GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2012, 09:02:15 PM

Title: U21 Hurling Championship
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 06, 2012, 09:02:15 PM
Fantastic result for Laois against Dublin tonight. Don't think many would have seen that one coming.

Tipp and Cork was a very enjoyable game on TG4. This grade never seems to disappoint.
Title: Re: U21 Hurling Championship
Post by: heffo on June 06, 2012, 09:03:08 PM
Congratulations to Laois, should've won by more by all accounts - am out of country so didn't see it.
Post by: deiseach on June 07, 2012, 02:44:01 PM
I didn't think it was that good a game last night. I suppose not all U-21 games can be like last year's Munster final. Don't know where Tipperary found that finish from though. Cue much angst in Cork about underage development (boo hoo)

Great win for Laois. Great for all of us if you ask me (unless you're a Dub, obviously)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 07, 2012, 03:07:01 PM
The pitch was heavy from the rain that had fallen for most of the day, plenty of surface water on the sides of the pitch so I wouldn't fault the effort put in by both teams. Cork will be kicking themselves for not being able to take a big enough lead going into the final 15 minutes.

Tipp to their credit held on and managed to point a few to take the lead. Fair effort from them, Hogan was a happy man on the final whistle.

I think Corks main men went missing too much
Post by: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 03:52:28 PM
I haven't seen a team self destruct like that. Dreadful. Should have won, were by far the better team, and literally threw it away. Just another idiotic pathetic day in the underage scene with Cork.
It's always buts and maybe, over the last few years it was always a massive performance against Tipp but just losing out in the last second of extra time or in a replay etc. Last night was ridiculous. They had the game won and simply gave up. Disgraceful. I know that it didn't help that we were lost Sweetman and Drake. It's not the fact that I think we could have won the competition outright, because it just wouldn't have happened, it was the way the game was thrown away that's so infuriating. Just another narrow loss, another almost, when the game was in our hands.
Post by: heffo on June 07, 2012, 03:56:47 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 03:52:28 PM
I haven't seen a team self destruct like that. Dreadful. Should have won, were by far the better team,

Jaysus it's

(http://www.carseywolf.ucsb.edu/files/back-future-4.jpg)

In your long glorius history on this board Reillers, Cork have never been beaten in a game in any code at any level where you haven't been the better team and should've won.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on June 07, 2012, 04:09:12 PM
Can this game be viewed anywhere online at the minute?
Post by: johnneycool on June 07, 2012, 04:26:30 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 07, 2012, 03:56:47 PM
I haven't seen a team self destruct like that. Dreadful. Should have won, were by far the better team,

Jaysus it's

In your long glorius history on this board Reillers, Cork have never been beaten in a game in any code at any level where you haven't been the better team and should've won.

Ah well, at least it wasn't Frank Murphy's fault.
Post by: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 04:44:03 PM

Jaysus it's

Your idiotic post isn't exactly out of the ordinary, but the fact that you didn't see the game, well your post means even less than it normally does.
Post by: heffo on June 07, 2012, 04:59:49 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 04:44:03 PM

Jaysus it's

Your idiotic post isn't exactly out of the ordinary, but the fact that you didn't see the game, well your post means even less than it normally does.

I didn't see it, said that last night. Any comment on my observation??
Post by: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 05:14:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 07, 2012, 04:59:49 PM

Jaysus it's

How can you feel that you can comment on a game you haven't seen.
Cork were winning, and were ahead with a few to spare, and they simply threw it away in the last 2 minutes of the game.
Cork have been beaten many times by better teams, your comment was idiotic at best. Though against Tipp they were the better team, deserved to win, but yet again, we snatched defeat out of the jaws of victory.

Like I said, it wasn't the fact that I thought we could have won the competition, it was the way in which we lost the game. So many of these U21 games have ended up with Cork losing by 1 point, be it like last night or in added extra time after a replay, but they've never had the mentality to go on and win games they should have won.
Cork did not deserve to win the game the way they gave up in the end, but they were the better team. Tipp were ahead once..in the 60th minute and that is all that counts at the end of the day. So if you want to say, because of their timing, that they did deserve to win the game (without seeing it) than by all means do, but the way in which it happened is infuriating because Cork were in such complete control and yet again, bottled it.
Post by: deiseach on June 07, 2012, 05:21:19 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 07, 2012, 04:26:30 PM
Ah well, at least it wasn't Frank Murphy's fault.

