GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 17, 2012, 07:35:19 PM

Title: Meath vs Kildare 1st July 12 Croke Park
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 17, 2012, 07:35:19 PM
(http://data.celticmediagroup.com/img/2011/06/15/1308152653478.jpg)

A cracking duel in prospect ......................................................
Title: Re: Meath vs Kildare 1st July 12 Croke Park
Post by: thejuice on June 17, 2012, 08:14:01 PM
Hard to know, depends on what Meath team shows up. I can't see us winning based on any of the form we've shown so far.

Good to see Brian Farrell starting to come into his own and graham Reilly having a good year. Joe is still off the pace. Was john Doyle injured when he came off today?

It's important to have someone who can keep close to him. Not sure who that someone is though.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 17, 2012, 08:23:32 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 17, 2012, 08:14:01 PM
Was john Doyle injured when he came off today?

Nope. Rob Kelly went off after picking up a knock but didn't seem too bad afterwards. Interesting to see who Kildare pick out around the middle because I'd assume Daryl Flynn will be back from the start. I suppose they might move either Kelly or O'Neill to the half-forwards with maybe Eoin Doyle losing out.

It's hard to see any other changes but Callaghan will be missed. His absence was noticeable under the breaks today and Meath will be a much tougher examination than Offaly.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2012, 10:34:09 PM
- Kildare ease pass Offaly
- Meath struggle pass Wicklow and need two games to dispatch Carlow
- Kildare have won the last 5 meetings in row

Yet the doubts remain and Meath with all their natural footballers should ease pass the gym monkeys.
Post by: Royalranter on June 17, 2012, 10:36:26 PM
This game will be a non-contest. Red-hot all Ireland favourites kildare should win by at least 10 against a division 3 outfit
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 18, 2012, 01:25:55 PM
All joking aside, look at the last two meetings. Kildare win by a point after Meath hit the post with their last attack. Before that, Meath look on the verge of a victory before a late Emmet Bolton goal.

Add in Callaghan's injury and doubts over Flynn's fitness and I think this will be a very close game. I do think we have more pace in our team than Meath and hopefully that will just about see us over the line.
Post by: Jinxy on June 18, 2012, 02:45:25 PM
We can't compete with Kildares oil money.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 18, 2012, 03:03:34 PM
Heard this morning that Rob Kelly's injury is not serious and he'll be back training this week.
Post by: seafoid on June 18, 2012, 03:15:25 PM
Most of the Meath posters are responding well to Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and the despair of the last 6 months has partially lifted but Kildare looks like a bridge too far   
Post by: Muck Savage on June 20, 2012, 07:11:11 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 18, 2012, 03:03:34 PM
Heard this morning that Rob Kelly's injury is not serious and he'll be back training this week.

Very nasty carry on by Kelly at the weekend chewing on Ross Brady chest, there is no place in the game for that type of carry on. Hope this isn't the type of tactics that is creeping into the game. Croke Park need to stop this early on but there doesn't seem to be any mention of it anywhere.
Post by: mup on June 20, 2012, 07:43:37 AM
Have you got a source for this allegation?
Post by: heffo on June 20, 2012, 08:15:36 AM
Quote from: Muck Savage on June 20, 2012, 07:11:11 AM

Kelly at the weekend chewing on Ross Brady chest

Fecking muck savages, you can't bring them anywhere. Chewing on a fellas chest. What next?
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on June 20, 2012, 10:04:28 AM
What is it with kildare and there feeble injuries list.................................. injuries mounting etc etc..................... preferred the huddles
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2012, 10:19:58 AM

Very nasty carry on by Kelly at the weekend chewing on Ross Brady chest, there is no place in the game for that type of carry on. Hope this isn't the type of tactics that is creeping into the game. Croke Park need to stop this early on but there doesn't seem to be any mention of it anywhere.

That manages to sound both dangerous and pretty gay all at the same time.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2012, 10:50:08 AM
Quote from: mup on June 20, 2012, 07:43:37 AM

Ross Brady. But sure look, no one saw it, and I doubt anything will be made of it. One mans word against another, and how do we know it wasn't an accident in the middle of a scuffle. Only the two boys themselves know.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2012, 11:31:56 AM

That's the kind of hungry we want to see in Kildare..
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 20, 2012, 11:34:28 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2012, 10:50:08 AM
Quote from: mup on June 20, 2012, 07:43:37 AM

Ross Brady. But sure look, no one saw it, and I doubt anything will be made of it. One mans word against another, and how do we know it wasn't an accident in the middle of a scuffle. Only the two boys themselves know.

Saw this allegation from Shane Lowry of all people on twitter.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 20, 2012, 11:54:31 AM
I presume the alleged incident occured when Brady wrestled Kelly to the ground in front of the terrace early on in the match? If it was a deliberate act then Rob should be investigated and face a long ban because it would be a vile and reprehensible thing to do to an opponent. However, as AZ points out it could have been accidental as Rob tried to free himself. I will trot out the overused Irish rugby journalists' favourite line here and say that Rob would not be that kind of player and any violent incident would be totally out of character. I can't recall him ever getting sent off for either club or county during his career.

Surely there is footage of the two of them wrestling on the ground because it would have occured directly in line with the camera gantry and why are we only hearing about this now on twitter? Why wasn't it flagged directly after the game by Offaly?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2012, 11:57:26 AM
I know Ross Brady was pretty agitated after the incident, but I presume Offaly decided not to go yapping about it. Obviously Ross said it to Shane Lowry, who is a friend of his.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 20, 2012, 12:08:48 PM
Surely this alleged incident is of such seriousness that the referee could have been alerted at half time or even after the game? If Brady was marked then this could have been shown to the referee who could then have included it in his report and asked the relevant authorities to investigate the matter further? Maybe this was done?

Trial by internet does nobody any favours. I know that if anyone carried out such an act on me (god forbid) then I'd want them investigated and facing sanction.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2012, 12:10:34 PM
I think he did show the marks to the ref. Anyway, as you say, all hearsay and there's nothing official about it yet,  so we probably shouldn't speculate too much.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 20, 2012, 12:30:40 PM
And there was I thinking it was the Kildare women that were the man eaters!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 20, 2012, 12:33:38 PM
Immediately after the incident a fairly animated Ross Brady showed the ref some marks that were on his chest under his jersey.
On seeing them, the referee called back Kelly who had jogged away and yellow carded him.
At the time I thought they were just nail scratch marks. A Kildare fan on the terrace piped up about Kelly needing to lose the fake finger nails.

In GAA terms the issue would be considered to have been dealt with by the ref, so I doubt it'll be revisited.
Even if it was what it appeared to be (innocent until proven guilty obviously), I'm not so sure Offaly have much energy to go chasing up on it.

Personally, I don't see much point. There is a Qualfier for Offaly in 10 days time and they'll again be struggling to get organised for it. There is no use sending days on a crusade that won't actually benefit anyone apart from the top 6 or 7 counties. 

Go chasing it and I doubt anyone in HQ will be too pushed either, unless the Sunday Game and the media were leading the charge of course. Eventually it'll just seem like sour grapes from Offaly's part.

Let sleeping dogs bite lie.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 20, 2012, 01:11:31 PM
You can mention the incident but I think it's very bad judgment to name a player when this is complete speculation. Indeed I'd wonder if it's libel.

Any 'evidence' is about as reliable as Chinese whispers at this stage and yet this now attaches itself to the player's reputation. I really think the administrators should remove the player's name.
Post by: Muck Savage on June 20, 2012, 09:30:12 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on June 20, 2012, 01:11:31 PM
You can mention the incident but I think it's very bad judgment to name a player when this is complete speculation. Indeed I'd wonder if it's libel.

Any 'evidence' is about as reliable as Chinese whispers at this stage and yet this now attaches itself to the player's reputation. I really think the administrators should remove the player's name.

As BNM points out the Ref booked him for it but pretty sure it won't make it's way into any Referees report because this sort of stuff gets brushed under the rug. It a pretty nasty sort of a crime and hope this isn't what's going to creep into the game, the time to address it is early on. If he wasn;t booked for this what was the booking for?

As AZ points out, the Offaly CB are unlikely to try follow up on this but it still doesn't make the crime any worse.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 20, 2012, 10:08:12 PM
Quote from: Muck Savage on June 20, 2012, 09:30:12 PM

As BNM points out the Ref booked him for it but pretty sure it won't make it's way into any Referees report because this sort of stuff gets brushed under the rug. It a pretty nasty sort of a crime and hope this isn't what's going to creep into the game, the time to address it is early on. If he wasn;t booked for this what was the booking for?

