GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: totippandback on August 21, 2012, 04:43:10 PM

Title: What does hurling mean to you?
Post by: totippandback on August 21, 2012, 04:43:10 PM
Great blog here...for some people it's the simple things in life that matter, and as a Tipperary man seeing what it meant to two strangers to lose against Kilkenny!

http://anspotadubh.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/shit-love-ma-x.html
Title: Re: What does hurling mean to you?
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2012, 04:57:25 PM
Quote from: totippandback on August 21, 2012, 04:43:10 PM
Great blog here...for some people it's the simple things in life that matter, and as a Tipperary man seeing what it meant to two strangers to lose against Kilkenny!

http://anspotadubh.blogspot.co.uk/2012/08/shit-love-ma-x.html

Fabulous writing in that link.

Hurling is about place. It is also a tribe. It is like being Shia in a world of Sunni fuballers.
Say you find yourself in Wexford and know they are interested and can talk about any random hurler.
It's a different feeling to being in Longford or Cavan.   
Post by: totippandback on August 21, 2012, 05:43:41 PM
That's true and when people with same passion come together whether same tribe or not, it's something special!
Post by: homeofhurling8 on August 21, 2012, 07:15:14 PM
I was one of the boys crying into my beer in the palace on Sunday night and again last night for good measure and i would say i will migrate in that direction again before the night is over ;), I was in good company though, lots of Tipp boys use the Palace for the post mortem, we gave the result a good coat of looking at in the company of plenty of Tipperary legends, if i were "Billy" i wouldn't worry too much, hurling will never die in Tipperary as long as Tipp men have breath in their body, Sunday was a low that wont be forgotten for a long time but i know the panel are hurting, i just hope whoever takes over will channel that hurt next year.
Post by: seafoid on August 21, 2012, 07:20:52 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on August 21, 2012, 07:15:14 PM
I was one of the boys crying into my beer in the palace on Sunday night and again last night for good measure and i would say i will migrate in that direction again before the night is over ;), I was in good company though, lots of Tipp boys use the Palace for the post mortem, we gave the result a good coat of looking at in the company of plenty of Tipperary legends, if i were "Billy" i wouldn't worry too much, hurling will never die in Tipperary as long as Tipp men have breath in their body, Sunday was a low that wont be forgotten for a long time but i know the panel are hurting, i just hope whoever takes over will channel that hurt next year.
hurling means unimaginable levels of exhilaration
when the county puts the cats to the sword . Beidh tipp aris Ann but hopefully not before galway win a few medals .
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 11:30:10 AM
My wife summed up hurling - and by 'hurling' I mean the sport and the teams who play it - in the aftermath of our defeat to Cork in the 2006 All-Ireland semi-final. She looked at me through rivers of tears and said "how do you cope, this sport is so unfair!" I didn't argue. But it's nice to be a part of it.
Post by: Asal Mor on August 22, 2012, 03:20:16 PM
Great story.
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2012, 03:28:24 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0718/1224320305440.html

Now, I know plenty of the country wouldn't feel the same way. In fact, it's probably only recently that I really learned how people see us.

Funny enough, it was while watching a hurling game – the Leinster final between Kilkenny and Galway. We'd been to the Munster football final between Cork and Clare and we headed down the town to grab a couple of pints and watch the hurling.

There were men in the pub from every county. Clare, Limerick, Cork, Tipperary and all around. All the nationalities. What I couldn't believe was every last one of them was shouting for Galway. And not just shouting for them but taking complete and utter joy in seeing Kilkenny getting a hammering. They were roaring and shouting and yahooing every time Galway scored.

Somewhere in the middle of all this, the realisation dawned. Jesus, this is probably how people in other counties see Kerry in football.
Post by: Jonah on August 22, 2012, 04:19:44 PM
When played at its best there isn't another sport in the world as good to watch as hurling imo.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on August 22, 2012, 04:37:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 22, 2012, 03:28:24 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0718/1224320305440.html

Now, I know plenty of the country wouldn't feel the same way. In fact, it's probably only recently that I really learned how people see us.

Funny enough, it was while watching a hurling game – the Leinster final between Kilkenny and Galway. We'd been to the Munster football final between Cork and Clare and we headed down the town to grab a couple of pints and watch the hurling.

