Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: laoislad on August 07, 2012, 06:59:24 PM

Title: Premier League Thread 2012/2013
Post by: laoislad on August 07, 2012, 06:59:24 PM
Less than two weeks left till the big kick off.

My predictions.

1 - Man City
2 - Chelsea
3 - Man U
4 - Arsenal
5 - Liverpool
6 - Spuds

Relegated :
West Brom
Wigan
Reading

Surprise package : QPR

FA Cup : Newcastle
League Cup : Aston Villa
Champions League : Juventus

Promoted from Championship :

Bolton
Leicester
Cardiff
Title: Re: Premier League Thread 2012/2013
Post by: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 07:40:09 PM

You must be drunk ???.
Post by: thewobbler on August 07, 2012, 07:53:41 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 07:40:09 PM

You must be drunk ???.

Even more nuts is that he thinks Liverpool are going to make a 17 point swing on Spurs from last season. Delude Liverpool fans just don't realise how poor their team has become.
Post by: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 08:03:40 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 07, 2012, 07:53:41 PM

You must be drunk ???.

Even more nuts is that he thinks Liverpool are going to make a 17 point swing on Spurs from last season. Delude Liverpool fans just don't realise how poor their team has become.

To be fair, I think that's just hope and /or optimism, and if you haven't got that at the start of a new season it's time to get the pipe and slippers.
Post by: laoislad on August 07, 2012, 08:05:56 PM
How about ye two cnuts give yer own predictions and never mind what I think!
Post by: whitegoodman on August 07, 2012, 08:09:01 PM
City
Utd
Chelsea
Arsenal
Spurs
Liverpool

One of Rodgers, RDM or AVB to be sacked by Christmas.

Villa to be surprise package and be best of the rest.
Post by: Jonah on August 07, 2012, 08:10:47 PM
1 - Man City
2 - Man U
3 - Chelsea
4 - Arsenal
5 - Liverpool
6 - Newcastle
7 - Tottenham

FA Cup - Everton
Carling Cup - Sunderland
Champions League - Man City

Relegated
West Ham
Southampton
Reading

Post by: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 08:24:10 PM
This cnut couldn't possibly predict the almighty Premier League placings, and couldn't really give a fcuk. The Championship is the place to watch "Proper Football" ::). At least in this division Ordinary Joe supporters can get tickets for away games (it's far better craic than home games) . I know the top clubs have their die-hards but there's also a lot of those corporate parasites taking tickets away from the grass roots fans.
Post by: oakleafgael on August 07, 2012, 08:24:39 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 07, 2012, 07:53:41 PM

You must be drunk ???.

Maybe, maybe not. Spurs will have lost their best player before the league starts and have appointed a manager unproven in the EPL, although Rodgers still has a way to go before he can be considered a top manager. It has been said that the Spurs team of last year is the best they have had in a generation, that says a lot when you consider they just about made the top 4 and finished 20 points behind the Champions.

1 - Man City
2 - Man U
3 - Chelsea
4 - Arsenal
5 - Liverpool
6 - Spuds

Post by: Captain Obvious on August 07, 2012, 08:25:12 PM
1 - Chelsea
2 - Manchester City
3 - Manchester United
4 - Tottenham
5 - Arsenal
6 - Newcastle

Relegated :
Norwich
West Brom
Southampton

Surprise package : West ham United

FA Cup : Man City
League Cup : Man City
Champions League : Real Madrid
Europa League : Liverpool

Promoted from Championship :

Leeds
Wolves
Blackburn
Post by: laoislad on August 07, 2012, 08:29:24 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 08:24:10 PM
This cnut couldn't possibly predict the almighty Premier League placings, and couldn't really give a fcuk. The Championship is the place to watch "Proper Football" ::). At least in this division Ordinary Joe supporters can get tickets for away games (it's far better craic than home games) . I know the top clubs have their die-hards but there's also a lot of those corporate parasites taking tickets away from the grass roots fans.

I've been to about 20 Notts Forest games over the last 10 years so I know all about going to Championship games!!
Post by: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 08:37:36 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 07, 2012, 08:29:24 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on August 07, 2012, 08:24:10 PM

I've been to about 20 Notts Forest games over the last 10 years so I know all about going to Championship games!!

Glad to hear it. A great club down on their luck the last few years. If you're going over this season give St Andrews a try, I think you'd be pleasantly surprised.
2nd February LL, looking forward to seeing you :).

Promoted from Championship:

Birmingham ;)
Blackburn
Bolton
Post by: thewobbler on August 07, 2012, 09:52:05 PM
To be honest, it's a bit early for predictions, apart from that City will canter to the title.

If Arsenal keep RVP, they'll have a good season. If not, they'll finish outside the top four, maybe even by a fair bit. Wenger is a magician but his current attacking crop is too inconsistent without RVP to even muster a cup challenge.

Someone above pointed to Spurs not being able to cope with losing their best player, Modric. Well, this is nonsense. He's a lovely player to watch but contributes nothing to attack, routinely goes missing in big games, and statistically since he's joined, Spurs have a better points per game record in games he's missed than games he's played in. Adebayor is a much greater loss if he doesn't join. Indeed, Spurs are in a similar spot to Arsenal up front; lose their main man and it's a long, long gap to the next in line. By the looks of things, Bale is groomed for a no.9 jersey this season. If that works out (and it could, he has all the physical and technical requirements) then Spurs will finish top 4.

Man Utd might struggle to maintain a challenge this season as they're so light at midfield. Unless signings come  in, an injury to Carrick could even be monumental in their season. But a combination of Fergie and the fact that their strikers will contribute 70 goals means they'll be the best of the rest.

Chelsea are the most interesting team so far. They bored their way to the Champions League, but they'd no choice but to play that way in order to win. What's interesting is that they've spent the summer buying every attacking midfielder in Europe, including the wildly overrated Edin Hazard. All I can see is a team whose balance is all over the place and I reckon they'll have a season of handing out spankings, followed by losing out in high scoring thrillers. If Ramires and the hugely underrated Cahill play most games they'll have a good season.