As AZ points out, the Offaly CB are unlikely to try follow up on this but it still doesn't make the crime any worse.

The two of them were wrestling on the ground off the ball. It was the linesman that brought this to the referee's attention and presumably it was him that recommended both players be booked for wrestling with one another. If either official clearly witnessed one player deliberately biting another do you seriously think the referee would deem only a yellow card to be a suitable punishment?

To accuse a player of deliberately biting another is a serious allegation to make and therefore it should be properly investigated and if intent is proven then the perpetrator should face a long ban because of the vile nature of the act. Trial by internet however is to nobody's benefit.
Post by: Muck Savage on June 21, 2012, 07:54:52 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 20, 2012, 10:08:12 PM

The two of them were wrestling on the ground off the ball. It was the linesman that brought this to the referee's attention and presumably it was him that recommended both players be booked for wrestling with one another. If either official clearly witnessed one player deliberately biting another do you seriously think the referee would deem only a yellow card to be a suitable punishment?

To accuse a player of deliberately biting another is a serious allegation to make and therefore it should be properly investigated and if intent is proven then the perpetrator should face a long ban because of the vile nature of the act. Trial by internet however is to nobody's benefit.

Look, the lad was clearly irate with what happened, after he showed it to the Ref he took action to book the player. Sure you can get into a he said she said after the wrestle on the ground, but the Ref took action after he saw the marks and called the player back.

I'm very confused how someone can bite someone else "by mistake", hitting or kicking by mistake, yeah you could argue, but locking jaws on a lad.

I'll take BNM advice and let sleeping dogs ......

Post by: thejuice on June 21, 2012, 09:56:24 AM
Referee is Michael Collins. Sure what chance do we have now.
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2012, 10:05:50 AM
Game over.
He never forgave ollie murphy.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2012, 10:08:45 AM
How will he handle McGeeney's new tactics?

(http://images.halloweencostumes.net/vampire-kit.jpg)
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 21, 2012, 11:14:03 AM
Quote from: thejuice on June 21, 2012, 09:56:24 AM

No friend of Kildare either and a dodgy ref in general. Could end up 13-a-side.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 21, 2012, 11:20:19 AM
Quote from: Muck Savage on June 21, 2012, 07:54:52 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 20, 2012, 10:08:12 PM

Look, the lad was clearly irate with what happened, after he showed it to the Ref he took action to book the player. Sure you can get into a he said she said after the wrestle on the ground, but the Ref took action after he saw the marks and called the player back.

I'm very confused how someone can bite someone else "by mistake", hitting or kicking by mistake, yeah you could argue, but locking jaws on a lad.

I'll take BNM advice and let sleeping dogs ......

No the referee took action upon consulting with the linesman.

It's the last time I'm going to comment on the matter anyway because mud sticks and unless and further investigation takes place then the matter is closed. Us lot discussing it on an internet forum is a pointless exercise.
Post by: Declan on June 21, 2012, 06:49:03 PM
Think Kildare will win it but Collins will do his best to ruin the game
Post by: Royalranter on June 21, 2012, 07:30:44 PM

Whatever chance we had went out the window with that appointment. Everytime I go to a match that Collins refs, I have hear somebody saying ' They shot the wrong Michael Collins'
Post by: Hardy on June 22, 2012, 12:54:34 AM
As Eddie Moroney would say, a bollocks of a ref.
Post by: Jinxy on June 22, 2012, 01:06:49 AM
He clearly hates us.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2012, 02:37:05 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2012, 01:06:49 AM
He clearly hates us.

(http://l.yimg.com/a/p/sp/tools/med/2010/09/ipt/1284578079.jpg)

Big Joe brought more appropriate attire back from the States, I see.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 22, 2012, 04:00:29 AM
Someone in Croke Park has it in for us ... other than Michael Collins, obviously.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2012, 10:35:24 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2012, 02:37:05 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2012, 01:06:49 AM
He clearly hates us.

(http://l.yimg.com/a/p/sp/tools/med/2010/09/ipt/1284578079.jpg)

Big Joe brought more appropriate attire back from the States, I see.

I remember that guy :D From the XFL when they were allowed put whatever they want on their jersey. Rod Smart is his real name, actually went on to play in a Superbowl with Carolina afterwards.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 22, 2012, 12:03:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 22, 2012, 12:54:34 AM
As Eddie Moroney would say, a bollocks of a ref.

Oh to hear Marty one day utter "And the ref is looking around and acting the mickey."
Post by: ross4life on June 22, 2012, 07:44:12 PM
After many years of poor refereeing it's unbelievable how Collins is still given high profile games.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 22, 2012, 08:17:31 PM
Callaghan returned to full training last night only 3 weeks after his operation. It'd be a big boost to Kildare if he can play some part.
Post by: Jinxy on June 23, 2012, 12:42:17 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 22, 2012, 08:17:31 PM
Callaghan returned to full training last night only 3 weeks after his operation. It'd be a big boost to Kildare if he can play some part.

I heard he went to America for replacement parts alright.
Post by: Man of Kent on June 24, 2012, 11:01:52 AM
My Kildare ante post voucher is already burning a hole in my pocket! If I ask nicely I reckon PP might pay out early.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2012, 10:07:26 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 22, 2012, 07:44:12 PM
After many years of poor refereeing it's unbelievable how utterly predicatable that Collins is still given high profile games.

To borrow a phrase, fixed that for you.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2012, 09:55:31 AM
Never seen the Meath crowd so quiet before a match, that has me worried.
Post by: Hardy on June 27, 2012, 10:29:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2012, 09:55:31 AM
Never seen the Meath crowd so quiet before a match, that has me worried.

(http://www.freeimagehosting.net/t/blq53.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on June 27, 2012, 11:13:05 AM
I suppose there's not much to say other than hurl some abuse.

I am just deeply disturbed by Kildare folks and their fixation with strapping midgets to wild animals and making them jump over fences all under the guise of sport. This sort of bushman spectacle would shame the baloobas.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2012, 11:44:56 AM
1. Shane Connolly   (Naomh Lorcan)
2. Hugh McGrillen   (Cill Droichid)
3. Mick Foley   (Áth Í)
4. Peter Kelly   (Teach Dhá Mhíle)
5. Eoin Doyle   (Nás na Ríogh)
6. Morgan O'Flaherty   (Cairbre)
7. Ollie Lyons   (Cill Droichid)
8. Emmet Bolton   (Baile Éide)
9. Rob Kelly   (Teach Srafáin)
10. James Kavanagh   (Baile Mór)
11. Mikey Conway   (An Urnaí)
12. Pádraig O'Neill   (Naomh Lorcan)
13. Johnny Doyle   (Fiodh Alúine)
14. Tomás O'Connor   (Claonadh)
15. Eoghan O'Flaherty   (Cairbre)

I would expect a few changes to that team before the throw in as is the norm with Kildare these days.
Post by: heffo on June 27, 2012, 11:52:05 AM
Bolton to wing back to pick up Reilly I'd imagine.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2012, 12:00:06 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 27, 2012, 11:52:05 AM
Bolton to wing back to pick up Reilly I'd imagine.

I'd assume so. Either that or McGrillen will go out and track him like he did against Cavanagh in the league final. Daryl Flynn will start if anyway fit - hard to believe a Kildare team would start without Newbridge representation for two successive games! It would be great if Callaghan can play some part. Even against Offaly his ball winning ability and link play was missed around the middle.
Post by: Declan on June 27, 2012, 12:51:28 PM
QuoteNever seen the Meath crowd so quiet before a match, that has me worried.

Well Dinny the locals are only worried about keeping the score down to a respectable level.
Post by: Jinxy on June 27, 2012, 01:40:16 PM
I forgot all about this match.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2012, 02:09:04 PM
Quote from: Declan on June 27, 2012, 12:51:28 PM
QuoteNever seen the Meath crowd so quiet before a match, that has me worried.

Well Dinny the locals are only worried about keeping the score down to a respectable level.

The fear I have is complacency, Kildare are not in good position, I've never seen Kildare supporters so confident of a win against Meath and Meath supporters expecting a loss against Kildare. Our traditional role in Leinster is that of the Little brother to Meath and Dublin, occasionally a mild irritant but normally just ignored or laughed at when our Leinster cousins put us to the sword.

