GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM

Title: Brolly and Spillane Etc
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM
I cannot believe the gaa are sitting back and letting RTE drag the name of the game through the muck. They say they're worried about attendances, well its hard not to believe the constant attacks from Brolly and Spillane for self gain are doing the games image significant harm. Both of them know exactly what they want to say before every game and throw it out no matter how good or bad the game is. This was evidenced by there attack on the Longford Wexford game which given the standings off both teams was a decent game.

I don't think there is another sport in the world analysed by the pundits in a similar way to gaelic football. No match is analysed on its own merit instead a series of generalisations about the game and comparisons to 30 given years ago are made. Its ridiculous that these guys get paid for it.

For the last few months Brolly has had it in for Tyrone as evidenced by his attack on the team for being a bunch of divers in a recent newspaper article. I'm not sure where is current hate for Tyrone has come from considering during the period in which all his examples came from he was a huge fan of the team and constantly sung their praises in the media. On Sunday he was determined to continue with the attack no matter what happened during the game.

As it happened it turned out to be a very good game of football but Brolly didn't care as he was more interested in point scoring on who can be the most controversial negative pundit. At half time he said Colm Cavanagh made the most wonderful of dive that his brother would have been proud off. Having been at the game and watched it since I'm still not sure what he was talking about. At full time he was again on about Tyrone diving to win 2 frees to win the game. He was more interested in this than the wonderful points scored by Harte and O'Neill. As it happens neither free was a dive - Gormley was took down round the neck and there was no question it was a free and Donnellys was a clear cut free to. He also accused Mark Donnelly of wasting time with cramp. I'm no expert with cramp and I'm not sure if Brolly is but to me the lad didn't look like someone that was acting. Maybe Joe knows better though.

He also said it was a typical boring boring Tyrone performance and compared it to George Grahams Arsenal who liked to defend 1 - 0 leads. Given that the final score was 0-19 to 1-13 this makes no sense what so ever. Instead of focusing on the fact that Tyrone scored 12 or 13 points from play including some brilliant scores spread across 8 players he tried to make snide remarks. I was actually shocked on Sunday how open Tyrone were at the back. This allowed Jamie Clarke to pull off some wonderful scores which Brolly would have been safer focusing on.

I know I've defended Tyrone here but it is more an example of the nonsense these guys are coming out with every week against various counties and there insistence in finding negatives in every game even when they are far outweighed by the positives. The gaa has to act now and tackle this issue head on. The games and the players deserve better, especially coming from their so called own.
Title: Re: Brolly and Spillane Etc
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 12, 2012, 11:33:47 PM
I think the most genuine GAA followers take Brolly and Spillane with a pinch of salt. There was some great football last weekend - Sligo's display on Saturday and in particular the first half of Armagh-Tyrone. I was also impressed with Joe McQuillan's refereeing although he was a bit harsh on Dyas - I think red cards should be the very last resort for blatantly dirty or deliberately dangerous play.
Post by: J70 on June 12, 2012, 11:45:54 PM
Christ, between Brolly and Spillane and McHugh, is there a county from the north who doesn't think the media is against them?!!

I only saw a little of Sunday's game, but right at the end, one of the Tyrone forwards went to ground very, very easily to win a free in front of the goal when he all he got was a slight tug on the arm.
Post by: Puckoon on June 13, 2012, 12:15:50 AM
Does that not sit well because you believe it to be diving, and Donegal wouldn't be caught dead at that...?

Or because there was a forward infront of goal (at the end of the game no less) and Donegal wouldn't be caught dead at that...?
Post by: Throw ball on June 13, 2012, 12:37:32 AM
Tyrone Dreamer just because you disagree with the opinions does not mean they are not allowed to be expressed. I actually found Tony Davis agreeing with every decision the referee made more annoying. An odd explanation of why might help his co commentating.
Post by: Jinxy on June 13, 2012, 12:51:56 AM
He's full of odd explanations.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 13, 2012, 10:33:17 AM
I have to say that when games are bad, I enjoy the panto.
Post by: reddgnhand on June 13, 2012, 10:34:23 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 13, 2012, 12:18:49 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2012, 11:45:54 PM

I only saw a little of Sunday's game, but right at the end, one of the Tyrone forwards went to ground very, very easily to win a free in front of the goal when he all he got was a slight tug on the arm.