There were men in the pub from every county. Clare, Limerick, Cork, Tipperary and all around. All the nationalities. What I couldn't believe was every last one of them was shouting for Galway. And not just shouting for them but taking complete and utter joy in seeing Kilkenny getting a hammering. They were roaring and shouting and yahooing every time Galway scored.

Somewhere in the middle of all this, the realisation dawned. Jesus, this is probably how people in other counties see Kerry in football.

I know where you are coming from Seafoid, as a Tipp man i expect everyone to hate us so the reaction after the All-Ireland in 2010 shocked me, everyone we met that night from all over the country were honorary Tipp men/women for the day.

We met a group of lads from Antrim and Down in the Palace who were literally kissing and hugging every Tipp person they met, we were heading over to the Burlington for the banquet so the boys decided to tag along, we must have had 4 tickets between around 14 of us but we got them in anyway, they hung around for the night and even headed for Thurles with us for the homecoming on the Monday evening, by this time their Antrim/Down/club Jerseys had been replaced by Tipp ones,Christ alone knows when or how !, a couple of them got interviewed on Tipp fm to some puzzled looks from the interviewer when she heard the accents, when she asked them where they were from in Tipp they couldn't remember the name of our village so they said "where Donie is from" pointing to Donie O'Connell who had been in our company from the previous evening ;)
Post by: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 04:55:53 PM
This Tipp love-fest will be a transitory phenomenon, I can assure you.
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2012, 05:17:44 PM
I was reading "the history of hurling" last night by Seamus King and there is a line in it about Michael Cusack wanting "to bring back the hurling" because it was in danger of dying out by the 1870s.

And looking at that joke picture of Lar corbett behind Tommy Walsh outside that church under the hurls wasn't it great that he saw the value in bringing it back ?
Post by: seafoid on August 22, 2012, 05:20:03 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 22, 2012, 04:55:53 PM
This Tipp love-fest will be a transitory phenomenon, I can assure you.
It will be back to timber presently. But Tipp aren't used to those kinds of beatings.
And they are awful when they happen.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 22, 2012, 10:00:36 PM
Hurling is a passion that once you have it in your blood can never leave. Playing it, coaching it and managing it can bring serious highs and unbelievable lows.

Having played it for sooooooo long it breaks my heart knowing that I will very rarely get a game at the club anymore, coaching is great and can replace some of the adrenalin lost from playing, managing is a fooking rollercoaster. Puts you in bad form even when you win FFS, but when you win a match against your rivals it leaves you howling at the sky and (I have done this a few times) shouting like a mad man on the way home after the game.

I wish I could get back 20 years of my life, the best days of my life were on the hurling field. (oh don't tell the wife!!)
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2012, 09:23:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 22, 2012, 10:00:36 PM
Hurling is a passion that once you have it in your blood can never leave. Playing it, coaching it and managing it can bring serious highs and unbelievable lows.

Having played it for sooooooo long it breaks my heart knowing that I will very rarely get a game at the club anymore, coaching is great and can replace some of the adrenalin lost from playing, managing is a fooking rollercoaster. Puts you in bad form even when you win FFS, but when you win a match against your rivals it leaves you howling at the sky and (I have done this a few times) shouting like a mad man on the way home after the game.

I wish I could get back 20 years of my life, the best days of my life were on the hurling field. (oh don't tell the wife!!)

Does it have an additional significance up in Antrim ? Hurling is a minority thing anyway but in the North it has another layer of relevance, maybe. And it is one of the things that defines Irishness I think.  Antrim hurling is an outpost . This year's club final was fantastic - sharing the quality with the whole country.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2012, 09:44:06 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 23, 2012, 09:23:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 22, 2012, 10:00:36 PM

Does it have an additional significance up in Antrim ? Hurling is a minority thing anyway but in the North it has another layer of relevance, maybe. And it is one of the things that defines Irishness I think.  Antrim hurling is an outpost . This year's club final was fantastic - sharing the quality with the whole country.

In the villages and the small towns in the Glens it's massive, all they do is hurl, visit the likes of Cushendall, Ballycastle, and passing through Loughgiel (no real reason to stop there :o) and all you will see is kids with hurls. Two minutes out of that village and the next town will be draped with Union Jacks!! Then you have the Ards section, 3 wee pockets of hurling, Ballycran, Ballygalget and Portaferry, hurling mad also. Most of these wee places usually became hurling hot spots due to Christian Brothers assigned to that area a hundred years ago.

