GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 08:57:27 AM

Title: Cill Dara v Luimneach
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 08:57:27 AM
Deja vu from 2008 for Kildare - Cavan followed by Limerick. I suppose there'll be a bit of speculation today over whether we can actually stage the game in the county. It would be nice from a Kildare point of view to have a championship match in Newbridge and it would be a shame if we had to travel to Portlaoise but probably likely to happen if the H&S crowd have their say.
Title: Re: Cill Dara v Luimneach
Post by: thejuice on July 16, 2012, 11:44:03 AM
How good are Limerick this year?

I was surprised by their Munster exit to Clare but they beat an on form Longford.

Is John Galvin playing this year?
Post by: rodney trotter on July 16, 2012, 11:51:30 AM
Galvins knee flared up during the league. I think it was the cruciate again like last year.

Kildare should win by 4/5. They meet Sligo, assuming they get past Limerick and i'd expect them to beat them aswell and seal a place in the quarter finals. Seanie Johnston will probaly be close to starting by that stage.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 12:09:13 PM
Rumours that it could be played in Portlaoise as our fears around H&S in Newbridge could come to fruit.

Post by: Denn Forever on July 16, 2012, 12:12:39 PM
Well with the amount of support ye had yesterday in Cavan, I'd say stadium capacity may be a deciding factor.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 12:18:06 PM
Limerick having Brian Lacey in their corner will give them some insight into Kildare's strengths and weaknesses.

Some great memories of the match in 2008. It was far from a classic and there can't have been more than 5,000 at it but there were the first signs that evening that Kildare were finally turning the corner after 5 fairly desperate years. The giddy Kildare following out on the field after the final whistle and that picture of the two Dermot's celebrating.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 12:36:26 PM
Sure Lacey and no better man will be the human feature this week for all the Nationals especially as the Kildare footballers have circled the wagons and are now refusing to give media comment.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2012, 12:59:12 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 12:36:26 PM
Sure Lacey and no better man will be the human feature this week for all the Nationals especially as the Kildare footballers have circled the wagons and are now refusing to give media comment.
Maybe what Kildare need is a Section 31 ban  ;D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 01:04:46 PM
If Micko is still at a loose end surely some bright spark in Club Kildare should get onto him and entice back up to act as a media PR man for the team. 

"Seánie's a great bleddy man. He ran ten laps of the Curragh this morning. Sure them fellahs are as fit as daisies."
Post by: eviemonkey on July 16, 2012, 01:05:17 PM
Haven't seen Limerick play this year but in the past they were always an extremely difficult side to play against when they have their system up and running effectively.

Looking at their team sheet at the weekend they do have a strong central spine to their team (McCarthy, Lucey, Donavan, Kelly) and dangerous corner-forwards. Ryan is top class while Collins can blow hot and cold.

They are the kind of side that could put it up to Kildare for long stages, particularly if Kildare fail to score a goal and have to rely on points. But playing at home you would fancy Kildare to come through by 5 or 6 points in the end. If Kildare get to play at home that is?
Post by: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 02:27:47 PM
The pundits and experts will write us off again, Honestly the sheer ignorance the so called "experts" shown towards Limerick and Munster football in general is a disgrace. Dublin aside Limerick are as good as anything in Leinster over the last few years. Full strength Id fancy us to take Kildare/Cavan but missing 4  possibly 5 starters its going to be difficult to get the better of Kildare/Cavan. John Galvin is a massive loss. Hopefully a strong referee this time unlike the last time where Andrew Mcloughlin fouled and dragged Ian Ryan all day and somehow managed to stay on the pitch. a strong home support and a greater depth to their squad will see Kildare/Cavan through though.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 16, 2012, 02:50:20 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 02:27:47 PM
The pundits and experts will write us off again, Honestly the sheer ignorance the so called "experts" shown towards Limerick and Munster football in general is a disgrace. Dublin aside Limerick are as good as anything in Leinster over the last few years. Full strength Id fancy us to take Kildare/Cavan but missing 4  possibly 5 starters its going to be difficult to get the better of Kildare/Cavan. John Galvin is a massive loss. Hopefully a strong referee this time unlike the last time where Andrew Mcloughlin fouled and dragged Ian Ryan all day and somehow managed to stay on the pitch. a strong home support and a greater depth to their squad will see Kildare/Cavan through though.

Cavan are already out, so no need to worry about us. Stephen Kelly is also a very useful forward aswell. Would have given limerick a chance if Galvin was available, class player.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 02:56:17 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 16, 2012, 02:50:20 PM

Cavan are already out, so no need to worry about us. Stephen Kelly is also a very useful forward aswell. Would have given limerick a chance if Galvin was available, class player.

He's trying and failing to be funny because SJ plays for Kildare we are now Kildare/Cavan in his cartoon, perhaps Kilvan or Cadare would have been a a better attempt.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 16, 2012, 03:00:25 PM
I think this will be a tough assignment for Kildare.
Limerick have a big physical team unlike Cavan with a strong core up the middle in Johnny McCarthy,Stephen Lucey,Seanie Buckley etc.
They also have quality forwards in Stephen Kelly, Ian Ryan and Ger Collins and that O Connor lad who looked very good against Longford.
They certainly won't capitulate like we did yesterday.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:09:32 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 02:56:17 PM

He's trying and failing to be funny because SJ plays for Kildare we are now Kildare/Cavan in his cartoon, perhaps Kilvan or Cadare would have been a a better attempt.

Suppose it's something we're just going to have to put up with from now on. Didn't some lad from An Ghaeltacht of Kerry play with Limerick a few years ago though?

Just looking at it from a purely football point of view, it's hard to see Johnston featuring from the start for Kildare this year. Smith was excellent yesterday and has a good understanding with O'Connor. They very effective together in the Wicklow game last year I recall correctly. I don't think they've actually been used much as a pairing since then with Kavanagh usually the man inside. I thought being positioned a bit further out the field yesterday suited him too but it's hard to draw any conclusions given how uncompetitive the match was. From the admittedly very brief cameo we saw of Johnston, he looked a bit off the pace. He was beaten out to one ball and looked laboured trying to chase his man back out the field. Dropping a starting inside forward for him also has the potential to put a few noses out of joint.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 03:12:02 PM

Change the tune one year on and your still playing it.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=19876.msg994265#msg994265 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=19876.msg994265#msg994265)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 03:23:17 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:09:32 PM

Suppose it's something we're just going to have to put up with from now on. Didn't some lad from An Ghaeltacht of Kerry play with Limerick a few years ago though?

Just looking at it from a purely football point of view, it's hard to see Johnston featuring from the start for Kildare this year. Smith was excellent yesterday and has a good understanding with O'Connor. They very effective together in the Wicklow game last year I recall correctly. I don't think they've actually been used much as a pairing since then with Kavanagh usually the man inside. I thought being positioned a bit further out the field yesterday suited him too but it's hard to draw any conclusions given how uncompetitive the match was. From the admittedly very brief cameo we saw of Johnston, he looked a bit off the pace. He was beaten out to one ball and looked laboured trying to chase his man back out the field. Dropping a starting inside forward for him also has the potential to put a few noses out of joint.

