GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ross4life on June 14, 2012, 10:01:41 PM

Title: Connacht Minor football championship 2012
Post by: ross4life on June 14, 2012, 10:01:41 PM
Quarter final
23rd June Leitrim v Roscommon - Carrick on Shannon - 5pm
Semi finals
24th June Mayo v Sligo - McHale park - 1:30pm
30th June Galway v Leitrim/Roscommon -  Tuam or Salthill
Final
15th July  ------        v     -------- - 12pm - Dr Hyde park or Salthill

So this championship gets underway in 9 days time. Us having won last years championship & the league in April will be favourites but the favourites tag rarely sit well with us, in 2007 we were highly fancied but Galway went on to win Connacht & the All Ireland.

As for the others..

Sligo their school teams did really well in the Connacht championship this year, in 2010 they had a decent U-16 team faced us in the Ted Webb cup final & won Fr. Manning Cup.

Mayo will be determined to win back the Connacht title. Hard to judge them on league form as they rarely played the same team. Before last year Mayo won three in row Connacht titles would be foolish to write them off.

Galway With some key players to return like Cunningham,McCormack,Meeneghan they will be a different outfit than the one we defeated in the league. One of their teams won the Ted Webb cup last year & St. Jarlaths won another Connacht title last Feb.

Leitrim Judging by their last two league results they are much improved from last year but would be a huge disappointment if we don't defeat them.

Promises to be a good championship shame no back door like in Munster or leinster but the two that come out of Connacht will give the All Ireland series a good rattle.
Title: Re: Connacht Minor football championship 2012
Post by: western exile on June 14, 2012, 10:13:43 PM
Fair play ross4life. Keep the board alive in the aftermath of the slaughter in Gdansk with the other ball
Post by: Rossfan on June 14, 2012, 10:31:51 PM
That rubbish in Poland is "other " ball.
Connacht Minor Championship is REAL FOOTBALL played by real people i.e people you can meet as you go about your daily grind.
We'll be expected to do well again this year what with our 2011 exploits and our eague showing but things don't necessarily work out like that.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 14, 2012, 10:41:47 PM
Not overly optimistic about Mayo's minors this year. At least the game v Sligo is doubled up. That should bring a few extra to see the game at least.
Post by: Syferus on June 14, 2012, 11:15:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 14, 2012, 10:31:51 PM
That rubbish in Poland is "other " ball.
Connacht Minor Championship is REAL FOOTBALL played by real people i.e people you can meet as you go about your daily grind.
We'll be expected to do well again this year what with our 2011 exploits and our eague showing but things don't necessarily work out like that.

I had always thought Shay was a hologram myself, y'know, like that Joe Dolan one.
Post by: moysider on June 15, 2012, 12:22:03 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 14, 2012, 10:41:47 PM
Not overly optimistic about Mayo's minors this year. At least the game v Sligo is doubled up. That should bring a few extra to see the game at least.

Me neither. And not too bothered to be honest. But I think at least 3 of the lads will go on to be quality seniors and that is the most important thing as far as I m concerned. The last 2 years showing would indicate that we will not be that competitive and that is just the way it has turned out. Disappointing but it happens But we will probably get more serious senior players from this lot than from the hothouse teams.
Post by: Syferus on June 15, 2012, 12:27:12 AM
It's always better to have players used to winning at under-age than not. The positives far out-weigh the negatives.
Post by: moysider on June 15, 2012, 12:49:35 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 15, 2012, 12:27:12 AM
It's always better to have players used to winning at under-age than not. The positives far out-weigh the negatives.

Maybe. Wont argue. But quality individuals will out in the long run imo.
Post by: ross4life on June 15, 2012, 01:13:03 AM
Quote from: moysider on June 15, 2012, 12:49:35 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 15, 2012, 12:27:12 AM

Maybe. Wont argue. But quality individuals will out in the long run imo.

You have a point about individuals becoming future players, e.g most of our U-21s this year didn't win anything at minor level but minor is separate competition one where your team can be the best in Connacht or Ireland how can one be "not too bothered" about that.

Post by: Rossfan on June 15, 2012, 10:55:42 AM
Just the Mayowestros bucks getting their retaliation in early  ;D
Post by: Syferus on June 19, 2012, 01:26:53 AM
Late night.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 21, 2012, 05:15:55 PM
The Mayo Minor Football team to face Sligo this Sunday 24th June at 1.30p.m. in Elverys MacHale Park in the Connacht Minor Football Championship Semi-Final is as follows:

1. Conor O'Malley - Westport
2. David McHale - Knockmore
3. Sean Moran - Kiltimagh
4. Kevin Lynch - Mayo Gaels
5. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
6. Cian Burke - Ardnaree Sarsfields
7. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
8. Brian Mullen - Westport
9. Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels (Capt.)
10. Eoghan Lavin - Kiltimagh
11. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
13. Darren Duffy - Aghamore
14. Shane Hennelly - Shrule/Glencorrib
15. Sean Regan - Ballina Stephenites

16. Marcus Moylette - Islandeady
17. Joe Geraghty - Ballintubber
18. John Moylette - Ballina Stephenites
19. Conor Langan - Ballina Stephenites
20. Donal Ronayne - Davitts
21. Ryan Coleman - Castlebar Mitchels
22. Conor Byrne - Aghamore
23. James Quinn - Ballinrobe
24. Val Roughneen - Balla
Post by: Syferus on June 21, 2012, 05:50:32 PM
What's with us an not naming teams until the last second? It's less than 48 hours until we play Leitrim.
Post by: ross4life on June 21, 2012, 06:40:25 PM
Looking at the above Mayo team it's much changed from the side that faced us in the league i only count 7 remaining but then again 0-4 in 60mins it's no wonder. Isn't Diarmuid O'Connor Cillian's brother & Eoghan Lavin son of the former goalkeeper Eugene Lavin?