For us City folk in Belfast most clubs are dual, but most players have their main code are are very passionate abut it. I've been to every All Ireland Final in the past 15 years. I may be missing my first this year due to another engagement but I believe Croke Park is squeezing the life out of honest to fcuk hurling men with the price of tickets for the finals.

Going to the club during the troubles carrying your hurl through the barricades past the Brits (usually getting searched) was very strange thing looking back, It's a wonder sometimes how it survived in parts of Antrim
Post by: deiseach on August 23, 2012, 10:57:39 AM
I'm pretty sure that the hurling played in Antrim prior to the GAA was more akin to shinty (http://www.feisnangleann.com/fevents.php). Obviously it was a long time ago, but would there be any collective memory/folklore/tradition remaining about those times?
Post by: screenmachine on August 23, 2012, 11:08:16 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVIa7HaHC7g

Found this video a while back which summed hurling up pretty well from an outsiders point of view.  Cool story too.  You can skip about the first 5-6 mins if you're in a rush but it helps build the story...  ;)
Post by: OakleafCounty on August 23, 2012, 11:17:18 AM
Like Ards and the Gelns of Antrim. There's also what I'd describe as a hurling enclave in the Sperrins and its foothills. In the Bangher, Dungiven and Balinascreen areas hurling is popular though still has to compete with football.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2012, 11:25:28 AM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on August 23, 2012, 11:17:18 AM
Like Ards and the Gelns of Antrim. There's also what I'd describe as a hurling enclave in the Sperrins and its foothills. In the Bangher, Dungiven and Balinascreen areas hurling is popular though still has to compete with football.

Yes Oakleaf, again usually some mad Christain Brother forced the schools in those areas to take it on, and during the 20's what parent was going to argue with a mad Brother??
Post by: theskull1 on August 23, 2012, 11:47:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 23, 2012, 09:23:58 AM

mmmmm...it's what the rest of us have to listen to is the problem  :D

Does it have an additional significance up in Antrim?  
Hard to know seafoid having not lived anywhere the game was really strong. Would be jealous of the level of interest there is for the game in the heartlands and would dearly love to see more of that. We have men every bit as passionate as any hurling men but just lack enough to take the standards of our game upo a notch. They can only do so much and do rightly. Problem (if you see it that way) is that hurling compared to "the other" ball sports is difficult to learn and get to a stage where kids fall in love with it. Alot of nuturing in the early years from coaches but more importantly parents. Wish we had more hurling die hard coaches and parents rather than beening seen in alot of quarters as just another sports club.

To me there is no other game. I've done plenty but never felt I was living as much as I did when I played.

Regarding Antrim being an outpost, important to remember that hurling men in Derry and Down as well as Tyrone are putting their shoulder to the wheel.

Post by: OakleafCounty on August 23, 2012, 03:12:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2012, 11:25:28 AM

Yes Oakleaf, again usually some mad Christain Brother forced the schools in those areas to take it on, and during the 20's what parent was going to argue with a mad Brother??

And here's me having the romantic notion that due the areas remoteness the game lasted through the centuries while it was dying everywhere else.
Post by: theskull1 on August 23, 2012, 04:03:29 PM

I'd go back to mass if they started doing the same again. Would expect many devout football men (even after all the recent scandals) would leave the church in their droves.  :D
Post by: small white mayoman on August 23, 2012, 05:56:38 PM
Hard to know what it means to this lunatic commentating .  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HKQTfYRA9k&feature=player_detailpage
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 23, 2012, 08:27:03 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 23, 2012, 04:03:29 PM

I'd go back to mass if they started doing the same again. Would expect many devout football men (even after all the recent scandals) would leave the church in their droves.  :D

We'd a mad Christian Brother at my primary school, had his own video of him carrying out the football skills (A Kerry man) it was these headers that pushed the Gaelic games. He's been our club president for a number of years
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2012, 10:14:16 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on August 23, 2012, 05:56:38 PM
Hard to know what it means to this lunatic commentating .  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HKQTfYRA9k&feature=player_detailpage
Is that a Mayo accent? It sounds West of Ireland . 
Post by: Asal Mor on August 24, 2012, 10:36:09 AM
When I'm walking through town on my way to puck a few balls I always feel like more of a man with my hurl in my hand. Not in the sense that I could use it as a weapon, just that to me hurling is a heroic game and all hurlers are fearless warriors. They say holding a gun can give you a strange surge of power. That's how I feel when I hold a hurl.
Post by: deiseach on August 24, 2012, 10:56:09 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on August 24, 2012, 10:36:09 AM
When I'm walking through town on my way to puck a few balls I always feel like more of a man with my hurl in my hand. Not in the sense that I could use it as a weapon, just that to me hurling is a heroic game and all hurlers are fearless warriors. They say holding a gun can give you a strange surge of power. That's how I feel when I hold a hurl.