Johnson had a big arse alright, wouldn't judge him on that cameo but he was hungry for the ball and seemed to find space for himself easliy, although Pavarotti could have found space in that Cavan defence. It's competition for places though which is great and Smithy has raised his game - undroppable after yesterday, Conway could be the one under pressure, Jimmers did a lot of the playmaking and gave the pass of the championship so far, had a great view of that pass to Bolton but I'm sure management will be delighted with these headaches.

Fortunate that Galvin is still out as we have issues at midfield and in particular runners coming through the middle, Stephen Kelly is very direct and I can see him causing problems.  Limerick were very loose against Longford and I think our ability to attack in waves will get us a lot of scores. We'll have the stronger bench so should pull away with 20 mins to go.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:36:16 PM
I wouldn't think Conway will come under pressure from Johnston. I don't think he could play that deeper playmaking sort of role. Conway's freetaking has also improved immeasurably since his younger days which will always stand in his favour when picking the team. I think if Johnston is to start in any match it will have to be in place of an inside forward, so either Kavanagh or Smith because O'Connor seems fundamental to the gameplan now.

Leper could be accomodated in the role Eoin Doyle played yesterday if he's fit. It's nigh on impossible to second guess McGeeney though.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 03:43:33 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:36:16 PM
I wouldn't think Conway will come under pressure from Johnston. I don't think he could play that deeper playmaking sort of role. Conway's freetaking has also improved immeasurably since his younger days which will always stand in his favour when picking the team. I think if Johnston is to start in any match it will have to be in place of an inside forward, so either Kavanagh or Smith because O'Connor seems fundamental to the gameplan now.

Leper could be accomodated in the role Eoin Doyle played yesterday if he's fit. It's nigh on impossible to second guess McGeeney though.

My point was that I thought Jimmers took on some of the play making yesterday and maybe is been groomed for Conway's role hence Johnson could start in the inside line with Jimmers filling in for Conway. Johnson is good free taker as well is he not?
Post by: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 03:49:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 03:12:02 PM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=19876.msg994265#msg994265 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=19876.msg994265#msg994265)

Perhaps its the media who need to change their tune. Whatever the result next week Ill walk away with my head held high about the way we conducted ourselves during this championship. Something I can safely say you cant.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:51:54 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 03:43:33 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 03:36:16 PM

My point was that I thought Jimmers took on some of the play making yesterday and maybe is been groomed for Conway's role hence Johnson could start in the inside line with Jimmers filling in for Conway. Johnson is good free taker as well is he not?

Yeah possibly. I always thought Jimmers was best closer to goal but I'm starting to change my opinion of him now. He can be very in and out when he's left inside and has as many quiet days as he has had good. He possesses great vision and can pick out a good defence splitting pass like for Bolton yesterday or for Paudie's goal in Navan a few years ago. We need the likes of Jimmers and Smith to produce their best for us to be competitive against the top teams. Hopefully their positioning yesterday will help to bring out the best in them. I can't say I've seen enough of Johnston to say how good a freetaker he is but I doubt he'd have the same range that Mikey has. I know he sometimes gets a bit of stick over his workrate but I thought he put in a good shift yesterday. 1-2 from play is not a bad return for any forward regardless of the opposition.
Post by: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 04:01:14 PM

Ya he lived and worked in Limerick though. Big Difference.

Anyway from a football point of view, Kildare have some quality operators but dont have a marquee forward like we do. They have a lot of decent forwards but no one the would scare the Limerick defence. Even John Doyle (absolute legend that he is) doesnt play a lot of his football close to goal anymore. Contrary to a lot of peoples belief Limerick arent as big and physical as they used to be but do play with a lot of heart and passion. Johnny Mac is as good a full back as there is although may play centre back. Limerick might decide to put Lucey full back to deal with O Connors height. Stpehen Kelly hasnt been playing that well recently but on his day can cause massive problems. Ian Ryan is just a class act and hopefully we can get the supply into him.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 04:18:25 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 03:49:58 PM

Perhaps its the media who need to change their tune. Whatever the result next week Ill walk away with my head held high about the way we conducted ourselves during this championship. Something I can safely say you cant.

Ah yes Limerick GAA, that great bastiton of GAA values as Justin McCarthy would testify.

I tell you what, you worry about Limerick GAA matters and we'll worry about Kildare.
Post by: tommysmith on July 16, 2012, 04:23:26 PM
Workrate is one thing you wont get from Johnston , he is a good free taker from close range but wont be brillant from 40-45m.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 04:24:33 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 04:01:14 PM

Ya he lived and worked in Limerick though. Big Difference.

I was pointing out that Limerick like nearly every other county in the country have had outsiders playing with them too. Everyone has differing opinions on the Johnston transfer and there are valid arguments on both sides. I'm not particularly happy about it as a Kildareman but it's over and done with now. If you have an opinion on the transfer then make yourself heard on that particular thread so. Your references to the Kildare team as "Kildare/Cavan" are childish.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 05:39:13 PM
Tommy Callaghan ‏@TommyCallaghan1

Kildare Co Board refusing to agree to play Limerick outside of Newbridge but under intense pressure from Croke Park. We await developments
Post by: tommysmith on July 16, 2012, 05:43:56 PM
KfmSport ‏@KfmSport

Kildare v Limerick (7pm) to be a double-header with Kerry v Tyrone (5pm) in O'Moore Park.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2012, 05:44:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 05:39:13 PM
Tommy Callaghan ‏@TommyCallaghan1

Kildare Co Board refusing to agree to play Limerick outside of Newbridge but under intense pressure from Croke Park. We await developments

We have been waiting for the Celtic tiger to build that Kildare pitch for a number of years Dinny. Very hard to see it happening in time for the Limerick match.
Post by: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 05:50:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 04:18:25 PM

Ah yes Limerick GAA, that great bastiton of GAA values as Justin McCarthy would testify.

I tell you what, you worry about Limerick GAA matters and we'll worry about Kildare.

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the Justin McCarthy saga I followed that team the same way i follow any Limerick team. Im looking forward to the game. I like to make myself heard because Limerick Football fans are generally out numbered. The footballers are a credit to the county. In terms of playing numbers and popularity Gaelic football is probably 4th in Limerick so too compete the way they do is a credit to them. Kildare are a laughing stock, the Club championship is being treated with utter contempt and the Seanie Johnston saga speaks for itself.
Post by: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 05:52:33 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on July 16, 2012, 05:43:56 PM
KfmSport ‏@KfmSport

Kildare v Limerick (7pm) to be a double-header with Kerry v Tyrone (5pm) in O'Moore Park.