Liverpool, frankly are not even worth considering for a Champions League place. It tells you all you need to know when do many supporters can't wait for Lucas Leiva to return. He's a fair enough player but he wouldn't even  get into Everton's midfield. Also, losing the likes of Maxi, Kuyt and Bellamy from the squad is a pretty big deal - especially when their wages are essentially being reserved for sub-standard English players. I do though hope Rodgers gets at least two full seasons to correct this; he's the most likeable thing about Liverpool since it was full of Irish players.

Last of the big guns, City have no reason to deliver a season any weaker than the one just past.  They're a team reaching their peak rather than on the decline. And this is the biggest problem for any potential challengers - how do they catch up with a team that's getting better.

The rest of the Premiership is open season. Stoke, Fulham and Everton will all be top twelve. O'Neill should get Sunderland in the top half. Newcastle appear to have the players to get higher again. As everyone else is new or has a new manager, I've no idea.
Post by: Minder on August 07, 2012, 10:04:18 PM
Cazorla will score a pile of goals for Arsenal.
Post by: CorkMan on August 09, 2012, 01:11:09 PM
1. City
2. Arsenal
3. Chelsea
4. United
5. Spuds
6. Newcastle
7. Swansea
8. Liverpool
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 09, 2012, 01:24:22 PM
QuoteIt tells you all you need to know when do many supporters can't wait for Lucas Leiva to return. He's a fair enough player but he wouldn't even  get into Everton's midfield.

wobbler, that line made any other sensible point in your post void
Post by: J OGorman on August 09, 2012, 01:30:57 PM
1. Man City - handy enough
2. Liverpool
3. Man Utd
4. Arsenal
5. Chelsea
6. Spurs

SPL
1. Celtic
Post by: ballinaman on August 09, 2012, 01:58:50 PM
1.Liverpool (handy)
2.Arsenal
3.Chelsea
4.Man City
5.Rangers
6.Spurs

12.Man United

Post by: thewobbler on August 09, 2012, 02:11:26 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 09, 2012, 01:24:22 PM
QuoteIt tells you all you need to know when do many supporters can't wait for Lucas Leiva to return. He's a fair enough player but he wouldn't even  get into Everton's midfield.

Ahead of Fellaini and Rodwell? In fairness, I'd call that a strong midfield pairing.
Post by: Bingo on August 09, 2012, 02:18:38 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 09, 2012, 02:11:26 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on August 09, 2012, 01:24:22 PM

Ahead of Fellaini and Rodwell? In fairness, I'd call that a strong midfield pairing.

You are in a hole, stop digging. Rodwell is barely first choice at Everton.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 09, 2012, 04:47:56 PM
I thought he was fishing with that remark. Obviously not. He mustn't have seen Lucas play for the last few years.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 09, 2012, 05:12:39 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on August 09, 2012, 01:30:57 PM
SPL
1. Celtic
Bold prediction.
Post by: EC Unique on August 09, 2012, 05:13:51 PM
Lucas was going really well up until his injury. It will be interesting to see if he can find that form again or will he revert back to the poor form he had a couple of seasons ago.
Post by: laoislad on August 09, 2012, 05:16:34 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on August 09, 2012, 04:47:56 PM
I thought he was fishing with that remark. Obviously not. He mustn't have seen Lucas play for the last few years.

I did too that's why I didn't bother replying.
Lucas is one of the best midfielders in the Premier League IMO and was a huge loss to Liverpool last season.
Wouldn't get in the Everton midfield LOL  :D
Post by: SHEEDY on August 09, 2012, 07:13:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 09, 2012, 05:16:34 PM

Lucas is one of the best midfielders in the Premier League IMO and was a huge loss to Liverpool last season.
lucas is a good player but to say hes one of the best midfielders in the prem league is stretching it a bit.
Post by: thewobbler on August 09, 2012, 07:45:28 PM
Stretching it around the world a few times.

He's a good player, nothing more.
Post by: Minder on August 09, 2012, 07:52:15 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 09, 2012, 07:45:28 PM

So is Fellaini, nothing more.
Post by: Forever Green on August 09, 2012, 11:58:27 PM
Chelsea
City
Arsenal
Liverpool
Spurs
Newcastle

Wigan
WBA
Norwich
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 10, 2012, 10:57:28 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on August 09, 2012, 07:13:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 09, 2012, 05:16:34 PM

lucas is a good player but to say hes one of the best midfielders in the prem league is stretching it a bit.
I was at the Liverpool city game last year at anfield and Lucas was the best player on the park (one of his last PL games before injury), closely followed by Yaya

he is one of if not thee best defensive midfielders in the premier league
Post by: magpie seanie on August 10, 2012, 12:01:17 PM
I think more than half of Lucas' problem is that he is from Brazil and that fact made people have different expectations.
Post by: Bingo on August 10, 2012, 12:11:12 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 10, 2012, 12:01:17 PM
I think more than half of Lucas' problem is that he is from Brazil and that fact made people have different expectations.

Without doubt, always has been his problem and will be. He is always refered to the "brazilian Lucas".
Post by: angermanagement on August 10, 2012, 12:12:23 PM
Before his injury he was excellent for Liverpool, a regular for Brazil and according to many Brazilians there's a good chance he'll be captain of Brazil at the world cup in 2016. Not to bad for a player who wouldn't get on for Everton.
Post by: thewobbler on August 10, 2012, 01:03:19 PM
Without meaning to sound like a pious twat, the circling of the wagons around Lucas only adds weight to my original point - which was that Liverpool's standards have fallen tremendously, and if Lucas is one of their key players, they're not going to be involved in the Champions League fight. Liverpool followers might regard him as the best/one of the best defensive midfielders in the Premiership, but if demanded a transfer in the morning, there'd be no clamour for him from bigger clubs.
Post by: Bingo on August 10, 2012, 02:23:56 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 10, 2012, 01:03:19 PM
Without meaning to sound like a pious t**t, the circling of the wagons around Lucas only adds weight to my original point - which was that Liverpool's standards have fallen tremendously, and if Lucas is one of their key players, they're not going to be involved in the Champions League fight. Liverpool followers might regard him as the best/one of the best defensive midfielders in the Premiership, but if demanded a transfer in the morning, there'd be no clamour for him from bigger clubs.