Still awaiting the Sligo,Leitrim,Roscommon teams.
Post by: Rossfan on June 21, 2012, 09:05:08 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 21, 2012, 05:50:32 PM
What's with us an not naming teams until the last second? It's less than 48 hours until we play Leitrim.
Only names that count are those given to the Ref on the páipéar oifigiúil .  ;)
Post by: sans pessimism on June 21, 2012, 09:12:29 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 21, 2012, 06:40:25 PM
Looking at the above Mayo team it's much changed from the side that faced us in the league i only count 7 remaining but then again 0-4 in 60mins it's no wonder. Isn't Diarmuid O'Connor Cillian's brother & Eoghan Lavin son of the former goalkeeper Eugene Lavin?

Still awaiting the Sligo,Leitrim,Roscommon teams.
Cillian is Diarmuid's brother!!
Post by: ross4life on June 23, 2012, 05:18:45 PM
18mins gone we lead 2-5 to 1-0 but playing with a strong wind
Post by: ross4life on June 23, 2012, 05:31:37 PM
Ht 2-7 to 1-0
Post by: ross4life on June 23, 2012, 06:16:11 PM
Ft roscommon 4-15 leitrim 2-3
Post by: Tubberman on June 23, 2012, 07:12:54 PM
Christ, that's some beating. Ros setting the standard in Connacht at minor grade again
Post by: ross4life on June 23, 2012, 08:35:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 23, 2012, 07:12:54 PM
Christ, that's some beating. Ros setting the standard in Connacht at minor grade again

I don't know about that, after getting some good results in the league Leitrim were beyond poor today. Galway also beat Leitrim by a big score last year before playing us & in 2009 we beat Leitrim by 17pts but didn't win Connacht.

Galway v Roscommon should be a good game next weekend shame no back door for the loser.
Post by: Syferus on June 23, 2012, 08:41:14 PM
Great performance, with our goal-mouth defence being the only weakness. We can be sure Galway will try and pepper the ball into the square early and often and we need to be prepared for it.

Mannion, our keeper, stood locked in place for Leitrim's first goal and had another dicey moment later in the first half. Not much could be done about the second goal and he did make a good save mid-way through the second half. He needs to keep his spirits up and work on dealing with inside-line breaks better, but I'm sure he can do it.

Going forward we were magnifcant, passing, shooting, but most of all we looked strong out there - Leitrim could hardly get a strip or a break from us. Lots of intelligent play too and if we can keep that up next week Galway won't be able to live with us.

I thought Corcoran looked great out there and if anything I'd have given him the MotM over Harney (who was also excellent). He missed a couple kicks but both were very close to the target and had little to do with rust and more to do with the wind. He was everywhere, defence, midfield, attack and he looks so calm on the ball, he's clearly growing into a serious leader on the team.

Likewise Enda Smith showed no signs of rust, but it's so hard to pick out forwards - Finn, Mcmanus, Casserly, Murtagh and Gunning all played spectacularly. If I picked one it'd have to be Finn, whose pace and shooting were wonderful all day.

The younger Compton wasn't even named in the first 24, which is either an indication of him picking up a knock or the strength in depth of the panel.

We were completely ruthless and never let up, a repeat performance next week and we can be picking up our tickets for the Hyde on July 15th.
Post by: Rossfan on June 23, 2012, 11:25:26 PM
For fcuk sake Syferus will you please stop getting ahead of yourself.
Laythrum were beyond poor today and we'll never get it as handy against the herrins so we won't be having a repeat performance.
We looked good alright but.... remember Galway Seniors were nearly declared All Ireland Champions after they bet us and you know what happened.
As for today ... we were so superior at times it was embarassing and we took the foot off the pedal a few times.
However Gareth drove them on in the latter stages and we ran up the 4-15 handy enough.
Any hope of a game from Leitrim ended with our 3rd goal a minute after half time ( Kevin Finn wasnt it?)
McKenna , the 2 midfield man and all the forwards looked the part today with Enda Smith being the best player on view in my opinion.
However the quality of the opposition left a lot to be desired.
By the way I wonder what age the Laythrum no 10 is? Not even Ronnie Drew could have had a beard like that at 18
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2012, 12:04:37 AM
Ease it on the pedal, brother.

No one is saying Leitrim were world beaters but likewise it had plenty to do with us shutting them down. That's a team that caused plenty of trouble in the minor league only a few weeks ago and we had them mopped up after ten minutes.

The next match is a game between two of last year's All-Ireland semi-finalists, obviously a big step up. That said there's no reason to think that we can't go to Tuam with more than a wing and a prayer - save from improving our goal-mouth defence we've got the capacity to win, with a very good midfield pairing being complemented by talented forwards and attacking half-backs. If we get on the front foot most teams in the country would have difficulty coping with what we displayed today. The talent's there, we just need a performance.
Post by: maigheo on June 24, 2012, 02:13:13 PM
mayo 1.04 sligo 0.01 ht. Mayo with the wind for the second half.
Post by: spuds on June 24, 2012, 02:15:21 PM
Quote from: maigheo on June 24, 2012, 02:13:13 PM
mayo 1.04 sligo 0.03 ht. Mayo with the wind for the second half.
1-4 to 0-1
Mayo should be further ahead, not very clinical missing out on 2/3 clear goal chances and a scatter of points. Sligo look poor.
Post by: maigheo on June 24, 2012, 02:35:08 PM
mayo 1.06 sligo 0.03. adam gallagher with 1.02
Post by: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 02:42:19 PM
1-6 0-5 12mins to go.
Post by: maigheo on June 24, 2012, 02:47:34 PM
mayo 1.06 sligo 0.06 .7 min to go.Sligo with the last 3 pts
Post by: spuds on June 24, 2012, 02:48:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 02:42:19 PM
1-6 0-5 12mins to go.
1-6 to 6 now. Sligo better team in second.
Post by: Syferus on June 24, 2012, 02:55:43 PM
Close old battle, how many of the Summerhill players are on the Sligo panel?
Post by: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 02:56:23 PM
A Mayo softish penalty the difference between the sides the winner of the Galway v Roscommon game will be favourites to win the final.
Post by: maigheo on June 24, 2012, 02:56:39 PM
mayo 1.06 sligo 0.06 ft
Post by: spuds on June 24, 2012, 03:03:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 02:56:23 PM
A Mayo softish penalty the difference between the sides the winner of the Galway v Roscommon game will be favourites to win the final.
Agreed. Poor Mayo performance, especially in the second half. Lot of lads went missing around middle for that second half. Standard was disappointing. Penalty seemed soft, ref very fussy throughout, booking needlessly. Lot to work on for final.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 24, 2012, 03:04:34 PM
Seems our lads first half nerves and the ref got Mayo over the line. Feck it anyway. I was quietly confident for this team if we didn't freeze. Now their summer is over.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 24, 2012, 06:35:59 PM
Poor enough from Mayo, but nothing unexpected. Good that they are in the quarters now either way. A potential final against Ros in the Hyde though seems like it would be a tall order for our lads. The lad Gallagher sounds promising however. Hopefully the two extra games will bring these players on regardless of outcome.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 24, 2012, 06:41:11 PM
Massive improvement needed the next day out. As magpie seanie said, the game was there for the taking and Sligo's nerves prevented them for taking it esp in the first half. Was more relieved to have gotten the win than anything else. Will probably lose to Ros/Galway on that performance but have another game in the last 8 to redeem themselves, saying that, they've 3 weeks to work on the performance.
Post by: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 06:53:17 PM
Hard to judge Mayo minors TBH, I remember in 2009 they didn't look up to much in final v us but went on to win the replay & were damn close to winning the AI Ireland. As i said already the winner of next weekends game will be favourites & that should suit Mayo.