Cant see Kerry agreeing to that!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 06:45:14 PM
Portlaoise it is. It's plain daft that these health and safety rules only apply to the championship and you could fit three times the limited capacity for an O'Byrne Cup or league game. I can't recall many problems at the Antrim match two years ago or the Donegal match in 2001 when the ground was packed.

It's disappointing from a spectator's point of view but the Kildare players will probably welcome it. The tight pitch in Conleth's can sometimes work against us. Portlaoise very much a happy hunting ground in recent years.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 06:49:37 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 05:50:41 PM

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the Justin McCarthy saga I followed that team the same way i follow any Limerick team. Im looking forward to the game. I like to make myself heard because Limerick Football fans are generally out numbered. The footballers are a credit to the county. In terms of playing numbers and popularity Gaelic football is probably 4th in Limerick so too compete the way they do is a credit to them. Kildare are a laughing stock, the Club championship is being treated with utter contempt and the Seanie Johnston saga speaks for itself.

So you admit that there was wrongs in the way Justin McCarthy was treated, glad you cleared that up so maybe you should put your energies towards supporting the imperfect Limerick and not the immature jibes at the imperfect Kildare.

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 06:58:41 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 06:45:14 PM
Portlaoise it is. It's plain daft that these health and safety rules only apply to the championship and you could fit three times the limited capacity for an O'Byrne Cup or league game. I can't recall many problems at the Antrim match two years ago or the Donegal match in 2001 when the ground was packed.

It's disappointing from a spectator's point of view but the Kildare players will probably welcome it. The tight pitch in Conleth's can sometimes work against us. Portlaoise very much a happy hunting ground in recent years.

I know DH but Newbridge is shithole (even though it's out shithole) and our debt must also be considered, there was 16K at the Biffo game and almost 15k at the Cavan game so we should probably expect a similar attendance especially with the game not on the box.  Newbridge wouldn't be able to cater for that and they can't afford to lose out on the additional revenue.

We're a very good record there with championship wins over Offaly  x 2, Wicklow and Laois in our last four visits.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 16, 2012, 07:05:25 PM

Home teams don't get the revenue. It all goes to croke park
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 07:08:16 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 16, 2012, 07:05:25 PM

Home teams don't get the revenue. It all goes to croke park

Yea but we're in debt to CP, so they would have insisted, pays the tune, call the piper et al
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 07:50:19 PM
It's a pity for the town of Newbridge itself and you'd have to wonder whether there'll be any championship matches held there again. I can't see them being able to do anything with Conleth's for the foreseeable future. It probably isn't be possible to do much of an upgrade of the old ground anyway given the space constraints.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 08:18:11 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 06:58:41 PM
We're a very good record there with championship wins over Offaly  x 2, Wicklow and Laois in our last four visits.

I can't recall a championship defeat there. We beat Offaly there this year, Wicklow and Laois last year, Offaly and Wicklow in 2009, and I think our last championship match there before that was the Leinster semi final against Offaly in 1993 which was probably the best Kildare performance during Micko's first stint in charge.

I think Limerick's win over Wexford last year was also in Portlaoise so there certainly won't be any excuses over the venue.
Post by: The Burner on July 17, 2012, 10:57:37 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 16, 2012, 06:49:37 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 16, 2012, 05:50:41 PM

So you admit that there was wrongs in the way Justin McCarthy was treated, glad you cleared that up so maybe you should put your energies towards supporting the imperfect Limerick and not the immature jibes at the imperfect Kildare.

Not necessarily with the way Justin was treated, but there were wrongs on both sides. I fail to see where the rights are in this whole Johnston sceanario. Ive had my fun anyway. I threw out the bait and you bit it!
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 17, 2012, 11:31:58 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 16, 2012, 08:18:11 PM

I can't recall a championship defeat there. We beat Offaly there this year, Wicklow and Laois last year, Offaly and Wicklow in 2009, and I think our last championship match there before that was the Leinster semi final against Offaly in 1993 which was probably the best Kildare performance during Micko's first stint in charge.

I think Limerick's win over Wexford last year was also in Portlaoise so there certainly won't be any excuses over the venue.

The Roscommon defeat there in 2003 is the only one I can recall in recent years. Great game.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 17, 2012, 11:42:23 AM
Could Kildare not hold this game in either Punchestown or the Curragh racecourses and keep home advantage?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 11:58:13 AM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 17, 2012, 11:31:58 AM

The Roscommon defeat there in 2003 is the only one I can recall in recent years. Great game.

Must have wiped that one from my memory! So much for undefeated in O'Moore Park.

We'll count that one as a draw so before extra time!

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 17, 2012, 11:42:23 AM
Could Kildare not hold this game in either Punchestown or the Curragh racecourses and keep home advantage?

There's racing on at the Curragh on Saturday so we'd have to have a double header.
Post by: mup on July 17, 2012, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 17, 2012, 11:31:58 AM

Frankie 'F%*%ing' Dolan.  :P
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2012, 04:07:12 PM
Another one of our epic games that we lost...

Barry Cassidy is to ref this, what's he like, should I be familiar with him?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 04:31:02 PM
Didn't Lacey balloon a ball into the terrace in injury time that day when we were a point ahead. Reminded me of Davy Dalton doing the exact same thing into the Hogan Stand after Christy saved a Giles penalty in 1997 and Rainbow free outside him.

Post by: cill_dara on July 17, 2012, 06:09:05 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 04:31:02 PM
Didn't Lacey balloon a ball into the terrace in injury time that day when we were a point ahead. Reminded me of Davy Dalton doing the exact same thing into the Hogan Stand after Christy saved a Giles penalty in 1997 and Rainbow free outside him.

He went for a point and it dropped short and Roscommon attacked from there and equalised, if he kicked it dead we had it! Those are the breaks! It was a cracking game all the same.
Post by: Go home ref on July 17, 2012, 06:59:46 PM
Yeah that game was a sickener we were the better all round team but they had Frankie Dolan who produced one of the best individual performances ive ever seen. The worst thing about that year was being robbed of a Leinster title by Tom Kellys cheating and diving getting Alan Barry sent off and another pathetic Meath ref in a Kildare game
Post by: criostlinn on July 17, 2012, 07:11:05 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2012, 04:07:12 PM
Another one of our epic games that we lost...

Barry Cassidy is to ref this, what's he like, should I be familiar with him?