I always felt that my hurley was a knife and everyone else was wielding a gun
Post by: seafoid on August 24, 2012, 12:34:58 PM
I love the feel of the hurl in the hand and also reading about Cu Chulainn to the kids and showing them the
pictures of the hurls. 
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 24, 2012, 03:55:07 PM
Quote from: deiseach on August 23, 2012, 10:57:39 AM
I'm pretty sure that the hurling played in Antrim prior to the GAA was more akin to shinty (http://www.feisnangleann.com/fevents.php). Obviously it was a long time ago, but would there be any collective memory/folklore/tradition remaining about those times?

Yes you are correct. The hurling played in Antrim, Dungiven, Derry City and its hinterland of Burt in Inishowen was known as commons, which derived from "camanach". It was similar to shinty. There used to be  mad rivalry between Derry City teams and Burt before the formation of the GAA and even after its formation it was these areas that were the strongest. Hurling in one form or another has remained very strong in Burt right up to the present day. In Derry City which is only 5 miles away from Burt and in the same diocsese the Catholic Church associated everything GAA as too closely linked to militant republicanism in the 1920s and actively discouraged it amongst its flock. They replaced it with soccer in the schools and now the city is a soccer stronghold. The city does have 1 hurling club Na Magha which was founded in the 1980s and the people there are as passionate about hurling as anywhere in Ireland
Post by: Muchachos on August 25, 2012, 07:06:51 AM
Pure Primal.
Its a warriors sport. Skill, guile, craft, honour, pride, comrades.
Not a sport to beat it as far as im concerned. Tribal, courageous, punishing, and purely IRISH.
Post by: seafoid on August 26, 2012, 10:14:36 PM
Fr Harry Bohan in 2005 or so in the Irish Times discussing the Clare hurlers said it would be impossible to imagine the county without them .
Post by: Aerlik on September 09, 2012, 05:11:14 PM
I bought mini-me his first hurl when home in August and we went for our first puck-about last weekend, Father's Day, at a park near my home in central Perth.  Other dads were throwing frisbees, kicking AFL balls etc but we on our own and the inevitable group of onlookers materialised.

Hurling to me is the purest symbol of my Irish heritage, nationality and culture; simply unique.   I'm so proud to have been able to play the game at different levels at home and want my son to share some of that.  It is a statement. 
Post by: joe bloggs on September 19, 2012, 10:31:05 PM
Hurling is always having a hurl in the boot of the car, you never know when you might have a few pucks.
It is always taking a look at a team mates new hurls.
It is spending a half an hour trying to find a hurl with the right balance and weight in some lads workshop.
It is enjoying a junior b game as much as king Henry an AIF.
It is awe inspiring to first time viewers from foreign lands.
It is getting your knuckles  bursted and not caring.
It is looking in the buy and sell for a second hand Cooper
It is hooks, flicks, roll lifts and 127 other skills.
It is ..... the greatest game on earth
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 19, 2012, 11:51:27 PM
Other than our language and music probably one of the only pure native aspects of our culture left. Unbelievable game.
Post by: theticklemister on September 20, 2012, 01:47:36 AM
a game i released when picking up as a 18 year old for the famous Na Magha hurling team from derry city that I should of picked up a long time ago.

I think all us football gaels realise that hurling is our best GAA sport
Post by: spuds on September 20, 2012, 08:36:32 AM
Lads with funny accents wielding planks of pliable timber and bating the bejaysus out if it and guffawing through gappy mouths as they pull first time on a dropping ball.
Post by: Dag Dog on September 20, 2012, 10:15:16 AM
Pain and heartbreak mostly.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 10:22:13 AM
Would you say 'Unlimited Heartbreak'?
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 20, 2012, 12:21:20 PM
In Limerick hurling means a free summer to save the hay every year.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 12:22:50 PM
I love the one above about having a hurl in the car at all times in case a puck around breaks out. I bring three. One for me, one for the little fella (aged 6) and one spare in case we meet anyone.
Post by: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 03:10:18 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 12:22:50 PM
I love the one above about having a hurl in the car at all times in case a puck around breaks out. I bring three. One for me, one for the little fella (aged 6) and one spare in case we meet anyone.