And one fell down clutching his face and needing medical attention before he managed to get to his feet, o this occasion he didn't even get a tug on his arm. All in front of the referee and he couldn't even book him for playacting because if he thought it was a genuine injury then the offender would have been booked.  If referees don't tackle this behaviour soon it will ruin the game.  This incident is an example of inaction and there were others where the referee just waved on play but took no action on the playacter.

The other issue in the Tyrone Armagh game was the halting of the game with supposed injuries and both teams were guilty.  It is time that the game continues unless there is a serious injury, not just someone looking for a quick spray on the side or back or leg or a bit of cramp as we saw on Sunday. Gamesmanship is a game killer.

Who and when? TYP any opinion on how Armagh played  P Harte. Finn Mo spent most of the game with his back to the ball and no doubt if S Cavanagh had of been fit he would have got the same treatment.     
Post by: Wee Roddy on June 13, 2012, 10:39:39 AM
Take Your Points, I take it ou are talking about Petey Harte and Finnian Incident. It happened right in front of me. Moriarty done a hand off to Hartes throat which beleive me can be quite sore. It isnt clear on television but i had a first hand view like those round me. One Tyrone clown was looking Moriarty sent off for it. I think he probably meant to stop his run with a hand off in the chest area and just got the timing wrong. The reality is if he had of been caught on the face or the chest it would not have been sore but the old Adams apple can be a sore one!
Post by: tbrick18 on June 13, 2012, 11:24:33 AM
Joe says it as he sees it.....whilst I wouldnt agree about it being a boring game (I thought it was a good match) I do agree with the comments about diving, tyrone seem to have it ingrained into them to dive at the first opportunity and the Cavanaghs are probably the biggest culprits (though Dooher and wee petie were the masters of the art). Armagh on the other hand maybe dont dive as much, but they engage in a lot more of the off the ball stuff, in particular 3rd man tackles.

Personally I'd like to see us incorporate a bit more of this underhandedness into our game, we might do a bit better if we did. As the late Mr. Coleman once said, "nice boys win nathin".

Joe's a legend....
Post by: J70 on June 13, 2012, 11:31:27 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 13, 2012, 12:15:50 AM
Does that not sit well because you believe it to be diving, and Donegal wouldn't be caught dead at that...?

Or because there was a forward infront of goal (at the end of the game no less) and Donegal wouldn't be caught dead at that...?

Not like you to be so sensitive Puckoon!

Not really a judgement on my part. I'm sure Donegal men occasionally go down easily for frees as well, as do all plenty of other counties, although I would hope that it is not something that is encouraged or happens regularly. I thought Marty Boyle was a disgrace against Dublin last year and, along with the admissions of Kevin Cassidy about the whole incident to get Diarmuid Connolly sent off, it was a very embarrassing and shameful moment for Donegal football. As is my opinion on soccer though, I think blatant diving and cheating should be retrospectively punished.