You still digging?
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 10, 2012, 02:33:57 PM
Cannot see Utd winning it unfortunately. Time will tell if Di Matteo ends up like Dalglish at Liverpool. I suspect not though and Chelsea will give mancity a real rattle for the league title.
Post by: wildrover on August 21, 2012, 01:01:11 PM
Anyone any thoughts on a current Premier League Select 11? Heres my effort (im a utd fan by the way):

1)Reina(LIV)

2)Ivanovic(CHE)   4)Vidic(MU)       5)kompany(MC)    3)Cole(CHE)

7)Nasri(MC)         6)Toure(MC)    8)Cabaye(NEW)   11)Bale(TOT)
                               (Captain)

9)Silva(MC)
                                             10)Van Persie(MU)

Worryingly low representation from a Utd point of view...
Post by: onefaircounty on August 21, 2012, 01:05:58 PM

II may be 'biting' here, but honest question, have you watched Liverpool reguarly over the last two years or just MOTD?

He never stands out on the highlights, but I straight out refuse to believe that someone can consider him good, at best, having watched our matches reguarly over the last two seasons. Head and shoulders above anyone at the club in that period, miles ahead actually.

Everyone entitled to their opinions and all, but he has been nothing short of excellent in that period.

Post by: thewobbler on August 21, 2012, 01:47:12 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on August 21, 2012, 01:05:58 PM

II may be 'biting' here, but honest question, have you watched Liverpool reguarly over the last two years or just MOTD?

He never stands out on the highlights, but I straight out refuse to believe that someone can consider him good, at best, having watched our matches reguarly over the last two seasons. Head and shoulders above anyone at the club in that period, miles ahead actually.

Everyone entitled to their opinions and all, but he has been nothing short of excellent in that period.

Honestly, return back to what I started with. Being miles ahead of anyone at LFC these days is not a compliment in itself. He is a good player, maybe even a notch up on that again. But it shows how far Liverpool are off the pace that he's trumpeted as their most important player. Anyone who follows the clubs higher than LFC last season, if you asked them, would take Lucas into their squad happily, but if you suggested building a team around him, or even guaranteeing him a start every week, they'd have a wee chuckle.
Post by: onefaircounty on August 21, 2012, 03:02:15 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 21, 2012, 01:47:12 PM
Quote from: onefaircounty on August 21, 2012, 01:05:58 PM

Honestly, return back to what I started with. Being miles ahead of anyone at LFC these days is not a compliment in itself. He is a good player, maybe even a notch up on that again. But it shows how far Liverpool are off the pace that he's trumpeted as their most important player. Anyone who follows the clubs higher than LFC last season, if you asked them, would take Lucas into their squad happily, but if you suggested building a team around him, or even guaranteeing him a start every week, they'd have a wee chuckle.

Only from those who don't know football at all. You can be damn sure that none of the management teams at these clubs would chuckle.

Here's the thing, he is exactly the player United are craving right now.

You're point about being the best compared to players playing poorly is irrelevant. He has been excllent by dominating opponents.
Post by: Bingo on August 21, 2012, 03:37:34 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 21, 2012, 01:47:12 PM

I'd agree, he isn't the type of player you'd build a team around but he is the type of player that allows you to build a team around a player.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 25, 2012, 04:00:02 PM
Liverpool  bottom as things stand !
Post by: laoislad on March 11, 2013, 06:42:31 PM
Reading sack Brian McDermott.
Bit silly with only 9 games to go, who do they think can come in with so little time left and keep them up?

I like McDermott, I think he would be a good choice to replace Trap.
Post by: ballinaman on March 11, 2013, 06:59:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 11, 2013, 06:42:31 PM
Reading sack Brian McDermott.
Bit silly with only 9 games to go, who do they think can come in with so little time left and keep them up?

I like McDermott, I think he would be a good choice to replace Trap.

Said he wants to manage Ireland before too.
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 28, 2013, 10:09:41 PM
The PFA team of the year.

De Gea, Manchester United
Zabaleta, Manchester City
Ferdinand, Manchester United
Vertonghen, Tottenham
Baines, Everton
Carrick, Manchester United
Mata, Chelsea
Bale, Tottenham
Hazard, Chelsea
Van Persie, Manchester United
Suarez, Liverpool

Gareth Bale won both PFA player and young player of the year awards
Post by: CorkMan on April 28, 2013, 10:12:35 PM
Not an Arsenal player in sight.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 28, 2013, 11:46:04 PM
Thoroughly deserved. The most exciting talent since Giggs and Ronaldo.  Why he chose Spurs over United only Gareth himself knows.  You can only but imagine how much better he could now be if training with the United legends every day??
Post by: ONeill on April 29, 2013, 12:04:15 AM
Quote from: CorkMan on April 28, 2013, 10:12:35 PM
Not an Arsenal player in sight.

None deserved it. Cazorla had his moments but Mata a class act.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 29, 2013, 09:14:48 AM
Surprised that Bale won both to be honest, don't think he should have been in the running for young player and would have had RVP as player of the year.
Post by: ballinaman on April 29, 2013, 09:36:02 AM
Suarez booed when his name was announced! On Sky Sports tonight at 10.30pm.
Post by: EC Unique on April 29, 2013, 11:20:45 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 29, 2013, 09:14:48 AM
Surprised that Bale won both to be honest, don't think he should have been in the running for young player and would have had RVP as player of the year.

I think Bale deserved it but must have been close between him and RVP. I do think that if he wins the main award then he should have been discounted from the young player award. Bit silly giving him both.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 29, 2013, 11:28:02 AM
Suarez was second according to reports I saw. I wonder if he was first before last week? :D Couldn't be giving it to an agent of darkness now.
Post by: NAG1 on April 29, 2013, 11:34:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 29, 2013, 11:28:02 AM
Suarez was second according to reports I saw. I wonder if he was first before last week? :D Couldn't be giving it to an agent of darkness now.