Ah sure hurls in the boot of the car dry out too much, they're outside at the back door along with the wife's, the young fellas', and the youngest lady who'd be more inclined to wallop her da than any soft touch ball she's got!

Thank god for double glazing as the wee fella has mastered the lifting this year and banging the ball off the kitchen window, I don't complain at him too much as I did the same growing up, the only difference being the ball didn't bounce back and I'd a window to clear up and fix.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 03:11:06 PM
What age is the young fella?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 20, 2012, 03:38:07 PM
You didn't hang around to clear up and fix a broken window in our house if you were within earshot.
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2012, 03:39:32 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 20, 2012, 12:21:20 PM
In Limerick hurling means a free summer to save the hay every year.
Wouldn't ye have been better off out of the championship in june this year?
Post by: seafoid on September 20, 2012, 03:41:21 PM
I would add

- young fellas behind the goal at the county final looking for sliotars
- broken windows
- time wasted looking for sliotars in nettles

to the list
Post by: johnneycool on September 20, 2012, 03:44:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 20, 2012, 03:11:06 PM
What age is the young fella?

He's 6 and very timid but the little girl is 4 and would face the devil himself.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 20, 2012, 03:59:55 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 20, 2012, 01:47:36 AM
a game i released when picking up as a 18 year old for the famous Na Magha hurling team from derry city that I should of picked up a long time ago.

Jeez your lucky you said that on this side. I don't think it would slide as easily on the other.  ;)
Post by: Sean3 on September 20, 2012, 04:28:57 PM
Hitting the ball just right off a sideline cut

As a young lad, getting a new skill right for the first time and afterwards acting as if it was no big deal while inside you were chuffed to pieces
Post by: laoislad on September 20, 2012, 04:43:05 PM
My hero growing up was my Uncle who was the Laois goal keeper during part of the 80's.
It was because of him I fell in love with hurling and even though I was as bad a hurler as you could find I always preferred it to football even though I would have been a better footballer (and soccer player)and played more of it.
My Da done umpire at Laois club games and a few Laois county finals as well and I use to get to stand on the sideline because of it and I always loved being nearly in the thick of the action as a youngfella standing watching.

I was more or less in the middle of a huge fight from a Laois county final that my Da was umpire at in the 80's.
I pretty sure it was this game below between Portlaoise and Camross.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hRZVJQX1KT0

Anyway what does hurling mean to me? Mostly good memories of growing up travelling to games that my Da was doing umpire at or the thrill of watching my Uncle play in Croke Park.
I think when played at its absolute best there is no other sport to match it.
Post by: Hardy on September 20, 2012, 04:48:56 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on September 20, 2012, 03:59:55 PM

Jeez your lucky you said that on this side. I don't think it would slide as easily on the other.  ;)

I'm watching. I just smile indulgently at that ould insecurity in these mellow times. I just have to wonder where johnney got the idea that "all us football gaels" think hurling is better. And why he thinks the rest of us are as mad as himself to be calling ourselves "football gaels" if we prefer hurling.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on September 20, 2012, 05:05:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 20, 2012, 04:48:56 PM

I'm watching. I just smile indulgently at that ould insecurity in these mellow times. I just have to wonder where johnney got the idea that "all us football gaels" think hurling is better. And why he thinks the rest of us are as mad as himself to be calling ourselves "football gaels" if we prefer hurling.

+1. And most of my friends who genuinely love football feel the same.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 20, 2012, 05:17:11 PM
Watching young lads coming through the turnstiles with their sticks and then pucking around on the terraces
The Kilmacud 7s
Championship
Practicing your "weak" side
Going up on youre own to hone your skills on the hurling wall
That feeling you get when you hit the sliothar bang on the sweetspot
Post by: theticklemister on September 20, 2012, 10:51:42 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on September 20, 2012, 05:05:58 PM

+1. And most of my friends who genuinely love football feel the same.

I mind having an argument as a wee lad with some boy who thought Formula 'wan' racing was more skillful than hurling; I beat him out the door with my reasons!