I was merely pointing out, that at least in the little bit of the game I saw, that the judgement of the panelists on Tyrone men going down very easily for frees was correct, at least in part.
Post by: EC Unique on June 13, 2012, 11:42:08 AM
J70, you are obviously an imformed fan of football. You say you only seen the last few minutes of Sunday's game. Might I suggest you get a copy of it and watch it all. It will be refreshing for you after watching Donegal for the last 18 months.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 13, 2012, 11:58:06 AM
As a neutral i thought Sunday's game between Armagh and Tyrone was a great game of football really enjoyed it . As for brolly and co complete tits the lot of them . I was going to watch the 1/2 time analysis on sunday when Michael Lyster said news just in it's a draw between Carlow and Meath, Brolly then made some smart arsed comment about Banty, started to get excited about some old story from his past which he told as only he can, the quicker he speaks the more he salivates. I just left the room and came back when the pleb had finished his rant
Post by: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 12:06:39 PM
      The way this thread has developed is a clear example of how pundits can steer discourse in a certain direction.  After every game, the fans of the losing team always have grievances, some justified, some not-I for one have been guilty of getting caught up in post-match dummy spitting on several occasions-that's natural enough.  If I were an Armagh fan, I might say that a few decisions might have went differently.
     However, that game was played in good spirits in a professional manner.  The free near the end where Donnelly was travelling at speed was a free on any day and I recall the Armagh player-was it Mallon?-being raging at himself and clearly saying "Why did I do that?" to himself as he walked away.  Any player travelling at speed only needs the slightest of touches to send him over-if he tries to stay up, he does a chicken dance and runs into other defenders.  If the tackle is legitimate, he loses the ball. Tyrone are relatively small and light and travel at speed so they are going to pick up these frees.
     Very little time was wasted over the cramp incident-after that player could be seen to be hobbling to the subs bench.
     The Dyas sending off is a no-brainer.  I for one was happy to see the two-handed rugby-type spoiling tackle punished harshly and hope that this continues throughout the championship as it was rife and unpunished last year.
     The only thing debatable was the shout for an Armagh Penalty-a good case only spoiled by Carlin's determination to play on with the ball.
     I remember a time when people used to say that wee Peter and Dooher should lie down a bit more and stop gettin themselves kilt.  I'd say they took that advice and it paid off.  However, this is a very different Tyrone team who fear nobody and I for one was impressed with their 'get on with it' attitude on Sunday-opting to try and take the quick free instead of tearing the ass out of it.   
     The only thing about Brolly's rants on Sunday is that it was so off-the-mark that he actually done himself more harm than Tyrone.  I think Brolly does liven it up at times but that was just ridiculous.     

Post by: J OGorman on June 13, 2012, 12:24:03 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 12:06:39 PM
      The way this thread has developed is a clear example of how pundits can steer discourse in a certain direction.  After every game, the fans of the losing team always have grievances, some justified, some not-I for one have been guilty of getting caught up in post-match dummy spitting on several occasions-that's natural enough.  If I were an Armagh fan, I might say that a few decisions might have went differently.
     However, that game was played in good spirits in a professional manner.  The free near the end where Donnelly was travelling at speed was a free on any day and I recall the Armagh player-was it Mallon?-being raging at himself and clearly saying "Why did I do that?" to himself as he walked away.  Any player travelling at speed only needs the slightest of touches to send him over-if he tries to stay up, he does a chicken dance and runs into other defenders.  If the tackle is legitimate, he loses the ball. Tyrone are relatively small and light and travel at speed so they are going to pick up these frees.
     Very little time was wasted over the cramp incident-after that player could be seen to be hobbling to the subs bench.
     The Dyas sending off is a no-brainer.  I for one was happy to see the two-handed rugby-type spoiling tackle punished harshly and hope that this continues throughout the championship as it was rife and unpunished last year.
     The only thing debatable was the shout for an Armagh Penalty-a good case only spoiled by Carlin's determination to play on with the ball.
     I remember a time when people used to say that wee Peter and Dooher should lie down a bit more and stop gettin themselves kilt.  I'd say they took that advice and it paid off.  However, this is a very different Tyrone team who fear nobody and I for one was impressed with their 'get on with it' attitude on Sunday-opting to try and take the quick free instead of tearing the ass out of it.   
     The only thing about Brolly's rants on Sunday is that it was so off-the-mark that he actually done himself more harm than Tyrone.  I think Brolly does liven it up at times but that was just ridiculous.     

players throwing themselves to ground to win a free is right on the mark. More power to whatever pundit keeps mentioning it. Its a fecking major blight on the game. The first half on Sunday @ the athletic grounds was absolutely brilliant. Fast, hard-hiting, 15 men marking 15 men for the most part. The 2nd half started with Tyrone men throwing themselves to the ground, I counted 4 in the first 10 mins of the 2nd half. Its fierce hard to watch, esp when the culprits continuously get away with it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 13, 2012, 12:32:43 PM
I'd be interested in these times being listed. I've watched the game twice and have to say I didn't see much negativity from either side and less than most games I've watched so far.
Some people fail to think for themselves and just listen to the pundits.
Post by: J70 on June 13, 2012, 01:14:54 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 13, 2012, 11:42:08 AM
J70, you are obviously an imformed fan of football. You say you only seen the last few minutes of Sunday's game. Might I suggest you get a copy of it and watch it all. It will be refreshing for you after watching Donegal for the last 18 months.

