GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: here comes 6 on July 23, 2012, 11:20:37 AM

Title: Mark McHugh Diving
Post by: here comes 6 on July 23, 2012, 11:20:37 AM
Jarlath Burns called it and so did Sean Cavanagh.  His Father never commented with embaressment.

Come Martin Your not so mouthy now??
Title: Re: Mark McHugh Diving
Post by: J70 on July 23, 2012, 11:26:07 AM
From the replay it looked like coulter gave him a dig in the ribs.

Delete this thread idiot.
Post by: borderfox on July 23, 2012, 11:28:14 AM
Coulter hit him in the ribs. A dirty hit if ever I saw one, He was lucky to stay on the field after that. 
Post by: cadence on July 23, 2012, 11:33:32 AM
here comes 6, please, cop yourself on.
Post by: norabeag on July 23, 2012, 11:42:34 AM
As a Down man I find this thread cringeworthy.
Post by: wildrover on July 23, 2012, 11:54:48 AM
I think Mark McHugh is very Brian Dooher-esque in his style. Plays the free role. Bundles of energy. Pops up with big scores and is a good provider of scores too. Tenacious tackler. Finally, depending on which stance you take, he has the same cuteness/cynicism as Dooher did. He fouls systematically high up the pitch and then doesnt allow the quick free. He knows to go down when involved in a tangle (I dont dispute that Coulter very foolishly took it upon himself to have the last say in that episode, but I watched the whole thing develop and the two of them were niggling, twisting, pushing, pulling with each other). Nevertheless, McHugh is starting to put together some big performances in a system that suits his style down to the ground, and this should give Donegal fans real optimism. This optimism can only be enhanced by the fact that he is so young and that he looks like he will love the wide open spaces of Croke Park...
Post by: orangeman on July 23, 2012, 12:03:10 PM
RTE radio pundits in the programme after the big game yesterday had him and Frank Mc Glynn as all stars in waiting.

He must be doing a lot more than diving.
Post by: Seany on July 23, 2012, 01:00:57 PM
A terrible thread for a young lad to read the day after he has just won his 2nd Ulster medal with an excellent performance.  McHugh is definitely not a diver, but he does need to have a lot of cuteness for the role he plays.  This thread should be deleted
Post by: cadence on July 23, 2012, 01:07:41 PM
mchugh doesn't run into traffic and get swallowed up anymore. way cuter player now. in fairness to him, his passing options last year weren't as good.

thread still needs deleting.
Post by: grounded on July 23, 2012, 01:36:55 PM
First of all he is a brilliant player and played fantastically yesterday but the lad did take a dive to get Coulter sent off. Exactly the same as O sullivan took a dive to get Mc Guigan sent off on saturday.

Its a feature of the modern game aped from soccer which sickens me. Regular occurs even at club football now.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 23, 2012, 01:50:28 PM
A terrible thread for the young lad?  Delete the thread?  No wonder he rolls about when touched if thats the reaction grown men are having to a wee thread on an internet forum that he will never even see or not be bothered too much about if he does.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 23, 2012, 01:55:18 PM
Happens all the time in every team.  Its here to stay I fear.

The worst thing is he went down clutching his face.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 23, 2012, 01:55:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 23, 2012, 11:23:19 AM
Benny Coulter acted like a complete ballbag in that particular episode.

Post by: cadence on July 23, 2012, 02:20:41 PM
he got hit snidely by coulter ffs. take a hit like that unawares and of course you're going to go down. to say he took a dive is bullshit and everyone knows, including those who saw it and would rather claim otherwise to put forward the argument that there's too much diving going on, a view that no one contests. but it isn't a dive if you take a sneaky hit to the midriff.

some hardy boys on this board if you're able to take a rap to the gut you're not ready for and still stand. i'd say youse would be well able to take them alright. jokers.
Post by: NP 76 on July 23, 2012, 02:26:49 PM
I saw the incident un folding from the start and i think Benny was very lucky not to get a red card. He defintely threw a punch into his mid riff . A totally silly thing to do and it could of and probaly should of cost him dearly
Post by: oakleafgael on July 23, 2012, 02:31:20 PM
Quote from: cadence on July 23, 2012, 02:20:41 PM
he got hit snidely by coulter ffs. take a hit like that unawares and of course you're going to go down. to say he took a dive is bullshit and everyone knows, including those who saw it and would rather claim otherwise to put forward the argument that there's too much diving going on, a view that no one contests. but it isn't a dive if you take a sneaky hit to the midriff.

some hardy boys on this board if you're able to take a rap to the gut you're not ready for and still stand. i'd say youse would be well able to take them alright. jokers.

He got a belt in the guts/ribs alright but the reaction to it was completly over the top in an attempt to get Coulter sent off. If you cant see that then your looking through Donegal tinted glasses. All counties have men who now seem to do this, including my own.
Post by: EC Unique on July 23, 2012, 02:38:28 PM

Coulter was acting the maggot no doubt but seriously.. He did not have to go down. A 5 year old could have hit him in the ribs with the same force plus they had been at each other for 10 or 15 seconds before the " sneaky hit to the midriff" so you can't really say he was not ready for some sort of impact.

He went down in order to get coulter sent off and not because his body could no longer stay vertical.

By the way this does not merit a thread of it's own.
Post by: rrhf on July 23, 2012, 02:38:49 PM
Mc Hugh could be the player of the year this year. 
Post by: cadence on July 23, 2012, 02:56:41 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on July 23, 2012, 02:31:20 PM

He got a belt in the guts/ribs alright but the reaction to it was completly over the top in an attempt to get Coulter sent off. If you cant see that then your looking through Donegal tinted glasses. All counties have men who now seem to do this, including my own.

rose tinted glasses eh? what part of there's too much diving going on, a view that no one contests, do you not get?

the issue is not whether there's too much diving going on, because that's a given. it's did he take a dive? and the answer to that is no... how can his reaction be ott if he was hit by a sucker punch, winded and hurt? 'course he has to go down, and stay down, until he gets his wind back.

i know the above is not convenient for your argument, but look at what happened. we can hardly expect players to stay up after taking sucker punches to the gut. fit and all as they are these days, they're not professional fighters, who, by the way, go down and stay down when they take a body shot that winds them. i honestly don't know what planet you're on if you think he shouldn't go down and stay down. madness!   
Post by: oakleafgael on July 23, 2012, 03:02:14 PM
Quote from: cadence on July 23, 2012, 02:56:41 PM

rose tinted glasses eh? what part of there's too much diving going on, a view that no one contests, do you not get?

the issue is not whether there's too much diving going on, because that's a given. it's did he take a dive? and the answer to that is no... how can his reaction be ott if he was hit by a sucker punch, winded and hurt? 'course he has to go down, and stay down, until he gets his wind back.

i know the above is not convenient for your argument, but look at what happened. we can hardly expect players to stay up after taking sucker punches to the gut. fit and all as they are these days, they're not professional fighters, who, by the way, go down and stay down when they take a body shot that winds them. i honestly don't know what planet you're on if you think he shouldn't go down and stay down. madness!   

Your contradicting yourself,  you say there is to much diving going on but wont accept that what McHugh done falls into that bracket. He got a dig alright and he lay down to get Coulter sent off.
Post by: cadence on July 23, 2012, 03:12:25 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on July 23, 2012, 03:02:14 PM
Quote from: cadence on July 23, 2012, 02:56:41 PM

Your contradicting yourself,  you say there is to much diving going on but wont accept that what McHugh done falls into that bracket. He got a dig alright and he lay down to get Coulter sent off.

please, it does not fall into that bracket because it was a sucker punch that winded him. you must be some hard man eh.