The thread is young
Post by: heffo on June 07, 2012, 05:24:25 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 05:14:20 PM

Jaysus it's

Cork were winning, and were ahead with a few to spare, and they simply threw it away in the last 2 minutes of the game.
Cork have been beaten many times by better teams, your comment was idiotic at best. Though against Tipp they were the better team, deserved to win, but yet again, we snatched defeat out of the jaws of victory.

Like I said, it wasn't the fact that I thought we could have won the competition, it was the way in which we lost the game. So many of these U21 games have ended up with Cork losing by 1 point, be it like last night or in added extra time after a replay, but they've never had the mentality to go on and win games they should have won.
Cork did not deserve to win the game the way they gave up in the end, but they were the better team. Tipp were ahead once..in the 60th minute and that is all that counts at the end of the day. So if you want to say, because of their timing, that they did deserve to win the game (without seeing it) than by all means do, but the way in which it happened is infuriating because Cork were in such complete control and yet again, bottled it.

I didn't comment on the game whatsoever.

I commented on your inability to be gracious in the slightest whenever a Cork team loses.

Massive difference.
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2012, 06:07:55 PM
Cork bottled it yet again ?

Not normally a Cork characteristic. Is this just a recent thing ?.
Post by: orangeman on June 07, 2012, 06:11:33 PM
Reillers is quarter right -

A LATE scoring surge from Tipperary earned them a place in the semi-finals at Pairc Ui Chaoimh last night.

Trailing by four points after David Drake put Cork 0-16 to 0-12 ahead in the 52nd minute, Tipp just managed to reel in their hosts.

Amazingly, Sean Curran's winner was the first time in the game that Ken Hogan's side had led, Cork suffering from a poor second half when they were limited to two points from play.

Cork had been the better side for much of the first half, though they never led by more than three points.

Conor Lehane's 10th-minute effort put Cork ahead by 0-4 to 0-1, Then, though Tipp captain John O'Dwyer, who finished with nine points, cut the gap with a free, Drake responded immediately.

In the last 10 minutes of the half, Tipp upped their game, Brian Stapleton cutting the gap to 0-9 to 0-8 on 28 minutes. However, late points from Eoin O'Sullivan and Coughlan gave Cork a three-point interval lead.

The relocation of Stapleton to centre-back, with Niall O'Meara going to midfield, helped to stabilise Tipp in the second half and his long-range effort on 48 minutes made it 0-14 to 0-11.

When Drake scored his third point, following nice play from O'Sullivan, the Rebels were 0-16 to 0-12 ahead, but they would score just once more.

Two from O'Dwyer and a fine Curran point brought Tipp to within one point and though Jamie Coughlan edged Cork clear, the momentum was now going Tipp's way.

Curran profited from sub Aidan McCormack's pass to ensure that there would be no need for extra- time as he won it.

Tipp play Limerick in the semi-finals on July 18.

Post by: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 09:10:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 07, 2012, 05:24:25 PM

Jaysus it's

I commented on your inability to be gracious in the slightest whenever a Cork team loses.

Massive difference.

Pot meet kettle.
And I did say that Tipp deserved to win it.
Post by: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 09:11:26 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 07, 2012, 06:07:55 PM
Cork bottled it yet again ?

Not normally a Cork characteristic. Is this just a recent thing ?.

Oh it is for underage level which will become a huge problem in the future I imagine.
Post by: heffo on June 07, 2012, 09:13:33 PM
Quote from: Reillers on June 07, 2012, 09:10:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 07, 2012, 05:24:25 PM

Jaysus it's

Massive difference.

Pot meet kettle.
And I did say that Tipp deserved to win it.

Pot meet kettle?

I've never been ungracious to my knowledge when Dublin lose, you on the other hand are unable to countenance the fact that Cork at any level could be beaten by a better team..
Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2012, 10:37:24 PM
The hurling posters - we have Reillers representing Cork and with the Cork persecution complex self esteem
We have Premier emperor representing all that is best about Tipperary modesty
Everyone else would love to win an all-Ireland sometime
Post by: Bord na Mona man on June 08, 2012, 11:23:33 AM
Laois play Carlow in the Leinster semi-final.
If Wexford did a job on Kilkenny in the other semi final, it would leave us a novel final pairing.