Post by: LegalAlien on September 21, 2012, 07:18:04 AM
Hurling means to me:
Memories as a kid being lifted over the turnstile by my grandfather or father even for all Ireland finals;
Paper crèche hats getting soaked and having the black and amber dye running down your face;
Flying the flag out the window of the car on the way up and down to the match only if you remembered not to pull the window down without holding the flag and seeing it going flying away;
Rosettes with a little silver cup;
Journeys back from croke park which seemed to involve stopping in every pub on the way when drink driving was a national past time;
Running out as a 10 year old onto Nowlan Park playing under 12s but feeling I was playing in an all Ireland final;
Chunky O'Brien teaching me how to rise a ball;
Remembering every county final I got to and more so every final or semi final we lost;
The joy and agony of matches which at the time were the most important thing in the world;
Watching my nephews play and seeing the same enjoyment I got that they got;
Talking to my Dad after every Kilkenny match. Sometimes I'd have made it back from London and we'd do it face to face. Other times on the phone(
Sitting in various pubs in London watching any game no matter what club or county and remembering hurling is what we are and always will be!
Post by: johnneycool on September 21, 2012, 08:34:53 AM

Nothing at all to do with Johnney, i think its the ticklemaster who made that comment.

An apology will be accepted if offered.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2012, 12:06:39 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 21, 2012, 08:34:53 AM

Nothing at all to do with Johnney, i think its the ticklemaster who made that comment.

An apology will be accepted if offered.

I'm suprised Hardy managed to find this site  ::) feck away off  ;D
Post by: Hardy on September 22, 2012, 10:36:13 AM
Apologies Johnney.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 22, 2012, 12:07:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 20, 2012, 03:41:21 PM
I would add

- broken windows
to the list

:) Very true seafoid. I don't like to boast but I had a great knack of finding them with my feet by trampling the nettles and was labelled Inspector Gadget for my sliotar - finding abilities.
Post by: theticklemister on September 22, 2012, 12:38:13 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 22, 2012, 12:07:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 20, 2012, 03:41:21 PM
I would add

- broken windows
to the list

:) Very true seafoid. I don't like to boast but I had a great knack of finding them with my feet by trampling the nettles and was labelled Inspector Gadget for my sliotar - finding abilities.

Reminds me of an oul football story.

Down in our oul pitch we had no ball catchers so when the ball went over one goal it went into a forest of ditches, trees and bushes. It took ages to find the balls when they went in there. Getting beat by 2 points in an u-16 cship match our goalkeeper in all his wisdom decided the ball was dropping over the bar so he ran behind the grab it before it went into the forest, to my shock and horror standing at corner forward the ball dropped into an empty net! we can laugh about it now but a certain 'D' got shit for it lol lol lol.
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 22, 2012, 01:42:49 PM
It's good to watch when there's no football on. It's a wile pity they decided to make a women's version of it though.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 22, 2012, 01:51:58 PM
Reminds me of an oul football story.

Down in our oul pitch we had no ball catchers so when the ball went over one goal it went into a forest of ditches, trees and bushes. It took ages to find the balls when they went in there. Getting beat by 2 points in an u-16 cship match our goalkeeper in all his wisdom decided the ball was dropping over the bar so he ran behind the grab it before it went into the forest, to my shock and horror standing at corner forward the ball dropped into an empty net! we can laugh about it now but a certain 'D' got shit for it lol lol lol.

;) good story.
Post by: johnneycool on September 24, 2012, 09:09:43 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on September 22, 2012, 01:42:49 PM
It's good to watch when there's no football on. It's a wile pity they decided to make a women's version of it though.

Apples and oranges Fitzy..
Post by: Asal Mor on September 24, 2012, 01:40:43 PM
I think football can be every bit as enthralling as hurling, especially as a physical contest, when it's refereed properly and two great teams are playing. Some of those Kerry v Tyrone or Armagh v Tyrone games in the last decade as an example were as outstanding a spectacle as anything in sport. Personally though, I'd find it very hard to watch two lesser teams, say Cavan and Monaghan, playing. Football can be a very ugly, scrappy sort of a game a lot of the time. And let's be honest - about 80% of inter-county matches are utter sh!te.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2012, 04:13:38 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on September 22, 2012, 01:42:49 PM

Camogie?? I love camogie. It's the ladies football that annoys the hell outta me.
Post by: seafoid on September 24, 2012, 10:36:00 PM
2 adult hurls in the hall and 4 or 5 kids hurls that are grown out of and then replaced .