On another note the Connacht final loser will likely to be paired with Tipp whom have about 11 of last years team.
Post by: ross4life on June 24, 2012, 09:50:25 PM
Roscommon v Galway set for Saturday at 5:30pm in Tuam Stadium.
Post by: Mano on June 25, 2012, 09:47:57 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 24, 2012, 02:55:43 PM

4 starters from Summerhill and 5 from Attractas. Our soccer friends >:( unfortunately got their hands on 2 players from Summerhill. 1 was captain and centre back of this team at under 16 level.
From listening to the radio it sounded as if we kicked the game away and didn't score when with the wind in the firat half and when we had momentum in the second.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 25, 2012, 10:07:07 AM
Keeper didn't make the Summerhill team but should have.
Post by: spuds on June 25, 2012, 10:57:36 AM
Quote from: Mano on June 25, 2012, 09:47:57 AM

4 starters from Summerhill and 5 from Attractas. Our soccer friends >:( unfortunately got their hands on 2 players from Summerhill. 1 was captain and centre back of this team at under 16 level.
From listening to the radio it sounded as if we kicked the game away and didn't score when with the wind in the firat half and when we had momentum in the second.
In both games teams done most scoring into the Davitt house/Albany end. Sligo no. 11 is a lovely footballer, ran the show in the second half. His man Mayo centre back looked good in first half but couldn't handle him afterwards.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 25, 2012, 01:04:26 PM
Yeah that's Criostoir Davey. Fine player alright.
Post by: moysider on June 25, 2012, 03:22:21 PM

Because of the concentration of Summerhill and Attracta players I expected Sligo to be a tight knit bunch that knew what they were at. But they were hopeless in the first half and Mayo could have had the game won twice before half time if they were not so careless with their goal chances. The peno was a correct call also.

Mayo were abject in the second half and if we had lost it would have been a well deserved kick in the hole.

We were totally cleaned out in the middle of the field and there was damn all done to rectify the situation. Seánie Regan is probably the best winner of hard ball in the 15 and he was left stuck in the corner unsupplied for the duration of the game. With the wind in the second half Mayo were just hanging on for last 20 mins.

The annoying thing from a Mayo point of view is that there are many fine individuals but the package yet again is substandard.

Criostóir Davey is indeed a fine player and was fed with a bottomless supply of easy ball in the second half and Cian Burke did a fine job tracking him pushing him wide and limiting the damage he could have done.

Burke is one of our top players and a few of his bursts should have led to game clinching scores. Sometimes he tries to play too much ball at the wrong time but is quality. The whole defence played well. Great pace in players like Durcan, Lynch and mom Michael Plunkett (maybe should be switched to forwards). Gallagher is another top player but perhaps not a midfielder(started at wing forward anyway I think?). He nearly always does the right thing and great engine. Kicked the peno brilliantly.

Forwards were a bit of a rabble I m afraid. To be fair there were scores in them but the whiteout in midfield reduced them to the role of spectators for the second half. O Connor and Lavin tried hard and I was surprised Lavin was subbed. Coen will improve and Hennelly will do damage if he gets ball. Ditto Seanie Regan had the beating of his man all day but no ball.

They might look at playing likes of Regan in the middle or something with just Hennelly and and maybe Coen inside. I m not holding my breath though. Unless some serious improvement can be found, then these lads face 2 more difficult days out.
Post by: ross4life on June 25, 2012, 04:14:51 PM
Ciaran O'Connor scored 9pts for Sligo in Fr Manning cup final two years ago what happened to him?
Post by: Mano on June 25, 2012, 04:20:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 25, 2012, 04:14:51 PM
Ciaran O’Connor scored 9pts for Sligo in Fr Manning cup final two years ago what happened to him?
A sub and Padraig Leonard scored 4 from my own club. I don't know if he is injured or not but was not on the panel
Post by: spuds on June 25, 2012, 07:48:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 25, 2012, 03:22:21 PM

Because of the concentration of Summerhill and Attracta players I expected Sligo to be a tight knit bunch that knew what they were at. But they were hopeless in the first half and Mayo could have had the game won twice before half time if they were not so careless with their goal chances. The peno was a correct call also.

Mayo were abject in the second half and if we had lost it would have been a well deserved kick in the hole.

We were totally cleaned out in the middle of the field and there was damn all done to rectify the situation. Seánie Regan is probably the best winner of hard ball in the 15 and he was left stuck in the corner unsupplied for the duration of the game. With the wind in the second half Mayo were just hanging on for last 20 mins.

The annoying thing from a Mayo point of view is that there are many fine individuals but the package yet again is substandard.