I have a feeling that Clare could be the team to beat this year.
Post by: G@@ on June 16, 2012, 08:42:28 PM
Kilkenny U21s beat Waterford in a challenge game recently 1-22 to 1-16. Kilkenny were missing R.Doyle, C.Buckley, K.Kelly, J.Power, E. McGrath, M.Gaffney. They also lost Padraig Walsh to a hand injury mid-way through the first half.

Kilkenny will, as always, be hard bet at any level.
Post by: Onlooker on June 17, 2012, 06:11:49 PM
Quote from: G@@ on June 16, 2012, 08:42:28 PM
Kilkenny U21s beat Waterford in a challenge game recently 1-22 to 1-16. Kilkenny were missing R.Doyle, C.Buckley, K.Kelly, J.Power, E. McGrath, M.Gaffney. They also lost Padraig Walsh to a hand injury mid-way through the first half.

Kilkenny will, as always, be hard bet at any level.
As long as it is not football. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Premier Emperor on June 18, 2012, 09:41:32 AM
Quote from: G@@ on June 16, 2012, 08:42:28 PM
The Waterford U21s or the Waterford senior team?
Post by: laoislad on June 20, 2012, 09:01:41 PM
Leinster semi final result : Laois 0-15 Carlow 0-14
Laois into first U/21 Leinster Final since 1990.
Post by: johnneycool on June 21, 2012, 08:44:31 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 20, 2012, 09:01:41 PM

Caught 10 minutes of the other semi-final on TG4, second half. Kilkenny were at a canter, but I think Wexford were a man down.

Were they and why?
Post by: clootfromthe21 on June 21, 2012, 09:18:18 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 21, 2012, 08:44:31 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 20, 2012, 09:01:41 PM

Caught 10 minutes of the other semi-final on TG4, second half. Kilkenny were at a canter, but I think Wexford were a man down.

Were they and why?

Their corner back was sent off for two yellows. Wexford started very strongly, scored the first 4 points without reply and got an early goal. Kilkenny upped their game, Wexford hit a lot of wides and then fell away to nothing towards the end of the first half, having a penalty saved in the process.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2012, 09:06:20 PM
Kildare won the Leinster u21A Championship tonight beating Meath by a point in Newbridge 2-14 to 1-16.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on July 26, 2012, 01:26:14 AM
Antrim won the Ulster championship tonight in Armagh beating Derry by 11 points.
Post by: Lecale2 on July 26, 2012, 12:33:02 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 25, 2012, 09:06:20 PM
Kildare won the Leinster u21A Championship tonight beating Meath by a point in Newbridge 2-14 to 1-16.

Well done Kildare but should that not be B?

Clare look impressive. Thank God for TG4.
Post by: johnneycool on July 26, 2012, 12:52:14 PM

did Seany get a run out  or is he too old?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 26, 2012, 01:57:21 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 26, 2012, 12:33:02 PM

Well done Kildare but should that not be B?

Not according to the Leinster Council: http://leinster.gaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-u-21-.263.html (http://leinster.gaa.ie/leinster-gaa-championship-fixtures-2012/leinster-gaa-u-21-.263.html)

Quote from: johnneycool on July 26, 2012, 12:52:14 PM

did Seany get a run out  or is he too old?

Who?
Post by: Premier Emperor on August 03, 2012, 10:46:49 AM
Tipperary have to go to play Clare in Ennis next week in the Munster final next week.
Whoever thought this was a good idea needs their head examined.
The place and the locals have been wild out the last couple of times Tipp have had to travel there.

Remember the chaotic scenes when we beat them there in the U21 final a couple of years ago. Clare fans going balubas on the pitch and even throwing punches at Ban Gardai!

In the infamous 1999 clash, the atmosphere there was pure poison as well, not helped by the antics of Davy Fitz on the sideline.

I'd recommend Tipperary fans to carry a bicycle chain in their pockets in case they get set on by feral Clare fans!
Post by: heffo on August 03, 2012, 11:34:11 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on August 03, 2012, 10:46:49 AM
In the infamous 1999 clash, the atmosphere there was pure poison as well, not helped by the antics of Davy Fitz on the sideline.