Hopefully Kildare are right mentally for Sunday but if we're not right the match could get very interesting.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 27, 2012, 02:30:17 PM
I don't think complacency will be an issue. My fear would be whether we're a bit rusty after essentially nine weeks without a competitive outing. Offaly put up a decent fight for about twenty minutes but even then there was a sense of inevitability that they'd run out of steam long before the half time whistle. Kildare just seemed to be in auto-pilot for most of that game. Meath on the other hand have had good hard tests against both Wicklow and Carlow where they'll have been able to pinpoint weak areas. The replay with Carlow suggested that they are beginning to move in the right direction again.

Familiarity breeds contempt and apart from Kerry and Cork, there are probably no two teams in Ireland that have met as much as Kildare and Meath in recent years. They'll know each other so well at this stage that they may begin to cancel each other out. The more the match becomes an out and out dogfight, the more it'll suit Meath. I am confident Kildare will win if we play near our optimum level but I hope we are not caught off the pace in the opening twenty minutes due to a lack of match sharpness. There has been little between these sides in the last three championship encounters. In 2010 we only pulled away in the last 5-10 minutes. Last year's game in Croke Park was in the balance until Brian Farrell was harshly sent off and Geraghty's goal was disallowed. The match in Navan was nip and tuck all the way with the early penalty giving us a small bit of breathing space. It was only when Kenny went off that Bolton could push forward and get the scores that won it for us.

I think Kildare will win on Sunday but I'd be pleasantly surprised if we beat the four point handicap.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 27, 2012, 04:23:21 PM
In a colossal mistake guaranteed to come back to haunt me, I'm going to be honest instead of trying to impersonate a Kerry man.

I think it will be close until midway through the second half when Kildare will pull away and win by 4-6pts.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 27, 2012, 04:48:14 PM
The Calm before the Storm ...
Post by: Hardy on June 28, 2012, 02:33:27 PM
When is the draw for our round of the qualifiers?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 28, 2012, 02:42:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2012, 02:33:27 PM

Monday morning at 8.30 I think. Wouldn't mind being in it either.
Post by: Royalranter on June 28, 2012, 06:14:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 28, 2012, 02:33:27 PM

It'll be interesting to see who we get drawn against. Kildare won't have to worry about any draws taking place until they get drawn as provincial champions (without having to hit 3rd gear in any match) against one of the qualifiers.
Post by: BennyCake on June 28, 2012, 09:04:43 PM
Apparently Xabi Alonso supports Meath. I wonder if he'll get to see this match before the Euro final that night?
Post by: thejuice on June 28, 2012, 11:18:58 PM
Meath (SFC v Kildare) -

D Gallagher,

D Keogan, B Menton, C Lenehan,
D Tobin, S McAnarney, M Burke,

C Gillespie, B Meade,

A Forde, D Carroll, G Reilly,
B Farrell, J Sheridan, C Ward.

Kevin Reilly ruled out with injury.

This is going to be a bad day out me fears.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2012, 10:47:08 AM
Kevin Reilly is the worlds most injured man at this stage.
Post by: thejuice on June 29, 2012, 11:02:48 AM
He's that injury prone he'd die twice so he would.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 29, 2012, 12:08:47 PM
I assume Reilly would have marked O'Connor and that Menton will now?
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 29, 2012, 12:12:24 PM
I hear we're 15/2 and Cill Dara are 1/3  ...
Post by: Hardy on June 29, 2012, 12:21:23 PM
Grab that 1/3.

Double it up with a picture of a wistful Seanie Johnston to appear in tomorrow's Irish Times, dreamily contemplating the mystique of hurling.
Post by: Keane on June 29, 2012, 12:56:12 PM
Reilly is a really big miss for Meath. O'Connor is tough enough to deal with, and not only will Menton have his hands full with him but you're also losing his presence from the half back line which is another loss.

Kildare to win this with a fair bit to spare IMO.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on June 29, 2012, 01:16:24 PM
Not to be distrusting but I'll believe Reilly isn't starting when I see it.
If he is out, any chance McAnarney might be the man to mark O'Connor, with Menton staying CHB?
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2012, 03:07:17 PM
Wouldn't it be gas if Meath scored 3 goals in the first half and no points and Kildare were totally deflated and gave up.
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 29, 2012, 06:39:50 PM
So is there one of those legendary kicks in meath against all the odds? For first time ever I am hoping for a meath victory.
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2012, 07:17:51 PM
There must be a wall of Kildare money on the lilies. I remember the third  weekend of September 1998 when  they were unbackable too.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 29, 2012, 07:27:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 29, 2012, 07:17:51 PM
There must be a wall of Kildare money on the lilies. I remember the third  weekend of September 1998 when  they were unbackable too.

Sure it's Derby weekend. There won't be a cent layed on the football with the Curragh on.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 29, 2012, 10:20:18 PM
Please don't cheer for us, we thrive on hatred.
Post by: seafoid on June 29, 2012, 10:51:08 PM
15/2 looks like a good price
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2012, 04:06:11 AM

Seán Brady is lumping on anyway.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 30, 2012, 04:10:35 AM
You're up early Jinxy. You must have heard about the great odds on Kildare.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2012, 10:10:28 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 29, 2012, 07:27:19 PM

Sure it's Derby weekend. There won't be a cent layed on the football with the Curragh on.

My biggest dilemma this weekend is whether to leave my Chauffeur and Butler outside the gates when I visit Croker. Bad form to bring them in I suppose but they would like to see Dublin play.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 30, 2012, 11:20:34 AM
Who's collecting the Cavanman? He's too tight to buy a Range Rover just to fit in and his car is knackered from all that commuting during the school year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:20:41 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 29, 2012, 12:12:24 PM

Can't see more than 4/1 about the Royals.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 30, 2012, 03:14:11 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 30, 2012, 12:20:41 PM

I checked that on Paddy Power before posting yesterday, but looking again there it has been amended to 4/1.
Post by: Sea The Stars on June 30, 2012, 04:26:31 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 30, 2012, 03:14:11 PM

I checked that on Paddy Power before posting yesterday, but looking again there it has been amended to 4/1.

The 15/2 is/was the odds on a draw. Meath's odds have always been between 3 and 4 all week.

Post by: Onlooker on June 30, 2012, 04:31:19 PM
Now that Seanie Johnston has been cleared to play, I would expect Meath's odds to go out quite a bit.  He must be a better player than any of us thought if he worth all the hassle and ridicule that Kildare have drawn on themselves.  They have put themselves under some pressure for tomorrow.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2012, 04:38:34 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on June 30, 2012, 04:31:19 PM
Now that Seanie Johnston has been cleared to play, I would expect Meath's odds to go out quite a bit.  He must be a better player than any of us thought if he worth all the hassle and ridicule that Kildare have drawn on themselves.  They have put themselves under some pressure for tomorrow.

Kildare have followed Kilkenny's lead and haven't played a challenge match in 10 weeks, just in-house games and in these games Johnson has been seemingly outstanding, can't see him featuring tomorrow unless Kildare are leading well with 5 mins to go and just want to get the inevitable over with.

Tomorrow while always a must win has now taken on new pressure as if Kildare lose McGeeney will come under pressure to resign as the SJ farce will get the blame for the defeat.
Post by: Ard-Rí on June 30, 2012, 07:35:26 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on June 30, 2012, 04:26:31 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on June 30, 2012, 03:14:11 PM

The 15/2 is/was the odds on a draw. Meath's odds have always been between 3 and 4 all week.

Ah! Thanks for clarifying.
Post by: ballinaman on June 30, 2012, 10:02:12 PM
G'wan Meath.....right, I need a shower.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 30, 2012, 11:03:27 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 30, 2012, 10:02:12 PM

:o
Post by: ballinaman on July 01, 2012, 12:05:36 AM
Quote from: From the  :PBunker on June 30, 2012, 11:03:27 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on June 30, 2012, 10:02:12 PM

:o
Never thought I'd see the day I'd be shouting for Meath but I will be in croker tomorrow...even though I do feel a bit dirty doing so! :P
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2012, 08:07:01 AM
I had a bitter enemy,
His heart to hate he gave,
And when I died he swore that he
Would dance upon my grave;
That he would leap and laugh because
A livid corpse was I,
And that's the reason why I was
In no great haste to die.