Criostóir Davey is indeed a fine player and was fed with a bottomless supply of easy ball in the second half and Cian Burke did a fine job tracking him pushing him wide and limiting the damage he could have done.

Burke is one of our top players and a few of his bursts should have led to game clinching scores. Sometimes he tries to play too much ball at the wrong time but is quality. The whole defence played well. Great pace in players like Durcan, Lynch and mom Michael Plunkett (maybe should be switched to forwards). Gallagher is another top player but perhaps not a midfielder(started at wing forward anyway I think?). He nearly always does the right thing and great engine. Kicked the peno brilliantly.

Forwards were a bit of a rabble I m afraid. To be fair there were scores in them but the whiteout in midfield reduced them to the role of spectators for the second half. O Connor and Lavin tried hard and I was surprised Lavin was subbed. Coen will improve and Hennelly will do damage if he gets ball. Ditto Seanie Regan had the beating of his man all day but no ball.

They might look at playing likes of Regan in the middle or something with just Hennelly and and maybe Coen inside. I m not holding my breath though. Unless some serious improvement can be found, then these lads face 2 more difficult days out.
[/quote
Think Gallagher played first half at centerfield, started second on wing. Not a midfielder IMO, would do untold damage in forwards. Lavin went down with what looked like cramp after about 10 minutes of second half, looks a right player.
Lot of talent there, hope we get the best out of them. 
Post by: criostlinn on June 25, 2012, 09:38:12 PM
Pretty poor game to honest but considering a lot of lads just finished leaving cert I expect Mayo to improve. I heard  a lot of talk about this Sligo minor team and Id say they disapointed a lot of people yesterday.  Always great to get to the final so you get a back door game at least. A good year at minor can be the making of some lads.

Have to say from where I was sitting it looked like a stone wall penalty. Was the Mayo forward not rugby tackled to the ground. I didnt think it was controversial at all and that the Sligo lad just panicked.

Post by: ross4life on June 28, 2012, 10:52:40 PM
Galway Minor Team

1   Rory Lavelle
2   Adrian Nolan
3   James Kennedy
4   Evan Wynne
5   Liam Silke
6   Conor Cunningham (Capt)
7   Eoin Kerin
8   Stephen Lawless
9   Michael Day
10   Jason Lyons
11   Barry McHugh
12   Alan Meenaghan
13   Eoin McCormack
14   Gary Kelly
15   Sean Hughes
Subs
16   James Birch
17   Jack Parsons
18   Johnny Heaney
19   Gerard Gibbons
20   Cathal Slattery
21   Colin Lyons
22   Myles Upton
24   Cathal Reilly
Post by: macdanger2 on June 28, 2012, 11:02:04 PM
Rossies are favorites with the bookies anyway depsite being away
Post by: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 12:59:35 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 28, 2012, 11:02:04 PM

It's a long time since we were favorites v Galway away at any level. I guess it speaks volumes for how well we have done at underage level these last 6/7 years.

It's a much changed Galway team from the one we played in the league so i can't read much into that result.

Post by: Crete Boom on June 29, 2012, 04:28:53 PM
 Is there many of last years Rossie minor team still underage? I was a th the tipp game last year and was impressed. With a little more composure (especially in the second half) and they would have taken the premier lads.
Post by: Rossfan on June 29, 2012, 05:10:23 PM
5 or 6 off the top of my head - E Smith,Corcoran,Finn,McManus , Gunning .......
Post by: Lar Naparka on June 29, 2012, 07:31:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 12:59:35 AM

It's a long time since we were favorites v Galway away at any level. I guess it speaks volumes for how well we have done at underage level these last 6/7 years.

It's a much changed Galway team from the one we played in the league so i can't read much into that result.

You seem to have excellent underage structures alright. Those who are responsible deserve credit, especially as you don't have the player numbers Galway and Mayo have.

But you do appear too have a problem in common with the Big Two and that is that it's proving difficult to get young lads to develop into good senior players.
I'd imagine that many of those on the senior side who belly-upped against Galway this year were promising underage players in their time.
Post by: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 07:50:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 29, 2012, 05:10:23 PM

Another two off the top of my head is Tadhg McKenna came off the bench in a few games last year & Brian Fannon captain during the league was part of the panel

Quote from: Lar Naparka on June 29, 2012, 07:31:54 PM

You seem to have excellent underage structures alright. Those who are responsible deserve credit, especially as you don’t have the player numbers Galway and Mayo have.

But you do appear too have a problem in common with the Big Two and that is that it’s proving difficult to get young lads to develop into good senior players.
I’d imagine that many of those on the senior side who belly-upped against Galway this year were promising underage players in their time.

Yes has been some great work done behind the scenes but it needs to continue if we are to compete at senior level in the years ahead.

Only 5 of the team (Keenan,Carty,Shine,McDermott,Domican) that started v Galway won something at underage level i'd say most of Mayo's current 15 has won something at underage level.

Post by: Syferus on June 29, 2012, 07:58:09 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 29, 2012, 04:28:53 PM
Is there many of last years Rossie minor team still underage? I was a th the tipp game last year and was impressed. With a little more composure (especially in the second half) and they would have taken the premier lads.

The big problem in all our games last year was incredibly slow starts, it took us until the 40th v Tipp to really kick into gear and by then Tipp had a solid lead and played very deep defence, but that was our own fault for letting them get into the position to begin with. The Tipp game was easily our weakest all year too.

The key second year players would be Thomas Corcoran (his dead legged last minute 45 against Armagh has already entered local folklore), Enda Smith (brother of Donie, and looking every bit as impressive as Donie did last year) and Kevin Finn, who was instrumental in the fight backs against Armagh and Tipp.

Overall though it was lads like Rhudhri McManus, Ultan Harney and Diarmud Murtagh who have been most impressive in the sense we already know how fantastic lad year's starters are, lads that got bedded in last season are really thriving now.