He missed out on an All-star because of that!
Post by: CitySlicker11 on August 03, 2012, 02:51:12 PM
Crowd issues aside this game could very easily be the game of the season in Hurling. Both teams will go out to hurl from the start, but also bring the other necessary qualities to the table, all making for a great match. Home advantage for Clare I think will be just enough to pull them through in this one.
Post by: Roashter on August 06, 2012, 11:43:30 AM
'99 was pretty bad alright.
Probably the worst atmosphere I've ever witnessed at a GAA inter-county match.
4 years ago was different. Was actually a very good game and great buzz about the place, but thats all forgotton with the commotion over the '65 at the end.

I expect next wednesday to be a very good game. Full house with big Tipp crowd to travel. Clare are favoutites, but Tipp won't fear them. Should be a cracker !!
Post by: homeofhurling8 on August 08, 2012, 11:27:43 AM
Looking forward to this tonight,not looking forward to trying to find a parking spot within a 10 mile radius of the ground though ;)

On paper Clare should beat us back to Killaloe with the amount of seniors on their team but hurling isn't played on paper as they say, if we were to pull off a shock it will be have been well earned, Cork in Cork, Limerick in Limerick and Clare in Clare, has there ever been a tougher provincial campaign ?

Having said that i struggle to see many of this Tipp side making it at senior level, the only current senior panelist is Sean Curran who is surely only there to keep the brother company on the drive to training  ;) , Jason Forde could be anything, bubbles will never have the discipline required, Denis Maher is surely too slow for anywhere bar centre back at senior level, Musha Maher is the best of the backs but doesn't strike me as a future senior.
Post by: Ash Smoker on August 08, 2012, 12:00:19 PM
The Thrilla in Manila
The Rumble in the Jungle
The Menace in Ennis
Post by: johnneycool on August 09, 2012, 11:25:17 AM
Quote from: Ash Smoker on August 08, 2012, 12:00:19 PM
The Thrilla in Manila
The Rumble in the Jungle
The Menace in Ennis

As much as the finale was a nail biter and the Clare goal a the death the clincher, I was disappointed by the fare on offer, many very poor wides and an open net missed by the Tipp full forward will now no doubt haunt the lad, maybe the huge crowd and expectation weighed heavily on both teams.

Maybe there was a blustery wind or whatever, hard to tell from the goggle box.

Post by: homeofhurling8 on August 09, 2012, 02:25:47 PM
Spot on Johnney, tight, tense game but low quality imho, the conditions cant be blamed as there was little or no wind and it stayed fine.

I think in Clares case the tension and expectation in the stands seemed to transmit itself to the players,some of the wides they hit in the first half struck me as reeking of tension, the Clare crowd around me and in the pub before the game were ultra confident of a big win, "the best underage team produced in Munster for years" as one ex Clare senior said to me before the game, that sort of expectation in a county which has the grand total of 1 previous Munster u-21 title has to weigh heavily on the shoulders of the players, it certainly looked that way in the first half.

In Tipps case we had low expectations at the start of the year for this group of players because they wouldn't be considered a particularly strong crop bar a couple of exceptions, they exceeded our expectations by winning below in Cork and again in the Gaelic grounds but the lack of quality became apparent last night, no lack of heart but hurlers limitations usually come to the fore when the pressure comes on in "medal" games, lads start taking the wrong options, stop doing the basics right etc..

Cian Hogans miss beggared belief, i wonder how the atmosphere was in the car home beside the father ;)

Talking of atmosphere i thought it was pretty tame last night, god be with the days when a Tipp man would have to fight his way out of Ennis ;)

Post by: Roashter on August 10, 2012, 04:34:46 PM
Yeah, have to agree about the atmosphere -there was no real buzz at all.
But to be fair, crowds usually respond to what is being offered and for a Munster final it was a very poor spectacle.
Neither team had a decent 5 minute patch during the game, and some of the wides were so bad it was hard to generate an atmosphere.

Clare were probably the better team, but Tipp created the better goal chances, and they missed 2 great opportunities of points soon after scoring their own goal which would have put real distance between the teams and killed off Clare.

Clare have a great chance now for an all-Ireland. If Antrim are anything like last year, then surely Clare will waltz into the final, and they have good enough players and although quite young a lot of them have Croke park experience on big days. Galway/Kilkenny are probably another step up, but I give Clare every chance of another u-21 crown to add to 2009.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on August 10, 2012, 07:49:51 PM
It was remiss of me not to offer my congrats to an undoubtedly superior Clare team, while i think Croke park will suit them i personally cant see them beating Galway who i expect to beat Kilkenny having seen Tipp  play both in challenge games in the last few weeks.
Post by: Last Man on August 26, 2012, 12:17:01 AM
So is Croke the venue for the final??
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 26, 2012, 12:31:44 AM
Quote from: Last Man on August 26, 2012, 12:17:01 AM
So is Croke the venue for the final??