And then - such is the quirk of fate,
One day with joy I read,
Despite his vitalizing hate
My enemy was dead.
Maybe the poison in his heart
Had helped to haste his doom:
He was not spared till I depart
To spit upon my tomb.

The other day I chanced to go
To where he lies alone.
'Tis easy to forgive a foe
When he is dead and gone. . . .
Poor devil! Now his day is done,
(Though bright it was and brave,)
Yet I am happy there is none
To dance upon my grave.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 09:32:10 AM
The Range Rovers may need to be armour plated for the journey up to the big smoke today.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 01, 2012, 10:00:10 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 09:32:10 AM
The Range Rovers may need to be armour plated for the journey up to the big smoke today.

Sure hasn't Seanie got a rake of hurls now, he can bate a path through for the convoy.
Post by: rrhf on July 01, 2012, 01:31:37 PM
He starts
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 01:40:20 PM
The Sunday Game hedging their bets.
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2012, 02:01:18 PM
I hope the public let their feelings known if Johnston comes on. Come on Meath!
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 02:16:19 PM
It's going to be hard enough to win without throwing away a load of chances. We deem tovhave finally caught on that we need to win midfield breaks.
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 02:47:21 PM
Michael Collins got away with it there.

Happy enough but Kildare have the legs which I think might wear us out. Might go the same as last year.

Brollys right that they'll just run at us.

Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 02:48:59 PM
The smart money is still on Kildare. They should have the legs on us. Then again, we should know what's coming.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 01, 2012, 02:53:21 PM
Meath have been much the better of the two. I don't know much about it but I can't believe Kildare's fitness will be so much stronger that it will get them over the line. They will have to improve, must keep the ball better.
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2012, 03:00:25 PM
That was a square ball!

You're not allowed to enter the square until the ball is kicked... Collins will win this for Kildare yet!
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 03:15:28 PM
Kildare a man down?  Flynn
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2012, 03:17:28 PM
Cracking game!
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:17:53 PM
Great response from Meath!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 01, 2012, 03:19:19 PM
Ger Canning - "the goalie was beaten by the powerof Conway's shot" - WTF ?

he could have hit it harder with his tool !!

PS - Now that's power !!
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:20:39 PM
Hahaha I'm cheering a Meath goal, ffs! They deserve the lead, better team.
Post by: Man of Kent on July 01, 2012, 03:22:26 PM
lost stream.....whats going on?
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2012, 03:23:22 PM
The keeper saved the goal but it deflected back off the Meath no. 7. If Banty wins this he'll get the freedom of Navan!
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:23:51 PM
1-14 to 1-11 to Meath, Kildare down to 14. 8 mins left.
Post by: ardal on July 01, 2012, 03:24:12 PM
1:14 to 1:11 in favour of Meath.

Sounds like a cracking game
Post by: Maguire01 on July 01, 2012, 03:25:53 PM
This is entertaining!
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 03:29:03 PM
Bring on Seanie  ;)
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:29:57 PM
Some point! Meath have it now. Kildare fail to live up to their billing yet again.
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2012, 03:31:02 PM
Karma's a bitch!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 01, 2012, 03:31:39 PM
big midfielder Gillespie was good
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 01, 2012, 03:33:37 PM
Kildare look finished.
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2012, 03:35:36 PM
Some great football played and scores by Meath in the second half. Glad to see them win.
Post by: All of a Sludden on July 01, 2012, 03:36:11 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 01, 2012, 03:33:51 PM
Can't believe I was cheering on Meath in that game. I'm now away for a shower.

Likewise. I feel so dirty.

Looks like Seany made the right decision, stick to the hurling Sean you'll win nothing with the footballers.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 01, 2012, 03:40:48 PM
First time in my life I cheered for Meath and I'm delighted to see Kildare get a beating that they deserved after the disgraceful carry-on with Seanie Johnson......

Just shows that footballing ability still is required and triumphs over pure athletic training....
Post by: grounded on July 01, 2012, 03:43:31 PM

Mac Eoghain

Re: Meath vs Kildare 1st July 12 Croke Park

Kieran McEneaney is disappointed. What about Seamus McGeeney?

Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 03:45:40 PM
We always were better.

And you can all go back to hating us now, FFS.
Post by: Main Street on July 01, 2012, 03:47:10 PM
Enjoy the good vibes while they last, Ard-Rí.
A good win for Meath. It's a strange feeling to let out a (muted) cheer when they got that goal.
Looks like Kildare have some calibration issues back at the gym.
Post by: SHEEDY on July 01, 2012, 03:51:53 PM
well done to meath.well deserved. delighted for banty. was really impressed by some of the younger players for meath especially carroll and gillespie.
Post by: give her dixie on July 01, 2012, 04:00:56 PM
Fantastic 2nd half, and like so many others, feel dirty for supporting Meath !! Well done Banty.

Seanie should stick to the Shinty.

Tomorrow's draw will no doubt bring up a few good matches......
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 04:02:47 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on July 01, 2012, 04:00:56 PM
Fantastic 2nd half, and like so many others, feel dirty for supporting Meath !! Well done Banty.

Seanie should stick to the Shinty.

Tomorrow's draw will no doubt bring up a few good matches......

Kildare v Cavan?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 01, 2012, 04:10:40 PM
Some win for Meath, I considered cheering for them but I just couldn't bring myself to do it.

Kildare will be dangerous in the qualifiers
Post by: omagh_gael on July 01, 2012, 04:10:50 PM
Hardy must be an emotional wreck by now. Go on Meath. Go on Banty. I mean feck off Banty.....Aghhhh! 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 04:13:32 PM
The board would go into Meltdown. Irrespective of the Seanie saga, I though Meath fully deserved that today. Some great performances. Well done to them.

Now, rather than slag Kildare, I'm off to lick our own wounds. I'd love to have Kildares problems.
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 04:16:08 PM
Damien Carroll man of the match.

Alan forde was good but doesn't know when to shoot. Gillespie was great for the kick outs.

Come on in from the cold Hardy.
Post by: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 04:17:33 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 04:16:08 PM
Damien Carroll man of the match.

Alan forde was good but doesn't know when to shoot. Gillespie was great for the kick outs.

Come on in from the cold Hardy.

Yeah, great pace but not a whole lot of footballing ability going on today. Did his job well though
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 04:27:06 PM
Omagh Gael, Juice - this looked like a real Meath team. What a great coaching performance by John Evans in such a short time to harness the innate ability abounding in Meath, identify the best young talent in the county and get us back to playing real football.

Post by: eviemonkey on July 01, 2012, 04:33:00 PM
Well done Meath, some great individual performances, particularly by the younger contingent which bodes well for the future. Meath have had some great wins in recent years (Tyrone 07, Mayo 09, Dublin 10) but have struggled to put back to back commanding performances together so it is important they produce another high quality display in the Leinster Final.

Kildare were untypically flat. They are the kind of team that if they are not operating with their customary high levels of intensity they can be made to look ordinary, as they did today. McGeeney will demand a reaction in the qualifiers and I wouldn't want to be the team to meet them the next day as I would expect a very different Kildare next time around.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2012, 04:38:10 PM
Jinxy probably didn't even watch the match. He was washing the car I think.
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 04:39:51 PM
When was the last Meath vs Wexford Leinster final?????
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2012, 04:44:30 PM
So the division 2 finalists both lost this weekend.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 04:46:29 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 04:39:51 PM
When was the last Meath vs Wexford Leinster final? ??? ?

1939. Meath went on to reach their first AIF that year, losing to Kerry.

I didn't make it that day either - I was against the catch-and-kick philosophy.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 04:53:32 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 01, 2012, 03:47:10 PM
Enjoy the good vibes while they last, Ard-Rí.
A good win for Meath. It's a strange feeling to let out a (muted) cheer when they got that goal.
Looks like Kildare have some calibration issues back at the gym.

It's an equally uncomfortable feeling to hear the neutrals cheering for us.

But, enough of that. Truth be told, I'm delighted with the win, due to a great team performance and the right changes by Banty at the right time. It's great to get the gym-monkey off our backs.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 05:30:19 PM
Some performance by Meath especially when Kildare came back to score the goal in the 2nd half.

Meath dominated the middle and ensured a steady supply for the Meath forwards.