Ha Ha,

Lads the gaa are mightily pissed off over the whole seanie affair. First the cavan draw which wasnt fixed I might add just in case Liam o Neill's lawyers are watchin, next they take home advantage from ye but the final straw Barry fcukin cassidy. Enjoy the show lads

Im starting to feel sorry for ye.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 17, 2012, 07:22:13 PM
whos the ex kildare baller plastered all over the papers the weekend with the big power tool, biggest swinger in town etc........................wouldnt be surprised if kildare pull that lad out yet
Post by: mup on July 17, 2012, 07:47:35 PM
Thought Michael Duffy was reffing it?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2012, 07:48:15 PM
Quote from: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 17, 2012, 07:22:13 PM
whos the ex kildare baller plastered all over the papers the weekend with the big power tool, biggest swinger in town etc........................wouldnt be surprised if kildare pull that lad out yet

Spike Nolan, himself and Johnny MacDonald would be 2 lu-la's...
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 07:49:31 PM
Quote from: mup on July 17, 2012, 07:47:35 PM

He was until someone copped that Sligo were the opponents for the winners.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2012, 07:49:44 PM
Quote from: mup on July 17, 2012, 07:47:35 PM

Someone must have engaged the brain in CP for once and realised having a Sligo referee officiate a game where the winners play Sligo mightn't actually be the best idea...
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2012, 08:07:47 PM
Dinny

I see you are grooming this thread but your workrate is very poor - the Tyrone lads are 9 pages ahead of you already.
Post by: andoireabu on July 17, 2012, 08:34:11 PM

What rules are stopping it in Newbridge?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 08:46:22 PM
Quote from: andoireabu on July 17, 2012, 08:34:11 PM

Health and safety audit carried out at the start of the year limited the capacity to 4,000 for senior intercounty championship matches (subsequently doubled to 8,000). The ground can hold upwards of 14,000 for O'Byrne Cup, National Football League and club matches though.  ::)
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2012, 09:04:44 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 08:46:22 PM

Health and safety audit carried out at the start of the year limited the capacity to 4,000 for senior intercounty championship matches (subsequently doubled to 8,000). The ground can hold upwards of 14,000 for O'Byrne Cup, National Football League and club matches though.  ::)
Donnellys- how much was the redevelopment going to cost before the banks went under ?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:23:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 17, 2012, 09:04:44 PM

Donnellys- how much was the redevelopment going to cost before the banks went under ?

It was estimated in late 2006 that they'd get €25m from the sale of St Conleth's (€5m an acre according to this http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=433.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=433.0)). How times have changed.

Old Connell is presumably a dead duck. Serious lack of space around the current ground to carry out any major upgrade. I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/ (http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/)
Post by: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:35:59 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:23:29 PM

I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/ (http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/)

We'll give our neighbours a dig out if needed, though we're still waiting on thanks for sending the Chairman of the 'Blue Wave' down to audit you!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:39:42 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:35:59 PM

I'd say this ingenius GAA solution might be brought up again during the silly season before Christmas: http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/ (http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/dublin-to-get-a-new-gaa-stadium/)

We'll give our neighbours a dig out if needed, though we're still waiting on thanks for sending the Chairman of the 'Blue Wave' down to audit you!

Send that young Kilkenny lad down south west of Rathcoole and then we'll talk. There are clubs in Kildare crying out for dual stars don't you know.  ;)

Kildare gave Dublin Arthur Guinness and Larry Stanley. We deserve a bit back in return.
Post by: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:48:24 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:39:42 PM

Send that young Kilkenny lad down south west of Rathcoole and then we'll talk. There are clubs in Kildare crying out for dual stars don't you know.  ;)

Kildare gave Dublin Arthur Guinness and Larry Stanley. We deserve a bit back in return.

Ah we'll look after him right enough.

Close enough game v Limerick??
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:57:09 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 17, 2012, 09:48:24 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 17, 2012, 09:39:42 PM

Ah we'll look after him right enough.

Close enough game v Limerick??

Should be. I wouldn't be reading much into the Cavan match. Limerick are a far more experienced and seasoned team. I just hope that the positives aspects like the return to form of Smith & Kavanagh and the more effective use of O'Connor are repeated again. Hopefully then the result will look after itself.

Still think we'll need to change our midfield pairing and get Callaghan fit to have any chance of improving on last year. Can see us coming up just short again against the big boys but if the team go down fighting then that will suffice for me.
Post by: The Burner on July 20, 2012, 09:15:11 AM
Limerick team for Saturday night.

1. Brian Scanlon, Gerald Griffin's.
2. Andrew Lane , St.Senan's.
3. Johnny McCarthy, St.Kieran's.
4. Lorcan O'Dwyer, Pallasgreen.
5. John Riordan, Fr. Casey's.
6. Stephen Lucey, Croom.
7. Pa Ranahan, Ballysteen.
8. Jim Donovan, St Kieran's.
9. Sean Buckley, Dromcollogher-Broadford.
10. Eoghan O'Connor, St. Mary's/ Sean Finn's.
11. Stephen Kelly, Newcastlewest..
12. Paudie Browne, Fr. Casey's.
13. Ger Collins, Monaleen CAPTAIN.
14. Seamus O'Carroll, Cappagh Kilcornan.
15. Ian Ryan, St. Senan's

If everyone id fit and well that as strong a side as we can put out considering the players unavailable. Doubts coming into the game over Collins, Kelly and Lane but all 3 make to starting line up. Good pace in the half forward line with Kelly and O Connor, Paudie Browne will roam all over the place, O Carroll will probably come out half forward which will leave Ryan and Collins inside. Lucey could possibly play full back to counter O Connors height which will bring concrete out to centre back. All the pressure is on Kildare so the lads can have a really go like they always do. No chance of a kildare team id suppose. Mcgeeney up to his usual antics, Probably be some dummy team in the programme or something

Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2012, 09:55:55 AM
What I'd be most worried about as a Kildare supporter is that we struggle with pacy players running at us. Stephen Kelly certainly fits that bill and judging by the highlights of the Longford game and what Limerick fans say, Eoghan O'Connor does too. That's a dangerous full-forward line they have too and we really need to win the lion's share at midfield to win this game - all the more difficult in the absence of Flynn and our best breaking ball winner, Leper.

Starting to get very worried about this, all the more so because most experts and many Kildare fans seem to think it's a foregone conclusion. Don't be surprised if there's a point or two in this at the end, or if Limerick take it to extra-time - I think it will be a real dogfight and even if Limerick are not as good as in the mid-2000s and don't have Galvin, they've proven their fighting spirit over and over again. Limerick beat Wexford last year and I don't think Kildare are that much better than Wexford, especially when we don't have Flynn and Callaghan.

If we're completely up for it and focused I think we'll win a close one like we did in the Gaelic Grounds in 2008. If we're the slightest bit complacent, we'll be beaten.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2012, 12:09:57 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2012, 09:55:55 AM
What I'd be most worried about as a Kildare supporter is that we struggle with pacy players running at us.

Someone made an interesting point on the Kildare board that the backs in training are probably constantly playing against our own tactics and we don't employ ball carriers down the middle much anymore with the attack now focussed around O'Connor. Might explain why the players look so uncomfortable when ran at.

It's something we managed to counter in the league final when we bottled Tyrone up but since then Meath got great joy running at us and even Cavan looked dangerous on the odd occasion in the first half. Morgan does the job he's asked to do very effectively but he drops deep in front of the opposition's inside line so it does leave holes through the middle. The onus has to be on one of the midfielders to cover that space by dropping back and both Flynn and Lynch have played that role in the past but who knows whether either are match fit given the paucity of information from the camp. Leper's continued absence is also a major concern as he did not look at all fit when he came on in Croke Park and he was not introduced on Sunday.