Thurles.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2012, 02:56:06 AM
Very poor performance really from a very good Galway team on paper. We have actually won minor and U-21 All-Ireland's with less talented teams IMO but I don't feel their focus was right at all for this one. Like Limerick earlier in the Summer I actually think it's a disadvantage sometimes to have too many U-21 players involved with the senior panel. For the U-21 team that is.
Post by: Asal Mor on August 26, 2012, 05:48:01 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2012, 02:56:06 AM
Very poor performance really from a very good Galway team on paper. We have actually won minor and U-21 All-Ireland's with less talented teams IMO but I don't feel their focus was right at all for this one. Like Limerick earlier in the Summer I actually think it's a disadvantage sometimes to have too many U-21 players involved with the senior panel. For the U-21 team that is.

Yeah and some worryingly poor individual performances from Regan, Coen and Conor Cooney in particular. Kilkenny are excellent though and they did hammer us at minor in 2010 with many of the same players so this wasn't any great shock. The Galway full-back line seemed totally outclassed and Kilkenny were just sauntering in for goals in that first half. Galway would be better off being in Leinster for minor and u-21, not in terms of winning trophies at those grades but in terms of developing players for senior level.

The main positives from the game were the performances of Niall Burke and Johnathon Glynn. Glynn should start the senior final ahead of Cooney or Regan from what I've seen. Probably some mistakes by the management too. The backs were a mess and a few guys being played out of position didn't work. Also, Brehony and Richie Cummins have both been in very poor form for their clubs all year and both were taken off yesterday, though Cummins was a bit unlucky. But, it's a tough job and if we were playing again next week the starting line-up would be a lot different. That's the trouble with coming in cold at the semi-final stage.

Better team won though.
Post by: johnneycool on August 27, 2012, 10:35:44 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on August 26, 2012, 05:48:01 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2012, 02:56:06 AM

Yeah and some worryingly poor individual performances from Regan, Coen and Conor Cooney in particular. Kilkenny are excellent though and they did hammer us at minor in 2010 with many of the same players so this wasn't any great shock. The Galway full-back line seemed totally outclassed and Kilkenny were just sauntering in for goals in that first half. Galway would be better off being in Leinster for minor and u-21, not in terms of winning trophies at those grades but in terms of developing players for senior level.

The main positives from the game were the performances of Niall Burke and Johnathon Glynn. Glynn should start the senior final ahead of Cooney or Regan from what I've seen. Probably some mistakes by the management too. The backs were a mess and a few guys being played out of position didn't work. Also, Brehony and Richie Cummins have both been in very poor form for their clubs all year and both were taken off yesterday, though Cummins was a bit unlucky. But, it's a tough job and if we were playing again next week the starting line-up would be a lot different. That's the trouble with coming in cold at the semi-final stage.

Better team won though.

I suppose some of the Galway lads would have had the senior final in mind in the coming weeks and the focus wasn't there, Cillian Buckley was possibly the only Kilkenny senior on display, Irish isn't great and TG4 wasn't a good picture on Sat evening.

Play wise I thought  both teams were reasonably well matched, it was the ease of how Kilkenny got goals and the Kilkenny's fullback lines ability to prevent the same happening the other end was the difference.

Galway can gain some comfort from the spirited fightback, but it'll all be forgot about come the senior final.

Less said about the other semi final the better, but it does highlight the lack of interest in this age group within the Province. In my county there's no effort but into this age group whatsoever, Derry seems to be ditto, Antrim seem to rely heavily on any members of their senior panel to carry the burden and this is normally enough to get an Ulster title, then the obligatory slaughtering in a semi-final.

I really can't remember a decent showing from an Ulster U-21 team at all. 
Post by: CitySlicker11 on August 27, 2012, 08:28:39 PM
Derry done well a few years ago against Tipperary I think.
Post by: Minder on August 27, 2012, 08:41:14 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on August 27, 2012, 08:28:39 PM
Derry done well a few years ago against Tipperary I think.

I thought that was a hammering, can't remember the score.

Cant remember anything less than about 12 points.
Post by: Forever Green on August 28, 2012, 01:31:18 AM
Antrim done well
Post by: johnneycool on September 14, 2012, 10:01:32 AM
U21 final this saturday in Thurles at 7PM.