Kildare looked flat but this will have rocked their confidence.

Post by: From the Bunker on July 01, 2012, 05:32:13 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 01, 2012, 03:29:57 PM
Some point! Meath have it now. Kildare fail to live up to their billing yet again.

And us Mayo lads know all about teams not living up to their billing! Jez, the Geezer has only made one Leinster Final in his tenure, never mind winning one. The back door beckons yet again. Do the media still see this group as top 4?
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 01, 2012, 05:38:51 PM
Thanks meath and well done!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 05:41:00 PM
Never have I cared less about a Kildare defeat.

You reap what you sow.

Roll on the county championship.
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 05:51:57 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 05:41:00 PM

You reap what you sow.

Strange comment from what seems like a genuine supporter, Is there a lot of apathy in Kidare, or are a lot of supporters pissed off with the whole transfer saga.
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 06:18:20 PM

You reap what you sow.

Ah now, you can't be at that now. We talk ourselves way down more than ye lot. You must be gutted really. I'd like to hear all about how deeply wounding this defeat has been. I'm all ears.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 01, 2012, 06:23:46 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 03:45:40 PM
We always were better.

And you can all go back to hating us now, FFS.

Ah not yet. Maybe after the Dubs though! ;D
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 06:28:09 PM

You reap what you sow.

I know how you feel, DH. I've been in that pit of despondency about our county and the carry on, on and off the field, for two years.

Today, though felt like a fresh breeze. The team played as we expect our teams to play and displayed just about everything good about Meath football and our way of playing the game (apart from a worrying tendency to be a bit too nice). If that's down to McEnaney, even if only to the extent of his being responsible for putting the right coaching and selection team in place, then I'll just have to put aside my distaste for the man and his antics and for the whole bought-in circus and be happy that we're playing as we should again.

It may be a false dawn – we don't know what we beat today and Kildare looked a confused, lethargic and demoralised outfit to me. But a Leinster Final against Dublin will be a great occasion and will surely tell us whether this is real or not. We'll know then whether the team really can overcome the farce that is football administration in the county, with a manager hanging on despite being rejected by over 50% of the clubs and a chairman holding onto his place having had his policy initiative rejected by the clubs as well.

I saw a handshake between McEnaney and Allen at the end of the match today. I suppose playing success can paper over a lot of cracks.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 06:35:42 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 06:18:20 PM

You reap what you sow.

Ah now, you can't be at that now. We talk ourselves way down more than ye lot. You must be gutted really. I'd like to hear all about how deeply wounding this defeat has been. I'm all ears.

You're better than that Juice.

I have sympathy for the players especially the likes of Doyle and Earley but it's hard not to think we got what we deserve after the farce that went on yesterday.

Well done to Meath and I hope they repeat their performance in three weeks time.
Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2012, 06:39:24 PM
Ah It's only banter lad, come on.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 01, 2012, 07:02:02 PM
Jez, chill out on Kildare. A few lads tried a quick one. Rules are there to get around. Nobody died. Jez, Kildare themselves know all about losing players to more successful counties (at the time). Remember Larry Tompkins and Shay Fahey doing their bit for Cork in the late 80's early 90's. And believe me Cork would have won nothing without them. Ironically Meath were their Nemisis at the time.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 07:06:23 PM
Found myself on my feet this afternoon cheering a Peadar Byrne goal, I may need professional help to overcome this. Not sure whether to stick or twist for the final, I don't want a visit from the mob.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 07:07:29 PM
QuoteJez, chill out on Kildare. A few lads tried a quick one. Rules are there to get around. Nobody died. Jez, Kildare themselves know all about losing players to more successful counties (at the time). Remember Larry Tompkins and Shay Fahey doing their bit for Cork in the late 80's early 90's. And believe me Cork would have won nothing without them. Ironically Meath were their Nemisis at the time.
We have a deep commitment to the ethos of the GAA.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2012, 07:09:56 PM
Haven't read through the thread so no doubt deserved schadenfreude is rampant..

Before I choose my side in the civil war that has erupted in Kildare just a quick congrats to Hardy, Jinxy, The Juice Ard-Rí etc, Meath were fully deserved winners, no complaints they were the best team in Croke Park today and if they play like that they will give the Dubs a right rattle, if my depression clears in time I'll go along...
Post by: Pangurban on July 01, 2012, 07:20:20 PM
Thought Meath were absolutely brilliant today, Gaelic Football at its best, look forward to seeing more of them. A Down V Meath final would see football as the winner
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 07:21:01 PM
Kildare being very gracious in defeat  I notice, and it reminds me that they were similarly gracious in victory when they started their winning streak over us in 2010. There's not much to say that ye don't already know, but I would tentatively suggest Kildare were a little over confident going into today's game. I mean, Kildare probably are a better team, or certainly have been in recent encounters, but always required the A-game  to put Meath away. Once you don't bring that A-game, it's always going to be a tough day at the office. Anyway, best of luck to Kildare in the qualifiers, you never know, it might be the best thing that ever happened to this team.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 01, 2012, 07:45:43 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 07:21:01 PM
Kildare being very gracious in defeat  I notice, and it reminds me that they were similarly gracious in victory when they started their winning streak over us in 2010. There's not much to say that ye don't already know, but I would tentatively suggest Kildare were a little over confident going into today's game. I mean, Kildare probably are a better team, or certainly have been in recent encounters, but always required the A-game  to put Meath away. Once you don't bring that A-game, it's always going to be a tough day at the office. Anyway, best of luck to Kildare in the qualifiers, you never know, it might be the best thing that ever happened to this team.

I don't think it will be. This group need Championship silverware. Kildare people need Silverware. Backdoor means more games and more scalps. This group have had that journey too many times.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 08:53:37 PM
Eye Gouging has no place in GAA. Expected more from such an experienced footballer and so called gentleman.

An ill advised tweet from @kevreilly1. I know the incident he is referring to but it was an unfortunate coming together, no way was it an attempted eye gouge.

Doyle was very quiet today, was he carrying an injury or is his heart not in it anymore post Seanie?
Post by: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 09:00:09 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 06:35:42 PM

You reap what you sow.

I have sympathy for the players especially the likes of Doyle and Earley but it's hard not to think we got what we deserve after the farce that went on yesterday.

Well done to Meath and I hope they repeat their performance in three weeks time.

For us outsiders, was moral that bad, was there a split camp with respect to Johnston. At the end of the day, Kildare have poor forwards who do not appear to be able to kick the ball over the bar.  I was at Q/final last year V Donegal, they had chances to kick at least 6-8 more points from play, from 50 yards in, did not convert and subsequently lost.

They should place Connor between 14 and 21, if he gets ball inside 14 he always seems to be bottled up, support play around him was poor. Bring on Dermot Earley was pure desperation and a poor decision. Are there no tricky/stylish forwards on bench.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 09:13:18 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 08:53:37 PM
Eye Gouging has no place in GAA. Expected more from such an experienced footballer and so called gentleman.

An ill advised tweet from @kevreilly1. I know the incident he is referring to but it was an unfortunate coming together, no way was it an attempted eye gouge.

Doyle was very quiet today, was he carrying an injury or is his heart not in it anymore post Seanie?

I saw the incident alright, and to be honest if it wasn't Dermot Earley I'd be a lot more suspicious, but it still looked bad. I knew Reilly was pissed when he came on, he was certainly fired up.

Post by: theticklemister on July 01, 2012, 09:16:19 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 01, 2012, 09:00:09 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 01, 2012, 06:35:42 PM

You reap what you sow.

For us outsiders, was moral that bad, was there a split camp with respect to Johnston. At the end of the day, Kildare have poor forwards who do not appear to be able to kick the ball over the bar.  I was at Q/final last year V Donegal, they had chances to kick at least 6-8 more points from play, from 50 yards in, did not convert and subsequently lost.

They should place Connor between 14 and 21, if he gets ball inside 14 he always seems to be bottled up, support play around him was poor. Bring on Dermot Earley was pure desperation and a poor decision. Are there no tricky/stylish forwards on bench.