I'm expecting one change to the team named with Ollie coming back in for Mac but I would be a lot happier if Flynn was in the middle and Foley was back at the edge of the square.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2012, 01:29:25 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2012, 12:09:57 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 20, 2012, 09:55:55 AM
What I'd be most worried about as a Kildare supporter is that we struggle with pacy players running at us.

Someone made an interesting point on the Kildare board that the backs in training are probably constantly playing against our own tactics and we don't employ ball carriers down the middle much anymore with the attack now focussed around O'Connor. Might explain why the players look so uncomfortable when ran at.

It's something we managed to counter in the league final when we bottled Tyrone up but since then Meath got great joy running at us and even Cavan looked dangerous on the odd occasion in the first half. Morgan does the job he's asked to do very effectively but he drops deep in front of the opposition's inside line so it does leave holes through the middle. The onus has to be on one of the midfielders to cover that space by dropping back and both Flynn and Lynch have played that role in the past but who knows whether either are match fit given the paucity of information from the camp. Leper's continued absence is also a major concern as he did not look at all fit when he came on in Croke Park and he was not introduced on Sunday.

I'm expecting one change to the team named with Ollie coming back in for Mac but I would be a lot happier if Flynn was in the middle and Foley was back at the edge of the square.

I just think back to 2009 and think of the amount of times we dispossessed players around our own 45. It was phenomenal and the moment an opposition half-forward had it in that area he was likely to be dispossessed. We've never really reproduced that consistently. For all the talk of refereeing decisions costing us the Down match in 2010, for example, we just couldn't handle Coulter and Hughes running at us. And we're still vulnerable to it.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 20, 2012, 05:30:49 PM
I think a lot of it goes back to midfield. Dermot was so dominant back in 2009 and Daryl was a great foil for him. Most teams couldn't win enough ball to put our backs under serious pressure. We haven't had a settled midfield pairing since then.

Dermot has had huge injury problems and even though he's back now, time isn't exactly on his side anymore. In his absence, Flynn has shown how good a player he can be but he never seems to get a good run of games without picking up some little niggle. Had he not picked up that concussion very early against Down who knows how that match could have turned out because Down enjoyed midfield dominance for long periods after he went off. Hughie Lynch looked to be finally growing into the role last summer until he got injured.

Teams like Dublin and Donegal don't have great high fielders but they are excellent on the breaks. Leper is our best player to anticipate breaking ball and you can see how much he is missed even against lesser opposition.
Post by: LilySavage on July 21, 2012, 10:12:11 AM
Agrees , huge problems midfield and centre back. I thought we had sorted it last year, our backs were brilliant against Donegal last year, we hve 2 games to sort it again if we are going to do anything this year. Mick foley is not theanswer in midfield, if he was he would have gotten a game againt Down when we were wiped out 2 years ago, in fact Paddyy Dunne would be much better midfielder. Its absolutely crucial we get at least one of Flynn/Lynch back in midfield with Foley full back. Might get 15 minutes out of earley but cant depend on the great man at this stage . Johnny Doyle more than capable of doing a good job at midfield. think our backs willtighten up but we  need Leper back and some sort of a platform at midfield.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2012, 12:27:20 PM
It's a shame that Conor Brophy is no longer on the panel because he wasn't found wanting against either Dublin or Meath last year and he was good enough to be selected at midfield on the best 15 of the Sigerson two years in a row. Hopefully in the long term Kevin Feely will be able to commit but there was an Athy poster on the Kildare board speculating that Glasgow Celtic were interested in him. We'll have to make the best of what we have there for now and it's not as if we're short of options. It's just a case of avoiding further injuries and getting the right balance.

Best of luck to all the Kildare lads tonight anyway. Looks like it'll be a nice evening for football and there should be a big Kildare crowd descending on our home ground - fortress O'Moore Park, Portlaoise! Hopefully we'll be looking forward to a clash with Sligo this time next week.

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 07:37:40 PM
Kildare 0-4 Limerick 0-5  :o
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 21, 2012, 07:42:46 PM
7-4 at half time. Big test for Kildare coming up here.
Post by: seafoid on July 21, 2012, 08:23:42 PM
Kildare forwards still a problem area and intensity is no cure.
Post by: maigheo on July 21, 2012, 08:30:39 PM
gaa scores.ie have game level but Marty on rte has limerick ahead by 1
Post by: ross4life on July 21, 2012, 08:36:16 PM
Heading into extra time.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 21, 2012, 08:37:45 PM
Kildare dig it out and get extra time. Big ask for Limerick now.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 08:57:14 PM
Kildare turning on the style in extra time.
Post by: ardal on July 21, 2012, 09:02:18 PM
scores lads?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 09:06:32 PM
17-12
Post by: ardal on July 21, 2012, 09:13:24 PM
Kildare?

Minutes to go?
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 09:14:59 PM
Kildare won 19-12
Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2012, 09:28:11 PM
The Hyde for Sligo-Kildare, please.
Post by: theticklemister on July 21, 2012, 09:31:54 PM
Luimneach threw it away!!damn RTE 1 radio failed to cover extra time.
Post by: Syferus on July 21, 2012, 09:37:33 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 21, 2012, 09:31:54 PM
Luimneach threw it away!!damn RTE 1 radio failed to cover extra time.

Was bemused by Jimmy's insistence on telling us the same four results every two minutes and not sticking with the ladies' man but then i switched over to Newstalk - they had the national rights to commentary on the game.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on July 21, 2012, 09:42:16 PM
Poor Limerick threw that away.................................... alas sligo will fancy there chances against a highly over rated team
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2012, 10:22:26 PM
Actually Limerick didn't throw it away, they were tactically very astute but it was very negative and they were dropping 13/14 bodies behind the ball and Kildare struggled big time to break them down and Kildare were absolutely wasteful over the 70 minutes.  Kildare looked beaten with 10 minutes to go as they seem to have no answer to the mass defence but they dug deep and could actually have won it injury time. Kildare brought the game into extra time through sheer stubbornness, very proud that they never gave up and they Limerick were dead on their feet in the extra 20 minutes.

Play like that and Sligo will beat us but just delighted to be still in it.

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 10:36:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 21, 2012, 10:22:26 PM
Actually Limerick didn't throw it away, they were tactically very astute but it was very negative and they were dropping 13/14 bodies behind the ball and Kildare struggled big time to break them down and Kildare were absolutely wasteful over the 70 minutes.  Kildare looked beaten with 10 minutes to go as they seem to have no answer to the mass defence but they dug deep and could actually have won it injury time. Kildare brought the game into extra time through sheer stubbornness, very proud that they never gave up and they Limerick were dead on their feet in the extra 20 minutes.