I'm just incredibly proud of the work these lads and the coaches have put in from u14 up, to be in a position of going to the home of last year's All-Ireland semi-finalists as favourites speaks volumes about how far we've came over the last half decade and more.
Post by: moysider on June 29, 2012, 10:34:52 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 07:50:43 PM

Another two off the top of my head is Tadhg McKenna came off the bench in a few games last year & Brian Fannon captain during the league was part of the panel

You seem to have excellent underage structures alright. Those who are responsible deserve credit, especially as you don't have the player numbers Galway and Mayo have.

But you do appear too have a problem in common with the Big Two and that is that it's proving difficult to get young lads to develop into good senior players.
I'd imagine that many of those on the senior side who belly-upped against Galway this year were promising underage players in their time.

Yes has been some great work done behind the scenes but it needs to continue if we are to compete at senior level in the years ahead.

Only 5 of the team (Keenan,Carty,Shine,McDermott,Domican) that started v Galway won something at underage level i'd say most of Mayo's current 15 has won something at underage level.

I doubt it. Connachts maybe but only those involved in U21 06 would have AIs. Some others would have played from that 06 team last few years but are gone off the scene-like Kilcoyne and Howley.

Lets see, Caff, Higgins, Barry Moran and Boyle would be the only ones to start the last day with underage AI medals - starters anyway. Conroy should be there too. Hardly a significant number.
Post by: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 10:48:08 PM
Quote from: moysider on June 29, 2012, 10:34:52 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 29, 2012, 07:50:43 PM

I doubt it. Connachts maybe but only those involved in U21 06 would have AIs. Some others would have played from that 06 team last few years but are gone off the scene-like Kilcoyne and Howley.

Lets see, Caff, Higgins, Barry Moran and Boyle would be the only ones to start the last day with underage AI medals - starters anyway. Conroy should be there too. Hardly a significant number.

Moy i'm talking about Connacht titles mostly. In our case we play Fr Manning,Hasting cups also. It's easier to count the Mayo players that haven't won something at underage than not.

Post by: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 06:02:29 PM
Goal right on ht give us 1-3 to 0-4 lead. Galway have the strong wind now
Post by: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 06:48:17 PM
1-8 Each extra time now
Post by: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 07:10:28 PM
1-9 Each ht of et.
Post by: maigheo on June 30, 2012, 07:31:13 PM
ros win by 2,should add another 9,000 for the connacht final and maybe keep the rossies off the mayo sligo  connacht final thread :)
Post by: ross4life on June 30, 2012, 07:33:21 PM
Yep a win for the rossies 1-11 to 1-9 daly motm connacht final here we come :)
Post by: ross matt on July 01, 2012, 08:59:30 PM
Great result on what has turned out to be an excellent weekend for Roscommon football. They seemed to be the better side in Tuam but missed alot of scores and found it difficult to put Galway away. Credit again is due to the excellent underage work in the county.
Post by: Rossfan on July 01, 2012, 10:15:38 PM
We should have had it won early in the day but then had it lost till the mighty Corcoran got his two late late points.
A nerve racking 80 minutes to say the least.
By the way NO marks to some of the Galway management for their thuggish behaviour and insulting Ros players and the like.
Thought ye'd be bigger than that. >:(
Post by: ross4life on July 02, 2012, 05:42:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 02, 2012, 11:21:14 AM
Presumably the win yesterday will pull the Rossies away from the Connacht minor thread
Why would anything pull us away? we take our underage football very serious in Roscommon & the lads are into a Connacht final now arguably a bigger game than a round 2 senior qualifier. BTW Galway were at home on Saturday in Tuam (the so called home of Football) yet we outnumbered ye by 4 to1.

Post by: magpie seanie on July 02, 2012, 05:46:38 PM
Fair play Roscommon, another Connacht title beckons I think. The winning mentality ye have at underage is serious.
Post by: Go home ref on July 03, 2012, 10:41:02 AM
If we can bring it through to Senior then we'll be smiling.
I believe the Minor final is at 12 Noon ?
If so I'd expect the Seniors game v Tyrone to be as eary as possible on the Saturday so we're probably looking at 2.30 or 3pm?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2012, 10:44:46 AM
Should Mayo turn up at all the next day? :'(
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2012, 10:42:41 AM
Will we see walkouts if minors don't start on Sunday I wonder?
Post by: Mayo Mick on July 12, 2012, 11:10:26 AM
Quietly confident minors will be the first leg of a double on Sunday.
Post by: moysider on July 12, 2012, 12:28:04 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2012, 10:42:41 AM

2 have already this summer and another shown the road last week.
Post by: spuds on July 12, 2012, 12:51:31 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2012, 12:28:04 PM

Care to name them ?
Post by: moysider on July 12, 2012, 01:17:29 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 12, 2012, 12:51:31 PM

Care to name them ?

No.
Post by: spuds on July 12, 2012, 01:51:42 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2012, 01:17:29 PM

Care to name them ?

No.
If you know it is obviously out there, will find out by other means.  ::)
Post by: moysider on July 12, 2012, 02:08:39 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 12, 2012, 01:51:42 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 12, 2012, 01:17:29 PM

Care to name them ?

No.
If you know it is obviously out there, will find out by other means.  ::)

Ah Jaysus you d hardly expect me to give the names of 17 yr olds on here. Not a big story in fairness. 2 lads that were in last years panel decided to opt out after the league - other things to do for the summer I suppose.

Another lad was giving his walking papers last week. Why exactly I don t know. I could find out in 2 minutes but I m not to bothered to be honest.
Post by: Sam2011 on July 12, 2012, 02:19:00 PM
The Mayo Minor team to face Roscommon this Sunday 15th July at 12.00p.m. in Hyde Park in the Connacht Minor Football Championship Final is as follows:

1.  Conor O'Malley - Westport
2.  David McHale - Knockmore
3.  Sean Moran - Kiltimagh
4.  Kevin Lynch - Mayo Gaels
5.  Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
6.  Cian Burke - Ardnaree Sarsfields
7.  Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
8.  Brian Mullen - Westport
9.  Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels (Captain)
10. Eoghan Lavin - Kiltimagh
11. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
12. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
13. Darren Duffy - Aghamore
14. Shane Hennelly - Shrule/Glencorrib
15. Sean Regan - Ballina Stephenites

16. Marcus Moylette - Islandeady
17. Joe Geraghty - Ballintubber
18. Fintan Canavan - Mayo Gaels
19. Donal Ronayne - Davitts
20. John Moylette - Ballina Stephenites
21. Ryan Coleman - Castlebar Mitchels
22. Conor Byrne - Aghamore
23. Val Roughneen - Balla
24. James Quinn - Ballinrobe
Post by: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 02:26:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 03, 2012, 10:44:46 AM
Should Mayo turn up at all the next day? :'(

Ye might as well, sure you'll get to see the senior final for free!