Is the voting not down around the turn of the year?
Post by: ranch on April 29, 2013, 12:19:30 PM
Quote from: angermanagement on August 10, 2012, 12:12:23 PM
Before his injury he was excellent for Liverpool, a regular for Brazil and according to many Brazilians there's a good chance he'll be captain of Brazil at the world cup in 2016. Not to bad for a player who wouldn't get on for Everton.

The WC in 2016? Their football knowledge must be something else.

As for team of the season, how Hazard got picked ahead of Michu seriously needs questioned.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 29, 2013, 01:20:16 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on April 29, 2013, 11:34:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 29, 2013, 11:28:02 AM

Is the voting not down around the turn of the year?

It is, I'm just slagging that even if Suarez won the vote, they'd never proclaim him the winner :)
Post by: rodney trotter on April 29, 2013, 01:26:28 PM
Strange that they never announce these awards at the end of the Season. Bale deserved PFA player of the year, but think it would make more sense if it was announced after the Final League game of the Season. Spurs are going for 4th spot CL place, bit of a distraction for himself being in the limelight when there is a few more very important games left in the Season for Spurs.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 29, 2013, 10:37:22 PM
I believe Reginald D Hunter didn't go down to well at the PFA awards. Made a few close to the knuckle jokes about racism using the "N" word throughout which apparently embarrassed people in attendance. Think he made a few of the FA big wigs uncomfortable as they had banned players for using the same word.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/29/clarke-carlisle-reginald-hunter-pfa-awards

Surely they knew what to expect when the booked him? Wonder will they show his routine on Sky?
Post by: nrico2006 on April 30, 2013, 09:44:37 AM
I think it shows how poor the Premier League has become from an individual superstar point of view when Gareth Bale has now won the PFA award twice, knocking on from the Giggs fiasco a few years ago too. 
Post by: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 10:45:31 AM
Cannot understand how that clown ferdinand is in the team of the year.
Without doubt the most overrated footballer of all time.
Delighted for baines he deserved at least that.Thought he should have got a nomination also was brillant all season.
Post by: thewobbler on April 30, 2013, 10:48:05 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 30, 2013, 09:44:37 AM
I think it shows how poor the Premier League has become from an individual superstar point of view when Gareth Bale has now won the PFA award twice, knocking on from the Giggs fiasco a few years ago too. 

This is an odd comment. Not that the Premiership is lacking stars, but the suggestion that Bale isn't up to winning such an award twice. Bale has scored 19 league goals, and half of them would make anybody's highlights reel. He's a superstar.
Post by: thewobbler on April 30, 2013, 10:51:00 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 10:45:31 AM

I make you mad as a box of frogs. In 25-odd years of watching English football, I've never seen a better defender in that league. He's in the autumn of his career now, but at his peak he had no flaws in his game (which doesn't mean he didn't make mistakes, everybody does). Very few defenders in history I would say that about.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2013, 11:29:24 AM
No flaws? I always thought Ferdinand was a good reader of a game, quick, and liked to play the ball. However I'm not sure he was as physically strong as you'd like a centre half to be. I don't think it's any coincidence that his best games and runs of form come when Vidic is beside him to do a lot of the dirty work.
Post by: NAG1 on April 30, 2013, 01:40:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 30, 2013, 11:29:24 AM
No flaws? I always thought Ferdinand was a good reader of a game, quick, and liked to play the ball. However I'm not sure he was as physically strong as you'd like a centre half to be. I don't think it's any coincidence that his best games and runs of form come when Vidic is beside him to do a lot of the dirty work.

They have formed a great partnership but even with Johnny Evans, Ferdinand still looks like a class above anything else in the EPL.

Post by: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 04:47:37 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 30, 2013, 10:51:00 AM

I make you mad as a box of frogs. In 25-odd years of watching English football, I've never seen a better defender in that league. He's in the autumn of his career now, but at his peak he had no flaws in his game (which doesn't mean he didn't make mistakes, everybody does). Very few defenders in history I would say that about.

Everbody entitled to their opinion but to say that about this clown is unbelieveable.
I am of the opinion that central defensive partnership should be tough and strong and put your body on the line put in big tackles and basically be as no nonsense as you can get.
Rio has none of the above.He can pass the ball yes but he isnt a last line of defence type.
Give me Vidic every day of the week and Kompany and shawcross there after before that muppet.
He always looks for an excuse after a goal is conceded whether it be a teammate or official where too often than not if he managed to get across and make a tackle it would be more beneficial.
Post by: Billys Boots on April 30, 2013, 05:02:17 PM
Delighted for baines he deserved at least that.Thought he should have got a nomination also was brillant all season.

I saw that Baines is the player who has created most chances for team mates of all players in the Top-5 leagues in Europe.
Post by: thewobbler on April 30, 2013, 05:10:55 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 04:47:37 PM

Everbody entitled to their opinion but to say that about this clown is unbelieveable.
I am of the opinion that central defensive partnership should be tough and strong and put your body on the line put in big tackles and basically be as no nonsense as you can get.
Rio has none of the above.He can pass the ball yes but he isnt a last line of defence type.
Give me Vidic every day of the week and Kompany and shawcross there after before that muppet.
He always looks for an excuse after a goal is conceded whether it be a teammate or official where too often than not if he managed to get across and make a tackle it would be more beneficial.

Honestly, when you mention someone like Shawcross, it just makes it seem like you gauge defensive worth by how hard they'll kick an opponent. There is so much more to being a  defender than throwing yourself in front of everything that moves.

For the past decade when Rio has played, United have had one of the top three defences in English football every year. This is despite having had a number of below par keepers, and some very average players like Brown, O'Shea and Evans playing major parts in their seasons. For the past 3-4 years they haven't even had a midfield general worth talking about.

Ferdinand has marked big ones, small ones, quick ones, slow ones, skilful ones, and angry ones. But there isn't a single player I can think of who has had something close to an Indian sign over United during that time.

No doubt about it, Vidic's more aggressive and physical qualities make him a great counterpart for Ferdinand. But Ferdinand is one of the few players I've seen who can comfortably flit between the sweeper role, the stopper role, and between the left side or right side of defence. Vidic can't. Kompany can't. Shawcross would try, and fail miserably.