Tonight was Kildare's wake up call unlikely to play like that next weekend.
Post by: LeoMc on July 21, 2012, 11:02:39 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 10:36:09 PM

Was Meath not a wake up call or do they have a snooze button.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 11:44:08 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 21, 2012, 11:02:39 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 21, 2012, 10:36:09 PM

Was Meath not a wake up call or do they have a snooze button.

You snooze, you lose.
Post by: The Burner on July 22, 2012, 12:12:23 AM
Footballers are a credit to the county. The lack of support they get from the Limerick public is shameful and embarrassing. Those lads gave absolutely everything in that game and were absolutely out on their feet at the end. Just gutted they couldnt get the result. Ian Ryan just different class, Kildare basically had to put two men on him. Johnny Mac absolutely quality again. Would get on any team in the country. The Sheer Pressure and intensity they put on the Kildare forwards was great to watch. The players with injuries coming into the match battled bravely but were absolutely out on their feet, John O Riordan could barely stand. To the genuine Kildare fans who I met before the match best of luck for the rest of the year, to the 3 in front of me... there is only one thing worse than bad losers and thats bad winners, I thought the cheer that greeted Seanie Johnston was utterly cringe worthy. No doubt the "experts" will pay us the usual bullsh1t Lip service. Well Done Limerick A credit to the county.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 09:41:09 AM
QuoteFootballers are a credit to the county. The lack of support they get from the Limerick public is shameful and embarrassing.

Real shame as they put everything on the line, Stephen Kelly I thought was inspirational tonight, he lost it at the end but I would empathy with him but wouldn't have minded have seen himself and McGeeney going toe to toe as they looked they might at one stage. They certainly got the respect of the Kildare supporters last night.

QuoteIan Ryan just different class, Kildare basically had to put two men on him.

Do you think? He was good but the reason Kildare had 2 men on him was every other Limerick player was in defence, would like to have seen him with better support but then he wouldn't have had the same space to operate in so he was good but definitely not different class.

Quotethought the cheer that greeted Seanie Johnston was utterly cringe worthy

Bizarre statement, Kildare were losing the game and needed a spark of inspiration, to me it was quite simply the Kildare fans realising we needed something different and bringing on this guy who has been vilified from pillar to post was the right thing, many in Kildare don't agree with the transfer but nobody in Kildare likes the way he has been treated by the GAA, the media and in particular social media, he has become an anti-hero. And he and Fogarty gave us something different, he scored what I and everyone else thought was a brilliant point but it wasn't given but he worked hard and scored 2 good points. He wasn't game changing but his introduction definitely helped swing the momentum in our favour.

QuoteNo doubt the "experts" will pay us the usual bullsh1t Lip service. Well Done Limerick A credit to the county.

Why the need for validation from the media, last night was real 'Rumble in the Jungle' stuff expect in this case Foreman won through, Limerick fought tooth and nail last night, they are true and honest to each other as a team, that's all the validation they need, they do not need some RTE mickey mouse pundit eulogising them. Be careful what you wish for, Kildare were the media darlings having won nothing of substance and now look where we are, public enemy number one with our epitaph already written, they're only waiting for the day we lose to print it.  I would actually say both teams were a credit to their county and to the country, it was a pity this game wasn't televised because it would have proved a good anti-dote to Killarney.

Anyhow from a Kildare perspective it's hard to know where we stand, we don't know our best team and our best full-back Foley was simply immense at midfield, we will need Flynn or even Lynch for next weekend and I expect to see some rotation to counter the the burden of playing our 4th game in 5 weeks. With that in mind Johnson, O'Neill, Fogarty, Leper, Chalky all put up their hands for selection last night as they did well albebit against a tiring Limerick team, when they came on.

Also a had a good close up look at young Eoin Doyle last night, he was excellent and if maintains this progress we are looking at the next Glenn Ryan.

Sligo will be a different proposition and a bit of a hoodoo team, going to be very hard but sure it's all part of the Kildare adventure.
Post by: Onlooker on July 22, 2012, 11:08:15 AM
Limerick are a gallant team and as hnoest a bunch of players as you could wish to see.  they have some really fine players, but probably just ran out of bodies last night, by not having players of the necessary standard to come on to freshen the team.  People may say that they have won nothing.  I don't agree.  They have won the respect of football followers throught the country.  That does mean a lot even though Limerick football people have to be sickenedd by being so near a famous victory again yesterday.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 22, 2012, 11:14:41 AM
Johnston seemed to have done well last night. Obviously I'd wish if he was still playing with Cavan but don't begrudge him playing with Kildare now. He got an extended bit of game time with the extra time so that would have helped. Do ye reckon he will start against Sligo?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:24:56 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 22, 2012, 11:14:41 AM
Johnston seemed to have done well last night. Obviously I'd wish if he was still playing with Cavan but don't begrudge him playing with Kildare now. He got an extended bit of game time with the extra time so that would have helped. Do ye reckon he will start against Sligo?

See Kildare v Sligo match thread.
Post by: Dont Matter on July 22, 2012, 11:25:16 AM
There seemed to be some controversy about a Johnston wide. Was anyone there that got a good view of it confirm if it was over or not? What was the score when this score wasn't given?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:32:51 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on July 22, 2012, 11:25:16 AM
There seemed to be some controversy about a Johnston wide. Was anyone there that got a good view of it confirm if it was over or not? What was the score when this score wasn't given?

It was a two point game, Doyle has scored a 40m free and it was 11-9 to Limerick at the time. We scored immediately after it I think from James Kavanagh but it might have changed the dynamic slightly but fortunately it didn't matter.
Post by: Whishtup on July 22, 2012, 11:33:22 AM
I've listened to Limerick Live95's commentary on the last few Limerick games-RTE  should get these boys on board-brilliant commentary and hilarious analogies.  A hard pill to swallow for Limerick.
Post by: The Burner on July 22, 2012, 11:43:06 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 09:41:09 AM
QuoteFootballers are a credit to the county. The lack of support they get from the Limerick public is shameful and embarrassing.

Real shame as they put everything on the line, Stephen Kelly I thought was inspirational tonight, he lost it at the end but I would empathy with him but wouldn't have minded have seen himself and McGeeney going toe to toe as they looked they might at one stage. They certainly got the respect of the Kildare supporters last night.

QuoteIan Ryan just different class, Kildare basically had to put two men on him.

Do you think? He was good but the reason Kildare had 2 men on him was every other Limerick player was in defence, would like to have seen him with better support but then he wouldn't have had the same space to operate in so he was good but definitely not different class.

Bizarre statement, Kildare were losing the game and needed a spark of inspiration, to me it was quite simply the Kildare fans realising we needed something different and bringing on this guy who has been vilified from pillar to post was the right thing, many in Kildare don't agree with the transfer but nobody in Kildare likes the way he has been treated by the GAA, the media and in particular social media, he has become an anti-hero. And he and Fogarty gave us something different, he scored what I and everyone else thought was a brilliant point but it wasn't given but he worked hard and scored 2 good points. He wasn't game changing but his introduction definitely helped swing the momentum in our favour.