Firstly, thank god there's something else to watch other than Red or Balllax and the X fecktor.

Secondly, I was impressed by the scoring exploits of the Kilkenny team against a fairly strong Galway side, but more importantly the Kilkenny defence held Galway at bay reasonably comfortably but conceeded a goal late on.

I thought the weight of expectation weighed heavily on Clare in the Munster final and they stumbled over the line against a Tipp team who really should have won.

Big things are expected from a lot of these Clare hurlers, some already on the senior team and no doubt they've some very talented individuals but it could be too much too soon, Kilkenny don't seem to have any pressure on them and should hold onto the win.

Hopefully the Clare lads can relax a bit and go for it to make a good game as these U-21 finals often are better than the senior games.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 14, 2012, 06:11:16 PM
Is the Kildare v Roscommon curtain raiser on TG4?
Post by: bp on September 14, 2012, 06:53:04 PM

certainly is , what way will it go ?

from tg4.ie

Live Matches - Saturday, 15.09
Saturday 15th September, Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U-21 Hurling Final (A & B Finals)
LIVE MATCH 1

Bord Gáis U-21 Hurling B Final

Kildare v Roscommon

Match Starts: 17:00
Venue: Semple Stadium, Thurles
Extra Time: YES

Presenter: Micheál Ó Domhnaill
Commentator: Mac Dara Mac Donncha
Analysis: Donal O'Grady & Cathal Moore & Pat Fleury

LIVE MATCH 2

Bord Gáis U-21 Hurling B Final

Clare v Killkenny

Match Starts: 19:00
Venue: Semple Stadium, Thurles
Extra Time: Yes

Presenter: Micheál Ó Domhnaill
Commentator: Brian Tyers
Analysis: Donal O'Grady & Cathal Moore & Pat Fleury

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 15, 2012, 05:36:01 PM
Roscommon 2-9 Kildare 2-7 at half time in the first match. Kildare full back line struggling a bit under the high ball. Not getting a good enough supply into Gerry Keegan and Conor O'Hehir so far.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 15, 2012, 05:54:14 PM
Vey entertaining game! Pity lads at this level dont get more exposure
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 15, 2012, 05:59:37 PM
Kildare now up by a point. We need to get more ball into Keegan. He has the beating of the Roscommon backs.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 15, 2012, 06:05:20 PM
Yip- Keegan is a very tidy player, just scored another
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 15, 2012, 06:11:29 PM
Big % of lads on both sides using cultecs
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 15, 2012, 06:18:15 PM
Gutted. Think we deserved a draw at least. Fair play to Roscommon.
Post by: ross4life on September 15, 2012, 06:25:00 PM
Hard luck Kildare played their part in a good game our strong finish was the diffence in the end. All Ireland champs  :)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on September 15, 2012, 06:27:53 PM
Hard to lose a game like that but both teams should be very proud of the show they put on, as a neutral I really enjoyed that to be honest
Post by: spuds on September 15, 2012, 07:09:09 PM
Any radio station in Dublin covering this ? If not any links to online stations ?
Post by: ross4life on September 15, 2012, 07:14:31 PM
Quote from: spuds on September 15, 2012, 07:09:09 PM
Any radio station in Dublin covering this ? If not any links to online stations ?

http://www.ustream.tv/GAAOnlinePPV
Post by: spuds on September 15, 2012, 07:27:00 PM
Not working, taking an age. Thanks anyways
Post by: Capt Pat on September 15, 2012, 07:33:49 PM
Clare started well but Kilkenny have taken over 2-7 to1-7 . Kilkenny lead by a goal scored just before half time.
Post by: Capt Pat on September 15, 2012, 08:01:31 PM
2-14 to 2-9 for Clare now for the kk comeback?
Post by: Rossfan on September 15, 2012, 08:17:00 PM
Roscommon all Ireland Hurling Champions .
Has a lovely ring to it ;D ;D ;D ;D :D :D :D
Post by: Capt Pat on September 15, 2012, 08:19:36 PM
Clare 2-17 Kilkenny 2-11? Final score.
Patrick O''Connor from Clare had a great over the head backwards clearance to deny Aylward another goal.

Cathal O Connell the smallest man in Clare is man of the match. He scored 1-6. Onwards and upwards for Clare.