The only players I've seen in the Premiership who could have given him a run for the money were Adams (right up there, based on his last few years when he started to play a bit of ball), King and McGrath (both of whom neither had the luck with injuries, nor the trophies to stand comparison).
Post by: Bingo on April 30, 2013, 05:21:51 PM
The PFA are a laughing stock really. They booked a guy who's comedy routines are well know considering his shows titles normally include the "n" word. Its also clear (and he remarked on it himself in his opening lines of the act) that he booked as someones idea of political correctness. Sums them up really.

But the bigness joke is the voting system. I can't think of any other voting that is done before the season is over. It was done about 3/4 of way through the season, no one knows how its going to finish or who is really going to step up to the plate and really make a difference. Players will just vote for the "form" player at the time - clearly reflected in the top 3. Its like asking the oscar judges to watch 3/4 of the films and then vote.

To me, the player of the year is between two players, possibly 3, it needs to be measured in what they have achieved and what their team as achieved. To me, Van Persie won United the league, his early season form was unstoppable and he put United in a position where they where untouchable, he's back at it again and sealed the deal for them. Sure he hit a wobble but such was his form, he had given united and himself that breathing space.
The other player was Benteke, if Villa can avoid the drop, it is largely down to him and the scores he has scored in a team very low on confidence. He has achieved hugely in a struggling team.

The third is Bale, IF, spurs can hang onto a champions league spot.

Suarez has been very good as well but what have Liverpool achieved? Nothing.

Post by: Declan on April 30, 2013, 05:30:23 PM
Liked Dara O'Briain's tweet re Hunter - Free Reg D Hunter! RT @andydavison: Christ, only the @PFA could oppose racism by trying to get a black man to work without pay.
Post by: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 07:02:25 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on April 30, 2013, 05:10:55 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on April 30, 2013, 04:47:37 PM

Honestly, when you mention someone like Shawcross, it just makes it seem like you gauge defensive worth by how hard they'll kick an opponent. There is so much more to being a  defender than throwing yourself in front of everything that moves.

For the past decade when Rio has played, United have had one of the top three defences in English football every year. This is despite having had a number of below par keepers, and some very average players like Brown, O'Shea and Evans playing major parts in their seasons. For the past 3-4 years they haven't even had a midfield general worth talking about.

Ferdinand has marked big ones, small ones, quick ones, slow ones, skilful ones, and angry ones. But there isn't a single player I can think of who has had something close to an Indian sign over United during that time.

No doubt about it, Vidic's more aggressive and physical qualities make him a great counterpart for Ferdinand. But Ferdinand is one of the few players I've seen who can comfortably flit between the sweeper role, the stopper role, and between the left side or right side of defence. Vidic can't. Kompany can't. Shawcross would try, and fail miserably.

The only players I've seen in the Premiership who could have given him a run for the money were Adams (right up there, based on his last few years when he started to play a bit of ball), King and McGrath (both of whom neither had the luck with injuries, nor the trophies to stand comparison).

I may have an old fashioned outlook on defensive mentalities but i firmly believe that the hard man centre defenders were always the back bone of all successful teams.
Anyone who played with aggression in the back four would always get that adrenalin rush after putting in a good hard fair tackle knowing that the other man would have definitly come out on the wrong side.That adrenalin would drive you on to performaces at times was beyond your actual level.
While hard tackiling defending isnt the be all and end all of defenders i think a defence with four players without certain levels of this quality has a weak link.
Mcgrath was ten times the palyer ferdinand was and just because he hasnt as much medals isnt a yard stick of how good he was.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 01, 2013, 09:13:53 AM
What, so to be a good centre back you need to be the bonecrusher who launches into tackles?  Give me Ferdinand any day, a man who read a player, shadowed and dispossessed forwards instead of lunging in and conceding penalties, free kicks and red cards etc like your stereotypical tackler, i.e. Vidic or Terry. 
Post by: Hound on May 01, 2013, 09:30:35 AM
Quote from: Bingo on April 30, 2013, 05:21:51 PM
The PFA are a laughing stock really. They booked a guy who's comedy routines are well know considering his shows titles normally include the "n" word. Its also clear (and he remarked on it himself in his opening lines of the act) that he booked as someones idea of political correctness. Sums them up really.

But the bigness joke is the voting system. I can't think of any other voting that is done before the season is over. It was done about 3/4 of way through the season, no one knows how its going to finish or who is really going to step up to the plate and really make a difference. Players will just vote for the "form" player at the time - clearly reflected in the top 3. Its like asking the oscar judges to watch 3/4 of the films and then vote.

To me, the player of the year is between two players, possibly 3, it needs to be measured in what they have achieved and what their team as achieved. To me, Van Persie won United the league, his early season form was unstoppable and he put United in a position where they where untouchable, he's back at it again and sealed the deal for them. Sure he hit a wobble but such was his form, he had given united and himself that breathing space.
The other player was Benteke, if Villa can avoid the drop, it is largely down to him and the scores he has scored in a team very low on confidence. He has achieved hugely in a struggling team.

The third is Bale, IF, spurs can hang onto a champions league spot.

Suarez has been very good as well but what have Liverpool achieved? Nothing.

If Benteke had played as well before Christmas as he has since Christmas, Villa would be a mid table team and Villa would have achieved nothing either!

Benteke only scored in 4 of Villa's 17 league games up to Christmas. Since then he's been great alright. Over the course of the season, as good as Suarez? I don't think so. But at only 22 I'd imagine Villa will be getting some big offers during the summer.

Dead right re timing of the awards. RvP lost out because he was in a barren spell at the time of the voting. He should have been the winner in my view, with Bale and Suarez for 2nd and 3rd.
Post by: Emmett on May 01, 2013, 10:04:00 AM
Ferdinand was a top class defender, not the best there has been over the last 25 years in my opinion, but still a very good player. A successful defence is all about the partnership in the middle, Ferdinand and Vidic were as good a partnership as there has been - at their peak. They are both clearly on the wane however.