QuoteNo doubt the "experts" will pay us the usual bullsh1t Lip service. Well Done Limerick A credit to the county.

Why the need for validation from the media, last night was real 'Rumble in the Jungle' stuff expect in this case Foreman won through, Limerick fought tooth and nail last night, they are true and honest to each other as a team, that's all the validation they need, they do not need some RTE mickey mouse pundit eulogising them. Be careful what you wish for, Kildare were the media darlings having won nothing of substance and now look where we are, public enemy number one with our epitaph already written, they're only waiting for the day we lose to print it.  I would actually say both teams were a credit to their county and to the country, it was a pity this game wasn't televised because it would have proved a good anti-dote to Killarney.

Anyhow from a Kildare perspective it's hard to know where we stand, we don't know our best team and our best full-back Foley was simply immense at midfield, we will need Flynn or even Lynch for next weekend and I expect to see some rotation to counter the the burden of playing our 4th game in 5 weeks. With that in mind Johnson, O'Neill, Fogarty, Leper, Chalky all put up their hands for selection last night as they did well albebit against a tiring Limerick team, when they came on.

Also a had a good close up look at young Eoin Doyle last night, he was excellent and if maintains this progress we are looking at the next Glenn Ryan.

Sligo will be a different proposition and a bit of a hoodoo team, going to be very hard but sure it's all part of the Kildare adventure.

The key point about footballers getting credit from Mickey mouse Sunday games pundits is that it might get some Mickey Mouse Limerick supporters of their arses and support them, Being continually dismissed by media and pundits only heightens the apathy around Limerick to the football them. Kildare people around me must of thought I was mad but I have to try make myself heard because there are so little of us. Honestly Dinny have seen such a difference numbers wise in the stand as you did tonight? Im not looking for the support the hurlers get but 3000 or 4000 supporters to try lift the team when they need it would be nice. As for Ian Ryan, the lad destroyed Peter Kelly in the 1st half Kildare had a man sweep in front of him which cut of the supply. Limerick did as I expected play with a 2 man forward line. As for Seanie Johnston. Didnt thing he did much. Got 2 nice points in extra time but in the heat of 70 minutes didnt do anything. A bit like Brolly predicted really.

Stephen Kelly is an inspiration really and some of the stuff Kildare supporters were shouting at him was uncalled for. Lost the head a bit at the end which was sad to see but I can understand why. He is basically our version of Johnny Doyle, Has soldiered long and hard with the Limerick team.

Chin up lads.
Post by: The Burner on July 22, 2012, 11:45:39 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 11:32:51 AM

It was a two point game, Doyle has scored a 40m free and it was 11-9 to Limerick at the time. We scored immediately after it I think from James Kavanagh but it might have changed the dynamic slightly but fortunately it didn't matter.

There was controversy over an Ian Ryan free in the 1st half as well. Kildare fans will argues Johnston was over, Ill Argue Ians was over
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 22, 2012, 12:02:21 PM
Burner - you are righ about Kildare fans and johnston in my opinion. I was embarrassed for some of the genuine Kildare supporters when he came on against Cavan. They were roaring and cheering and had a good few posters made up in his honour. All this for a blow in entering a game that was already won with only 8 minutes left. Dinnys explanation above does not apply to this scenario. My dislike of Johnstone is well known and I'm glad he has been found out by all in Cavan and is now gone but I still find it sad that Kildare "fans" behaved like that.

Hard luck to Limerick, seems they had a game plan that almost worked and for the life of me I don't know why Cavan didn't try something similar against them the week before. Kildare are a decent side, although whether good enough to win sam I seriously doubt it, Sligo will be similar test to Limerick but remains to be seen how they would react to losing the connacht final to Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on July 22, 2012, 01:19:20 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 22, 2012, 12:02:21 PM
Burner - you are righ about Kildare fans and johnston in my opinion. I was embarrassed for some of the genuine Kildare supporters when he came on against Cavan. They were roaring and cheering and had a good few posters made up in his honour. All this for a blow in entering a game that was already won with only 8 minutes left. Dinnys explanation above does not apply to this scenario. My dislike of Johnstone is well known and I'm glad he has been found out by all in Cavan and is now gone but I still find it sad that Kildare "fans" behaved like that.

Hard luck to Limerick, seems they had a game plan that almost worked and for the life of me I don't know why Cavan didn't try something similar against them the week before. Kildare are a decent side, although whether good enough to win sam I seriously doubt it, Sligo will be similar test to Limerick but remains to be seen how they would react to losing the connacht final to Mayo.

I can't believe anyone would be surprised by it. The issue became a way for alot of quarters to smear Kildare and alot of supporters who had no roles at all in the circus. The response to him coming on was more shaking their fist at the rest of the world rather than lauding the man himself. To be expected and on alot of levels I was completely non-plussed by it.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2012, 01:41:13 PM
Poor performance. Same old failings but in fairness to the players they showed serious heart and bottle to grab the draw. I don't think too many players will be happy with their performances but we're still in it which is the only thing that matters. Kevin Walsh and Sligo won't be losing any sleep though.

I think all Kildare supporters owe Mick Foley a drink because he was simply immense. Head and shoulders above everyone on the field and drove Kildare on when Limerick were all over us. His block late in the second half was the turning point.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2012, 01:50:09 PM

Thought it was wide myself.

There was an Ian Ryan free in the first half which was waved wide that looked fairly debatable.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 02:42:17 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 22, 2012, 11:43:06 AM

The key point about footballers getting credit from Mickey mouse Sunday games pundits is that it might get some Mickey Mouse Limerick supporters of their arses and support them, Being continually dismissed by media and pundits only heightens the apathy around Limerick to the football them. Kildare people around me must of thought I was mad but I have to try make myself heard because there are so little of us. Honestly Dinny have seen such a difference numbers wise in the stand as you did tonight? Im not looking for the support the hurlers get but 3000 or 4000 supporters to try lift the team when they need it would be nice. As for Ian Ryan, the lad destroyed Peter Kelly in the 1st half Kildare had a man sweep in front of him which cut of the supply. Limerick did as I expected play with a 2 man forward line. As for Seanie Johnston. Didnt thing he did much. Got 2 nice points in extra time but in the heat of 70 minutes didnt do anything. A bit like Brolly predicted really.

Stephen Kelly is an inspiration really and some of the stuff Kildare supporters were shouting at him was uncalled for. Lost the head a bit at the end which was sad to see but I can understand why. He is basically our version of Johnny Doyle, Has soldiered long and hard with the Limerick team.

Chin up lads.

Good point about the media and exposure, a pity it's required because does Limerick gave everything for the shirt and do deserve better. In fairness Kildare outnumber every county support wise except Dublin but only when we played Leitrim in Newbridge a few years ago in the qualifiers have seen such a disparity.