Looking forward to a good game, the conditions will be good which makes for a u-turn to say the least.
Post by: ross4life on July 12, 2012, 04:03:15 PM
Unchanged from the Galway game.

1. Shane Mannion     Naomh Bríd

2. Philip Neilan    Fiortha / Naomh Ciaráin
3. Dennis Barron     Éire Óg
4. Cathal Kenny     Uarain

5. Tadhg McKenna    Mainistir na Buille
6. Conor Hussey    Michéal Mac Laithimh
7. Ronan Daly        Na Piarsaigh

8. Ultan Harney        Clann na nGael
9. Thomas Corcoran    Beal Átha na mBuillí

10. Cathal Compton    Beal Átha na mBuillí
11. Ruardhri McManus    Clann na nGael
12. Enda Smith     Mainistir na Buille

13. Diarmuid Murtagh     Naomh Faithleach
14. Kevin Finn    Beal Átha na mBuillí
15. Michael Gunning     Uarain
Post by: Syferus on July 12, 2012, 04:05:50 PM
Quote from: ross4life on July 12, 2012, 04:03:15 PM
Unchanged from the Galway game.

1. Shane Mannion     Naomh Bríd

2. Philip Neilan    Fiortha / Naomh Ciaráin
3. Dennis Barron     Éire Óg
4. Cathal Kenny     Uarain

5. Tadhg McKenna    Mainistir na Buille
6. Conor Hussey    Michéal Mac Laithimh
7. Ronan Daly        Na Piarsaigh

8. Ultan Harney        Clann na nGael
9. Thomas Corcoran    Beal Átha na mBuillí

10. Cathal Compton    Beal Átha na mBuillí
11. Ruardhri McManus    Clann na nGael
12. Enda Smith     Mainistir na Buille

13. Diarmuid Murtagh     Naomh Faithleach
14. Kevin Finn    Beal Átha na mBuillí
15. Michael Gunning     Uarain

No surprise there. Compton should offer plenty of options around the middle.
Post by: macdanger2 on July 12, 2012, 11:42:16 PM
Huge pressure on the young Rossies - big home crowd, odds on favourites and the knowledge that the winner will avoid Tipp in the Quarters (feels strange typing that about Tipp!!)

Hopefully the Mayos will be in early to support our lads and if we can keep the ball kicked out we'll be happy enough
Post by: ross4life on July 12, 2012, 11:50:49 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 12, 2012, 11:42:16 PM
Huge pressure on the young Rossies - big home crowd, odds on favourites and the knowledge that the winner will avoid Tipp in the Quarters (feels strange typing that about Tipp!!)

Was bigger pressure in the last game as the loser was out of the championship. Mayo playing in the senior final should mean a bigger support. I agree about the Tipp bit but Kerry will be more than a match for the Connacht winner.

Post by: moysider on July 13, 2012, 12:22:11 AM
Certainly it s a two game gig for Mayo supporters. Defo mean to be there for start of  the minor match unless Tulsk - Roscommon is even worse than it usually is.

paddy power has us 2/1 and Ros 1/2. Dont know if there s value there for us because to be honest I have not seen these young Rossies play. There s little to go on but there might be a little.

Mayo score of 1-6 in semi v Sligo was depressing (as was much of the performance). But Roscommon s scoring rate plummetted alarmingly from Leitrim match to Galway semi. And there was opinion out there that Sligo and Galway were close in quality this year. So ................ maybe we have a chance.

As Mayo minor teams go there is as much quality in this one than teams that got to later stages of the championship. The hb line is full of football e.g and the defence as a whole is fine. Good players further up the field too but the whole winning possession and stamina around the midf and hf line has to improve hugely to win this one. I think we ve named the same starting 15 again.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 13, 2012, 12:38:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 13, 2012, 12:22:11 AM

paddy power has us 2/1 and Ros 1/2. Dont know if there s value there for us because to be honest I have not seen these young Rossies play. There s little to go on but there might be a little.

Mayo score of 1-6 in semi v Sligo was depressing (as was much of the performance). But Roscommon s scoring rate plummetted alarmingly from Leitrim match to Galway semi. And there was opinion out there that Sligo and Galway were close in quality this year. So ................ maybe we have a chance.

Galway and Mayo are regarded as close in quality this year. Galway were minutes away from knocking Roscommon out of the championship so in my opinion there's good value for any punter with those above odds.
Post by: Syferus on July 13, 2012, 12:46:31 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 13, 2012, 12:38:32 AM

Galway and Mayo are regarded as close in quality this year. Galway were minutes away from knocking Roscommon out of the championship so in my opinion there's good value for any punter with those above odds.

In all fairness to Mayo Galway where significantly higher rated coming into this year, they were last year's beaten AI semi-finalists after all.

Our lads are plenty able for the pressure, Mayo lads trying to pile it on in hope they may buckle will be disappointed.

We played poorly enough against Galway besides our backs so I expect an improved performance. Back-to-back Connacht titles for the first time, never mind our first two Connacht wins at home in over 80 years of competition following on from each other, would be a fantastic achievement. No one is taking Mayo lightly.
Post by: moysider on July 13, 2012, 01:26:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 13, 2012, 12:46:31 AM

In all fairness to Mayo Galway where significantly higher rated coming into this year, they were last year's beaten AI semi-finalists after all.

Our lads are plenty able for the pressure, Mayo lads trying to pile it on in hope they may buckle will be disappointed.

