GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:16:57 PM

Title: All Ireland Senior Football Quarter Finals 2012
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:16:57 PM
Bowl A               Bowl B
Donegal              Down
Mayo                  Kerry - (looking cert currently at 2-18 to 1-05 v Clare without double yella carded P Galvin)
Cork                   Kildare
Dublin                Laois
Title: Re: All Ireland Senior Football Quarter Finals 2012
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 08:25:52 PM
Dublin vs Kerry.......................que, kerry whoors pulling sinks and shower heads off the walls in the locker rooms
Post by: RMDrive on July 28, 2012, 08:29:27 PM
Would like ....

Cork v Kildare
Mayo v Down
Donegal v Laois
Dublin v Kerry

Expect ...
Cork v Laois
Mayo v Kerry
Donegal v Kildare
Dublin v Down
Title: Toradh
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:30:49 PM
Kerry 2-22  Clare 1-06
Title: Tarraingt
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:31:30 PM
Bowl A               Bowl B
Donegal              Down
Mayo                  Kerry
Cork                   Kildare
Dublin                Laois
Title: Radio
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:33:04 PM
Talk of P Galvin having got a straight red.
Title: Re: Radio
Post by: RMDrive on July 28, 2012, 08:34:33 PM
Quote from: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:33:04 PM

Yeah confirmed he got a straight red. Crazy fool.
Title: Re: Radio
Post by: RMDrive on July 28, 2012, 08:35:34 PM
Quote from: RMDrive on July 28, 2012, 08:34:33 PM
Quote from: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:33:04 PM

Yeah confirmed he got a straight red. Crazy fool.

Crazy like a fox! It was only 2 yellows.
Title: Cluiche
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:37:29 PM
Cork v Kildare
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:37:55 PM
Dublin v Laois
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:38:16 PM
Donegal v Kerry
Post by: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:38:39 PM
Mayo v Down
Title: Re: Cluiche
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:40:14 PM
Quote from: drici on July 28, 2012, 08:37:55 PM
Dublin v Laois

What a surprise   ::)
Post by: Gold on July 28, 2012, 08:40:29 PM
Semi's:

Dublin/ Laois v Mayo/ Down

Donegal/Kerry v Cork/Kildare
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 08:41:14 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:40:14 PM
Dublin v Laois

Ah that will do rightly................................cannon fodder  ;D
Post by: Gold on July 28, 2012, 08:41:41 PM
Quote from: Gold on July 28, 2012, 08:40:29 PM
Semi's:

Fancy semi:

Dublin v Mayo
Kerry v Cork

Dubs/Kerry final
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 08:42:40 PM
Quote from: Gold on July 28, 2012, 08:40:29 PM
Semi's:

Looks like (in theory) Dublin (or dare i say Mayo) are on the handy side of the draw!
Post by: theticklemister on July 28, 2012, 08:44:11 PM
Dublin got er handy!!!

But by feck.........that second side of the draw has made me glad I am born in Ireland; ill be in Dun na ngall for that weekend too; I love ye God I love ye!!
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:46:50 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 08:41:14 PM
Dublin v Laois

Are the full stops after all your posts symbolising the lines of cocaine you take?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 08:49:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:46:50 PM
Dublin v Laois

Are the full stops after all your posts symbolising the lines of cocaine you take?

you child, bitter lemon..................................dont drink, dont smoke, dont do drugs.............your lot could learn a thing or two from that, a hammering coming your way
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 28, 2012, 08:53:36 PM
Great draw for the Dubs, all the other all Ireland contenders on the other side of the draw.
Post by: ardtole on July 28, 2012, 08:53:52 PM
are the 4 games all to be played next weekend?
Post by: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:55:13 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 08:49:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on July 28, 2012, 08:46:50 PM
Dublin v Laois

you child, bitter lemon..................................dont drink, dont smoke, dont do drugs.............your lot could learn a thing or two from that, a hammering coming your way

I won't lose any sleep over it.
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:00:55 PM
Very underwhelmed by that draw. Hope the players are fully tuned in and focused and can motivate themselves.