For what it's worth here are my top 5 central defenders in the past 10/15 years

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

Jonathan Woodgate was one of the best defenders I have ever had the pleasure of watching, made everything look so simple. Such a pity about the injury problems he had to endure.
Post by: Minder on May 01, 2013, 10:27:32 AM
I would have Ledley King in any argument of best central defenders, good on the ball, quick aggressive. When he was playing well he was as good as any of them.
Post by: NAG1 on May 01, 2013, 10:55:16 AM
Quote from: Emmett on May 01, 2013, 10:04:00 AM
Ferdinand was a top class defender, not the best there has been over the last 25 years in my opinion, but still a very good player. A successful defence is all about the partnership in the middle, Ferdinand and Vidic were as good a partnership as there has been - at their peak. They are both clearly on the wane however.

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

Jonathan Woodgate was one of the best defenders I have ever had the pleasure of watching, made everything look so simple. Such a pity about the injury problems he had to endure.

Can't believe he would even make it into the top 5, cant remember a more over rated player in a long time. Shows you what the English media can do for you though, that British bull dog JT.  ???
Post by: Billys Boots on May 01, 2013, 11:02:28 AM
Hummels and Subotic were excellent in central defence last night. 
Post by: HiMucker on May 01, 2013, 11:06:34 AM
Colin "Braveheart" Hendry.  Took on the original Ronaldo in his prime and stuck him in the back pocket.  World class defender.  should have left Rovers
Post by: NAG1 on May 01, 2013, 11:13:31 AM

Colin "Braveheart" Hendry.  Took on the original Ronaldo in his prime and stuck him in the back pocket.  World class defender.  should have left Rovers......... and not pissed his money away
Post by: HiMucker on May 01, 2013, 11:30:04 AM
In fairness NAG, he faced some serious personal tragedy.
Post by: Emmett on May 01, 2013, 11:45:38 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on May 01, 2013, 10:55:16 AM

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

Can't believe he would even make it into the top 5, cant remember a more over rated player in a long time. Shows you what the English media can do for you though, that British bull dog JT.  ???

I can make up my own mind about a player, I do not need the british media to help me with this. I understand there's not a lot of love lost for John Terry but there can be no doubting his ability as a footballer. When he's out of the Chelsea team, even now, his absence is felt. He's never been the fastest but his organisational skills, reading of the game, tackling, heading and determination more than make up for this. His passing ability off his left or right foot is also as good as you'll see from a defender.
Post by: NAG1 on May 01, 2013, 11:45:58 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 01, 2013, 11:30:04 AM
In fairness NAG, he faced some serious personal tragedy.

Granted yes, but with 4 kids I would have thought priorities would have been elsewhere, but its a disease I suppose.
Post by: NAG1 on May 01, 2013, 11:49:00 AM
Quote from: Emmett on May 01, 2013, 11:45:38 AM

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

I can make up my own mind about a player, I do not need the british media to help me with this. I understand there's not a lot of love lost for John Terry but there can be no doubting his ability as a footballer. When he's out of the Chelsea team, even now, his absence is felt. He's never been the fastest but his organisational skills, reading of the game, tackling, heading and determination more than make up for this. His passing ability off his left or right foot is also as good as you'll see from a defender.

But not as good as Rio's or having the ability to bring the ball out from the back.

It is opinions at the end of the day but if he wasn't English I don't think he would have the profile he has. He is a hard tackling Terry Butcher type player, much like Gary Cahill. Rio is more in the ilk of Bobby Moore, Paolo Maldini type defender.
Post by: HiMucker on May 01, 2013, 12:35:43 PM
Titus Bramble
Post by: Declan on May 01, 2013, 01:09:14 PM
Reginald D Hunters Facebook album from the PFA awards - hilarious
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.568413596523219.1073741830.231809290183653&type=3&l=ec10a4ab5c (https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.568413596523219.1073741830.231809290183653&type=3&l=ec10a4ab5c)
Post by: thewobbler on May 01, 2013, 01:21:58 PM

I believe in credit where it's due.

Like most of the modern world, I despise John Terry. But he has been the undoubted leader and cornerstone of one of the most difficult to beat teams in world football for the past decade. Even if the British press overrate him, his ability, attributes and worth shouldn't be belittled.
Post by: ross4life on May 01, 2013, 05:00:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 01, 2013, 01:21:58 PM

I believe in credit where it's due.

Like most of the modern world, I despise John Terry. But he has been the undoubted leader and cornerstone of one of the most difficult to beat teams in world football for the past decade. Even if the British press overrate him, his ability, attributes and worth shouldn't be belittled.

Love or hate him Terry was certainly one of the best ever PL defenders. One of his best seasons was in 2004/05 when Chelsea only conceded 15 goals in 38 games Terry was named PFA player of the year first defender to win it since McGrath i think? In regards to Rio, wasn't many outstanding candidates in defence this season but he probably just about deserved it. Other great defenders for United during the PL was Bruce,Stam,Pallister.
Post by: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 05:15:46 PM

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

no Jaap Stam?
Post by: ranch on May 01, 2013, 05:59:53 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on May 01, 2013, 05:15:46 PM

1 - Marcel Desailly
2 - Nemanja Vidic
3 - John Terry
4 - Rio Ferdinand
5 - Sami Hyypia

no Jaap Stam?

Bruce, Adams and Pallister would surely be better shouts than Desailly and Hyypia?
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 12, 2013, 02:39:21 PM
didnt know wheree to put hthis, but did you see the finish in Watford/Leicester game.

Leicester got a penalty for some hoor lying down, and he duly missed from the spot. Watford countered and scored at the other end ! All in the 97th minute ! Amazing ! No sympathy for Leicester as it was never a pen
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 12, 2013, 03:10:52 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on May 12, 2013, 02:39:21 PM
didnt know wheree to put hthis, but did you see the finish in Watford/Leicester game.

Leicester got a penalty for some hoor lying down, and he duly missed from the spot. Watford countered and scored at the other end ! All in the 97th minute ! Amazing ! No sympathy for Leicester as it was never a pen
Scenes afterwards were crazy. Double save from the keeper too!
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:22:20 PM

I know this is hard to believe but Almunia actually saved it, twice!