Bad luck Kilkenny.
Post by: Minder on September 15, 2012, 11:21:14 PM
Clare were very impressive, fitter, faster and more skilful than Kilkenny.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 16, 2012, 03:09:56 AM
Pace was a huge difference in this game. Clare were very quick all over the field but especially up front. Made Kilkenny look leaden footed.
Post by: Lecale2 on September 16, 2012, 08:14:21 PM
Clare were the better team but I thought the 2 goals just before half time would have affected them especially against Kilkenny. It didn't and they won well. Fair play to them!!
Post by: seafoid on September 16, 2012, 09:01:21 PM
Up the banner. Great stuff. I hope they can turn it into something at senior level for the post cat era.
Post by: bp on September 16, 2012, 11:12:37 PM

Yes, great stuff from Clare altogether, played with great style, skill and pace and a good attacking purpose about them.
Cathal "  Tots " O'Connell is proof positive that you don't have to be 6'2 to be good - superb performance !
Post by: bp on September 16, 2012, 11:15:50 PM

.....oh yes, and well done to the Rossies, wasn't in for the game myself but anyone I spoke to, who saw it, was very impressed.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 09:46:56 AM
Clare have copied the Galway blueprint for beating Kilkenny and looked a very good team to keep an eye on in the future.

Clare, like Galway didn't allow the Kilkenny forwards to catch too much ball and then worked their arses off the get on the breaking ball first and then build from midfield with pacey runners finding their corner forwards in space. The few times that Kilkenny caught ball, big Walter Walsh in particular they looked dangerous and were getting scores in the first half especially. In the second half big Walsh struggled to get into the game and was brought out the field where he'd a lot of ground to cover when he did get possession where he was either smothered out of it or fouled, but a that stage Clare were defending a six or so point lead and points weren't going to get Kilkenny back into the game.

Clare seemed to be building at underage with a stream of good minor and U-21 teams the last few years, it'll be interesting to see if Davy Fitz turns them into a serious force in the coming years.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 10:16:55 AM
It would be good to see Clare coming again, and I think they might be a bit more grounded this time if they do make a breakthrough. They got awful carried away with themselves the last time, which is understandable I suppose :D.

I remember a barman in the old Davin Arms in Limerick congratulating a Clare supporter in October 1995 for taking '2 months to do what it took Tipp 100 years to do'.
Post by: bp on September 17, 2012, 10:54:34 AM

...the barman should've made some allowance for the probability that at this stage the Clareman had been p!ssed continually
since the first Sunday of September...at the very least.

Great days , we felt like Kings of The World !
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on September 17, 2012, 11:07:46 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 10:16:55 AM
It would be good to see Clare coming again, and I think they might be a bit more grounded this time if they do make a breakthrough. They got awful carried away with themselves the last time, which is understandable I suppose :D.

I remember a barman in the old Davin Arms in Limerick congratulating a Clare supporter in October 1995 for taking '2 months to do what it took Tipp 100 years to do'.
2 months? I always heard people say 2 years.
It was only around the time of their 2nd All Ireland in 1997 that the public started to fall out with Clare.
The Barman might have been a prophet.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 11:14:58 AM
Ye were kings of the world :) Seanie McMahon was some hurler in fairness. That Clare team was build on fitness, agression and commitment, but Seanie and Jamsie O'Connor at least would have graced any team. Seanie McMahon is probably the best centre back I've seen in my time.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 11:20:48 AM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on September 17, 2012, 11:07:46 AM

It was only around the time of their 2nd All Ireland in 1997 that the public started to fall out with Clare.

Don't think the public ever fell out with Clare, it was the moreso the traditional powers that didn't like being handed their arses to them by a bunch of upstarts who 'hurled on the edge' and had a lunatic of a manager who didn't care who he offended.

Twas great at the start to see wee Clare going well, but the party was over after the debacle in the Munster championship with Waterford when Lynch got suspended on the say so of three priests in the crowd.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 11:37:10 AM

I don't know. I remember the Monday morning in 1995 I was there with a big sour head on me, but happy for Clare in one way. I remember a bunch of Clare lads driving around the campus in UL beeping their horns and hanging out the window with Clare flags doing the Clare shout. Limerick lads, not me I swear, that I worked with at the time were saying 'Jaysus, these bucks are going to be hard to listen to'.