I wanted Kerry.
Post by: comethekingdom on July 28, 2012, 09:17:04 PM
What about dates and times for these games? Presume the jacks will be give a stand alone on the BH Monday?
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 09:22:18 PM
Is everyone righting Kildare off? The others season all four provincial winners got ironed out in the quaters didn't they? What price a repeat?
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:23:00 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on July 28, 2012, 09:17:04 PM
What about dates and times for these games? Presume the jacks will be give a stand alone on the BH Monday?

Dubs will be 2nd game on Saturday
Post by: ross4life on July 28, 2012, 09:35:07 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:23:00 PM

Do you know the days for the other games, any game on bank Holiday Monday this year?
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 09:39:46 PM

The Quarter-Finals are scheduled to be played on the weekend of August 4th/5th/6th.

Semi-Finals

Cork/Kildare v Donegal/Kerry (August 26th)

Dublin/Laois v Down/Mayo (September 2nd)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 09:41:18 PM
Quote from: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 09:22:18 PM
Is everyone righting Kildare off? The others season all four provincial winners got ironed out in the quaters didn't they? What price a repeat?

Not last year, all four provincial winners reached the semis! Good chance of the same happening again this year. Kildare are not rated (for now). They were well beaten by an average Meath team and had difficulty against Limerick. Kildare have not beaten (or got far enough to beat) Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Donegal.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 09:45:32 PM
Not last year, all four provincial winners reached the semis! Good chance of the same happening again this year. Kildare are not rated (for now). They were well beaten by an average Meath team and had difficulty against Limerick. Kildare have not beaten (or got far enough to beat) Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Donegal.

Ok. The season before?
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:46:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 28, 2012, 09:35:07 PM

Do you know the days for the other games, any game on bank Holiday Monday this year?

Thats far from confirmed but I'm guessing:

Sat: Cork v Kildare, Dubs v Laois
Sun: Down v Mayo, Donegal v Kerry
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:52:16 PM
Mayo have most cause to be happy out of the eight teams drawn imo.

They'll either face a Laois team who they'll fancy to beat or a very undercooked Dublin team.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 09:59:26 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:52:16 PM

They'll either face a Laois team who they'll fancy to beat or a very undercooked Dublin team.

Ah, i'd say must provincial chamions are happy to have avoided Kerry! Believe me as the week drags on Down won't look as soft of a draw. Remember the guts of this Down team were in an AI final 2 years ago.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 10:02:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 09:59:26 PM

Ah, i'd say must provincial chamions are happy to have avoided Kerry! Believe me as the week drags on Down won't look as soft of a draw. Remember the guts of this Down team were in an AI final 2 years ago.

and only the crossbar saved Down from defeat in the semi against....................Kildare.
Post by: Jonah on July 28, 2012, 10:04:35 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:46:35 PM

Cork v Kildare would be the marquee pairing why would they be curtain raiser to Laois v Dublin?
Post by: heffo on July 28, 2012, 10:07:58 PM
Quote from: Jonah on July 28, 2012, 10:04:35 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 28, 2012, 09:46:35 PM

Cork v Kildare would be the marquee pairing why would they be curtain raiser to Laois v Dublin?

How so? Cork will bring about ten fans and Laois beat the team who beat Kildare.

Dubs are AI champions.

As much as I'd prefer Dubs to be on first, they've always been second on the bill for every game since Croker was the Quarter finals/qualifiers were introduced
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 10:10:26 PM
Quote from: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 10:02:49 PM

and only the crossbar saved Down from defeat in the semi against....................Kildare.

That's the thing with Kildare they tend to lose close games against the stronger teams.
Post by: here comes 6 on July 28, 2012, 10:12:21 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

(What happens when Kerry play Down in Croke?? )
Post by: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 10:13:53 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on July 28, 2012, 10:12:21 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Down suffer another AI final defeat as back door qualifiers!
Post by: Collins on July 28, 2012, 10:15:22 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Would very much like to believe this, but just can't see it. We just aren't good enough to win a 6th Sam with this side, but we might be good enough to beat Mayo.

Semi's

Dubs vs Down
Cork vs Donegal

Final

Donegal vs Dubs

Winners (to the detriment of the game)

Donegal
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 10:16:52 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2012, 10:13:53 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Down got mauled by Donegal in the Ulster final. Surely they won't progress passed the last eight?
Post by: here comes 6 on July 28, 2012, 10:21:06 PM
Quote from: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 10:16:52 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Down got mauled by Donegal in the Ulster final. Surely they won't progress passed the last eight?