Save the childishness for the Liverpool thread.
Post by: Bensars on June 13, 2012, 01:32:42 PM
Very simple. Brolly knows that Ulster football is in decline in comaprison to a few years ago, with the Euros and  Olympics and other distractions  the interest may not be as great as other years (this early in year). He also knows that Tyrone have a healthy  follwing ( and supporters invariably will take the bait ) and any controversy keeps him popular and current, and more importantly controversial pieces sell papers and getTV ratings.

Cant believe so many seem to have taken  the bait .

In short a media hoor keeping his profile active.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 13, 2012, 01:37:24 PM
This wasn't meant to turn into a thread about Tyrone or Armagh. I used Sundays game as an example because I had just watched the coverage. The aim of the thread was to point out the lack of balance in the coverage being given by RTE. The panelists always seem to look for negatives in everything and don't give enough time to the positive elements of the game.

There was multiple great scores during the game which should have been focused on. Instead Brolly described Tyrone as boring and defending their lead etc  which was bordering on stupid considering the scoreline and the room afforded to Clarke.

It has become obvious that both he and Spillane don't analyse the game in hand. They have things they want to say and will say them no matter what happens during the game. The games are being short changed by inept pundits focusing on their own agenda. There is no need to compare the games to matches 20 and 30 years ago every single week. Last week they criticised the quality of Longford and Wexford and described it as modern football. I wonder how the quality would have compared to a game 20 and 30 years ago between 2 teams so far down the pecking order.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 13, 2012, 01:39:06 PM
Quote from: Bensars on June 13, 2012, 01:32:42 PM
Very simple. Brolly knows that Ulster football is in decline in comaprison to a few years ago, with the Euros and  Olympics and other distractions  the interest may not be as great as other years (this early in year). He also knows that Tyrone have a staunch follwing and any controversy keeps him popular and current, and more importantly controversial pieces sell papers and getTV ratings.

Cant believe so many seem to have taken  the bait .

In short a media hoor keeping his profile active.

The last bit is probably exactly what he's doing. But the games deserve proper analysis and not some lazy sensationalist crap thrown out just so that Brolly can keep getting attention. Its up to the gaa to act and ask rte to review their coverage.
Post by: Bensars on June 13, 2012, 01:50:56 PM
If you had a child that constantly craved attention, what would you do ? Ignore them. 

This is someone who in their playing days used to blow kisses to the crowd after scoring a goal. He has an ego that needs massaged.

His days are numbered, the format looks tired, he no longer gets the reaction he once did as people realise he is controversial for sake of it. If the rest of the panel said black, he'd say white.

This thread is the reaction he could be  looking for.  if i was you i would delete it . Simples
Post by: EC Unique on June 13, 2012, 01:52:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 13, 2012, 01:14:54 PM

Fair enough J70 it was a bit tongue in cheek but you should watch it. It was a cracker.
Post by: scoopmine on June 13, 2012, 02:02:18 PM
In regards to Spillane and Brolly its the same reason Parkinson was on the Sunday game its to get people talking. Its the difference when people the next day can say "did hear what such and such said? He's a bollox!" Brolly is cute, Spillane is cute they would not be the two most high profile pundits in the game. Most GAA fans cop this will take their opinion with a pinch of salt.
Post by: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 03:52:34 PM
After Sunday's bletherings, I reckon Spillane is that wee bit cuter-Brolly has now shown his hand in being sensationalist for the sake of it.  On what was a good oul' day for Ulster football,  you'd wonder what his loyalties are $$$
Post by: Fuzzman on June 14, 2012, 03:21:15 PM
Whilst some in here have got distracted from what the initial question was I too STRONGLY believe that some pundits like Spillane, Brolly, Dunphy and to a lesser extent McHugh use their positions in the media to be controversial and therefore try to be become more infamous.