I find that over the last few years Clare (like Westmeath in the football) have come back to earth when they realised that glory is fleeting, and they have joined the rest of us in being fatalistic and miserable :D
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 02:57:32 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 11:20:48 AM

Don't think the public ever fell out with Clare, it was the moreso the traditional powers that didn't like being handed their arses to them by a bunch of upstarts who 'hurled on the edge' and had a lunatic of a manager who didn't care who he offended.
I don't remember the 'Whipping Boys' handing many traditional counties their arses. A not very highly rated Tipperary team were within a whisker of beating them both days in 1997.  :o

Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 03:02:57 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 02:57:32 PM

I don't remember the 'Whipping Boys' handing many traditional counties their arses. A not very highly rated Tipperary team were within a whisker of beating them both days in 1997.  :o

Nearly never bucked a goat, Emperor.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 17, 2012, 03:42:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 11:37:10 AM

I don't know. I remember the Monday morning in 1995 I was there with a big sour head on me, but happy for Clare in one way. I remember a bunch of Clare lads driving around the campus in UL beeping their horns and hanging out the window with Clare flags doing the Clare shout. Limerick lads, not me I swear, that I worked with at the time were saying 'Jaysus, these bucks are going to be hard to listen to'.

I find that over the last few years Clare (like Westmeath in the football) have come back to earth when they realised that glory is fleeting, and they have joined the rest of us in being fatalistic and miserable :D

It was only a temporary setback, there's another load of young lads getting the bandwagon going again, should have another Leinster title in a year or two. And from what I'm hearing the Biffos are starting to drag themselves off the floor, with a Westmeath man leading the way. Who'd ever have thought!
Post by: bp on September 17, 2012, 03:58:27 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 02:57:32 PM

I tought you'd consider Tipp to be a "traditional"  county. :o
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:10:37 PM
I think PE, like most of us, BP,  has tried to block the memory of the horror show in the 99 replay from his mind ;)
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 04:19:16 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:10:37 PM
I think PE, like most of us, BP,  has tried to block the memory of the horror show in the 99 replay from his mind ;)
I've gotten amnesia about 1999. The last thing I can remember is Conor Clancy taking his 17th step with the ball in his hand.
Post by: homeofhurling8 on September 17, 2012, 04:26:17 PM
My nightmares will always be filled with Clancy of the 20 steps, smiling Dickie and the poison dwarf bucklepping his way back down the field after the penalty, i blame sumo for missing that goal chance near the end which would have finished them off, at least he made up for it the following year with his "rasper" ;)

Post by: bp on September 17, 2012, 04:32:19 PM

I know of women who left the room, due to nerves,  and went out to the kitchen to make a cup of tea when Clancy caught that ball, he still had it - fair play to him, when they returned.  ;D
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 04:40:50 PM
Quote from: bp on September 17, 2012, 04:32:19 PM

I know of women who left the room, due to nerves,  and went out to the kitchen to make a cup of tea when Clancy caught that ball, he still had it - fair play to him, when they returned.  ;D

If it was any worse that Tómas Mulcahy's solo run with the ball in hand for almost 20 yards against Galway (i think) then it was a bad one.
Post by: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 04:42:04 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 04:40:50 PM

If it was any worse that Tómas Mulcahy's solo run with the ball in hand for almost 20 yards against Galway (i think) then it was a bad one.
Against Limerick was it?
He even threw it up and caught it again to not get pulled for steps.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 04:44:10 PM
Ah sure Jaysus lads, if ye're talking about liberal interpretations of the steps rule, you can't look past the bould DJ. I don't know if he ever scored a goal when he didn't take about 25 steps. Not to mind his penalty technique where his lift nearly ended up in the small parallelogram before he ran in to strike it.
Post by: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 04:46:44 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on September 17, 2012, 04:42:04 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 17, 2012, 04:40:50 PM

Against Limerick was it?
He even threw it up and caught it again to not get pulled for steps.

Could have been, I know there was someone behind him lashing away at his legs but he 'soloed' on and the look of surprise on his face when he knew it was going to stand was of sheer disbelief
Post by: AZOffaly on September 17, 2012, 04:47:31 PM
I think it was Limerick alright. I remember a skit about it on TSG there last year or the year before.
Post by: Dag Dog on September 17, 2012, 05:32:49 PM
Mulcahy was definitely against Limerick. 1992 it was.
It was an absolutely scandalous piece of officiating.

Limerick being Limerick, we took it lying down!