WE got mauled in 2010 by Tyrone in Casement and what happened that year? Got to all ireland.... Never write the Boys off
Post by: Man of Kent on July 28, 2012, 10:35:34 PM
Quote from: here comes 6 on July 28, 2012, 10:21:06 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

WE got mauled in 2010 by Tyrone in Casement and what happened that year? Got to all ireland.... Never write the Boys off

Wouldn't dream of writing ANYONE off. That's one of the things I like about GAA. After the Ulster final perhaps I should be praising Donegal rather than writing off Down.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 28, 2012, 11:25:29 PM

hope not, 80 bills on the season tickets to see laois  :-\................................hope for the kerry donegal game too
Post by: tom,dick and harry on July 29, 2012, 12:34:13 AM

Mayo will b delighted. Down have shown that when they come up against quality teams with decent forwards they cant cope. however im glad 2 see that the management team were willing to make changes after the ulster final. Down have carried too many passengers throghout the year and with an average team u cant afford to do that.
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:44:14 AM
The way I see the the senior QFs shaking out:

Cork-Kildare paired with Donegal-Kerry
Mayo-Down paired with Dublin-Laois

My reasoning would be that only a Dublin game would ever be able to force a standalone QF and Laois aren't a big enough draw to make that possible, nor would any of the remaining three ties be able to draw a large enough crowd to make for a worthwhile attendance at Croke Park by themselves.

In the same breath you'd probably have over-spill if you paired the Dublin-Laois game with Kildare's, meaning those two are likely to be on separate days. After that you're looking at what fits best with a Dublin QF, an eye-catching Donegal-Kerry game or a Mayo-Down match, which although having the potential to be a very interesting tie, is likely to draw the least number of supporters of all four QFs.

Maybe HQ will do something off-the-wall and play one down the country but I highly doubt that's even a possibility. The QF double bills have generally been a great success - last year's Sunday graveyard shift being the only real exception - and I'd say the GAA would be keen to have two bumper bills to kick off the AI championship with a bang.
Post by: tom,dick and harry on July 29, 2012, 12:47:15 AM
Quote from: here comes 6 on July 28, 2012, 10:21:06 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Down must stop considering 2010. That year Benny, danny and marty were on fire. 2 years on benny and danny are unfit plus marty is in oz. look at donegal, even though they won an ulster title last year they improved their system for this year and look a far better outfit. its easy to sit back and say oh well we have done it b4 so we will do it again.
Post by: cadence on July 29, 2012, 12:59:05 AM
Quote from: Collins on July 28, 2012, 10:15:22 PM
Semis

Dublin v Down

Cork v Kerry

FINAL

Down v Kerry

Would very much like to believe this, but just can't see it. We just aren't good enough to win a 6th Sam with this side, but we might be good enough to beat Mayo.

Semi's

Dubs vs Down
Cork vs Donegal

Final

Donegal vs Dubs

Winners (to the detriment of the game)

Donegal

ah f**k it, haters gonna hate. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 29, 2012, 09:53:36 AM
could have sworn you were from Tyrone Cadence...are you not a bit embarrassed about your previously rabid support for your supposedly hated neighbour ?
Post by: cadence on July 29, 2012, 10:04:28 AM
aww, you're so cute.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 29, 2012, 10:13:10 AM
Minor QF also on next weekend. I'd say they will make them on the Monday, except the 6-county teams where it's not a bank holiday.
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:44:32 PM
Two of them will be on before the two senior QFs in Croke Park as all four minor QF contain a team in a senior QF. It's much more likely the two remaining QFs will be on the Saturday or Sunday their counties' senior games aren't on.
Post by: under the bar on July 29, 2012, 02:14:00 PM
[quote
WE got mauled in 2010 by Tyrone in Casement and what happened that year? Got to all ireland.... Never write the Boys off][/quote]

I would not write Down off here comes 6 but current betting of 25/1 flatters them as they got an easier draw.  40/1 or 50/1 would be more realistic odds and Im sure youd find plenty of men on Betfair willing to give it to you with a min bet of 100 if you fancy them.
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2012, 02:43:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 12:44:32 PM
Two of them will be on before the two senior QFs in Croke Park as all four minor QF contain a team in a senior QF. It's much more likely the two remaining QFs will be on the Saturday or Sunday their counties' senior games aren't on.