Aye they have yer man Seanie something on the bench, he's not a bad forward!!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on July 01, 2012, 09:30:42 PM
as a neutral watching that today it would do yer heart the power of good. Excellent showing from Meath when (and lets be honest) not many gave them a prayer. They were excellent and played the game how it should be played. Simply put, the team with the better quality of footballer won today and it was good to see especially how the game is going this last lock years.
Kildare are undoubtedly in the top bracket when it comes to fitness, conditioning and work ethic but when it came down to a shoot-out they were shown up.
One thing ive noticed from this Kildare side over the recent years is this macho posturing bullshite of throwing their weight about and over-egging it physically. Noticed the no8 (Bolton?) push a guy in the back and chest 4 or 5 times times in space of 5/6 seconds while a free was about to be taken..i mean it wasnt even relevant to the passage of play and the guy he was doin it to didnt do anything to warrant this pushing and shoving nonsense...sickens ma hole that type of shite.

Well done Meath, a victory for football
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 09:38:42 PM
No wonder Kildare needed a bailout. I was watching the number of peolple run out from under the stand as part of the panel and backroom team. There must have been 40 or 50 people between officials, subs and backroom team.

Costly handling that. No austerity in kildare gaa it seems.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 09:42:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 09:13:18 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 08:53:37 PM

I saw the incident alright, and to be honest if it wasn't Dermot Earley I'd be a lot more suspicious, but it still looked bad. I knew Reilly was pissed when he came on, he was certainly fired up.

It looked bad on first view but on second you could see that Earley didn't realise Reilly had ducked his head. Should have kept his counsel, they'll prob mention it on TSG next. Takes away from their win.
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 09:47:26 PM
Not at all, and it was to Menton, not to Reilly. Reilly was brought in as a substitute for Menton following the incident. I didn't think it was intentional at the time, for the record, but I will need to see it again to be sure.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 01, 2012, 10:00:54 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 09:47:26 PM
Not at all, and it was to Menton, not to Reilly. Reilly was brought in as a substitute for Menton following the incident. I didn't think it was intentional at the time, for the record, but I will need to see it again to be sure.

You're right, it was Menton , which makes it even worse, why is Reilly making accusations on an incident he was 60+ metres from?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 10:02:28 PM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 01, 2012, 09:47:26 PM

I know it was Menton, but Reilly looked pissed when he came on after the incident, and I think he thought it was deliberate.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 10:12:01 PM
It was simply an accident - no hint of a deliberate attempt. I don't know any player who would do that. People are always too ready to assume the worst of players. Kevin Reilly should have more sense.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 10:13:07 PM
I have watched the incident on numerous occasions.

There's no way Earley went to gouge. Not a chance.

An accident.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 10:19:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 10:12:01 PM
It was simply an accident - no hint of a deliberate attempt. I don't know any player who would do that. People are always too ready to assume the worst of players. Kevin Reilly should have more sense.

Quite the opposite in this case Hardy, I'm assuming that it was an accident because of Earley's reputation and past behaviour. Reilly obviously thinks it was more sinister and i thought he had that in his head when he came on.
Post by: Bensars on July 01, 2012, 10:23:28 PM
I seen the replays and thought it was more clumsy than anything.  It wasnt helped however by some of the medical team that gestured towards the referee with two fingers imitating a eye gouging incident.
Post by: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:16:03 PM
Big question now is whether it'll be Olli Rehn or the Leinster Championship that'll land in Newbridge first.

Post by: agorm on July 01, 2012, 11:21:28 PM
Great win today and one of the most satisfying Meath games to attend in recent years. This was a much better victory than the Leinster win in 2010. Banty deserves full credit. Ciaran lenihan was struggling on Kavanagh early on and Banty replaced him with Harrington straight away. At half time there was a bit of a skirmish starting & banty dragged the meath players aside and settled them down before going in and Meath were still first out ready to start in the second half.
As others have said, there were great performances from Gillespie, Carroll, Forde and Tobin. Tobin's man got a few scores in the second half and the worry would be as to how we will cope with the Dubs forwards when they start to come in waves.

Kildare were very lack lustre today. i dont know why but i was certainly expecting an uptake in tempo from them in the second half but the sending off seemed to effect them more than it would to other counties. The sending off was harsh.

From a Meath point of view, the replay against Carlow brought us on a lot. However, I am not sure exactly where we are. The Louth and Carlow (1st game) were among the worst Meath games I have ever been at and one swallow doesnt make a  summer as they say. However, the things that were good about the performance were the things you want to be good and i am more positive about things than I have for a long time.

At this stage  I think that the Dubs will have too much in the tank for them but it is good to be back competing in a Leinster final again.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 01, 2012, 11:22:39 PM
Just to be clear.  What is the story with the square ball?

Is it that you can be in the square until the ball is kicked? 

On the Sunday Game they inimated that one of Kildares points should not have been allowed (where the forward punched the ball over the bar from a long kick in).
Post by: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:27:06 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 01, 2012, 11:22:39 PM
Just to be clear.  What is the story with the square ball?

Is it that you can be in the square until the ball is kicked? 

From play you can enter the square once the ball is kicked - hence it should have been a free out.

From a a free or sideline you cannot enter the square until the ball does - same as before.
Post by: orangeman on July 01, 2012, 11:27:52 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 01, 2012, 11:16:03 PM
Big question now is whether it'll be Olli Rehn or the Leinster Championship that'll land in Newbridge first.

As bad as that ?.
Post by: Royalranter on July 01, 2012, 11:46:00 PM
Gillespie was great today. I really hope he can push on from here. We haven't had A real top class midfielder since bigjohn and conor looked the part today. Fair play to all the young lads today, some great performances. We need good performance against the dubs to really bring them on. If we can get a belief into the younger guys that they can stand toe to toe with the top teams, it will bring Meath football a step closer to where we want to be.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 11:55:47 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 01, 2012, 10:19:15 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 01, 2012, 10:12:01 PM

Quite the opposite in this case Hardy, I'm assuming that it was an accident because of Earley's reputation and past behaviour. Reilly obviously thinks it was more sinister and i thought he had that in his head when he came on.

I understand your point, AZ. My comment wasn't aimed at you.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2012, 03:05:22 AM
Delighted to see the young lads step up.
Banty made the right calls at the right time.
Great to break the cycle of defeat to Kildare.
Dublin will hammer us though.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2012, 03:22:20 AM
Fear not Jinxy

I thought Dublin would hammer Wexford!
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 02, 2012, 03:33:31 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 02, 2012, 03:22:20 AM
Fear not Jinxy

I thought Dublin would hammer Wexford!

In fairness three games in row now that Wexford have put it up to Dublin.
Post by: Declan on July 02, 2012, 07:49:02 AM
Meath were fantastic yesterday. Best performance by them in years and the mood last night was one of joy, happiness and dare I say it a swagger ;) ;)
Based on the two games yesterday Meath would beat Dublin by 4/5 points as the difference in intensity between the two games was unbelievable.
However now that the traditional order of things has been restored in Leinster ;) I still think we'll beat de royals in 3 weeks
Post by: Go home ref on July 02, 2012, 11:56:07 AM
Same old problems from Kildare this time Meath were good enough to take advantage. Kildares shot selection was absolutely pathetic once again some of the wides were unforgivable ridiculous shots form tight angels when passes were available awful stuff! The red card was extremely harsh Collins is probably the worst ref in the GAA and that is saying something. Meath wanted it more and won all the key battles well done to them and I hope they go on and win Leinster now hopefully our lads will dust themselves down for the Cavan game now
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on July 02, 2012, 12:07:38 PM
No excuses or complaints, the clearly better team won. Congratulations to Meath.

Thought Kildare's problems stemmed from midfield and how predictable the big high balls on top of O'Connor were. If we solve those problems and avoid Kerry we're likely to get back to the AI quarters but I think we're ultimately not quite good enough to beat the top three. In fairness, that's what I thought before the Meath match as well. So it goes.

Of course the other major factor in Meath's victory was the fact that I booked flights home for the Leinster final. The result was inevitable the minute I did that.
Post by: shawshank on July 02, 2012, 12:21:57 PM
Delighted to see Banty prove all those Meath experts wrong yesterday. All the past greats involved in the media all qued up to take a pot at him. None giving him the backing he needed. Plenty of Meath posters here putting the boot in. Yesterday was one of the best Meath performances in along time. Banty has shown he has the ability, perhaps some of the Meath folk could get behind him. HE has changed the team with the introduction of young players. The number 5, 8 and 11 looked real quailty yesterday. Those who publically wanted to shame him could now publically show they were wrong. No doubt you will say that you were relegated to division three, but yesterday proved he is the right man for the job.
Post by: screenexile on July 02, 2012, 12:26:10 PM
Is it just me or is O'Connor not just an awful full forward? He offers very little close to goal other than a physical presence? Surely a switch between him and John Doyle was the move yesterday. O'Connor would seem to have the presence and the fitness to break up the Meath midfield while Doyle would have had the guile and skill closer to goal.