Finding oneself on a beach in a football county with the hurls , pucking around, and seeing other fathers doing the same and it's a nice club to belong to .

An interview on RTE with a nephew of Tommy Walsh, age 10. They ask him what he wants to be when he grows up. "A hurler". Good man yourself.

Waiting on a luggage carousel out foreign and out pops a bunch of hurls. A gaelic football wouldn't have the same impact. 
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 10:18:35 AM
Feckit lads I used to kick a ball around with my young lads on the beach and elsewhere. I didn't feel the need to compose odes about it. And all I needed in the boot of the car was a football. 
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 10:24:15 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 10:18:35 AM
Feckit lads I used to kick a ball around with my young lads on the beach and elsewhere. I didn't feel the need to compose odes about it. And all I needed in the boot of the car was a football.

Okay Hardy, we get it. You think football is better than hurling and think we're all mad for waxing lyrical about hurling. It's duly noted, okay?
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:04:20 AM
What I really like about hurling people is their windupability. 
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:06:04 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:04:20 AM
What I really like about hurling people is their windupability.

Says the man who wades in on every thread about the subject. I think you doth protest too much
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:19:02 AM
You ain't seen nothing yet, if you continue to reward my bad behaviour.

Seriously, though, since you brought it up I'll assume I'm not boring you by explaining. I love hurling. It vies with NH racing as my second-favourite sport. I just get great amusement from the tendency of hurling people (as I see it, anyway) towards self-congratulation for being discerning enough to choose "the fastest field game in the world" as their favourite sport. Over and over. As you might say yourself, it's duly noted, okay?

I will admit that the amusement can be transformed into mild annoyance when, as will often happen in pubs in, say Lismore, where I'd often find myself, the eulogising of hurling needs to be supplemented by the disparagement of football and us poor fools who love the game. We don't tend to do that to you.
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:30:10 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:19:02 AM

Seriously, though, since you brought it up I'll assume I'm not boring you by explaining. I love hurling. It vies with NH racing as my second-favourite sport. I just get great amusement from the tendency of hurling people (as I see it, anyway) towards self-congratulation for being discerning enough to choose "the fastest field game in the world" as their favourite sport. Over and over. As you might say yourself, it's duly noted, okay?

I will admit that the amusement can be transformed into mild annoyance when, as will often happen in pubs in, say Lismore, where I'd often find myself, the eulogising of hurling needs to be supplemented by the disparagement of football and us poor fools who love the game. We don't tend to do that to you.

Reading your posts, I think the annoyance routinely overrides the amusement. Never the twain shall meet.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 11:30:45 AM

I agree with that last point. I love hurling, and I do think it's a great game, but I also love football and have given a fair bit of my life to both, and hope to have a lot more to give :D However, I have rarely, if ever, heard a football man make disparaging comments about hurling, except in a retaliatory sense. I have, unfortunately, quite often heard statements about penknifes and footballs, or about football being shite compared to hurling. 
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:33:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 11:30:45 AM
I agree with that last point. I love hurling, and I do think it's a great game, but I also love football and have given a fair bit of my life to both, and hope to have a lot more to give :D However, I have rarely, if ever, heard a football man make disparaging comments about hurling, except in a retaliatory sense. I have, unfortunately, quite often heard statements about penknifes and footballs, or about football being shite compared to hurling.

The penknife line does make me chuckle, I must confess. Otherwise, I don't like people slagging off football. Are we all not in this together?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 11:34:05 AM
We are, and we should be. Coming from a dual county, and living in a county that is very much a dual county now, you have no chance unless you are in it together.
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:36:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 25, 2012, 11:34:05 AM
We are, and we should be. Coming from a dual county, and living in a county that is very much a dual county now, you have no chance unless you are in it together.

(http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g68/almaxp/OldFirm2.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:46:32 AM
Quote from: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:30:10 AM

Reading your posts, I think the annoyance routinely overrides the amusement. Never the twain shall meet.

I didn't think so, but maybe you're right. Either way, it's always interesting to see ourselves as others see us.
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2012, 11:47:12 AM

I'm from a hurling pocket in a football dominated county and it does seem ingrained into you to fight your corner in terms of hurling vrs football as there's a preconception that the county board doesn't give a flying f**k for hurling. Now as you grow wiser, you'll find certain aspects of that to be well wide of the mark and other times it looks a bit glaringly obviously true, but its a big brush to be tarring everyone with and IMO one of the best hurling board chairman I've dealings with in Down was from Burren, a club where you wouldn't see a hurl.