I never pay to much heed to comments from supporters, it's generally heat of the moment stuff and every county has them. Look if you're honest Kelly should have been sent off, he floored Doyle, boxed O'Callaghan in the stomach and then went for a 3rd Kildare player while that imp Cassidy stood only 15 metres away but I have empathy for him and understand. He was an absolute thorn in Kildare's side, a real warrior, seems as Doyle who was shocking for the 1st 60 mins but his late free was inspirational and really helped push us on.
Post by: trasna man on July 22, 2012, 08:48:52 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 22, 2012, 01:50:09 PM

Thought it was wide myself.

There was an Ian Ryan free in the first half which was waved wide that looked fairly debatable.
had a great view both were wide very tight but definitely wide. ;)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 12:10:03 AM

No pressure then!!  ;D
Post by: The Burner on July 23, 2012, 10:27:16 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2012, 02:42:17 PM
Quote from: The Burner on July 22, 2012, 11:43:06 AM

Chin up lads.

Good point about the media and exposure, a pity it's required because does Limerick gave everything for the shirt and do deserve better. In fairness Kildare outnumber every county support wise except Dublin but only when we played Leitrim in Newbridge a few years ago in the qualifiers have seen such a disparity.

I never pay to much heed to comments from supporters, it's generally heat of the moment stuff and every county has them. Look if you're honest Kelly should have been sent off, he floored Doyle, boxed O'Callaghan in the stomach and then went for a 3rd Kildare player while that imp Cassidy stood only 15 metres away but I have empathy for him and understand. He was an absolute thorn in Kildare's side, a real warrior, seems as Doyle who was shocking for the 1st 60 mins but his late free was inspirational and really helped push us on.

Ya no arguments he should have been sent off, the frustration got the better of him but Id never criticise the man He has soldiered with Limerick for year and is probably close to the end now. Im not after some personal gratification by jumping up and down about being a Limerick football supporter just trying to do my bit to raise the profile. I might go a bit overboard at time but most supporters do. I mean Spillane last night on the Sunday game again putting us down "this a team that lost to Clare, and we all saw how bad they were against Cork". Yes Pat we lost to Clare it can happen on a given day , but we are a team who got to an All-Ireland quarter final, have put it up to Cork everytime we have played them over the last few years. We have quality footballers like Johnny McCarthy, Ian Ryan, Pa Ranahan, Seanie Buckley, John O Riordan, Ger Collins, Stephen Kelly. I mean Johnny McCarthy  would get on any team in the country and outside of Munster he has probably never even been heard of.

I wouldn't be Mcgeeney s biggest fan but at least he alluded to some of the above points after the match. There are counties all over Ireland who could learn a lot from the Limerick footballers. They go out every year written off by everyone, being sneered at by people from their own county, Being treated with sheer ignorance by the media. They don't do it for the fame or glamour of it all. Outside of John Galvin and Ian Ryan not many would be recognised on the streets of Limerick, They do it for the love of the jersey and pride in their county. People asking before the game how I thought they'd get on and I wasn't worried. I Knew regardless of it all they would give everything and id walk out of O Moore park proud to be a Limerick football supporter, Ill retire to my shell until next year Dinny but Ill be back again next year championing the cause because someone has to do it. Best of Luck to ye for the rest of the year and keep the faith.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 10:33:04 AM
Quote from: The Burner on July 23, 2012, 10:27:16 AM
Ya no arguments he should have been sent off, the frustration got the better of him but Id never criticise the man He has soldiered with Limerick for year and is probably close to the end now. Im not after some personal gratification by jumping up and down about being a Limerick football supporter just trying to do my bit to raise the profile. I might go a bit overboard at time but most supporters do. I mean Spillane last night on the Sunday game again putting us down "this a team that lost to Clare, and we all saw how bad they were against Cork". Yes Pat we lost to Clare it can happen on a given day , but we are a team who got to an All-Ireland quarter final, have put it up to Cork everytime we have played them over the last few years. We have quality footballers like Johnny McCarthy, Ian Ryan, Pa Ranahan, Seanie Buckley, John O Riordan, Ger Collins, Stephen Kelly. I mean Johnny McCarthy  would get on any team in the country and outside of Munster he has probably never even been heard of.

I wouldn't be Mcgeeney s biggest fan but at least he alluded to some of the above points after the match. There are countys all over Ireland who could learn a lot from the Limerick footballers. They go out every year written off by everyone, being sneered at by people from their own county, Being treated with sheer ignorance by the media. They don't do it for the fame or glamour of it all. Outside of John Galvin and Ian Ryan not many would be recognised on the streets of Limerick, They do it for the love of the jersey and pride in their county. People asking before the game how I thought they'd get on and I wasn't worried. I Knew regardless of it all they would give everything and id walk out of O Moore park proud to be a Limerick football supporter, Ill retire to my shell until next year Dinny but Ill be back again next year championing the cause because someone has to do it. Best of Luck to ye for the rest of the year and keep the faith.

Fair play. The Limerick supporters that were in attendance on Saturday night were excellent and the team did them proud.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2012, 10:54:30 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 23, 2012, 10:33:04 AM
Quote from: The Burner on July 23, 2012, 10:27:16 AM

I wouldn't be Mcgeeney s biggest fan but at least he alluded to some of the above points after the match. There are countys all over Ireland who could learn a lot from the Limerick footballers. They go out every year written off by everyone, being sneered at by people from their own county, Being treated with sheer ignorance by the media. They don't do it for the fame or glamour of it all. Outside of John Galvin and Ian Ryan not many would be recognised on the streets of Limerick, They do it for the love of the jersey and pride in their county. People asking before the game how I thought they'd get on and I wasn't worried. I Knew regardless of it all they would give everything and id walk out of O Moore park proud to be a Limerick football supporter, Ill retire to my shell until next year Dinny but Ill be back again next year championing the cause because someone has to do it. Best of Luck to ye for the rest of the year and keep the faith.

Fair play. The Limerick supporters that were in attendance on Saturday night were excellent and the team did them proud.

Post by: Captain Obvious on July 23, 2012, 06:03:01 PM
The final score in normal time reminded me of the Bulgaria v France World cup qualifier game in 1993. The Limerick fella that had possession of the ball must be kicking himself now.
Post by: LilySavage on July 24, 2012, 10:44:08 AM
Great comparison re Bulgaria V France! David Ginola the culprit.

Limericks Stephen Lucey ate the Limerick chap who lost possession at fulltime, he knew that was it gone, there and then.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2012, 01:50:40 PM
This was simply a brilliant catch on last Saturday

(http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/422240_10151610020552788_1863799420_n.jpg)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 24, 2012, 02:08:10 PM
http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/brian-scanlon-saves-point-b339 (http://www.adrianmeliaphoto.com/brian-scanlon-saves-point-b339)