I'd say if RTE were to do a proper survey of how many viewers of TSG like Brolly and Spillane I think they'd be shocked how many would throw them out
The problem is RTE are happy to see these selfish fools drag down the name of the association just to make more interesting TV in their eyes
Post by: J70 on June 14, 2012, 04:41:00 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 13, 2012, 01:52:58 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 13, 2012, 01:14:54 PM

Fair enough J70 it was a bit tongue in cheek but you should watch it. It was a cracker.

Good enough EC.
Post by: hayeser on June 15, 2012, 04:50:52 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 12, 2012, 10:59:18 PM
I cannot believe the gaa are sitting back and letting RTE drag the name of the game through the muck. They say they're worried about attendances, well its hard not to believe the constant attacks from Brolly and Spillane for self gain are doing the games image significant harm. Both of them know exactly what they want to say before every game and throw it out no matter how good or bad the game is. This was evidenced by there attack on the Longford Wexford game which given the standings off both teams was a decent game.

I don't think there is another sport in the world analysed by the pundits in a similar way to gaelic football. No match is analysed on its own merit instead a series of generalisations about the game and comparisons to 30 given years ago are made. Its ridiculous that these guys get paid for it.

I 100% agree. It's not the blanket defense that is killing Gaelic football it is the constant negativity that is coming from the media.

Prior to the property crash how many people who knew zero about economics did you hear saying over their pints "ah sure twill be a soft landing ...". A few politicians voiced that opinion to keep people spending and low and behold the masses were only too happy to take it on as their own opinion.   

The media is very powerful and Tyrone Dreamer is spot on Gaelic Football is getting a very very raw deal from the Sunday Game pundits in particular. They are doing much more to demote the game than promote it. I agree the GAA need to act. The whole idea of TV coverage is to promote the game but if the people behind the mike are doing their best to run down the product then surely it is counter productive. Newstalk are getting a few championship games and are doing a fantastic job of creating a sense of occasion and promoting the game that they are doing.

It is interesing to look at what Gaelic Football is being hammered for too
- not enough kicking,
- too many behind the ball
- too much pulling and dragging.

Firstly the game is evolving tactically, that is a good thing. Secondly, how about Rugby Football? It has never been more popular, yet everyone is behind the ball, the vast majority of passes are by hand and is constant pulling and dragging, however it is a massively hyped and spun positively in the media..

Post by: Fuzzman on June 15, 2012, 06:06:45 PM
Well said Haysayer but the problem is I can't see RTE being dictated to by anyone, even the GAA.
Yes they could say we're not gonna do business with you any more and move to TV3 or dare I say it SKY. Nah.

I for one would be happy to start a campaign to change the crap we're having to put up with.
How many people have we read on this board say that they don't listen to the analysis part any more.

The analysis given on here by EmmetRyan is much more interesting than what we listen to on RTE.
Why can't we get more of that.
In fairness to McStay he was very complimentary of the Tyrone Armagh game last week and even said that in the past it wasn't always so.

I used to like Brolly when he was always trying to question Spillane and give the Ulster side of the story but I think he's moved on to a new stage now. I've heard loads who know Joe say he ALWAYS has to be the centre of attention and isn't happy to sit back and not be Mr funnyman. Doesn't like being a yes man like say Davis or some of the other more quieter lads.
Post by: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 06:37:33 PM
Quote from: Whishtup on June 13, 2012, 03:52:34 PM
After Sunday's bletherings, I reckon Spillane is that wee bit cuter-Brolly has now shown his hand in being sensationalist for the sake of it.  On what was a good oul' day for Ulster football,  you'd wonder what his loyalties are $$$

But that's the thing, spillane isn't even cute, he's terrible ( i liked brolly years ago, but his time's done now as well, pure dose). Spillane comes out with usual riddles about "bastardises basketball, blanket defence, long ball into full forward". I don't mind sensationism, in fact i don't have much time for soccer yet i love to listen to eamon dunphy, especially when ireland/ man utd and others have been beaten in big games, and he goes off on a rant, but a good rant. Spillane also writes a terrible piece in the sunday world, which has crap gaa coverage, in fact he fits in well with roy curtis who must be the worst journo in the world.