I think McGeeney needs to have another look at his tactics and strategy before they come up against another decent team!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 02, 2012, 12:26:40 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 02, 2012, 12:21:57 PM
...Those who pubically wanted to shame him could now publically show they were wrong. No doubt you will say that you were relegated to division three, but yesterday proved he is the right man for the job.

Taking his trousers off would have been a shaming too far I'd say!  ;)
Post by: rosnarun on July 02, 2012, 12:29:21 PM
Quote from: shawshank on July 02, 2012, 12:21:57 PM
Delighted to see Banty prove all those Meath experts wrong yesterday. All the past greats involved in the media all qued up to take a pot at him. None giving him the backing he needed. Plenty of Meath posters here putting the boot in. Yesterday was one of the best Meath performances in along time. Banty has shown he has the ability, perhaps some of the Meath folk could get behind him. HE has changed the team with the introduction of young players. The number 5, 8 and 11 looked real quailty yesterday. Those who pubically wanted to shame him could now publically show they were wrong. No doubt you will say that you were relegated to division three, but yesterday proved he is the right man for the job.

maybe Roy keane is right whaen a team play crap Critisism works better than unthinking support  as this was a very different meath to to the one weve seen for the last 2 years or so.
Post by: shawshank on July 02, 2012, 12:33:57 PM
The last two years!!! Was yesterday not the second time you had been in a lenister semi final in ten years?
Post by: thejuice on July 02, 2012, 12:40:40 PM
He has to win a Leinster title if he wants this job for next year I think. We did well in one game but haven't been amazing otherwise.

Harsh perhaps but that's how people might see it.

Beating Dublin, the All-Ireland champs in a Leinster final, might elevate him to sainthood though.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2012, 02:58:20 PM
Yes, everything is beautiful. Sweetness abounds. McEnaney is a genius.  Relegation didn't happen. The hammering by Louth was an illusion. The debacles, farces and screw-ups of the last eighteen months were only in our imaginations. John Evans and Trevor Giles are only there to make the tea. Start the bonfires now. Why wait until September?
Post by: agorm on July 02, 2012, 03:24:39 PM
I think that Banty's future will depend on how the team approaches and fares in the Leinster final as well as how they fare in the subsequent game(s). We dont want to be just gallant losers but, truth be told, this Dublin team are at a much more developed stage than we are now. If we put up a good performance with intelligent tactics and lose and then do well in the qualifiers then that would be sufficient in my mind for hm to keep his job. However, considering the happenings in Meath in recent years, this could go either way and there wont be too many punters placing bets on whether Banty will stay or go at the end of the season.
Post by: Sea The Stars on July 02, 2012, 03:39:12 PM
Banty should be left alone for 2013. There has been plenty of signs that he's putting together something special the most obvious been yesterday's performance.

My biggest criticism is that he has benefitted from some terrible luck. I mean how many injuries had he to deal with yesterday? Even the League, the momentum of two close defeats got out of hand and then we had the Tyrone and Louth shockers. The Meath supporters lost the plot after that Louth game, and looking back did their utmost in trying to write off Meath's season.

I can see already that the door is open for more bad luck with the Round 4 Qualifier fixed for the Saturday after the Leinster Final. Not that Banty will be looking that far ahead anyway but just imagine going down fighting against the All-Ireland champions and then having to pick ourselves to face a form team 6 days later.

I have not seen any debacles, farces or screw-ups under Banty's watch. Everything decision he has taken I could probably justify.
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2012, 03:40:46 PM
Quote from: Sea The Stars on July 02, 2012, 03:39:12 PM
I have not seen any debacles, farces or screw-ups under Banty's watch. Everything decision he has taken I could probably justify.

Bringing back Geraghty and not informing his selectors was a big mistake though imo
Post by: heffo on July 02, 2012, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: Thastheball on July 02, 2012, 03:51:12 PM
Quote from: heffo on July 02, 2012, 03:40:46 PM

Bringing back Geraghty and not informing his selectors was a big mistake though imo

I think the selector was not informed as he was going behind Bantys bad trying to do a judas on him

Hadn't heard that - fair play to Banty for sticking to his guns anyway - they'll have no fear of Dublin in the Leinster Final.
Post by: agorm on July 02, 2012, 04:16:17 PM
Banty should be left alone for 2013. There has been plenty of signs that he's putting together something special the most obvious been yesterday's performance.

My biggest criticism is that he has benefitted from some terrible luck. I mean how many injuries had he to deal with yesterday? Even the League, the momentum of two close defeats got out of hand and then we had the Tyrone and Louth shockers. The Meath supporters lost the plot after that Louth game, and looking back did their utmost in trying to write off Meath's season.

I can see already that the door is open for more bad luck with the Round 4 Qualifier fixed for the Saturday after the Leinster Final. Not that Banty will be looking that far ahead anyway but just imagine going down fighting against the All-Ireland champions and then having to pick ourselves to face a form team 6 days later.

I thought that the GAA had planned the qualifiers to ensure that beaten finalists did not have to play the following week.
Post by: Sarge on July 02, 2012, 04:22:37 PM
Kildare thought that they had to turn up yesterday, they got their come ups ins. They believe their own hype about this team but are they really any use?
Post by: thejuice on July 02, 2012, 06:32:12 PM
Quote from: Sarge on July 02, 2012, 04:22:37 PM
come ups ins.

comeuppance

come·up·pance/kəˈməpəns/

Noun:   
A punishment or fate that someone deserves
Post by: Sarge on July 02, 2012, 06:34:10 PM
comeuppance

come·up·pance/kəˈməpəns/

Noun:   
A punishment or fate that someone deserves

Bless  ;D
Post by: emmetryan on July 02, 2012, 08:47:56 PM
I've put together a tactical analysis piece on this for anyone interested
http://action81.com/blog/?p=5929
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 08:55:04 AM
Very good, Emmet. There's one phrase in there I don't understand. What's a line break?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 03, 2012, 11:35:54 AM
For Hardy

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty2.jpg)

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/bjjk.jpg)

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty1.jpg)

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty3.jpeg)
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 11:45:22 AM
Excellent, Croi.
Post by: emmetryan on July 03, 2012, 11:56:01 AM
Essentially it's when a player in possession runs through a defensive line into open space. Kildare had previously been rather good at stopping these but were at sea on Sunday.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2012, 12:03:43 PM
That's one of Hardy's pet peeves emmet. He knows exactly what you mean, but he is railing against it entering the GAA vernacular because it is a term taken from Rugby. Unfortunately it is now apporopriate in a lot of our games, but in fairness I didn't think Sunday's game was overly defensive and so 'line break' might be stretching it a bit.
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 02:49:24 PM
Ah shag it. I had a half page typed and  lost it. I haven't  time to repeat it.

AZ – the reason  asked the question is not because I knew what it meant, but the opposite. I suspected it was claptrap imported from rugby. I still suspect that, notwithstanding Emmet's explanation.  Can someone tell me where this line is, the breaking of which is so significant? Or are we just talking about breaking tackles?
Post by: camanchero on July 03, 2012, 03:07:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 02:49:24 PM

AZ – the reason  asked the question is not because I knew what it meant, but the opposite. I suspected it was claptrap imported from rugby. I still suspect that, notwithstanding Emmet's explanation.  Can someone tell me where this line is, the breaking of which is so significant? Or are we just talking about breaking tackles?
its something to do with snaffling, offloading, gain lines and blind sides.
fcuk all to do withGaelic football - but then again we have a few weird 'phrases' of our own - breaking ball, square ball,third man tackle, shemozzle etc etc
Post by: applemad on July 03, 2012, 03:43:38 PM
Meath won because the team meath fielded on Sunday were 100%behind Banty and the management. The dissenters were either injured or of the panel. For Meath its now onwards and upwards and good luck to them.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 03, 2012, 04:19:44 PM
I agree hardy, it's a rubbish term imported from Rugby which has defensive lines strung across the pitch. Thus any break through that line, WWI style over the top, is a 'line break'. Another good one is the gain line. Another rugby term, the gain line is an imaginary line across the width of the pitch where the ball was last stationary, ruck, scrum, whatever. If you carry it past that point, you've broken the gain line.