We played poorly enough against Galway besides our backs so I expect an improved performance. Back-to-back Connacht titles for the first time, never mind our first two Connacht wins at home in over 80 years of competition following on from each other, would be a fantastic achievement. No one is taking Mayo lightly.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Apart from the highlighted bit the rest of the post is taking us very lightly indeed. Not to worry. Every county needs a few groupies.
Post by: Syferus on July 13, 2012, 01:38:47 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 13, 2012, 01:26:14 AM

Apart from the highlighted bit the rest of the post is taking us very lightly indeed. Not to worry. Every county needs a few groupies.

You said Galway and Mayo were 'closely regarded', but Galway's value was floating higher than Mayo's before we beat them.

Just because your county wasn't as highly thought of as Galway doesn't mean any Rossie is ever going to look at Mayo as a gimme game.
Post by: moysider on July 13, 2012, 01:53:35 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 13, 2012, 01:38:47 AM
Quote from: moysider on July 13, 2012, 01:26:14 AM

You said Galway and Mayo were 'closely regarded', but Galway's value was floating higher than Mayo's before we beat them.

Just because your county wasn't as highly thought of as Galway doesn't mean any Rossie is ever going to look at Mayo as a gimme game.

No, no, no, I did not say that. I said that Sligo and Galway were considered close in quality. That s was because Summerhill could have/should have beaten Jarlath s and Attracta s were probably the match of most A College teams about. Mayo s minors have been on the hind tit a stór and I wouldn t pay them much mind. We ve a few promising players that will benefit from a bit of blooding in the Hyde.
Post by: maigheo on July 15, 2012, 12:18:58 PM
ros off to a good start. ahead by 0.06 to 0.02 and dominating the play
Post by: maigheo on July 15, 2012, 12:44:41 PM
row ahead 0.06 to 0.03 at h.t. Mayo have had most of the play in the last 15 min but have kicked a lot of wides.The start of the 2ind half is crucial for Mayo because if ros knock over a few early scores mayo will find it very hard to pull them back  as the Mayo forwards have yet to score
Post by: maigheo on July 15, 2012, 01:11:05 PM
 none of the mayo forwards have scored.0.9 to0.06 for ros .5 min to go
Post by: maigheo on July 15, 2012, 01:20:51 PM
ros 0.10  mayo 0.08 ft
Post by: ross4life on July 15, 2012, 01:23:02 PM
History created back 2 back connacht titles won :)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 15, 2012, 01:26:03 PM
Tipp v Mayo in 1/4 final so?
Post by: Chimley on July 15, 2012, 01:31:18 PM
Mayo will take a lot from this display. Roscommon were much heralded coming into this game and Mayo seemed to be a match for them everywhere except on the scoreboard. They were hanging on at the end by the sounds of things. Mayo won't have any fear of Tipperary and will be able to give them a good lash the next day.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 05:26:34 PM
Roscommon marched up the field and got the winning score, hardly hanging on. It was a tightly fought match but it was far from a good performance by us. Mayo have no hope of Tipp unless they up their strike rate signicantly, 1-6 and 10 points isn't going to be enough to beat the AI champions.
Post by: Chimley on July 15, 2012, 05:34:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 05:26:34 PM
Roscommon marched up the field and got the winning score, hardly hanging on. It was a tightly fought match but it was far from a good performance by us. Mayo have no hope of Tipp unless they up their strike rate signicantly, 1-6 and 10 points isn't going to be enough to beat the AI champions.

By your own admissions on this thread, that's two poor performances in a row from Roscommon. Maybe this is as good as they are? If Mayo can find their shooting boots, they can take on Tipperary with confidence. No need to be throwing in the towel at this stage.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 05:44:19 PM
Poor by our standards. Beating Galway away and Mayo on Connacht final day are no mean feats and you don't beat them both two years running by being mugs.
Post by: Chimley on July 15, 2012, 05:57:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 05:44:19 PM
Poor by our standards. Beating Galway away and Mayo on Connacht final day are no mean feats and you don't beat them both two years running by being mugs.

But beating Mayo and Galway doesn't seem to be enough for you going by what you are saying here.  You are implying that Galway and Mayo only got close to Roscommon because you put in poor performances by your standards. If Roscommon are allowed two poor performances in a row, I claim that Mayo only got beaten today and couldn't hammer Sligo due to two inexplicably bad performances.
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 06:01:25 PM
Quote from: Chimley on July 15, 2012, 05:57:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 05:44:19 PM

But beating Mayo and Galway doesn't seem to be enough for you going by what you are saying here.  You are implying that Galway and Mayo only got close to Roscommon because you put in poor performances by your standards. If Roscommon are allowed two poor performances in a row, I claim that Mayo only got beaten today and couldn't hammer Sligo due to two inexplicably bad performances.

Who said Galway and Mayo were playing to the full extent of their own abilities?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 15, 2012, 06:13:26 PM
On today's evidence, neither side will go too far. Roscommon couldn't seem to win the ball or pass it accurately when they had it - they seemed to score every chance they got though so if they can get more chances they might have some sort of chance.

For Mayo's part, they won plenty of ball but were clueless once they passed Roscommon's 45.

Hard to know with minors but they'll both need to improve hugely to make any impact this year.

Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 06:30:11 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 15, 2012, 06:13:26 PM
On today's evidence, neither side will go too far. Roscommon couldn't seem to win the ball or pass it accurately when they had it - they seemed to score every chance they got though so if they can get more chances they might have some sort of chance.

For Mayo's part, they won plenty of ball but were clueless once they passed Roscommon's 45.

Hard to know with minors but they'll both need to improve hugely to make any impact this year.

We can go plenty far. Back-to-back Connacht titles, with a minor league wedged in-between, and two points off the AI champions in last year's AI semi-final tells a better tale as to where Rosommon minor football is at. Galway and Mayo are traditional underage powers, not just in Connacht but in all of Ireland. Our performance may have left some things to be desired but the nerve this panel has continually shown has been fantastic. To be able under-perform and still have the drive to pull a big game out of the fire is the mark of a good team.