By the way, was watching kerry and dublin 1976 on TG4 this week, spillane really was the real deal, brilliant footballer who would also the best footballer in the modern era as well if he was playing.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 15, 2012, 07:18:42 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 06:37:33 PM

But that's the thing, spillane isn't even cute, he's terrible ( i liked brolly years ago, but his time's done now as well, pure dose). Spillane comes out with usual riddles about "bastardises basketball, blanket defence, long ball into full forward". I don't mind sensationism, in fact i don't have much time for soccer yet i love to listen to eamon dunphy, especially when ireland/ man utd and others have been beaten in big games, and he goes off on a rant, but a good rant. Spillane also writes a terrible piece in the sunday world, which has crap gaa coverage, in fact he fits in well with roy curtis who must be the worst journo in the world.

By the way, was watching kerry and dublin 1976 on TG4 this week, spillane really was the real deal, brilliant footballer who would also the best footballer in the modern era as well if he was playing.

Only get to see the Sunday World when i go to the inlaws for a weekend, would never buy such a paper! Curtis one weekend, covered Irish Soccer, Ireland Rugby and Hurling. Giving his 'Specialist' view on all.
Post by: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 08:36:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2012, 07:18:42 PM

Only get to see the Sunday World when i go to the inlaws for a weekend, would never buy such a paper! Curtis one weekend, covered Irish Soccer, Ireland Rugby and Hurling. Giving his 'Specialist' view on all.

exactly, think i mentioned on here before about him. My father buys it every week, such a rubbish paper in every way. But curtis really tops it off, have long given up trying to read it, but his style was always a crap story about a player ( seemed pick ronan o gara a lot), with a shit load of comparisons and never really getting anywhere with the story. Plus his picture looks horrible.
Roy curtis and pat dolan at the irish star, 2 worst shit talkers going.

whatever about negativity in gaelic football, trying to watch england and swedan at the moment, again it's a reminder that soccer is lke paint drying most of the time, give me a bad GAA game any day
Post by: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 11:33:22 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on June 15, 2012, 08:36:08 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 15, 2012, 07:18:42 PM

exactly, think i mentioned on here before about him. My father buys it every week, such a rubbish paper in every way. But curtis really tops it off, have long given up trying to read it, but his style was always a crap story about a player ( seemed pick ronan o gara a lot), with a shit load of comparisons and never really getting anywhere with the story. Plus his picture looks horrible.
Roy curtis and pat dolan at the irish star, 2 worst shit talkers going.

whatever about negativity in gaelic football, trying to watch england and swedan at the moment, again it's a reminder that soccer is lke paint drying most of the time, give me a bad GAA game any day

oops, said that after 30 mins and turned off, that game ended up a 3-2 'thriller' aparently
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2012, 12:37:08 AM
You have to factor in RTE policy regarding the approach they take to sport analysis. Possibly Eamonn Dunphy set the standard. Now I think Eamonn has been good down the years but it didn t mean that Rugby and Gaelic had to follow the same template as football.

As far as I can recollect Dunphy s first gig as an analyst was in the 78 World Cup in Argentina. Liam Touhy was on it too and that was probably RTE s first attempt at that kind of thing and it has to be said Eamonn is a pro and knows exactly how to keep a gig going. He could always be the guy to go to and keep the thing interesting. Maybe he went a bit ott at times but over 34 years he s done a good job.

In the last 15 years or so Rugby analysis has centred around the deliberately beligerent George Hook. He knows the game though but might upset people by pointing out failings in advance. Mostly he is correct in his analysis.

The earlier Sunday Game series used to have fewer analysts and it was pitched differently. Enda Colleran was the football man and Jimmy Barry Murphy did the hurling and Donal O Grady has been there a long time. Colleran was a gentleman and no way was he going to lay into the games for a few quid. I remember a JB Murphy interview where he said he quit the Sunday Game because they expected criticism of individual players and he was not prepared to criticise amateur players who were doin it for the love of the game and have to go to work Monday morning.