Hurling snobs from the traditional counties not only do they look down their noses at football people, but also from the lesser hurling counties as can be seen how Nicky Brennan and Christy Cooney marginalised the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher competitions by moving the finals away from the curtain raisers of the AI semi-finals to allow their minors another day in Croke Park. Ironically again it was a President from Kerry who had the audacity to get the games played then, but his was wasn't long being reversed by the Presidents from Kilkenny and Cork.
Post by: deiseach on September 25, 2012, 11:50:12 AM
Quote from: Hardy on September 25, 2012, 11:46:32 AM
I didn't think so, but maybe you're right. Either way, it's always interesting to see ourselves as others see us.

Aye, we can agree to disagree.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 26, 2012, 12:11:55 PM

Ah I've heard a few "I'd burn all the hurls in (insert place name) if I could" from football only men. Val Andrews is the most prominent one that springs to mind. I use prominent in a very loose sense. Also heard a few comments about hurling still being tactically naive, catch and puck as opposed to catch and kick. Still well in the minority compared to the hurling snobs.
Post by: Absent on September 26, 2012, 07:07:59 PM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 19, 2012, 10:31:05 PM
Hurling is always having a hurl in the boot of the car, you never know when you might have a few pucks.
It is spending a half an hour trying to find a hurl with the right balance and weight in some lads workshop.

Even before I played my first u/12 game of hurling at the age of ten wearing a pair of wellingtons with the cowdung still slinging off them back in 1954,the team were short and I didn't have to be asked twice,hurling is a magical game to me.Out in the Canaries for parts of the winter I still have a couple of hurls with me even at this age and regularly go for a few pucks with anyone who will accompany me,the foreigners find the game most interesting.The young lad out there next door aged 6 kicks football all day but I have him doing a little bit of hurling and he is mad for it,I have a small hurl already packed for my next visit and I will be looking out for him shouting down from the balcony "play" and making a striking movemment with his hands.Hurling is a fantastic game to play,so many many skills and is an enthralling game to watch.
Post by: joe bloggs on September 26, 2012, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 26, 2012, 07:07:59 PM

Even before I played my first u/12 game of hurling at the age of ten wearing a pair of wellingtons with the cowdung still slinging off them back in 1954,the team were short and I didn't have to be asked twice,hurling is a magical game to me.Out in the Canaries for parts of the winter I still have a couple of hurls with me even at this age and regularly go for a few pucks with anyone who will accompany me,the foreigners find the game most interesting.The young lad out there next door aged 6 kicks football all day but I have him doing a little bit of hurling and he is mad for it,I have a small hurl already packed for my next visit and I will be looking out for him shouting down from the balcony "play" and making a striking movemment with his hands.Hurling is a fantastic game to play,so many many skills and is an enthralling game to watch.

When I was 12 I went on holidays to the canaries and my cousin of the same age was going. We packed in the sloithars and cheked in our hurls, but to our horror they never appeared when we landed. Needles to say we weren't too impressed
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 26, 2012, 10:23:37 PM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 26, 2012, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: Absent on September 26, 2012, 07:07:59 PM

When I was 12 I went on holidays to the canaries and my cousin of the same age was going. We packed in the sloithars and cheked in our hurls, but to our horror they never appeared when we landed. Needles to say we weren't too impressed

Good stories, I remember going away most summers with Euro Children, it was a scheme for us trouble torn kids from Derry, Belfast to head of to Germany, Belgium and Holland, one trip away I packed my hurls and sloithars. The family I stayed with had a large driveway with lamps along the driveway. Before we left I had managed to break everyone of the lamps and the back window of the house!!
Post by: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 09:50:29 PM
Hurls for sale at the ploughing - you couldn't get anything more Irish than that
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 28, 2012, 10:13:05 AM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 09:50:29 PM
Hurls for sale at the ploughing - you couldn't get anything more Irish than that
Handy for bringing in the cows.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 28, 2012, 11:51:45 AM
Quote from: joe bloggs on September 27, 2012, 09:50:29 PM

I see Conor O'Mahoney's bobble head dolls are down there as well. :D
Post by: seafoid on September 28, 2012, 09:17:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfFnL_o8QS0

Jimmy Smyth is in it

You could never confine Ring to a county
Hurling is Ireland
Ring was Hurling
Ring was Ireland