I'll say it again Almunia actually saved!!!
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:24:19 PM
Wont be up long bit it is good!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cI__QLV40i8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cI__QLV40i8)
Post by: ONeill on May 12, 2013, 03:26:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:22:20 PM

Almunia was always a good penalty stopper.
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:42:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 12, 2013, 03:26:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:22:20 PM

Almunia was always a good penalty stopper.

He was complete Senderos.
Post by: laoislad on May 12, 2013, 03:47:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 12, 2013, 03:10:52 PM

Were Leicester going through anyway or was it going to extra time?
Leicester would have been ahead on away goals but did they count in the playoffs?
Post by: Minder on May 12, 2013, 03:48:14 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 12, 2013, 03:47:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 12, 2013, 03:10:52 PM

Were Leicester going through anyway or was it going to extra time?
Leicester would have been ahead on away goals but did they count in the playoffs?

It was going to extra time
Post by: ross4life on May 12, 2013, 03:51:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 03:24:19 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cI__QLV40i8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cI__QLV40i8)
Football bloody hell!
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 04:12:02 PM
Quote from: ross4life on May 12, 2013, 03:51:05 PM

Football bloody hell!

WTF are they celebrating about, isn't football all about trophies?
Post by: laoislad on May 12, 2013, 04:24:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 04:12:02 PM

Football bloody hell!

Stop being a muppet.
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 04:25:34 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 12, 2013, 04:24:30 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 12, 2013, 04:12:02 PM

Football bloody hell!

Stop being a muppet.

Ha Ha!  ;D
Post by: muppet on May 12, 2013, 04:36:42 PM

Football bloody hell!

When Zola runs along celebrating, look at yer man trying to pick his pockets.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2013, 05:01:04 PM
Bad results for Wigan today they could be relegated on Tuesday.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 12, 2013, 05:21:50 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 12, 2013, 05:01:04 PM

Yep, think that their goose is cooked! Especially Sunderland, Norwich and Newcastle getting points. They have to beat Arsenal Away. Jez, beating one big team in London is one thing, But beating a second in a week, well? If ( and that is some if) they do that they have a chance as they play a safe Aston Villa on the final day at home.
Post by: CorkMan on May 12, 2013, 05:32:11 PM
Jesus, my prediction was fairly far off the mark.
Post by: shark on May 12, 2013, 09:14:58 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 12, 2013, 05:21:50 PM

Yep, think that their goose is cooked! Especially Sunderland, Norwich and Newcastle getting points. They have to beat Arsenal Away. Jez, beating one big team in London is one thing, But beating a second in a week, well? If ( and that is some if) they do that they have a chance as they play a safe Aston Villa on the final day at home.

Villa are not safe.  If Wigan fail to beat Arsenal, then they are.  But a Wigan beating Arsenal and Villa, along with Sunderland beating or drawing with Spurs, sends Villa down.
Post by: Hound on May 13, 2013, 11:55:56 AM
Quote from: shark on May 12, 2013, 09:14:58 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 12, 2013, 05:21:50 PM

Villa are not safe.  If Wigan fail to beat Arsenal, then they are.  But a Wigan beating Arsenal and Villa, along with Sunderland beating or drawing with Spurs, sends Villa down.
Yeah its down to Wigan, Sunderland and Villa for the final relegation place.
But if Wigan can't been Arsenal on Tuesday, they'll be gone.
For entertainment purposes it would be great if Wigan could be the gunners as it would set up a final day shootout of Wigan v Villa
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2013, 08:35:09 PM
Arsenal 1 Wigan 1 at half time. Wigan need to win Tottenham will be happy with a draw.
Post by: EC Unique on May 14, 2013, 09:09:20 PM
2-1 to Arsenal now.
Post by: EC Unique on May 14, 2013, 09:10:44 PM
Make that 3-1. Wigan gone.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2013, 09:15:48 PM
Wigan can now say hello to npower Championship.
Post by: NAG1 on May 16, 2013, 02:08:22 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 14, 2013, 09:15:48 PM
Wigan can now say hello to npower Championship.

Wigan played some nice stuff but I would say the EPL will be glad to see the back of them and their half empty stadium for most games. Not the the kind of look the promoters of the EPL want when selling it around the world.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 16, 2013, 02:53:24 PM
Rather them than Stoke mind you.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 02:57:50 PM
Don't understand all the talk of Wigan not deserving to go down though, they were steady enough for a few years but the past few have seen them loiter around the bottom 4 or 5 places all the time.  Not sure why Martinez is so highly regarded either, their Premier League finishes don't reflect too well on his management ability. 

Ona nother note, never really looked to closely at a Man City jersey but a while back I noticed 3 stars above their crest - don't tell me this is to represent league wins?  If that's the case, United and Liverpool may as well have an extra sleeve designed on their jerseys from now on. 
Post by: gallsman on May 16, 2013, 03:48:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 02:57:50 PM
Don't understand all the talk of Wigan not deserving to go down though, they were steady enough for a few years but the past few have seen them loiter around the bottom 4 or 5 places all the time.  Not sure why Martinez is so highly regarded either, their Premier League finishes don't reflect too well on his management ability. 

Ona nother note, never really looked to closely at a Man City jersey but a while back I noticed 3 stars above their crest - don't tell me this is to represent league wins?  If that's the case, United and Liverpool may as well have an extra sleeve designed on their jerseys from now on.

Really? With the squads he's had? The fact they've stayed up so much in previous years has been a miracle and is largely down to Martinez. He managed year on year to turn a combination of young inexperienced players and cheap foreign imports into a respectable competitor. Quality manager.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 04:35:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 16, 2013, 03:48:32 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 16, 2013, 02:57:50 PM

Really? With the squads he's had? The fact they've stayed up so much in previous years has been a miracle and is largely down to Martinez. He managed year on year to turn a combination of young inexperienced players and cheap foreign imports into a respectable competitor. Quality manager.