You sure of that buckeen -- Ros v Kerry , Mayowr v Tipp , Dublin v Monaghan and  Kildare/Laois/Donegal/Cork/Down v ????

Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 03:02:23 PM
Ah, I wasn't accounting for Meath losing yesterday. That means the Tyrone-Meath match will be outside Croke Park. That makes the metrics a bit simpler.

Location seperation also makes Roscommon-Kerry a likely candidate for a triple bill at Croke Park while I feel like Mayo-Tipp is most likely to be the odd man out of the three Croke Park options, Tullamore seems as close to ideal as you'd get for a location for that one.
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2012, 03:38:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 03:02:23 PM
Ah, I wasn't accounting for Meath losing yesterday. That means the Tyrone-Meath match will be outside Croke Park. That makes the metrics a bit simpler.

Location seperation also makes Roscommon-Kerry a likely candidate for a triple bill at Croke Park while I feel like Mayo-Tipp is most likely to be the odd man out of the three Croke Park options, Tullamore seems as close to ideal as you'd get for a location for that one.

I think you should go out more  ::)
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 03:42:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 29, 2012, 03:38:02 PM

I think you should be a tad more respectful.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2012, 03:46:04 PM

More likely Ennis, Tullamore is the other side of the country for us!
Post by: Rossfan on July 29, 2012, 03:55:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 03:42:55 PM

I think you should be a tad more respectful.
to you? Why? Who are you in real life - Co Board Chairman? ;)
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 03:57:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2012, 03:46:04 PM

Well not from most places in East Mayo, I'm just inside the West Roscommon boarder and I can make Tullamore in an hour and a half give or take. Mayo's a big county obviously so whatever the choice would be some corner of it gets staddled with a long journey. Tullamore would also fulfil the old neutral province chestnut and that shouldn't be discounted when a few locations are possibilities.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2012, 04:29:08 PM

Wouldn't that be Croke park.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2012, 04:39:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 29, 2012, 04:29:08 PM

Wouldn't that be Croke park.

That too! Have you been taking Geography lessons?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 29, 2012, 05:53:40 PM
When are we going to find out times/dates and venues?
Post by: ballinaman on July 29, 2012, 06:27:56 PM
Mayo - V's - Down will take place next Saturday 4th August at 5.00p.m. in Croke Park after the Mayo Minors at 3.00pm
Post by: hondacounty on July 29, 2012, 06:28:21 PM
Minors play Tipp at 3 next Saturday, Seniors to follow according to Mayo GAA
Title: Cluichí
Post by: drici on July 29, 2012, 06:35:25 PM
Saturday 4th August
Mayo v Down
5-00pm   Croke Park

Dublin v Laois
7-00pm   Croke Park

Sunday 5th August
Kildare v Cork
2-00pm   Croke Park

Donegal v Kerry
4-00pm   Croke Park
Post by: here comes 6 on July 29, 2012, 06:42:37 PM
where you hear this?  is it true
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2012, 07:07:38 PM
Great for Mayo to have the double bill. I had thought the GAA mightn't be able to resist doubling up with the Dublin minors but it was big of them to not leave Mayo out in the cold.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2012, 01:10:29 PM
Great draw for the Dubs but they could come a cropper against Mayo in the semis. Other side of the draw is too tight to call, maybe Cork as they should beat Kildare and Donegal & Kerry will have had tough outings to reach the semi final. Sunday will be a tasty day in Croker.
Post by: emmetryan on August 01, 2012, 09:05:16 AM
I've put together a tactical preview of Dublin vs Laois here http://action81.com/blog/?p=6055
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 01, 2012, 12:53:38 PM
Would be great if Tyrone were there but I'm still really looking forward to the quarter finals. Quite possibly the strongest 8 that have made it this far. Apart from the Dublin game the other 3 are hard to call. And I'm not even sure Laois won't at least give Dublin a scare. If they can stick with them in the first half anything can happen there. Dublin produced a brilliant quarter final performance last year so maybe they're aiming to peak from now.

Donegal Kerry is really interesting and could go either way and the earlier game isn't a bad one either!! Anyone who makes a weekend of it in Dublin this weekend should get decent value.