Mayo have a good midfield and good attacking half-backs but few of the team are clinical scorers, from play or dead balls. For us Kevin Finn, Diarmuid Murtagh, Ronan Daly, Enda Smith and Thomas Corcoran are all reliable scoring threats. Mayo could beat Tipp, but Tipp will just blanket their defence if they get a lead and let Mayo take 40 yard pot shots all day so a fast start is very important to force Tipp to clear out space for Mayo's forwards to operate in.
Post by: ross4life on July 15, 2012, 06:43:51 PM
Significant day Connacht minor title retained for the first time ever. It was low scoring,tight,tense game. We were the better team but made hard work of it... of course it wasn't helped when you lose Mckenna before throw in and Gunning after 7mins plus Compton was clearly unfit.

1st half we played our best football, controlled possession won most of the personal duels. We should have been leading by at least 6 points at HT but missed a few goal chances & took the wrong options when scores were on.

2nd half Mayo were much improved however their forwards let them down big time but when it came to the crunch we tagged on scores for a deserved win.

Best on show was Cathal Kenny,Harney,McManus & MOTM Murtagh. Well done to the lads and management looking forward to the Kerry game already.

P.S even though our seniors continue to underachieve we are the current minor,U21 & our club team are Connacht champions not bad for a small county like ours.
Post by: ross4life on July 15, 2012, 06:48:54 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 15, 2012, 06:13:26 PM

On the evidence of the 2006,07,08,09 minors finals the same could have been said. Like you said hard to know with minors.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on July 15, 2012, 07:09:37 PM
Well done to the Rossies today. And to our lads too, who actually did better than I thought they would. They are a game but limited enough bunch. Hopefully we can find one or two though in there that can step up to the next level.

I don't hold out much hope for our lads against Tipp. The scoring power just isn't there. Roscommon didn't look great today but you still got the impression that they had more in them than was shown. I wouldn't be surprised to see them in Croker on semi final day.
Post by: ross4life on July 15, 2012, 07:49:41 PM
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 15, 2012, 07:09:37 PM
Well done to the Rossies today. And to our lads too, who actually did better than I thought they would. They are a game but limited enough bunch. Hopefully we can find one or two though in there that can step up to the next level.

I don't hold out much hope for our lads against Tipp. The scoring power just isn't there. Roscommon didn't look great today but you still got the impression that they had more in them than was shown. I wouldn't be surprised to see them in Croker on semi final day.

I'd say a few of the defenders will make the step up, for example number 5 Patrick Durcan was excellent throughout.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2012, 11:51:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2012, 06:30:11 PM
Kevin Finn, Diarmuid Murtagh, Ronan Daly, Enda Smith and Thomas Corcoran are all reliable scoring threats.
Corky , Finn and Smith were deplorable today while Daly wasn't hectic either.
Anyway it was good to beat the Rhus and to do a first ever Connacht Minor back to back plus a first ever U21/Minor double.
However we were poor today and only for some awful wides from Mayowestros we'd have been bet out the gate.
At least we won't be burdened with too much favouriteism v the Kutehoors and sure you never know from one day to the next with Minors ...so maybe we should keep a few days free in September .... :P
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2012, 12:18:47 AM
Admittedly Daly made a few uncharacteristic bad plays today but few half-backs attack with as much pace and purpose as him. Finn is probably playing provider too much for my liking, he's very capable of big scores, Armagh last year being the best example of that. Corcoran I meant as a reliable dead ball scoring threat, he's a primary provider in play. He's calmer under pressure than the vast majority of seniors, nevermind minors. I thought the ref took a disliking to Corcoran today from early on and pulled him up on a lot of niggly fouls.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on July 16, 2012, 12:19:01 AM
Congrats to our minors and hard luck to Mayo. Relieved with the win today because Mayo dominated possession in second half. That they could not score from play was as much down to some great defending by Ros as it was to poor shooting by Mayo. We started very brightly and could have been out of sight after 10 mins. We became ragged in second half, looked in trouble and it took a brilliant point from Murtagh to lift us again. Mayo were winning most things around the middle at that stage. We became predictable sending ball after ball up the right wing, mostly mopped up by Mayo backs. Like the senior game, it was a nervy affair and the football on show won't have worried Tipp or Kerry. But good to win while playing poorly and many of these players can do much better. The victory was a great antidote to what was on show yesterday.
Post by: moysider on July 16, 2012, 08:57:50 PM
Well done to Roscommon. Deserved win.

Not much was expected from Mayo and while they improved a little from Sligo game it was mostly terribly laboured stuff. Plenty of endeavour in the second half but you d have to wonder if that is the best we can produce with all the preparation that goes in to them. We re certainly not producing good teams and it remains to be seen if any individuals are good enough. A 40 minute warm up didn t help much as nobody showed up for first 20 mins of the game - what was that about? I d expect more of the same the next day.

Have to be careful or the Ros supporters will take my unhappiness with underage in Mayo as begrudgery but as a mayoman I m only interested in what we re doing. I never got too excited about our decent underage teams and so no point getting too down about the poor ones. I feel sorry for the players after the amount of effort they put in and for their families who are rightly very proud of them. Minor is really about the players and their family and friends. Most will never play senior and for most it is an end in itself. I just wonder did these lads get the best cut at it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2012, 09:30:26 PM
Congrats to Roscommon. If only Mayo had done in the last few minutes for the whole game it might be different. Anyway, I suppose Tipp will be fancied to beat Mayo the next time out. I certainly expect them to anyway. Anyone I've spoken to moysider is scathing of Mayo's minor management. I missed Roscommon's first two scores, but 40 minutes of a warm-up is a joke. No wonder the lads were tired early on. Not to take away anything from Roscommon however, they were the best team all through the game and I could never see Mayo getting anything from it. Well done.
Post by: Syferus on July 18, 2012, 05:54:04 PM
This Adam Gallagher lad looks a great prospect, but I think I found the reason:

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF729/529799.jpg)

(http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF747/543864.jpg)

Would ye ever stop stealing our players? Ye're literally tearing family apart at this point!