Compare that to Spillane whom I believe has sullied his great standing as a player. I was amazed that he went down the road he did as a hack after witnessing his career as a player. I couldn t believe his lack of manliness when he had a camera in front of him. Bitching and bitter and f**k all to be bitter about. Unfortunately Spillane s going to be remembered as the bollix on the telly rather than the great player. JBM though was a great hurler and footballer and is still vital in his second term as Cork hurling manager. He s the real deal not the 'me,me, me,listen to me gobshites' who never put their reputation on the line as amanager. Instead they lost their credibility by becoming performing bears for a few quid.

O Rourke of course has class and has managed to miraculously keep a distance from the muckspreaders. He doesn t get everything right but his dignity is still intact.
Post by: Ulick on June 16, 2012, 02:03:07 AM

For the last few months Brolly has had it in for Tyrone as evidenced by his attack on the team for being a bunch of divers in a recent newspaper article. I'm not sure where is current hate for Tyrone has come from considering during the period in which all his examples came from he was a huge fan of the team and constantly sung their praises in the media. On Sunday he was determined to continue with the attack no matter what happened during the game.

As it happened it turned out to be a very good game of football but Brolly didn't care as he was more interested in point scoring on who can be the most controversial negative pundit. At half time he said Colm Cavanagh made the most wonderful of dive that his brother would have been proud off. Having been at the game and watched it since I'm still not sure what he was talking about. At full time he was again on about Tyrone diving to win 2 frees to win the game. He was more interested in this than the wonderful points scored by Harte and O'Neill. As it happens neither free was a dive - Gormley was took down round the neck and there was no question it was a free and Donnellys was a clear cut free to. He also accused Mark Donnelly of wasting time with cramp. I'm no expert with cramp and I'm not sure if Brolly is but to me the lad didn't look like someone that was acting. Maybe Joe knows better though.

He also said it was a typical boring boring Tyrone performance and compared it to George Grahams Arsenal who liked to defend 1 - 0 leads. Given that the final score was 0-19 to 1-13 this makes no sense what so ever. Instead of focusing on the fact that Tyrone scored 12 or 13 points from play including some brilliant scores spread across 8 players he tried to make snide remarks. I was actually shocked on Sunday how open Tyrone were at the back. This allowed Jamie Clarke to pull off some wonderful scores which Brolly would have been safer focusing on.

I know I've defended Tyrone here but it is more an example of the nonsense these guys are coming out with every week against various counties and there insistence in finding negatives in every game even when they are far outweighed by the positives. The gaa has to act now and tackle this issue head on. The games and the players deserve better, especially coming from their so called own.

Get over it. An aging Tyrone team used their experience to close out the game against a youthful Armagh with a bit diving and playacting. Fair play to them, it's the Tyrone we've all come to know and love, but lets not pretend you or the rest of the country don't know it.
Post by: moysider on June 16, 2012, 02:57:39 AM
Quote from: Ulick on June 16, 2012, 02:03:07 AM

Get over it. An aging Tyrone team used their experience to close out the game against a youthful Armagh with a bit diving and playacting. Fair play to them, it's the Tyrone we've all come to know and love, but lets not pretend you or the rest of the country don't know it.

Most of this thread is Ulster and I honestly think non Ulster counties have a bigger ax to grind with Brolly but i couldn t be arsed.

As regards the Tyrone/Armagh match the last day I thought it was a fine match. Armagh gone down to 14 managed to put themselves in a position where they looked the likely winners. Kicking long ball into the big sub cost them the match imo. Tyrone finished strongly on the turnovers from that and closed out the game.

