Seriously?
Post by: Bingo on August 29, 2012, 10:51:23 AM
Personally, not only did the yanks land on the moon but they continue to do so and use it as a top level witness relocation programme home as well as offering mega rich people a hiding place if they wish to get away from hell on earth. Currently living it up on the Dark side of the moon is Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, Tupac, Michael Jackson and Shergar.
Post by: deiseach on August 29, 2012, 11:31:27 AM
Quote from: Bingo on August 29, 2012, 10:51:23 AM
Personally, not only did the yanks land on the moon but they continue to do so and use it as a top level witness relocation programme home as well as offering mega rich people a hiding place if they wish to get away from hell on earth. Currently living it up on the Dark side of the moon is Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, Tupac, Michael Jackson and Shergar.

So that's why JFK was so eager to get to the Moon. He needed somewhere to stash Marilyn for a spot of horizontal diplomacy, then he staged his own assassination so he wouldn't be interrupted! Their grandchildren might be old enough to play Minor, someone tell the Wexford County Board
Post by: HiMucker on August 29, 2012, 11:32:21 AM
Some of you boys are LUNARtics!  Il get me coat
Post by: Nally Stand on August 29, 2012, 11:34:45 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 29, 2012, 11:32:21 AM
Some of you boys are LUNARtics!  Il get me coat

Complete spacers
Post by: Forever Green on August 29, 2012, 02:22:58 PM
Some amount of rockets in here
Post by: Forever Green on August 29, 2012, 03:35:40 PM
Awful atmosphere in here
Post by: bcarrier on August 29, 2012, 04:16:15 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 29, 2012, 03:18:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 28, 2012, 09:25:13 PM
You mean you don't believe me about Steve Jobs?  :o

I've seen no strong evidence to suggest that any of the landings on the moon by the American's were "faked". Any claims I've heard about it have either weak evidence with nothing conclusive, or been blown apart. Crucially in terms of the 60's Space Race the USSR never made any suggestion that the moon landings didn't happen, and so tactically acknowledged it. It would also have to be the case that the ill-fated Apollo 13 mission was "faked" as well. If someone can give good constructive reasons as to where something might not be as they seem, then there could be a point.

I am not sure about it myself ( but mock me if you will  :P) . The circumstantial evidence in relation to USSR's silence and Apollo 13 is strongly persuasive that they made it though. From my limited knowledge of the subject it seems that getting to the moon wasnt and isnt a problem - the Russians did that in 1959. Getting a human there and back while being able to record it all for TV has been or would seem to be a different logistical challenge. The various reflectors etc that people talk about might prove that humans have landed some sort of spacecraft there but it would not have been necessary to put people there to put the reflectors in place. 
Post by: Bingo on August 29, 2012, 05:04:59 PM
If there was oil on/in the moon, you'd be sure there'd be alot more activity on it  ;)
Post by: stew on August 29, 2012, 05:57:04 PM
Quote from: Bingo on August 29, 2012, 05:04:59 PM
If there was oil on/in the moon, you'd be sure there'd be alot more activity on it  ;)

what is there is far, far more valuable than oil sure!