I dunno, they seemed to have finished worse in the league during the last 4 seasons under Martinez than they did under Jewell and Bruce.  Add in the 8 and 9 nil hammerings they also took a few times as well and I think Martinez is rated pretty highly undeservedly.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2013, 07:26:16 PM
Wouldn't judge Martinez on this seasons relegation. Brian Clough was regarded as one of the best club managers ever and his final act in football was relegation with Nottingham forest.
Post by: BennyCake on July 13, 2013, 02:24:49 AM
I see Saddam Hussein has bought Fulham...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23297785 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23297785)
Post by: gawa316 on March 01, 2014, 05:00:25 PM
Pardew sinks the head into a hull player...nutter!
Post by: pullhard on March 01, 2014, 05:05:27 PM

Quote from: gawa316 on March 01, 2014, 05:00:25 PM
Was it full Zindine? or a tap?
Post by: gawa316 on March 01, 2014, 05:09:42 PM
Quote from: pullhard on March 01, 2014, 05:05:27 PM

Haven't seen it but defo not a Zidane. The usual square up to each other and he moved the head towards Meyer and made contact
Post by: All of a Sludden on March 01, 2014, 05:27:18 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 01, 2014, 05:09:42 PM
Quote from: pullhard on March 01, 2014, 05:05:27 PM

Haven't seen it but defo not a Zidane. The usual square up to each other and he moved the head towards Meyer and made contact

Unbelievable Jeff..........
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=BhGUpVCW84I
Post by: pullhard on March 01, 2014, 06:49:27 PM

Thats not a headbutt
(http://balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/gwu.gif)

Thats a headbutt

(http://blogs.artinfo.com/artintheair/files/2012/10/Zadan.gif)
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 01, 2014, 07:11:44 PM
The usual contrite Pardew apology now airing.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 01, 2014, 07:38:49 PM
HYPERBOLE!  :-[
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 02, 2014, 04:41:09 AM
Quote from: pullhard on March 01, 2014, 06:49:27 PM

Thats not losing a world cup final
(http://balls.ie/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/gwu.gif)

Thats losing a world cup final.

(http://blogs.artinfo.com/artintheair/files/2012/10/Zadan.gif)
Post by: trileacman on March 02, 2014, 05:56:34 PM
Is that what passes for a head-butt now? Between that and your Spurs lad they wouldn't have a bruised hair between the two of them.

(http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/299/3/f/storm_in_a_teacup_by_kritter5x-d31kwvp.jpg)
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 10:52:30 AM
Meyler started the handling, love the way its ok to shove your hands into someones chest yet brushing your hair in a mans face is seen as a lynching. 
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 11:03:08 AM
Meylor pushed past Pardew, absolutely. But it annoys me that managers are out there getting in the way. But what Pardew did was daft. No need for it. If he did it to Suarez, he'd still be rolling around the ground.
Post by: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 11:07:49 AM
Perversely Meyler probably made life harder for Pardew. By not rolling around on the ground, he made Pardew look even more cowardly.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 11:08:23 AM
Quote from: deiseach on March 03, 2014, 11:07:49 AM
Perversely Meyler probably made life harder for Pardew. By not rolling around on the ground, he made Pardew look even more cowardly.

Ah I don't know. If he went all swan lake on it, imagine the pictures on the paper.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 03, 2014, 11:34:22 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 10:52:30 AM
Meyler started the handling, love the way its ok to shove your hands into someones chest yet brushing your hair in a mans face is seen as a lynching.

And what did you expect Meyler to do, losing 3-1 and he goes to retrieve the ball and Pardew is standing in the way. OTT from Pardew but  nothing new with him
Post by: laoislad on March 03, 2014, 11:52:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 11:03:08 AM
Meylor pushed past Pardew, absolutely. But it annoys me that managers are out there getting in the way. But what Pardew did was daft. No need for it. If he did it to Suarez, he'd still be rolling around the ground.
If he done it to Suarez they would have found a way to blame Suarez.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 11:52:37 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 03, 2014, 11:34:22 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 10:52:30 AM

And what did you expect Meyler to do, losing 3-1 and he goes to retrieve the ball and Pardew is standing in the way. OTT from Pardew but  nothing new with him

In this day and age is it not the stance that no matter what the provocation, an 'assault' can't be justified.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 03, 2014, 11:58:19 AM
If that was an ' assault' the Fa would be looking into it too
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 12:05:21 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 03, 2014, 11:52:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 11:03:08 AM
If he done it to Suarez they would have found a way to blame Suarez.

True :D
Post by: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 12:14:20 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 03, 2014, 11:58:19 AM

Probably more impact in the push than there was in the 'headbutt'. 
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2014, 12:16:41 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 03, 2014, 12:14:20 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 03, 2014, 11:58:19 AM

Probably more impact in the push than there was in the 'headbutt'.

The push by Meyler was an instinctive 'get out of my way' kinda thing,Pardew deliberately did what he did and it was a conscious thing. I wouldn't have him  about the place as he is a liability,  can't have a manager doing that!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 03, 2014, 12:18:09 PM
On MOTD they went through a montage of previous incidents with him. He's lost it a few times to be fair. As he says, he should probably just sit down out of the way.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on March 03, 2014, 05:36:00 PM
(http://l2.yimg.com/bt/api/res/1.2/5VtBUDwsQtrvGMkXqXCcYg--/YXBwaWQ9eW5ld3M7cT04NQ--/http://media.zenfs.com/en-GB/blogs/early-doors/es_Pardew.jpg)
Post by: passedit on March 03, 2014, 06:09:22 PM
The Torygraph's take on Pardew.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bh0G9QSIYAELb0N.jpg)

He's a hard man to like but I've seen a lot worse on sidelines closer to home.
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2014, 06:29:40 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 02, 2014, 05:56:34 PM
Is that what passes for a head-butt now? Between that and your Spurs lad they wouldn't have a bruised hair between the two of them.

(http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2010/299/3/f/storm_in_a_teacup_by_kritter5x-d31kwvp.jpg)

There was contact! Apparently two hairs from Pardew emailed an eyebrow of Meyler.

Meyler has been sent for re-programming for not 'going down'.