But Brolly announced that that that the result was never in doubt ( my arse) and the whole diving business etc was wheeled out to justify his stance. Ffs it was not like that at all. Tyrone were very resourceful in those last few minutes. You don t get scores by diving etc when the game has swung against ye. What they did took quality. And Armagh let it slip by poor decision making. They stopped doing what was working for them and management has to take a hit there. They were on a roll to win the game but pandering to the old cliche of lumping the big ball in to the square to a lad that was raw  they allowed Tyrone to get a second wind. If they kept the ball and kept going for Jamie Clarke, a couple more points from frees or whatever could have got them the win.
  Brolly was scathing about  Tyrone and killing the game and their industrial approach to the game. Nonsense. They put up a big score and showed great character to win and played great stuff ( Armagh did as well). But he had to get his agenda in. At the end of the day it is all about him. I ve never had a problem with Tyrone s approach. Ever before they won an AI they produced fine players and and have been more sinned against down the years than sinners.
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2012, 07:41:14 AM
I recorded BBC and RTE at the weekend and what stood out was the morgue-like atmosphere in the RTE studio. I couldn't care less if there was no half time analysis but on this occasion the BBC version were buzzing about to fit in as much as possible with McHugh and Burns on the edge of their seats, pitch-side interview with the Tyrone assistant manager as well as Cavanagh and Kernan and the minor highlights thrown in. RTE had Brolly increasingly slouched telling a most unfunny joke about Banty which only he laughed at, heartily. He was barely audible (like a hangover throat) and then, I'm sure I saw it, started playing with his own saliva. O'Rourke attempted to issue some words of wisdom but the game didn't seem to suit their script. The managed to make a good game appear funereal.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 12:45:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2012, 07:41:14 AM
I recorded BBC and RTE at the weekend and what stood out was the morgue-like atmosphere in the RTE studio. I couldn't care less if there was no half time analysis but on this occasion the BBC version were buzzing about to fit in as much as possible with McHugh and Burns on the edge of their seats, pitch-side interview with the Tyrone assistant manager as well as Cavanagh and Kernan and the minor highlights thrown in. RTE had Brolly increasingly slouched telling a most unfunny joke about Banty which only he laughed at, heartily. He was barely audible (like a hangover throat) and then, I'm sure I saw it, started playing with his own saliva. O'Rourke attempted to issue some words of wisdom but the game didn't seem to suit their script. The managed to make a good game appear funereal.

Although I don't like the actual commmentary on bbc would agree 100% with that. RTE are putting nothing into the games whatsoever and its nearly as if they're trying to put people off watching. For the first time I've actually started turning matches off at half time. I see Brolly is at it in the paper about the Colm Cavanagh saying he took a world class dive and some insult on the Cavanagh family. Still not sure what he's on about - obviously has it in for him since the McKenna Cup final and is out to damage his name no matter what.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 16, 2012, 01:13:12 PM
Have to agree, whilst Sidebottom can be hard to take at times, the half time analysis was top notch. Squeezed a lot in there and Burns and McHugh provided a useful insight. Martin must be taking a hit of Diazepam before going on air as he is not half as frenetic as he used to be. Thought it was a good idea to pull some familiar faces from the crowd to give their say as well.
Post by: screenexile on June 16, 2012, 01:24:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 12:45:36 PM

Although I don't like the actual commmentary on bbc would agree 100% with that. RTE are putting nothing into the games whatsoever and its nearly as if they're trying to put people off watching. For the first time I've actually started turning matches off at half time. I see Brolly is at it in the paper about the Colm Cavanagh saying he took a world class dive and some insult on the Cavanagh family. Still not sure what he's on about - obviously has it in for him since the McKenna Cup final and is out to damage his name no matter what.

Ah now I think the Cavanagh family dig is more the trait which began with the older brother. Is it not true that the Cavanagh's like to hit the deck easily?? Come on lads take the red hand glasses off!!!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 02:58:54 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 16, 2012, 01:24:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 16, 2012, 12:45:36 PM

Ah now I think the Cavanagh family dig is more the trait which began with the older brother. Is it not true that the Cavanagh's like to hit the deck easily?? Come on lads take the red hand glasses off!!!

So Colm Cavanagh took a world class dive against Armagh? I think this was in Brollys head. For a so a called clever man I think he struggles to be impartial when reviewing incidents and is judgement is severely flawed by bias.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 16, 2012, 04:41:27 PM
In the League final Brolly highlighted Vaughan for diving! The lad in a previous incident had been nearly decapitated and was picked and ruffled like a rag doll while seriously injured on the ground, but this was ignored! You see this is a manly game where inflicting injury is held higher than freigning it!
Post by: rrhf on June 16, 2012, 05:23:47 PM
Except brolly would have jumped over the wire if he felt he could get hurt in a tackle.