People are applying these terms to gaelic where it's not really appropriate except in the most extreme examples of the blanket defence, and lads running straight into the tackle to try and get behind a line of lads strung out.

I don't think the Kildare-Meath game had any such defensive barriers really, and its seldom so pronounced that you can call it a gain line, or a line break.

Mind you I did see Westmeath and Offaly play a horror show, bastardised attempt at aping these systems a few years ago, and that was as close as you can get to these terms being applicable in our game. Westmeath strung at least 7 lads in a straight line along their half back line, and Offaly, to counter it, did EXACTLY the same. It was bizarre. Offaly would get it, pass sideways, and run into the line like a poor man's Crimean War charge of the light brigade. Into the valley of death soloed the 4 half forwards.

They'd be dispossessed, and Westmeath would run at Offaly in precisely the same way, normally with the same result. Westmeath had a bit of Class with Dessie on the day that made the difference, but other than that it was like these battle re-enactment societies doing a multicoloured staging of the Battle of the Somme. Over the top lads!!! peeeeeeep!!!
Post by: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 04:42:36 PM
Good stuff, AZ.  Well described. A few good laughs here today. You'd nearly forget it was still Winter.
Post by: rrhf on July 03, 2012, 05:22:35 PM
Quote from: applemad on July 03, 2012, 03:43:38 PM
Meath won because the team meath fielded on Sunday were 100%behind Banty and the management. The dissenters were either injured or of the panel. For Meath its now onwards and upwards and good luck to them.
Is that a dig at Mc Geeneys management, Hardy and the dissenting Meath folk, or a totally genuine belief that Banty and the management was the key factor in Meath V Kildare Leinster semi final.  The 3rd is surely the least likely from an assumedly sensible man.....   
Post by: AQMP on July 03, 2012, 05:26:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 04:42:36 PM
Good stuff, AZ.  Well described. A few good laughs here today. You'd nearly forget it was still Winter.

How long before someone describes farting about handpassing in midfield as making "the hard yards"
Post by: applemad on July 03, 2012, 06:36:21 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 03, 2012, 05:22:35 PM
Quote from: applemad on July 03, 2012, 03:43:38 PM
Is that a dig at Mc Geeneys management, Hardy and the dissenting Meath folk, or a totally genuine belief that Banty and the management was the key factor in Meath V Kildare Leinster semi final.  The 3rd is surely the least likely from an assumedly sensible man.....   

No rrhf, It isnt a dig at anyone. I do know that 4/5 players were making life unbearable for Banty and were anti him from early days. Mr me John Evans will undoubtedly be held as the man who changed all, but I take my hat of to Banty and his background team. Well done. Meath are a proud county and this last few years hasnt been kind to them. They came North a good few years ago and played at the opening of our pitch . Along with Sean Boylan they were excellent ambassadors for the Royal county. Ever since that I have had a soft spot for them. I will travel to Dublin to see them in the final. Its not a dig at Hardy or any other Meath supporters. I do think though that a few around Navan might not have been so happy.
Post by: emmetryan on July 03, 2012, 08:58:12 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 03, 2012, 02:49:24 PM

Well I don't see it the same as Rugby to be honest the near similarity in terms of action would actually be soccer, although they'd call it banks there rather than lines but 'line break' as a term seems like a reasonable brief way of describing what's going on.

As far as importing terms in general goes, I've nothing terribly against it. My day job involves covering a broad range of sports for a betting firm (not a well known one and I'm not naming it here but if you really need to know PM me) and I tend to use terms from all sports over and back depending on where I find a good fit. I do know my Rugby friends get well annoyed when I start using American Football terms in talking about it!
Post by: demusicman on July 04, 2012, 01:26:00 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 03, 2012, 11:35:54 AM
For Hardy

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty2.jpg)

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/bjjk.jpg)
BEAN AN TI

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty1.jpg)

(http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/banty3.jpeg)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2012, 11:51:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 03, 2012, 04:19:44 PMMind you I did see Westmeath and Offaly play a horror show, bastardised attempt at aping these systems a few years ago, and that was as close as you can get to these terms being applicable in our game. Westmeath strung at least 7 lads in a straight line along their half back line, and Offaly, to counter it, did EXACTLY the same. It was bizarre. Offaly would get it, pass sideways, and run into the line like a poor man's Crimean War charge of the light brigade. Into the valley of death soloed the 4 half forwards.

They'd be dispossessed, and Westmeath would run at Offaly in precisely the same way, normally with the same result. Westmeath had a bit of Class with Dessie on the day that made the difference, but other than that it was like these battle re-enactment societies doing a multicoloured staging of the Battle of the Somme. Over the top lads!!! peeeeeeep!!!

Ah it was a bit more sophisticated than that. It's true to say we dropped back our half forwards and looked to suck the tackler in but once we broke the ball/forced the over carry the two wing backs, Natchie & Healy, took off. Like Donegal this year our pace on the break was key. It was no coincidence that both notched points and goals throughout that year as once they got away from their "markers" they couldn't be caught. Dessie notched a couple of outrageous points that day but I don't think he was the difference, IMO that result was never in doubt. Westmeath had worked hard on their system during a successful league campaign wheras Offaly looked to ape it for one game only, they were never gonna make up the experience difference. I do like the flowery description though.  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 12:09:51 PM
QuoteWestmeath had worked hard on their system during a successful league campaign wheras Offaly looked to ape it for one game only, they were never gonna make up the experience difference.

Absolutely. But on the day itself, because Offaly tried to ape it the spectacle was even worse than normally was the case in those blanket defenses. And Dessie did make the difference, he got Shane Sullivan sent off. :D

Shane liked the experience so much he has continued to get early baths on a regular basis since then.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 05, 2012, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 03, 2012, 05:26:47 PM

How long before someone describes farting about handpassing in midfield as making "the hard yards"

Or how long before we hear "the ball up the jersey" as the attacking team "recycle the ball for 2nd phase possession"?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:12:08 PM
Bit of an angry man is your Shane, was up to some interesting things on O'Connor a few weeks ago...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2012, 12:23:32 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 12:09:51 PM
But on the day itself, because Offaly tried to ape it the spectacle was even worse than normally was the case in those blanket defenses.

Was a fine spectacle from where I was sitting.  :P Remind me on the Sullivan sending off?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 01:19:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:12:08 PM
Bit of an angry man is your Shane, was up to some interesting things on O'Connor a few weeks ago...

Absolutely, he has a discipline problem. It's unfortunate because he had/has potential, but he simply lets himself and us down with discipline issues.

QuoteWas a fine spectacle from where I was sitting.  :P Remind me on the Sullivan sending off?

He very accidentally glanced off Dessie over in front of the stand. The large Westmeath crowd there in the stand went bananas and Shane got the showers to himself. PS. The previous two sentences may be downplayed slightly to protect the guilty.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 05, 2012, 01:50:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 01:19:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 05, 2012, 12:12:08 PM

Absolutely, he has a discipline problem. It's unfortunate because he had/has potential, but he simply lets himself and us down with discipline issues.

QuoteWas a fine spectacle from where I was sitting.  :P Remind me on the Sullivan sending off?

He very accidentally glanced off Dessie over in front of the stand. The large Westmeath crowd there in the stand went bananas and Shane got the showers to himself. PS. The previous two sentences may be downplayed slightly to protect the guilty.

Ah yes, now I remember, needless "tackle".
Post by: AZOffaly on July 05, 2012, 01:51:34 PM
Yep. Not atypical, unfortunately. As I said he has a lot of upside, but he just destroys himself.
Post by: Hardy on July 05, 2012, 04:45:57 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 05, 2012, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 03, 2012, 05:26:47 PM

Or how long before we hear "the ball up the jersey" as the attacking team "recycle the ball for 2nd phase possession"?

We're just about there already. I forgot, until you mentioned it, that I heard two separate commentators/analysts at the weekend talking about phases of possession. I'm not certain I remember correctly who they were, so no names, but one said something like that a team (Tyrone, I think) was going through the phases of possession and the other that most scores these days are off the "second phase" of possession. Who'd have believed we'd have to listen to such shite.

Ah feck the "no names" - it was Sidebottom, I'm almost sure, with the "second phase".